TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Taoiseach expected to apologise to Magdalene survivors

The government is also expected to make specific announcements on a compensation package for the women.

The site of the former Magdalene Laundry on Sean MacDermott Street in Dublin.
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY is expected to make a formal State apology to survivors of Magdalene laundries today during the Dáil debate on the McAleese report.

The Dáil will begin discussing the contents of the report at about 6pm this evening with the apology expected at the beginning of the debate.

Some 20 members if the Magdalene Survivors Together group will attend the debate to hear Enda Kenny’s apology.

Steven O’ Riordan, head of Magdalene Survivors Together, said they are “extremely confident that the Taoiseach will in some way extend the apology to include St Mary’s Training School, Stanhope Street, Dublin and St Mary’s Training Centre, Summerhill, Wexford.”

The Taoiseach was criticised for his intial response to the report with survivors saying they were disappointed he didn’t make an apology as soon as the contents of it became clear. However after meeting with Kenny last week, the women said they thought he was right to wait until he had read it in full and would now be satisfied with a formal apology during the debate.

As well as the State apology, it is expected that the government will make specific announcements on a package of measures to address the report. Magdalene survivors have called for a “fair and transparent” compensation package that includes pensions, healthcare, counselling, housing service and advice.

Related: Call for “fair and transparent” Magdalene compensation package>

Read: Shatter drops strong hint that Taoiseach will apologise to Magdalenes>

Read: FF table Dáil motion to call for formal Magdalene apology>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (25 Comments)

• Smiley 19/02/13 #

It’s nice that he will apologise, but like all Irish apologies, it is merely words. The real perpetrators remain stonily silent. Oh yes. I forgot. They are the Church who never have to account for THEIR sins.

• Smiley
      The real perpetrators include your parent and grand parents since many of the survivors were put into the Laundries by Mums and Dads and in any case we are all responsible since everybody knew and accepted this incarceration of women down through the years. I’m in my sixties and heard my parents talk openly about these places so lets not scapegoat the nuns.

• Smiley 19/02/13 #

Richard. It was the nuns who inflicted the abuse, not the parents et al who sent their daughters there. The nuns deserve to be scapegoated as does the organisation that supported them, that is the church and the Vatican.

• smiley rogers is a goverment stooge.

• Julie 19/02/13 #

Rogers no ones gran-parents are to blame your not even to blame, the church was a very powerful establishment, yes your generation made mistakes, giving too much power to establishments. The church used scare tactics and church and state were all the one back then. Mag laundries, church and state to blame. The state were involved in sending 25% of these women in to these places, but they were responsible for the overseeing of these laundries and sending the guards out to search and return any of these slaves that escaped. They were in a prison. They had the power to stop them but they didn’t. The ordinary citizen of Ireland were so in awe of the church, they were scared to say anything against the church, it was a totally different society to live in and if you are in your 60s you should no that. Enda Kenny in government since 1975 when these laundries were running at full capacity I’m sure. Has the cheek not to apologise because he might have to pay a lot of money, no matter what the consequences these women deserved an immediate apology not bing forced into telling their horrific story again. Anyone with morals would have apologised, even if an apology did mean compensation don’t they deserve every penny and more. Higgins the poet deserves a quarter of a million a year. Enda €200,000 = close to the president of USA maybe more, these people have some arrogance and sense of entitlement.

• Aldo 19/02/13 #

Well it’s about bloody time!

• Watch all our politicians get po faced and sad and agree to pay out 100 million of tax payers money to the next gravy train
    I have no problem with Victims been compensated fairly . However I have a massive problem with the legal firms and CEOs of these victims support groups lining there pockets

Victims will actually see about 5 million of this
    The other 95 million will get carved up the vultures that feed on them and you can include in this concerned nephews, nieces and children wheeling the into tribunals

• Have to agree with you there, survivors of the industrial schools redress scheme where given 12.4 million to be given out in training and education as part of the overall compensation package.

The person who oversee’s the use and distribution of this fund has pulled in over 70k a year for the past 11+ years, all of which was taken out of the 12.4 million, that’s close to 800,000 euro.

hopefully what these women get in redress will remain theirs.

• They have now closed this eductional fund and the new one has not been set up and nobody knows when this will be. If the allocated money in the new fund is not spent in a certain timeframe it will then be taken to. Build the new children’s hospital. Robbing the survivors twice. This government is beneath contempt

• We expected him to apologise two weeks ago when he read the report . It is too late now , I would tell him to shove his apology. The thing is I am sure that these ladies already know that they have right , justice and morality on their side and the people feel their sorrow too. I am amazed at two things. 1) that kenny did not apologise . 2) THAT deal came about the next night by sheer coincidence Code Red was leaked.
      Now the cynic in me might link the two so they that through media attention each would some what cancel the other out . I don’t think so .
      These ladies are due their rights. Rights to wages owed , to pension rights .

• Whether events to date were based on misguided political advice or on his incompetence, the perception is that he has been dragged kicking and screaming to apologise. This Government once again prove that they are too busy worrying about money and avoiding accountability than the people of Ireland.

• I’m going to presume the ‘red thumbs’ for my comment come from individuals more interested in the perception of their party rather than the experiences of the people that party is suppose to represent.

• In my case your going to presume incorrectly.
      The Taoiseach commissioned Senator McAleese to prepare and write the Report. It contains a huge amount do data and over one thousand pages of material and people like Mary Lou ( typically) openly demanded that Kenny comment on it and apologise even before he had read it.
      Quite correctly the Survivors now admit that the Taoiseach was sensible not to prejudge the contents before he apologized as it would have been meaningless. He next met with those Survivors in both Dublin and London in the company of his Minister for Justice Mr Shatter and gave considerable time to hearing their stories first hand in order that any apology he ultimately made would be meaningful and sincere.
      You simply brush all of these facts aside as if they never happened or are irrelevant and smear the man dishonestly and unruly. Why would you do that under a 1916 flag as if you had spent the entirety of the Rising in the GPO …l think it smacks of children playing mummies and daddies and Sinn Fein pretending they’re old soldiers and heroes !

• When the report was released the dogs in the street knew that the State owed these women an apology. I’m not interested in the choreographed dance he did afterwards to try regain some political credibility. Ask yourself how can the Government have read and prepared statements on every other report that is made, even on reports and emergency ‘overnight’ legislation, and not on this one? And then consider our neighbours who, for example, were able to offer an apology the day the Bloody Sunday report was released. If as you say, the Government weren’t prepared to apologise, then why weren’t they prepared? They could have read the report beforehand, met with the woman at any time beforehand. He could have done something instead of this blundering along and prolonging the negative experiences of these women; and of our State whereby the majority of the people want to say sorry.

As for your distracting and desperate comment about my avatar, well it doesn’t merit response except to say that I have no connection or affiliation with ANY of our current politicians.

• I agree with Richard. How about Mary Lou demanding that Gerry Adams apologizes for his time spent with the IRA?

• @Declan How about we don’t distract from this story and not try to take it on an unrelated tangent? These women, and this issue, deserves more respect than that.

• 1916, I agree. I’ve said it before. Read the report. Let’s hear from the survivors. An apology and compensation is needed. Everyone else shut up. I’m sick of reading about the mock outrage from people who were not affected by the magdalene laundries.
      So I repeat- lets only hear from the victims!

• By that logic people can’t follow a premiership team because they’ve never played professionally, or like music because they’ve never played in a famous band…or criticise politicians because they’ve never been elected. People on here are not saying they experienced the laundries or even understand what it was like, my point was related to our Government’s terrible response to the woman’s experiences. We can of course hold or political representatives to account when they do not represent the will of the people. On this issue the majority of people wanted our Government to apologise. Now Enda Kenny has managed to embroil himself in part of the story instead of representing what ordinary people wanted.
      I feel I’ve made my point, and I do not want to become part of a discussion that detracts from what should have been done when the report came out, so I won’t be making any more comments on this thread.

• Blue shirt brigade out in force this morning with the thumbs down shame on you.

• JakkiB 19/02/13 #

We all know this is not sincere, Its all about ????? to this Government, If they were sincere those involved would be held accountable but not in Ireland

• Taking his sweet fuc**** time. It is not on and personally if it is taking this long it isnt sincere.

• A mealy mouthed apology weeks if not years too late is feck all use .

• He better! Remember you represent the people of this country-and we want you to apologise NOW! No BSing about and just do the right thing

• The Irish Psychiatric Profession should also apologise to Magdalene victims.

The Psychiatric profession colluded with the Catholic Church in incarcerating thousands of innocent Irish Women and Men for ” unacceptable, deviant behaviour” – ie. being a Single Mother or being a Homosexual in the Fifties and Sixties. Many lives were ruined by these guys ordering Lobotomies, Freezing Insulin Baths and Electric Shock Treatments on many healthy people.

When will the media scrutinise the numerous abuses by Consultant Psychiatrists ? We know of several cases involving these so called pillars of the Community locking innocent people up in return for large cash payments . They remain above the Law and when they get a diagnosis wrong, the unfortunate patient has no opportunity for redress. They intimidate and bully. Have any of these arrogant elitists ever apologised for the sins committed in the name of their professional research ?

We now know, thanks to great work, by the late Mary Rafferty that these abuses were/are still happening recently in Waterford and other Institutions. Doctor Dennis Lane O’ Kelly has been named in the excellent RTE documentary, ‘Behind the Walls’. Yet those who knew about this and other abuses are still employed by the HSE. Do these experts on all aspects of human nature really expect us to believe that they knew nothing about the sexual abuse of vulnerable people being instigated by one of their colleagues, Dr. Lane O’ Kelly ?

Add New Comment