TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Hungary may adopt new EU deal – with UK veto the only obstacle to Treaty change

Hungary may now also sign up to the deal agreed by euro members overnight – leaving the UK as the only EU member outside it.

All on his own: David Cameron is now the only EU leader not willing to at least put the new European deal to a parliamentary vote.
Image: Michel Euler/AP

HUNGARY HAS SAID it may be willing to sign up to the deal agreed by at least 23 other European Union member states overnight – leaving the UK as the only member which will resist it.

In a revised version of the statement released in the early hours of this morning, the European Council said that while all 17 eurozone members would sign up to the new deal, nine of the other 10 member states may also do likewise.

Crucially, that list of states now includes Hungary – a move which means that the United Kingdom is the only one of the 27 member states not to be at least willing to put the matter to a parliamentary vote.

The original statement, released by the eurozone governments at around 5:20am this morning, said that the governments of “Bulgaria, Denmark, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Romania indicated their intention to join in the process”.

It added that the governments of “the Czech Republic and Sweden are consulting their Parliaments before taking a decision” – leaving Hungary and the UK as the only two states not to consider signing up.

Now, however, Hungarian prime minister Viktor Orban has agreed to put the matter to his own parliament – causing the Council to issue a revised text, just before noon, with an amended ending:

The Heads of State or Government of Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania and Sweden indicated the possibility to take part in this process after consulting their Parliaments where appropriate.

Hungary’s agreement to consider joining the new “international agreement” puts further pressure on David Cameron, who was criticised by other leaders for placing “unreasonable” conditions on British entry to the deal – thought to include exemption for the City of London from any proposed ‘Tobin tax’ on financial transactions.

France and Germany had hoped that the summit in Brussels would result in the first agreements on a new treaty creating a common fiscal government for the EU, or at least for the eurozone.

Without the agreement of the UK or Hungary, however, the other member states were left to instead opt a slightly lesser pact – as any treaty proposals would require unanimity of all member states.

Hungary’s shifted stance means that the UK is now the only country standing in the way of a full-blown treaty amendment.

In full: The [original] deal struck by 23 of the 27 EU members

Previously: UK and Hungary veto plans for EU Treaty change after all-night talks

Read next:

Comments (41 Comments)

• And do we get a choice?

• Cameron is well aware the majority of the UK doesn’t want to be dictated by non elected Eurocrats in Brussels. End of.

• Am I the only one that thinks there’s an elephant in the room with this whole thing? The Eurozone is in the midst of a severe financial crisis, but EU ‘leaders’ are looking far beyond the current crisis for an apparent long-term solution. Meanwhile the Euro is days away from collapsing. Its a bit like looking for long term care from a stroke patient while the patient is actually having the stroke. The first thing you should do is save the patient’s life and then sort out what comes next. Swift action needs to be taken to save the Euro. Surely the ECB need to intervene here. Cutting interest rates isn’t enough. Focusing on treaty change is ridiculous, especially when there doesn’t seem to be any clear indication coming from anyone on how a new treaty is going to sort out the mess.

• No Dermot, you’re certainly not the only one. Things seem confusing at the moment (for me anyway) with regard to immediate actions to be taken to offset the most pressing issues.

If they can do something outside of a treaty change then it will be a quick change but if not then a treaty change would indeed take too long. I already noticed that the Financial Times raised the problem of how the Commission could over see or enforce etc anything outside of the treaties since the Commission is not empowered to do so (everything done by them starts with “With regard to the Treaty…. [insert treaty name] etc).

But I think things will be clearer on these questions later today.

• Bang on, they are looking at what should have been done ten years ago, or what should be down post crisis. Treaty changes are nice to consider, when you are so impotent and clueless, so overwhelmed by the scale of the crisis that you can’t contemplate dealing with it.

The EU has soured for an awful lot of people across Europe. The MEPS in 2014 will have many many Euroskeptics among them, not that the EU Parl. has any power.

• No , you are not the only one that sees this as a HUGE mistake. The thing is that none of them will admit outright that euro failure is imminent. I am totally bewildered by their lack of assurances . It is like waiting for the imminent death of a loved one to be confirmed ….

• a common fiscal government for the EU, or at least for the European Union.

Those are the same thing. Did you mean “eurozone”?

• Why don’t we put it to the dail too?? This whole thing confuses me and worries me.

• This treaty/deal has nothing to do with the crisis at hand. It is actually a distraction from that, and meant to be. They are saying that the next summit will be in March. I’m betting that the shine will come off this by Christmas. If the winding down over the holidays, then certainly by the end of January. Even if Cameron changes his mind and backs it enthusiastically.

Talking about countries being punished for breaking the 3% rule, when every single country in the Eurozone bar Finland would be liable for the severe penalties straight away. Will Germany and Holland and France lead by example, they must be punished under this agreement.

This is a lunatics charter for savage austerity on a continent wide level. That is fine if you like bondage but if you are trying to grow an economy and get out of a debt spiral it is the completely wrong way to go about it.

This treaty is written with 1999 in mind or in a world where the Euro is somehow salvaged, normality restored and people are looking at how to prevent a repeat. It has diddly squat to do with solving the crisis and that is why Cameron had no problem shooting it down. It’s just talk, why not shoot it down.

Even if this is implemented straight away, Cameron repents and become Sarkozy’s best friend, it will not resolve one euro of debt. Bailout fund of 500bn Euro, what a joke, that it. If it was 3Trn it would be meeting the needs for the next 2 years.

• It is being said that this treaty needs to be in place before the ECB will agree to start the printing presses. It is pretty clear that the ECB doesn’t want to print money to pay off a load of countries debts until those countries become capable of governing themselves within their means.
      It’s fairly sensible of the ECB in terms of the long term viability of the euro.. Just so long as the short term doesn’t kill the euro first.
      Fiscal correction short term, Monetary correction long term. Or at least that’s the idea.

• What about our 12.5% corpo tax rate?
    I dare you Enda….story to mess that one up!
    Better to print punts and pull out on our terms than be bullied by whomever I really hope the guys in Sandyford are working hard getting our new currency printed up in time. I can smell the ink from Dundrum.
    I love the idea of Europe but not at any price.
    The Brits are right to defend themselves.
    Every fool knows the ECB should just print the bloody money.
    I am not anti German or anti French but I am finding it difficult to understand why they are making such a mess of the thing print the fecking yoyo’s 6 trillion or so and get the party started so we can all look forward to a new prosperous 2012

• I bet they served Lyons Tea at this summit, because its ALL TALK

• Should people buy Serling or US Dollar now or does it matter??

• I don’t think it matters. After all our money effectively exists in electronic format!

• What if you were to buy physical notes

• Both are little better than the Euro. If you want to hold value, stay away from them, go to the Norwegian Kronar, Aussie Dollar and Canadian Loonie. All low debt, wealthy countries with massive commodities. Physical assets are as always the ultimate store of wealth.

Britain is a failing economy in its own right, Sterling is a better bet than the Euro but it has very significant problems itself and it is a poorly run country. The same applies with America and the dollar, these problems have been building up since the 80′s and the cut tax, raise spending and encourage borrowing Govt’s came in .

• I’d agree with that.
      Avoid sterling and US dollar.
      In addition, I’d be wary of banks as many are in a precarious situation. (4 Australian banks downgraded recently).
      Precious metals would be your best bet.
      Attached article may offer some insight.
      http://www.marketoracle.co.uk/Article10248.html

• In the event of a Euro collapse we’re probably into a major world recession for a few years because the fallout will be massive. In times like that commodities or metals tend to be the best option.

Some safe haven currencies may appreciate such as the Swiss Franc. A new German Mark if all the countries in the EU went their own way or a new core Euro would probably also appreciate assuming there were only a few countries left in it. However you’d be unable to get in on that early. As a whole the UK and the US are in as bad a mess as Europe (if not even a worse mess financially). However the focus in now on the Euro becuase of its structural deficiencies.

The question has to be asked, is it better to risk the breakup or to put in place the tighter structure that should have always been there in the first event? I would suggest that for all their pushing, the markets don’t want a Euro breakup. They probably would live with the withdrawal of a few countries although that also creates the potential for major shocks as well so they would probably choose the fiscal union path if they were allowed to make the decision.

A final question that always strikes me about the “loss of sovereignty” issue. Most people are hugely critical of our local politicians and their lack of skill to manage our economy sucessfully. Yet at the same time most people also don’t want to surrender any more sovereignty to Europe. So which do we think is the least worse option in the longer term?

• So basically this summit was about protecting the currency.
    What will happen if the proposed “two tier Europe” comes into effect as a result of the UK’s intransigence.
    Will the markets, (who seem to be the true leaders) view this as a positive move and relax their position or see this as cracks appearing in the whole EU project?

• Dermot, I suspect the market would prefer the two tier Europe solution especially if its means some sort of fiscal plan is put in place for the Eurozone. However, the devil may be in the detail of that plan.
      But the markets want the Eurozone countries to sort out their debt problems and really the only way that can be done is by ECB intervention. And ECB intervention will only happen if we have some form of revised fiscal policy put in place to placate the Germans.

• Enda Kenny is spineless. At least Cameron has a pair. Michael Collins would be rolling in his grave

• debbie 09/12/11 #

Stop the world I Wana get off

• On the contrary. The Euro is still going to fail. Maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow but fail it will.

• Enda Kenny:…”Ok lads, sure yeah, whatever ye think yourselves like. I’m only here for the craic anyway, couldn’t give a flying shi*e about my people, like Angela said Ze Irish are just ze stupid sheep ha ha, sure she knows us better than ourselves like. I know who my true friends are, sure am I not the Vice President of the ‘European Peoples Party’, I meet my friends Angela and them all every month, sure didn’t Angela, Barosso and Nick even vote me to be the Vice President of the EEP, I’ve sat beside them for years. What Paddy doesn’t understand wont hurt him..YES YES YES, sure ye have my signature already there lads”

• * Sterling

• The City of London’s time as a leading world financial centre
    is slowly coming to an end………”who’s sterling now” as
    Connie Francis used to sing..

• Well I thought I understood, but now I am confused and I think so is everyone else. It seems to me that Cameron has two choices, act like someone just about to bungee jump, close your eyes and jump and trust that all those around you tied all the right knots and even though your falling there will be a bounce back at the end, fingers crossed. Or, act like an old bloke buying a second hand car. Hmmm not sure, will it work when I take it out the garage, will it still run in 6 months time, I think I’ll just consider it for the moment and have a little more of a look around thanks. Seems to me anyway?

• So Cameron doesn’t like the thoughts of a new transaction tax on his precious Corporation of London. Between them and WallStreet are the reason we are in this mess so screw him i’m with the EU on this one.

• It wasn’t London or Wall Street that caused our problems, it was German and French banks lending like there was no tomorrow to other eurozone countries since the formation of the euro. At least Cameron looks after his own, unlike Herr Kenny

• Not exactly true Richard. It was a combination of all those events to be honest. The US sub-prime shock was what really started the whole crisis, along with the collapse of Lehman Brothers. If you look at the timeline European debt didn’t come into the equation until well after that event.

• All i am saying is all the debt orginated from the tax havens of the corporation of London and Wall Street. They have the most to gain or lose from this.

• Fully agree with you this time Jim Walsh. See I do read the posts. It was a concoction of many factors. But still can’t see every country in europe adhering to same fiscal plan. Too many economies. Still think we should be looking for a way out. The powerful countries will still set the pace as has been the case and it won’t necessarily suit us.

Add New Comment