TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

In pictures: The 20th anniversary of X Case protests

In February 1992 the case of a 14-year-old rape victim who wanted an abortion sparked off waves of demonstrations around the country. These photos from the time give an idea of just how divisive and emotive the case became.

20 YEARS AGO this month, the X case , one of the most contentious and emotive legal cases in Ireland’s history, sparked off waves of demonstrations around the country.

The case of a 14-year-old rape victim who was stopped from having an abortion in England by the intervention of then-Attorney General Harry Whelehan brought thousands of people out onto the streets. Pro-choice and anti-abortion campaigners battled over the issue which had exposed huge divisions in Irish society during referendum campaigns in the 1980s.

These photographs from 1992 show the deep tensions between the demonstrators in case which had huge implications for Irish society.

In pictures: The 20th anniversary of X Case protests
1 / 12
  • 20th Anniversary of the X case

Pro choice posters at a protest Pic:Photocall ireland

Youth Defence demos during a anti abortion demo in Dublin. Pic:Photocall Ireland

Abortion information demo in Dublin. Pic: Photocall Ireland

Pro Life Protests on O Connell Street in Dublin 25/4/1992 Pic: Photocall Ireland

Anti abortion protests in Dublin in response to the X Case. Pic: Photocall Ireland
  • 20th Anniversary of the X case.

Pro Life Protests in Dublin in response to the X Case 25/4/1992. Pic Photocall Ireland

Anti abortion protests in Dublin. Pic: Photocall Ireland

Abortion information demo in Dublin in response to the X Case 22/2/1992 Pic Photocall Ireland

Pro choice information demo in Dublin 1992 Pic Photocall Ireland

Pro choice information demo in Dublin in response to the X Case Pic: Photocall Ireland

Women holding a picture of the virgin Mary at an anti-abortion protest. Pic: Photocall Ireland

Abortion informormation demo in Dublin outside Government Buildings in February 1992. PIC PHOTOCALL IRELAND

Twenty years on: a timeline of the X case >

Read next:

Comments (59 Comments)

• It always amazes me how riled up people can get over stuff that is none of their business
    That “get your rosaries off my ovaries” sign is genius!

• It gave me a laugh too alright! :D Look at the feckin’ Marys’ out in force, only too delighted to be sticking their nose in where it doen’t belong!

• None of their business? To claim that is to claim there isn’t a rational for an anti-abortion stance, which a far stupider more blindsided view than the anti abortion stance itself.

You might be on the right side of this issue, but with that sort of thinking I’m pretty sure it was just pot luck.

• You taking bets snookums? To answer your question, Yes, it is absolutely none of their business
      For one, this is an issue that concerns only the persons involved and the ultimate decision should solely be up to the mother!
      By saying that i am not condoning drive through abortions which, lets be honest, are extremely f*ucking rare. If half of these protesters set up organisations which would offer aid and support to these women should they consider following through for adoption then surely everyone would benefit!
      But sadly, these people seem to follow your train of thought, and just follow up on an ignorant and inconsiderate blind reactions. This could easily change, and many lives could be saved and i would 100% support it

• @CHristopher

whats my viewpoint? read my comment, I’m pro-choice you twit.

To say it’s none of their business is to say they don’t have an argument. Which they do (and one which is inevitably logically easier to balance than ours, although I think that’s through intellectual sloth rather than being right.)

Also if its ‘solely up to the mother’ then it means any term fetus has no/very little moral weight.

Also, I have no idea what you last paragraph meant, sorry.

• I’m sure an explanation would be lost on you anyway but if you actually read what i said then you would see that i did not label you as a Pro-Lifer… go on take a second and read… take all the time you need princess.
      I simply meant that both sides of this debate are prone to knee jerk reactions and because of the weight of the issue involved they do not offer any consideration to other solutions.

And get spell check for f*cks sake, you’re english only confirms my woes about our education system.

• You are a delightfully angry man, I do apologies for my bad spelling, I cried a little when I realised I had both missed an apostrophe and an r. I realise in my hubris you will inevitably deliver a soul crushing thesis on my mountain of spelling mistakes.

BTW I honestly meant no offence about your comment, I couldn’t understand it, bad expression is common in the cut throat professionalism that is internet trolling and I myself have gave into it many times, (the bad expression, not being trolled).

Anyway back to the issue, whats ignorant about saying people have a right to debate abortion publicly and easily? There are logically valid arguments on both sides, therefore debate is valid.

So to say it is no ones business but the mothers assumes two things, one there is very limited moral significance for the foetus at all times(I do not agree) and since if it’s not our business then trimesters are irrelevant therefore there is an almost infinite explosion in moral weight in the time frame of the act of birth.

I again wouldn’t agree at all. I don’t really understand the position of ‘it’s no ones opinions but the mothers.

• It seems i must apologise Conor, i just reread my last comment and it looks like i fell victim to exactly the same kind of shite i was giving out about! But you called me a twit so i’ll get over it.
      My argument is that it should solely up to the persons involved because there are so many dimensions and influences in their situation that each case is different. It is not right that any random person can vehemently push their opinions on others, and in the case of the x case, forcefully take a choice away from them. Each case should be weighed individually and this is impossible when the masses unite and paint them all with the one brush.
      I sympathise with the implications for the babys life but if the mother ultimately decides the go through with the abortion then i believe that she should have a right to do so

• When i said none of their business it is exactly that. They are perfectly entitled to their opinion but what I do with my uterus is my business. I find it appalling that busybodies like that can and have placed restrictions on my freedom of choice. That is all.

• Be pro or anti abortion, have your opinion – just don’t go ramming the flipping catholic church down our necks

• +1 I base my pro-life argument on science, not on religion. Sadly the pro-life movement is seen as a mad religious movement when then that’s not the case at all!

• The Roman Church is a poor inspiration in such issues now David. The record of the treatment of ‘born’ children by religious and state institutions surely goes to show that the defence of the innocent was far from their cause.

• Muc Beag 09/02/12 #

I’ve never been comfortable with the pro-choice ideology but I utterly abhor the pro-life one because it’s dominated by the type of person I detest – the religious. Consequently, I’ve never been convinced by either side and have never formed a solid opinion on it.

• Absolutely not, I resent that pro choice is used as a synonym for having no respect for life and as viewing abortion as the first option.

Personally I’m pro choice. But if my girlfriend (or not) became pregnant I would want to keep the baby, my conscience wouldn’t let me agree to an abortion. If she wanted an abortion I’d try to persuade her otherwise but ultimately I’d cede to her decision.

However, I don’t believe that I have the moral high ground here, if somebody feels they should have an abortion that is their decision. I may prefer they put the child up for adoption, but forcing somebody to carry a child to term is not my place.

I use crass comparisons now and then to highlight glaring contrasts in certain arguments. Anybody who thinks that it is my literal opinion, well.. good luck to them.

• There’s nothing like the realisation that we live in a country where my body is seen as owned, not by me, but by church and state.

• The argument is not about your body, it is about the body of the unborn.

• @absolutely 100% correct oaklane.

Don’t think this is a feminist issue, that is a cop-out of the most intellectually cowardly. Debate the issue, the unborn.

The argument is wether the unborn has significant moral weight to override the individual choices of the woman. So it is an argument about the unborn.

(Pro choicer here, just hate bullsh*t)

• Why can’t it be as simple as this. If you don’t want abortion, don’t get one. I would personally prefer my partner not to get one but I am not so arrogant and selfish that I would affect someone else’s well being.

• I am pro choice for the simple reason, why put women through the agony of having to travel to the UK to terminate an unwanted pregnancy? If a woman wants an abortion then it is her choice alone and not that of a bunch of cross dressing deluded male virgins in the vatican.

• It appears much of the support for restricting abortions comes from those who have shielded pedophiles from prosecution. Why do you suppose that is?

• Lord give me strength…

• I was only 9 at the time but I can remember it well, sickening affair and really showed the coldness in so many pro lifers. I wonder how many of Youth Defence would show up to a demonstration against cuts in child benefit. Do they bother to defend the rights of children already born? I doubt it!

• It’d be interesting to see how many of those pro lifers would remain pro lifers in this modern age.

Also, note the large amount of children protesting.

You journal chaos should definitely do a poll of this matter!

• I was thinking that too. I wonder what the opinions of some of those children are now?

• I find it unacceptable to put young children in the front row, as support for any point of view in a demo or protest, where they are actually too young to properly understand the issues involved, and are there due to ‘guidance’ from the parents. This applies to any demo regardless of subject but especially to emotive ones like abortion.

• And 20 years on the same arguments rise from the ashes

• Yet again this debate arises this week. And yet again we have many comments which to be fair are mindless and only provokes anger from people ill informed of what their actually arguing for. I would just like to comment on some comments made already.

@ Lousise Allen, i suppose people shouldn’t be sticking their noses in to anything. This could be said for any march or protest that has taken place. Be it a civil rights march or a protest against something that you believe. What i would like to point out is that free speech allows you make your opinion heard. Which you have done here but is that you sticking your nose where it doesn’t belong, or just arguing for what you believe to be right.

@ Seamus McDermott, You say much of the support for restricting abortions come from those who shield pedophiles? I am pro life, i have never shielded any type of criminal from the prosecution, never mind a pedophile. I think all pro life supporters which comment here should be asked the same question, and see how your generalization is a fail of a comment. As Aoife O’ Riordan stated about another comment “That kind of accusation demands evidence”, i couldn’t agree more.

@ Jayniemac, you are completely right in stating both sides of this debate are entitled to their opinions, But i have not seen anyone ramming any religion down anyone’s throat in this debate.

@ Aoife O Riordan, Your are completely right in your statement about the mother of the child having hopes, plans, emotions, and the capacity for rational thought. But does a fetus not have the potential and right just like a new born baby to obtain all the above.

@ Mathew, I must admit i like the comment of the tumor. But in reality a malignant tumor does not have the ability after 9 months to survive without being attached to the body.

We can debate all day, or all week as the journal has entitled us to do. But at the end of the day as i have stated already in previous comments, this debate will rage on long after the ballot box has spoken. When that day will come will remain to be seen. but when it does happen lets hope people are informed on both sides of the debate.

• adam common sense and religion do not mix.

• http://c1.dmlimg.com/2e5c93fc5fcb277c88837e18ff8cc04544275689560c14ea321e3d7c700e6dc4.jpg

Look at that old letch, checking out the Bible Bashing Biddy’s Boobs!

It’s like an early 80s Late Late Show audience version of “Dat Ass!”

Controversial as I am, there’s no way in hell I’m even going *near* an abortion debate. The bould Albert Reynolds was confronted with this case on his first day in office, and as reported by Sean Duignan, spent much of that day at his desk with his head in his hands.

• EMD 09/02/12 #

Ed, also thumbs up on your comment,. Well said.

• Yet again the sneering anti-Catholic mob gets all sanctimonious. Views on abortion can only be formed after examining the scientific knowledge. The tired old ‘clump of cells’ defense is a cop-out, science tells us the what exists in the womb is human and is alive. If you are a humanist or a Christian you should therefore believe you have a responsibility to protect such life.

• The person of whom the womb is a part is not only alive, but also conscious. That person also has hopes, plans, emotions, and the capacity for rational thought. A fetus, though it is alive, has none of these things. “The womb” is not a separate thing. It is a part of the body of this fully realised person, nourished by her food, water and the air she breathes. A fetus does not just exist “in the womb”. It exists inside the body of a person who has the right to decide what other creatures inhabit her body, eat her food, breathe her air and drink her water.

• Wotever ur opinion I wish people would stop comparing malignant tumors to fetuses….its so far removed from what the argument is that its unhelpful. They are not the same thing.

• I didn’t compare a tumor to a fetus. I said it is a form of life. It is.

• Although repulsive, at least Matthew is being more honest than Aoife about the pro-choice viewpoint. It could also be said that a new born baby or a person with an intellectual disability or person in a coma does not have ‘hopes, plans, emotions, and the capacity for rational thought’.

• The catholic church consulted science before forming their opinion.

• I think you will find Laurence that when people (either a woman on her own or as part of a couple) decide to have an abortion, “clump of cells” does not enter into their thinking.

I’d be very interested to see exactly who is having abortions now. We’re almost indoctrinated in this country to think of the ill mother/ rape victim / young single girl – but I’d imagine there are a lot of people who previously would never have considered this course of action, now think of it as they’re finding it almost impossible to keep head above water financially already.

And in the any case, this is a decision to be made by no-one but the person themself(ves) – it’s not mine or your business.

• Ed just as I suspected, a mindless and pathetic response from a person who doesn’t really know what he’s talking about. As I said in my previous comment your more than entitled to your opinion. And I’m glad to hear you voice that opinion. But obviously respect for other people and their beliefs does not come in your vocabulary.

To make a statement that I’m a poor brainwashed fool, that’s just classy, real time and effort went in to that comment I can see. What I don’t accept is being slandered for no apparent reason.

Ridicule all the religions you want. Doesn’t upset me in the slightest. And if you get a kick out of taking the piss out of other people’s beliefs that’s your thing, I’m thrilled for you.

I really hope you chill out on the crusade you find yourself on. All anger and no love.

All the best

• You know I have never thought of these things Ed because i have common sense! This is one major generalization if i have ever seen one. Quite pathetic to be honest.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion, just do it without disrespecting people or their beliefs.

• Abortion is murder in all cases

Add New Comment