TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Lowry Jnr: Dad didn’t help me on road to mayor’s job

But TD’s son Micheál, newly-elected mayor of North Tipperary, added the Lowry surname hasn’t done his political career any harm.

Micheál Lowry
Image: Office of Micheál Lowry

THE SON OF Independent TD Michael Lowry has said his father didn’t help him get elected mayor of North Tipperary.

Micheál Lowry was installed to the post this week after the politicians’ local organisation, nicknamed Team Lowry, secured a voting pact from all four Fine Gael councillors, the three Labour members and another three independents on the council, the Nenagh Guardian reports. Mr Lowry Snr was in the council chamber to witness the vote, as were a number of other Lowry family members.

Asked whether his father had advised him in the run-up to the vote, Micheál told TheJournal.ie: “No, he didn’t, no. He’s hands-off, in the sense that he allows you to do your own thing. If I wanted his advice he’s there. But he’s the same with me as with all the other councillors.”

However, he said the Lowry name hadn’t hurt his status with voters in North Tipperary, where his father has topped the poll in successive general elections.  “I’d be very naive to sit here and tell you that having the surname isn’t a benefit,” he said. “What I always say is: If you get elected once, you can blame it on the name. If you get elected twice, you must be doing something.”

The ascendance of Micheál has led to speculation he is being ‘groomed’ to replace his father as a TD for the area. He said the vote was a high point for father and son. “It was a proud moment for me, and it was for him,” Micheál said.

Calls to a landline number given for Micheál on the North Tipperary council website were answered by a parliamentary assistant to Michael Lowry TD.

Earlier this year, Michael Lowry faced a Dáil motion calling on him to resign after the Moriarty Tribunal found that he had influenced the decision to award Ireland’s second mobile phone licence to Denis O’Brien’s Esat Digifone consortium. He refused to step down.

Read next:

Comments (20 Comments)

• Ah jaysis lads…question to the people of north tipp is why?

• Family ties in politics are a bad idea when it comes to serving the interests of the country as a whole. If there is one official who turns a blind eye when a dodgy deal is being done, that is bad. When the official has relations dotted throughout the system, all able to turn blind eyes, it’s a dodgy dealers heaven. I’m not saying Lowry is a bad person but some of his actions are questionable. We should banish nepotism from Irish politics. God knows we as a nation need a fair playing field just now, completely free from the sort of vested political/business activities which have helped in leading us to the sad position we are in.

• I wish someone would block that god damn casino

• “Team Lowry”, yet another bunch of crooks aloud to spawn in our wonderfully democratic country. Democracy…..who the f**k made that word up. Everyday there is something crook…….this country would drive you insane!

• As a voter in the North Tipp-South Offaly constituency, it galls me that Lowry Sr still garners so much support when it is clear that he only serves the interests of his supporters, not the constituency or the country at large. However, Lowry Jr has served as a councillor for the past 7 years. He has not been accused of any wrong-doing. I’m not aware of his involvement in any scandal. It also seems that local mayoral elections are based on turn-taking among the various politicians and parties. After 7 years, is it not simply Lowry Jr’s turn?
    Political dynasties are alive and well in many constituencies in Ireland, not just this one. Yes it is unfortunate and yes it can lead to nepotism, elitism, cronyism, but is there a fair alternative? Can someone be excluded from holding power because of who their father was or what their mother did? There must be a way to ensure transparency within the various processes of local and national politics that could potentially serve to advantage a privileged few, particularly those relating to planning, recruitment and the granting of tenders. Reshaping local councils into wider regional authorities could help to reduce the amount of influence highly localised elites hold and could help to do away with some of the tribalism that keeps Irish politics mired at the parish pump.

• Another nepotist nail in the coffin for democracy in Ireland. Why do the people keep voting for the parasitic offspring of corrupt and disgraced cowboys like Lowry, surely there can’t be that many cronies ion North Tipp, have these people no shame? Family dynasties are a cancer in Irish politics, self serving and pandering only to those who they see as their supporters. The Lowry’s, Healy-Raes, Flynns, Lenihens, Haugheys, DeValera’s, the list goes on and on. Gombeen politics for a gombeen nation. You get what you vote for and Irish people just don’t seem to get that, that’s why the country is in the state it’s in, parish pump and village idiots rule the roost and the country is left in the hands of the incompetent and inept only good for fixing potholes!

• SURE HE FIXED THE ROADS.

P.

• BW 30/06/11 #

He’s father may have not helped him.

But I wish, Jesus or someone else would help us rid ourselves of these dynastic leeches….

• another prize ass hole in the making when are we to be rid of these leaches

• With respect to all comments here, you’re not guilty of your father’s sins.

• Its the people from north tipp that are to blame !! in all fairness , I remember in 1997 when lowry sr got re-elected my old lad was over joyed and he’s a complete Ignoramus ,its not gombeen politics its just gombeens . The older generation that vote for this shite are to blame , thats where most of their votes come from and its not gonna change until they die off . So it looks like we are all f****d for another 20 or 30 years anyway.

• We for one are delighted that Michael Lowry jr was elected as the new Mayor of the beautiful county of North Tipperary. Just look at all the fantastic work that Mr. Lowry sr. has done for the country and for Ireland. We fully expect his son to walk in his fathers shadow and continue the fantastic work.
    Is Feider Lin!

• I sympathise with you and your croney’s for your naivety. Lowry and co are corrupt to the core and have done nothing positive for Ireland. Lowry is a local politician being paid a TD’s salary.

• The Dy-Nasty is set to continue…

To @NorthTippCasino ; North Tipperary is not a County. If you really are who you claim to be, you wouldn’t need that pointing out.
      And the correct spelling is ‘Is féidir linn’.

• I see GOMBEEN politics is alive and well…. Its sad that this country considers corruption and croneyism as the gold standard for a politician…. The sooner the better you flat cap inbreds die off… And leave this country for the rest of us decent people and honest people.

• I believe the correct spelling is

” Is feidir linn ”

Shows what you know about the Irish language or even Ireland !

Add New Comment