TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Reilly may speak to Cabinet about hospital fast-tracks today

It was revealed at the weekend that two hospital projects were fast-tracked in two of his cabinet colleagues’ home towns.

Fine Gael Minister for Health, Dr James Reilly with a copy of the report
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

HEALTH MINISTER JAMES Reilly is expected to speak to the Cabinet today about the fast-tracking of hospital projects.

It emerged thanks to documents obtained by RTÉ’s This Week programme that upgrades to St Luke’s Hospital in Kilkenny (Environment Minister Phil Hogan’s home tome) and Wexford General Hospital (Public Expenditure Minister Brendan Howlin’s home town) were fast-tracked.

According to RTÉ, the documents showed that Ministers Howlin and Hogan announced the new works on the hospitals before the HSE was aware of such fast-track proposals.

Criticism

Minister Reilly came in for much criticism after these documents were made public by RTÉ, with Sinn Féin health spokesman Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin saying the developments outlined in the documents were “damning in the extreme”. He accused the coalition of “cabinet cronyism”.

Fianna Fáil Health Spokesperson Billy Kelleher TD said Minister Reilly “continues to court controversy”, and used the opportunity to call on him to clarify why progress on the establishment of government procedures for the new National Children’s Hospital has stalled.

Today, it is expected that Minister Reilly will speak to the cabinet on the fast-tracking, Minister for Education Ruairi Quinn told RTÉ.

Read: Documents show ministers announced hospital works before HSE Board knew>

Read next:

Comments (76 Comments)

• They’ve gone on to Stage 2 of arrogance and corruption – not giving a damn who knows about it.

• RTE have provided all the documents that show upgrades to the ministers’ local hospitals were ‘accelerated’ – no if’s, but’s or maybe’s. Reilly, Hogan & Howlin all caught stuffing themselves at the Cabinet table. So much for new politics!

• Can’t wait to see what spin they put on it. It will either be so ridiculously stupid. Or just plain old couldn’t give two fcuks what we think. I reckon it will be the latter.

• No doubt he will give some sob story and his cabinet colleagues will circle the wagons to protect him. If there is a clear paper trail that can prove he overstepped the mark then there should be consequences.

• It’s really hard to believe that after giving 20 years shouting from the opposition benches at FF for stroke politics and cronyism, this government are doing exactly the same. We didn’t have a change of government at the last election, just a change of the guard.

• Unfortunately Minister Reilly doesn’t seem to have the word untenable in his vocabulary. I’ve no doubt he will ride this one out as well.

• Julie 29/01/13 #

Corruption is still alive and well in Irish politics as I keep saying it just has new faces and politicians are being more careful as there has never been such a massive interest by the public in politics. What I don’t understand is why FG keep turning a blind eye to this corruption what is so special about Reilly or should I say what does he know?? Peter Matthews goes to ballyhea to show support to that fantastic group of people and he is going to get a telling off over it by party whip, what does Reilly get? Everyone defending him, WHY ? ? ?

• Just when you think Brendan Grace can’t stoop any lower!

• What happened to ‘minister report cards’
    were’nt you supposed to be getting rid of poor performing ministerss Dame Enda
    Oh you are so full of shite, the lot of ye

• This government knows it’s days are numbered so expect a lot more stroke politics before their term is up.

• They are really showing themselves for what they really are.

• At the end of 2011, I wrote to the Joint Oireachtas Committee about a loop hole in the medical card scheme that can lead to wastage of money. It was forwarded to James Reilly’s department. Apart from some initial acknowledgement of my letter NOTHING has been done about it. The HSE don’t mind wasting money in some areas. There are obviously vested interests involved.

• the vested interests seem to lie in making themselves look good – regardless to the cost to the public. The stupid graduate nurse scheme ( only benefit from that pile of crap was to politicians and HSE knob head managers who wanted to point at it and say ‘look, Im doing something!’) The whole recruitment ban which only made the agencies rich and saved no money for the HSE while the public waited on trollies in A&E
      Aine – your money saving letter obviously was not head line grabbing enough for these show walruses (ponies)

• This should be interesting or is the word “entertaining”!

• FF -FG there all the same ,we vote them in and we have to live with them. Parish politics is what’s wrong in this country that type of government was ok 50 years ago but not now.

• When will this minister go…not while Kenny stands firmly by his friend, I imagine. So much for Fine Gael’ concept of democracy!!! Or should I say contempt!!!!

• I spoke to a guy in Kilkenny recently and he told me that he will be voting for Hogsn again because “he’s looked after us”

When push comes to shove – how many people will put self interest ahead of the national interest and vote for the guy/gal who gets things done……..

…..isn’t this the reason why we have the politicians we do?

• oh strokie dokie strokie

• With down grading of hospitals across the country, location and medical need should be the deciding factor not having a minister in their area. It might be good for those in the area but now the hospitals in surrounding areas will suffer

• Nydon 29/01/13 #

In all fairness, the only thing the three are guilty of ?s not being aware that normal governmental stroke service had been temporarily suspended until such time as public scrutiny had moved on to other things.

• The Old Boys Club in action once again. This is people’s lives lads, the country had to take priority.

• bombacho 29/01/13 #

This is an abuse of power not a privilege.

• Snouts in the trough

• Brendan grace is looking well in that photo. Yiz are all luckin at mi

• If it become an offence to provide any facilities in constituencies that have elected representatives people will need to live where there are no elected representatives, very confusing.

• There was a Lotto winner in Micheal Martin’s constituency recently. I demand it is investigated.

Also a school was painted in Roscommon, we must identify if any Fine Gael representatives were in any way connected, or party donors have any link to either the paint, the brushes or the painter. It must be corruption of the highest order.

• You both seem to be missing the point (possibly wilfully)… If there are official HSE and Department of Health criteria in place to determine areas that are priorities for investment in healthcare facilities and these criteria were ignored in favour of stroke politics, that’s a serious issue. That is an Ireland the electorate thought it was voting to get rid of in the last general election.

To say that I’ve never seen anyone with a neck of such solid brass as O’Reilly’s is really saying something in post-Fianna Fáil Ireland.

• arb
      all we want to see is the criteria
      simple as

• It’s the “fast track” element in combination of HSE board not informed yet, kind of thing.
      I’m sure the people in Wexford are delighted and couldn’t care less, but for others who see their facilities disappear or stretched have every right to question these ministers motives.

• Róisín

O’Reilly has such a brass neck because he supported Hr. Kenny in the FG leadership challenage a few years ago. O’Reilly knows that Hr. Kenny will support him no matter what he does as a thank you for keeping him in the FG leadership role.

The only way to stop this kind of thing from hppenning is to have the total party membership elect their leader and not just the few Leinster House elite.

Yes there should be a party leader in Leinster House, but that should not mean that person should be the defacto party leader.

• Who cares if they were fast tracked…. At least our hospitals are getting much needed upgrades

• At the expense of others? Not a good way to invest in public health provision. Hogan won’t stand again so he is pushing all this through so he can be a hero in kk.

• The closure of Roscommon A&E paid for these upgrades. Is that right?

• CABK 29/01/13 #

Our hospital? lucky you if these hospitals are in your constituency. My local hospital is currently overburdened, over worked and a complete mess. Hospitals should be fast tracked based on urgency of need – if it turns out that another hospital is worse than my closest (only) hospital then I would have no issue with that hospital being upgraded first. Its when this priority depends only on how prominent your local TD is in government that there is an issue.

• Imagine if your hospital was closed down and another new one opened up 80 miles away from you in a Governments Ministers constituency. Would you feel those decisions were fair play?

• Please dont bang on about the Roscommon A&E. That area is completely serviced and it needed to be closed down.. End of story… The upgrades in question were planned and in the budget and who cares if the work was accelerated once it gets done..

• @declan cotter
      parish pump stroke pulling blueshirts like you coulden’t give a toss that because thats the way you people do things

• The budget is in December and the decision was made in June. I live in Dublin so Roscommon’s situation does not directly affect me. Of course it had nothing to do with Denis Naughten, Roscommon’s former FG TD, supporting Bruton in the heave against Kenny. Reilly and Hogan supported Kenny who held on by 3 votes. Kenny and his cronies are not pleasant people to mess with. Of course nothing will happen to Reilly or Hogan as if it did Kenny would be gone in a flash. So the message is clear the lads can keep on stroking until the next election. You can try spin it whatever way you want but the polls are trending against the people you support so enjoy it while it lasts as the clock is ticking.

• “Please dont bang on about the Roscommon A&E. That area is completely serviced and it needed to be closed down.. End of story… The upgrades in question were planned and in the budget and who cares if the work was accelerated once it gets done..”

Declan Cotter, you’ve lost all rights to discuss about the government after a sick comment like that. Supporting failed policies is one thing, but to go so far as to support the same state-sponsored corruption which landed Ireland in the mess it is in is completely disgusting. If this happened in ANY other European country there would be investigations and the minister responsible would be either sacked or shamed into resigning. This is blatant corruption and there’s no window dressing it.

• Jason you are wasting your time with Declan Cotter
      a dyed in the wool blueshirt who will put anyones expense before his parties.
      totally devoid of any moral backbone

• Can people wait till all the facts are known before they start ranting about stroke politics . Thanks

• Ministers accelerating projects. What a terrible thing. We must ensure the HSE is in charge instead. They’ve done a wonderful job over the years. Outside interference will upset their equilibrium.

The opposition really are in b.s. mode these days – ‘Red Alert – Minister pushes his agenda forward despite HSE disgust at being told what to do’

Get real folks. We need a do-er at the top, not bureaucrats. That is what we want in bulldog O’Reilly. Judge him at the end of his term on whether the Health Service is better that it was under the Harney administration and hard change has been imposed upon it.

• If the presence of a minister results in extra houses being built, or schools or hospitals getting upgraded, that’s only a bad thing if other areas are egregiously neglected. The reality is that neglect can and does happen. That’s why the system has to be changed. No funding for Roscommon but in the very same month it was closed funding is made available for Ministers constituencies. It’s simple wrong.

• Jesus Enda have you nothing better to do.

• Obviously a Fine Gael party member. How else could you defend this?

• Bulldog O’Reilly? WTF? Seriously. Have people learned nothing about how corrupt this country actually is?

• Kevin, the population in Roscommon does not warant the service end of story…You seem to think its all right for highly populated areas to suffer once Roscommon is looked after… I say ‘NO’ to that. The areas in question are much higher up the chain than Roscommon in merit and thus recieve the funding.

• Hard change? You know nothing!!! Doing favours for ur mates is not in the best interest of this country and I don’t care what county it’s in. If he was the bulldog you make him out to be he’d take on the consultants who he continues to pay full salaries to while they earn thousands in private hospitals. He’s a bully but not a bulldog me thinks.

• Bull Dog O’Reilly?
      More like sad old knackered mongrel O’Reilly

• Kevin, Roscommon was not safe as a hospital. In order for me to be a safe practitioner I need to be doing so many of each procedure I’m allowed do per day or week or year. The simple problem with Roscommon was that those procedures were not achieved and so the staff were not safe practicing procedures that they should be able to do quite literally with their eyes closed. If I only see sprained ankles and minor coughs, I only know how to deal with sprained ankles and minor coughs, therefore I’ve down skilled. That’s not good for the staff and its certainly not good enough for the patient.
      In Ireland there is a vast overstocking of inappropriate services. Roscommon doesn’t need an A&E unit, it needs an efficient AMAU and MIU. That’s all the majority of hospitals in Ireland need. A&E’s should be reserved for national referral centres, where the majority of services can be accessed in the one place, where 24hr access to emergency theatres, emergency diagnostics, 24hr anaesthetics, radiology, labs, the whole 9 yards.
      A very good rule of thumb is if your local A&E closes at 5pm, you don’t need it. It’s inappropriate. You need an AMAU and an MIU.

• @ James

So Kilkenny & Wexford are safer than Roscommon because of what exactly? FUNDING

Do you approve of Wexford moving ahead of Waterford hospital. If so on what basis?

• Cowboys Ted a bunch of cowboys !

• Kevin, funding has utterly nothing to do with how safe an A&E unit is. If the patients are not using it (as figures suggest) it’s not safe, simple as.
      As regards Wexford and Kilkenny, I don’t know how busy they are. What I do know is that there are tertiary referral centres in this country that are in far worse condition than any of Wexford, Kilkenny and Roscommon, and they should be an absolute priority over any backward politic stroking.
      No offence intended to the people of Wexford, Kilkenny and Roscommon, but your access units that close at 6pm are palaces in comparison to the A&E in my hospital, and my hospital can’t close, because not alone does it serve half of Dublin, it serves half the country in many disciplines.

• Are you his love child? Or just simply ridiculous

• James you are not a practitioner, you’re a nurse. Why is your picture depicting you as a surgeon. Go back to college if you want to be a doctor. We had this conversation yesterday. Stop spoofing.

• Simon, Theatre Nurses have to wear scrubs and masks, just like anyone else who’s in theatre. Nurses aren’t just bum-wipers and bed-changers.

• bombacho 29/01/13 #

I completely disagree with you James Connolly. The present problem we are experiencing in ED is the cutbacks. They closed some acute hospital beds. They reduced the medical staff. They closed some emergency services to other hospitals. Now your idea of putting AMU is nonsense. There is no difference from a normal wards that they closed and putting AMU. Forget those minor injuries you mentioned that would down skill you. If someone has a life threatening problem, lives 100 km away from ED, ambulance base is between this distance. You’ll be driving like speedy gonzales. This person will be in rigor mortis when he arrives in ED.

• Simon,
      I perceive your view of the nursing profession as rather offensive.
      Nursing as you see it, is holding hands and cleaning patients and getting puked on and vomited on and just being a general Florence Nightingale, would I be correct?
      I am actually a doctor: I’m a Doctor of Advanced Nursing Practice in Anesthesia which means I rarely carry out the traditional nursing duties (or rather traditional as you see).
      The picture you see is of me, I am wearing a pair of goggles, a mask, gloves, scrubs, the same as anyone else who goes into the OR, it is a sterile environment, that doesn’t exclude me from getting dressed in the appropriate paraphernalia.
      You should have a conversation with a nurse sometime. It wouldn’t do your outlook on life a bit of harm.
      Regards.

• Bombacho,
      The problem that you describe (the downward spiral) was not due to cutbacks, it was due to the fact that healthcare has advanced to the stage where it is no longer sufficient for a practitioner to be “alright” at what they do, they have to be experts. In order to be an expert at what you do, you have to be actively dealing with a vast array of conditions that do not present in a local hospital, and if they do, could never be dealt with sufficiently in a local hospital so are referred to a national referral centre.
      With regards fast access to care, yes are entitled to such a thing, I would add a word in there and I would say you are entitled to fast access to appropriate care. There is no point in getting to a hospital quickly only to find that you hang around for a day (deteriorating) before referral to the appropriate service in a major hospital. Pre-hospital care (ambulatory care) has improved to the extent that ambulances are essentially ICU’s on wheels and advanced paramedics can do more for you on the side of the road (literally) than the best consultant will ever be able to do in an inappropriate care setting.
      If you are going to die on the way to a major referral centre you are most definitely going to die in the local hospital that cannot deal with you appropriately.
      As regards the AMAU/MIU, local hospitals are brilliant at dealing with these, they are more efficient at dealing with minor injuries and acute issues than a major hospital will ever be.

• Bombacho,
      Indeed I am still a nurse, correct. I did not suggest I wasn’t, I said I am a doctor – in ANPA. To be a doctor in such a thing you need to be a nurse.
      As regards an AMAU – the purpose of such a unit is to work-up, diagnose, treat and discharge the patient in one day – I’m not sure what hospital you go to but the majority of patients on a ward are not discharged in one day (the national average is 2 weeks per inpatient stay). AMAU is a world different from a hospital ward.
      The rest of your comment is general piffle, which I am not going to dignify with a response, as you clearly do not know what it is any nurse of any level does, never mind what it is that I do.
      Good luck.

• You most definitely did suggest that you were more than a nurse by sayi g you were a doctor James. I couldn’t stop you from defending yourself yesterday as to how amazing you were but now that someone else with more granular knowledge of your nurse role has more probing observations you clam up. Sounds like he must have nailed your ‘Doctor’ qualification meaning.

• Kevin
      The problem with Roscommon wasn’t Funding. Due to its size age and small catchment area no young doctors in training wanted anything to do with it and the few Consultants there were approaching retirement without proper cover. The game was up when there were questions as to whether the Medical Defense Fund would cover a doctor in the event of a negligence due to inadequate staffing.
      You might recall Hospitals such as Ennis having only one Anaesthetist. What would happen if he was sick or away on holidays?
      The reality is we want a full service Hospital at every street corner and we demand that our politicians give them to us!

Add New Comment