TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Household charge: 286,000 register to pay as union urges boycott

The latest figures show that around 36,000 properties have registered to pay since last Thursday evening but that’s less than fifth of the number eventually expected to pay.

Image: Images_of_Money via Flickr/Creative Commons

AROUND 286,000 HOUSEHOLDS have now registered to pay the €100 household charge as one trade union today said that it would stand “shoulder to shoulder” with those who resist paying it before the end of the month deadline.

The Local Government Management Agency (LGMA) said that as of lunchtime today around 286,000 properties had registered to pay the charge with 11 days left before the 31 March deadline.

The government hopes to raise €160 million through the temporary tax with it expecting that 1.6 million households will eventually register. At present, less than a fifth of households have registered.

The LGMA said yesterday that it expected there would be a rapid increase in the number of payments before the end of the month. Those who have not paid by 31 March will face fines.

A countrywide campaign is urging a boycott against the charge with independent TD Mick Wallace describing it as “grossly unfair” over the weekend.

Today, the UNITE trade union criticised the ”angry bullying measures” from the government. Regional secretary Jimmy Kelly said that his union’s members will “lead their workplaces and local communities in resisting this flat rate charge”.

Kelly said that the “unfairness” of a flat rate charge, the government’s “lack of respect” for the Data Protection Commissioner,  along with what he said was the “hectoring” tone of some government ministers were among the valid reasons for people not to pay the charge.

“We believe it is right there should be a tax based on property as exists widely and generally fairly throughout Europe, but not at the scandalous flat rate we are being asked to pay in the short term,” he said.

“Rather than trying to bully the people who voted them in, the Government should instead think through a fairer way to impose that tax on property. It needs to take account of people’s assets, ability to pay and inability to take one more punch below the waist.”

The government intends to introduce what it says is a more fair and equitable property tax next year. The details of this tax and how to implement it are currently being considered by a review group set up by Environment Minister Phil Hogan.

Read: Government ministers’ homes not exempt from household charge

Read next:

Comments (154 Comments)

• I would like to know how many of those registered are exempt from paying.

• So would I. Any chance of thejournal asking the LGMA?

• Gerard 20/03/12 #

I would say the vast majority of registered homes are exempt and then of course you will have a small amount of the good little people of the country that will pay because the government told them to, the back bone has been well and truly ripped from this country. Don’t register, don’t pay, don’t panic

• the government has still a chance to scrap this tax, and save themselves from a no vote in the referendum, which they will get if they are ruthless with the people, who voted them in. The publicity and organisation of this tax was very badly organised and badly thought out, and Hogan was not prepared to spend money on making sure that the leaflet went to every house in the country, for instance, I didn’t get one yet, and it is only ten days to the deadline. I even bought a stamp, so that if I did get one, I would send it to Hogans house in kilkenny. The campaigners on the other hand, were much better organised than the government, and had enough of their leaflets to go around, and they are poorer than the government, and it just shows how really mean the government are with their money, that they won’t spend their own for enough leaflets to go around all the people. Hogan has behaved so unprofessionallly towards the people by threatening them if they don’t pay the charge. I thought that I would pay in the beginning, but as the dramas unfolded surrounding the charge, I thought, that I am not going to pay it, especially as it is going into a black hole, and now I have decided that I will definitely not pay at all, now that I have attended my first protest, I liked how it went, and am more than ever determined not to pay to bail out FG labour, bankers and bondholders, and will hold my own, and would advise people to do the same. DON’T REGISTER, DON’T PAY, DON’T PANIC GET IT ONWARDS AND UPWARDS FOLKS, WE ARE WINNING, LET’S KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!

• Sure, other European countries have property taxes but all their services are included, their roads, parks etc. are all properly maintained and kept clean and their bins are collected. Here our bin charges will just keep going up and up now that it’s all been privatised. Plus there’s also one tiny little thing they didn’t mention and that’s the fact that our European neighbours didn’t get raped for thousands of Euro in stamp duty buying houses at over inflated prices from their developer pals.

I wouldn’t mind paying 1,000 euro a year to get the country back on it’s feet if it was actually OUR debt, but it’s not. All my life I’ve paid my bills, in business I’ve always paid my suppliers and employees, I don’t owe anyone a cent. So it f**king galls me when all around I see people doing the exact opposite and getting away without having to pay their debts and now I’m expected to pay their debts as well in my taxes?

They’re hoping to bring in €160 million by shafting us while they’re about to hand over yet another 3 BILLION to unsecured bond holders that we’re not even obliged to pay. And they want us to register now to build up their database of householders so they can screw us for over a grand a year next year and thereafter until these gambler’s debts are paid off.

Utility bills won’t tell them who owns what house and they’re going to have an expensive logistical nightmare trying to find out who own what if enough people don’t register now. All they can do is build up small fines that you’ll owe when you go to sell your house, in 3 years we’ll have a new Gov that might well scrap all this nonsense and hopefully tell the French and German gamblers where to go.

My parents own two houses here but live abroad and don’t have a clue about this charge and I’m certainly not going to bother them about it considering they are in their 80′s living with a carer. It’s not up to me and they weren’t sent any letters about it. What are they going to do? Drag them back here for a court case? Nah, f*ck them, don’t register, don’t pay or we’ll all be rightly shafted for well over a grand this time next year.

• I didn’t think it was possibly, but this government is more arrogant than the last. That Phil Hogan guy saying we can be fined through deductions in our wages, this government sound more like a dictatorship ever day!

• About God damn time the unions weighed in on this. They should pull all contributions to the treacherous labour party while they’re at it.

• To pay or not to pay. Pretty straightforward choice I think. Pay the money in to a black hole i.e German/French/British banks or pay 100 yoyos directly to the children’s hospital in crumlin. It’s time for Irish people to show some testicular fortitude and the time is now.

• Aine 20/03/12 #

you get fined 10€ for the first six months after the deadline? i can live with that they can whistle for it

• A maximum of €40-50 for a year’s non payment.

Hold firm. Don’t Register. Show solidarity with those that cannot pay not with the financial institutions.

• Can anybody clarify whether or not you are liable for the charge, only if you register?

• if i was a billionaire i still wouldnt pay but the simple facts are cant pay wont pay

• just saying
      everyone is obliged to pay this charge . Even if you don’t register. There are people who are exempt,
      I am not exempt, I will not register , I will not pay.

• i’ve no intention of paying….. it’s totally wrong to have any tax like this…. i would go as far top say that there should not even be a property tax..end of…….
      it’s a disgrace that the likes of my parents who are in their 70′s and only in receipt of the state pension have to pay this tax….. when someone living in a council house don’t…. their house is not your massive mansion… a small country cottage in the middle of the countryside…. where they get nothing in services from county council….
      and this government is doing nothing but scarring the bejayus out of these people…. big bully phil…..

• Just heard Lizard Varadkar talking about the household charge. He pretty much implied that if you don’t pay, and you’re in desperate need for help (ie house on fire, attacked), don’t expect any help…

• Scare tactics . Scare tactics. Scare tactics. Remember they are th ones backed into a corner 1,500,000 have not paid . They are amazed. Why are we not doing as we are told ? We in fact are standing up to them, Don’t register , Don’t pay. Poor Leo is only saying what he is being told to say. Ireland has grown a spine and a heart . Stand firm .

• That Varadkar is a spineless, sorry excuse for s human being…

• enda kenny said this in 1994.
      it is morally wrong, unjust and unfair to tax a persons home.
      they dont really live up to what they preach do they!

• Theres always one troll isnt there….. on one hand we have Enda saying not to expect an increased tax on property and yet Hogan is currently looking at a way of doing it … doesn’t add up right ??

No invoice, no bill , no receipt , no obligation. Thats the way of contract law. Your being asked to sign up , register. Like its a give away. Dont register , dont pay. Say no , we have the right to refuse and to protest. They are elected by us to do what we want them too , they are not our bosses or rulers. We pay them , they dont pay us . Wakey wakey Ireland …..

• I’m paying for every service I get anyway. Paid a universal social charge last month of 300 euro what or who is that going on I ask?

• This household charge could be just an urban legend and a bogus website taking our money. I havnt received any correspondence in writing from my local authority as I would for any other tax. If they don’t ask for it, how can they expect people to pay it?

• Jimmy Kelly said that his union’s members will “lead their workplaces and local communities in resisting this flat rate charge”? It’s funny how only 11 days before the deadline, the unions now jump on the bandwagon and say they will lead communities against the charge. Its good to see them on board, but people dont need union leaders to hijack this campaign…

• thirty five thousand million! thats how much of our money has been dumped into anglo…..an absolute disgrace…ecomomic treason on the grandest scale…..why couldnt the state set up a state company on our behalf to take control of and start exploiting our natural resources (oil,gas etc)….they are going to sell off our state assets without our permission…..short term vision……these are viable revenue generating asssets……please explain why?

• The press seem to be avoiding any mention of a smaller campaign by folks to register with phoney details as non-resident citizens…..also, i believe the Gardai have no option but to pay otherwise they may put their jobs at risk not to mention all the staff employed in the revenue who can’t be seen to not pay….if the registration of these three sections of society was removed from the 280,000 reported registration, the government would have to declare that ‘joe public’ has NOT paid and will not pay!!!!

• Its dire attitudes like some here with the ‘ah just pay n shout up’ that has this country the way it cureently is. There is never any solidarity with people, people are believing bully tactics by the government so are paying, and other obvious FG supporters are calling those that do no pay as breaking thw law citizens….Unreal! Cant Pay Wont Pay! Simple!

• Any and everyone that is prepared to speak out against this tax should be allowed to do just that and in fact in my opinion should be encouraged to do so. The biggest problem I have is the way that the government has gone about it. If a tax is to be imposed then impose it on ALL houses including the unfinished houses on “ghost estates” let there be no exceptions. If the government persist on bringing in half arsed taxes such as this with every opportunity to be abused what do they expect. The richer members of the country will be allowed to get out of paying whilst the rest of us will in the next few days be subjected to all sorts of threats and threatening statements from the government. A tax implemented by fear. Stand united and it will be defeated.

• Pani 20/03/12 #

Just a word on the penalties and fines. After a year it goes up to 142 I think it is. But that’s the max. However the interest is running at 1% per month. Some quick maths show with that 1% even after 4 years of non payment you still only owe about 200e. With inflation this ain’t that much. The outstanding charge will only hurt you if you try and sell the property. The govt currently have no method for tracking down home owners to pursue non payers however the mooted amendments to data protection act may change this. The amount of money trawled in by this charge may determine whether they go this route. Still won’t stop the inevitable “equitable” charge in 2014 but this should give everyone time enough to lobby your local council to change the ded post code from d4 to d24 to get a fair evaluation. :).

• Hogan is a disgrace to the office ,get rid of him this is not what a democracy is about .The unions are a disgrace but the more protesting the better. Fine Gael and Labour are no better than Fianna Fail this is the people speaking

• About time the union bosses got off their well paid arses.

• Can’t believe so many have already registered to pay this “Morally wrong and unjust” charge!! Enda Kenny’s words in “”.

• iv just read in the herald that hogan is lookin to take this charge directly from salaries an welfare payments of does not willing to pay, sick I say!

• They can all go and Feck off!
    I am not paying it, plus the Government did not even have the decency to send me a letter requesting me to pay it or inform me of the way to pay it by direct debit either. They think I should just be inspired to log on and pay it.
    Arrest Bertie and all those shower of robbing, corrupt Bankers and I will pay it. After all the housedold charge is being used to send them all on a holiday.

• The people who have paid dont realise the importance or significance in not paying. This is the one stand out chance we have as a nation of people to tell our debt masters and their multi-millionaire puppets in FF/Labour/FG to go €&@€ themselves. WHEN we succeed, we will show how Democracy should work!!!! We need to take the issuance of credit and the printing of money back into our possession as it is our right. We let these foreigners print paper, give it a value and the charge us for using it!!!!!!

No one has been fired for PPARS, E-Voting, Tole Roads, Banking Crisis, Port Tunnel, Planning Fraud, Overpayment on Salary Caps etc etc etc.

This is the last non vilolent action we can make before we either enslave ourselves to 30-40 years of serfdom or light the skys over this nation of ours.

• Anyone thats paid needs a good kick up d arse and there will be a hell of alot more of them come the end of March

• This Household Charge is just what Ireland needed to get up off its ass and fight back. At last we have a bit of unity. We have them on the run. Any government that has to issue threats to its electorate is not working in their interests. Their days are numbered. Alleluia.

• Well said Réada . Like you say , we have them on the run !Did you get the knitting needles ?? :) :)

• I did Susie. I wonder did Niamh get the guillotine. We’ll be like 3 witches on Saturday. Must remember not to wash my hair and find a cat. ;) Can’t wait.

• I can’t wait either ! :)

• @reada quinn…….i absolutely agree, its not even about the money, its the outright arrogant, threatening, and spineless manner their going about this whole issue. Hopefully figures paying can stay well below 50%

• Sean. I’m not even liable for it as I’m renting (fuming about that) but it’s their arrogance that’s got me. Their timing of even considering a property tax to my country that is already paying the price, through mortgage arrears and negative equity, for financial institutions reckless lending is cynical to say the least.

Wait till they see what will happen if they try to sell our state assets. The Tory FGers have gone several steps too far.

• Sad and ironic that the “left” have taken up an issue which seems primarily to appeal to self-interest – “can’t pay, wont pay”. A genuinely united opposition to austerity and the socialisation of bank insolvency could have shown solidarity with the most vulnerable in society who were savaged in last December’s budget. Socialise insolvent individuals. Abolish the Croke Park agreement (of which I’m a beneficiary).

Politically and economically the “household charge” is another example of the utter incompetence of government. While it seems implausible for people to argue that they get no local authority services, it is also clearly wrong-headed to introduce a regressive tax. The property tag on this tax was always going to raise hackles.

Once 31st March passes and we get to see how many have paid up, perhaps the country can have a grown-up conversation about local democracy and how to fund quality local services…

• Michael
      Your self interest is my self preservation .I agree abolish the Croke park agreement , the unions sold us out on that anyway , (I am also a beneficiary) . Abolish the HHC and have as you say a grown up conversation on how local services can be funded and how local democracy should be introduced. I am sick to the back teeth of being told that I am , and people like me , are responsible for the economic down turn and bank debts. All any one wants is a bit of comfort and security. The culprits , and only culprits ,crooked bankers , dirty politicians, crooked developers , dirty speculators all told us ( Non monetary ) ordinary people , that every thing is great . Any thing i borrowed I have paid back in full plus interest except my mortgage ,and I am still paying this, thankfully able to. SO why am I and each of my children paying back a debt we did not make AND when are we going to see any one responsible face their accusers and answer our charges?

• Guess this is where we are in western liberal democracies. The individual is centre stage. If we could learn just one thing from the celtic tiger years and the aftermath, could it be “my/our interest is your/our preservation”? Can we find just, collective solutions while we continue to internalise blame and rail against bogey men?

I was surprised to hear Joe Higgins say that 20,000 people have attended public meetings around the country. I thought it would have been far higher. While I understand the strategy being adopted by the ULA, etc, it reflects poorly upon us that such an individualistic issue is gaining traction. Tax my property – I’d sooner go to prison. Actually,it’s a €40 fine. Radical…

• Michael
      20,000 people have been to public meetings around the country ,and 1,500,000 households have NOT paid the household charge , go figure !
      I agree that we should as a community come to an agreed opinion and solution ,ourselves with out any interference from outside administrations.
      I am worried for the future of my Nation and no, I do not believe in,nor am I afraid of bogey men ,only very wealthy people in charge of vast sums of money who do not care about you, me or any of us

• PS Michael
      No one will be going to prison , but I share the same sentiment …… I will never pay this property tax .

• They(“very wealthy people in charge of vast sums of money who do not care about you, me or any of us”) are the bogey men. Other than that I’m not qualified to comment. This ain’t my nation after all…

• The one bedroom apartment I bought is worth a lot less than what I am paying back for it do anyone who thinks I own property are fooling themselfs. I own a Hugh liability.
    I also pay over €1,000 management fees so I don’t really know what this charge is ment to pay. I’ll not pay this in fact I want my stamp duty back.

• Fine Gael Manifesto 2011, page 59, section 16.2
    “Finna Fail’s proposal, now endorsed by the Labour Party, to introduce by 2014 an annual, recurring Residential Property Tax on the family home is unfair”
    Enda Kenny in oppossion ” Any tax on a persons home is immoral, unjust and unfair”

• Where do they think folks can get any money to pay for this. Everyone is to the pin of their collar. Go chase the bankers and Developers and FF who partied hard in the boom time.

• jimbo 20/03/12 #

Not paying it never paying it…

• And to those that stupidly think that this money is going to ‘local authorites’… you are deluded, this is going to bondholders and german banks! Stevie Wonder could tell you this!

• Phil Hogan is the biggest THUG of a td I have ever come across?.
    Or was he shafted by enda for giving him a minister’s post?.

• The whole issue of the Household charge was badly thought out.They should have left it until there was a fair balance. Another year or two would not have mattered. But they may have a problem on their hand now. We are in a democracy it is not a police state at least it wasn’t but they way things are be handled you would think it was. Question has it been properly explained to people what this charge is all about?.

• Reg 20/03/12 #

It is being handled badly but the principal of a local authority/council tax is correct. Our previous property tax (stamp duty) was profoundly unfair in that some people paid a lot and many people paid little or nothing. People that needed to move got really hammered. Stamp duty has now in effect been abolished and while most of the revenue it generated over the last ten years will never be replaced, some of it has to be. The government has not gone far enough to explain to people that this is an interim measure until a fairer system is introduced next year.

• Household charge???? NEVER! NEVER! NEVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

• The April Labour Party Conference will do away with the household charge. The rank and file Labour members are up in arms over it and some of the backbenchers are very unhappy. How can Gilmore sell FG policies to the Labour delegates and voters. A stormy conference is predicted with a new leftwinger running for the chairmanship/president. The new boy is gaining support from councillors from various parts of the country and the top brass are trying to stop him. Watch this space.

• This is no different from ground rent, defeated many times in the courts, including in my parents time. I live in both Ireland and the USA. In the US as one of your commenters points out we get local benefit for local taxes, there is no such proposal in this deal. Most of our property taxes go to schools, fire, police, local roads, sidewalks, beautification, etc. all local. We pay tax on our income, in addition when we buy the home in Ireland we pay tax, home ownership should mean something…….we own it we do not rent it. Agreeing to pay this tax is the same as renting videos, you NEVER Own your property. You remember when you used to buy a video or cd, it was yours, you did not have to pay every time you played it, well now with the introduction of property tax you will never own you your property, you will always be subordinate to the TAX, try selling your house next year with delinquent taxes!!!!!!. This tax is as many of you contributes have pointed out part of the bailout, which if there were a definitive time period I would probably understand, but there is is no time period it is just starting and only going to go higher to be wasted in Big Government spending.

• the arrrogance of a few to deny the will of the people is staggering….using scare tactics, threatening people…dail should be renamed as the reichstag or something…..we as a people deserve better than the puppets who govern at the moment…..

• This charge is disgusting and I won’t pay! The Government are taking the easy way out as usual, just bung yet another tax on people – where will it end?
    If people pay this, that means for sure the property tax is in next year, then we are looking at €800-€1200 charge and for what? This would revert us back to 1978 when domestic rates were abolished!
    They talk about property charges across Europe and they don’t have a problem with it so why should we?
    We have high fuel prices, so do Europe but their car tax is included in the price. Most have a free health service as that is also included, so are water charges, so are bin charges and maintenance fees. Don’t forget all the taxes that are deducted from our wages each week!
    There are other ways to generate this income, but they won’t even entertain that because gullible paddy will step into the rescue!

• xyz 20/03/12 #

ppl with mortgage shouldn’t care about this tax! the owner of this house is my bank , right? i will be the owner in about 30 years :) come back then .. now you can ask my bank to pay it ..good luck

• The Union Leadership is a disgrace. This is a revolt let by the people & now these boys want to jump in front of us and “lead” us.

• 286,000 idiots

• “We believe it is right there should be a tax based on property as exists widely and generally fairly throughout Europe, but not at the scandalous flat rate we are being asked to pay in the short term,” he said.

This is the comment I have a problem with . scandalous that they think that ”any” property tax is fair.Especially as the Unite union have not said one word about all of the indirect taxes we all pay, there by making any property tax unjust and unfair. The other thing about property taxes is that other countries who pay property tax get local services ,bins , hospitals , etc.

And it is not lost on me that the union is coming along only now that the Campaign against hhc have succeeded in gaining Mass non registration . They are welcome none the less

• Your right Susie, if we were to actually receive a service based on a fair payment I would say fair enough. And since when has health and law enforcement fallen under local services, are these to be fully withdrawn if the payment isn’t made. What utter horse manure. Angry, Angry Angry.

• I am very angry too esp as I heard that Veradkar has said that we can not acces local services like fire or ambulance ….. Where I live the fire have introduced a €500 call out charge . So Leo as usual is talking out of his ear….

• The people who have paid dont realise the importance or significance in not paying. This is the one stand out chance we have as a nation of people to tell our debt masters and their multi-millionaire puppets in FF/Labour/FG to go €&@€ themselves. WHEN we succeed, we will show how Democracy should work!!!! We need to take the issuance of credit and the printing of money back into our possession as it is our right. We let these foreigners print paper, give it a value and the charge us for using it!!!!!!

No one has been fired for PPARS, E-Voting, Tole Roads, Banking Crisis, Port Tunnel, Planning Fraud, Overpayment on Salary Caps etc etc etc.

This is the last non vilolent action we can make before we either enslave ourselves to 30-40 years of serfdom or light the skys over this nation of ours..

• I cannot believe that there is so little public reaction to the EXEMPTIONS in the legislation. Exemptions do NOT apply to Social Welfare Recipients but DO apply to “Residence owned by a Minister for Government”. (Oireachtas Website – Dail debate of 13th March).

So Ministers don’t have to pay on their houses but the rest of us eejits do??!!! Helloooo. ??! Outrageous!

• Reg 20/03/12 #

Martine please try and keep up. This has been discussed on here today extensively. Property owned by the department (and therefore the respective minister) don’t have to pay it. Properties owned personally by politicians (including ministers) are subject to the tax.

• Martine
      I am a Campaign Activist and this statement
      does not apply to the minister’s private residence. If it makes it easier exchange the word moinister with ”dept” . OK !
      The minister all of them are obliged to pay on their own personal properties…..

• Pity they couldn’t be as vociferous for the Vita Cortex workers and do what they are paid to be doing

• Reg 20/03/12 #

Don’t let the truth get in the way of a rant Martin. The statuary part of the redundancy has been paid to the workers by the state. The dispute is with the company for the outstanding amount.

• The unions should stay out of it, sh*tebags.

• Reg – sinead o connor is looking again.

• Residential property owned by a Minister of the Government, a housing authority or the Health Service Executive,

Exempt?

• Just to add fuel to the fire, I’m not sure how many people have seen this but Deputy Phil Hogan confirmed on March 13 that residential property owned by a Government Minister is exempt from the charge.

http://debates.oireachtas.ie/dail/2012/03/13/00247.asp

• The unions are about as much use as tits on a bull.

• €10.00 interest if I don’t pay in time god it’ll be the best tenner I’ve ever spent, Mr Hogan should knock on my door if he wants it and while he’s here he can inspect my septic tank,

• ebda kenny said this in 1994.

it is morally wrong, unjust and unfair to tax a persons home.

they dont really live up to what they preach do they!

• Six figure earning Union leader refusing to pay tax, and you all think he’s a legend….

• Disappointed to see a trade union egging on people to break the law. Will they be there to pay peoples fines? This charge will be implemented – the government can’t back down because their credibility would be completely undermined. We have no choice but to pay and get on with it.

• No choice? Of course we have a choice don’t pay it. Less then 1/5th of house holds have signed up for this house tax. Do you think the government is going to be able to take the other 4/5′s to court?

Bad law does not make good law and people should say no to this tax.

• Oh my God! How can you write such a defeatist post and look yourself in the mirror. People like you are a bullys wet dream :-)

• There is always a choice David, it’s that exact attitude that has us where we are. People rule in this country, it’s just that people don’t know they rule so they go about like good Irish people tipping their hat to the man in power and doing what they are told.

• Gerard 20/03/12 #

Of course you have a choice although by the sound of your comment you have already given up and paid the tax just because the government told you to, thank god not everybody is displaying this poor attitude!

• David Whelan
      I am sorry , but you are wrong ! We do have a choice and we still have rights to protest too! The Governments credibility is completely undermined already by their own actions .

• You must work for them

• Yes sir, yes sir, three bags full sir…

• We do have a choice not to pay, the objections are legitimate, will you pay when the tax increases to an average of €500 per household. Will you pay €500 to use the water in your taps.
      I already pay for these through my taxes and USC. I pay to have my bins collected and to have the grass in the estate cut by private contractors. Ambulance call outs, you have to pay for those, fire brigade, that also. We are reminded that the payment will help local government, off course the money will only go towards paying Anglo debts. The government is acting in a dishonest fashion, using scare tactics to bewilder the elderly community and push the law abiding citizens into despair. Have you received an information leaflet in the post yet. I guess not. We live in constant fear because of those thugs in The Dail. Screw them.

• The People of Ireland Do have a choice and it is only the People who bought houses to secure their own future that are being penalised with this Household Tax and the people who Bought their own homes are the people who have the ¥alls to make the choice Not to pay do not be Bullied hold fast together. This government are using bullyboy tactics to frighten us but we already know that they are liars and bullies and what is the nest medicine for bullies and liars yes yes yes STAND YOUR GROUND and remember if we pay this charge/tax we are paying for services for the BONDHOLDERS AND THE SEAN FITZPATRICKS and remember this was not our doing ENOUGH IS ENOUGH. NOT ANOTHER RED CENT

• I wouldn’t agree that they are “on the run” we don’t have that much of a choice when it comes to an alternative government unless you want FF back?!?

• That’s where you’re wrong Eamonn. We have ULA, socially conscience Independents and Sinn Féin. It mightn’t be bad to have a party ready to fight Ireland’s corner. I’ve never voted for them before either but I certainly won’t be voting FF FG or Labour.

• @ Eamonn. Most constituencies have TDs and activists campaigning night and day against this charge. Come the next election the ones where I live are getting my votes. If everyone does the same we can change EVERYTHING.

• This tax will be paid one way or another. We have to pay for local services or we can watch them close one by one.
    We have one of the lowest taxation systems in the EU, we want services but don’t want to pay for them! Wake up and smell the coffee – we can’t have our cake and eat it too!! (I must be hungry!)

• Siruao 20/03/12 #

which local services are these David?

• Yes David, which services are these? Remember not every household is in an urban area. Dunno where your from, but services in rural Ireland(west) amount to zero!

• David Whelan
      I will NOT pay this HHC.

• You wouldn’t have any cake because you would hand it over to the first bully who asks for it.
      If you want to register, that’s grand, but don’t try justify it using these tired old government lines.

• All local authority services are under review at present – by not paying the household charge we are putting them at risk of closure or reduction of service eg. library services, social housing maintenance, road maintenance, water services, adaption grants for elderly and disabled etc. etc.

• I live in rural West Cork I pay for my electricity I pay for my phone I pay for my Sky TV I pay for my TV licence. What services do I get, oh yes I get county council pot holes by the dozen. That’s all I would be paying for.

• Ah David, you must be making these comments for a bet or a laugh. I refuse to believe that anyone in their right mind would buy into such nonsense, and then decide to tax their family home to help. Come on, admit it, your joking aren’t you?

• Aldo 20/03/12 #

@ David. Codswallop. By not paying we are not putting local services at risk of closing. It’s the govt that are doing that by reducing the funding in the first place. Don’t people in Dublin now have to pay €500 for a fire brigade callout? Granted, this will be covered by insurance but it will be paid nevertheless. And what about rural Ireland with no local services and the hundreds of thousands of people living in apartments – don’t they get screwed enough by paying management fees? It’s the likes of you that the govt love, obedient, servile, easily brainwashed members of society who ask no questions and do as they’re told.
      I dread to think what kind of country we’d be living in if we were all like you.

• So who is going to pay for the huge gap between our income and expenditure? The Martians? Lets put our head in the sand and it will all go away! Not! We have to pay! We are partly responsible for this mess! I never voted for FF but hell yea I have to clean up their vomit!

• I live in Donegal and pay €520 per year to have my bins emptied, live on a road with 207 other houses which has 4 street lights. I pay €663 per year for road tax to drive on said road that is full of potholes, which are filled by a local contractor with stones- the council only fixed our road (badly) after we had a local meeting and named and shamed local councillors. I live at the top of a hill so have extremely low water pressure, which is dirty at least once a week.
      My local town doesn’t have street sweepers, people on back to work schemes cut the grass and lift litter. We dont have a single park, piece of playground equipment,library or anything else and anything put into the town was put there by fundraising by the community, not the council, So what local services would my household charge pay for?? Phil Hogan I’m not paying you horrible waste of skin.

• @David. Theres about to be 3.1 billion flushed down a black hole called anglo. Last month the government paid out 1.2 billion that they were not obliged to to unsecured bondholders. Still reckon people not paying the household charge will be the reason the local authoroties have no money? Please, do not insult our intelligence with the spoonfed propaganda lines.

• @David are you seriously deluded enough to think this is going on local services? This money isn’t going to your council it’s going into the exchequer from which all money is drained out to Europe, wise up!!

• Are you actually serious. I pay PAYE at 41%. PRSI at 4% and USC at 7%. Are you trying to tell me that I’m not paying towards services and that they will close one by one because I chose not to pay an unjust property tax, levied on everyone to pay towards debt incurred by moronic greedy bankers and politicians. Pull the other one.

• I pay for the light out side my door through my esb bill ,i pay to maintain the greens in the estate i live in, i clean the road out side my house even though i pay road tax to my local council, i pay fuel tax to drive on the same road to the hospital which i pay health insurance for along with income tax ,prsi usc vat and other stealth taxes. The problem is big government

• We have one of the HIGHEST TAXATION not The lowest and we pay moire for our public health service too and the we also have the Universal social charge too plus we have an increased vat rate also. And all this lying sneaky , conniving , bullying government is threaten us into paying this unfair,unjust tax on the home ownèrs

• so nice of jimmy Kelly As he pockets 200k in salary and expenses … between him and the bullshitters in Sinn Fein who have no problem robbing photo copying gear from the dail and expect Joe public to fund there party but cannot come up with any better ideas as to how to keep this ship afloat

Add New Comment