TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Norris an official presidential candidate after Dublin City nomination

The independent senator has now secured the backing of four local authorities and is a candidate for president of Ireland.

David Norris this evening after winning the support of Dublin City Council.
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

DAVID NORRIS’S LONG quest for a place on the presidential election ballot paper has come to a successful end after he secured the fourth local authority nomination he needed this evening.

The independent senator becomes the seventh name on the ballot paper and one of four independents running for the presidency after Dublin City Council voted in favour of a motion to nominate him.

In total 30 councillors voted in favour, six voted against and there were 11 abstentions.

In a message on his Twitter page, Norris thanked the council for its support and said: “I am looking forward to the campaign!”

Earlier, Labour’s presidential candidate Michael D Higgins urged the 19 Labour Party councillors sitting on Dublin City Council not to obstruct his former Oireachtas colleague’s bid to be nominated by the local authority. Norris also thanked Higgins for his backing.

Added to support from councils in Fingal, Laois and Waterford City, it means that Norris has the required backing to formally submit his candidacy before tomorrow’s 12 noon deadline.

Turnaround

It is a remarkable turnaround from the beginning of August when the Trinity scholar pulled out of the race following the emergence of letters he wrote appealing for clemency for his former partner Ezra Nawi who was convicted of the statutory rape of a 15-year-old boy in the 1990s.

Norris had also come under fire for comments he made in an interview with Magill magazine in 2002 in which he commented on the ancient Greek practice of pederasty.

He returned to the race ten days ago, telling the Late Late Show that it “would be the biggest comeback in Irish political history” were he to win a place on the ballot paper.

Over the past week or so, he has frantically lobbied independent Oireachtas members and local authorities in a bid to win support.

He secured 18 of the 20 signatures he needed but was unsuccessful in rallying more TDs and Senators to his cause forcing him to seek support from local authorities across the country.

He joins fellow independents Mary Davis and Seán Gallagher on the ballot paper along with former MEP and Eurovision winner Dana Rosemary Scallon who earlier secured sufficient support from local authorities in Offaly, Carlow, Roscommon and Donegal.

The four independents will join Labour’s Higgins, Fine Gael’s Gay Mitchell and Sinn Féin’s Martin McGuinness on the ballot paper for the election which takes place exactly a month from today.

In full: TheJournal.ie’s Race for the Áras coverage >

Read: Presidential debates: When and where they are happening >

Earlier: Dana is officially a presidential candidate following Offaly nomination >

Read next:

Comments (180 Comments)

• so we have a liberal gay, a conservitive gay (mitchell), a singer, a buiness man, a former paramilitary leader, an organiser for the special olympics, a minister turned poet…. really couldn’t make this up people…

• Fair play. He wouldn’t be who I’d vote for, that’s just my opinion, but now at least everyone can have their opinion.

• Although I won’t be voting for him, I’m glad Norris got the nomination. I think he deserved the grilling he got over the clemency letter. But its clear enough that he has very large public support, so getting him on the ballot was the correct, democratic thing to do.

I don’t he’d make as good a President as Michael D. but I wouldn’t be upset to see him get elected. Himself and Michael D. stand head and shoulders above the rest of that shower.

• Fair play, seeing as he’s the favoured candidate of so many it would have been a farce of an election if he wasn’t on the ballot paper. Whether you think he’s a suitable candidate or not at least people can have their say.

• Next big poll should be interesting.

• Finally.

• There’s been a lot said about David Norris (both positive and negative) and they’ve been extreme at times, but when you size up all the candidates this makes an very interesting election and it’s great that everyone gets a voice in it.

Great day for Irish democracy. Can’t wait for the voting.

• Now that David Norris’ name is on the ballot paper, it behoves journalist Joe Jackson, a former Norris supporter, to inform the voting public of the details of the other 3 scandals yet to emerge about Norris as mentioned by him on Liveline in August. I’d like to hear of them now so that I can make an informed decision when casting my vote for the next President of Ireland. Jackson refused to divulgthong details of these alleged scandals on Liveline when asked to do so and to my knowledge has not done so to date. If there are no impending scandals Jackson should say so- and apologise to Mr. Norris. But if there are, the public have a right to know. The same goes for the other 6 candidates: If they have skeletons in their cupboards, I want to know about them now, not after they have been elected. BTW, I’m an undecided voter with no axe to grind. I just want the truth.

• At what point does drilling into candidates’ bedroom and leisure time cease? Is the clerk of the Dail to circulate all candidates with a questionnaire asking if they have ‘been with’ escorts, rent boys, married women, married men, taken cocaine, cannabis, did you ever fail to help a blind person across the road, etc. If the media has such stuff on file, they should publish it and let the electorate decide.

• Juevenile, I know but I found ‘divulgthong’ amusing.

• Jackson has no choice but to tell all or apologize ,if he left it till after Norris was elected then forced the head of state to resign, I’d be in a long line to linch the bum

• I’m delighted he’s on the ballot but he’s not in the Áras yet, going to be a long fight yet to actually win the election

• People are really getting too strung up over all this! Relax!!!

• Well done David!!

• It Begins

• yes Martina. If there was a scuba diving alien queen i’d vote for her..

• I’m glad we now have the choice to vote for him…what is annoying me is…i have heard so much about this clemency letter, i have heard so much about mcguinness and the IRA….we all know about it, no need for it to be anlaysed over and over again…i want to hear what each can bring to the post

• yay

• Fine Gael’s stance and Mary Davis’s lack of fair play show just how un- presidential both these candidates are.

• excellent news, great to know that David will be on the ballot, now the people can finally have their say

• I recall a comment on TheJournal a few weeks ago saying Norris had about as much of a chance of re-entering the race (never mind getting nominated) as Ireland had of winning the rugby world cup. Now Norris and Ireland are both in with a decent enough shot of winning, which, ironically, would actually make that statement a pretty good prediction when you think about it…

• This is great news! :)

• There seems to be a serious silence from those people who gloated when Norris was forced out a while back. At least now that democracy has won out we can move on to the Aras

• Delighted Norris has finally got there.

Time to move on to the election now and see what the candidates are really made of.

If ever I had to tip my hat to anyone, Michael D, his comments and interview also deserve credit, a big credit in my opinion. Thank you for the words of sanity and wisdom Mr Higgins…

• At last – now the electorate can decide. An interesting presidential race awaits

• I’ll tell you what made me laugh.

Earlier in the day when Norris declined a nomination from one council, The Journal had a frowny picture of Norris.
    When he got his 3rd nomination that changed to a cheeky grin.
    Now that he has his nomination he is grinning from ear to ear.

Great work Journal.

• Our system (only just) works!

• Only just is right! The fact that Dana could click her fingers and have four councils supporting here while Senator Norris (even before the letters) could get no where is an indictment of the medieval attitudes of our Councillors. It is perfectly fair to say that homophobia is alive and well in the establishment.

• I am so tired of the constant accusation that anybody who doesn’t support Norris is homophobic. People make their minds up for many different reasons and to tar them all with the same brush is childish.

Norris had a fair wind behind him early on in the campaign and seemed like a certain nominee until a couple of very rash interviews and actions emerged, which cast doubt on his judgement. Lets face it, when his campaign first collapsed it was mainly because a number of his senior campaign team resigned. Did they suddenly become homophobic because they stopped supporting him?

I am glad his name will be there on the ballot paper but are we going to endure another bout of “everybody is homophobic” if he doesn’t win?

• you are right to be tired when people make blanket homophobia assumptions but there is no question homophobia has been a factor for David Norris, if you think not, well, there is not much more that can be said

• @Jim.

It’s become extremely fashionable to decry the use of the word homophobia. As you can clearly see, I referred to the ‘establishment’ as homophobic and there can be no other explanation for the treatment of Norris.

Norris certainly did not have a ‘fair wind’ behind him. Even before the letters, he had little/no support for the councils and the TDs/Senators. yet, an unknown and a TV personality waltzed in. All of this despite polls showing majority support for Norris. Homophobia was certainly at play. As one example, a Dublin city Councillor said he would be voting against Norris during the debate as a ‘citizen and a dad’. So he’s saying Norris is a danger to children now is he?

You can keep your head in the sand Jim but the term homophobe would be used a lot less if there wasn’t so much homophobia in the country.

• Jimmy/Markeen, I know homophobia exists and I have no doubt it played a part in the Norris nomination process. What I object to is people saying that its the only reason.

There are many other people who voted against Norris for other reasons because they have severe doubts about his judgement (as displayed by his past action and his poor attempts to explain them) and also his views on what is acceptable with regard to sexual relationships between adults and minors, which I don’t think he’s every clearly stated. These are all valid reasons that may have nothing to do with homophobia.

• I find it odd that clergy who participate or cover up abuse of minors are rightly demonized , yet this man who has clearly stated he sees no problem with his friends and ex-lovers doing the same is applauded .I have a feeling his views and propensity for defending the indefensible could turn him into a poster boy for those with an active homophobic agenda .The rest of the candidates are don’t exactly fire the imagination though .In the next few years if the Euro crisis explodes , and the resulting depression deepens we need people with the skills to steer the country through it , none of them have that.

• Forgot to say Markeen, that I don’t agree with your assessment about Norris not having a “fair wind”. Until the stories about the Helen Lucy Burke interviews which was then compounded by the Nawi letters, David Norris was easily sailing towards the 20 TDs/Senators number.

• @Jeff.

He sought clemency for an ex partner who he believed would suffer mentally from a sustained imprisonment. He didn’t seek to overturn a verdict or anything. Public Representative do it all the time. Conflating it with systemic child abuse by the Catholic Church is factually wrong and disingenuous. Also, you may not have noticed, we elect a Government to address the issues you raised. The President has a very different role.

@Jim.

We’ll have to agree to differ but there was never any indicator of 20 TDs/Senators. It even prompted an IT editorial on the issue. It has been uphill ever since. Most Councillors/TDs were too quick to jump and conflate gay with paedophilia. It suited too many of them.

• @Markeen
      I was under the impression prison was meant to cause mental anguish its called guilt , but this is a new world hey lets leave the mental anguish to the victims the kid probably had a tight t-shirt on and deserved it

• @Markeen
      The President has a very important job when it comes to investment in this country .The Queen (no pun intended) brings millions of £ into the UK through meet’n'greets with heads of state and business leaders the President does the same here .The ability to bore for Ireland on the merits of Joyce is not a skill likely to bring investment ,the ability to offend Israel and 90% of US politicians wouldn’t be high on the list I imagine .

• @Jeff

The point of prison is not to cause anguish but to rehabilitate and make sure the offender doesn’t re-offend. The criminal justice system isn’t designed to be as sadistic as you would like it to be. What good is it if a rapist goes to prison only to serve his sentence and rape again afterwards?

Point is if that was Norris’s concern, it was a valid one.

• @Brian
      Sorry the point of prison is to punish and rehabilitate or do you seriously believe that no one has to answer for doing harm to are fellow human beings or animals for that matter.Would you punish Gaddafi when he’s found? or sit him down for a cup of tea and a chat .Now if a prison system makes no effort to rehabilitate then you campaign to change it .Was this mental anguish caused by remorse for the crime or an inability to accept the consequences ?

• Seven people in the race, Is this the biggest turnout for the President ever. No matter who wins it is us the public who elects them, Can we act civil in the journal.ie and not throw stones or mud about the candidates there has been enough of that crap even before they could get nominated. just a suggestion.

• Democracy has been served now let the election begin.

• Thats brilliant news!! Congrats Norris!!

• At least now the public can decide, as for FG talk about running scared trying to block his votes. Tut tut lads, only time will tell

• Excellent news. Now we can finally get on with the business of debate between the candidates.

• Good man, justice prevails

• great news David and best of luck to a decent man. I hope the vultures dont start circling and try to discredit him.

• Every time they try mate it’s another vote for him, the true Irish person is completely fed up of the school yard tactics that went on for decades here, mr Norris will walk this presidency

• Delighted to hear this!

• One has to wonder if a great deal of the antagonism towards Norris isn’t grounded in raw antipathy to the sex lives of homosexuals. To clear the air perhaps Vincent Brown when he conducts the presidential candidates’ debate will enquire equally into the sex lives and sexual history of all the candidates. Norris should not have pleaded for clemency for his ex-partner given the circumstances of the crime. But there are only so many times a beating can be administered for an error of judgement before numbness sets in. The other candidates need the election to revolve around McGuinness and the IRA, and the Norris letters. Let’s see some equal scrutiny of the rest of the field. It would make a change.

• I wouldn’t agree. Each to their own. I’ve looked a the issues at hand and come to an opinion. I’d personally feel the same whether he was straight, bi or hetero, swinging from the rafters every night or at it one a year for Christmas.

• Sounds to me like you’ve had a gander at a couple of tabloid headlines and come up with an opinion.

• Sounds to me like you’re wrong Gavin. Not everybody disagreeing with your point of view is looking askance at the Star.

• Sounds to me like you’re wrong Gavin. Just because someone has a differing opinion doesn’t mean they had a glance at a Star headline one day and decided.

• I agree, Noel. I’ll have a debate with anyone. But you’ve said yourself on this page that you’re not interested in the details, preferring for a broad thrust. Also you’ve been bandying about phrases like “excusing abuse of adolescents”. If you’re not interested in detail and are wilfully misrepresenting standpoints in order to discredit the person taking them then it leads me to assume that you’re the type of person whose opinion can be clinched by some bold capitals and a slur.

• Great, we can finally get on with life again until election and then we can elect the meet and greeter (president)

• Democracy still works!! (sigh of relief)

I have to applaud Michael D. Higgins who has gone up in my estimation. A true democrat and gentleman.

While David Norris will get my 1st vote, Michael D. Higgins will certainly get my 2nd.

• He didn’t do it out of the goodness of his heart.more than likely He’s looking to pick up the transfers from all the norris supporters who think because of higgins giving his support to norris entering the race, he automatically must be a man of integrity who is committed to upholding the democratic process. Can’t take anything a politician says at face value…there’s always a hidden agenda.:)

• Can’t remember when I last scrolled through so many positive comments. Great news and great response.

• If this is what it feels like for him to be finally nominated I can’t wait for how it will feel if he is elected! Great news!

• Thank goodness for this. At least now I won’t have to spoil my vote! Congrats

• I’m glad to see Norris on the ballot, for those who aren’t don’t vote for him but that’s democracy, we have a choice. Unfortunately there are many who will do anything to promote certain candidates and ensure Norris doesn’t get elected, the past few months was rough for him but the next few weeks will be Hell- expect some rubbish stories in the media.

• about time too

• In your face matty mc grath

• DubDon 27/09/11 #

Finally the circus that is the "Norris on the Ballot Paper" is over. He’s there, now he has to prove his worth to the electorate… Not bad for some one who has held political office for 24 years to finally go before the entire electorate. Personally to me he’s flawed his letters of appeal his views on the age of consent and approval of pedastry are by no ways ways fitting of someone aspiring to be head of state… But as I’ve said before the 6 others are no better… Let the fun begin… From tomorrow the big parties will be digging up as much as they can on the Independents and Norris… Mitchell hasn’t a snowballs chance in hell I think it’s between Norris and the ailing Michael D… God help us all…!!!

• So, so so happy. Well done. The people can now have their say.

• A good day for all to be allowed to stand before the public and be judged by vote, in the name of a better democracy in action. I don’t like Dana for the office of president – but I would fight for her right to go before the people and ask for their vote, if only to see that democracy of the people, by the people, takes place.

• Excellent. Congrats.

• Well done Mr President!

• Anyone else smiling ear to ear?

• This is a great day for Ireland and democracy,Michael D should take a bow.Norris for President.

• If Norris has skeletons I want them rattled prior to him being elected , If those skeletons are left until after the election it damages the country .That goes for every candidate ,I expect a rigorous examination of their qualifications and fitness for the office or the press will just prove they are the useless sheople we suspect they are.

• Great news, now let’s get him voted in!

• Yes, why debate something utilising the actual facts of the matter when you can tar someone with as fat a brush as possible, Noel?

• Norris has my #1

• Well Done David You’ve got my vote :-)))

• Like the majority of contributors I welcome Norris’ successful nomination. However, the past few weeks have been farcical in the extreme and will make anyone who is looking in from the outside draw the (logical) conclusion that Ireland is a political, as well as an economic basket case.

• It’s good he’s on the ballot. Now the people will decide. The unfortunate thing about the Norris debacle is that it’s like a loose string in a sweater. Those that dislike him will keep pulling at it in the hope that his presidential campaign and even his possible presidency will unravel. I hope the office of President is secure and kept clear of any salaciousness.

• I am delighted to see that Senator Norris will be on the ballot. It took a while but finally the he got there.

Masterful bit of electioneering by Michael D Higgins, he has ensured that for every first preference Senator Norris gets he will have the number 2.

This will be my first chance to vote since moving to Ireland, I wasn’t registered for the last election. Can’t wait.

• The best news this country has had in a long long time :)

• What is Noel on about? David Norris does not support abuse of minors. Period. He acted out of human compassion when he pleaded for clemency as would almost any person in the same circumstances for someone they loved. He is a man of the utmost integrity and perhaps Noel should actually do some homework on what Norris actually believes rather then relying on half truths and lies from bigoted and dubious sources. He is honest and upfront and just because he is intelligent enough not to shy away from debating difficult subjects doesn’t mean he endorses them. Yes he wants the age of consent debated in an open and transparent way so young people are not sent to jail for having sex with someone who might be just under the legal age. The age of consent varies widely from country to country in Europe ranging from 13 to 18. What is the correct age?

• I’d agree Barry if that was the only issue. Take a step back though and look at what happened from a personal perspective. Your 37 year old partner tells you they had sex with a 15 year old. Are you honestly happy about that? Would you consider it worthwhile to continue a relationship with that person? This entire thing is being spun as an act of compassion, but the back story is more disturbing.

• Barry, as a story of compassion I’d agree and would give Norris the benefit of the doubt. We’re all human. However there is more to the issue. Look at it from a personal perspective. Your 37 year old partner tells you they had sex with a 15 year old. Are you OK with that? The age of consent isn’t an issue on this one. Would you continue with the relationship? This is being sold as a compassionate act but the core issue is more disturbing. I can say that if my partner acted in this way it would be a serious issue.

• He wasn’t in a relationship with him when it happened. Get ur facts straight

• Ah but either way, 37 year old man having sex with a 15 year old, if it was one of my friends I’d take the view they should have known better. If I was an elected representative I’d be agreeing well away from that one. End of the day, Norris is naive and rather stupid. I wouldn’t trust him in the Seanaid at this point. He’s not fit for the Park.

• Noel’s not interested in facts.

• Indeed I am though. I’m very interested in the fact that Norris seems to have some values that are rather disgusting.

• Glad he got in. It’s all to play for yet the next few weeks will be crucial:/cnt really rely on the opinion polls at this stage! the last couple of weeks have highlighted the inadequacy of the nominations system. Hopefully by the time the next presidential election arrives it will have been changed:)

• A dynamic moment in Irish democracy. Potentially the best opportunity the country has of leaving the conservatism of the past behind and its Civil War preoccupations.

• Very apt. And to borrow those very appropriate words of Mary Robinson, let us, ‘step out from the faded flags of the Civil War’. We our so very much along that road because of the efforts of women such as President Mary Robinson, and how much further along we would be with the election of President David Norris.

• Democracy in action!!

• At last :) let the people decide who they want

• Now that we know the line up how do people think things will go. Personally I think Norris and mcguinness will do well first count and die off after the transfers.

I would put no faith in opinion polls. Anyone remember the 2004(I think) election. FG/lab were polling very strong and we all know what happened.

Think Michael D will win it.

• A three horse race between Higgins, McGuinness and Norris. IMHO Norris is not vulnerable to any more dirt unless it is way off field. The letters controversy will lie there to be kicked about by rivals, but his support base is likely to have made its mind up by now. McGuinness is McGuinness warts and all and probably can’t gain more than he has. Higgins has been playing a low profile game until today until it finally dawned on the back room puppeteers that without Norris transfers, he was vulnerable to a protest vote and sunk. No one has to vote for Norris, or anyone else, but what his journey onto the ballot paper shows is the need to reform the Presidential nomination system and allow the man and woman in the street a direct input into the process.

• Yep this will come down to who is everyone’s second choice. McGuinnes and Norris you either love em or hate em, so it’s who’s the safe boring one with enough votes to get past the first few rounds ? My guess Mickey D

• Great news! Norris for President!

• Only 2 candidates so far has acted in a mature fashion – Michael D today and Seán G freeing up councils who had agreed to nominate him. David N has shown profound lack of judgement, Gay M’s team is resorting to negative campaigning, Mary D collecting an unnecessary stash of nomination, Dana S seems to have only thought about running recently, and Martin McG has shown his over sensitive side.

• I think the main difference for people who defend Norris who – and you can’t stress that enough – was not actively involved in a crime could be this: The priests involved often abused children from a very, very young age, forcing them into sexual situations they did not understand and intimidating them into silence. Now we have the Church as a whole trying to actively hide these crimes.
    In this case, a 37 year old man had consensual sex with someone he had reason to believe to be above the age of consent. You personally might find that disgusting, but that is not a crime. When it turned out the boy was BELOW the age of consent, it automatically became a crime (hence the term STATUTORY rape) and no one ever said it didn’t happen or tried to defend it. All that was asked for was leniency given the circumstances.
    I’d say that is a HUGE difference.

• Yes Hugh, he’s mature enough to see beyond taboid headlines. David is a liberal and that means sex drugs and everything else. Get used to it.

• How many teenage boys dream of having sex with a mature woman for their first time? I know it was one of my fantasies from the age of 15. Is a homosexual teenager wanting the same thing with an older guy so different?

• No, but the older person facilitating that is wrong. It’s tantamount to abuse. Let’s face it, as teenagers we want all sorts of things and not all of them are to our benefit. Anyone taking it as a matter of course that one of their mid 30′s friends got their end away with a 15 year old needs to examine their values.

• Michael D may yet come to regret his supposed generosity. Norris will hoover up the middle-class slightly left of centre vote that was probably going to Michael D up to today.

It will be interesting to see the first real polls next weekend, although given that they probably will be polling tomorrow and Thursday I think Norris will still have a boost from all the publicity he’s got this week.

• Agreed but I’ll be well impressed if Norris adequately answers the issues surrounding him. He hasn’t been convincing so far with all his air time. He has the disadvantage now that he’s in the official process and subject to the balanced air time rules. I think a lot of people have made up their minds about him already. There is also the factor that he’s seen as having strong support so that may cause some of his supporters or potential supporters to look elsewhere as they assume he’ll be grand. I’m looking forward to hearing more from the other candidates. Norris has had enough over exposure for now.

• Transfers from Norris will benefit Higgins. The problem for Higgins is that his transfers will benefit Norris and if Higgins is down on 1st preferences, he may find himself with Norris in the Aras.

• Noel – his supporters looking elsewhere because they think that he’ll be grand? So, what – they’ll vote for Dana because sure Norris is going to win? Somehow I find that hard to credit, and this isn’t a general election where you have more than one seat. There can only be one president.

But I’ll agree on one thing. I too am looking forward to the media scouring over the last 30 or so years of Mitchells, Dana’s and McGuinnesses lives and putting all of their misdeeds under the microscope. I’m sure it will be most illuminating.

• @ Graham
      When was the last time any of the press gave that murdering bast*rd McGuinness a hard time ?

• FIntan O’Toole the other day

• Now David let’s have those other letters … !!!

• Fair comment. Why all the thumbs down?
      McGuinness is being pushed hard by the media regarding his past. Why should Norris be any different? Does he want to be President or not? No, he wants to stash them away until this election is over. Yet another reason why I’ll not be voting for him.
      Michael D gets my number one vote. In my mind, the only candidate with a semblance of character, integrity, and poise.

• Ah, his legal team won’t allow the release of the letters. Obviously, their release would jeopardise his campaign much more than the mutterings regarding them..

• \o/

• Once again the electorate of this country has shown how naive they are and how readily they will jump on the band wagon to make themselves feel/look politically correct, it shows a greater degree of discrimination to want to vote for someone because they are gay than to not want to vote for them.

I hope he does well after gaining nomination but he lost my vote after the facts in the letters were made public, he misrepresented me and you as someone voted in by the people and such was the terrible decision to write in the manner he did on our behalf, we should be looking for him to step down as a representative.

Ask yourself whether he has gained from his sexuality as a leverage and ask yourself would you back a straight man under the same circumstances? Personally I feel this electorate would have come down and protested if the same were to happen a straight man.

I was pro Norris but now although not anti-Norris, he has lost my vote.

• It’s good news at last. Maybe now the Michael D supporters will stop spitting venom at Norris and get on with a fair campaign.

• This is such good news

• Now it’s up to us. Get him elected!!!!!!!

• He will walk it now, I was slightly on the fence but the way he was treated as a possible candidate was nothing short of medieval , he will now get my vote and I presume many of the 50 50′s now…. Well done DN

• "Walk it" is a bit optimistic. I bet at this very moment there is a team of people digging through his whole past to derail his presidential bid.
      I won’t be voting for him but I’m glad for the people that support him that he has gotten the nod.

• I couldn’t give a flying toss whether he was straight, gay or previously a woman, that man has a strange point of view when it comes to the age of consent. Citing the ancient greek practice of pederasty as “enlightening” is just bizarre and this, along with campaigning to abolish the age of consent and many letters pleading for clemency on behalf of an ex-lover for statutory rape on state headed paper is a serious conflict of interest with his employer- us. Especially considering the shocking breadth of atrocities committed against children by the church in this country and our abhorrence of it, how is a more liberal attitude towards consent between adults and children alright???? (as what Norris himself personally believes in ref: ““Consent based on age, has resulted in many instances in the inappropriate criminal prosecution of minors,” he added, before going on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland today to say that he did not personally believe in an age of consent.” journal.ie)

• Yeah as in a 17 year old man being jailed for having sex with a 16 year old woman though if reversed the woman wouldn’t be prosecuted. He is saying it’s wrong for the man to get convicted. In Germany I think they have a graduated age if consent for teenagers as in the 17 year old wouldn’t be convicted as long as the other person was not more than 2 years younger I think. It makes sense.

• Yeah I think you’re a bit confused with the last quote. That’s him saying that minors shouldn’t be prosecuted for having sex with younger minors… Read it again.

• @David & Sean
      Don’t think I’ve ever heard of a 17yr old going to prison for having sex with a 16yr old ?please could supply an instance

• @Jeff How would you expect David or Sean to know of any specific cases involving a 17 and 16 year olds? They shouldn’t as not every crime is covered by the media, your argument is based on “If I can’t see it, it didn’t happen” and by that reasoning David Norris’s ex must be the only person to ever be convicted of statutory rape (notice it’s not called child rape, or child abuse or any has any mention of child) which is medieval reasoning.

• Just get over the whole child abuse issue btw, Norris has done his time in purgatory, it’s 3-weeks-ago’s news, done to death, etc…

• Up Norris!

• At the risk of being “lynched” here I must say I, under no circumstances, will be voting for David Norris & before I’m accused of being anti Gay let me say that his sexual orientation doesn’t bother me in the slightest, what does really upset me is the fact that people seem to be so blinkered as regards the letters he wrote looking for leniency for his lover in relation to the sentence he got for the statuary rape of a 15 year old boy. How in the name of God could anybody justify David Norris representing the Irish people on the world stage with that kind of a mentality? If a priest wrote a similar letter here in Ireland pleading for leniency for a fellow Priest I guarantee you that 99.9% of us would be up in arms about it AND RIGHTLY SO but for some unknown reason, because it was David Norris it seems as if it was acceptable behavior. I honestly believe that anything that even sniffs of child abuse should be totally condemned and there is NO NO NO reason in the world whereby it can ever be justified….. end of story.

• Mary, your entitled to your opinion of David, many of us disagree with you but thats not really what it was about until now. the issue was that he’s been consistently the most popular (no 1 or 2) in poll after poll and as such it was important that those of us whom support David were given the opportunity to do so in the ballot box, equally those whom do not support David have the right not to vote for him.

• Fair enough. I will vote for him. :)

• I agree. He lost my vote.

• Mary and Paddy,
      The difference is that the church abuse was horrific, young children were raped and abused against their will.
      The case in Israel with Mr Nawi was consensual sex between a young man and an older man. The word child abuse doesn’t really come into it.
      I definitely do not condone it but in some European countries 15 is the legal age for men and women to start having consensual sex.

Norris has not committed any crime, he wrote a letter like many politicians have done asking for leniency, this is common practice for Senators and politicians. Norris has gone on record saying he is appalled by the actions of Mr Nawi and is 100% against child abuse both mental and physical.

• Here in Ireland you are not an adult at 15 years of age, you are still a child, end of story.

• @Noddy

Read his comment, he didn’t say it wasn’t. He said that in some European countries the age of consent was 15, and that he didn’t agree with it. In Spain, for example, it’s 13. I’m not condoning it, merely stating facts.

I know you’re saying all this “here in Ireland” crap but the fact of the matter is the incident didn’t take place in Ireland, it took place in Israel. That “here in Ireland” bullshit’s irrelevant.

• @ Brian, fair enough, but David Norris wants to the president “here in Ireland” not the president “over there in Isreal”. So should he not represent the people and the law of the land “here in Ireland”. After all, he was a senator at the time “here in….. “

• *to BE the president..

• Noddy, here in Ireland Nawi probably would have escaped conviction because the boy had lied about his age. In 2006 the supreme court struck down the statutory rape law on the ground that it did not permit ignorance of the minor’s age to be used as a defense.

• President David Norris. Were going to have to get used to that appendage before his name. Roll on the 27 October.

• Norris is wrong for Ireland, a good and honourable man, but the defending of an Arab man to an Israeli court by using the office of the President of Ireland 20 years ago, is wrong on so many levels. And I haven’t even mentioned the crime, which has special resonance in this priestly country of ours.

• Mr G 27/09/11 #

Now hopefully the Irish public will show Norris the door

• One thing this whole episode demonstrates to me is the emergence of a significant anti-establishment faction within the Irish electorate. It will be interesting to see what happens to it both now and in the future. Will Sinn Féin be successful in harnessing its sentiments or will there be a substantial growth in independents. Could be interesting times ahead,..

• He’s a sitting Senator for 18 years Mark. Hardly anti-establishment. None of them are.

• @Markeen. A sitting what of 18 years? O yes a sitting Independent of 18 years. And your argument is what? That there’s a time limit beyond which some allure falls over you, and you awake one morning a member of the establishment. Know doubt there’s an initiation ceremony for new entrants. I’m thinking Freemasonry regalia.

The man’s been a thorn in the side of established prejudice for the majority of his public life. Not exactly the most effective way to go about ingratiating yourself into the establishment, there’s got to be an easier way. That’s right, it’s usually done by kissing ass in the upper echelons of an established Political Party.

• Oh,Alan……..

• Ok Martina, let’s call it ephebophilia then. Facts are, call it what you like, he tacitly supports it and a concept of an age of consent isn’t ‘that’ relevant in Norris’ world. He can apologise all he wants for remarks as he did this evening but I felt it was a hollow apology by a duplicitous man. On the other hand, if a catholic bishop issued the same apology, everybody would be up in arms complaining it was nowhere near enough, and it wouldn’t be but apparently we’ve all to adopt double standards where Senator Norris is concerned.

• Very well said! Pointing out small detail issues in arguments where the broad thrust is frighteningly to the bone is serious denial.

• In what way did a small minority of Norris’ supporters let themselves down, Billie?

• Excusing abuse of adolescents is a disservice to the term ‘liberal’.

• ah feck this, the moderator’s been at the sherry

• Yes, why not look at something in a way using standards you wouldn’t apply elsewhere in your life.

Add New Comment