TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Ó Muircheartaigh ‘really considering’ bid as FF members want candidate

The party wants to run a candidate according to a survey of TDs and senators. Meanwhile Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh is mulling a possible run.

Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh
Image: INPHO/James Crombie

FORMER RTÉ COMMENTATOR Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh has said that he is “really considering” a bid for the presidency and revealed he will make a decision between “now and the end of next week” after consulting his family.

Ó Muircheartaigh told RTÉ’s Morning Ireland that he was considering a possible bid for the presidency because of the events of recent weeks: ”I’ve become involved through chance. I never set out to be anything in the political sphere.

“What’s really got to me is the vast surge of support from the people,” he said.

The former GAA broadcaster said that there had been a lot of “promised support” from people who would like to see him in the contest. But he would not say which politicians had contacted him only confirming that he had not been contacted by Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin.

He also said that he would “certainly run as an independent.”

Meanwhile, most Fianna Fáil TDs and senators want the party to run a candidate in the presidential election later this year according to a survey carried out by the Irish Independent.

Published today, David Whelan and Michael Brennan report that 25 of the party’s 34 TDs and senators were contacted in which 13 said they favoured a candidate, eight were undecided or refused to comment and only four were against the idea.

Former ministers Éamon Ó Cuiv and Mary Hanafin have been mooted as possible candidates in the past. The party’s MEP Brian Crowley has been most widely mentioned and included in recent opinion polls, securing 13 per cent in a recent Red C poll.

However the Independent’s survey found that only five of the party’s Oireachtas contingent would back Crowley to run.

Party leader Martin threw his support behind possible independent Gay Byrne before the broadcaster withdrew from the race before he had even entered it over the weekend. Yesterday part whip Seán Ó Feargháil said it would be weeks before a decision would be made by the parliamentary party.

Read all the Race for the Áras coverage >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (76 Comments)

• O Muircheartaigh is a legend, but I think after Norris’s exit there’s been a scramble to find a ‘national treasure’ candidate to fill the void, without much consideration of their actual suitability for the role. The President has to do more than meet the teams before the All-Ireland.

• Some classic stuff…..
    Ó Muircheartaigh has become legendary in Ireland for his unique turns of phrase in the heat of the moment while commentating.
    “1-5 to 0-8…well from Lapland to the Antarctic, that’s level scores in any man’s language”.
    “Pat Fox has it on his hurl and is motoring well now … but here comes Joe Rabbitte hot on his tail …… I’ve seen it all now, a Rabbitte chasing a Fox around Croke Park!”
    “Some players are consistent and some players are brilliant. Colm McAlarney is consistently brilliant. ”
    “He grabs the sliotar, he’s on the 50……he’s on the 40……he’s on the 30……. he’s on the ground.”
    “Seán Óg Ó hAilpín…. his father’s from Fermanagh, his mother’s from Fiji, neither one of them a hurling stronghold.”
    “Teddy McCarthy to John McCarthy, no relation, John McCarthy back to Teddy McCarthy, still no relation.”
    “Colin Corkery on the 45 lets go with the right boot. It’s over the bar. This man shouldn’t be playing football. He’s made an almost Lazarus-like recovery from a heart condition. Lazarus was a great man but he couldn’t kick points like Colin Corkery.”
    “In the first half they played with the wind. In the second half they played with the ball.”
    “Setanta Ó hAilpín….the original Setanta from the old Gaelic stories was ten foot tall, had ten fingers on each hand and ten toes on each foot but even he couldn’t be playing better hurling than his namesake here today.”
    “… and Brian Dooher is down injured. And while he is, I’ll tell ye a little story. I was in Times Square in New York last week, and I was missing the Championship back home. So I approached a newsstand and I said ‘I suppose you wouldn’t have the Kerryman would you?’ To which the Egyptian man behind the counter replied ‘do you want the North Kerry edition or the South Kerry edition?’. He had both, so I bought both. And Dooher is back on his feet…”
    “Anthony Lynch, the Cork corner-back, would be the last person to let you down – his people are undertakers”
    “Teddy looks at the ball, the ball looks at Teddy.”
    ” Dublin have scored two points, one from the hand and one from the land.”
    “Pat Fox out to the forty and grabs the sliothar. I bought a dog from his father last week. Fox turns and sprints for goal. The dog ran a great race last Tuesday in Limerick. Fox to the 21 fires a shot, it goes to the left and wide… And the dog lost as well.”
    “I saw a few Sligo people at Mass in Gardiner Street this morning and the omens seem to be good for them, the priest was wearing the same colours as the Sligo jersey! 40 yards out on the Hogan Stand side of the field Ciarán Whelan goes on a rampage, it’s a goal. So much for religion.”
    “There’s a streaker now on the pitch, I’d say he’s a Kilkenny fan because he looks happy with the situation”

• Danial o donnell
    Larry gogan
    Shirley temple bar
    Bill Cullen
    Marty Morrison
    Jean butler
    Judge Paul carney
    Twink

So Much talent only one president. I propose a revolving presidency

• kate bh 16/08/11 #

look he is a great Irish man and ambassador of the Irish language etc. but i really can’t see him as a president, it all seems a bit convoluted!

• i want to be the centre of attention for another 15 minutes

what about RTE having a celeberty presidantial canadate programme and we could vote
    save money on the real election

just thinking jackie greedy rae might win with all the phones he has at his disposal

• I think you could be on to something The Baxter

After the News RTE Presents

“Celebrities Take it up The Aras”
      or
      “I cant believe I am not the President”
      or
      “Statesman or Oblivion”
      or
      “Uactaran Nuactaran”
      or
      “Fianna Fail? Not Me”
      or
      “Jockeys Bollix: The Race for the Presidency”
      or

• Heard his name come up on a radio show yesterday, honestly thought it was a joke. He’s a GAA commentator, what possible qualifications would he have for the job. Nothing at all against the man, I would listen to him talk for the day. But seriously

• I will give you just one example as to why he "qualifies" in my eyes – just three years ago , a bunch of people , including yours truly , were organising our fundraising for the Niall Mellon Township Trust, towards building housing for the poor in Africa and asked Micheal to MC our function – not only did he do a wonderfully articulate job in this, in describing what strides our little Country makes at home and abroad , but he refused any payment, or travel expenses, for his great nights work.

He further rounded off his great nights work by recruiting himself as a Volunteer and headed out the following March in 2009 to South Africa , working his ten hour day for seven days , like every other Volunteer

– A true Irish Hero , with massive articulation , culture and true class !

• Qualifications to becoming a president? Which ones are you talking about? And which other candidate has those qualifications you talk about? Micheal is a true Irish man, fluent in our language. He is involved in community activities all of his life along with charitable venturing to assist the lesser off. He treats people with respect, he believes in equality and loves his country. He is the most "IRISH" person I can think of and his life long experiences would assist us as a nation. The office of president is largely apolitical and pro ambassadorial and Michael would excel at this. He is a proud and true Irishman, what other qualifications would you like?

• Eddie; So your basing your reasons to give him a number one vote because he was a good MC and didn’t take money from a charity event (obviously most people still would, and rob ya blind while giving a shite presentation – bloody Irish!) and topped it off by going ahead and volunteering himself?

If that’s the case, I can think of a bunch of students down here in Waterford who would be good for the role. Actually, now that I come to think of it, I can think of many many other deserving candidates who worked very hard for a charity and raised not only money but got their hands dirty doing it.

Good to know what basic requirements you believe a president should have anyway! :)

• A brilliant example of the Irish penchant for ‘parish politics’, he done me a favour, looked after me and my little group and now i’ll vote for him. Gombeenism at it best!

• He is a football commentator, right? All getting beyond a joke now.

• Jesus Christ! At the rate they’re looking for someone well known, it’s only a matter of time before someone throws Bono’s name into the hat!

• That’s a nonsense comment. The Irish people are demanding an apolitical president who is a proud Irish person and can represent us internationally. By the sounds of it, you are happy with the current line-up. Care to say where your vote is off to?

• This has to either be a joke or a misunderstanding. Honestly now, who else that we mildly know will announce they are interested and that they have a lot of backing? Everybody partly famous these days apparently has the backing of the people and politicians.

This HAS to be a joke. He is in no way suitable for the role, having no political experience in the slightest and is a relatively unknown figure who is just mildly famous because he was a commentator for the GAA.

No disrespect to the man, but seriously this is making an absolute mockery of the Presidency. Since Norris dropped out we now have(had) two partly famous/well known people think they might just be able to hack the idea of being a president. A person who is to represent our country locally and abroad. Sign in laws, dissolve the Dail etc. We want to elect a GAA Commentator to the role with no other experience?!?!?!

• Articulate what "experience" to be a President of Ireland is please ?

• What other experience are you talking about? List them.

• Are you guys stalking out this page to defend him? Are you the people he is on about who asked him to run? :p

In my view, and its just an opinion, you should be;
      - A tad younger. The chap is 80, making him 87 when him term is over. Fair enough, age is only a number but a lot of us sadly don’t live until we are 90. The president will do a lot of travelling, speeches, meeting other political leaders etc. so its not a walk in the park. He would only be able to do one term anyway more than likely.

- Political background. Legislation will come before him and he must sign it in, or refer it onto the council at least for further consideration. How does a man with no political knowledge in the slightest get to grasps of ensuring the right legislation goes through? Someone with good political knowledge should be in the role for this reason, but others also. He will be visited by other heads of state, if not visiting other heads of states and other areas. Having no clue who these people are, their background or history it would be a tad embarrassing sending over some random joe soap who Ireland only know because he commented on Irish sport. He wouldn’t know anybody, or anything about them.

- Throwing a nobody (effectively he is, no offense) into the race makes a mockery of the system. The person should be well able to represent Ireland as a whole. Understand Ireland politically and socially. Understand politics and how the whole thing works.

While the presidency is a fairly dumbed down role and a pointless waste of money, which probably is best represented by the Taoiseach in the first place, we shouldn’t be electing any old random sod a lot of people know (and a lot of people don’t know, not like Gaybo) just because we don’t have a high regard for the role or fully understand it.

This person represents our state and is a figure head. Take it seriously for that reason alone, for our image abroad. Elect someone who is able for the job and politically aware and not somebody who is a common household name. Sending an 80 year old man around the place who hasn’t a bulls notion about how things work here or abroad, or who these people visiting him are and whats appropriate and not appropriate to say in a speech (you get help, but going in blind makes helping someone very difficult), what legislation looks and sounds dodgy, etc. is completely daft and makes us Irish look like a bunch of idiots.

• interestingly none of the detractors have yet listed the experience needed to be President o Ireland. I think the current list, with or without DN, were/are a poor choice to be my representative as head of state. However M O’M would represent alot of what is great about Ireland – a deep rooted unique culture of language, communication, charity, openness and family that has supported and continues to support Irish people both near and far no matter how far removed from Ireland they may be.
      Many many people around the globe like to champion their Irish heritage, and that vision of Irish heritage they have is more aligned to Michael O Muircheartaigh than the other prospective candidates; even if he is “only a GAA comentator” — what a bunch of snobs you are

• Kevin, if I had to articulate all of the great things that Micheal ( whom I know for more then fifty years ) has done and said in the utter positive over the years – I would be on my iPod for the day – I merely articulated one instance of the many great hearted deeds that he did in a most interesting and varied career from a teacher , to broadcaster to brilliant speaker and orator , as well as being the voice of Irish radio all around the globe!

• Perhaps you personal acquaintance with him his clouding your judgement. I have no doubt he is a good man, a pillar of the community, a decent family man and a great friend. There are many many out there would fit into that category that can also speak Irish, be knowledgeable people but would not be suited for the role of president. I’m sure a day on your iPod wouldn’t even cover it, nor would a manuscript.

Your a big fan of his, no doubt, but he is not a suitable candidate for president. He is suitable for other stuff I am sure, but this isn’t a job for a man of his stature and age. There are other candidates more fitting for the role.

• Who are these other suitable candidates you speak of?

• Welcome Back, John, I missed ya! :)

I suppose you could say that a ‘credible candidate’ is subject to personal opinion. But its say to say, at least going by a Red C poll, that the popular candidates are/would have been;

Norris (sadly he became heavily tainted, so had to walk)
      Gaybo (not suited for the roll either, but more suited)
      Higgins
      Mitchell

The others are not that popular, and in my personal opinion, the above candidates are as credible as we have at the moment. Pat Cox wasn’t a bad idea either, but never got the nomination from Fine Gael.

• Joanne 16/08/11 #

What? No. No disrespect to the man but just…no.

• While I think the man is a legend he is not right for the job. The man is in his 80′s. He’s too old. This race is really becoming a joke at this stage. Might run myself.

• Does anyone else think it looks like the guy in the background has a massive afro? Just me?

Look there’s clearly a dearth of decent candidates in Ireland. Can we not just find a decent statesman from another country with an Irish granny or something? Worked for football.

• To be honest he has the right to run and he would be a more morally strong candidate than some. He’s a bit old but if I was still in the country he’d get my vote.

• This is a joke.. This country is a joke.
    Why not just put Amanda Brunker up for president?? I’m emigrating from this craggy island dump if he becomes president!

• Must admit, its an interesting choice. Can I be lazy here and someone give me a few points from his autobiography to justify him running? To be honest, no other candidate would get my vote and I’d love to give it to him. I know it sounds like he’s the best of a bad lot, but, well, he is!!

• He’s a very proud Irish man with a love and interest in the Irish language and culture.he knows the history of the country and so what if he hails from Kerry.a lot of great men and women come from Kerry(I’m a dub)I think he would do brilliantly as uachtarain.good luck Micheal

• Scrapping the barrel. Is there no one at home up to the job?

• Kevin O’Sullivan >>>> I just read your comments about what qualifications you need to become president……..can u clear a few things up for me….

1) The man is 80 years of age, past presidents on election were 78 and 84!! So why does this rule Michael out? So what should he only want to serve one term, I think its healthy for democracy to only serve one term.

2) His political background, how do you know he lacks in this? Just because he has spent the last 40/50 years reporting about GAA matches does that automatically mean he has no Political views or background or is not up to date with current affairs? I am just a Barman, does that mean I know nothing about politics???

As for him just being a ‘joe soap’ and would not be known by our foreign diplomats……I never heard of Mary McAleese before her bid, I knew nothing about Sean Gallagher before Dragons Den, Mrs Robinson was known but certainly was not a house hold name and certainly not an international name. Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh on the other hand is a national house hold name and is extremely well known in America due to the Irish Americans who work hard to keep Irish Culture and Sport alive over there. As well as being known among every Irish community across the world. That is a qualification in itself.

As for him not knowing the background of other international politicians, fair enough, I agree, that’s why he, like all other presidents and ministers, has advisor’s. I’m sure he is up to date on most happenings within the EU and who does what, if he doesn’t, he would not take long to learn.

You say that by him entering we are Throwing a nobody (effectively he is, no offense) into the race, This man is not a nobody, he is a well respected house hold name that, even to this day, constantly promotes our culture, heritage and sport, he is by far the most qualified person to represent MY country. I would be proud to call him our first citizen…..why? Because all of his careerer has been based on promoting community spirit throught the GAA, a great ambassador for our culture and one that speaks 100% fluent Irish, our first language, apart from michael D, I can safely say the others may only have a ‘cupla focal’

You have judged the Book by its cover which is wrong. Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh will certainly get my number 1,

By the way those of you that says the office of president should be scrapped are idiots. The office of the president is the most important role in a democracy. His/Her job, while representing Ireland on an international basis is also to protect and be a guardian of our Constitution and to make sure our democratic right is upheld at all times and to be able to stand up to the government, after all he/she does have the power to do so. (Mrs McAleese failed on this by the way, remember Lisbon)

• I really could not agree more with that view.

• I agree 100%. Well said

• So John will only comment on my points when someone refutes them? Shame.

Colin; In regards to your points in order;

1) Your forgetting I am not the person with the final say. I was expressing an opinion on this one candidate. I never said in this topic that I supported older candidates in the past, and I still don’t. I think candidates should be allowed run when younger in fact, but not when they are in their 80s (just a personal view). One term or two, that’s their choice and I don’t mind. Some presidents are astounding and should keep going, like our current one but I suppose a change is nice. Others are so atrocious that we should be given the option to boot them out. 7 years is far too long anyway. But in regards to age, I think running for president at 81 years (he will be 81 in a few days) and having to stick out 7 years bringing him to 88… Not sure having someone of that age as our president is a good idea.

2) He said it himself in an interview recently about this. He has no political background, or other political role that I can recall/know off. He started doing radio from an early enough period in his life (late 1940s?). I suppose back then not every person had the opportunity to be involved in politics and he was roped into GAA from such a young age that only recently he has time to look for something else to do in retirement. He wouldn’t , clearly, have considered such a task only for the few people that approached him. And seeing as that we are looking for Irish Celebs to run, sure why wouldn’t he think about it?

3) Ah but Sean Gallagher has political ties, he just is quiet about it as they are Fianna Fail. While we may not recall him as he was a background figure, he has the experience and knowledge to at least be a credible candidate (in terms of what such a role should require that is, rather than my personal view). Mary McAleese wasn’t just some figure we knew from TV, she had a lot of fingers in pies you could say. If I recall, she had an education in accountancy, was vocal and associated with being vocal at least on the IRA, she was part of some group/advised on law reform for Homosexuals, she is connected with Fianna Fail and always has been (ran as a TD, never got it), worked in RTE funnily enough etc. Michael is known as a GAA commentator, a damn good one, a very very nice bloke who is seen as a pillar to his community and a good person to have on your side. Not what I forsee as a candidate.

4) I thought re: advisors before I commented alright. But as I said in my comment earlier, going in “empty handed” as such and completely debriefed and really having little clue whats going on means that his advisers really need to work on him. Sure they probably can, but its not easy educating someone in politics while in the role as a president. Should be done before, and then run when you are prepared. Its just tougher and higher prone to mistake or error, as you cant teach him everything.

5) Still, not strong enough to put him as the top pillar of Ireland. I’m sure other candidates can speak Irish, and to be honest even if they don’t – forgive me, but do many care? Nobody speaks it. He wont be speaking it much in his role. Not even our TDs/Ministers speak it.

I am looking far beyond the cover and into the many pages of this wonderful character. But I fail to see anything that convinces me that he is worth considering as a candidate. :)

• Sorry Kevin, I just don’t seem to have the same amount of free time as you do. Will try harder for you in future.

• I don’t get why he felt ready to retire from a less that full-time commentry job only to feel fit, in every meaning of the word, to run for president. And at the risk of offending his legions of fans, he is quite incomprehensible and his name is unpronouncable and far from unting the country his close ties to the GAA could be seen as quite divisive when the the perception of the GAA as an organisaion is that of one whihc still represents a very specific strand of irish society, conservative, catholic, etc.

• Just how adicted to celebrity status can we get?
    ddon’t get me wrong, I have met Micheal several times and agree he is a wonderful individual, but guardian of the Constitution, ambassador for Ireland and Irish people on a world stage, and an alternative (to politicians) agenda setter for communities all over the country, REALLY?

• I wouldn’t discount O’Muircheartaigh just because he used to work for RTE. Unlike Gaybo, he does represent a particular vision of Ireland. It is perhaps the Ireland of the 50′s and 60′s that some of us, who consider ourselves liberals, have been very critical of. However there are some positives from that era and two of those are the importance of the GAA and the Pioneer movement, both represented by O’Muircheartaigh.

• He’s too old and the most annoying man in public life in Ireland.

• This has to be the biggest joke of a presidential election to date. I think the date nail in the whole thing is sounding. I may aswell throw my hat in too, im prob the only one that hasnt. Who next i wonder Larry Murphy or Martin Foley??

• NollaigO 17/08/11 #

Why not Terry Wogan!

• The silly season continues! however, only realistic option for him to enter the race is for FF to facilitate him some of them are non too pleased at the last effort at getting an RTE canditate!

• What a tremendously unifying choice he would be for all the people of Ireland – a magnificent suggestion!

Go for it Micheal – you will have my Number One !

• There’s a reason he’s a commentator and not a presenter… look at him

• EM 16/08/11 #

Not one person putting down Micheál has offered a serious alternative. Speaks volumes!

Micheál represents what a lot of Irish people are looking for…someone they regard as being a decent, honest Irish person who loves this country and its people and someone we feel we can trust to do a good, honest job as President of Ireland.

He’s far from an ideal candidate but he’s streets ahead of any corrupt, incompetent politician this country has to offer. You want someone with a politicial background? Sure vote for the very gobshites that have lead this country to near ruin.

The President of Ireland may not have any real powers but I still want a decent person representing this country…not some snake from FF/FG/Lab.

Add New Comment