TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Mayo County Council criticised for Household Charge court summonses

“It will create outrage amongst the public.”

Image: Niall Carson/PA Archive/Press Association Images

MAYO COUNTY COUNCIL has come under fire today after becoming the first local authority to issue court summonses over the non-payment of the household charge.

According to the Irish Daily Star, a number of court dates have been set for the coming weeks.

Sinn Féin TD Brian Stanley has condemned the move, describing it as “bully boy tactics” by the council.

“This course of action will prove to be a disaster for the government,” he said. “It will create outrage amongst the public.”

He said the €100 fee, which is a predecessor to the imminent Property Tax, has the potential to criminalise hundreds of thousands of law-abiding citizens.

About one in four home owners in Mayo have failed to pay the charge.

Independent councillor Frank Durcan told TheJournal.ie that the Government continues to waste money “hand over fist” on this issue.

“People are being insulted. They are already very annoyed at being asked to pay something they have already paid,” he said, referring to earlier scandals of letters being sent to those who had already complied with the charge.

Commenting on the court dates, he said, “There are a lot of people who simply do not have the money to pay. People haven’t got the money anymore.”

Fine Gael councillor and Mayo County Council chairman Cyril Burke told TheJournal.ie that “we will have to see how the courts deal with the cases coming before them”.

“People are expected to uphold the law,” he said. “And for those people that aren’t in a position to pay, there are avenues to go down.”

The national compliance rate is now up to 66 per cent with just less than 1.1 million of the 1.6 million households paid up.

Donegal remains the county with the lowest payment rate – only 34,955 of the 65,331 eligible homes have paid or sought a waiver. This means a 54 per cent compliance rate, well below the average.

Dún Laoghaire stays top of Household Charge compliance table

Read next:

Comments (139 Comments)

• peter 27/10/12 #

Sweet Jesus it’s Saturday, lets just pretend everything is peachy, just for the long weekend. Tuesday is time enough to go back to the recession.

• Shower of thugs in government!
    Meanwhile they awarded themselves more wages, expenses and perks yesterday on the quiet!

The Irish Examiner: http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/dail-a-joke-as-112m-spend-passed-212032.html

• It’s one PR disaster after another. No matter what side of the fence you fall on it’s quiet clear the handling of everything to do with this charge has been atrocious.

• The household charge is not a statute and therefore does NOT have to be paid, they can take you to all the courts up and down Ireland. And the judges themselves know that there is no law there that they can do nothing if people refuse to pay the “charge”.

The bully boys of Ireland are trying to force more and more money out of us, yet they can give themselves half a million EACH a year.

Does anyone not think that there is something very very wrong here?

http://www.change.org/petitions/supporting-the-irish-nation-step-down-from-government

• I had a notification of non payment which was the first piece of literature related to the household charge I’ve gotten. It had my surname incorrect and my missus. If I was summonsed wouldn’t that mean it would be thrown out?

• depends on the judge, some of them are just as likely to ignore the law as anyone else

• Then appeal that court ruling until its overturned. It goes to a different judge. Apply for free legal aid so that it costs the state more to enforce this unnecessary tax.

• No. As long as service was good then misspelling is irrelevant. If your Joe bloggs and its spelt Jo blogs as long as its serviced on you personally then there is no problem. Now if its a completely different name that’s a different story :)

• Well it’s a completely different surname. It’s pronounced similar but not the same. First 2 letters are the only similarities in spelling.

• If it sounds the same your out of luck :) because the prosecutor can just supply to amend the spelling error in court. As long as you received it then that’s all that matters. Just out of interest was it posted normally, registered or given to you by garda by hand? After all if it just came by ordinary mail and not handed to you its an awful shame how these things have a tendency to disappear before you get them :p when its registered or by police no getting out of if

• Here’s my reply Vincent, Stop all aid to Africa till the people giving it. Are told where the 750 million a year is going and to whom. Attack me all you like, but you dis-credit yourself by being a FG footsoldier!

• I’m wondering out of the people who they THINK have not paid are that going to bring to court? Only last week they admitted to a blinder where 10s thousands got letters they shouldn’t have. This is premature and in our dear leaders constituency too. The final nail in the coffin for FG.

• Why not take the money we were putting into supporting the Ugandan people with and let’s help our own people first instead of making criminals of them . Hopefully these tactics take this plastic government down .

• The law locks up the man or woman
    Who steals the goose from off the common
    But leaves the greater villain loose
    Who steals the common from off the goose.

The law demands that we atone
    When we take things we do not own
    But leaves the lords and ladies fine
    Who take things that are yours and mine.

The poor and wretched don’t escape
    If they conspire the law to break;
    This must be so but they endure
    Those who conspire to make the law.

The law locks up the man or woman
    Who steals the goose from off the common
    And geese will still a common lack
    Till they go and steal it back.

• They’ll Get Feck all Off Me. I don’t accept Registered Letters anymore and I’ve built a big Wall.

• I find it very difficult to believe that it is only 1 in 4 haven’t complied

• Merkel is a fine gale fan,

• 1.1 million paid up, or registered for exemption and the remainder paid up. What is it, this will anger a lot of people and the ones who registered and paid under protest! The ball is rolling, lets see who gets crushed?

• Jay 27/10/12 #

That’s Irish governance for ya, spend thousands to get €100

I suppose when they finally collect that 100euro they will just send it to some church or charity anyway…..

• Shame on mayo cc are people not suffering enough but then when have the government cared as long as we are seen as good guys by Europe doing what we are told and sending money to war lords

• Why blame mayo cc lol they are just enforcing the law. Its not local government you should have issue with. Actually you should be glad they are do efficient. Its the legislation and those who put it in place is who you should have issue with. FF signed us up for it FG imposed it on us

• Why don’t the government is they are worried about the law, stop breaking it themselves as regards the mobility allowances?
    Usual say one thing and do another from another yet again corrupt, two faced government.

* http://bigginsblog.wordpress.com/2012/10/27/cost-of-a-previous-fianna-fail-government-continues/

More money for themselves though!
    * http://bigginsblog.wordpress.com/2012/10/27/irish-tds-award-themselves-more-money/

• Road trip ! Anyone who is able to get to Mayo to support those facing court summonses , organise and get to Mayo .

• well said ill be going to show my support if i can

• I wonder did enda get a summons, after all he said a tax on someone’s home was a terrible thing (pre-election) !!!

• You would think a party so familiar with court appearances and criminalisation would understand how the system works. Mayo Coco are not making people criminals. People are making themselves criminals by not paying their fair share.

• Vincent,

They already do pay their ‘fair share’. The people pay the lion’s share of revenue. The top 1% wealthy pay nothing.

• Sorry but I’ll be busy doing something useful and productive that day and every other day. The law is the law. A tax is a tax. Calm down, sit down, do up a CV and get your arse something useful to be doing.

• #Una- In this instance, “fair share” isn’t open to debate. It’s the amount required by the law of the land. This country is broke. The state can’t afford the services expected. This charge is applied to bridge the gap. Using the services while not paying the charge is inherently unfair. Not to mention illegal.

• Eric,

wondering about your re-election,concerned about your state of mind if people give Kenny another landslide victory.

• Vincent,

The state can afford services…they are paying € 30 billion Promissory Note to un-secured, un-guaranteed, un-covered Bondholders.

• Eric Keane ,
      I am so happy for you that you will are busy and will be busy,Good for you. ”You say ”Calm down, sit down, do up a CV and get your arse something useful to be doing.”
      Speaking for myself , I lead a very productive life. I am retired and have always worked from 15 yrs old , raised a family, and I am now retired. I have paid my way and paid and paid and paid. Now as this is a self registration charge ,I made an informed decision not to pay this charge. But Eric you go ahead and sit in judgement of all the home owners who will not pay this charge. Cheers.

• I’ll drive from Dublin to disrupt this

• Brian 27/10/12 #

Eric, if you’ve nothing useful to say then do yourself and others a favour and keep your mouth shut. Gombeen.

• Mark 27/10/12 #

Eric pipe down.

Do up CVs, ok I’m sure most have already done this. Next step Eric. Where exactly would you like 400 odd thousand to send these CVs too??

Trolling on the Internet isn’t productive by the way.

Now as I said Eric, pipe down pipe the hell down!

• Vincent, pull your head of the sand, fair share? Nearly €400m euro is owed to County Councils by property developers. Where are their court summonses?

• #MarkGrehan… No argument there, Mark.

• Eric- do up a cv for what? I have a job. I also got together with the other members of our estate to fix up our estate because the council keep ignoring us. And we done it cheaper that they are charging. I already pay a fortune in tax

• Unpaid day off work… €120
      1/2 a Tank of petrol €40
      2 Six packs of larger €16
      Poster Board and marker €6.50

Fighting the establishment over the legal homeowners tax you claim you can’t afford to pay… PRICELESS

• @Andrew
      The amount got kicked up to €400 for six months in 2013. In 2014, it is scheduled to go up to €1000. That’s for a the SMALLEST house.

What’s more, this is a principle issue. Many of those living in a house today – in fact the majority of those who are suffering from negative equity and nosebleed-high variable rates imposed by the same banks being bailed out – have already paid taxes to own their home, some enough to have paid up for over 60 years, even at the rate the government plans to inflate. I paid over €30k in taxes when I bought my home. Should I be taxed again? There are laws against double taxation, which have not changed.

Tell me again how your sum adds that up? Idiot.

• People you do realise any Minister who has a vested interest in a property, does not have to pay the household charge. Surprised???

• Remember everyone, All present judges are appointed by politicians and by FF/FG/Labour for the last 20 years. Justice in Ireland, will only be achieved by people power and not by judges appointed by politicians!

• Red Ed 27/10/12 #

Who is serving all these summons’?

• The one thing I used to like about The Journal was that the readership comments used to be quite good. I think it’s time to move on now that all the Independent readers are sharing their wisdom here too.

• Mayo County council will be pushing for the death penalty for these non-paying peasants as part of their new plan to get people of the register . That along with their “Old Codger Cull” at Mayo General things are still pretty neanderthal here in the west.

• I am writing too all opposition TD’s and interested groups. To propose setting up An ‘Annual Citizens Council’, that’ll meet annually to discuss policies, Laws and issues concerning Irish Citizens and include everyone on the Island. If you think it’s a good idea, then write to your local opposition politician and request they talk to groups or others about doing the same. A citizens Council, that’ll pass motions, calling on a Government to take notice of what they propose and listen!

• Cyril Burke (FG Councillor) is better suited to Sunday jobs, collecting a religion tax to pay bondholders.

• how many summons are issued in mayo wasit just castlebar ??

• Driving from Dublin is a nonsense. The people of mayo opposed to the tax should stand together and protest these court dates. When it comes to court appearances in Dublin then we should go out. What mayo politician will give a toss if a thousand dubs tell him we won’t for him in the next election?

• Aurfur 27/10/12 #

We paid grudgingly cos that’s the law. We had letters claiming non payment. Rang the geographical number and told them we paid. Our village has three different spellings depending on which way you drive into it, two English and one Gaelic. The spelling we used isn’t the one on the letter posted to us but still delivered, so I guess although they confirm we paid on line and we have printed out receipt our paid address will never match the one that insists that we haven’t paid. Glad we paid on line, hate to think what would happen if we had paid cash.

Have duplicated printed receipts for when summonsed to go to court.

What a monumental cock up! But we complied. Eejits should have used xxxxxxx data base cos that references every property in Ireland and who lives there and which properties are derelict.

I ain’t gonna say what xxxxxxx stands for cos I don’t feel pre disposed to helping in any way.

• Oh Fook dem all an Drink de Money

• how many summons are issued ?
    I’ve have heard its only castlebar court
    is this so ?

• And people are thinking of voting Yes in the referendum? The captain is mad and the crew are in disarray-the ship is sinking fast!

• in kildare 50 million owed by developers and builders ,i had to pay levy ,to k.c.c ,,when i build my own home ,plus put in my own sewerage like most rural people ,,,,,tell you what k .c.c take 127 euro from the levy ,,,ignore and bin letters ,,, don’t sign for a registered letter ,,,i will go to court ,and will pay no fine ,,no i am not a tax dodger,,i have been paying paye and prsi for 40 years now ,,,,my home costs me money ,to maintain to heat ,it does not make a income for me ,,,,this 100 euro household tax ,,leading to a property tax of 1000 euro ,,plus water charges ,, septic tank charge ,,,the council and big phil can go to hell before i pay ,,if people stick together and don’t pay , , these taxes will be unenforceable ,,power to the people ,,join the anti-household tax group near you ,

• Brian Stanley TD ought to realise , as a legislator, that the law will not criminalise anyone. They do it themselves by not obeying it.

• “One may well ask: “How can you advocate breaking some laws and obeying others?” The answer lies in the fact that there are two types of laws: just and unjust. I would be the first to advocate obeying just laws. One has not only a legal but a moral responsibility to obey just laws. Conversely, one has a moral responsibility to disobey unjust laws. I would agree with St. Augustine that “an unjust law is no law at all.”

MLK – Letter from a Birmingham Jail

• Meanwhile TDs in the dail have JUST voted a budget increase for themselves to 112ml from 108ml -”approved by 66 votes to 40″. Need to know the 66 names please and a mid-term break was also agreed. They won’t have any problem paying their 100 household charge. How can they bring in all this austerity and then vote this increase and a mid-term break!!! We are being taken for fools!

• Some people will disobey it because it’s an unjust law, what paid for all the services before the household charge?

• #werejammin You don’t get to decide which laws are just or unjust. The people elect a Government to make our laws. That is where they get their moral legitimacy. If everyone just disregarded laws they didn’t like it would be anarchy.

• Take it up with MLK, or else get back to me when you’ve devoted your life to civil rights, social justice and equality like he did.

• VD, you sound like a disease and all. This government are implenting policies by the last regime and were not given a mandate by the people to do as they bankrupted the Country. FG and Labour lied, cheated and u-turned on every election promise made. So they are continuing the last governments un-elected policy and that’s why FF/Greens were thrown out. Tell us all here, Do you have the brains of an Ass or the memory of a fish?

• @vincent dolan i refer you to the penal laws and the anti-jewish laws in germany in the 30s and 40s, you say these laws should be obeyed because an elected government decreed them? you are no better than a sheep if you refuse to use your own morals

• #Stephen..quite the brave keyboard cowboy aren’t you? But seriously is VD the best you got. Is that really the height of your wit? FG are trying to undo the catastrophic damage inflicted on this country by the last Government. Serious times call for serious people. Not clowns like you who reside in the wonderful land of make believe and wishful thinking.

• #Revolting Lets not besmirch the legitimacy of conscientious objectors by associating tax dodgers with them.

• #Ian Our beloved property bubble brought the money in to pay for services…

• Vincent Dolan.
      And the next government will be undoing the catastrophic mess this lot are making of the country
      And the government following that will be undoing the mess the previous one made, Vincent you cannot keep using that excuse, the government of the day need to listen to people, and if they make promises they need to fulfil them.

• Typical of a FG diehard or labour, They can do no wrong in your eyes. I’ll educate you, FF/greens thrown out due to the policies they introduced to bailout banks and builders. FG/Labour promises change and reforms, to get elected.They get elected and continue FF policies, because they haven’t the brains nor balls to stand up for their paymasters. If you cant understand that much, you’re thicker than I thought and the Country is Screwed!

• #Stephen..I don’t need to be educated by someone with green hair, wearing a red nose and sporting a flower on his lapel that squirts water…

• @ stephen theres no point in trying to reason with these people, they simply refuse to recognise the lies and deceit, let them stew in it when it collapses around their collective ears

• “Brian Stanley TD ought to realise , as a legislator, that the law will not criminalise anyone. They do it themselves by not obeying it.”

Pot,Kettle,Black!!!

http://www.thejournal.ie/government-legal-advice-mobility-allowance-649033-Oct2012/

• It’s not a law. It’s a tax that we have already paid, and continue to pay via income and stamp duty taxes. We are among the highest paid taxed individuals in the world, but unlike those very few peers who are taxed as high as us, we have very little to show for it.

• the problem the people of Ireland face from here on in is that there will never be an outright winner during elections anymore….respect for people in different jobs is gone….including politicans….now people want what they pay for….to get around this problem politicans will just go into coalition

• All credit to Mayo Coco. It’s absolutely right that they use all means open to them to make people pay a charge that the rest of us have to pay. At a time of national crisis everybody has to contribute.

• Fair play to Mayo CoCo. And SF need to learn to respect the law once and for all. You wont see Donegal CoCo doing this…

• Yes, lets tax the Irish more “immoral, unjust and unfair” taxes while the FG and labor parties increase their own wages and expenses, while at the same time reducing taxes for the wealthy.

Yes, lets put the boot in to the bloody peasants, it’s not like they’re the people the FG and Labor are meant to protect as the government are voted in for. It’s not like Kenny and Gilmore should be standing up for his nation, oh no, an Irishman has no right to own land because the English – er, sorry – the Germans said so.

• This tax is going to fund local hospitals, traffic lights, road markings, etc. Failing to pay this tax is putting lives at risk and so I’d hope all councils follow the great example Mayo has set.

• This tax is going to fill the gap left by your precious party stealing our taxes to pay bondholders.

• Water is a basic right. Until mine stops tasting like pig shyte laced with fluoride then I won’t be paying

• The tax is going towards deficit reduction not the bank debts, the government has made it clear they will make the banks competitive whilst they work on a deal from Europe for the ESM to make said banks be able to fill the gaps in their resources until they complete a reform program.

Water is a right, when it’s from a river not through pipes the taxpayers paid for. If you paid for your water you’d get a better service. Don’t moan about the services you receive if you don’t pay for their funding through the household charge.

• @Fine Gael fan: if this tax goes to pay the services you mentioned then please explain in detail what the following pays for. Vat, paye, Prsi,usc, vrt,motor tax.

• Deficit for 2012, 18 billion. Amount paid to bondholders by fine gael in 2012, 18 billion.

Take your time

• utter tripe

• I paid my stamp duty on this house that I moved into long before this property tax bullshit came in so I am well entitled to complain.
      The sooner you lot of crooks and shysters are out the door the better, Christ ye are worse than the last lot

• this tax will fund the likes of county managers on ?160000 per year. Priminister of Spain ?120000.It will be used to feed all politicians snouts at the trough. we can send ?600,000,000 plus taxpayers money abroad for charity and we have mo money ay home for frontline medical/policing etc. its dissappointing

• as I was saying before my previous took of on me I am so dissappointed listening to the crap comming from the Gov’. All I hear is SPINDOCTOR and Dept Sec’s bullshit. I voted for Enda because I believed him when he said he had balls. Sadly we all now know different!

• All taxes are distributed evenly across all sectors of government, if you don’t like it tough luck. Move to some far-left country which is going to go down the gutter. The deficit was €25 billion in 2011 and the banks paid back the banks debts, the decisions are beyond the control of the government at this moment in time. I paid VAT on my high-end tv, I still pay the tv license. The number of councilors is likely to be reduced dramatically at the next election and all your figures are from fairyland. None of you far-left lot pay your taxes so you shouldn’t even be allowed an opinion. How can you not afford €100 when you can afford an internet connection and a laptop? It doesn’t add up.

• Absolute garbage from FG fan – that and stupidity!

• Also Aidan, i’m not a member of government or the Fine Gael party, just a fan of their great work.

• @Biggins31 It’s not stupidity, it’s honesty. The far-left such as yourself appear to have a problem with obeying the law and paying their taxes, that is an insult to those who actually pay their taxes like myself.

• @ Fine Gael Fan

…And again as I have posted in another news topic here, you could not be more wrong about I being far left.
      I am a member of The Irish Democratic Party.
      Try reading or even glancing through their available documents.
      You might actually learn just how far wrong you are (again!). Whats new!

I suspect you don’t want to be proved wrong – well what can one expect from someone so easily led?

Go troll elsewhere and set-up more fake twitter accounts will you?
      There’s a good chap!

• 0 followers/following tells all it needs to know.

• @Biggins31 I haven’t time to read far-left propaganda trying to claim they’re not far-left they’ll just take the actions of the far-left and i’m certainly not a troll. I might not use a personal account on this site(as I don’t want my actual name on this site for privacy reasons, as is my right). Alan, go to the Red C poll story as that explains why I do not follow anyone and if no one follows me then that’s their choice, that is beyond my control. If I could magically have followers i’d have 10 million I could market my products to by now but life isn’t that easy like you far-left think it is.

• What’s all this far left stuff? Don’t get it. I know you are far out though

• OMG,Michael Graham, I wasnt aware you were obliged to pay your taxes to the Irish state as I am. I also pay vat on all my purchases,prsi etc on my wages, excise+ vat on my petrol and VRTon my car,even vat on the repair and upkeep, must I go on?.I dont get paid unvouched expenses to go to work or appearence money.By the way Michael it is public fact Cork county manager ?160000.I have paid my taxes for 35 years and I love working. I wonder why I am paying 34 times more in Ireland for a packet of tablets than in the uk????.What happened to Brendan Howlins balls???? The unions to him to F off! and yes I am a Democrate Michael!

• Um, no it’s not. It’s going to bondholders – bondholders who, I must add, have not even been identified.

• the potential to criminalise hundreds of thousands of law-abiding citizens.

The law abiding can’t be criminalised only people who have committed crimes can be criminalised, like tax evaders.

Add New Comment