TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Motorcyclist killed and passenger injured in Dublin collision

The twenty-year-old was killed in a collision with a car in Darndale this afternoon.

Priorswood Road area in Darndale
Image: Google Maps

A TWENTY-YEAR-OLD man has been killed in a two-vehicle collision on the Priorswood Road in Darndale in Dublin.

The collision occurred at 3.45pm this afternoon. The 28-year-old male pillion passenger was seriously injured and has been removed to Beaumont Hospital.

The female driver of the car was uninjured.

The road is closed for an examination by Garda Forensic investigators and diversions are in place.

Garda are asking witnesses to contact them at Coolock Garda Station on 01 666 4200 or on the Garda confidential line on 1800 666 111.

Read next:

Comments (29 Comments)

• pagan 08/07/12 #

The garda operation slow down was for a 24hour period from Friday last to Saturday night.
    But do we really need the guards to baby sit us as we drive and tell us all to slow down.We all make our own decisions when we drive.
    It’s time people woke up and took responsibility on the roads when driving.It’s not just speeding that kills. Its a whole list of things from catching the traffic lights as they turn Amber to red, to texting on a motorway doing 120km.
    My thoughts to the family of the person who died.May the rip.

• I drive motorbikes myself n I have a saying, when on a motorbike an a accident happens weather ur in the right or ur in the wrong ur coming out the worst of it,
    Most people who have never driven a motorbike don’t realise how venerable bikes drivers are so please keep an eye out 4 motorcyclist, RIP that poor fella n I hope the 2nd guy pulls tru

• It would nice if all motorists had to also learn to ride a bike, i know when i learnt it made me a better and more observant car driver. I always look over my shoulder and check my blind spot when changing lanes, so many car drivers don’t and just check their mirrors (if they check anything). (although i would add in this case no one said the car driver is to blame)

• R I P

• R.I.P

• This was not your normal road accident, with motorcycle and car colliding, with The unfortunate motorcycle coming off the worst.

It would appear the motorcycle was a scrambler type off road bike, where these two unfortunate but foolish lads were joyriding through the fields around Darndale, drove from the fields straight onto the road and collided with a Ford Fiesta driver my a woman, who then, for some reason apparently fled the seen on foot.

I received this information from an eye witness who is from Darndale yesterday evening.

R.I.P. to the deceased young man, what a tragedy, for someone so young, with all of life ahead of him.

• Rip

• I have been all three cyclist, motorbike and car driver with all three brings an equal responsibility for your own safety safe distance from other road users, speed modification and awareness of the weather conditions god love the poor deceased ‘s family waking up to a life without their young man a parents nightmare is the day a child drives home on a motorbike I know it would be mine and my dear departed father shared that with me many years ago I sold the bike shortly afterwards

• What’s the accident rate this weekend, when this Garda Slow Down thing is going on, compared with other weekends?

• RIP very tragic for the family 2 brothers no news about it but story is the older guy died also dont know how true that is , but god my prayers are with the female driver ..

• Edel, while I do agree with you, it would be perfectly normal for someone to collapse in shock in that situation, and who would blame her.

The report I received was that she left the scene because she felt intimidated by the presence of the injured parties friends, I was not suggesting the lady did anything wrong. I didn’t say this earlier, as it was an unsubstantiated report, but has been repeated to me since from a different source.

Hopefully she is ok, and getting some help to cope with the awful event in her life.

Add New Comment