TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Mullen: Reports I smirked at abortion meeting “entirely untrue”

The independent Senator says he is “taken aback” by suggestions he was ‘smirking’ when addressing women in Leinster House.

Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Updated, April 25, 14:08

SENATOR RÓNÁN MULLEN has again denied that he was smirking while he addressed women who had undergone abortions during a meeting at Leinster House last week, describing the suggestions as “entirely untrue”.

Mullen this afternoon said he was “probably grimacing” during the meeting, which was being addressed by a group of women who undergone abortions because of serious foetal disabilities.

The group had visited Leinster House last Tuesday to address Oireachtas members in advance of the discussions on Clare Daly’s bill which would have legalised abortion in circumstances where the life of the mother is in danger.

Mullen’s statement came after the Irish Times this morning quoted the husband of one of the women who had addressed the meeting, who said Mullen had asked him: “You’ve got a bigger agenda here James, don’t you?”

In a statement provided to Newstalk’s Lunchtime show, which has shared it with TheJournal.ie, Mullen said he was “deeply conscious of the sensitivity of the situation and the respect due to all persons present” when he addressed the meeting himself.

“I sympathised with the families and offered my perspective on why I felt that abortion was not the best response in that situation”, Mullen said.

At one point, the same man accused me of smirking while I was speaking. I was taken aback by this. It was absolutely untrue. [...]

I did, however, feel uncomfortable at that point with the atmosphere that had been generated in the room and I replied that I was probably grimacing.

Having offered to speak with the women on a one-to-one basis, independently of the involvement of the National Women’s Council of Ireland and the Irish Family Planning Association who had jointly arranged the event, Mullen said he then wished to shake the man’s hand.

“He took my hand reluctantly but said he disliked me and my argumentative style. When I tried to explain that I wanted a sincere and respectful exchange of views, he bristled and motioned me away,” Mullen said.

“It was at that point that I asked whether there was a separate agenda here as this was not what normally happened when politicians came along to follow up with people who came in to lobby them.

“The question was not asked in either a rhetorical or leading manner. I only asked the question once because it was clear that the man did not wish to speak with me.”

Mullen said the Irish Times reporter had not questioned him on the remark attributed to him in the paper, “You’ve got a bigger agenda here James, don’t you?”, and that he would have explained his turn of events if he had been asked.

On April 25, reporter Aoife Carr responded to this assertion, saying she had twice asked Mullen “whether he had asked a member of the group what their real agenda was”.

“On both occasions he responded that all his comments were made in the ‘public forum’,” Carr said.

Mullen said he wished to record his sympathies with the women in this case “while remaining true to my own view that even severely disabled babies with a short life expectancy deserve to be allowed live their natural life”.

I do regret any attempt by various lobbying groups to use such sad cases to pursue a much wider abortion agenda. I also regret any attempt, whether by misrepresentation, scorn or invective, to marginalise the contribution of pro-life persons or to intimidate them from entering the debate. I am surprised that such a brief exchange, which was entirely courteous on my side, should cause such a furore on social media and provide the basis for an article in the Irish Times. I call on the media to treat everybody fairly and with respect, and to ensure a balanced treatment of these very sensitive issues at all times.

Mullen’s statement came after James Burke, whose wife was one of the women addressing the meeting, told the Lunchtime show that as he was leaving Mullen had stopped and said, ‘Well done for speaking’, followed by “something like ‘well played’.”

After Mullen had asked about his ‘agenda’, and then repeated his question, Burke had told him: ‘Look, I don’t want to talk about this. You know? This is not the time or place. Would you mind just leaving?’”

Mullen had told TheJournal.ie last Saturday he was “horrified” at suggestions he had been unpleasant to the group at last week’s meeting.

In full: Mullen rejects ‘smirking’ suggestion as “absolutely untrue” >

Read: Ronan Mullen horrified at ‘nasty’ suggestions over abortion debate >

Read next:

Comments (74 Comments)

• At this point we’re into he-says/he-says territory. Have any of the other politicians that were in the room at the time been asked for confirmation of what actually happened?

P.

• My wife and I had to travel to the UK last week for an abortion as after 10 weeks of pregnancy, we were told that our baby was not forming correctly and that it had no chance of survival.

Having to travel to the UK was bad enough but we were met by a group of religious ‘do gooders’ singing hymns, praying and calling us sinners. It was very upsetting for us both.

Until you are in the position to have to actually need an abortion, it is very hard to comment objectively.

• Nucky, I am truly sorry that you had this experience, it’s upsetting even reading about it so I can’t even imagine how terrible it was for you and your wife. Take care of yourselves and each other.

• Many thanks for your kind words.

• @Nucky Thompson

It’s like everything one experiences in life. One never knows or should comment about something they know nothing about. I hope you are both feeling stronger each day and look to the future with strong hearts. Can’t stand any type of ‘do gooders’. Heads are where the sun doesn’t and will never shine!

• Thanks Sheila, very kind words.

• That is so so sad. You are all in my thoughts and prayers. Its truly terrible the way families in your situation are treated by the laws of this land, and I am ashamed to live in a country that has so little respect for prospective parents faced with such a traumatic decision. Shame on every single one of them and I can honestly say that if they were faced with such devestating news tomorrow – the legislation would be changed asap.

• So sorry to hear of your loss Nucky, and angered on your behalf by the ignorance of those protestors who made your experience all the more hurtful.
      I would never like to be in the position where I had to make the choice you have had to make, but I don’t think I have the right to say you should or should not make it, this is why I am firmly pro choice.
      Perhaps those protestors should remember that they were told “Judge not lest ye be judged”.

• the same man that agreed with the withholding of approved drugs to cancer patients. nuff said.

• He can’t even apologise properly! His “regrets” are that everyone else is up to something with their “agendas”!

I wonder what Sen Mullen’s agenda was when he asked to have a one-on-one with the women?

• As was said about Michael Howard in the UK many years ago ‘there’s something of the night about him’. It must be great to be as morally superior as Ronan.

• This…. person… was elected to the Senate on the NUI panel. I have a feeling that a high percentage of graduates of the NUI colleges don’t vote in Senate elections, which makes it all too easy for someone with an agenda to push to gather up votes of the like minded and get a result on relatively small numbers.

I am a graduate and have a vote, but to my total shame I’ve never used it. I did a straw poll of a few others a while back, and they haven’t ever voted either. I am appalled that this man is supposedly representing me. Absolutely appalled.

As long as there is a senate I’ll never again waste a vote that could keep him and his ilk out of it and I intend to become a complete bore in persuading other people to use their votes too.

• He belongs in 1950’s Ireland, let him go back there please and take his Church loyalty with him.

• Oh and Ronan Mullens wasn’t lobbying for his own agenda. Very narrow minded man.

• Just like he supposedly denied using the word agenda at first, crawl away back underneath that rock Ronan. Despicable carry on!

• clearly this guy is a Christian fundamentalist who wants to impose his views on the vast majority of rational people in this state who can see that forcing women to carry to full term babies with a zero per cent chance of survival is completely cruel and unnesacary

• What a Christian Sen. Mullen is. Despicable, small minded man. The sooner the Seanad is gone the better, he’d never win an election to the Dàil.

• Is it me or does Mullen look like ŵill from the inbetweeners?

• Think you’re right, he comes across as very arrogant in that debate with the professor. Thanks be to God its the Senate’s last term…well hopefully.

• I think the man doth protest TOO much. Senator ,just apologise and be done with it . Your comments are not helpful and you must agree to disagree . The women are vulnerable , they have come out publically and discussed what is a tragic and painful experience . Respect senator ,works both ways, these ladies and their families deserve it. Respect !

• If Mullen is not capable of showing genuine empathy then what us doing representing the vulnerable people in this country? Falseness is such a disgusting attribute.

• It wasn’t a “smirk”, it was a “grimace”. Same difference?

• Grimace: A sharp contortion of the face expressive of pain, contempt, or disgust.

So when they were telling him their stories, he was frowning at them? Whatever the lad’s opinions he should have listened to them with respect and not acted up in any way. He obviously lacked the maturity to do so.

• Whether he grimaced or whatever his comments about the women’s council being a lobby group and that he doesn’t think they should be involved smacks of hypocrisy…he’s a one man lobbyist for 1930s catholic Ireland.

• The guy has no business in politics and is clearly religiously motivated to do some nasty things but using language like that only makes secularists look as zealous as the religious. Surely you can criticise him in a more dignified way. This is coming from someone who does not hold back on my views on religion there is a world of difference between not being afraid to offend when reason necessitates it and offence just for the sake of it.

• What a waste of tax payers money he is.he even looks like brian cowen.shame on those who voted for him.if ever we needed proof that the Seanad should be abolished then he is it

• Jaysus, we’ve elected the republican party into office.

• Another Narrow minded conservative..i really thought we had turned a corner..lol..
    “Go to the back..there’s always one..isnt there”

• So the guy has a smiley face …. perhaps we could invest as much time on dealing with a very serious constitutional issue ???

• Look at the facts here. Ronan Mullen is being attacked based on total hearsay. Even if you disagree with his views (Which I don’t!), the insults and personal attacks through social media are vile and disgraceful.
    There is ABSOLUTELY NO EVIDENCE to say that he was nasty or unpleasant to anyone.
    And who gives a F**k if he looks like Brian Cowen or the Cookie Monster…It’s totally irrelevant!

• It’s very relevant!

• Sorry there is evidence, they people he was rude and abusive have come forward and told there story

• That’s still not evidence…Evidence is concrete and this is anything but. The Senator is on record as coming late to the meeting & didn’t know this guy’s name. The man (James) said he called him by his name. Senator Mullen released a statement about this incident. I suggest you read it…

• EMD 23/04/12 #

Right so these women and their partners are lying, making it up for no good reason? Are you serious? These people are hurting and have had to go through an unecessarily traumatic experience because the care they needed was denied them in Ireland. I think we all know what the Senators views on abortion are and his rather misogynistic approach to life so yeah my money is on the women and their partners as the victims in this scenario.

• I did not suggest that anyone was lying. What I do think is that people on social media are only too happy to take the incident out of context and vilify Ronan Mullen.
      I have met the man on occasion and he is anything but misogynistic. And yes, I do know all about his opinions on abortion and totally with most of them. I also think that the personal and vitriolic criticism of the man based on this possibly says something about the pro-abortion lobby in Ireland.

• Adam
      It looks like your catholicism has clouded your so-called science and reasoning view point , and until you walk a mile in someone elses shoes, then you dont get the right to judge them. Judge ye not lest you be judged ….it says so in the bible. The 3 lovely ladies that were on the late late show and reduced the nation to tears, on Friday night said that they found 1 politician to be very disrespectful about their circumstances – what more proof do you want? Or were they making THAT up because they had a hidden agenda!!!!!!!!!!!!
      Come back when you’re fully mature.

• EMD 23/04/12 #

He deserves vilification for his actions and his subsequent inability to admit wrongdoing and apologise for his lack of empathy and unprofessional behaviour.

• Ok,
      So we want to direct the mudslinging at me now.
      I’m Catholic and Pro-Life…So what!
      Being pro-life, as I regularly explain to people, is not actually a viewpoint reserved for religious zealots and nuts.
      Their are pro-life atheists, muslims and every other type of person you can think of. The core of the issue is the science that supports the right to life.

• Jay funk – ….” people he was rude and abusive have come forward and told there story

Adam………”That’s still not evidence…Evidence is concrete and this is anything but.”

I think the leagel eagles would take exception to your attitude Adam. These people are eye witnesses. If the Senator thinks he is being liabled or slandered then he should chance his arm in front of a judge.

• And it was “science” that told them that their babies were “incompatable with life.” I also am Catholic, but like I said earlier – judge ye not lest you be judged. But given your a young man abortion is not a sin you’ll ever have to worry about commiting!

• Some of the comments on this are a disgrace, Ronan Mullen is not getting fair treatment. Liberal Ireland is like a Taliban, agree with the gang or be lynched.

• So…Catholics subscribe to Catholic teaching…Is that surprising?
    In my experience, yes, most Catholics do agree with the teaching of the Church. Especially young Catholics who are sick and tired of being attacked and ridiculed for their faith. Many young catholics grow up in this society and basically see a hostility toward their beliefs and it’s no surprise that many become more loyal to their faith as a result…

• EMD 23/04/12 #

I don’t mind you having faith, whatever floats your boat, rock on BUT I do mind terribly you imposing the tenets of your faith on me and on other Irish women. I don’t believe what you believe so why is choice being denied to me and women like those who have gone public.

• To an extent you are right. BUT, things have changed a LOT since the original referendum in 1983. It was carried with about 65% voting to ban abortion in all circumstances but once the implications of that became clear, subsequent refernda never saw a willingness to be as restrictive again.

Even since the last outing in 2002, this has become a very different country. Were a similar proposal to the one in 1983 put to the vote now, I don’t think it would have the slightest prospect of succeeding – by 2002 there was acceptance that real risk of suicide could be grounds for abortion and that women had a right to travel. That was a substantial change. Since then the sway of the church has certainly diminished even further.

So I do actually think he is in a minority now, albeit a fairly substantial one.

• Oops, that was meant to be a reply to Dublin City, above.

• Subscribe in your own time. Religion has no place in government. I’m tired of people saying you should respect others religion. How on earth can you respect something that has no place in a rational world. It’s 2012 now and there is not one fragment of evidence in the existence of any super natural beings. If it was brought forward today as something new you would probably put the person in a home for the mentally ill. Years have been lost in stem cell research because of religious nutcases garnishing so much power in politics. Do you really think that most politicians who are well educated really believe in such nonsense. Most do not and the ones do have no place telling us how to live our lives. Religious people to me represent all that is wrong in this world and could learn an awful about morality from non believers.

• Many young catholics are not catholics by choice but by indoctrination from birth.

• Seconded. I do not share your beliefs, I had them shoved down my throat all through my childhood and I never believed a word if it, so why should it affect my freedom? Why should it affect MY body? Or any other woman’s body for that matter?

• EMD, If Ronan Mullen was a Pro-Life Atheist we probably wouldn’t be having this conversation. This is about basic human rights not imposition of a religious doctrine.

Sham, I would agree that the Church has no place in government but I do believe politicians who practice their faith should bring that to their political decisions…Just as anyone who holds a view on anything would generally use their beliefs as a guide in particular issues.

• Smirkgate!
    Cmon Folks.He’s just excercising his right under the constitution for the protection of Grimacers and Smirkers Inc everywhere.
    If you cant “excercise” a good grimace now and again,youre not fulfilling your duties as an elected representative.

• It’s amazing how people can judge when they weren’t actually there. I wonder if it was a woman speaking about regretting her abortion and it was a pro-abortion politician who was accused of smirking,would there be the same hullabaloo? I kind of doubt it.

• EMD 23/04/12 #

That doesn’t even make sense..

• Maria, it’s called “pro-choice”, not “pro-abortion”. I personally think the “pro-life” term is horrid as it implies that those that are not “pro-life” are anti-life. It’s an unfair dialectic.

• I actually don’t like the term pro-choice as I think one party has no choice and abortion isn’t always a matter of choice. Many women have felt pressured or pushed into abortion and would love to turn back the clock and choose differently. Sadly, this isn’t an option once the abortion has taken place. I have huge sympathy for women who find themselves in this sad situation. Sorry you don’t understand me, EMD, I’m just speculating that a lot of the fuss about Ronan Mullen’s reported “smirk” is blown-up merely because he adopts a position in opposition to abortion.

• Maria – there is a huge difference between social abortions and the circumstances these families have found themselves in. I do not agree with abortion but I do believe that given the horrific scenario these families found themselves in, there should be legislation put in place to allow them have their terminations here at home, instead of making them feel they are doing something illicit. These families have done nothing wrong and the state has no business making them feel like they have. Shame on every single last one of them, particularly our female representitves.

• EMD 23/04/12 #

No Maria, his smirk was inappropriate in the situation with vulnerable, grieving people. He is supposed to be a professional so he should be able to behave like one in a professional situation.

• Were you there, EMD? He denied smirking? I prefer to give people the benefit of the doubt. Ann, I would have loved if a voice had been given to those in similar circumstances who didn’t opt for abortion. I think we need to hear other approaches to this terribly tragic situation. A lot of people seem very dismissive of the hospice care scenario with assistance and support from a multidisciplinary team. There have been attempts to compare this kind of loving care to the Magdalen Laundries which I find quite disturbing.

• Of course there would be the same level of hullabaloo, there would be massive anti choice campaigns outside the persons home and workplace and they may even receive death threats – I must state here that I am not accusing you personally of being this sort of anti choice supporter, but attacks, death threats and other terrorist techniques are and have been used by more paradoxically “pro-life” campaigns around the world.

• EMD 23/04/12 #

Maria, perinatal hospices are a horrific idea and you obviously are blinded by your beliefs about abortion. I believe those women and their husbands, what have they to gain from this debacle? The senator did more than smirk too, whatever his views on the subject he should have behaved as behoved his professional role in this situation.

Perinatal hospices can indeed be equated to a modern day equivalent of Magdalen Laundries, you don’t agree with abortion so you take away choice and provide hospices to allow them continue a pregnancy with an unviable foetus. Very few women would choose such a situation, how can you as a woman believe in extending the agony for these families.

• It amazes me how many people talk about the 1930’s or 50s as if this person is in a minority I don’t think so I think a substantial portion of Catholics in this country subscribe to these views otherwise these issues would have been sorted long ago

• We all thought that too, when we voted 20 years ago on the X case, I was horrified and heartbroken on Friday night listening to these poor women, but more importantly I did not realise that this was still happening in this day and age. Whats the point in referendums if the government arent going to put legislation in place when its passed. I’m completely gobsmacked that this hasnt happened yet.