Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 18 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Government considers household charge to replace TV licence fee

Pat Rabbitte
Image: Photocall Ireland

THE COMMUNICATIONS MINISTER Pat Rabbitte is actively considering replacing the television licence with a household broadcasting charge which will target those evading the annual fee.

Rabbitte estimates that some €25 million is lost through people having a television but not paying the licence fee and told the Dáil yesterday that a replacement is being considered to address evasion and “the reality of new mechanisms to access television content,” referring to those who watch TV online.

He said that a new charge would be placed on “all households and applicable businesses, regardless of the device used to access content.”

Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland this morning, Rabbitte stressed that the proposal for a new charge was not an additional tax on households already faced with the interim household charge ahead of eventual property and water taxes.

“This is not a new levy. This is a replacement for the existing TV licence,” he said.

“A huge number of the population now get their news maybe not from sitting down in front of the 9 o’clock news but accessing arrangements that the public service broadcaster has put in place,” Rabbitte said, referring to watching TV online.

He said that four countries were currently implementing similar changes to their television licence fee arrangements to account for those who do not use their TV to watch broadcasts and noted: “We won’t have to reinvent the wheel, I hope.”

Rabbitte suggested the new charge would not be more than the existing TV licence fee of €160 and even suggested “it might be less” but indicated that it was unlikely it would be implemented before next year.

The Minister told the Dáil yesterday that he would have a “sense of the timeframe and scale of implementation involved” in taking the proposal further in the coming weeks.

Read Next:

Comments (135 Comments)

• jason sheridan 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

is he having a laugh,i pay for my broadband which includes vat and my t.v. provider also charges vat,its like going into a shop and paying for the same item three times.

• Ivor Point 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

It s government , they are liars and thieves ( whoops I have repeated myself )

• DieterBOO 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

And the pi**ing on Irish continues but once again they will accept it. All of this while this well fed bast**d gets 3,500 a year to get his clothes washed and expenses alone that equal the average industrial wage of Irish. Yesterday your Finance minister met his good friends the German bankers and promised to continue bleeding his people dry to appease them. Your finance Minister unbelievably owns German Bonds and you do not care!

http://irishtimes.newspaperdirect.com/epaper/viewer.aspx

Your stupid leader is more interested in bowing to his EU friends from the EPP than his people because he wants to be next president of the EPP.

But Irish continue to obey, roll over and laugh. WAKE UP IRELAND, Its your country, it doesnt belong to these bast**ds and traitors, take your country back!!

• Ollie Pinion 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

RTE should be competing for customers as all other media providers do , the reason they are in decline is their failure to nurture new talent. At 37 years old the same people are the face of RTE now as were when i was a child!!
      We have the talent, content and global interest in Ireland that they should be selling content online to a global audience and yet they run to the government for protection from the global marketplace. They hide behind their duty to provide “public service broadcasting” wheras youtube and other video content websites have rendered this as obsolete. and given innovators in the community a way around the content bottleneck that was RTE.

As an internet user have no interest in watching RTE programs so why must I pay a fee to RTE? Consumers are going online not to watch RTE but to watch other Global providers who provide quality content. The fact that Pat Rabbite is even considering this demonstrates a complete lack of understanding of the internet.

If the goal is to protect RTE and they don’t want customers watching their content online ….why do they publish it online? If they wish to only have users who pay for the content watching it , make it a sign in service where TV license number is required.
      Any other form of charging is a simple government TAX on the internet.

Even considering Implementing a charge demonstrates a 1970′s approach to a 2012 issue.

As a citizen of Ireland and an online user I Strongly oppose Taxing internet access in any form. It goes against every core principle of the internet.
      I would encourage you to write to the minister and let him know if you oppose it too

minister@dcenr.gov.ie
      pat.rabbitte@oireachtas.ie

• Mark Dennehy 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Forget RTE, the television licence is supposed to be a licence from the state to use a natural resource (in this case, the electromagnetic spectrum over a set range of wavelengths). That’s why you have to pay the licence if you have the electronics, even if you don’t have a display hooked up to the receiver.

This “broadcast tax” has no such basis. There’s no natural resource owned by the state being used (the closest thing to a state-owned facility being used here is the eircom backbone network, and the state ignored recommendations and sold off that years ago).

So WTF is the ethical basis for this tax then?

• Adam Murphy 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Would you ever go fuck yourself, Pat!

• Sharon Larkin 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

He wants to tackle the 15 per cent that aren’t paying the tv licence. So he decides to hit every house hold.

• bothyhead 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

” … is actively considering *replacing* the television licence”

They’re not proposing to “hit” every household. They’re considering doing away with the existing TV licence and replacing it with a household broadcasting charge. If you currently pay your TV licence, you’ve nothing to worry about. The minister was quoted on Radio 1 as saying the fee may even be lower than the current TV licence fee (of course, there’s always the chance that it may not).

• Biggins31 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

“Lower” my bloody arse!

• Jenn Byrne 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

@ Bothyhead – ah but what if you don’t watch Tv or watch the irish broadcasts online?

I know I don’t. I’d have no desire to pay the tax and wouldn’t.

• Conor Macken 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Surely a Broadcasting Charge should be paid by broadcasters?

• Richard Fennessy 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

next up road tax for people with no cars

• Biggins31 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Yahoo – another basically charge on the home and everything in it!
    A great bunch of lads FG and Labour are! (NOT!)

Yes, I know its supposedly replacing the TV licence but this new ‘charge’ is supposed to cover everything but the money is still going to RTE services, etc!
    (If I want them or NOT!)

I’m paying ALREADY for similar services on devices each time I top-up, pay my Sky bill or pay additional bills!

…Not that that matters to FG or Labour!

They just want the money to fund an over bloated organisation that is half filled with their buddies around directors tables and tired, boring and over-paid TV and radio presenters!

———————————————

Look lads and lassies, they don’t give a damn about us. You know it and they know we know it.

Whats more, Noonan yesterday assured German bankers: ‘Ireland will not burn senior bondholders’”
    …And thats after they stated in the election manifesto: “Fine Gael in Government will force certain classes of bondholders to share in the cost of recapitalising troubled financial institutions”
    …And Labour said at election time: “Is it Labour’s way or Frankfurt way” – Eamon Gilmore

…But then again, Noonan WANTS the public to pay on the German bonds – seeing as he owns some of them!
    True – see: Register shows Minister for Finance owns German bonds
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2011/0409/1224294305462.html

So give out all you want – they aren’t listening though and they don’t give a crap!
    Your paying and you can like it or lump it!

—————————————————————

Your paying for whatever latest stunt or over priced excuse they can come up with!

Now… are you going to accept it – or do something REALLY about it?

• Cormac Cahill 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

for some reason, unknown to me, whatever the government has done i’ve thought to myself that whatever measures they are bringing in have a reason and they are trying to help the country. but this proposed bill is the straw that will break my back. this bill stinks of greed and is the definition of hitting the common man. everyone will effectiviely be hit with a charge on the presumption that you MAY use the service.

this government has now lost it. we all need to raise our voices and be heard on this one. disgraceful.

• Eileen Gabbett 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Good for you Cormac .
      Stand up and don’t be afraid . I crossed my line last week and
      I decided enough is enough. Get out and go to public meetings
      in your area ,see and hear what is being said.
      Join the great unheard !!!

• John Finn 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I have no problem with paying the re-named licence fee but what I find extraordinary is the revelation that 15% of people do not pay the existing one. This despite a very hard hitting advertising campaign over recent years which promised that defaulters could easily be identified and would have to pay. So what went wrong that resulted in such a high rate of non-payment? Was it all just advertising puff with no substance? Were the licence inspectors just the figment of some advertising copywriter’s imagination? And if the authorities have been so inefficient as to allow this scandalously high rate of non-payment to continue what difference will re-naming the licence fee make?

• Ruaidhrí 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Maybe people like me, who couldn’t afford the TV licence and got rid of their TV to save costs as I was returning to education.

I’m doing a PhD. I don’t need a TV, so I chose to get rid of it. I do need the Internet. I need pubmed & google scholar the same way other people need food and water.

Now Rabbitte & the Labour party, the “socialist” party, want me to pay for a service I don’t use. To help pay the salary of individuals who are already over payed.

• Aideen McCarthy 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

well it would seem the inspectors don’t work after half 4 in the evening. I know a lot of people who have never even seen what a TV license looks like. And although they get the notes in the door to say an inspector has been, none of them have received a visit in the evening when they are actually at home. Almost every shared house that I know of have no license as the house in in The Landlords name and with 4 people living in the house who is going to take the slack?

• Barry 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

So what he;s saying is they want to put a tax on the internet? Thats effectively what this is.
    If you have a mobile broadband device or adsl or cable then your going to have to pay this regardless of what you use the connection for.

• Biggins31 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Whats more, your being MADE to pay for something you might NEVER want or use!

• Auntie Dote 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Sorry, but he’s saying that if you so much as live in a house (or have a ‘qualifying’ business, whatever that means) you’ll have to pay.

Cheeky house-residing, non-television watchers should be nothing but delighted to keep paying huge ‘star’ salaries, sure peasants have always loved a good aristocracy!

• Biggins31 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Legalised state extortion!

• Report this comment

So,do we take it the millions spent on advertising has been just more money down the sewer?

• Rachel Ahearne 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Do we not pay a TV licence so we can have a “public service broadcast station” i.e RTE? So why should someone be liable for the fee if the choose to watch international shows/films online? People of Ireland, there is a word called NO, we need to start using it.

• Rob 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

well my taxes also pay for the dole – but i’m not unemployed! and for the roads in Cavan – where i dont travel to! and for knock airport – which i think was a waste!

when did we get the idea that anyone cared if we used the stuff or not?? RTE exists – and is actually a good deal better at what it does than most of the things my taxes get wasted on….

• Rachel Ahearne 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Rob, I think you have to remember that taxes are completely different than fees and charges. You obviously can’t pick and choose what area your taxes are spent on. You elect public representatives to make those wise decisions for you and trust in their judgement. Not going so well for us but that is the system no matter how flawed. Fees and charges are often in accordance with usage, such as the upcoming water charges scheme. While not all are based (or plan to be) based on usage, they are often at least relevant e.g motor tax goes towards roads (or so they say). I just can’t see how charging people a fee that funds an organisation that has no relevance to them and their media usage can be allowed. They already pay for broadband and perhaps Netflix fees etc, why should they pay for RTE when they don’t watch/listen to it’s programming?

How many more of these extra charges can regular households take? We seem to continue to justify every new charge and the problem with that is we are now an easy target for them to keep on coming and why not if we just take it? It’s not like we’ll do anything other than moan on forums! Which is what I usually do but if this comes into play I might just do what the good old French do and actually actively protest!

Let me watch The Wire in peace Pat!

• Barry 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I’m curious, with this new replacement tax will RTE still get 90% of the revenue from it?
    At this stage RTE should have to fend for themselves in the real world instead of being supported by the tv license fee by the general public, they don’t have decent programming and they still show adverts unlike the bbc.

• Graham Harkness 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Perhaps he cold either close RTE or make it More efficient? Nice one Labour for dreaming up ways to give heaps more money to our social and economic betters in Donnybrook.

I think I will start a party that looks out for the little guy. Oh wait…..

Report this comment

All those obscure American made dubbed bought in documentaries about Salmon in Colorado or the Japanese SDF won’t buy and broadcast themselves.

• Biggins31 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

It can boil down to something like this at times…

If your an 18 year old and just moved out of the family home into a flat or apartment, sharing with your friends…
    You haven’t got around to buying a TV yet. Its on the list of things to get for your new place.

Do you have a phone?
    Do you have a laptop?

Fine – your paying for RTE and its services – and if you don’t like it, tough buddy!
    YOUR PAYING – NOW COUGH UP!

• Biggins31 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Legalised state extortion!
      Your paying or we are coming to your door!

…And if that don’t work – the state will take it from your Dole or wages direct at source!

• michael cuthbert 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

State extortion was always legal. After all, it is foundation stone of the State that it can take resources from you to provide for you. Once knew an Italian Phd student who was questioning the difference between the State and the Mafia. Both do the same thing don’t they?

• Rob 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

so 18 year olds shouldn’t pay taxes?

• Ciaro 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

RTE dont use licence fees for their web based content, why does the goon Rabbitte want to charge people for it?

He has no understanding of technology, why is a man with no qualifications managing this ministry?

• Ciaro 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Approximately 7% of licence revenue goes to the BCI Broadcasting Fund.
    Pat’s quango!!

• Eoin Byrne 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

So Rabbitte is looking to introduce a tax on those of us who get our news and entertainment on-line on top of the 27% VAT we already pay to have internet? How is it that all other tv and radio stations can afford to be run solely on advertising revenue while RTE needs to be supplemented by the tax payer? I could almost understand if the Government owned the masts or fibre optic cables used to pump the internet into our homes, but they don’t. They’re trying to tax us on a service they don’t provide. Shocking display.

• Jeroen Bos 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I threw the tv out years ago and haven’t missed it since. I do not watch RTE or any other Irish tv broadcaster online, because I think their programs are sh*te and besides I don’t get the speeds on my connection.

So I am not going to pay, very simple.

But here’s an idea. Instead of having everyone to pay for the rubbish the state tv is producing, just block the websites of RTE TV3 etc. No big miss and no one will “secretly”, without paying their license, watch tv shows again.

Report this comment

Joe Duffy does deserve a pay rise in all fairness and I hear fair city has been nominated for a Grammy.

• Gav 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I wouldn’t mind this at all (If I lived in England).

RTE aggregates all the rubbish shows that SKY and Channel 5 didn’t want. A huge proportion of the programming is from the UK and abroad, so what in Gods name are we paying for here?

• Report this comment

I pay a TV license fee For a 12 year old tv that is only used for the kids to watch DVDs as we cancelled satellite subscription due to costs. No matter what rabbit ears contraption we have tried to use, we cannot pick up “free-to-air” Irish channels as the area e live in is blocked from receiving signals. It bothers me HUGELY that I am forced to pay the fee, and changing the name of the fee is a farce created to satisfy the big boys of Europe. It is actually scary just how far they are willing to push the ordinary hard working normal citizens of this country.

• Martina 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Once you take the card out of the sky box you can see the free to view channels which are bbc, itv and channel 5 and a rake of others, tiny pop and fix for the kids, FTV all the way

• Dave 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I am rapidly coming to the conclusion that this government now actually wants us to take to the streets. No administration could actually posess such poor timing or utter stupidity (no, i’m serious!)

• MCM 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Fuck RTE and all those overpaid, uninteresting, talentless dopes.

• jimbo 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

took the words out of mouth

• john g mcgrath 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Agreed rte is also used to promote air heads scobies and z list celebs who since the Celtic tiger can’t get work or free drink.Talent shows judged by people who have little or no talent passing verdicts on mostly talentless gob shites.

• Auntie Dote 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

The ‘user pays’ principle is a nonsense if there is no viable non-user, non-paying opt out. Believe it or not, some of us don’t watch television, on any medium, ever.

This is one more reason for me personally not to sign up for the household charge. Signing up implies consent, and I will not consent to becoming a peasant that can be squeezed homeless to fund the creation of a new kleptocracy, same as the old kleptocracy.

• Paddy O'Reilly 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Essentially it’s a broadband tax. Why don’t they tax radios, there’s way more of them out there, RTÉ’d make a fortune off it.
    This is our SOPA, a cause for the netizens of Ireland to rise up and be heard.

• Heather Knowles 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I personally would be happy not to receive RTE channels as we don’t watch any of the crap they show. Why not make RTE a subscription based service you choose to pay for and leave the rest of us alone. I can most definitely say if I watch TV on my laptop it’s not their rubbish that Im viewing. Of course they won’t do this as their revenue would fall overnight and they know it. Sick to death of the shite this shower are coming up with, all their new charges designed to tax us on everything. We pay for our internet and we pay VAT enough is enough.

• Gerard Murphy 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

This idea is dead in the water already, with enough people refusing to register for the household charge it can’t be implemented.
    People, wake up, it’s called people power, Don’t Register, Don’t Pay.

• Conor Magee 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

It’s been a long time since I watched a program that was paid for by the tv licence. I don’t have a tv, I don’t watch six one news, I don’t listen to radio one/2fm and I really wish the whole lot of them would piss off. They don’t provide value for money and I don’t use them therefore I shouldn’t pay and to be honest until quality improved neither should anyone else

• Jennyrobbins 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

One soul for sale …… Open to offers

• Bigbirtha 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

This is again, just the beginning. Wait til they introduce the data tax which the ISPs will be forced to implement.

Anyone know roughly how much the RTE spends on American tv shows and series? Now thats a scam if ever I saw one.

• Rossa O Connor 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Your paying for the right to receive! Content is irrelevant to the government. Then that takes away the responsibility for them to provide you with a decent service!

• Martina 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

The only thing rte has done good is that kids programme with the cartoon character in it, Simon Delaney plays his dad its quite funny

• Report this comment

Sorry Martina but that show is brutal. I see the kids switch it off straight away. My 7 year old said he’d watch daddy’s news before watching that.

• Paddy Flood 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Perhaps I’m mistaken, but wasn’t the stealth-tax of the Household Charge effectively brought in to replace the TV Licence?

So now we have even more expenses to cover – Saorview/TV License/Household Charge/Related VAT – even though we may be digital customers and may not avail of consume any of the programming that RTE transmit.

The BBC recieve funds from a TV Licence scheme and in turn do not subject their viewers to on screen advertising.

RTE receive a TV License fund and yet they still generate revenue from advertisements.

This, I believe, is a capitalist market. During these difficult time everyone has has to work harder – Newsagents, insurance companies, car dealerships, hairdressers, everyone – Why mustn’t RTE do the same?

Adapt or Die.

• Damien Ruth 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Why is it every day I read the journal I see that another minister is dreaming up new ways to tax the general public, it they put half the effort into ideas for job creation then maybe, just maybe they’d be fulfilling they’re pre election promises and 2013 might be the beginning of good things to come!!! I think these dosey gits are missing the point!!

• ƒR()§†H@X 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

How much does it cost for RTE to buy all the English programmes like Eastenders, Corrie, etc. What a waste of money when all these programmes are already shown on FTA BBC and UTV. Maybe they should be more efficient first and cut the extortionate wages of PK and Tubbs and then come back to screw us?

• john g mcgrath 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Car tax pays for upkeep of roads not footpaths so a levy on shoe leather or shoes will raise money for councils to improve toothpaste.
    This off course will not apply to ministers as they get driven around in cars paid for by the state

• Red Ed 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Next: Eamonn Gilmore suggests air tax

• Anthony O'Brien 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

They can just go and eff off at this stage, a feckin’ broadband tax for the worse service in Europe. Irish people are paying crazy prices for the cost of broadband already compared to our European counterparts. I wonder would they consider taxing the tea in my flask, it is hot afterall, maybe too much of a luxury.

• Adam Magari 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

This is a shameless Internet connection tax. Pure and simple. Rabbite is dressing it up in some other guise to try to pull the wool over the electorate’s eyes. More anti-technology thinking from a drab government. First Sherlock is out to hack at Internet access to ‘protect’ the entertainment industry, and now Rabbite is joining the attack in order to ‘protect’ public service broadcasting, RTE. Shortfall is hacking at the supermarkets and off-licenses to ‘protect’ the public from cheap drink, in other words to protect the vintners’ cartel. I hope those who voted for the smoked salmon socialists are retching with all this reactionary policy stuff. The irony is that these ministers are touted in the media as the progressive wing. What a laugh.

• Brian Carroll 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

The fact that an utterly shite channel like RTE gets my money, because it’s the law, pisses me off no end. Remember folks, this is the channel which rang in the new year by treating us to Crystal Swing and Brendan Bowyer ‘doing’ the hucklebuck.

• bothyhead 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

If this broadcasting charge is going to be applied to businesses then it is only fair that the IMRO charge is done away with. Otherwise, it is a second form of tax for them.

• Stephen Maher 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

My crossword has me flummoxed!!!
    3 down.) a short word to describe Pat Rabitte.
    C something, something, T.
    What COULD it be????

• William Ruane 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Curiously this raises it’s head a week after Netflix appears. Suddenly the writing is on the wall. The trend suggests that people will access the news, information and entertainment they want when and where they want it, not the shite offered by RTE. This is a brutal attempt by the minister to maintain an income stream from a quickly diverging source.
    RTE is on the ropes and this can be mostly attributed to poor planning and vision by those at the top and massive salaries paid to over-comfortable under-performing hacks.

Will we pay?…I can’t see why not… we’ve paid everything else we were asked to. Collectively many have ridiculed the occupy protests…because we don’t get it. WTF!!

• Aideen McCarthy 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

When was the last time that shivering individual fat self serving politician paid for his own TV license? Or if he did you can be sure he slipped it into his “expenses” account to be sure he wasn’t bloody out of pocket. I’m sick paying the money for the shite that RTE throw out. I already have to pay sky extra so as something decent is on in the evening. Stick your new charge in the same place you’ll be sticking the “household” charge. More money out of us working class idiots while you and your banking and developer friends surround yourself in luxury while we struggle with the basics.
    Go get the people who aren’t paying their TV license to pay and get the 25 million you are losing, or here’s an idea cut the wages of the overpaid mediocre presenters and DJ’s employed if they dont like it, see if they can do any better getting a job with The BBC. I’m sure they wouldnt be long coming back down to earth.

• stephen 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I could come on here and rant and rave like a lot of others but lets face facts these people that claim to represent us will do what they want weather we agree or not. For most of us we will come on to pages like this and have a moan and feel better. I don’t agree with it either but it is probably going to happen anyway. Like a previous poster said it is funny how a week after the excellent Netflix arrive we have this.

• Ruaidhrí 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

People should write to Minister Rabbitte and their local TD’s to give out.

That at least has slightly more chance of working than venting in comments no politician will bother to read.

• Aurfur 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Scrap the tv licence. Scrap the collection agency and all it’s redundant staff. Charge an extra 10 euros per month on all electricity bills and ESB pay directly to the exchequer. No need to register. Businesses might complain but employees take radios and TVs in at times, football matches etc. Big cost savings no big implementation plan, no evasion unless you go off grid. Pass the savings back to the consumer.

• Eugene Farrell 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

What a loada b*llox, so we currently waste our money on a TV licence to see ryan interview tv ‘celebrities’ on a weekly basis….and now they want a TV licence if you’ve got no TV, whats next, a general tax rate that doesn’t include all our taxes generally, a road tax even if our car is off the road, a ‘green’ tax that is not used for anything green, a universal social tax that’s not universal, a house tax on a house we already paid our tax on, a septic tank registration on tanks that are already registered with the authorities, a water tax when water is a human right…..ahhhh no, our governments have a better idea, let’s charge us muppets all of the above….maybe they should just bunch them all together and call it ‘muppet’ tax and if they can screw us all by say, 80%, then that can pay 100% of their top wages and top pensions….everyone’s a winner….

• Liam Byrne 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

It is well passed the time to get these overpaid, overfed and out of touch politicians removed from control of this country.
    The system isn’t working and hasn’t worked for a long long time.
    We need representatives who are you enough to actually have a notion as to what this nation wants.

• Ciaran Waters 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

The way I see it its a tax on the internet. Pat Rabbit is not happy that people have become wise to the fact that they can scrap their tv and just watch the stuff they want on their pc/mac/smartphone. Go him for promoting use of the internet. I know he’d state that people are evaiding paying the license but my response would be that thats an issue with enforcement, not a right to tax everyone regardless of whether they use the service or not. If the gov really don’t want us to watch RTE player without paying then make it a paid service.

• John Delaney 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

When I moved into my new house 12 years ago I put in a full uk sky subscription. I have not watched rte for 11 years. Their programs are pure rubbish and copies of uk programs. There are exceptions , Miriam and vincent are 2 that I know of. Seen a couple of interviews by them in someones house. Comparing Graham norton to Brendan O’Connor, Jesus. Hopeless. Irish tv is shit, news is shit all local news, a car hitting a ditch is Not news. Friend called to say tv inspectors were around, myself and herself spent an hour gathering as much furniture into front sitting room put 42″ plasma into box on top of furniture. Inspector called, told him to look in window, we split up, she is taking tv with her. Hid the mercedes in the farm. She disappeared until he was gone. He wrote no set, won’t be back for 5 years.
    Saved €900, don’t watch rte or listen to radio 1. Advertising covers their cost, no need to pay Irish broadcaster €800,000 for a country of 4 million people.

• Chris Connolly M 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

This sounds an awful lot like the scrapping of postgrad funding that came out before the last budget.
    They’re worried about people not paying the housing charge so they float the idea of a much worse tax (which must’ve taken a while to think up, considering what they’re asking for already). Then they’ll shelve it with the words:

“We’ve taken into consideration the position of the homeowner and the great contribution they’ve made to the country, with special recognition for those who have paid, and those who will pay, the housing charge in the coming months. For this reason, plans to change the tv licence fee have been shelved pending a full report on the current structuring of the licence fee charges.”

Everyone breaths a sigh of relief, nods and says “well at least they didn’t start charging us for the internet.”

On the flipside, if noone took much notice of his comments yesterday they’d probably bring it in. Plus the fact its been tabled means it might be brought in further down the line.
    There’s a word for these kinda dumb tricks, diversonary announcements or something.

• Karen Kidd 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

How can they charge Internet ?? I live in the middle if nowhere and Internet here sucks, lot of patience if u want to even send an e-mail. What about at least they let sky provide broadband ?? Or UPC to attend the rest of Ireland ??

• Diego Attley 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Why don’t RTE just approach their so called stars and say the maximum amount that one can earn in a year is a hundred grand. If they don’t like it the can’t just feck off over to England where I’m sure there will be many jobs waiting for them

• Dear Mr. R.

I acknowledge receipt of your letter dated November 2011 in which forthright 2nd time you request that I pay monies owed to you. I first want you to know that by no means do I dispute my debt and I intend to pay as soon as possible.
    However, I would like to bring to your attention that you are not my only creditor. I have many more creditors, quite as honourable and important as you, and whom I wish to pay too. That is why, each month, I throw all the names of my creditors into a hat and draw one randomly. The one drawn is paid immediately.
    I regret to inform you, that given the harsh and threatening tone of your last letter, you will not be taking part in the next three draws.
    Yours Sincerely,

• Oran Drumgoole 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Why is the licence fee always considered sacrosanct ?

Prob because alot of the older generation, the people who usually get what they want from government by showing us younger ones how you make a govt jump to your demands! Most of them would be staunch supporters of rte and would miss it if it was to go.

That said I think if the current economic conditions are as bad as our government are saying, then the licence fee should be scrapped completely. We all know the household charge will increase in next year or so do why not scrap the licence fee and double the household charge so we don’t an keep ahead of our paymasters?

If you want to keep tv licence at 60e got local investment etc and keep one rte station then so be it. We simply don’t need 2 national stations when most of us have access to a wide range of stations. Rte1 and tv3 is enough.

• Billygoatmuff 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Make RTE pay per view and reduce/scrap “broadcasting” tax.

• Joe Shaw 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

RTE is already pay per view if you watch TV through SKY or UPC. Even when the switch over takes place, the only way RTE is free to air is through Saorview, and if you get Saorview, you then wont be able to receive any English channels unless you buy a satellite combo box, which for some reason, nobody is talking about.

• Donal Lynch 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Put the shoulder to the wheel and lets get this great country back on its feet pay up end off

• Philip Larkin 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

It’s your type of attitude Donal that encourages people like Pat Rabbite to keep coming up with new ways to extract more money from the general public, until we collectively stand up for ourselves this trend will not change.

• Joe Shaw 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Even if you don’t own a TV and don’t watch the tripe that is RTE Player? Why should we pay for a service that we might not have? If I owned a website, would you pay me a fee under the assumption that you MIGHT use its services?

• B7584 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I sent Mr.Rabbitte an email last night.

minister.rabbitte@dcenr.gov.ie
    pat.rabbitte@oireachtas.ie

“Dear Mr.Rabbitte,

I am taking a few minutes after my hard days work to send you this email, hard work, do you remember what that is?
    It is regarding your proposed “Media” charge announced today to help out that poor state broadcaster Raidió Teilifís Éireann and the poor people it employs.

You should be ashamed of yourself trying to introduce such a ludicrous “charge” for a state broadcaster that is way out of date & out of touch.

I would suggest that you sit down with a pen and paper and go through the enormous salaries that are paid to the presenters.
    THAT, Mr.Rabbitte is where you need to start making savings.
    Joe Duffy, Pat Kenny, Marian Finucane, Miriam O’Callaghan etc – Cut THEIR ridiculous wages.

RTE’s digital service has been a disaster since the very first day,cut it.
    Just glancing at RTE’s website, you are taking in massive amounts of revenue in advertising from Ford & Aviva to name just two companies, along with the TV Licence revenue & the advertisements shown every fifteen minutes on RTE’s radio and television stations, is this not enough for you and the grossly overpaid civil servants that “present” the programming?

You are dillued Mr.Rabbitte if you think this proposed charge will be taken lying down.
    You & your government are once again killing the people of this country with your petty and short sighted charges.

Nobody wants your state run tripe, keep it.

Take your head down out of your backside and start protecting the PEOPLE of this country, who you and the other elected members of our wonderful government have a mandate to protect.

You are a disgrace to the founding members of the Labour party and the ethics and morals on which it was founded.

For aslong as I reside in this country, which lets face it wont be much longer with the way you and your Finé Gael buddies are running the country into the ground, I shall NEVER vote for Labour again.
    You and your party have broken all your pre-election promises without even being in government for 12 months.

If you wish to discuss this any further Mr.Rabbitte, please give me a call – my number is at the bottom.

Yours sincerely,”

• Julian King 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Doh! Still have to pay mine, got a strongly worded letter about it 2 months ago but heard nothing since, hope they send me a reminder before I’m hauled off to court.

• Report this comment

“€25 million lost” because of people evading paying licence fee… Feck off would ya! How much is lost through minister perks eh? Feck off again! Feckin shower of Fecks!

• Ally Collyer 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

I am perplexed as to how he arrived at the sum of 25 million euros in the first place!!

What about those who are currently and legitimately exempt from having to pay a tv license, and who also dont have the internet?

We pay to have broadband and never have even thought about using the internet for watching tv. (I thought you had to have some techy gadget to enable you to watch tv on the net, but hey, I am not familiar with these things, lol)

Like most of the above, I think this apology for a td has forgotten who put him where he is and to what he is in govt for!!

• dna30 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

So to conclude: Instead of chasing the 15% of people who dont pay their license, or reducing the inflated wages of the RTE ‘Stars’, or getting RTE to sell their wears abroad – the minister plans on charging every household for ‘content’ even if they dont watch RTE, but may (or may not) have Internet access, for which they dont own the infrastructure & charge 27% VAT already. And this is on top of the hardware upgrade required to view Saorview (which means free!)

• Chris lynch 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

My Understanding is that if you have a TV, Radio or any other device that can receive RTE Broadcast of what ever specturm is Licensed – Here is how the break down of the TV-License was in 07 & 08 http://www.rte.ie/about/licence.html#question3

Now if they introduce a falt fee for people that no not have a TV, Radio and only access information online, are they going to give some of the fee to the The Journal, where I get most of my news? I don’t use any of the RTE websites, etc.

This is just another Tax that they can levy on everyone, whether you have a TV, Radio, Computer, Broadband. Even if you live in a well with nothing they’d try charge you.

• Chris lynch 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Oh and another thing unless you live in a Major City Internet bandwidth is crap at the best of times and shit most of the times.

• Stephen Lowe 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Someone correct me! Is Pat Rabbit an anagram for dopey?
    I fail to see the difference between 25 million in TV license evasion (which has my postal address on it) and a household communications charge (which has my postal address on it). If they evade the TV license, renaming the charge will certainly send shivers up their spine!!!!

What about some folk who do not have broadband, TV, SKY etc. Perhaps they like the company of just a radio. Will they have to pay full whack!

In this capitalist, “democratic” society we live in, should not RTE get competitive? Or die, and get replaced by a broadcaster that has directors that know how to function in these modern times. The last thing we need is more legislation. And the price will go up no doubt.

Nice little earner though ………. still, keep voting ya’all.

• Aidan Gill 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Its another fkn gimick by these leeches.
    How many taxes/increases now have we had in the first 18 days of the year?

Not sure if anyone saw ITV news last night and the 250.0000 Greeks who have to go to soup kitchens due to their austerity measures and them also paying off the EU (w)bankers. Are we heading towards a similar situation?

Fine Gael are a disgrace.

Anyone know how we can start a facebook / online petition to finally push to putting a stop to this daily leeching?

• Spud Byrne 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Pot”ay”to, pot”ahh”to. A tax by any other name, is still a tax. They’ll get the money some way.

• Paul O' Callaghan 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Why don’t we put tvs & the best internet access in a community centre in each locality &pay for that & not watch tv or use the net at home? If we all did that for a few months we would soon see them u turn. These guys know there is no unity in this country that’s why they do what they want.

• Alan Mooney 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Can anyone answer my question?? Why when I pay 40euro for a sky subscription that i need to pay for tv channels I NEVER watch??? The fact I pay sky to view channels through there service really should exempt me from paying a tv “tax”

• Alan Mooney 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

http://www.tvlicensing.co.uk/check-if-you-need-one

The Brits have already included laptops, phones etc

• Paul O' Callaghan 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

@random that’s why nothing will change here, cos people like you don’t know the meaning of sacrifice. Can’t make an omelette without breaking eggs. Pussy nation.

• John Manahan 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Rte is rubbish

• Aine Molloy 20/01/12 #
    Report this comment

It’s just another tax – I don’t understand the need for it. What if a household/business had no TV’s and no internet? Would they still have to pay? Why if they’re not using it?? Should follow the example of New Zealand which abolished the TV license in 1999 as there were concerns about how the state broadcaster was using it. Sound familiar??
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Television_licence#New_Zealand

• Olivier Dovelos 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I’m not interested in paying for a TV a licence to watch Irish telly,or any government media.
    I’ve never paid and I shall never pay taxes to any government for using a monitor in my crib.

Add New Comment