TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

European Parliament president calls for deal on Irish debt before 2013

Martin Schulz told the Dáil the public must have trust in European leaders – who therefore have to act on their promises.

Martin Schulz:
Martin Schulz: "The Irish programme should be adjusted before the end of the year along the lines of the June European Council conclusions."

THE PRESIDENT of the European Parliament has said EU leaders should follow up on a promise to break the link between Irish sovereign and banking debt – saying any attempt to stall the deal could prove disastrous for the EU as a whole.

Addressing the Dáil this morning, Martin Schulz called on European heads of state and government to follow up on June’s pledges – to break the vicious circle between banking and sovereign debt – before Ireland takes the presidency of the European Council in 2013.

Schulz said his personal conviction was that while individual countries had to live up to their responsibilities to others, this was “one side of the coin”.

“The other side of the coin is solidarity – if one family member gets into troubled waters, the others are called upon to offer a helping hand,” he told TDs.

“The Irish programme should be adjusted before the end of the year along the lines of the June European Council conclusions,” Schulz said to great applause.

The German added that the biggest problem facing the European project as a whole was its lack of trust.

How can we begin to regain the confidence of our citizens if the highest European body, the Council of heads of state and government, is not reliable?

We will never regain the trust of our citizens if we do not honour our promises.

Ireland had “took the burden on your shoulders to avoid the crash of the system of all the other countries,” he said – arguing solidarity had been shown by other European countries in lending to Ireland to get over its financial burden.

The unemployment seen by Ireland was an example that the “recipe isn’t fully working”, he said.

“The first lesson from the crisis is that we need a robust supervisory system to ensure that can never happen again,” Schulz argued. He said the European Parliament had first proposed a scheme for pan-European financial regulation two years ago, and it would continue to do so.

Schulz also said it was vital that the next EU budget – which is currently under negotiation, and due to be finalised at a summit next month – not be cut, as Ireland was a clear example of how EU funds could be channelled to individual countries for their own good.

Ireland had benefited from a total of €30 billion in European funding since it joined the union 40 years ago, Schulz said, heralding Ireland as a clear example of how the European project had been to the benefit of individual countries.

This would be threatened if the EU budget was cut, Schulz said, telling Enda Kenny: “You can count on me – but be sure, Taoiseach, I count on you as well.”

Read: The European Parliament has a new president… but who is he?

Read next:

Comments (55 Comments)

• If they do not honour this so called agreement that we have not seen in writing, I expect the Irish government to finally say enough is enough & stop handing over a bill here and a bill there to these unsecured bondholders.

In the middle of adversity lies opportunity. Time to step up and ignore the threats, we played the game, and it aint workin

• Time to get out of the euro, reform our banks and sack politians and start from scratch..

• I can’t ever see this government having the backbone to say no, no further. They have shown no courage to date,

• Which agreement are you talking about? The one the Irish government float from time to time that doesn’t have any EU-level documentation, or the possible agreement that has been consistently and reliably documented at the EU-level. Personally, I’d take this as a plea from the European big-wigs for the Irish and Greek governments to stop playing “silly beggars” and misrepresenting European decisions in order to make themselves the good guys, and the “evil foreigners” the villains. The only real chance of a bank-debt deal is to present a plan that leaves all EZ countries at a minimum of loss. Saying “we don’t want to pay, someone else should cover it” won’t cut it. Neither will “it’s not our debt”. No-one cares whose debt it should be, but, realistically, no country is going to put up their hand and say “sure, we’ll take it off your hands”. All that’s being said here is that we all need to get on the same page and stop playing Chinese whispers behind each others’ backs.

• The European Parliament said “not another red cent?”. I must have missed that meeting. :-)

• Ireland has received €30 billion in external European funding a fair wedge of cash until it is set against the bank debt………

• Or the estimated 50 Billion surrendering our fisheries areas has cost over the same period, not to mention the costs involved with complying with EU rules and regulation.

• The kop 04/10/12 #

€30billion from the EU….. how much are we paying them back in criminal interest rates…etc for the governments bailout… €85billion approx!… as the saying goes…no such thing as a free lunch!

• Kerry
      The bank debt was incurred by mostly Irish borrowers defaulting…………and then the gang on these pages never stop telling the State to default again because it’s not our debt.
      The reality is that our lack of regulation allowed our banks and our system to crash and there is nobody willing to clean up our mess. If you walk away from it you will never be forgiven by the markets as you won’t be considered trustworthy. This also happens at a personal level. Try defaulting on a credit card loan and then ten years later try getting a mortgage!

• Paddy, as you say yourself the debt is private and should not have been converted into sovereign debt on the instructions of the ECB. This needs to be reversed and then the issue of the sovereign defaulting is removed. Though I’ve yet to come across a country that has defaulted in the past being refused money after that fact.

• I know its not our Debt but we need to get this sorted. What kind of a deal would make a difference to us. I get the feeling that no matter what deal it won’t change domestic policy here of hitting the poor and low paid and middle earners and allowing the wealthy to get away with murder in taxes.

• Pure coddle, they don’t give a flying f^*ck about Ireland. And even if he does, the power is in Merkel and
    Hollande hands.
    Ireland has been used as cannon fodder for the EU project, which in fairness he did elude too. However, he is right in saying there is a lack if confidence in the EU. But i’d go a lot further than that!!! there is a lack of morals, credibility and social justice in the EU leadership. I certainly don’t trust it. And I would imagine not many people do.

• We need a deal before the budget otherwise it’s P45s all round lads and ladettes.

• Back in the game!!

• His key line, in my opinion, he does not have a direct say…..more usless waffle

• “you can count on me – but be sure, Taoiseach, I count on you as well”
    Ohhh shit…..

• The most important thing for people to get their heads around is that it’s not “us” against “them”. The ECB, the EU, the IMF, Germany, these are all different entities, and are not some single, always-in-agreement monolith. If we see as a game of only two players, Ireland and “everyone else”, we will only ever remain in the position as underdog. At that will be our fault, not anyone else’s.

• You’re right that is will be our fault.
      Time we started to push the agenda a little.

• But Nicholas why call it the TROIKA from day 1. Surely that was branding them all the same. I know they are different but it is us and them if you consider that THEY are calling the shots and WE (us) are paying for it.

• sorry for spelling your name wrong.

• @ Cheistopher – but the Troika is not Germany, or the EU, or any other institution that could mention. The troika are just the implementation of the bail-out agreement. They’re the guards, not the legislators. If you view the Troika as the all-encompassing Evil Empire, then you’ve already lost. Life isn’t Star Wars. There’s no Death Star to blow up and so remove all the problems of the universe.

• @ Christopher – But why are “they” calling the shots and “we” are meekly steeping in line? Is it because “they” are nasty tyrants set on wiping the Irish of the face of the earth ( unlikely, there’s no benefit for anyone in that ), or is it because “we” gone to the table with nothing constructive or active? If “we’re” in the role of forelock-tugger, did “they” put us there, or did we put ourselves in that position despite it being unhelpful to all concerned. It’s all a bit like Ali G saying “is it cos I is black?” And everyone else being bemused and not sure how to point out the obvious. If we want a deal, we need to put together a package that is attractive to the other EZ countries. A prosperous Ireland would be a good thing not just for us, but for the EU. We need to present that with a means of getting there that will cause as little financial strain on the other countries as possible. If we don’t present a viable plan, we won’t get it. If we wait hand out for crumbs, all we’ll get is crumbs. If we don’t present ourselves as a reliable and progressively thinking country, an equal member state, we shouldn’t expect to be treated as one.

• Nikolas,
      I had written a nice piece complimenting your work.
      Alas the Journo-police got to it first.

I presume its because we can offend everyone on the Journal except each other !

• @ Jim – thank you. As for deleted comments, I don’t know much about that, I’m sure the editors have their reasons, but I’ve no idea what they are. They’re certainly not against, ahem, “heated” debate on the site…

• Z? 04/10/12 #

Of course they’re the enemy! Them and those blood-drinking’ lizards! Don’t ye know nothin’?

• Mick B 04/10/12 #

As usual, all talk, no action…

• Shultz for Taoiseach

• Dec Rowe 04/10/12 #

Ever feel like your being buttered up?

• Dave 04/10/12 #

When are we going to see Enda doing a bit of this Stand Up Comedy in Europe???

• Good to hear. sure this wont get much commentry…Not a bad story you see…no traction in it..

• Always have a chuckle when somebody comments to remark on how hardly anyone will comment on a story.

• Declan,
      You don’t realise how things work on planet Journal.ie
      German Politician says there should be no money for Ireland = comments of outrage & I told you so
      German Politician says there should be money for Ireland = comments of cynicsm & doubt

Just the way it is here.

• censored 04/10/12 #

Talk is cheap. We are still waiting on them to live up to promises already made, and that is the actually the substance of what Schulz admitted today.

• @ censored – what promises are you referring to? Did they make those promises or did people infer that they made such promises?

• Dec Rowe 04/10/12 #

Nikolas, Not another red cent he said! ;)

• censored 04/10/12 #

I’m talking about the June meeting, and also about the promises of solidarity which are at the core of all European treaties:

“The other side of the coin is solidarity – if one family member gets into troubled waters, the others are called upon to offer a helping hand,” he told TDs.

• Dec Rowe 04/10/12 #

I missed that meeting too! I was at another one :)

• @ Censored – Have a look again at the official announcement from the June 29th discussions. There was no promise made at the EU-level that Ireland’s banking debt would retroactively come under any decision made regard splitting a country’s banking and sovereign debts. There were no broken promises, as there was no promise made. What there was was unfounded and irresponsible speculation by the Irish government of the “Give ‘em some good news, doesn’t matter if it’s fake, and let ‘em eat cake” variety. When speaking of solidarity, it was this type of behaviour that was being spoken out against, as it causes dissent and bitterness between nation-states. bad for the EU, good for Ireland’s leaders, as it means they pass the mantle of villain to someone else. The truth is, the pronouncements at the Eu-Level, while not encouraging, have always been consistant. They tend to be good at that, unlike our lot.

• Some body just blinked. I do not know why. The situation in France is not really to the liking of the banking sector. The finance ministers have their instructions and they will not shift their position.Now we have some body dangling a bone in front of the Irish for no apparent reason.Spain requesting a bail out. Greece looking certain to default.Italy standing alone in the knowledge that return to the old currency would not be that big a deal in the long run.I will hazard a guess….establishing the preconditions for a second bailout.Three of the most powerful finance ministers ,within the last four weeks, Stated clearly that the meeting made it clear at the time ,That it was an Irish problem the banking/sovereign debt link.The agreement would not be retrospective.This was restated again and again within the last four weeks by the same three ministers. Give this current government breathing space. Do not risk a change of government that could jeopardise the current atmosphere of compliance within the Irish government (pay as we say) They will not take a chance on a new government partially defaulting..ie unsecured bonds.Then recap the losses via terms of second bailout. We will need a second bailout. Kenny and Noonan will return claiming a ‘victory…..We’ll see.

• Us this the REAL game changer.

• I must say that I think Mr Schulz’s speech was very genuine, however we must wait and see if it helps our case. It is a long time since I heard any politician in the EU speak of “solidarity” so I am going to see this as a positive gesture.

I just hope and pray, that we finally see sovereign and bank debt split, and taken off our balance sheet! I cant think of a worse criminal act against democracy in the world than a private banking institution being “bailed out” using public money, and FF signed up to this and FG and Labour are continuing what they swore to put right!

Remember the current situation will benefit no one (Germany & France included) in the long term, but sadly politics is a game played by looking in 4 year cycles so no one is willing to make tough decisions for fear of loosing their seat / job. Add to this the permanent government, who is infallible and free of scrutiny regardless of how inept or reckless they are. This permanent government are the civil servants in the various government departments who ,if they make a mistake, actually GET PROMOTED to Europe! Its sick!

How can we expect EU politicians to act responsibility if we cannot even rely on our own to act in our interest!

Rant over! :o)

• “is”

Add New Comment