Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 18 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Government confirms closure of four military barracks

515 military staff, and 25 civilians, are to be relocated as part of plans to close four army barracks.
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has confirmed that four provincial military barracks facilities are to close, with 540 staff – the majority of them army personnel – set to be relocated to other facilities.

The Taoiseach confirmed in the Dáil this afternoon that decisions had been reached to close the Defence Forces facilities in Mullingar, Clonmel, Cavan and Castlebar.

The four barracks will close with their properties to be sold, with the funds from the sales to go towards infrastructure and investment in army facilities.

Kenny said that the previous government had closed ten barracks while in office, and had sold six of those to raise €85m which was then invested back into the Defence Forces.

“The government is anxious to maintain the strength of the army at operational level,” Kenny said, insisting that jobs would not be lost and dismissing opposition claims that the move was among one of the larger rounds of job losses.

“This is not the same as Aviva, or TalkTalk, where jobs are lost and where there’s a resultant move to social protection,” the Taoiseach asserted. “No job is being lost here.”

Kenny also dismissed complaints from Socialist Party TD Joe Higgins who said the closures would have grave economic consequences for the towns concerned.

“If you look at the areas where barracks have closed over last 10-15 years, economic consequence has not been as you say… personnel have not moved from a barracks that has been closed.

“The local economy is still the beneficiary of wages and salaries of personnel in the Defence Forces.”

No specific timeframe was given by the Taoiseach for when the closures are due to take place.

The 540 affected state – 515 Army personnel, and 25 civilians – will be offered a nine-month relocation allowance if they move to a new barracks, Kenny said, though only a minority of staff affected by previous closures had ultimately chosen to move house.

The closure of Columb Barracks in Mullingar has caused the first resignation from the cabinet: junior minister Willie Penrose, a Labour TD for Longford-Westmeath, has quit the government and Labour party over the closure.

Fianna Fáil defence spokesman Dara Calleary described the decision as a “costly mistake”, describing the news as “the start of a damaging agenda from Defence Minister Alan Shatter to shut down a number of key army and garda facilities across the country”.

This strategy was “without cause and without benefit,” Calleary said, calling on government TDs in Westmeath, Tipperary, Cavan and Mayo to stand up and oppose the cabinet decision.

Labour TD resigns from government over barracks closure >

Read Next:

Comments (18 Comments)

• Jack Keegan 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Does anyone know anything of ownership or leases attached to these barracks? I heard a rumour the British army owns the Columb barracks and the Irish army have the lease?

• olive tierney 16/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Jack your rumour is correct!! Most of the Army barracks are still owned by the British government and are only leased. Those that are not belong to the British have Preservation orders on them….It’s just all so sad!!!!

• Paul 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

If it is like the military barracks that was close a few years ago many of these have since fallen into disreair

• CMD 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

This government is turning out far worse than the last one. Closing hospitals, army barracks, cutting payments to single parents while giving themselves an increase in expenses, appointing their friends as judges and refusing to deal with banks. Themselves and Elderfield passing the buck from one to the other. And the scary thing is we are probably stuck with them for another 4+ years. It is so depressing. Fair play to Willie Penrose. Pity the planks from Clonmel and Cavan didn’t stand up for the people who elected them in the same. What is the point of electing them if they turn their back on us as soon as they get the fat salary and all the attendant perks. Spineless prats!

• BJ 15/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Spineless would be to keep open inefficient resources simply because the local public demand it… It takes courage to make unpopular decisions.

• Sean Trowell 15/11/11 #
      Report this comment

@bj would u say the Roscommon hospital is an “inefficient resource”?

• BJ 15/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Wouldn’t be qualified to say. What I will say is that Mullingar is not of ‘strategic importance’ to the Defence of the state. I’m sure whatever they do there can be done equally as well in Athlone where a larger barracks exists, thereby reducing overhead costs!

• NSalmon 15/11/11 #
      Report this comment

You have to remember this givernment is under the thumb and essentially the rule of the IMF and to a lesser extent the EU…these types of cuts (whether one agrees with them or not) are part and parcel of any IMF contribution to our country..look at case studies of other nations run by the IMF and see how over time similar and more severe cuts have to happen under the guise of ‘Structural Adjustment Programmes’!

• Anthony O'Donnell 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Anyone care to give odds on this Government falling soon, i predict a riot the minute social welfare is touched.

• Martin Mc Cormack 15/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Most of them wouldn’t even know who is in government

• Neil 15/11/11 #
      Report this comment

To be replaced by who? Sinn Fein? If they don’t cut SW then it’s going to be public sector pay. Or raise taxes even more. None of those are going to be popular.
      There is no magic bullet. Going into default and leaving the euro would actually mean spending would be slashed even quicker. SW and public sector pay would be slashed overnight.

This government is going to leave a lot of people very pissed off. But I don’t see how that could have been otherwise.

• Declan Hamill 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Labour td’s should get in contact with the ex green td’s for advice on what to do with your day when you are out of work because in less than 4 years time they are next !

• Richard Fitzwell 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

No thought into the knock on effects to these towns when the barracks close! I can see this will be the start of a falling government! No balls to cut social and ppl think it’s an entitlement to get free money! Undermining lower paid jobs!

• Shane O'Connor 15/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Pfft. Close them all. Who in their right mind would want to invade us anyway given the state we are in. We don’t need an army. We do need hospitals, schools etc.

• Cormac Flanagan 16/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Really. So who going to disarm the rising number of pipe bombs and IED’s that the gangs are literally throwing around. Oh and as we’ve seen the real IRA are causing trouble again. Course we don’t need them.

• Report this comment

Talk about kicking people when they’re down! But hey, what difference would another 9,500 unemployed people make right?

• Bruce 16/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Would we be any less shagged in the event of a war if these barracks were kept open? Not an iota.

• Shane O'Connor 16/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Last time I checked you don’t need to be in the army to learn bomb disposal skills.. Many police forces around the world have bomb disposal units. But I’m glad you found something they re useful for :/

Add New Comment