TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Dáil hears heartfelt apologies to Magdalene Laundry survivors

Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore told the women that “today is not the end” for them, and that “Ireland… was wrong, not you”.

Image: Oireachtas.ie

IT HAS BEEN an evening Magdalene Laundry survivors have waited for for decades: the moment they would receive a formal apology from the State for their incarceration and treatment in religious-run institutions.

In the Dáil this evening, the Taoiseach Enda Kenny apologised wholeheartedly to these women, two weeks after the publication of the McAleese report into the State’s involvement in these laundries.

The apology came after he was roundly criticised for not giving a formal apology the day the publication was released; it came just days after he met with Magdalene survivors to speak to them about their experiences.

Tánaiste

In an emotional speech, Kenny apologised to all Magdalene women for what they had suffered.

He was joined by the Tánaiste, Eamon Gilmore, who offered a heartfelt apology:

I want to say to those women, some of whom are with us today, that we have heard you, we believe you, and we are profoundly sorry for what was done to you.
That what happened to you, as children or as adults, should not have happened. It was Ireland that was wrong, not you.

Gilmore said that there was a fluid culture of collusion between Church and State:

But there is nothing so blind as the blindness imposed by a dominant ideology, and a subservient State. A blindness that can subvert what our human intuition knows to be right and wrong.

He paid tribute to his colleague and Minster of State, Kathleen Lynch, for her “commitment to justice for the women of the Magdalene laundries”.

As a State, and as a people, we can never make sufficient restoration to the women of the Magdalene laundries for what they have experienced. We can never give them back their past; their youth; their opportunities; for some, the children they gave up.
But we can tell them that we believe them. We acknowledge that what happened to them was wrong. That the stigma they have been branded with was false. And that we are sorry.
There is a role, too, for the religious orders which ran the laundries, to make a fair contribution, along with the taxpayer.

Deserved earlier intervention

Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin also welcomed the apology.

There should have been earlier consideration given to this issue and there is no doubt that the women of the Magdalene laundries deserved earlier intervention. I am sorry that that did not happen. I also accept that steps should have been taken earlier to make this apology.

Regarding Martin McAleese’s inter-departmental report, Martin described it as “nowhere near a comprehensive report”, saying it was given a “narrow terms of reference”.

I believe that the state should now commission and sponsor significant extra work to ensure that every survivor is offered the chance to give their testimony and that this is studied and made publicly available.

While welcoming the news of the fund and memorial, he said the government should provide counselling to those women who want to avail of same, and should set up a Special Unit in the Department of Justice to coordinate the State’s response.

Martin also said that the four religious orders that were running the laundries should be asked to give unequivocal apologies and if possible should contribute to the redress of the women.

Magdalene victims were “slaves”

Sinn Féin lead Gerry Adams welcomed the “fulsome and comprehensive apology” , along with the Technical group, who are currently speaking to the Dáil. Deputy Maureen O’Sullivan said that the two weeks delay between the publication of the report and the formal apology could have been avoided.

In the manner of their incarceration and in their treatment in the Magdalene Laundries– these women were slaves – these girls were slaves – slaves of a brutal and inhuman regime which Irish governments turned a blind eye to.

Indeed, successive governments endorsed and used these institutions.

Adams thanked Martin McAleese and his team for the report, but said that the government’s “strictly limited terms of reference” meant that some of the Magdalene Laundries and the stories of some of the women were not included – such as previously unknown of Laundries in the north or the conditions in Bethany Home.

“I know some of the survivors feel that the 1,000 page report by Senator Martin McAleese does not accurately reflect the abuse and the suffering that all of the women endured in these institutions. For example, the Report states that only a minority experienced physical abuse and none suffered sexual abuse – many will take issue with this statement,” he said.

Adams concluded by saying that the Magdalene women were “an inspiration” to the Dáil and the people of Ireland, who all owed them “a debt of gratitude for their endeavours on behalf of each other and of all those who were victims of abuse”.

Read: Kenny “deeply regrets and apologises unreservedly” to Magdalene women in emotional speech>

Read next:

Comments (39 Comments)

• It’s astonishing to me that no one has mentioned The Forgotten Maggies, a 2009 documentary about the plight of these unfortunate women, which was made by a brave filmmaker called Steven O’ Riordan, who painstakingly researched the facts behind these barbaric institutions. It drew an audience of 360,000 viewers, and lead directly to the formation of the Magdelene Survivors Together group. This young man is worth a thousand emoting politicians.

• The Irish Psychiatric Profession should also apologise to Magdalene victims.

The Psychiatric profession colluded with the Catholic Church in incarcerating thousands of innocent Irish Women and Men for ” unacceptable, deviant behaviour” – ie. being a Single Mother or being a Homosexual in the Fifties and Sixties. Many lives were ruined by these guys ordering Lobotomies, Freezing Insulin Baths and Electric Shock Treatments on many healthy people.

When will the media scrutinise the numerous abuses by Consultant Psychiatrists ? We know of several cases involving these so called pillars of the Community locking innocent people up in return for large cash payments . They remain above the Law and when they get a diagnosis wrong, the unfortunate patient has no opportunity for redress. They intimidate and bully. Have any of these arrogant elitists ever apologised for the sins committed in the name of their professional research ?

• This is one day that crosses the political divide, whether you like Enda Kenny or not he did the right thing as Taoiseach and apologised on behalf of all of us for the state’s role in condemning the Magdalene women to lives of utter torture.

It is now up to the religious orders to show their hand and cough up for the redress scheme.

• You agreed that they did not deserve to be considered wronged by the state Micheal Martin. Cabinet Collective Responsibility exists in law in this state.

While your act of having done nothing, or agreed with nothing while you were one of Bertie’s right hand Minister’s seems to be working. Isn’t it correct now to admit that you and FF were wrong in 2009 when the cabinet agreed that these women did not deserve redress.

That the manner in which you treated them, engaged with them as Minister for Health was shameful and the survivors will never forget you and your colleagues for that.

While there certainly is a % in it now for FF to pretend that it did not treat these women as “fallen and unfit” and that it had no idea what went on, it is better if you man up for once and accept responsibility.

Let these women have their deserved day and stop trying to use them for poll purposes.

• Although I feel cynical, I will say that the State apology was sincere and heartfelt compared to the mealy mouthed responses of the four religious orders.

Roman Catholicism seems to have a problem with compassion, charity, humanity, dignity and respect for others.

Dehumanising treatment in which the victims were treated as nothing, as beneath contempt.

How many of the victims denied without recognition, memory or any warmth in their lives? Only a small number have lived to hear the apology and acknowledgement.

• Martin is such an unbelievable hypocrite he wasted 14 years in government and did nothing for these women. I’m proud of Mr Kenny tonight, Mr Martin crawl away.

• From the FF perspective he did not even waste 14 years, never mind one second. These “fallen women” did not live in mansions, they did not attend the Galway Race tents, they were of no monetary benefit to the party or its members.

Mostly reared on small farms or inner cities where a parent had died or couldn’t make ends meet. They were the worst of the worst in the eyes of FF – a voting body small in number and poor in pocket.

On the other hand FF limited the amount that the Church, the rich Church had to pay to the countless thousands of abuse victims and refused to countenance that these women should be included in that scheme and Micheal Martin was a Minister for all that. They could still be there last month for all FF care.

• I feel the same way. He makes me sick and to make matters worse his party are on the mend!

• Looking at the speech again. I wouldn’t have been able to deliver it. My emotions would have got the better of me.

• Wonder how much the Catholic Church will be paying out as part of the redress scheme? As a taxpayer I have no problem with the State paying these victims whatsoever and would rather see them get the billions than paying for the mistakes of Anglo el al, but the Church also needs to dig into their deep pockets. They are the ones who defined these women as sinners. Despicable.

• A nice apology but one that such have been issued years ago . And all the religious orders involved should suit and issue an apology along the same lines and these religious orders should be forced to give compensation to these women but I won’t be holding my breath on that one ….

• Apology or not. Ireland’s still an awful kip, run by the Roman Catholic Mafia. Enda’s still a sap, and that FF clown Martin should be locked up with every other member of the last government.

• Gradual steps:
      Paedophile priests exposed and charged.
      Vatican embassy closed.
      Joe the Rat resigns.
      Apology to Magdalene laundry women.
      Keep it up and we’ll purge this priest ridden country at last.

• Congrats to Enda for the State finally taking responsibility for the Magdalene sufferers.
    Now we need a real memorial to our country’s shame. The Sean McDermott St laundry should be turned into a visitor centre, an audio & video record from the women done as a project for our future remembering of our past. It’s only when we take responsibility of our past that we can move forward.

• Actually, that’s not all that matters. The past did not begin a week ago – some of us have longer memories.

• Sinead O’Conner says it was downright Dickensian, just awful.

• In fairness, we are far too judgmental of Irish politicians.

On the one side, you have the generous and warm property developers willing to entertain you, fund you, take care of you, entertain you and your family and friends at wonderful sports and hospitality events, who talk you up, pay the election expenses, invite you to society weddings and treat you like the second coming.

On the other hand, you have poor, under privileged and unconnected women who can’t afford to look after you and don’t have the right social connections.

Look after those who will look after you. That’s Ireland.

• He didn’t apologise,he s the biggest criminal in the history of the state,he then apologises after meeting with the victims and he only did it for himself. The amount of crap you hear from some people in this country beggars belief..This has NOTHING to do with the recession or Promissory notes or even NAMA…it’s to do with young girls whose childhoods were taken away
    and ruined,never knowing if they would ever see the outside world again. It’s to do with the survivors and their families seeking acknowledgment that they did nothing wrong by being put in those hell holes and its to do with them wanting an apology from the government. The government gave an apology and its still wrong. But who is wrong is the religious orders who probably will stay silent now as usual and FF for not surprisingly looking to score points in the most horrible and pathetic way

• For the children who these women WHO WERE FORCED TO GIVE UP..
    Too little, too late for a lot of these poor women, I’m glad the women who survived received their apology all the same..

• Did Kenny do anything when in opposition to help these women ?

• Has this anything got to do with FG taking a dip in the poles and going behind FF by a couple of points. I hope not. Fair play Enda if this is for the right reasons.

• This is why I find it hard to follow these reports anymore, first of all will people stop bringing political parties, bankers, previous governments or anything that has to do with the current climate we are in. This is about women who suffered to the extreme under the hand of the church and state, someone makes a statement and everyone jumps on the bandwagon just to get a couple of thumbs up from trolls that throw in a couple of big words and think they are important

• Official Ireland is still wrong, and it still wrongs some citizens by not according people who were adopted, fostered, and ‘boarded out’ the automatic right to their own birth certificates which right is enjoyed only by people who were born to married parents.nnnn

• Good news I just got on an acting course …it’s on in Kildare St. ….. apparently after 2 weeks I will be able to cry in front of the cameras ! ………….. something to do with not blinking …like a rabbit in the headlights!

• true enda did something in government he threw in his bertie moment the false tears

• Enda Pistorius…wins the crying Oscar.

Add New Comment