TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Micheál Martin: I still keep in touch with Brian Cowen

The Fianna Fáil leader said he had a “good chat” with his predecessor at a recent funeral but neither Cowen nor Bertie Ahern have any input to party policy.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

FIANNA FÁIL LEADER Micheál Martin says he still keeps in touch with former taoiseach Brian Cowen and had a “good chat” with his predecessor at the funeral of former Kerry GAA boss Páidí Ó Sé.

He also told TheJournal.ie this week that he had a “quick word” with former taoiseach Bertie Ahern around ten days ago but says that neither of the two former party leaders have any input on current party policy.

“I mean they are private citizens they go about their lives,” he said.

Martin has spent much of his two years as leader of the opposition party trying to rebuild Fianna Fáil and move it away from the era of Ahern – who was found to have lied to the Planning Tribunal – and Cowen – who was taoiseach when Ireland entered the EU/IMF bailout.

Martin said that he’d a “good chat” with Cowen at Ó Sé’s funeral in December and confirmed that he still keeps in touch with the former party leader.

He also said that he met Ahern at another event linked to Ó Sé, the launch of a ‘Páidí Ó Sé Football Festival’ which will take place later this month.

“I met him socially at that, I just had a quick word with him,” he said.

On Fianna Fáil’s poll rating, Cowen and Bertie:

He said that both men would have little interest in contributing to party policy or current political issues, pointing out that this is often the case with former taoisigh.

“Their view on life is they’ve been there,” he said.

“It’s traditional with taoisigh of all parties, generally speaking when they retire they want to let it to the incoming or those who are in incumbent, in office to get on with it.”

Martin also said he does not take a recent poll which found his party was the most popular in the country too seriously: “It’s not great news for us at all really to be honest with you because I don’t take polls that seriously.

“I said this when we were very low in the polls and I’m saying this now. The trend is probably useful in that we’re going in the right direction but it’s going to take a long time for us to regain the trust of the Irish people,” he said in a wide-ranging interview this week.

He said that increasingly the party is getting a more positive reception on the doorsteps when out canvassing describing the difference between now and campaigning during the general election in 2011 as a “big contrast”.

“People are talking to us,” he said.

“People’s main concern on the door is their own obvious… obviously their own position in terms of jobs, capacity to pay bills, future for their young people in terms of jobs, cost of education, the mortgage arrears issue and they’re looking for solutions,” he added.

More: New opinion poll shows Fianna Fáil is Ireland’s most popular party

Read: Irish Mail on Sunday apologises to Brian Cowen over California picture

Read next:

Comments (110 Comments)

• Is it just the area where I’m living, or do others have the same issue? I mean he’s talking about the reaction FF canvassers are getting at people’s front doors. I haven’t had anyone connected to politics at my door since before the last election.

• Me neither, these guys are full of shit.

• They are saying it a fair but alright. They must be knocking into known party supporters or something because they would get a fierce earful of abuse if they knocked at mine.

• He’s imagining they are canvassing door to door to generate a reference point in gullible people’s minds that they are working really hard on the campaign trail LOL
      He constantly tries to distance himself from Bertie and Cowan because they caused so much damage to this state, using his terminology they may as well have been just released from prison. He is trying desperately to distance himself from the previous government it is laughable. He should wear a funny mask and a wig, it would work better. He is a pathetic joke, as are the various farts grasping at his coattails. Disgusting people

• Often FF canvassers will try to keep you chatting at the door but they send a young fellow around the back to climb in the bedroom window.

It is the type of people that the get as members.

• Richie Ryan, are you implying that card carrying members like myself are thiefs by default? I sometimes worry for some peoples ability to lump all peoples into the one stereotype.

• Maybe he should ask Cowan to return his big fat pension as he was instrumental as finance minister in inflating an already out of control building and property bubble with tax incentives to over paid and wealthy investment firms. Then he was treasonous as Taoiseach by guaranteeing a finance sector who over extended to these same investment firms bankrupting the country. Tell him he doesn’t deserve it and the country can’t afford it.

Maybe then we might start to talk about further PS pay cuts. The way I see it as long as the country can afford to pay him they can afford to pay front line workers who would loose their job if they arrived to work drunk.

• Michael Martin is popping up in some newspaper every day. Don’t be fooled as its obviously part of a strategy. They have nothing to lose and there’s no such thing as bad publicity and we need to remember FF ruined this country

• What I don’t get. Is how have FF made a recovery in the polls? Everyone of the people who make up that twenty six % have relations, friends, acquaintances, work mates etc. Either they are not making it clear what a bunch of absolute buffoons FF are. Or its falling on deaf ears.

• Dillon 16/02/13 #

You have to, have to, have to, have to believe that the “Party of Power” have become the “Party of Protest” and that their recent gains in the polls are a reminder to Fine Gael not to become complacent. I refuse to believe this country is stupid enough to reelect them.

• Richard. Certainly the 26% who vote FF’s see the damage and the hurt that they did to Ireland and their own families but they believe that they’ll be on the inside circuit when the FF criminals get in again. They do not care how that impacts on others.

• The right honourable Bertie & Brian have no interest in input into the Party because their too busy spending they bigfat pensions they gave themselves for a job well done.

• Why has the journal given this lying imbecile an authentic platform to preach his words which we know is B******T? He was health minister, he accompanied Bertie to that empty cork car park to pick up a “Donation”, his up to his eyes in FF cronyism. Mr golden the party would be better off without him and the hanger ons.

People to need to use their resolve and refrain from voting for these

• FF is to politics what Tesco beef patties are to gourmet cuisine.

• They are all mates for gods sake. On the gravey train, sometimes changing seats, but always heading in the same direction.

• what were you talking about, how to screw the people again and get a big pay off. the bastard cowan should be in mountjoy for what he did to the country, sean quinn in jail because he wouldnt give fianna fail brown envelopes. he did more for the country than biffo , ahearne and the rest of the ff crooks.they should be made pay for what they did, martin included

• Surprised the journal giving time to these cowboys we must never forget what they did to this country

• The media keep pumping out this FF reform for their own propose ,”sell papers,” all BS!

• Julie 16/02/13 #

Sell papers no , to keep the corrupt parties, so the rich men that own the media keep getting the favourable taxes and can really do what they want, media owners have their own agendas too you know. Remember one man owns most Irish main media. Media judges and government all connected.

• He said they had little interest in policy or current problems ! Seems as if nothing has changed since they were in power ..how can they even show their faces in public with what they did in the recent past ! They may be private citzens now but have no worries like the rest of us with their gold plated pensions..
    Shame on them

• What door? Haven’t seen nor heard of any member of any party knocking an anyone’s door. More delusional tripe from the gaping crap-hole that is Fianna Fail.

The final shred of Irish dignity and respect will die if Fianna feckin fail get within an arses roar of power at the next election….

• These Traitors to Ireland. This is FF legacy: Irish nationalists and later republicans gave their lives in the search for Irish freedom. Republicans built on this foundation and partially achieved this. Then Along come corrupt and inept FF governments that swap English rule for German and EU rule by signing away our soverignty and condemning generations to fiscal slavery.

That to me is the biggest form of treason to ever grace this fair island and its people, Michael Martin, Brian Cowen and the grand operator Bertie Ahern were all complicit in the transfer of Irish sovereignty. I will treat FF always with contempt because they blackened the reputation of republicans and great statesmen that came from that party and others. They have condemned generations of youth to the garbage heap. Well done.

They blacken the name of my Great Grandfather and for that I will also never forgive.

• Mitral Martin and the word trust should not be used in the same sentence … He felt some what guilty over the Magdeline laundry decision he took when minister responsible for deciding whether it not these women deserved redress … But not guilty enough to resign ..
    He sees no issue with hanging out socially with Cowen and Ahearne or even that his own position as a former cabinet member if a government that destroyed Ireland speaks volumes about this mans integrity..

• mister 16/02/13 #

Of course they still keep in touch. They have everything in common. They were both failed health ministers and both did much to bring down our country’s economy, giving away our economic sovereignty. You don’t share those experiences and NOT keep in touch.

• I hope they re-run that ipsos/mrbi poll soon. I reckon we’ll never have seen a party’s popularity drop so fast following an inexplicable rise.

• Harry C 16/02/13 #

What about all the so called top civil servants? They ultimately made the decisions that destroyed this country. As far as I can see they’re untouchable. At least we can reelect a government.

• If FF are voted back in, in the next general election, they we get what we deserve.

• If the people of Ireland vote for these gangsters in the next election we have no hope….it is depressing !! How are these people still in opposition even ? Martin should be dragged out of the DAIL and barred for life !!!

• They aren’t the largest youth party in UL, NUIG, GMIT, UCD, UCC, WIT, AIT, ITT, LIT, DIT, St Pats or St Angela’s. And this interview is full of mistruths just like that.

• An interview with a Fianna Fáiler full off mistruths? Never!!!

• Frankie do you want numbers because i will produce them to you no problem it’s not mistruths, lets get your figures and we will see will they stand up?

• Oliver Im membership Officer of the Organisation who is bigger than them! Its my job to know these things so yes I would like yer numbers published please. Ye dont even have branches in half the colleges listed there. How many recruitment days were you at? Coz I was at the major college ones and some of the smaller ones and didnt see you near any of the Ogra ones. Please enlighten me with your proof? There is also a message below from a Lorcan Nyhan who is chair of UCD YFG who can say with pride they are now larger than KBC Cumann for the 2nd year in a row

• Jim Ky 16/02/13 #

The bottom line is that we are all being crucified in a variety of ways for the incompetence of Martin and Fianna Fail.Our children and grandchildren will be paying for FF incompetence into the foreseeable future.Martin and his remaining few TDs should take a powder and leave us in peace to sort out the mess we have inherited from them and FF.

• The problem is the small c conservatives in this country need a party they can vote for. There wil always be a ten to fifteen% who swing for either FF or FG depending on how the wind blows. The problem is small c conservatives not the parties!!

• Both Ahern and Cowan should be tried for treason for their role in the collapse of the Irish economy. Two incompetent half wits

• ISBA 16/02/13 #

With all due respect to Michael Martin, he sat at THAT Cabinet table for 14 years. In our book he doesn’t have a shred of credibility. He should tip toe off into the sunset along with his buddies Ahern and Cowan- best for Ireland, best for FF.

• Martin and Fianna Fail reformed? It must be a temporary Mr Burns type reform! Does Martin actually think people will forgive his party for the biggest mess in the history of the State? Enda & co haven’t taken the bull by the horns but to vote these guys back in would be ludicrous. Martin’s track record in his various positions as a minister is poor to say the least.

• Hugh O’Connell it’s crazy the amount of publicity you give this man and his party.
    Who pays your wages? You only write stories about this clown.

• Bertie, Brian, How do I inflate another property bubble and put it on youtube? Best Regards, MM!

• FF gave in to every pressure group redistributing the taxes from the boom. FG/Labour have to roll back as the profits from economy are less. It’s Reality not Austerity.

• God help Ireland! I do not believe for one moment that the Irish electorate will elect FF at the next election – while FG are doing everything to lose contact with the electorate! its an anti FG poll! FG do not want to listen to the electorate! Same old mistakes! The government are overtaxing the Irish and do not listen ! Sad.If they do not listen perhaps FF have a chance! If FF are elected we should all emigrate because they destroyed the economy and paid themselves huge salaries, unvouched expenses, big pensions and tax free lump sums. Martin set up the HSE! Did he ever apologise?

• Enjoyed series of interviews. Nice usage of video too.

• FF will always be in with a shot as long as we use the PRSTV system. They’re masters of gombeen politics and despite pissing in the milk as far as our economic future goes they’ll always get the numbers at the polls.

As a nation we are so gullible and introspective how could they not spike their approvals?

No place for emotion here – but I hate the slimey, lying f*ckers so much it’s jarring.

Eugh.

• Pass the vomit bags quickly!!! So smoothy Meehol is in touch with his chief adviser Brian Cow On. Man the lifeboats before they even get near the ship Oops I forgot, sure they sank it long ago!

• Why do FF still exist? They shouldn’t be given any publicity! They’re a disgrace along with the current shower. We don’t need a government.

• Where did you find Cowen and Bertie Mr Martin??
      Down a rabbit hole??
      Hiding like Saddam Hussain??
      I hear they are getting plastic surgery along with Pat Neary.
      I hear that they want to hide the faces that destroyed Ireland.
      Tell them that Enda and Co will will be looking for a good plastic surgeon as well, after they finish off what FF started.
      Cowardly, Spineless,Traitors!!!
      Stoogeens!!!

• Isn’t it about time FF are disbanded

• FF has all the answer,s to these question,s I suppose

• Good man…. Michael…. We are rising from the ashes to rule again……..

• Frankie Mulqueen name that organisation!

• biffo .was not elected for his good looks and that’s for sure

• Fianna fail had 50 percent of the vote before the last election but got wiped out after the 2008 crash. They brought in tough but progressive budgets and fell on their sword to save the remaining jobs and economy. The current government is unpopular because of lies, regressive and unfair budgets and staggering arrogance. To be fair to fianna fail and sinn fein they are providing alternatives and debate as is the duty of opposition. redemption is a powerful force.

• Don’t put FF and SF in the same sentence Mr FF.

That tarnishes the name of the Precursor Republican Party, Sinn Fein. Sinn Fein are progressive republicans, FF are populist treacherous leaches.

• Are you for real Robert? Fell on their sword like some heroic warrior eh?
      Traitors and crooks. That’s what they are.

• I’d put money on it right now. At the next General Election the Irish electorate will vote these charlatans back into power. They are no better than snake oil salesmen at a carnival side show but parish pump politics, cronyism and the general naivety of Irish political thought will ensure they get their snouts in the trough once again. Kenny, of course, is also doing his damnedest to ensure this happens.

• FF are looking to go into government with FG next time out. SF want nothing to do with FF …

• I always seem to thread a nerve mr golden.

Cast a cold eye on your own history mr golden. FF should really be known as Irish Murder Inc. also how many people deaths are FF responsible for as a result of perpetual debt. Outrageous mr golden. A brass neck,

• They voted blindly for a “deal” that is now under legal scrutiny by the E.C.B. ……. they had no reason to vote for it …they are merely the trojan horse of Fine Gael and Labour on the opposition benches ! …….. there are none so blind as those who take brown envelopes and think that the people don’t know what they are at! … party supporters included …..
      Speaking of Fine Gael …I had a typo there and spelt it fine gale …and I thought …”GALE DAYS” …… wasn’t that the term for the oppressive rents back in the days of the Landlords …..
      while I’m at it F. FAIL……… (no fada)
      LABOUR ……. The unions are the one shower who actually don’t do any …..

• Fianna Fáil under Micheal Martin has started a root and branch restructuring of the organisation and that’s welcomed by our many members, we have over 60 Local Area Representatives and they along with elected councillors are working on the ground canvassing door to door and we are getting a positive feed back from the electorate they want to listen and are willing to listen, we also want to listen to them hear there concerns take them on board and work for the communities that everyone in FF are involved in. Micheal has visited every constituency since the election of 2011 listening to the grassroots taking on board there concerns he is also canvassing 2 to 3 evenings a week in different parts of the country. We are once again the top party in all the third level collages right across the country and that’s due to the fantastic effort from everyone in Ogra Fianna Fáil the youth wing of the party.

• wow…just wow.

• Delusional waffle !

• I never heard as much spin in all my life.

Just because you change your mask doesn’t mean your not the same person.

In two years you expect the public to believe you have miraculously changed? Very interesting.

• @ Ollie. Just one question. If its a root and branch restructure, why are the roots and branches, ie the crooks who were there in the past, not being pruned? Restructuring does not change the ethos, people do and MM is one of old brigade. Do us a favor and keep your rhetoric for your FF cronies.

• Canvassing for what, and in what way has he taken concerns on board? Please try and answer my questions, rather than taking a deep breath and coughing out empty words, which lack cogent substantial meaning. His positions haven’t changed and he has no input into government policy, so other than paying lip service to the people who’ve turned up, in what way have these meetings shown that he has REALLY taken concerns on board?
      There is an innocence and willingness to trust FF in Ireland, which has repeatedly damaged our society, as it has allowed business men and vainglorious egocentric yes men to quietly control a large portion of our government. When I saw this recent poll, that is what came to mind, so if you can prove to me that this is not the case, and your words were not more empty FF waffle, please do it.

• Did the FF wafflers not come out with the same speeches after Haughy was caught buying castles and islands on a state salary. Did Bertie not lead the charge on that one? Once FF, always FF

• Blah blah blah blah blah blah Blah blah blah blah blah blah Blah blah blah blah blah blah …. sorry what was that????

• @oliver by the way

• Tell him to go spend a few days at the airport s and canvas all the young people leaving this country

• You party leader should be held to account for the damage done to this state

• How did Dave O’Shea manage to get an advance copy of FF’s next election manifesto !!!!!

• You’re delusional Olly my boy! You’ll not get within an asses roar of government. You and all your lying, cheating and stealing cronies have destroyed our country and forced another generation to leave their homeland. And you think you’re the party to get Ireland out of the mess that you got Ireland into in the first place? You’ve some brass neck. FF will never reinvent themselves, they’ll just try to pull the wool over people’s eyes once more. They are Ireland’s disgrace. Nuff said.

• You should be ashamed of yourself. Anybody who still has anything to do with Fianna Fáil has no right to call themselves Irish.
      Personally, I can’t wait until they call to my door.

• Leopards and spots

• Ollie, your post is actually quite worrying and telling. Only a true Fianna failer could publicly state such blatant lies.

You sound just like cowen…….”the IMF are not in Ireland”……….

Fianna Fail will come to power over my one way ticket! I will NOT live in a country where you have any authority.

• Top in third level colleges hahaha easy just buy them drinks for signing up #fact oh and send timmy dooley to my door,i’l hammer him again

• Julie 16/02/13 #

Oliver Oliver Oliver, what what what what !! Where did you copy and paste that from a speech from your leader, how can anyone anyone support FF. what are your reasons for your die hard support, you do realise that this is the party that single handily with not a peep form the opposition at the time brought the country too it’s knees. If he really had changed he would have his two buddies ( he is still friends with these traitors) pensions taken off them for treason and abuse of their power, FF couldn’t change they will always be about self interests, brown envelopes etc. they don’t care about the people they just want the power back. I advise you Oliver don’t be so committed to one party, they did you wrong Oliver the did all of us wrong we can see it why can’t you?

• “We are once again the top party in all the third level collages right across the country”. No no ye are not. You are not the largest branch in UCD, the largest University in Ireland. Just one of the many many lies in your post.

• You are the party that drove us into the ground….let us never, ever forget that. I know I fkn won’t!!

• Getting back where they belong

• What I find amazing about people who posts on here that 90% of you never even voted Fianna Fáil I’d nearly put my house on that, when a politician comes to my house and asks for a vote i listen to them listen to what they have to say never in my life will i abuse a politician at my door step because i have the height of respect for all politicians bar none who goes in front of the electorate. I am a member of Fianna Fáil and will not apologise for that I’d rather see alot of people who posts on here and not be afraid of who they support instead of hiding there identity behind pseudo names. you can throw all the abuse you want at me because I’m having a good laugh at it sticks and stones guys sticks and stones. FYI 400,000 people gave FF there No1 vote at election 2011 FF are democratically elected to Dáil Éireann some of you might not like democracy but i do.

• The Landlord’s agent of old, the informer at the Castle gates. Their type is still among us. Riding Ireland raw and telling us that we should be thankful.

• @Oliver. My family were FF since they joined the free state many years ago. No more. The corruption and bank guarantee was he last straw. Republicanism has also been dead in FF since the late 40′s.

You may be brainwashed but At least you are honest in your own mind.

• @Olly: I live near Ballymun. I bought a one bed apartment in 2007 for €230,000. It’s now worth €90,000. I have massive negative equity. I work ridiculous hours to try repay my dept. I have little left when I pay my bills. But I count myself lucky. I still have a job. Many others in my situation have lost everything. Their homes. Their jobs. Through being forced to emigrate, they’ve lost their right to live and work and bring up their kids in the country of their birth. So you know what you can do with your diatribe and your party? Stick ‘em up your Jackie.

• Good to see second poll has FF as most popular political party in Ireland. Clearly pragmatic policies is what people want

• Wahatever about Fianna Fail I think it’s a disgrace that developers who thrived under their leadership pumped buckets of what is now a taxpayer’s bill into the restoration of a chapel in the vatican …considering all the reports of Black masses and orgies in the vatican!

• Antone want to start a New Political party caleed …E no U gh!

• Fianna fail built the country please don’t forget that

• Fianna Fáil have completely rejuvenated ourselves from the ground up , MM great leader and inspirational man , #fiannafailmantillidie @allnegative commentersmainlyshinners

Add New Comment