TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Rónán Mullen: I am wondering if it is defamatory to suggest I was ‘smirking’

Rónán Mullen has again defended himself and denied accusations that he was unpleasant to women who came to Leinster House last week to share their painful experiences of abortion outside of Ireland.

Rónán Mullen on Newstalk's Lunchtime programme today

SENATOR RÓNÁN MULLEN says claims he was smirking during a meeting of TDs and Senators with women sharing their experiences of abortion outside of Ireland were “designed to portray me unsympathetically.”

He was speaking after the husband of one of the women who addressed the meeting accused him of smirking during the meeting at Leinster House last week in advance of the defeated Private Members’ Bill which would have legalised abortion in instances where the life of a mother is at risk.

Speaking on Newstalk’s Lunchtime programme, the independent senator said that during the meeting between Oireachtas members and the three women who had undergone abortions because of serious foetal disabilities he had expressed a view that abortion was not the the “best response in that situation”.

He then claimed that James Burke – who he did not know at the time – said “something like: ‘I could debate with you more easily if  you weren’t smirking all the time’”.

“I began to feel really uncomfortable that it was kind of a comment designed to portray me unsympathetically,” Mullen said before speculating that the comments from Burke may have been defamatory.

Anybody that knows my views on abortion would know how distressing I find the whole topic and anybody who would have heard how I addressed the persons in that room would know…. I mean to be honest with you I am wondering if it is defamatory to suggest…

Mullen said that the atmosphere then became uncomfortable as many of the TDs and senators in the room could not offer the three women the response that they were looking for in terms of legislation.

He described the comments about his alleged smirking as not appropriate, adding: “A person is entitled to their physiognomy and to their facial expression but I actually felt in that moment that it was kind of a comment that seemed to be targeted at me.”

During the course of the interview with Newstalk’s Jonathan Healy, it was put to the senator that Burke had claimed that Mullen on two occasions had asked him (Burke) had he a bigger agenda. Mullen said “that was not the case”.

He also said he did not say “well played” as Burke had claimed and that during the course of his interaction with James and his wife the body language was “very hostile”.

Mullen reiterated his opposition to abortion in any circumstances, outlining his view that there were alternatives even in circumstances where the baby had no chance of life outside the womb.

He that he was not going to be “pushed out of the debate” because his view represented that of many men and women who had been in contact with him.

Mullen also said that the media needs to do more to bring out the views of children whose parents believe they should be allowed to live out their lives even in circumstances where they are not expected to survive.

He added that the abuse he received on social media over the course of the weekend “doesn’t bother me personally”.

“In many ways it might be a backhanded compliment that I might sometimes be effective in communicating a particular point of view,” he added.

Mullen: Reports I smirked at abortion meeting “entirely untrue”

Ronan Mullen horrified at ‘nasty’ suggestions over abortion debate

Read next:

Comments (151 Comments)

• alan 24/04/12 #

i don’t know why he is complaining. he is what he is. everybody knows what he stands for. the allegations don’t make an iota of difference to his public image

• Dismissed the issue totally.does not care or want to listen. Talking about debate, didnt even address the issue. Still exporting our problem abroad, all in the name of religion. The stories that were told by parents on newstalk, having to make that journey abroad, is an absolute nightmare and should not be endured by anyone under the situation they were put in under no fault of their own.

• The three monkeys spring to mind …

“Speak no evil, See no evil, hear no evil” ….
      Ostrich antics being mimicked by the government as well, and not just on this issue!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• I knew he would do this, trying to scare people into backing down with veiled threats of legal action. If he had held his hands up from the beginning and said sorry, he never meant to cause offence or inflict further distress to people who are vulnerable and looking for help then this would be all over. He is an unsympathetic coward hiding behind legalities and religion.

• EMD 24/04/12 #

Well said Niamh, despicable behaviour!

• He’s far from unsympathetic and has fought long and hard on human rights issues. Whatever the difficult circumstances of the unfortunate couple, whether someone is smirking may just be a matter of opinion. it seemed a little out of order to say such a thing. I heard Ronan Mullen on Newstalk and it didn’t sound to me like he intended to sue anyone. I think the wording in this article isn’t quite right. Mullen wanted to hear more from parents of children with severe conditions, not from the children themselves.

• Just out of interest, Maria, what human rights issues has he fought long and hard on?

• @ Niamh. He had a good teacher in cardinal Desmond Connel – Ronan was the Dublin archdiocese’s press agent:

Marie Collins had told the commission of her anger about the concept (of mental reservation) which, according to the Murphy Commission report, “permits a churchman to knowingly convey a misleading impression to another person without being guilty of lying”. Andrew Madden told the commission how during an informal meeting in 2003, Cardinal Desmond Connell had apologised for the handling of the Fr Ivan Payne case, but had been at pains to point out to him that he did not lie about the use of diocesan funds in meeting the settlement paid by Fr Payne in respect of his abuse of Mr Madden as a child. It had emerged in 1995 that the £27,500 settlement was made on the basis of a loan from Cardinal Connell from diocesan funds.

The Murphy report states, in relation to the 2003 meeting: “He [Cardinal Connell] explained that when he was asked by journalists about the use of diocesan funds for the compensation of child sexual abuse, he had responded that diocesan funds are not used for such a purpose; that he had not said that diocesan funds were not used for such a purpose. By using the present tense, he had not excluded the possibility that diocesan funds had been used for such purpose in the past.”

Mr Madden told the commission the cardinal felt there was an enormous difference between the two.

In another instance, Marie Collins had been upset about a press statement issued by the Archdiocese of Dublin following the conviction of her abuser in 1997, which claimed that it had co-operated with Gardaí in relation to her complaint, “as she had good reason to believe the Archdiocese’s level of co-operation was, to say the least, questionable. Her support priest Fr James Norman subsequently told the gardaí that he asked the Archdiocese about that statement and that the explanation he received was that ‘we never said we cooperated fully’, placing emphasis on the word ‘fully’.”

• Interesting that he chooses to consider the legal position regarding the comments made on his facial expression.
      I came across a comment on twitter the other day which made the argument in his favour that his countenance is permanently locked into a smirking, jeery type of expression which may not be reflective of his true feelings. ‘It’s his face’ the commenter proposed while appending a link to various pictures of Mr. Mullen in which, sure enough, he was smirking and grinning to his hearts content!
      Now I wonder to myself if the unfortunate senator is afflicted by such a permanent disability of countenance might he have a case for ‘discrimination’ rather than ‘defamation’ in relation to these comments, and is his proclivity for smirking and grinning outside his control. But sure isn’t the good Senator is also a lawyer of some repute and who would I be to be pondering such matters on his behalf!

• But then I get even more confused because in my mind it is the unfortunate women who have been prevented by the antiquarian laws of this state to be able to avail of a right to choose a necessary medical procedure that are being discriminated against rather than the smirking and grinning Mr. Mullen. Is’nt smirking and grinning is an awful affliction to have?!?

• The senator is trying to have the purchase of sex made illegal….I would imagine he considers it another sin that needs banning.

He is doing this under the guise of helping to prevent human trafficing for the sex trade. A related but separate matter.

• Even if it is the case he looked like he was smirking when he wasn’t (I’ve been falsely accused of such a thing once or twice) instead of simply saying something along the lines of “I apologies if it looked like I was smirking, but I sincerely wasn’t” he chooses to contemplate legal action. Says it all really.

• ‘He added that the abuse he received on social media over the course of the weekend “doesn’t bother me personally”.’ So he doesn’t care what the electorate thinks??

• He wouldn’t want to be bothered by social media as it can get pretty nasty, so if he couldn’t stand the heat, he’d have jumped ship a long time ago. If you have strong views on human rights, you don’t back down because of a bit of mud slinging. I do think it doesn’t facilitate balanced, mature debate when a person’s physical appearance comes into the equation.

• “strong views on human rights”, except the right of a woman facing the prospect of carrying to term a foetus that has died in her womb or will shortly after birth to a safe and legal abortion. Ronan’s commitment to human rights is highly selective and is as shallow as his regret for any offence caused to these brave women by his antics at this meeting.

• Now he’s pondering whether he might sue the women who were brave enough to share their difficult stories with him and his parliamentary colleagues. What other interpretation might we put on this barrister’s intimidating mention of defamation? He really is one nasty piece of work.

• Desmond, your party leader agreed with his point of view and ordered the government to vote against the proposal to allow further discussion on a possible referendum. And lets not forget this numptyy’s fellow thinker who went all out to educate the Island that pregnancy can result from fornication (also a member of your party). Your apparent disgust at his “smirking” is a little hypocritical when you put it in context, do you not think???

• What on Earth are you on about, Cal? I’d take a little lie down there my friend. Just for the record I’m neither a member nor supporter of Fine Gael.

• Desmond, FFg/Labour are all the one these days…. There isn’t a chink of light between them anymore, much to the dissatisfaction of the voters.

• Ah right, Cal. So like when we last jousted. You make a wild and specious claim., I present evidence to show that the claim is incorrect and you then continue with the claim anyhow. Whackamole, anyone?

• I think he’s pondering on whether he might sue the guy who (he says) lied about him, and slandered him.

Where you there, Desmond? You seem to know for a fact what happened.

• Desmond, are you arguing my point, or agreeing with me?? A straight answer “Yes” or “No” would be much appreciated to the question … Did your party support the referenda motion to allow women in medical emergencies to have abortions in Ireland? No plaumasing, no spin, just a straight answer. If you give a straight answer, then please feel free to elaborate on your answer.

• Yes Ronan. Taking into account the entire situation… YOU’RE the victim here.

(never an eyerolling smiley around when you need one!)

• I’m amazed at how poorly this is being handled by Ronan Mullen and his supporters. He asked a father who recently lost his child if he had a ‘bigger agenda’. That is incredibly insensitive and was bound to cause anger and frustration. It implies the women who shared their experiences at the meeting were being disingenuous. Admit this error in judgement and the media storm will dissipate. Continue down the line of thinly veiled legal threats and it will intensify.

Much as I don’t agree with him, he is entitled to his views and the social media bile calling for him to be physically attacked is unhelpful and distracts from the real issue. I don’t think people genuinely mean it but it just gives his supporters something to whinge about and deflect attention away from his disgraceful insensitivity.

• Threats of violence are surely a little bit more than “unhelpful”. Of course the sensitivities of the families have to be respected, but if women came forward and said that they were hurt or damaged by abortion, people wouldn’t be slow to disagree with their viewpoint. Sad as it seems, if you put yourself in the public arena, you have to be prepared for the fact that there will be those who don’t agree with you especially on an issue such as abortion.

• I don’t believe any credible threats have been made, Maria, just inarticulate ramblings – that’s what I mean by ‘unhelpful’. As I said, it’s bile and has no place in a rational debate.

To be fair to the women involved, I don’t think they are talking about carte blanche abortion. They were sharing their individual experiences about the psychological trauma of carrying a foetus that has zero chance of life outside the womb. Ronan Mullen was insensitive and disrespectful by suggesting that they had a ‘bigger agenda’. He should issue an apology. Regardless of a person’s feelings about the broader issue of abortion I think most would agree that it was a difficult thing for those women to speak about in front of strangers.

Senator Mullen’s advisors are not helping him in anyway by suggesting he has a default facial smirk, it’s utterly ridiculous. And he isn’t doing himself any favours by misrepresenting the issue into a broader abortion debate and using threatening legal language towards a person he was grossly insensitive toward.

• Maria, I respect that abortion is not a pleasant experience. I also respect that some women will come to regret the decision that they made, we have all made decisions which we regret and I agree, it is an important part of the debate. As is the current range of options with regards hospices etc. the thing is, at present – short of exercising your right to travel – there is no choice. You carry to term or you go to the UK, which isn’t actually an option for all that may wish to seek it.
      This is why I am pro choice. Every individual is different, and regardless of my feelings about the issue, I don’t have the right to force another woman to carry to term. It’s her choice to make and I support her whatever decision she makes.

• That’s all very well, Shanti Om, but if one really believes that an unborn child is a human being at an earlier stage of development, it just isn’t a legitimate position to sit back and says that choices about that human being’s very right to exist are not my concern. I believe women have choices about their own body, but not about another person’s body. Choice is brilliant, but where choice impinges on another person’s right to ever make another choice about anything, then it has to be limited. That’s what laws are all about-we shouldn’t need them, but there has to be a framework in place to assist the most vulnerable.

• First off Maria, In this case we are talking about babies who are not going to survive. So their right to live has already been taken away by nature.
      In other cases, the majority of abortions (in the UK for example 80%+) take place within the first trimester, when the chance of spontaneous abortion is still very real as the foetus triggers the womans immune response.

Human rights begin at birth. Up until 24 weeks that foetus depends solely on the woman to survive, and we don’t know her situation. She could have good reason to abort (health implications for example), to deny the choice means forcing changes on that woman’s body against her wishes. And she is born, so her human rights supersede the potential for life that exists within her womb.

• Shanti Om, Am I right in suggesting that you are in favour of abortion up to 24 weeks and not just in cases of severe fetal abnormalities? Forgive me if I’m wrong. Do you see the baby as less deserving of certain rights? When it comes to a diagnosis of a condition like Trisomy 13 or Trisomy 18, there have been reports of improvements in the life expectancy so there is some hope for those with this diagnosis, small as it might be. My own sister’s baby was given a diagnosis of severe cardiac problems when my sister was several months pregnant. She was pushed in the direction of abortion by one particular doctor who offered her no hope for a positive outcome. Luckily, she did her own research and following two major surgeries and various treatments, she is the mother of a delightful 2 year old daughter. Sometimes doctors get it wrong- this little girl has amazed the doctors with her progress.

• Maria, I think 12 weeks is plenty of time to decide if your reason is related to your health, or if you don’t wish to experience pregnancy, if you were raped, or if you suffered contraceptive failure. And the figures would seem to indicate that this is when the majority take place even when provisions are in place up to the 24th week. After that it is far more likely foetal health was the determining factor.

Your example is one of those very rare exceptions, but it doesn’t make the rule. If you are willing to take the chance then more power to you, I can’t force you either way. It’s not my body, it’s not my life, it’s not my business.

The baby wouldn’t survive without the mother (except for that one baby that survived at 22), so it’s up to her whether she consents to the hormonal changes, the bodily changes, having to buy new clothes as she gets bigger, possible gestational diabetes etc, and in the case of a wanted baby that is incompatible with life well meaning people asking the due date. I do not have the right to force this upon her in exactly the same way I couldn’t force a woman to have an abortion.

• Dunno where the rest of my post went.

It’s not my business..
      I cant force a woman to undergo the bodily and hormonal changes associated with pregnancy, I can’t force her to have to buy new clothes to accommodate her bigger size, I can’t force her to endure well meaning people asking the due date if her much wanted baby is not viable.
      No more than I can force a woman to have one. All I advocate is choice.

• Is there any situation where the law would regulate a woman’s decision to have an abortion, Shanti Om?

• Could I ask you to clarify please, I’m not quite sure what exactly you are asking..

• Actually I see where I was not very clear, I wouldn’t advocate abortion post 24 weeks as at this stage inducing birth is pretty much the same thing. There isn’t really anywhere that aborts up until delivery unless there is a serious medical reason for doing so. A baby born at 24 weeks would be far more capable of survival than if delivery were any sooner.
      In the case of non viability, again, it’s the woman’s choice, she will grieve either way, why remove her of her autonomy over how she grieves?

I respect your position of disagreeing with abortion, this is your choice, it’s quite safe to assume that even if the service were on offer, you would never avail of it. All I am saying is that in order for me to respect your choice, perhaps you should be willing to grant other women the right to make their own choices about their own bodies?

• You can’t have it both ways, Shanti

“Maria, I think 12 weeks is plenty of time to decide if your reason is related to your health, or if you don’t wish to experience pregnancy, if you were raped, or if you suffered contraceptive failure.”

“I cant force a woman to undergo the bodily and hormonal changes associated with pregnancy, I can’t force her to have to buy new clothes to accommodate her bigger size,”

A lot fo those changes, especially with regard to size, occur after the 12th week. So you are in fact willing to force a woman to go through the clothes buying, weigh-gaining thing

• Ok, dunno where the rest of that went….

I was saying; you are willing to force a woman to go through weigh-gain and clothes buying if your own criteria for life are met.

I’d ask what you’d say to a girl who finds out she is 13 weeks pregnant, but I know your answer is to pretend that never happens

• Ronan is probably the worst senator we have ever had and there have been many terrible senators

• Ronan Mullen’s Election Literature for 2011.

Find the reference to Pro-Life.

http://irishelectionliterature.wordpress.com/2011/03/15/leaflet-from-ronan-mullen-independent-nui-seanad-2011/

You’ll be a while because there is non, only a rather vague reference to Ireland becoming a centre of excellence fo ethical and promising adult stem cell research.

December 2009. No reference.

http://irishelectionliterature.wordpress.com/tag/ronan-mullen/

Seanad Elections 2007. Reference again to Stem cell research. No views on abortion mentioned.

http://irishelectionliterature.wordpress.com/2010/07/08/endorsed-by-eddie-osullivan-ronan-mullen-2007-seanad-election/

A deeply deeply disingenuous man.

• He’s worried that he was “portrayed unsympathetically”???? what about his Inhumane response to these Women. How is this Man in power at all? He is still brushing off the issue…. nothing will be done regarding this matter for as long as our yellow bellied Politicians decide to sit on the fence and refuse to take the decisive action required, as voted for By the People, For the People, following the X Case 12 years ago. The fact we are even still debating this topic makes my blood boil. We are the most hypocritical nation in the Western World.

• Defamatory? Typical male politician, can walk away after hearing those womens stories last week and HE’S playing the victim. I’m sure a lot of male members of the government last week felt victimised also, being forced by a woman to vote on something they’d rather ignore. Oh the male politicians, can somebody please think about the male politicians…..

• EDIT: I did not use the phrase playing the victim to infer thats what the ladies in question were doing. Upon reading the post I can see how it might be construed as such. Thats not what I meant.

• Isn’t there such a thing as feeling very sorry for a person’s tragic situation, but disagreeing with how they feel that situation should be dealt with? I don’t understand the view that there’s only one possible response to the circumstances these families found themselves in.

• @Maria It’s called ‘Empathy’ .. something to which the Blessed Mullet is lacking.

• Yea, but you won’t change your views to agree with me would you? Empathy doesn’t mean that you support something that you fundamentally disagree with.

• @Maria. It’s the nub of the whole issue really. Ronan can’t empathise on this issue because he is not a woman. His views on abortion are null and void because he will never be pregnant – he’ll NEVER have to face the choice of continuing with a pregnancy – such as these women had – or of travelling to the UK for medical treatment.

• Of course there is. But we are not talking about disagreeing are we? We’re talking about a state with a legacy of church interference and political cowardice making it necessary for these women who were suffering deeply to travel to another country to be treated with compassion and dignity.

• You don’t have to be a woman to show empathy to women who find themselves in these circumstances. I’m sure fathers are just as upset and traumatised by the sad news. Many women have never been pregnant and have never been in this particular situation, so they don’t know exactly how it feels either. A diagnosis of severe problems in the development of the baby affects mothers, fathers and other family members too. That’s why I’m disappointed that there’s barely been a mention of any option other than abortion and that the only kind and caring approach is to view abortion as the only answer to such a tragic diagnosis.

• @Maria But what other options are/were available here for those brave women who met TDs and Senators – other than travelling to the UK? If one option is that they continue (or be forced to continue) with a pregnancy that is going to fail then that is ADDING to the trauma of the expectant mother and expectant father.

Therapeutic abortion is the termination of a pregnancy for medical reasons, such as life-threatening consequences for the mother (e.g., ectopic pregnancy), situations of rape or incest, fetal abnormalities, death of a fetus, or to selectively reduce a multifetal pregnancy.

http://www.mdguidelines.com/abortion-surgical

• OK, I’m a bit lost here. Mullen’s _defenders_ on Twitter were claiming on Friday that it wasn’t his fault, that he always looked liked he was smirking. Now he’s claiming to say this is defamatory.

P.

• This is a scare-mongering tactic by Mullen.

He hasn’t been shy in using the legal profession in the past to “protect his reputation”

• Seems like a ridiculous defence to have to make. It really doesn’t matter what shape his face was. All important conclusions should be drawn from his statements & policies.

Another example of general anti-authority sentiment looking for a hook to hang it on.

Lots of energy out there, but I can’t shake the feeling we’d do better if we were more clear-thinking & focused.

• So are you saying it is not ok to feel offended by someone smirking at the pain and suffering that these couples had gone through , and that they should just put up and shut up and go away ???
      I say fair play to the man who stood by his wife and supported her throughthis awful time . I also want to say how brave they are in reliving their ordeal in the telling of their individual stories . Mullen should be told to shut up and say no more .

• Well, Susie, that depends on whether he was smirking or not.
      He says he wasn’t.

• I am saying it is not ok to get caught up in this “he-said-she-said” nonsense. This argument has no conclusion, as those arguing were not in the room at the time and so have absolutely no facts to back up their case, whichever side they are on.

As ever, a lack of facts does not seem to prevent public debate. Instead, “facts” are made up, based on existing prejudices and agendas.

In the first sentence of your comment, your implied Mullen was “smirking at the pain and suffering”. Nobody here, including yourself, knows if that is true. Maybe it is. Maybe it isn’t. In this case, you really have to ask yourself what your certainty is based on.

• The same certainties that you base he wasn’t smirking on …. Actually I do not like the comment you made about Anti authority sentment , I am not anti authority , but just because someone is a senator are you saying he can not be questioned ?
      And
      Saint Ruth
      The people in the room say he was smirking !

• I did not say he wasn’t smirking. Please re-read.

• If he had said in the beginning
    “If I smirked or appeared to be smirking then I am sorry, it wasn’t my intention and I apologise for any offence that I have caused” then there would be no problem at all. People would see that he had apologised, had not meant to do anything wrong and was truly sorry.

Instead he has gone on about how he is entitled to his face and made the man in question out to be “hostile”, which maybe he felt he was – that’s fair enough, but its not helping his case..

As far as getting women to come forward who have taken the hospice route, of course those women should come forward, they made a different choice, and it should be known about as an option, but the key word there is choice. It shouldn’t be the only one available.

• He is like an appendix …. useless and not needed!!!

• Every day is a bad day in Ireland when our small little society is forced to reconcile itself with religious bigotry that pretends to be in the majority

• Sure god love ya Ronan – it’s nice to be nice but it’s nasty to be nasty, and I can’t believe that anyone with even a passing familiarity with you or your opinions could doubt what a horrible, nasty and deeply damaged individual you are.

• These are the ramblings of a man who political career is in tatters. Cheerio, Cheerio, Cheerio.

• Before you can form a proper opinion on Mr. Mullen, you should at least be aware that he worked for the Archdiocese of Dublin and was a spokesperson for Cardinal Desmond Connell from 1996 – 2001.
    This might explain how such a young man – 41 years old – could have such a hideously refined, entrenched and fundamentalist Catholic mantra ingrained in him.
    Personally, I think the guy is an idiot and he learned all his insincerity from another “smirker”, Cardinal Connell.
    I think our friend, Mr. Mullen, needs to go out and get himself a wife [or lover!] and have a few kids himself.
    Maybe then he would have some first-hand experience of how stressful pregnancy can be on a couple, even when things go smoothly.
    Maybe then he wouldn’t be so quick to tell these three terribly unfortunate women that he feels that their undeniably unviable pregnancies should be taken to full term.

• Wow Dave A few rational comments about Abortion from people who have strong feelings on both sides of the argument and can articulate there feelings and arguments properly and you come along with this bile. I am so sorry for your frame of mind
      Thankfully religious freedom is still available here to all and long my we allow it to be so .

• Women are constantly striving for equality, but we constantly have pregnancy being painted as some sort of major illness that puts an unbearable burden on our fragile bodies. Yes, there can be very tough pregnancies and a normal pregnancy cannot be compared to one where there’s a difficult diagnosis, but many women sail through the 9 months without any major problems and actually enjoy the experience. If there’s any major stress, it’s probably several years later when you’re dealing with a couple of hormonal teenagers. ; )

I don’t see how a wife or lover makes any difference- I have a husband, lover and kids, but I still see that abortion can hurt women and that there are other options that aren’t being discussed at all.

• Maria, a healthy pregnancy certainly isn’t an illness, but even the healthiest of pregnancies puts a big strain on the body, especially in its latter stages. Your feet spread. Your pelvis loosens, sometimes causing severe back and hip pain, if you don’t already have backache from the extra weight you’re carrying. Your immune system is suppressed so that a cold can last forever and a flu could land you in hospital (oh, and you can’t take a lot of medication because it might harm the baby). Your skin stretches, sometimes scarring. It’s hard to find a comfortable position to sleep – at one point I got a baby foot stuck under my ribs and thought I had appendicitis until my GP told me what it was. And that’s not even counting the elevated risk of dangerous conditions such as hypertension, diabetes, pre-eclampsia. A friend of mine got migraines so severe in late pregnancy that the first time it happened her husband thought she was having a stroke. My own pregnancy was pretty unremarkable and I still wouldn’t have wished the experience on somebody who didn’t really, really want the baby at the end of it. Oh, and there’s all the postnatal hormonal fun as well – including, if you’re in the situation those poor women were in, lactating for a baby you’ll never get to feed.

Even if you’ve had the easiest possible pregnancies, I don’t think you can just dismiss going through pregnancy and childbirth as “no big thing” and something minor that a woman would just have to deal with for a few months if their pregnancy was unwanted/doomed. It’s one of the reasons why having a child has made me even more pro-choice.

• Please tell that to my wife who had to have an abortion last week in the UK as after 10 weeks of pregnancy we were told we had no choice as our baby wasn’t growing properly.

I lay beside my wife last night as she sobbed throughout the night. I was wide awake with tears running down my cheeks. The stress of the abortion was bad enough but having to go over to Manchester was inhumane.

Shame on you.

• I’ve had several pregnancies and lost three babies so I know all about crying my eyes out and staring at an ultrasound screen desperately hoping to see any flicker of a heartbeat. I’d put up with any of the weight gain, sickness, stretching and other ailments just to banish that image from my head.

• I’m sorry for your losses, Maria (I have had a miscarriage myself and it was horrible), but would you really prefer to have gotten terrible news at that scan and then, knowing that news, waited to miscarry at 30 weeks? 35, after everyone asking you when you’re due and have you got the pram and is it a boy or a girl? Delivered stillborn at term? Watched your child die after a few hours? And if you do, and fair enough if you do, do you think all women should feel the same way?

• Why are we paying this guy’s salary plus expenses to be a defender of the Catholic Church?

• There are plenty of people of all religions or none who don’t agree with abortion and view it as a human rights issue.

• Maria .. can you point to the human rights protocol, treaty or convention that says that abortion contravenes human rights?

• The European Court of Human Rights in ABC v. Ireland stated that there is no “right to abortion”. Paragraph 214 of the Judgment states that “Article 8 [of the Convention] cannot … be interpreted as conferring a right to abortion”.

• Yes, I know that Maria. There is no legally recognised human right to abortion. But that’s not the point you were making originally or that I was asking the question of. So, just for the record, can you point to the human rights protocol, treaty or convention that says that abortion contravenes human rights?

• Saying “it isn’t a human right” doesn’t mean that “it contravenes human rights”. I don’t have an explicit human right to ice cream but I’m not expecting to be dragged off to jail for eating one.

• @ Maria. That paragraph that the article in question does not convey the right to an abortion. It does not state that abortion contravenes human rights. Two entirely different things.

• Careful Lisa. Ice cream can lead to fornication, and apparently thats the leading cause of pregnancy in good ol’ catholic Ireland.

• Desmond, do you believe in a right to life?

• You’ re not answering my question, Maria, but I’ll play along. Yes, I do agree with the right to life. Take a look at the following extracts from the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the primary global statement of the rights that we are each entitled to and which carries the status of international law:

Article 1: All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights.They are endowed with reason and conscience and should act towards one another in a spirit of brotherhood.

Article 3: Everyone has the right to life, liberty and security of person.

So, as you can see there IS a universal human right to life, but that right can ONLY be vindicated from birth. Whatever objections you might have to abortion, to ground such objections in the language of human rights is clearly and quite deliberately misleading.

• You only have to look to the past, Desmond, to see that there were numerous of abuses of human rights and various sections of society whose lack of human rights was supported by law. I happen to believe that every human being has an inherent right to life which exists solely because of his or her humanity. The only different between me and a 11 or 12 week old unborn baby or foetus is our stage of development. I think the ECHR recognised the right of each country to make their own decisions on the legal protection for unborn human life and how to balance this fairly with the rights of the mother.

• @Maria, Even if we were to grant fetuses an equal right to life, does that really detract from the argument for abortion? You and I have the right to life, but if I had leukemia and you had compatible bone marrow, I wouldn’t be able to legally force you to donate, because my right to life doesn’t override your right to bodily autonomy. The right to life is contingent on the ability to execute it without overriding the rights of others.

If we were to grant fetuses the same rights as the rest of us, then abortion would be legal until about the 24 week when the fetus has the potential to survive without the mother. Which is roughly how it works in countries were abortion is legal.

• The problem is, Maria, that the anti-choice groups only ever look to the past rather than deal with women in the present. There are many arguments that can be had over the issue of abortion from the reasoned to the religious, but the attempt to appropriate the language of human rights to make the case for denying aborions to thsoe women who choose that option is, as I have said, deliberately misleading. The phrase “human rights” is not just some random choice of words, it has particular legal importance and ramifications. You may take the religious view that human life should be protected from conception, but human rights law says something very different.

• It’s not really the same situation, John. The mother is the life line for the baby and there are no other options outside the mother’s body. Surely, instead of this being a reason to deny rights to the baby, it should be an added incentive to do everything to support the two lives that are so intimately connected. It’s not as if the baby is some alien entity or poisonous parasite- it’s the mother’s own offspring. Imagine if you were given a sick child to care for and you were in a situation where there was no one else who could fulfill this role. Even if it demanded a lot from you, you wouldn’t decide not to do it solely because the child was a burden or a drain on your resources. A dependent human being is not something bad, but is just a more vulnerable member of the human race.

• @Maria, I’m not arguing that the fetus isn’t a dependent and for the sake of argument I was willing to grant it the same right to life that the rest of us enjoy. The question was does that really change things? If someone has leukemia, then their life may depend on a bone marrow transplant, and it can be very hard to find a compatible donor. In many cases you would be lucky to find a single one that is compatible enough to chance a transplant, your life would be dependent on a single persons choice, yet we do not legally force that choice or force people to register their bone marrow for consideration.

• I really don’t think it’s the same, John. There are other options in the case you mention, but not for the baby. And, haven’t we already had an amendment that placed into law protection for the rights of the unborn, so babies in utero are already recognised as having a right to life?

• @Maria, there really aren’t other options when you need a bone marrow transplant. It is a pretty high risk procedure for the recipient and it tends to be one of the very last things they try. If the graft fails, then the new bone marrow literately kills the recipient.

• There may be choices when it comes to donors, John. To be honest, if a sibling needed a bone marrow transplant, I can’t imagine refusing them. Would the majority of people not be generous when it came to saving life?

• @Maria, not everyone will have a matching sibling, and some have to rely on complete strangers joining the bone marrow registries and being willing to undergo a relatively, but not completely, risk free procedure to donate. Less than 1% of the Irish population (according to wikipedia) participate in the marrow registry and every day people die without having found a suitable donor. When they find a donor, I’d imagine the donor is usually willing, because participation is voluntary. But not everyone is willing to participate or donate for a stranger, and the law doesn’t force them to no matter the odds of survival without a donation. In fact it is so difficult to find a match that registries are run on an international basis to increase the odds.

But all that is besides the point, which remains that your right to life is completely dependent on your ability to exercise that right without impinging on the rights of another person. So arguing that fetuses deserving of the same right to life, is completely misleading because their right would be equally dependent. I’ve yet to hear a reasonable argument why a fetus should be given the right to violate the rights of others. Clearly dependance on another isn’t enough or it would work for those who only have one available bone marrow donor, so what is?

• This guy sums up the problems with a la carte census Catholics. The difference being he actually believes this stuff. His belief of moral righteousness comes from what he perceives is a Catholic mandate from the Irish people. While many people do have superstitious beliefs and may believe in some sort of god notion, I highly doubt many people believe in his particular brand. But what is on the census suggests otherwise.

• No, Ronán, it’s not defamatory; and you are a prat and a bully for even raising the prospect.

• I firmly believe that Senator Mullen should resign, if he had any shred of dignity and respect for the office he holds he would step down and spare the senate further embarrassment.

• He is one of the reasons the Senate should be Disbanded

• AlMar 24/04/12 #

Surely the question about whether someone is smirking or grimacing or whatever is an entirely subjective one? One person’s smirk could be another person’s smile.

I think it’s probably fair to say that Rona Mullen’s face is generally “smirky” for want of a better word. As he said himself, it’s his physiognomy.

• No one had the right to smirk or make choices for others , if a woman chooses an abortion that’s he’d right , likewise if she chooses to sell sex that’s her right , we shouldn’t sit in judgement of others live and let live , if someone smirks at me , guess what I smirk back .

• Uhm Dhakina be careful here, you could be accused of smirking. Or worse being nasty to a women who has had three miscarriages and has something to say about her situation and what motivates her.
    Ok guys, bring on the hate.

• @ Maria, your last paragraph says a lot. Maybe, it was just a typo, maybe not. You have referred twice to your lover. Is your husband aware of your lover?. This seems totally at odds with your conservative attitudes. You can boast about having a husband and a child, to further enhance your credentials as a family person type, if you wish, but please explain this lover that you refer to, that flies in the face of your nuclear perfect family scenario. I don’t buy it!

• Such a non-story. Everyone knows he is one of the few senators who is not spineless on this issue. Less smear campaigns please.

• I have yet to read what comments he made at that meeting that can be described as rude .
    These people and there husbands have made a complete mess of there cause by making statements that cannot be backed up or proven .
    BTW I am all in favour of abortion on demand and if someone wants to abort because of gender, or anything else thats fine , However I do believe the majority of the people think different to me and why not just concentrate on that rather then blaming the church for the lack of abortion here

• QUOTE “”" He told me i should of carried my baby till the end because Ireland has the best Palletive care in the world, he also said that he was sponosoring some child in africa that had one of the conditions that the other girl Ruths baby had. Then he asked one of us at the end of our session with them on the quiet he said “what is your [expletive probably] real agenda here?” this was to a girl who lost her daughter Aoife at 22 weeks “”" http://bit.ly/I6dfG9

The link itself was taken from another journal article. http://www.thejournal.ie/ronan-mullen-horrified-at-nasty-suggestions-over-abortion-debate-424919-Apr2012/

• Did you add in that bit about the expletive, Andrew? I didn’t hear anything about him using bad language.

• No, nothing added, that’s verbatim from one of the brave women.

• Andrew, the opening comment might not be something the lady in question wanted to hear or might totally disagree with but surely you are not trying to say it was RUDE !
      Now if he used bad language to the people and it is recorded then he is in big trouble but I don’t think it was as people seem to be suggesting it was his body language that gave them the most offence
      Slagging people off because of there religious convictions is not going to get anybody anywhere and while I would never have been a great supporter of Mr Mullins I think in this case these people have behaved appallingly bad towards him and have wrecked there cause .

• AlMar 24/04/12 #

Well said Jerry.

I completely disagree with you on the issue of abortion, but I do believe that it is possible to have a passionate debate on the issue without descending to the level of character assassination. I disagree with those who want legalised abortion but i can accept that many who disagree with me have good, but misguided, motivations. Unfortunately many online seem incapable of accepting the bona fides of their opponents. That is not a good thing for our society.

That said, it is also true that there are some anti-abortionists who also go in for ad hominem attacks. I profoundly disagree with them in this; but two wrongs don’t make a right.

• The Irish Supreme Court have already decided that their cause IS just – legislators have dragged their feet, probably because of ‘religious convictions’.

I’ve no doubt though that if the law had been applied (and pursued by legislators) in the cases of the physical & sexual torture of children by people off religious conviction, the ONLY ‘religious convictions’ we’d be debating would be whether Mountjoy Prison is too tough a place for members of the Irish hierarchy – and others with religious convictions.

• I don’t know if I would call it rude, but if he said that to a bereaved family I would certainly call it offensive. Let’s see, we have: “dealing with a catastrophic pregnancy in the most humane way for your family: you did it wrong”. We have a frankly implausible claim that he knows someone brain dead who is still alive (ie “those so-called incompatible with life conditions aren’t even incompatible with life! Bet you just all wanted abortions, you big fibbers. Or if not, you killed your baby WHO MIGHT HAVE LIVED A LOVELY HAPPY ENRICHING LIFE WITH NO HEAD”). And we have insinuations that the whole shebang is part of a “bigger agenda”, ie “you are pimping out your so-called tragedy because you think we’ll all feel sorry for you and lower our guards AND THEN YOU CAN SNEAK IN COMPULSORY ABORTION FOR EVERYONE”.

Frankly I would have decked him.

• Andrew .The reason that legislators are dragging there feet is because they know the majority of the people on this Island do not want abortion under any circumstances and if it was put to a referendum tomorrow morning they will still vote no I don’t agree with them but that is the case
      I think it has more to do with there moral concious then there religious convictions
      Now does who are looking to change peoples opinions are making a horses ass of it by somehow blaming the catholic church or a polticians relegious convictions
      It is sad to see so many people who are supposedly liberal and caring to so such hatred to others who do not take the same view as them . Fight the argument lads and not the person

• Excellently put lisa.

• If we can’t say that there may be other ways of dealing with in utero diagnoses of severe disabilities than just abortion, then it’s not a debate at all.

What exactly is offensive about asking someone *in Leinster House* what their agenda is? Nobody goes into Leinster House without a political agenda, and asking someone what their agenda or aims are isn’t offensive in that context, especially given the fact that this group came into the public eye in the same week as Clare Daly’s bill (which was not related to their situations) was being debated in Dáil Éireann.

I have great sympathy for these women, and, coming from a family that lost a baby who had anencephaly, I know what they went through sucked. But I must respectfully disagree with them that abortion should be legalised for such babies.

• But aren’t “the other ways” already the status quo here: ie go to term (or have miscarriage), baby dies with (hopefully) palliative care? Anything else is just tweaks on the above, ie level of counselling, level of palliative care, what does it consist of, etc. It’s not like there’s a “third way” between the baby dying naturally (immediately or otherwise) and not having the baby.

I do understand that possibly the support for women who chose to go to term isn’t ideal and would have no problems whatsoever with it being improved, but if I *had already decided I didn’t want to go to term* I would feel pretty insulted/patronized to hear that “you can’t avail of the same options as women in the UK, you still have to wait around for months getting more and more pregnant waiting for your wanted child to die, but now we’re trying to make it a bit less gut-wrenchingly awful”, and it certainly wouldn’t change my mind.

Anyway, it’s not a debate about whether abortion should be the *only* option here under these circumstances, but whether it should be an option at all. Which it currently isn’t, unless you have the wherewithal to leave the country.

• AlMar 24/04/12 #

Andrew – the Supreme Court did no such thing.

The situation here is different from that in the X Case and it would not reasonably fall under the parameters of X.

• Absolutely shocking the anti-catholic west-brit racist rhetoric on this site,
    I genuinely worry for this country sometimes with all you delusional crazy people in our society so much hate ugh.

• he already said he did not mean to cause offence or inflict further distress. He is defending himself against accusations that he was nasty, unpleasant and smirking at women who poured their hearts out.

This to me seems to have come down to perception and misunderstanding, signals, body language, tone and inflection of voice. Meaning we will never really know how or what was said, in what other, to whom and in what way.

The women involved gave one version of events, after pressure and the hype the changed the story and claified to one which is close to mullens
    He has outlined his version of events .

The difference between the 2 will never be reconciled as it comes down to memory, constructed memories on in both accounts, and perception versus intention.
    I have many pro choice friends and in discussing the issue we always grant each other a degree of respect recognising that both opinions often irreconcilable are legitimate and that we both are genuine in having the best interests of the people involved in mind.
    The Irish times, th womens Council and IFPA *do* have an agenda, but I recognise that that agenda has the best interests of women involved in mind. It would be nice if pro choicers would likewise give pro lifers the benefit of the doubt and recognise that this issue is not as black and white as is made out (by those on both sides)

Add New Comment