TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Gaza activists set to return to Ireland after Israeli detention ends

Arrangements are being made for the 14 Irish activists who were on a solidarity mission to the Gaza Strip to return home.

This image released by the Israeli Defence Ministry shows Israeli soldiers boarding one of the protest boats.
Image: Israeli Defences Forces/AP Photo

AUTHORITIES ARE MAKING preparations to send the 14 Irish activists held in Israel back to Ireland after a 72-hour period of detention ran out overnight.

The 14 Irish activists, including former Fianna Fáil TD Chris Andrews, are being held at Givon prison in the city of Ramla after the Israeli Navy boarded their ship, the MV Saoirse, which was sailing on a solidarity mission to Gaza along with another Canadian ship, the MV Tahrir, last week.

The pro-Palestinian activists claimed they were travelling in international waters on an aid mission to the blockaded-Gaza Strip. Israel claims that the activists were in Israeli waters and that the blockade is legal as was found in a UN report last month.

A spokesperson for the Irish Ship to Gaza movement said that the ship was “hijacked” by members of the Israeli Navy who held the activists “at gunpoint”.

Both the MV Saoirse, which was carrying no aid, and the MV Tahrir, which was reportedly carrying medical supplies, had a total of 27 activists on board, all of whom were taken into Israeli custody and brought to Ashdod port in Israel.

“Unlike what the Israeli side is reporting that it was a peaceful handover, it wasn’t. Our passengers made it very clear they had no intention of leaving the boat. They were taken at gun point, guns were pointed at them and windows were smashed on the MV Saoirse,” Claudia Saba from the Irish Ship to Gaza claimed.

‘Illegitimate’ protest

A spokesman for the Israeli embassy in Ireland told TheJournal.ie that it was “normal procedure” that navy officers are armed for self-defence when boarding a ship.

He said that the boats had been guided to Ashdod where an Irish consular representative arrived and convinced the activists to disembark the ship.

“The Irish ambassador to Israel has seen them every day they have been there and says they are not being mistreated,” he added, describing the protests of those aboard the flotilla as “illegitimate”.

After disembarking the ship, the activists were taken to Govan prison in the city of Ramla where they have been held over the weekend.

Most of the activists refused to sign deportation orders, saying they contained false statements meaning they could not be sent home until a 72-hour period expired.

Now that it has the Israeli authorities are making arrangements to send the activists back to their home countries either tonight or tomorrow morning. The cost of this will be borne by Israel.

The Israeli embassy in Dublin said that six of the 27 activists had signed the deportation orders and had gone home. The Irish Ship to Gaza movement confirmed this and said that none of those deported were Irish.

It also claimed that the whereabouts of  British journalist, Hassan Ghani of PressTV are unknown.

Government response

A spokeswoman for the Department of Foreign Affairs told TheJournal.ie:

We’ve been providing consular assistnace, visiting every day and keeping in touch with families. We have no cause for concern for any of the activists’ treatment by authorities.

“For any issues raised by detainees, our consular official would have raised those with the authorities there and any issues raised were dealt with,” the spokeswoman added.

Fianna Fáil issued a statement yesterday in which leader Micheál Martin, a former Minister for Foreign Affairs, condemned the actions of the Israeli Defence Forces:

There is no justification for what has been happening over the last week.

“I have spoken directly to the Israeli Ambassador today and made clear to him my view that while we respect Israel and its efforts to protect its citizens, this latest attack on a legitimate protest is unjustifiable,” he said.

Read: Irish detained from Gaza-bound boats to be deported from Israel >

Read: Gaza activists make contact from Israeli prison calling incident “violent and dangerous” >

Read next:

Comments (21 Comments)

• Don’t you mean “former Fianna Fáil TD Chris Andrews” rather than Barry Andrews?

• Don’t you mean former TD Chris Andrews?

• Oh the Israelis are such mean brutish people keeping this bunch of loons in prison for hmmmm hmmmm 3 days. If they can act this brutal the next thing they might do is wave their finger and call you naughty boys. They did suceed in showing you up as the bunch of eejits ye are though.

• The problem that I have with these loons is they are pointing out the legitimate faults of the Israelis while ignoring the much greater human rights abuses of Israels neighbours whos religion is compelling them to live in the 7th century. If the Islamic world didnt feel their imaginary sky daddy was telling them they must destroy the State of Israel regardless of what concessions the Israelis make then maybe Israel wouldnt feel the need to react so hard when they are attacked. Maybe just maybe if international politics demanded respect for evidence and enlightenment for positions of elected office the world would be in a better place. Also the Islamic world need to be hurled 1400 years into the 21st century.

• Ah here. I don’t want to get into this again, even slightly, but how can you even try to justify a statement like:

while ignoring the much greater human rights abuses of Israels neighbours whos religion is compelling them to live in the 7th century.

Firstly, no-one’s ignoring human rights abuses by neighbouring states, or the Palestinians / Hamas themselves. The fact is that there’s one particular rights abuse taking place that could be solved with the stroke of an Israeli pen. I think we owe it to Gaza’s malnourished children to pay attention.

Secondly, I know very many moderate, secular Muslims from various parts of the world, I think your supposition that the “Islamic world” is in thrall to their “sky daddy” any more than anywhere else in the world is unsustainable, and insulting.

Of course, actions such as the blockade don’t exactly improve Israel’s image in the eyes of these moderates, and add some credence to the crazies’ demagoguery. As I’ve said before.

• Watch tomorrow as the martyrs arrive at Dublin Airport spinning yarns of brutal Israeli mistreatment as they did last year and expecting to be taken seriously. If they were ‘kidnapped’ and ‘hijacked’ as they allege you would expect them to want to get out of that living Israeli hell ASAP, but instead they chose to drag it out, refusing to sign deportation papers and using up the full 72 hours available for appeal. Remember, this is the ‘rogue state’ they abhor and hate so much, they must find it unbearable to touch its soil…

As for Micheal Martin, it seems for him that a state has a theoretical right to defend itself, but must not do anything to enforce that right. If he doesn’t like this blockade, he has an obligation to suggest to Israel an alternative that would be equally effective against weapons smuggling by Hamas & Islamic Jihad into Gaza. Otherwise, his stance is just moral posturing.

• I’m sure they’ll be straight of to join one of the #occupy protests….

• http://www.fiannafail.ie/page/s/gaza

I see Fianna Fail is running an online petition which accuses Israel of using “lethal force” in the interception of the Saoirse and it’s Canadian twin.Sensible people following the story know full well that the activists will be returning home at the expense of Israel with not a hair on their precious heads harmed. I’d say Trevor saw more lethal force in Donnybrook.

• It should be noted that 7 of the 14 Irish ‘humanitarians’ on the Saoirse are members of Sinn Fein, including several former Provo IRA activists. The relevance of this is that their organisation signed up to the 1998 Good Friday Agreement that sought to end the politics of demonisation, boycott and confrontation between the two Irish communities and replace it with the politics of dialogue and parity of esteem.

Yet, having largely abandoned this form of politics in Ireland, they now try to impose the same negative politics on their abysmally understood and totally one-sided take on the Middle East conflict. In trying to break the Gaza blockade, they cannot be blind to the consequences were they to succeed: an inevitable upsurge in the smuggling by Hamas and Islamic Jihad of Iranian weaponry into Gaza and the increased rocketing of Israel, adding to the 1,200 Israeli death toll of the intifada since 2001.

But these guys are in familiar ‘waters’ here: 25 years ago the Provos were busy smuggling into Ireland huge consignments of weapons by ship from Gaddafi’s Libya for their murder campaign in N. Ireland. Sadly the Irish navy intercepted only one – the Eksund in 1987. Only a lack of manpower by the IRA prevented this arsenal being to kill far greater numbers of fellow-Irish people.

• I guess my petition to actually ship the pricks to gaza and let them live there didn’t catch on. Maybe next time…. And we all know there will be a next time…

• There are still some 20 activists and journalists that remain detained under the Israeli government, which is absolutely outrageous. There have been allegations of abuse and even physical assault by Israeli forces on those detained. I was watching Democracy Now! this morning and their correspondent, Jihan Hafiz, was just released last night. She was on the show today and talked about the violent Israeli raid of the boats and her three-day detention. Definitely worth checking out: http://www.democracynow.org

• Whinging for Gaza once more! We need some solid information here: ‘Abuse and even physical assault’ is not good enough. Details please.
      Imagine being ‘detained’ by an evil Israeli government that wanted to send you home two days ago but granted you a legal right to stay longer to appeal your deportation!
      What does a body have to do these days to win martyrdom! Some advice: if you insist on playing with the big boys, don’t whinge when things don’t go your way.

• In response to Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin’s super-heated guff, over the arrest of those who should not have been on board a boat, to run the recognised legal, by the UN, blockade of Gaza Strip, and now languish in Givon jail, It would be fair to say that the ROI is not in any position to criticise Israel.

Former rugby player Trevor Hogan, Socialist Party MEP Paul Murphy, former TD Chris Andrews and several other politicians, took on this mission to support international terrorism, at their own risk, and have no right to complain about Israel’s perfectly legal and justifiable response, to an aspect of the existential threats from Israel’s enemies, which include those who helped to bail out the Irish banks. Enemies of Israel, that the ROI is now beholden to.

It was with some relief that Martin McGuinness failed in his Presidential election run, since success would have clearly shown that the ROI to be a nation of travellers, led by gombeens. Now, though, that is not so certain. Nevertheless, Israel can be sanguine to the extent that, although the ROI has voluntarily joined the ranks of Israel’s enemies, the ROI is in no position to do anything of much consequence, beyond that which it already does, as a safe haven for the likes of the Real IRA and/or its flags of convenience.

Add New Comment