TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Updated: Iona Institute YouTube account restored, Google denies censorship

The account, which included a video promoting traditional marriage between a man and a woman, had been taken down earlier today prompting the Iona Institute’s David Quinn to say it was “censorship” but Google said it was a verification issue.

A screengrab from the Iona Institute video that has been removed from YouTube.
Image: Screengrab via Vimeo

Updated 5.10pm

THE IONA INSTITUTE YouTube account has been restored this afternoon following its unexplained removal from the video sharing website earlier today.

The account was taken down earlier today with a notice saying: “This account has been terminated due to repeated or severe violations of our Terms of Service.”

However it was restored this afternoon and a spokeswoman for Google told TheJournal.ie that it had “nothing to do with censorship” as had been earlier speculated on by the director of the conservative think tank, David Quinn.

The spokeswoman said the account’s temporary removal was a “verification issue”. Quinn said on Twitter this evening: “Seemingly we hadn’t responded to an email from them verifying our account.”

Earlier Quinn said there had been “no explanation whatsoever” for the removal of the account.

He added that he could only speculate as to the reasons for the removal but said “at the moment it looks like censorship, we are one organisation among many that would have a similar point of view”.

A Google spokeswoman said at the time that videos are generally taken down if in breach of community guidelines but acknowledged that it was unusual for an entire account to be taken down as the Iona Institute’s had been and said the matter was being looked into.

Normally videos which are found to be in violation of YouTube’s Terms of Service are removed and Quinn suggested that a recent video posted to the account ‘The Case for Man & Woman Marriage’ was the reason for the account removal but queried the validity of this.

YouTube: theionainstitute

He told TheJournal.ie earlier today: “I mean when you consider a lot of the content on YouTube really is questionable in terms of taste and so on it’s just baffling as to why this would happen.

“I hope we haven’t come to a case where a traditional view of marriage is increasingly being censored. If that is the case and Google is doing this then they should be doing that to all organisations with similar views,” he added.

Read next:

Comments (123 Comments)

• The idea that the company which allows an infamous Islamophobic movie to stay online, and which has had a National Organisation for Marriage (the main US anti-gay marriage org) channel for 5 years, would ban a minor Irish group is ludicrous. I imagine what happened here was something else entirely, possible related to a false copyright claim.

P.

• As Twitter user @Oireachtas_RX pointed out, using the Iona video’s own twisted language against them, “But it’s not discrimination to treat different situations in different ways”.

Also they censored their own comments / ratings and now cry “discrimination.” They’re hilarious.

• Wow, they walk a tightrope of what is considered discrimination. I’m pretty sure you could apply their loose logic to many past instances of discrimination. I’m sure if he was aware of this Dr. Martin Luther King would be spinning in his grave. Because you know, because we have different colour skin, it’s totally okay to treat people in a different way, I’m sure the people who instigated centuries of slavery were just misguided and this is what they actually meant. FFS.

• The only group I can compare these idiots to is the Westboro Baptist Church.
      Why religious dullards like this are even listened to signifies a much broader problem with our culture.

• [ This comment has been removed by the Journal ]

• From David Quinn’s personal Twitter account:

“‏@DavQuinn Just heard. Seemingly we hadn’t responded to an email from them verifying our account”

Not the big Liberal/Google conspiracy that he had made it out to be, just poor email etiquette.
      If Google were going to start censoring, their first port of call would be Westboro Baptist Church. Iona, despite their own lofty notions, would be fairly far down the pecking order.

• CABK 22/01/13 #

The video is so simplistic it is idiotic (so pretty apt that it comes from Iona).

It assumes that every man&woman who become parents are loving parents to their child. This is clearly not the case. What about a father who abuses his child and a mother who stands by and does nothing. Do Iona really believe that in these situations the child is better off than if she had been raised by two women who loved the child and never abused it..

Is there anyone out there who believes this is the case and would like to provide a reason why?

• Wow! Censorious bigots whinging about censorship!! Iona demands to be heard, but blocks comments! The irony.

I’d love to ask them if there was an in utero test for the gay gene, which would be worse: Having a gay baby, or aborting a gay baby?

• As much as you can disagree with Iona and that video, I don’t think they breached any Terms or Conditions. As they said there’s much much worse available on YouTube. Nicki Minaj music videos, for example :D

• There is no such thing as free speech on a private platform

• V 22/01/13 #

I don’t think it’s censorship, definitely not. YouTube had no problem playing those ads from Youth Defense before videos recently so I can’t see them taking down this groups account either.

• Yup, homophobia is considered discrimination in the modern world; not much of a “think tank” when you need to be told to pipe down on the hate speech, are yis?

• So the Iona Institute are against censorship? That doesn’t sound very Catholic to me…

• It probably is just a mistake or it is under review if enough people have reported it as offensive.

I just wish they would get rid of that bloody Youth Defence advert that plays before YouTube videos over and over again.

• A lot of censorship going on these days – I disagree with Iona profoundly, but nevertheless they should be heard the same as everyone else.

• Private company with their own community guidelines though.

They broke Rule 7.9 here: http://www.youtube.com/static?template=terms

• You should read 7.9. They didn’t break that. In fact 7.9 as I read it is aimed at the viewers of YouTube content not the posters…

• Could they have broken rule 7.9 if they tried to take a legal (copyright) claim against someone using their youtube content? I.e. the parody videos that have been made?

The freedom of speech line toted by Quinn is a smokescreen as far as I can see, youtube have had far worse stuff up for far longer and its highly unlikely their account was removed because of the content of the ‘marriage’ video.

Wish people could see clearer through this ridiculous scaremongering and constant acting like they’re the ones being discriminated against.

• My bad Ciaran, it was 7.8 of the ToS I was referring to, which allows them to disable accounts if found in violation of this community guidelines

“we do not permit hate speech (speech which attacks or demeans a group based on race or ethnic origin, religion, disability, gender, age, veteran status and sexual orientation/gender identity).”

But it is up to them as a private company to interpret that obviously

• The IONA institute is comprised of little more than a crappy low quality selection of religious nut jobs. The more they communicate with the wider world the better.

They need to be seen and heard for what they are and for what they represent.

• Glad to hear David Quinn and IONA are now against censorship, looking forward so to their press release calling for the Catholic Church to stop censoring Fr Tony Flannery

• Everyone has the right to free speech even if it offends you.

• FREE SPEECH ON THE INTERNETS!!

• So non email verification was the problem all along ..
    I bet someone feels a right tit at the moment

• Would this be the same David Quinn that wrote in the Irish Catholic an articule advocating using the church’s patronage of schools to only allow pupils access to pro-Catholic history books?

The only people who have used censorship in the struggle for LGBT rights are the anti-equality lobby (Briggs Initative, Section 28, “Kill the Gays” Bill, Russia’s “Gay Propaganda” laws, etc.).

• Actually, I’m a Catholic. Maybe not your preferred variety……

And ‘you’re’.

• Marriage should not be in the ownership of any one group or religion! It is there to cement a bond between two people regardless of gender or religion. Marriage has been around in one form or another long before religion was invented!

• One could argue that freedom of speech has been compromised, but these guys are essentially a hate group with a fancy name, so good riddance to them. And yes seeing as they would most likely censor their own page, youtube can censor theirs.

• Ah, yes, Free Speech for those you agree with!
      Hate speech being defined as anything you disagree with.

The most ludicrous thing of course is that they advocate what’s the law as now. So agreeing wih the law is hate speech…

Go on, admit it to yourself. You’re against Free Speech.

• they are not a “hate” group just because they don’t agree with homosexual marriage – don’t be so melo-dramatic or just plain twisting the truth. They have the right to oppose what they see as wrong the same as you have – but nobody has the right to put the name “hate” group on another

• Laws can and will be changed. Plenty of past laws legalised hate and discrimination. One by one they have been knocked down. As will the anti gay Laws.
      Stupidest argument ever put forward.

• So why are the Iona Institute a “Hate Group”?

• You can be pro or anti gay marriage, I don’t care. But when you go out of you’re way to impose your views on others by making ads and videos to actively restrict the rights of others, then you’re a hate group. Or just a d**k.

• You can be pro or anti gay marriage as long as you don’t tell anyone about it?

This is a democracy. The laws should be the will of the people.
      They and you have a right for their voice to be heard about ANY issue.

Disagreeing with you is not a “hate crime”.

• People’s human rights i.e. the right to marry the person you love should never be put to the public vote!

• Yes James you are correct. You are entitled to your opinion as am I. These people are going out of their way to impose their views and doing so with the aim of restricting the life opportunities of others. This is not a nice thing to do . A hateful thing to do, if you will.

Whether I agree or disagree with gay adoption or artificial insemination is irrelevant, as I do not try to prevent others from living a happy life.

• What about all the hatred being incited & expressed on THIS website?

I read an article yesterday on ‘the Journal’, on Lucinda Creighton expressing ‘Pro Life’ views. Was pretty disgusted at the flood of personal abuse directed against her, on some of the comments.
      So its ok for ‘the Journal’ but not the ‘Iona Institute’.
      As for hatred, some of you might need to take a look at yourselves.

• Wow James, you really know how to put the rhetorical in question

• Freedom of speech does not apply google and YouTube are private enterprises. I pay them for business both monthly subscriptions and by viewing advertisements… If the users don’t want to see that crap or it harms the commercial interests of the company ie. it’s advertisers don’t want to be associated with a hate group it should remove them.

• Really Aah ’tis himself?, all that video does is parody the Iona Institute’s own video (and rather well I think), it is far from disgusting, unlike the Iona Institute’s video which is aimed at continuing to deny LGBT people and their families the same rights and protections that any other family would receive.
      The Iona Institute and its supporters can tell themselves what ever they want but what they are doing is the very definition of the word discrimination.

• All I can say and it’s pretty immature but grant me this one discretion – ha ha ha!

• “Seemingly we hadn’t responded to an email from them verifying our account.”

I think the only response here is:

http://ozhouse.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/double_facepalm.jpg

P.

• I’d prefer if people didn’t report this at all, as it gives these cretins more oxygen than they deserve, but such is free speech.

• Let them spew their idiotic hate, anyone with a drop of sense can find flaws in their logic. But alas…

YouTube can legally take down any video they want or any account they want. If this was a government body i’d be freaking out.

• While the video is not my view it is not hate filled. States a pretty childish logic but they are more than free to express their view.

• Why do we continue to entertain churchy people’s delusions of relevance? The sooner we stop giving them the oxygen of a reaction, the sooner evolution will leave them behind.

• How is it different situations? It’s the same situation just different, or in the case same sex marriage. Marriage is a union of love, not a license to make babies

• Hope it stays blocked. And there’s a lot more too that could do with being blocked!

• Censorship seems an unlikely explanation because the rather flimsy, superficial and tendentious video would have not been restored if censorship was the reason.

The video I have seen has a curiosity value, it will likely be hauled out in decades to come as a sign of past silliness but , although full of bias and circular logic, it is not offensive, possibly a little immature, but the advantage of leaving it up is that it discredits the very case that is being made by the video.

Of course if I was gay, I might find this vendor offensive and it is certainly insensitive. But the Iona Institute only preaches to the perverted, its own, and no undecided person would find such silliness dispositive in any way.

• I wonder if all this publicity is aiding the video in going viral?

Just think, you have a video that you want everyone to see – what’s the best way to get people to click on it?
    Well, we can make a big public song and dance about how we are being censored (even when we weren’t) so people will go and check out the video to see if it was worthy of censoring, and then we can reach a larger audience and brag about our hit counter..
    Seeing as how we disabled comments and likes vs dislikes and all..

As a friend said on his Facebook when this first came out – even the people who were reposting it out of sheer disgust were inadvertently making it go viral.. And this screaming from the rooftops about censorship when it clearly wasn’t just screams of media manipulation – by those who are masters of it..

• Great publicity for these shower of ignorant people.

• Good bit of blocking there Hugh, all I asked was why these people are so interested in what goes on in somebody else’s bedroom

• I’m not being facetious (well not entirely, it’s a good bet that I’m being a bit facetious at any given moment) but I’m seeing a lot of people saying “Well they censor other people and that’s wrong so they should get a taste of it.”

Does anyone really not see what’s wrong with that stance?

Really?

• Isn’t it ironic that people who profess to be liberal are against those who hold opposing views expressing those views?

• They are back all the same

• It wouldn’t surprise me if there wasn’t some sort of default disabling when there are sudden massive complaints made.

It also wouldn’t surprise me if IONA was targetted by indignant liberals to cause such an outcome.

• I honestly don’t think that is the case. Google’s community standards page makes it clear this process is never automated, no matter how many submissions. A user always checks, and they check against the Terms of Use. So either a TOU breach did occur or, as it seems, a user thought one had occured but then this was reversed.

P.

• It still wouldn’t surprise me if that were the case.

Not one little bit.

• God could, if he/she existed

• Why has my comment been deleted? Are you not championing free speech!?

• Free speech doesn’t exist on a privately owned site. If the owner doesn’t like it they can and will remove it for whatever reason they wish. You can be removed from a persons home, a place of retail or an Internet site by the owner for acting or speaking in a way they do not agree with.

• I don’t know this is censorship or, if it is, that it was sanctioned by a senior Google executive but it certainly fits in with something that should be apparent to everyone – those who consider themselves liberals are more likely than conservatives to pressure media and government into silencing others who have different views than their own.

• I think it’s fair to silence those who stigmatise people based on their sexual orientation. Do you not think that idiotic Iona video is a bigoted piece of work squarely aimed at marginalising homosexuals? it is the right thinking person duty to silence the bigoted, the prejudiced, the ignorant when they wilfully go out and discriminate against other people.

• There was no attempt to stigmatise or marginalise anyone based on their sexual orientation. Their belief is that society needs the institution of marriage(one man and one woman) to provide the best setting for the development of children. Don’t believe that yourself? Fine, you’ve got the right to express your opinions. Once you start trying to silence them it is you who is acting in a prejudiced and discriminatory manner.

• it is a mistaken belief based on prejudice.

• Leopoldo, I’m not saying gays shouldn’t have kids but wouldn’t a child growing up with a mother and father be the ideal situation? If that’s what they’re saying then how is it wrong?

• James I think the one most serious consideration is that kids deserve to have loving, responsible and nurturing parents.

Just because they have a mum and a dad doesn’t guarantee anything other than the sex of their parents. We should see people as individuals on their own merit – if they are good parents then they are good parents, if they’re not they’re not.. Their sexual preference is not related to their parenting skills.

• I’m not saying they wouldn’t raise a kid right because they’re gay. We’ll just say there’s a mix of people with same morals, jobs, income and health, It’s my opinion that a kid would be better off with with parents of both sexes than two of the same or one of either. My opinion is that this is the ideal situation (and I know you’ll probably say that this isn’t always possible…… yes, I do realise that).

• I’m sorry James, I can’t see your point.. I mean – having two parents is a bonus. But I just can’t get my head around why they need to be male and female, unless we are to make the assumption that these kids will never come into contact with the other sex in their families and that is quite unlikely..

It would be similar to assuming a single mum of a boy will not have any male role models around for him..

Single parents have a much harder job because they are doing it alone, but some of them do amazing jobs, not all – but quite a few.

Again, it’s all down to the individual, I still can’t get my head around this notion that a two parent family must be made up of a man and a woman, I can’t see how that makes it any better or worse by virtue of their gender alone..

• Shanti you can’t see the forest for the trees because of your obvious hate of the RCC. I never said it was a MUST I said it was the ideal situation. This is what I hate about the typical lefty journal poster, you twist words to make it seem that the other person said something they didn’t (you are always at it) and the worst part is you know you do it. I form my opinion that it is the ideal situation because we are basically the same human beings we were 10,000 years ago and evolution determined this to be the best set up. So you’ll excuse me while I trust more in evolution than a modern day liberal.

• @ James Attley, well your comment betrays a total lack of knowledge of social anthropology. The nuclear family is a comparatively recent phenomenon. There is no empirical evidence to suggest that two women, two men or any less suitable as parents.

The prevalent form of family is the single parent family. This is often a sole female parent.

Overall, my concern is that a minority of fathers can be abusive. An abusive father is much worse than an absent father. It is a interesting aspect that many men who have has a sole female parent often do better in life than men who have a domineering father.

Heterosexual parenthood is not perfect. Remember what Lowry the famous English poet said.

I was not aware of anti-catholic sentiment from Shanti-Om but I should declare that although I am tolerant of Individual Roman Catholics, I am hugely critical and adversely disposed to the institution of he Roman Catholic Church, which I consider based on history, evidence and personal experience to be a malign and deeply toxic institution. Look at the Spanish Inquisition, the invasion of South America, the genocidal conflicts, the Rwandan genocide.

My great grandfather was excommunicated by Archbishop McHale for his Land League organisation.

My personal experience is that in 1959 my left hand was badly broken by a nun in order to prevent me from writing with my left hand because I am left handed. My left hand is deformed and arthritic. It is unusable. I was repeatedly thrashed in front of the class and ostracised. To my shame, I was terrified and weak as a child but it has made me a stronger adult, questioning, hard headed and aware of the evils of a woman hating, child abuse concealing, authoritarian, prejudiced and fascist organisation which has managed to outweigh the good done by a minority of its clergy.

So, from me, let me say to you, that an organisation should be judged by its actions and policies. In that regard the Roman Catholic Church is found wanting in so many ways that a multi volume work would not adequately cover the evils done by the Roman Catholic Church.

• Shanti you can’t see the forest for the trees because of your obvious hate of the RCC.

I’m sorry – is that a straw man? Where did I mention the church?

I never said it was a MUST I said it was the ideal situation.

I realise that – and I explained that I couldn’t see why the sex of the parent was that important if their ability to parent was sufficient.

This is what I hate about the typical lefty journal poster, you twist words to make it seem that the other person said something they didn’t (you are always at it) and the worst part is you know you do it.

Lol, do you see the irony in this statement?

I form my opinion that it is the ideal situation because we are basically the same human beings we were 10,000 years ago and evolution determined this to be the best set up. So you’ll excuse me while I trust more in evolution than a modern day liberal.

And a massive over quota batch of red herring with a slew of circumstantial ad hominems..

My point was that to say a family needs specifically a mum and a dad as opposed to one or the other or two of the same is indeed an ideal but it’s not real life, nor is it guaranteed to work out ideally. It’s based on a preconception of gender roles which is in itself sexist – men are just as capable of all the traits women are, and vice versa, to suggest otherwise is denigrating to both sexes.

Where did all that vitriol come from? It certainly didn’t originate with me..

• Peter if anything the nuclear family is in decline and I’m sorry to hear that type of thing happened to you. I have no love for that organisation but I don’t let it blind me.
      Shanti so you agree with what I said in the first place. Why couldn’t you just say that? “It’s based on a preconception of gender roles which is in itself sexist” ha ha…… Ill have to remember that next time a woman in the office asks me to lift something for her because its heavy. Night night, you stay classy!

• Well, you put your comment out there and I sought to engage with you. The ideal situation of all is that a baby grows up with its own two parents, and that they will be good parents..
      It’s a lovely thought, but as you admitted – it’s merely an ideal.

So why did you bring it up? We all know what the ideal situation may be, and we also know (and you admitted) it’s not always realistic. In this video the ideal is being held up as the only situation worth pursuing and so for this reason we should deny one group from their opportunity to be parents, perhaps you wouldn’t, but if that’s the case – why mention it?

As for the heavy lifting – have to admit I always found that part of health and safety really stupid.. I know guys who couldn’t lift what the law says they should, and women who have no problem lifting way more than they are permitted, its all down to size and ability.. Again – making broad assumptions based on gender alone is quite silly..

• I only said it because no one had and the comment I replied to seemed the best place to put it.
      It’s not really a silly general assumption when (on average) men are bigger/ stronger than women, which would fit in with the lack of evidence of any matriarchal society.

• Be sure to tune into E4 for our brand new comedy about a man and his partner trying to start a family…..oops did we forget to mention his partner was a WOMAN!?
    The hilarious “The New Abnormal” starts at 9

• Three times as many thumbs down as thumbs up? The reactions to this issue and some of the comments are priceless. A south park episode could literally write itself. The whole thing is beyond satire

• Are you saying everyone in the Iona Institute should be killed?

• Gay marriage makes as much sence as a adult man wanting to join the girl guides

• Go away and learn some tolerance. Arrogant fools

• The silent minority.

• A somewhat biased article. Copy&paste from Irish Times?

• Disgusting

Add New Comment