Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 14 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Mary O’Rourke: Current Dáil TDs are ‘not very bright or intelligent’

Mary O'Rourke interviewed in her home
Image: Screengrab

FORMER FIANNA FÁIL TD Mary O’Rourke has criticised Taoiseach Enda Kenny for not being smart enough, and said that TDs in the current Dáil are “not very bright or intelligent”.

The former TD for Longford-Westmeath also said that it won’t be long until the electorate start to hate Fine Gael in the same way that people hated Fianna Fáil.

O’Rourke, 74,  who spoke to student journalist Jason Kennedy, says that people will start to hate Fine Gael in a big way. The former Fianna Fáil TD lost her seat in the general election of last year.

“They said they were going to do everything and now they are doing nothing. I don’t think much of them,” she said.

“What worries me about the present Dáil is that they are not very bright or intelligent. I think Michael Noonan is certainly a good man and I think he will do well for the economy, but after him I can’t think of anyone that I admire.”

Ms O’Rourke also praised Fianna Fáil Leader Micheal Martin, saying that he was much better in the role than former leaders Bertie Ahern and Brian Cowen.

“I think he suits the time we are in. He is a way better leader than either of them [Ahern and Cowen].

“Brian Cowen was very smart and very intelligent, there is no doubt about that, but he wouldn’t smile for anyone and that is what ruined us. He scowled all the time. Wheras Enda Kenny has nothing in the top storey, but he smiles all the time and because he smiles all the time, people think he is wonderful.”

Ms O’Rourke also claims that despite slowly-growing support for Fianna Fail that the party will never be as big as it was in previous years.

“We’ll never again be sixty, seventy or eighty seats. Not at all. Never. They will be a part of maybe three of four parties within a coalition.”

Despite no longer working in the Dáil, Ms O’Rourke has been kept busy with her first book, which will be published by Gill and Macmillan and will be released for the Christmas market later this year. She is also hoping to guest present ‘Tonight with Vincent Browne’ again this year.

Watch extracts of the interview with Mary O’Rourke:

Read more of TheJournal.ie‘s look back at one year since General Election 2011>

Read Next:

Comments (71 Comments)

• Nick McCartan 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I was wondering why Mary was giving us all these controversial sound bites then realised towards to end of the article that she has a book out ! Look forward to seeing you this Friday night alongside the beanpole presenter…

• Desmond Byrne 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

What an eejit!

• Alan Mulvey 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

was it not her family that fecked things up.

• Tensing Norgay 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Why do people never address the substance of the argument put forward i.e. do you agree with the contention that a lot of the TDs in the Dail are not that bright, especially , considering these are the peole chaged with getting us out of the our biggest challanges since the foundation of the state? . We all know the mess FF made of things and by god no one could accuse Mary Couglan and Noel Demsey of being towering intellects . But that is not what is being put forward?

• Kerry Blake 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I read her comment that the current Dail TD’s are “not very bright or intelligent” and just thought no change so.

• Mark Dennehy 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Not very bright *or* intelligent? Does she think then that you can be very bright without being intelligent?
      Might explain a lot about the last 20 years…

• Eoin O'Duffy 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Right so Brian Linehan did the right thing with the bank guarantee, did he? Is that what you are saying?

• 3christian3 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Mary,no insult intended, but your nephew the late Brian Lenihan who was considered a very intelligent man made probably the biggest mistakes any politician has ever made. He gave the banks a blanket guarantee, which has resulted in this country being brought to its knees.
    Secondly,he gave the people in the Cavan, Fermanagh, Leitrim area a false sense of security about the Quinn Group and led people to believe that he was going to accept the Quinn proposal which would have saved billions for the taxpayers and ensured the retention of 8000 jobs directly and tens of thousands indirectly dependent on the Quinn Group. Instead we are left with the very real prospect of the decimation of the border counties and the loss of monies that could have and would have been repaid.

See http://quinn-anglo-story.blogspot.com/

• Report this comment

Kettle, Pot calling here.

• old fecker 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

not another Quinn sympathy story and conspiracy. ff and Quinn screwed us

• 3christian3 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

You may believe that propaganda that Anglo is billing you and me for,,but can you explain why if as you believe Quinn screwed us, did he submit a business plan offering to repay all the money and retain all jobs and created 1800 additional jobs.
      Its not a Quinn sympathy story-IT’S FACT.

• Gill Jones 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Bye bye Quinn……….Hello Ireland.

• CMD 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Mary doesn’t mince her words, book or no book. You couldn’t argue with anything she said except about about Noonan. I think he’s an arrogant bluffer with very little substance. She is right about Kenny – light on but no one at home! But they will stay in power for the duration because of their strength of numbers. Wait for budgets 2014 and 2015! rabbits out of hats all around.

• Colm Connolly 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Couldn’t argue with her? Your obviously not that smart. Cowan clearly a bright man. I don’t know why people like you try to follow current affairs. Clearly above your iq

• Niall Dargan 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

You for real? How about the Cowen not smiling ruined us comment? Last time I checked FF’s disastrous handling of our economy ruined us. Some people!

• Seb Lotus 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Agree with you CMD – this government has control of a willing media (RTE, PR consultants etc) for now. The amount of propagandist drivel they transmit is embarrassing. It’s only a game to them whereas it’s quite real for us.

• Emer Caffrey 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

She’s a straight talking no nonsense woman, pity she didn’t run for president. A breath of fresh air to hear her speak

• Eugene O' Neill 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

“Brian Cowen was very smart and very intelligent, there is no doubt about that, but he wouldn’t smile for anyone and that is what ruined us”,
    That about say’s it to me Mary,so Cowan’s lack of smile’s ruined the economy.
    As usual when any politician leave’s the Dail or ends up in the opposition seat they grow a back-bone and complain about cronyism and expenses’s then do the same thing when in power.
    A new constitution for our country is needed to stop Cronyism,10 year 100 million euro tribunals with no arrests,Huge expense’s and pensions for ex politicians that are under 65,Boom bust cycle economics and people that have experience,qualifications in the field required in a minster or junior minster job.
    Maybe I don’t have a clue or a bit naive but for god’s shake our country has been economic nightmare for nearly 70 years of our 90 year independence.

• jimbo 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Mammy no politician is and that includes you.

• Dave Connolly 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I think Mary is mixing up being inteligent with being “cute”.

• Tigerisinthezoo 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Dave Im laughing.
      Farmers years ago would say never give the farn to the smartest boy but the hardest working boy. The smartest boy would sell the land.

• Dec Rowe 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

D

• Report this comment

Dear Mary O’Rourke – you should know… it takes one to know one!

• Ru Ni Digs 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Mary O’Rourke,should just go and crawl back under the rock in which came from.Let’s not forget the times she went on TV and said how great Fine Fail government was.Another traitor pretending to be a patriot.

• Rodger O Waters 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Did she not oversee the eircon rip off?

• Report this comment

I always loved the description of her nephew Conor Lenihan:

“That boy is not the sharpest sandwich in the dictionary”.

Poor Mary. Complete attention junkie. Nobody cares, dear. Now please go and spend your several pensions and buck up the Athlone economy. There’s a good girl.

• John Kearney 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I must say that I agree with Mary – the non-partisan, ex Charlie and Bertie supporting, Eircom privatisation ex Cabinet minister – that there are no luminaries in the Dail to match her or former colleagues such as P.Flynn, Raymond Burke and Ivor Callely. Will the media please stop giving this wolf in sheep’s clothing a platform to spout her FF redemption nonsense. The current coalition is many disappointing things, promises included, but I would take them every time over her former colleagues including the pious Micheal Martin and his convenient disavowment of his time as a Minister in three FF administrations.

• Chris lynch 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

So if biffo smiled more we wouldn’t be in this mess. Sure Bertie couldn’t stop smiling.

• Rommel Burke 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

They’ll all be coming out of the woodwork now, having digs at Bertie, talking Martin up and generally contributing to the “Renewal” of “The Party”.
    I for one won’t be listening or be buying her book, or her BS.

• Joe Sixtwo 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Mary please just go away!

• Tom Neville 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Enough said. If the person who was part of the problem doesn’t think your bright, then you are probably a genius.

• Paul Carr 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Mary puts his finger on it! Brian Cowen didn’t smile. That’s what done us in!

• Chris lynch 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I’d like you to pay attention to TheJournal from 2010

http://businessetc.thejournal.ie/irelands-10-highest-paid-public-servants-2010-07/

• David Higgins 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

She’s one to talk!

• Ger Maher 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Will someone please explain the difference between “top story” and “top storey” to Jason Kennedy? Schoolboy error…

• Donal McCarthy 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I quite like Mary; however, given that she oversaw the floating of Eircom, and is thus responsible for the crap broadband we have in this ‘knowledge economy’, she would perhaps want to take a long bath and reflect on her own efforts.

• Derek Richardson 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

mary if there is such a synopsis as less than nothing you and your ff cronies fit the bill nicely

• Shane Gleeson 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

See you next Tuesday Mary.

• Dec Rowe 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Spot on Mary! They’re all a pack of useless gobshites!

• Rory Walsh 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Apart from the book also she’s teeing up her son to regain her seat in the next election.

• Ciaro 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Mary O’Rourke, are you the pot or the kettle?

• Jack Byrne 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Why do people still actually pay any attention to what this silly old has been has to say?

• michael cuthbert 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Remember when Mary was Minister for Transport – the wonderful spats with Michael O’Leary (allegedly by phone in the bath on one occasion)?

Anyway, at some point during her tenure she completely lost the plot and, inspired by the Chunnel, proposed the construction of a tunnel to Wales!

But she’s right. The present bunch in Dáil Éireann are, like their predecessors, below par.

Good luck with the book Mary…

• Mark Rodgers 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Cairo……..it’s MARY O’ROURKE…….don’t use that expression of the pot and the kettle because the next word would BLACKED out!

• Brian Lighthouse 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

The saying comes from a time when pots and kettles were boiled over the open fire. The ends would blacken up from soot. That saying has nothing at all got to do what you allude to.

• Joey Dempsey 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Love this women, wish she was my Mammy :) love or hate her, she is never one to shy away from saying it as it is and yes, with the exception of a few, i agree with analysis of the current residents of the dail.

• Paul O'Keeffe 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Stupid auld fellas! Ha hilarious and so true.

• Eoin O'Duffy 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Well if Mammy “Working Like Blacks” O’Rouke says it, it must be true. Article should read “FFer dislikes FG and thinks FF is better”.

• Report this comment

We’ve always been led by intellectual light weights, why should this lot be different.

• Frank2521 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The qualities needed for a CV for a TD are as seen by all recent governments
    Greedy, Ruthless, non compassionate, Corrupt, Liar, Cheat, self important, Egotistical, Thief, Fraudulent, Criminal, Two-faced , and intelligence is certainly not required just look at them. If you had any sense you wouldent get involved with criminals.

• Lorcan O'Neill 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I love that I read this and THEN realised it was Jason :-)

• Kevin O'Sullivan 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

People hated Fianna Fail because of all the lies built up over the years, the level of corruption and greed, and because they lined their own pockets while letting the country get sucked into a big hole and never bothered to do anything about it. People got fed up of voting in a party that didn’t give two shits about the public.

The only real alternative was FG & Labour, people wanted a more right politics in Ireland hence why Fianna Fail were voted in so often. Plus FG & Labour were the party to get us out of the last mess Fianna Fail put us in.

Its a bit odd, her choice of words, seeing as it was her own party (who she seems to be claiming are super intelligent) that fucked up and couldn’t fix the problem. So, apparently, the Irish are so thick they elected dumb idiots to run the country (again!) and it would appear Mary thinks we are in a bigger problem than her party left us in.

But.. we are seeing more positive news on the job front and unemployment rates, Ireland heading back to the markets early, a lot less drama around our finances, budgets that are tough but seem to be working, etc. Not a walk in the park by any means and we are still a country in despair, but things are looking up a bit.

Enda, Brian or Bertie? I would pick Enda. Might seem a bit dumbed down alright, but that’s because we are not used to someone who is hard working (which to be fair, he is), is all smiles, active, friendly, vocal, etc.

Does not compute. Conclusion? Mary missing the attention.

• Patrick Dempsey 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

She honestly thinks that the hate we had for Brian Cowen was about his lack of smiling and his scouring? No, it was because he wasn’t capable of doing his job. And could she tell me what Micheal Martin is doing in opposition? Well nothing bar claim thousands in extra leaders expenses.