You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

Micheál Martin: I still keep in touch with Brian Cowen

The Fianna Fáil leader said he had a “good chat” with his predecessor at a recent funeral but neither Cowen nor Bertie Ahern have any input to party policy.

FIANNA FÁIL LEADER Micheál Martin says he still keeps in touch with former taoiseach Brian Cowen and had a “good chat” with his predecessor at the funeral of former Kerry GAA boss Páidí Ó Sé.

He also told TheJournal.ie this week that he had a “quick word” with former taoiseach Bertie Ahern around ten days ago but says that neither of the two former party leaders have any input on current party policy.

“I mean they are private citizens they go about their lives,” he said.

Martin has spent much of his two years as leader of the opposition party trying to rebuild Fianna Fáil and move it away from the era of Ahern – who was found to have lied to the Planning Tribunal – and Cowen – who was taoiseach when Ireland entered the EU/IMF bailout.

Martin said that he’d a “good chat” with Cowen at Ó Sé’s funeral in December and confirmed that he still keeps in touch with the former party leader.

He also said that he met Ahern at another event linked to Ó Sé, the launch of a ‘Páidí Ó Sé Football Festival’ which will take place later this month.

“I met him socially at that, I just had a quick word with him,” he said.

On Fianna Fáil’s poll rating, Cowen and Bertie:

He said that both men would have little interest in contributing to party policy or current political issues, pointing out that this is often the case with former taoisigh.

“Their view on life is they’ve been there,” he said.

“It’s traditional with taoisigh of all parties, generally speaking when they retire they want to let it to the incoming or those who are in incumbent, in office to get on with it.”

Martin also said he does not take a recent poll which found his party was the most popular in the country too seriously: “It’s not great news for us at all really to be honest with you because I don’t take polls that seriously.

“I said this when we were very low in the polls and I’m saying this now. The trend is probably useful in that we’re going in the right direction but it’s going to take a long time for us to regain the trust of the Irish people,” he said in a wide-ranging interview this week.

He said that increasingly the party is getting a more positive reception on the doorsteps when out canvassing describing the difference between now and campaigning during the general election in 2011 as a “big contrast”.

“People are talking to us,” he said.

“People’s main concern on the door is their own obvious… obviously their own position in terms of jobs, capacity to pay bills, future for their young people in terms of jobs, cost of education, the mortgage arrears issue and they’re looking for solutions,” he added.

More: New opinion poll shows Fianna Fáil is Ireland’s most popular party

Read: Irish Mail on Sunday apologises to Brian Cowen over California picture

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

111 Comments
    Mute Greg Ward
    Favourite Greg Ward
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:10 PM

Any cinema where people have the courtesy to keep their phones in their pockets. Unfortunately, they’re in short supply.

Mute mammy
    Favourite mammy
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:39 PM

And that annoys you? Pedantic much!

Mute Ciara McCorley
    Favourite Ciara McCorley
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:49 PM

Bloody annoys me too! Whatever about having your phone on silent but even the light from the phone is infuriating!

Mute Irish Names
    Favourite Irish Names
    Feb 9th 2014, 6:14 PM

http://www.geograph.ie/photo/1194065 la scala Milford, epic

Mute Kyle Wilkinson
    Favourite Kyle Wilkinson
    Feb 9th 2014, 7:11 PM

How the hell would that not annoy anyone?. There really aren’t any acceptable circumstances whatsoever for using a phone at a cinema screening.

Mute Sister Bonjela
    Favourite Sister Bonjela
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:09 PM

I loved the Ambassador when I was a kid. But the cinema I miss the most is the Classic in Harold’s Cross. Dressing up as Magenta, in my youth, for The Rocky Horror Picture Show. Then bringing my daughter and her friends to the kids Saturday matinees. Good times.
    I’d vote for the Lighthouse. I also like the Swan Cinema in Rathmines, it’s cozy.

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:23 PM

I went to the Classic as a kid in the 70′s- The land that Time Forgot, Kelly’s Heroes and Lady and the Tramp were 3 that I can remember seeing there. Another cinema was the Kenilworth. Great times!

Mute Mary King
    Favourite Mary King
    Feb 9th 2014, 11:13 PM

That was the Kenilworth, the Classic was in Terenure

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Feb 9th 2014, 11:44 PM

Mary, I think your right there but if I remember right one closed down and they switched names? I’ve gone to both cinemas.

Mute Sister Bonjela
    Favourite Sister Bonjela
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:10 AM

@Mary. The Classic was originally in Terenure, Albert Kelly was the manager. When the Classic closed down Mr Kelly bought the Kenilworth in Harold’s Cross and changed the name to the Classic. The cinema closed down in 2003 because Mr Kelly wasn’t able for it any more. Sadly, he died in 2005. He was a lovely man and made the Classic a wonderful place. We tried to stop it being demolished, no such luck. Now it’s just another derelict site.

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Feb 10th 2014, 3:19 AM
    Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Feb 10th 2014, 3:20 AM
    Mute Sister Bonjela
    Favourite Sister Bonjela
    Feb 10th 2014, 3:26 AM

Thanks for that, Declan. Fond memories :)

Mute Olive Yew
    Favourite Olive Yew
    Feb 10th 2014, 5:42 AM

Loved The Classic nice info

Mute Ruaidhrí Maxwell
    Favourite Ruaidhrí Maxwell
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:02 PM

Gotta be the lighthouse

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:56 AM

Well, are we voting for a cinema in Ireland as the headline suggests or a cinema nation wide as the headline or examples does not suggest. It’s the IMAX in Mahon Point for me if that means anything being outside of the pale like

Mute wayupnorth
    Favourite wayupnorth
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:10 PM

You’re picking up American inaccuracies and bad English. A person can’t be “bias”. A person is or isn’t “biased”. Bias is the noun. You might as well write, “I could be sarcasm” instead of “sarcastic”.

Mute Ciara McCorley
    Favourite Ciara McCorley
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:52 PM

My god someone needs a chill pill you must be a bundle of laughs…. grammar ok there for you???

Mute Emma Flanagan
    Favourite Emma Flanagan
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:12 PM

Savoy on O’Connell St.

Mute Tríona Barrow
    Favourite Tríona Barrow
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:22 AM

I’ve found their screens can be hit and miss. Love that big one though!

Mute Orela Krawczyk
    Favourite Orela Krawczyk

I loved the old Kino in cork, not a cinema anymore.

Mute Tammy Quane
    Favourite Tammy Quane
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:21 PM

Oh has to be the old Kino in Cork. Proper coffee in a mug and a good film. Good old days, they were.

Mute Edmund Murray
    Favourite Edmund Murray
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:37 PM

The Kino was wonderful. The real mugs and fantastic European movies.
    Sadly missed.

Mute Conor Power
    Favourite Conor Power
    Feb 9th 2014, 9:21 PM

Yes such a pity it closed.

Mute simon shewster
    Favourite simon shewster
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:22 PM

The IFI in Templebar is my favourite by far.

Mute Simon Gregg
    Favourite Simon Gregg
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:36 PM

Buttered popcorn?

Mute simon shewster
    Favourite simon shewster
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:43 PM

Can’t remember, its been a good while since I was there. They show classics and art flicks a good bit. If I lived in Dublin I’d be going the whole time.

Mute Simon Gregg
    Favourite Simon Gregg
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:46 PM

Must check it out

Mute simon shewster
    Favourite simon shewster
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:48 PM

Irish film Institute. Google it.

Mute Matthew Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Matthew Fitzpatrick
    Feb 9th 2014, 7:28 PM

IFI rocks, great little cinema, cool café too!

Mute roisin macdonagh
    Favourite roisin macdonagh
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:29 PM

Lighthouse. At least you stand a fighting chance of not having the slurping of gallon sized drinks, the crackle of kilo sized sweet bags or the loud conversations either via mobile or with their companions of far too many cinema goers these days, to contend with. When did we turn into a nation who can’t sit quietly for the length of a film without needing a picnic and megaphones affirmation from our friends to sustain us? And why do cinema managers not do more to stamp this out?

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims

We only have newly built soulless boxes in Limerick. No character or atmosphere at all really. Staffed by kids that can do the job but some often know nothing about customer service. ( although some do ) . All the same really nothing to choose from. My living room is my favourite cinema these days.

Mute simon shewster
    Favourite simon shewster

limerick has got a right hammering since the recession, lived there from 2000-06 and loved it, always a great vibe. I was gutted when I heard the davin pub went. My old haunt for a few years,. now the landmark that is/was Ivans is shut, amongst many others I’d imagine. Anyway thats a bit off topic. hope thinks pick soon up in lovely Limerick.

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Feb 9th 2014, 11:16 PM

Storm cinema out the monaleen road is a serious spot lad. Best cinema I’ve been to

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Feb 10th 2014, 9:24 AM

It’s called the Odeon now. Was there last week no better or worse than the Omniplex and Showtime.

Mute James Murphy
    Favourite James Murphy
    Feb 9th 2014, 6:15 PM

The Screen Cinema, Dublin. It’s a lovely cinema with great staff.

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:25 PM

Who remembers The Green cinema in Dublin?

Mute Doug barking
    Favourite Doug barking
    Feb 9th 2014, 6:31 PM

Double seats in the back row! So much innocent fun…,

Mute Liz McCollum
    Favourite Liz McCollum
    Feb 9th 2014, 8:59 PM

Great cinema, Declan. Sacrificed for the Green Shopping Center… along with the Dandelion, Rice’s pub and Pierre’s.

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Feb 9th 2014, 10:04 PM

Liz, PV Doyle bought it for 1.5 million and tore it down within a year. He must have known how much the land was going to be worth.

Mute Edward Patton
    Favourite Edward Patton
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:18 PM

Cineworld on Parnell Street, quality cinema and only cinema i think in Ireland that has IMAX

Mute King Olaf
    Favourite King Olaf
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:24 PM

Do they still do that deal where you can buy monthly membership and see as many films as you want? Loved that when I was in college.

Mute Emmet Walsh
    Favourite Emmet Walsh
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:50 PM

Yes they do, i think it’s €20 p/m buy you have to sign up for the full year. The only thing holding me back from signing up is the drive from south to north side every time i want to go to the cinema. Hopefully they open one on the south side soon :)

Mute Carina Clarke
    Favourite Carina Clarke
    Feb 9th 2014, 8:47 PM

Was it the Virgin then? Think it was 10.99 for monthly unlimited.

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    Feb 9th 2014, 11:17 PM

Used to be the Virgin cinema. I had the unlimited card at Cineworld when I lived in town. Fantastic value. I think it was €16.99 per month at the time…. What was it called before Cineworld took it over? IMC?

Mute Caitriona Smith
    Favourite Caitriona Smith
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:36 PM

I loved the Stella in Rathmines because it was just so awful you couldn’t help loving hating it.

Mute Carina Clarke
    Favourite Carina Clarke
    Feb 9th 2014, 7:43 PM

The Stella was great. Rocky horror on a Friday night.

Mute Liz McCollum
    Favourite Liz McCollum
    Feb 9th 2014, 8:53 PM

The Stella did The Blues Brothers. The Classic in Harold’s Cross showed The Rocky Horror.
    We called the Stella the Smella, because it stank!

Mute Carina Clarke
    Favourite Carina Clarke
    Feb 9th 2014, 9:10 PM

I lived in both areas, probably a bit confused which cinema showed what.

Mute Damien Kelly
    Favourite Damien Kelly
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:22 PM

Lighthouse Cinema is the best; cineworld Parnell St for Hollywood fare

Mute Bernie O Connor
    Favourite Bernie O Connor
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:03 PM

The Phoenix in Dingle..

Mute Conor Flood
    Favourite Conor Flood
    Feb 9th 2014, 10:19 PM

Bourbon creams cup of tea ( make your own ) and an introduction to the movie from the owner in a bow tie , the Phoenix , dingle , is a wonderful throw back to the way a movie should be enjoyed . And me a dub !!!!!

Mute Lára de Siúin
    Favourite Lára de Siúin
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:04 PM

Has to be Liffey Valley! Expensive though.

Mute Sammy The Bull
    Favourite Sammy The Bull
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:16 PM

I’d watch a movie with you in it any time. Will you be my goomara?

Mute Andrew Deegan
    Favourite Andrew Deegan
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:24 PM

Ah il being you to Dundrum, VIP seats too

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:26 PM

Dundrum is on clusterf*** of a cinema. Terrible layout in the foyee

Mute Ciara McCorley
    Favourite Ciara McCorley
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:58 PM

Dirty fecker!

Mute don mur
    Favourite don mur
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:15 PM

Dont have one. They are all over priced and a total rip off.

Mute Sammy The Bull
    Favourite Sammy The Bull

Something like ten euro for medium popcorn and medium coke in Sligo. Is it any wonder people would rather stream movies online?

Mute art vandelay
    Favourite art vandelay
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:53 PM

No need to buy much food in cinema at all…Rip off wasteage. Just head to cheapola shop and stock up on chocolate,sweets, and drinks.buy tickets and off ya go. Family of four done on the cheap. It also helps if you eat dinner at home first and then go.if it involves dinosaurs theres usually less eating and more staring. This is coming from someone who’s bagged at least 7euro in brown shite today,collected over the months..tedious addictive OCD activity that a Sunday can accommodate occasionally,especially when Erdinger and lemon haze is involved.Must get out more!might go to the cinema without the kids…b@stards.. But you gotta love em really…really you do.

Mute Ciara McCorley
    Favourite Ciara McCorley
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:54 PM

This is why is women have handbags! ! I take in popcorn, drinks and sweets in my bag!

Mute alan mowles
    Favourite alan mowles
    Feb 9th 2014, 7:18 PM

Common usage is the criterion; where it Works use it. We are not academies francaises. It out of date so quote a rule It makes no difference; so split your infinitive: finally they let us to finally close.

Mute Mary Walshe
    Favourite Mary Walshe
    Feb 9th 2014, 6:00 PM

I love to go to the cinema as I’m not really a pub person but the cinema in Kilkenny must be the worst in the country! Only has four screens and full of kids films. Not even showing August: Osage County. Grrrrr!

Mute Rob Bulman
    Favourite Rob Bulman
    Feb 9th 2014, 9:09 PM

Honestly you should consider yourself lucky. It’s appalling. Nothing actually happens in it and then it just ends.

Mute Shea Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Shea Fitzpatrick
    Feb 9th 2014, 6:22 PM

Swan in Rathmines

Mute Aisling Scanlon
    Favourite Aisling Scanlon
    Feb 9th 2014, 6:06 PM

Carrick cineplex in Carrick on Shannon isnt bad at all. They have their own cafe so you can bring un wine or coffee into the movie, there is nice comfy reclining seats. Offer special screenings for children with Autism once a month too! :-) There is only two screens in it though so can have annoying movie times.

Mute Fergus Garvey
    Favourite Fergus Garvey
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:06 PM

Odeon at the point…

Mute Billy O'Shea
    Favourite Billy O'Shea
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:47 PM

The Phoenix cinema in Dingle. Real old fashioned charm about it, and it has a balcony.

Mute King Olaf
    Favourite King Olaf
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:06 PM

UCI Coolock (or whatever its called now) only for the buttered popcorn

Mute D
    Favourite D
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:08 PM

Are you sure it is butter …. Some cinemas are using Stork …

Mute Simon Gregg
    Favourite Simon Gregg
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:15 PM

Got it in one. Only place you can get butter on your popcorn nowadays. Pity about. The amount of sh1tbags hanging around the place though

Mute King Olaf
    Favourite King Olaf

Well whatever kind of oily probably not dairy based substance it is, it is delicious and have yet to find anywhere else that does it.

It is a pity about the number of shitebags that hang around there sometimes. When I was learning to drive, its where my dad taught me to always park beside a nicer car to prevent yours being robbed or broken into.

Mute Simon Gregg
    Favourite Simon Gregg
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:27 PM

Not to mention the incident outside the cinema when a young man died.

Mute King Olaf
    Favourite King Olaf
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:42 PM

Yeah I remember that well unfortunately. All for a stupid phone that would be worth less than a fiver today.

Mute Simon Gregg
    Favourite Simon Gregg
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:45 PM

Jesus ya. Goes to show you………

Mute lunadoran
    Favourite lunadoran
    Feb 9th 2014, 9:03 PM

Can get budder on popcorn in odeon blanch…yum yum

Mute Laura O'Reilly
    Favourite Laura O'Reilly
    Feb 9th 2014, 10:49 PM

You can get buttered popcorn in the cinema in the square. My favourite cinema was the old in Harold’s cross we used to go with our summer project :)

Mute MK
    Favourite MK
    Feb 9th 2014, 7:26 PM

I love The Savoy in Dublin (especially Screen 1!) and IMC Tallaght for their leather chairs in the VIP Area! :)

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan

The Triskel in cork city is fantastic whenever they show films. I’m especially a fan of the regular twisted celluloid showings. Great ambience, great picture and sound and an incredible eye for quality.

Mute Robert Kelly
    Favourite Robert Kelly
    Feb 9th 2014, 6:07 PM

I have to say the eye cinema is my favourite in the whole country other than dundrum i love the luxury screen in the eye cinema. Every screen in the eye cinema is so comfortable and clean and WARM. also everyone there is nice , there is something about galway everyone seems happier than the people in dundrum though, they seem jollier and talkative

Mute Lad
    Favourite Lad
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:26 PM

The reel picture ballincollig! Finding out the movie you were going to see was in Screen 1 or 2 was fantastic as a kid

Mute Caolán McKenna
    Favourite Caolán McKenna
    Feb 9th 2014, 6:00 PM

Has to be Queen’s Film Theatre in Belfast. Has a lovely bar for a wine or beer before your movie and is good at showing lesser known/ foreign movies.

Mute Rachael Goggins
    Favourite Rachael Goggins
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:45 PM

I remember myself and 3 friends went to see some film in the cinema in Thurles! It was during the day so as far as I can remember we were the only 4 in it. Your man, who’s a strange man any way actually stood at the door and said 2 that way pointing inside and 2 that way pointing upstairs! We weren’t even allowed sit together!!!! Some laugh

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Feb 9th 2014, 7:57 PM

Forum cinema in Glasthule Co Dublin was great

Mute John Deane
    Favourite John Deane
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:14 PM

I dont go to the cinema anymore

Mute don mur
    Favourite don mur

John have you given up wiping your arse too?

Mute Sammy The Bull
    Favourite Sammy The Bull
    Feb 9th 2014, 6:06 PM

I seen True Grit and The Fighter in New York.

The sound quality was completely different to that of Irish cinemas.

It was like being at a Metallica concert.

Mute Zoë Ní Cholmáin
    Favourite Zoë Ní Cholmáin
    Feb 9th 2014, 7:33 PM

I remember the old gaiety cinema in Sligo, went to see all the Disney classics there in the mid 90s. It was only two screens then but I remember being excited going up the well worn carpet stairs and being ushered into the cinema. Sadly its 12 screens are suffering post-recession, staff aren’t friendly and there isn’t much cleanliness to speak of in the place. I also love the GFT in Glasgow and the bfi on London’s southbank is how the movie going experience should be!

Mute Carina Clarke
    Favourite Carina Clarke
    Feb 9th 2014, 8:51 PM

Zoe do you remember the Savoy cinema in High Street? I remember seeing the jungle book in it.

Mute David Ryan
    Favourite David Ryan
    Feb 9th 2014, 10:16 PM

Triskel Christchurch in Cork. A deconsecrated 18th century church converted into a cinema, art gallery and live music venue. Can’t beat it for atmosphere
    http://triskelartscentre.ie/

Mute SeanNorris
    Favourite SeanNorris
    Feb 9th 2014, 8:09 PM

The Stella in Rathmines despite being a dive! The Blues Brothers on a Friday nite, The classic in Harolds cross was paletial by comparison complete with Rocky Horror show.

Mute El Grogan
    Favourite El Grogan
    Feb 9th 2014, 11:13 PM

Savoy, screen 1. End of debate

Mute Bilbo Naggins
    Favourite Bilbo Naggins
    Feb 9th 2014, 7:47 PM

Athlone! staff are lovely and the recent upgrades makes it x10 more enjoyable

Mute Nessa Jennings
    Favourite Nessa Jennings
    Feb 10th 2014, 6:59 AM

The Screen Cinema the simplest to go to ( yes pity about the sign) the IFI should remove that € 1 surcharge for non~ members and funny rule about explicit content films re: the € 1 ( can`t understand it ) The Lighthouse is for me now the best cinema the building is amazing and it holds on to the films longer.

Mute Emma Brennan
    Favourite Emma Brennan
    Feb 9th 2014, 7:46 PM

IFI

Mute kingstown
    Favourite kingstown
    Feb 9th 2014, 6:53 PM

Fav is the Odeon the point village

Mute Bazalini
    Favourite Bazalini
    Feb 9th 2014, 7:03 PM

Big shout out to QFT (QUEENS FILM THEATRE) in Belfast.

Mute Riot Tapes
    Favourite Riot Tapes
    Feb 9th 2014, 6:19 PM

Are there any great cinemas in the entire country?

Mute Riot Tapes
    Favourite Riot Tapes
    Feb 9th 2014, 8:01 PM

For the down-voters:

I’ve been to pretty much every one of the “great” cinemas listed in the comments and they don’t compare to the best in the US/UK.

Ireland doesn’t even have a proper IMAX.

I love movies, but really – people – Dundrum, a GREAT cinema…? Based on what? The fact you can see movies there?

Mute Ray Cullen
    Favourite Ray Cullen
    Feb 10th 2014, 6:32 PM

Ireland has one proper Imax screen in cineworld on parnell street. Screen 17 it’s awesome

Mute Riot Tapes
    Favourite Riot Tapes
    Feb 10th 2014, 6:42 PM

Sorry to disappoint you, but it’s not a proper IMAX. Google liemax and prepare to be annoyed.

Mute Sammy The Bull
    Favourite Sammy The Bull
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:20 PM

The Gaiety in Sligo is a dirty, architectural eyesore like pretty much every other building in the town, and pretty much every other building in Ireland.

My favourite memories are being so terminally bored during Patch Adams that me and my friend started harassing the only other two people watching it and getting chased out of it with a syringe by other kids when I was about 12.

Also, getting into trouble for using the phone on the wall when you enter the section showing your movie and telling a k*nd usher to f*ck off out of frustration and embarrassment after I took my seat.

Mute Sammy The Bull
    Favourite Sammy The Bull
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:33 PM

Why the red thumbs?

Patch Adams was a dreadful movie. Up there with Prometheus, Cabin in the Woods, The Pact and Vanilla Sky as the worst I’ve seen.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:42 PM

No no no. Vanilla sky is bad. But nothing beats the juror..what a bad bad movie

Mute Eric Duffy
    Favourite Eric Duffy
    Feb 9th 2014, 7:15 PM

Vanilla sky wasnt that bad its just a shame Tom cruise was lead, it had a cracking soundtrack and was originally based off a Spanish version of the movie.

Mute Zoë Ní Cholmáin
    Favourite Zoë Ní Cholmáin
    Feb 9th 2014, 7:35 PM

We’re discussing the BEST cinema, not the WORST

Mute Carina Clarke
    Favourite Carina Clarke
    Feb 9th 2014, 8:55 PM

Eric, it’s a shame Tom Cruise is cast in any film. Between himself and Sylvester Stallone, they just can’t help but interfere with the script.

Mute micheal285
    Favourite micheal285
    Feb 9th 2014, 6:36 PM

My Sitting Room will do just fine : I remember a time when u wud only go to the Cinema when u were broke : it’s way to expensive nowadays .

Mute Adam Wayne Doyle
    Favourite Adam Wayne Doyle
    Feb 10th 2014, 8:14 PM

The screen cinema is the best there is. I think what makes it so pleasant is the staff. Especially that Adam guy.

Mute Oisín Ó Cuilleanáin
    Favourite Oisín Ó Cuilleanáin
    Feb 10th 2014, 8:15 PM

God that guys a dick

Mute Shoe lady
    Favourite Shoe lady
    Feb 9th 2014, 10:38 PM

Phoenix Cinema in Dingle and the IFI in Dublin.

Mute Paul O'Brien
    Favourite Paul O'Brien
    Feb 10th 2014, 9:45 AM

The Light House is the best cinema not only in Dublin but possibly in the world. A tall person can actually fit in the seats without discomfort. The design and ambience are great. Patrons are well behaved. You can also hang out there and get a drink/coffee/food, and even bring a drink into the cinema. There are baby-friendly screenings for people who can’t leave the kid at home. It’s a wonderful place.

Mute Adrienne Lyons
    Favourite Adrienne Lyons
    Feb 9th 2014, 9:32 PM

The Carlton cinema on O Connell St was my favourite as they showed Hamner House of Horror films

Mute Heather Knowles
    Favourite Heather Knowles
    Feb 10th 2014, 9:05 AM

Savoy cinema, especially screen one. Feels like a proper cinema unlike the multiplexes and isn’t full of unsupervised, screaming kids running crazy, kicking seats and throwing things at you. The people viewing the movies are actually interested in watching them as opposed to talking, using phones etc and the tickets are a more reasonable price.

Mute Sammy The Bull
    Favourite Sammy The Bull
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:35 PM

I love it when someone burps loudly during a quiet/emotional/climactic part in a movie.

Happened during The Town and it made that movie for me.

Mute Mairead Adamson
    Favourite Mairead Adamson
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:55 AM

Am surprised no one has mentioned the cinema in Greystones for the sake of nostalgia! I loved it.

Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    Feb 9th 2014, 7:27 PM

Stillorgan and Odeon in point village,they are always nearly empty….oops thats not good right?

Mute Julian King
    Favourite Julian King
    Feb 9th 2014, 6:33 PM

Showtime Cinema in Limerick is my favorite and closest, has digital screens.
    Bit chilly in there last week though.

Mute Louise Ní Fhiannachta
    Favourite Louise Ní Fhiannachta
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:35 AM

The Phoenix Cinema in Dingle. Gold.

Mute Bert McCann
    Favourite Bert McCann
    Feb 10th 2014, 9:26 AM

And not only has the Phoenix helped welcomed the likes of Gabriel Byrne, Saiorse Ronan, Sarah Miles. Stephen Frears and many more to the Dingle International Film Festival, it provides tea and biscuits at the weekly Tuesday night Film Club.

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    Feb 9th 2014, 11:22 PM

Cineworld and IFI in City Centre Dublin. Even though the ticket and food counter in Dundrum is very badly laid out, the cinema is quite nice. Comfy seats.

Mute Dan Sullivan
    Favourite Dan Sullivan
    Feb 10th 2014, 8:40 AM

The Lighthouse,smithfield

Mute Cian Caffrey
    Favourite Cian Caffrey
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:59 AM

There’s no question. The old Ormonde cinema in Greystones. Scene of the most famous anti-obscenity protest in history.

Mute Brendan Eddery
    Favourite Brendan Eddery
    Feb 10th 2014, 5:28 AM

Swan Centre Rathmines. Not sure if its all the screens or just the one i was in recently (upstairs) but dead comfy seats made for an enjoyable visit. Ireland lacks the cinema experience you get in the UK with the likes of the Everyman and Ritz cinemas where its like a pub/cinema club experience. Definitely a gap in the market there.

Mute Eoin Dixon Murphy
    Favourite Eoin Dixon Murphy
    Feb 10th 2014, 8:08 AM

Definitely Bray. Delighted you mentioned it!

Mute Olive Yew
    Favourite Olive Yew
    Feb 10th 2014, 5:40 AM

The Stella in Rathmines…

Mute Stuart McCaul
    Favourite Stuart McCaul
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:17 AM

Dara 2 for the win

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Feb 9th 2014, 11:47 PM

I wonder if anyone knows that Ireland at one time had more cinemas per head of population then anywhere else in the world.

Mute LT Dub
    Favourite LT Dub
    Feb 10th 2014, 8:23 AM

I’m surprised that no one has mentioned The Adelphi cinema. I loved the entrance with all of the white light bulbs from the canopy outside. Very old – school Hollywood in Dublin City Centre.

Now I like the Showtime Cinema in Ashbourne as the seats are so comfortable and the cinema is clean and the screens are really good.

Mute Kevin Hughes
    Favourite Kevin Hughes
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:27 PM

Loved the Savoy in Kilkenny, a bit of a run down kip, where legend had it that down stairs you had to wear bicycle clips to keep vermin from running up your trousers leg, but I still have fond memories of getting an apple and a pack of taytos and being introduced to those wonderful Clint Eastwood westerns. Last film I saw there was The Shinning. After much renovation it is now the fantastic Warergate Theatre.

Mute Sean Birkhead
    Favourite Sean Birkhead
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:57 AM
    Mute Brendan Eddery
    Favourite Brendan Eddery
    Feb 10th 2014, 5:36 AM

Fair dues to the Lighthouse for going for the comp and it’s a great cinema but this their competition the Everyman chain and they’re fricking nice – http://www.everymancinema.com/cinemas/hampstead/gallery

Mute Brianog2
    Favourite Brianog2
    Feb 9th 2014, 11:51 PM

My couch

Video Player is loading.
Current Time 0:00
Duration 0:00
Loaded: 0%
Stream Type LIVE
Remaining Time 0:00

1x
    • descriptions off, selected
    • captions off, selected