TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Gallagher ‘doesn’t remember’ visiting Morgan to deliver photograph

Sean Gallagher says he does not recall his meeting with Hugh Morgan – as the fuel magnate says Gallagher personally accepted the cheque.

Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

SEÁN GALLAGHER has said he does not remember his meeting with Hugh Morgan where he delivered a photograph of the businessman – while Morgan has insisted that Gallagher personally visited him to accept a fundraising cheque for Fianna Fáil.

In an interview with Today FM’s ‘Last Word’ programme, Gallagher said he could not recall the incident where he said he had not visited “this man’s premises to collect a cheque”.

Fundraising cheques for Fianna Fáil were always sent directly to the Fianna Fáil party headquarters in Dublin, he said, implying that he would not have been given that donation to act as a conduit for it.

That suggestion was this afternoon directly contradicted by Morgan, who this evening issued a statement saying Gallagher had personally visited Morgan’s business premises at Killean, County Armagh.

“I wrote a cheque for €5,000.00 and gave it to him personally,” Morgan’s statement said. “The cheque number is 13014. I still have the stub of the cheque.”

“This payment is declared in my company accounts and was cleared through my bank on the 1st July 2008.”

This statement appears to comply with the statement given by Fianna Fáil earlier today, which said the donation had been received on June 30 of that year. The fundraising event for which the cash had been paid took place on July 1, the day the cheque was cleared.

Morgan’s statement is in conflict with Gallagher, however, who said he would not personally have received a cheque from any Fianna Fáil donors.

Morgan’s statement also includes the two numbers left by Gallagher at which he could be contacted, and said Gallagher had also visited Morgan’s premises after the fundraising event to deliver a photograph of Morgan with the then-taoiseach, Brian Cowen.

The statement from Morgan also acknowledges that he was convicted of tax evasion in connection with fuel laundering in 1998, but says he had since built up a “successful international business” which operates around Europe.

Gallagher this evening issued another statement to counter that of Morgan, insisting that Morgan’s account of events was “completely at odds with what he allegedly told Martin McGuinness two hours before the Frontline debate.

“Sinn Féin and Mr. Morgan have had so many versions of this fabricated story that it only serves to further compound the lie.”

In full: Hugh Morgan’s statement on dealings with Seán Gallagher

Seán Gallagher accuses Martin McGuinness of “political assassination”

Fianna Fáil says Morgan cheque was lodged before fundraising event

Read next:

Comments (136 Comments)

• I don’t kno who is the bigger fool, Seanie the SpooFFer for his constant lies and spin, or yer man with the green diesel who paid five grand for a picture of Biffo!

• It would be so refreshing to hear some honest answers, whatever they are. Why does his type so predictably resort to amnesia?

• Proudly can say I never trusted Gallagher for a minute. Glad it’s not going that way. Last thing we need is another right-wing business type for everyone to look up to…We have plenty of those in the Dail…that’s not what the presidency should be about!.

• The various conflicting stories around the receipt of cheques or non-receipt of cheques by Fianna Fail has me wondering if we are not in the midst of a new and dangerous public health threat, i.e. infectious amnesia. Over the past twenty years, time and again tribunals encountered the pitiful sight of senior FF figures struggling to deliver a clear recollection of events surrounding the receipt of monies. It was heart breaking at times. Perhaps a national effort is required along the lines of Noel Browne’s crusade against TB, based on specially built sanitariums for the containment and care of such afflicted politicians?

• Gallagher seems to be contaminated by that amnesia alot of people connected with FF get

• Well I might just “not remember” to vote for him ……

• 5k for a photo and dinner with Brian Cowen. Surely you get something in return?

perhaps,
    a “special” Anglo loan
    Planning permission on your property development
    State Grants

can we add more? Seanie fits in nicely.

• Yes, Hugh Morgan was a convicted Fuel Smuggler. But he was a convicted Fuel Smuggler whose money Sean Gallagher was more than happy to accept. Yes, Hugh Morgan has past connections with the IRA, but FF and their candidate, Sean Gallagher, were more than happy to be in contact with him if it meant a fat pay off. This is the real story here. Gallagher is finished, I for one slept easier last night knowing that we as a Nation dodged a bullet.

• Well said – by the man featuring a picture of Martin McGuinness.

• Usual FF response, attack the messenger. What was Bertie’s reaction to all those Economists saying the Economy was about to collapse? Oh yeah, that they should go kill themselves. It’s not Martin’s fault that Gallagher is a liar.

• Sorry Tómas, that argument won’t work with me. Never a member of Fianna Fail, voted against them for several elections, delighted to see the back of them.

The point is, if “Hugh Morgan has past connections with the IRA,” – your words, not mine; I thought he was just a convicted smuggler – then as a supporter of Sinn Fein, his connection will backfire on Martin McGuinness too.

I don’t see why we should elect a candidate from either of the morally corrupt republican partys.

• Gallagher’s job for Fianna Fail was to shake down business men
    The mafia called these people bag men

• “SEÁN GALLAGHER has said he does not remember his meeting with Hugh Morgan where he delivered a photograph of the businessman “. So Seán believes the Bertie defence can still work. And by Friday he could be president and make Ireland a laughing stock the world over…

• On mature recollection….I’m just waiting for him to say it..like another Fianna Fail presidential canditate..said it before…saying it again…Fianna Fail = political Ebola..and it looks like Gallagher is immersed in them.

• Wow Gallagher has just managed to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory.

There’s no way people could vote for him now- imagine the amount o dodgy stories that would be unearthed while he is in the Aras. FG and Labour would have him impeached in under 12 months.

• If he’s covering this up what else is he hiding? If he’s done nothing else he’s sown the seeds of doubt…if it quacks like a duck etc…

• What do Sean Gallagher and Alex Ferguson have in common? They’re both going to be regretting Six-One for a very long time.

• Selective memory, typical FF

• Gallagher is a stroker and should be seen for what he is

• Deny what can’t be proved. Admit only what you have too. This is the dimension Fianna Fail live in.

• Baldy Bertie can’t remember!!! His twin with hair couldn’t either.
    Mind you it seems that being a FF member is worse than being in the IRA.
    Baldy Bertie will still get elected. There is a lack of pedigree – a vital component fit the job.

• Never trust a man, or a woman, who has two phone numbers.

• I was going to give Gallagher my number two, not anymore!

• This reminds me of the following story about a parish priest in an island parish off the west coast of Ireland:

“Ted eventually manages to carry out the forfeit, acting on Dougal’s suggestion to kick Bishop Brennan and then act like he hadn’t done so, the reasoning being that Ted’s fear of the Bishop is so well-known that Brennan would never believe Ted would do such a thing.”

The same priest had a spot of bother a few years previously about a cheque that was ‘resting in his account’…

• FF amnesia is again the order of the day!!!

• It will be a disgrace if FF bruiser Gallagher gets elected on Thursday. And I don’t mean internationally. I mean to our children we’ve lumbered with this bank debt.

Vote for anyone – just not FF Gallagher. It would be a national disgrace. If he had any honour he would withdraw.

He just dug his hole deeper on RTE news. He doesn’t know the difference between truth and lie.

• Try getting a cheque for € 83k, made out to one company and lodging it ” in error” to your personal account, totally illegal.

• Somebody said all the water in Dublin last night was from Gallagher’s sweat…

• The IRA may have robbed the Northern Bank but FF robbed the Irish people to pay the banks.

A much worse crime in my opinion.

And I still haven’t heard Gallagher condemn the bailout as selling the Irish people up shit creek. He’s a spooFFer, Bill, a spooFFer.

• Total spoofer but do you not consider murder to be s crime.

• Brian, is manslaugyhter a crime? 3000 people dies unnecessarily last year due to the way our healthsystem was deliberately mis-managed by FF during its 14 year reign of Financial Terror. Do the familes of these people ever get wheeled out in front of the cameras and get a fair hearing? Its a bloody disgrace that people in this country are going to Poland, Lithuania, Estonia, Czech Republic and even upt the North of Ireland to get proper healthcare, even though Ireland spends 3 x the amount per head of population versus what these countries don on their healthcar system. FF paid the management consultants any amount of money they wanted, reagardless of how well they did the job. 3,000 people dead in one speaks volumes. and then you multiply that by at least 3 , because thats how long it will take the current government to try and fix the bloody mess. (and they better get started soon, otherwise they will be out on their ear too).

• Does Mr. Gallagher remember handing in his nomination papers to run in the Presidential Election?

• Never noticed he was so bald before

• The more this campagian goes on the more sicker Gallagher makes me
    He was sickly sweet on Dragons Den NOW he is aggorant sick
    Does he and his blind stupid followers think that we are all as thick as planks or brown envelopes
    that he collected when he was an errand boy for FF.

If he came out and YES I did get an envelope for Brian or FF
    to me It was no big deal…. but he cant remember
    STUPID BOY

• mike 25/10/11 #

Give him a chance. When you have so much money when your broke. So let me think, The money in my account was from my own company. Who cares about Company Law. And as for the Loan from the Enterprise Board. I gave some back. The Envelopes………I get some many i cannot keep track. And this is RIP-OFF Ireland so my fees…….Well….

I am a man you can trust. Ain’nt I ?

• lets see the photograph …

• 1. When in 2008was Morgan convicted? Before or after the event?
    2. Why is FF jumping to SG’s defence all of a sudden?
    I had been intending to vote for SG but now I’m not so sure.
    I saw MDH canvassing in Athlone the other day with Eamonn Gilmore, and after the lies told by Eamonn Gilmore and Ruairi Quinn to students by signing that pledge and then going back on it, I just don’t know who to vote for now. I emailed MDH campaign for an opinion on the student grant / college fees issue, but got no response.

• From Hugh Morgan’s statement:

“It is a fact that approximately fourteen years ago I was convicted of tax evasion in relation to fuel smuggling in Northern Ireland. As a consequence to that, I have repaid the Exchequer and paid a substantial fine. I was never investigated by CAB or any other agency in the Republic.”

• Will mr Gallagher apologise for saying on the national tv debate that mr Morgan has been investigated by the criminal assets bureau? He hasn’t? This is not the stuff of a President?

He is entrappedinmanure you know

• @fitszpatrick, i dont think he will recall the CAB statement. And if he did say it, it wasnt on the program you are referring to. And i am guessing you must be a SF plant out to assasinate him, after pulling the trigger and ambushing him with a comment like that. Seanie will not get dragged into a negative campaign, so please, lets not bring up anything that could impact him in the opinion polls.

• He said it on the frontline program last night. Watch it again , from behind your sofa if you must, but he said it. He has proven he will lie to order. He may even still be elected but he would be devisive and a figure of great suspicion and mistrust. We have yet to have a president who was nt at least respected by most of the people. Liars cannot become a figurehead of a nation.

I am not a card carrying sinn fein supporter as you suggest, nor in fact affiliated to any ideology except maybe truth honesty and consideration for my fellow citizens.

• @Seanie … Sarcasm is the lowest form of wit, i wont use it again ;) I hope you realise now, i was only spoofing about Galaghers possible responses…

• Again from Hugh Morgan’s Statement ….It is a fact that approximately fourteen years ago I was convicted of tax evasion in relation to fuel smuggling in Northern Ireland. As a consequence to that, I have repaid the Exchequer and paid a substantial fine. I was never investigated by CAB or any other agency in the Republic.

Since that time I have developed a successful international business known as Morgan Fuels.

I employ over eighty people in Ireland ,both North and South. I have business interests in Ireland , Britan and Europe and the Morgan Fuel card can be used up to 4,000 service stations in fourteen countries across Europe.I am also the official sponsor of the Armagh County teams of the GAA. …Mr Morgan has served his time, and has turned his life around .

• Don’t you mean an honest man or a liar?

• Gallagher may not be White, but to see that scum Martin mc Guinness talk about fundraising of a political party, these are the people who murdered and robbed banks to fund their needs. Gallagher mightn’t get to the aras but we won’t have people who endorse terrorism in our top post.

• We will be ruled by teachers forever!

• who is morgans puppet master do you think? answers on a postcard please….

• Ronan 25/10/11 #

So we’re hanging a fella for having an association with FF or is it bigger then that? His crimes appear to be as follows from what I can tell;

1 Accepting a cheque from Mr. Morgan on behalf of FF
    2 By association with Morgan and as a result of being a junior member of FF and also involved in the building trade he is therefore a “Croney”?

I am by no means a supporter of Gallagher, nor anyone else for that matter but I am struggling to get to grips with the level of aggression being thrown at him purely because he was involved with FF. There seem to be holes in the stories on both sides and he had seemed like a likeable fella.

For example do we know that Gallagher accepted an envelope or just a cheque? Can it be proven that Gallagher lodged this money to his own account, a cheque likely made out to FF (not disclosed in any reports I have read), this seems to me to be unlikely. If none of the above can be proven conclusively, then I fail to see the crime in forgetting who handed him an envelope 3years ago (albeit he made a ham-fisted attempt to defame Morgan last night it seemed this was information he was fed rather then knew, it was the only time he visibly appeared to go to his notes).

The fact that the money was paid to FF for an audience with Cowen is controversial at best but I don’t see how this incriminates Gallagher. Granted FF have made a mess of the country but that is down to front line ministers and politicians more so than junior members I would have thought.

The building trade in Ireland was rotten and by all accounts it would appear those involved are equally unscrupulous. Mick Wallace was elected to the Dail and I believe he’s up to his eyes in the proverbial. Is Gallagher in Nama cos Wallace surely is?

In summary;
    Gallagher is guilty by association to FF
    MDH may not make the term and is tied to Labour
    Mitchell is uncharismatic and tied to FG
    McGuinness is ex-IRA and wouldn’t admit to blatant murder of Jean McConville
    Norris says his closet is bare but do you believe him, I don’t
    Dana thinks people are trying to kill her!!

Can’t say anything bad about Mary Davis (nothing great either mind you), besides Mary seems to be a popular name, maybe I’ll vote for the hatrick!!

• Because he denied it. That’s turned out to be a lie. He answers questions or should I say doesn’t answer questions like a politician tho he claims not to be. Pure and simple.

• He’s a crony because he built his career on milking his connections. For one very small example, he gave his company a grant of €25k from Louth County Enterprise Board, while working for that board. For another, he charged GAA Clubs €5k to grease the wheels in funding applications:

Local sources last night told the Irish Independent: “He was inside with Fianna Fail and the ministers and (he had) the inside track, he had been (Dr Rory) O’Hanlon’s secretary. Once you got him to do it, you were going to get the grant.

“We weren’t going to him looking for ham sandwiches, you know. There was unspoken word.”

His companies have also received generous funding from Enterprise Ireland. And then there’s the matter of the “accounting error”.

This is before we even start on the disingenuous campaign he’s run.

The guy is poison, he’s a walking embodiment of everything that’s wrong with this country.

• dub 26/10/11 #

oldest trick in the book. drop a bombshell just before the vote to sink a candidate.

• FF4Sean 26/10/11 #

Well said. Nothing wrong with being in FF. It shoul b a plus, we created the celtic tiger.

• Dub, the strange thing is that it’s taken so long for these things to come out to the wider public, it’s been clear to some of us for a very long time that this guy is in no way a suitable candidate for the Presidency.

Fianna Fáil created a network of corruption and patronage that squeezed the life out of this economy. And I’ve heard this “we created the Celtic Tiger” line from gombeen men before, I think that Maastricht, Nice, structural funds and the single market had a lot more to do with it, Fianna Fáil failed to implement any kind of sustainable strategy to exploit the fortunate circumstances, they just pumped until the well ran dry. Of course, only the select few were entitled to drink, but that’s alright, isn’t it?

10 year boom and a 20 year bust? Fair play to ye.

• Impeachment was mentioned above. Just a question. There is a very interesting courtcase happening in the US as we speak. The PSNI are trying to get their hands on audio tapes recorded by certain members of an illegal organization. If they succeed(or if the members die sooner than expected) these tapes could have serious implications one of the candidates. I say could cause we don’t know what’s on these tapes.

• Cormac, whatever the PSNI are doing with regard to the tapes, or whatever innuendo you are using, is not going to deflect that FF WILL NOT WIN THIS PRESIDENTIAL election. Give it up. Call a permenant ceasfire, surrender all the back-handers, go into real politics and start again from the ground up. Its crazy this, but i am guessing it was easier for the IRA to decomission their weapons and admit the war was over, then it is for FF to give up the corruption and croneyism. Maybe 10 years in the wilderness, may give them a chance to reflect on what they did to this country. Maybe, just maybe.

• Someone mentioned impeachment I was just statin that he not the only candidate that this is a possibility for.

• then we could have the real FF and the continuity FF To continue on the glorious tradition

• Martin you forgot the provisional FF.

• Guaranteed if any one in this country decided to run for President,EVERY single one of us would have something thrown at us.it’s the name of the game…I don’t care if Gallagher becomes President or not but there’s suddenly a frenzy over something he did that was 100% legal..and thing is,I don’t recall Sean Gallagher accusing any of the other candidates of any wrongdoing in the entire campaign..am I wrong?

• An IRA connected gangster – we can really believe this guy.

I find it strange too that this guy had McGuinness’ phone number to call him on.

• Yet you don’t find it strange that Morgan has two contact numbers for Seanie?

• Seems he had Sean’s number too and Sean his also

• Very true, he’s IRA-connected, by why then invite him to meet our Taoiseach of the time, and at the price of e5,000 for a photie?

It’s really not that hard to get in contact with any of the Presidential Candidates, just phone their Campaign Office! Here’s McGuinness’s: 018740194

• he could have phoned his campaign office

• A fianna fail connected gangster. Can we really believe this guy? Who am I talking about?

• I didnt realise Seanie was IRA connected Lauren… since when ? Have you a link,…. we all knew he was a crook, but IRA connected ??
      People in here supporting Seanie need to understand 2 things.
      The IRA are dead and gone (SF killed them off), there i no risk of them ever coming back into the equation.
      FF are still a risk to our society, and our health system. We need SF to stamp them out too, and i think McGuinness and Pat Kenny between last nights program and todays radio debate went a long way to turning off the life-support for FF in this country.

• @Cal – as I remember it, pressure from the USA as a result of the Northern Bank robbery and the murder of Robert MacCarthney put paid to the IRA. As a result of a process started by John Hume of the SDLP, back when he was taking abuse from all sides for doing so. But sure you can sing it your way.

• The IRA are not gone, some of it’s members have taken soup and signed up to lacky jobs in stormont, but others are carrying on the work started by the men of 1916.

• @Adrian, you cant have it every way…. two of the Authors that Vincent Browne quoted to McGuinness during the VB debate have outlined in their books that SF are responsible for “MURDERING” the IRA. That is their words, not mine. I softened it a little. McGuiness and Adams have both called on anyone knowing anything about McCartneys murder to come forward to the PSNI. It was the first time that SF publicly told the Nationalist population in the North to support the police. We do know that rogue elements from the former IRA were resposonible, but we do not know which ones … Unless you do, in which case i would seriously urge you to contact the PSNI with your allegations.

• He phoned SF in Armagh and he was forwarded on. Do any of use Phones at work? lol

• @Cal – to the best of my knowledge – and I will stand corrected if so shown – the MacCartheny family have never being happy with the way Mr. Adams and Sinn Fein have conducted themselves since his death. Now, I don’t know who murdered him, but my sympathy, as I’m sure is yours, lies with the victim and his family. If they are unhappy at the way the party has conducted themselves, then surely it is to them it should answer.

However, the family no longer live in West Belfast, being forced out by systematic abuse after just six months. This is a serious concern given Sinn Fein’s popularity in the area, not to mention their commitment to law and order. It speaks gravely against the Sinn Fein vote in the Republic, as they and other victims of IRA voilence are surely not going to stop at purseing a mere presidential candidate now that they have found a common voice.

“Last year Gemma McCartney, a community nurse, was driven out of the Catholic Markets area of Belfast while she was conducting mobile cancer screening tests for women.

She was told to leave by a so-called “community leader” when he realised who she was. Gemma claimed he spat at her feet and ordered her to leave the Markets.

Sinn Féin have denied the man was linked to the party, but the McCartneys believe his behaviour emphasised the grip that republicans still exert on some areas.

“What this highlighted was the control that these people still have in these areas, despite political progress,” Catherine McCartney said.”They can tell people to leave the area – health professionals at that. What progress are we talking about here?”
      “It is easy for people to say to victims ‘move on and forgive’, but living with a legacy of murder effects every aspect of your life – emotionally and financially.”

Their priority remains their fight to track down those responsible for killing their brother. And they are still angered by the attitude of Sinn Féin, the party now sharing power at Stormont.

“There is no reason why there shouldn’t be more people up in court. Sinn Féin have a lot more information and they should be giving that up,” Catherine McCartney said.

“We have a party in a government which has information, which may – or may not – help the murder investigation. But they have not come up with this information.

“There are still a lot of people who refuse to sit down and give statements about what they know about that night.

“Sinn Fein say that they have given about 150 statements. But the police will confirm that the statements are useless.”

Now is that the kind of party from which we’d like to have a President of Ireland?

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/1577005/Robert-McCartneys-family-still-suffering.html

• Adrian,
      The telegraph? .co.uk?
      About Ireland?
      I rest my case

• Ryan – sisters about their brother. A woman about her fiancee.

SHAME ON YOU.

• @Adrian…. I am sorry for what happened to the McCartney family. Genuinely, if it was a relative of mine, i would not stop pursuing the murderers either. But, you ust realise that SF have as much to do with that murder, as Gay Mitchell has to do with all the gangland killings in Dublin. 70% of the Irish population if the North voted for SF in the last election. Do you not think that if SF are behaving in the mnner in which you seem to suggest, that the voters would be switched onto it (especially the ones in belfast and Derry??). I dont dount your sincerity in wanting to find justice for the McCartneys, an i think you should start with the Police. If SF members and supporters gave 150 statements to the Police, and the Police still have no leads, then who should you be criticising? Why would 150 people bother going to a Police station to make statements? In fairness, this makes no sense whatsoever.

• But hang on a minute…What crime has he committed?it’s perfectly legal what he did so why should he lose votes?Fianna Fail ruined our country yes but if this is the only dirt that could be thrown at him,so far in the campaign,it wouldn’t put me off voting for him

• The point is that when asked about his involvement with Fianna Fail previously in the campaign he categorically denied fund raising for them. In other words he lied. Do you want to elect a liar?

• Gallagher ; he’s not a messenger boy, he’s a delivery boy. !!!!!

Doesn’t it say a lot that the word of someone convicted of defrauding the State in the past seems to be enough to throw the frontrunner’s Presidential bid into disarray.
      It seems that Gallagher’s claims to not really have been too involved with FF are as disingenuous as Mary Davis’ photoshopped election posters.
      He also claimed that the accounting irregularities that were disclosed in one of his companies were mistakes.

Sure, in the case of canvassing donations he has done nothing illegal, but his previous claims of minor involvement with FF seem to have foundations of sand.
      This issue goes to the heart of his integrity , his truthfulness and his character.
      Is affability enough ?
      Would he be a worthy President ?

• If you want to make a statement that good ‘ol Fianna Fáil cute hoorism is just fine, then go ahead.

• Mcguinness stated last night that he was told the gallger called to morgans house. Now Morgan is saying gallagher called to business premises. Can’t even get the story straight.

• You are splitting hairs – Mr Gallagher did a character assassination job on Mr Morgan last night by clearly stating lies about him.
      In the light of Mr Morgans statement Mr Gallagher clearly is not President of Ireland material – if he ever was considering his denials recently concerning his huge former Taoiseach Cowan close fundraising connection.

I feel he will get his answer from the People on Thursday

• No. Showing that one or both are lying. We all knew Gallagher was a FF man. Now that the lie has been shown your focusing on the fact that he was investigated by cab. Ha.

• Then why did he run as an independent, Cormac?

• who is morgans puppet master do you think? answers on a postcard ……..

• I would say the Irish people. Whatever this guy did in the past, based on his statement released, he doesnt owe FF any more money, and is free to raise the crookedness of Gallgher and his FF inner circle to the Irish elecorate. I may not like Morgan personally, but i think he has done this country a great service.

• That’s no good at all, Cal. If, as quite a few people now belive, it was wrong for Gallagher to have anything to do with such a person as Morgan, then its also wrong for Martin McGuinness. But just when I was about to worry, I recall Martin Ferris’s commet – “Sure he’ll only be down here a few weeks.”

• It is his lies that are the problem for Gallagher, added in on top of his “business dealings” which feature issues that in most countries would have had him pull out weeks ago, especially given how gombeen business has damaged the country.

Personally I believe that the digging will go on and that he’ll be gone by Christmas if elected.

• If ya don’t belive in him, don’t vote for him. Simple.

• “Will it be a case of “The People have spoken, the Bas***ds”? Maybe after Lisbon 2 the electorate are wary of doing what the media/political establishment tells them they absolutely must do if they don’t want to appear completely thick? McGuinness or Norris might have benefitted from the mood but in my opinion are unelectable for their different reasons.Now watch the aforementioned establishment abandon all pretence of neutrality and try to find what the Americans call an “October Surprise” to derail Gallagher and save their beloved Michael D.”

I posted the above on Journal.ie on Sunday night.I believe I called it exactly right.

• What, Gallagher’s the victim of an establishment conspiracy? Don’t make me laugh. He’s more establishment than any of the others.

Small example, earlier on his former flatmate was wheeled out by RTÉ as an “analyst” of the situation.

• I’m not that bothered about Gallagher. I am bothered by the blatant bias in favour of MDH- nothing but softballs last night and pretty much for the entire campaign.That’s not healthy.

• mcguinness uses the words “builders and developers” as if they are dirty words . He knows these words push some peoples buttons. For heavens sake can people not see through this?

• The most pertinent question is who is likely to be the more effective in attracting jobs to Ireland – the poet or the businessman? I would tend to favour the latter.

Add New Comment