TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Oil laundering plant uncovered in Louth

The plant in Dundalk had the capacity to launder some 18 million litres of fuel a year with a potential loss of €9 milllion to the exchequer.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Archive/Press Association Images

OFFICERS FROM REVENUE’S Customs Service, assisted by Gardaí, uncovered an oil laundering plant in Dundalk, Co Louth in the early hours of this morning.

The oil laundering plant in Tatebane, Dundalk, had the capacity to launder approximately 18 million litres of fuel a year with a potential loss to the exchequer of €9 million.

30,000 litres of illicit fuel and 53 bags of bleaching earth were found and seized at the site as well as a tanker and three lorries, one of which contained a concealed tank for the transportation of laundered fuel.

Ancillary equipment for the bleaching earth laundry was dismantled and removed, along with an old-style cat litter laundry which had not been in use in recent weeks.

Officers also discovered 36 tonnes of toxic waste and a ‘sibín’ on the premises. Spirits on which Irish duty was not paid was seized by Revenue officials.

Three men, two from Northern Ireland and one with an address in Co Louth, were arrested and taken to Dundalk Garda Station.

Revenue said this operation was the result of surveillance activity carried out by the Customs Service and forms part of Revenue’s “on-going crackdown on laundered fuel”.

In a statement it said it “would like to remind motorists and the public that they should be aware of the risks posed to their vehicles by using laundered fuel.”

“It also takes much needed funds from the Exchequer; hurts legitimate trade and of course it is funding criminal activity.”

Explainer: What is laundered fuel?
Read: Revenue close down 38 filling stations this year in black market crackdown>

Read next:

Comments (22 Comments)

• Well done Customs .
    Fuel laundering seems to be rampant in that area. What are these people doing with the sludge.

• Excellent detection by Customs.

• Fuel laundering in Louth, I for one am shocked.

• what a haul of dirty fuel!!!… the damage that does to ur engines!

• Mjhint 24/10/12 #

While I agree that some of these claims by the authorites in relation to lost revenue can be inflated to be news worthy anyone that thinks buying this fuel is in someway justified is a clown. The money earned from this is fueling criminal activities in the same way drugs are. Whatever about doing the state out of money buying this fuel promotes activities that most normal citizens would wish not to know about. I comment the recent discoveries by the customs & hope it continues. Secondly if you use this in your car long enough you will see all your saving lost in repairs. I have witnessed some of the damage done & its worse than pulling teeth.

• More job losses.

• I wonder is that 9 million figure accurate or just inflated to make these raids sound better on the news. the criminals have to first buy the agricultural diesel which they probably pay vat on. I dono! I am sure they have bills 2 like the rest of us like mortgages, gas and electric bills etc they have to eat aswell so they must buy food and clothes so most of the money they earn goes back into the system anyway and if they weren’t doing this sort of thing they would have less money to spend in the economy. is the 9 million figure accurate at all or is it more like a few grand in reality!

• that’s not my point! if a criminal is earning loads of money he is going to spend it most of it cause he won’t want the state to take it off him ! like buy a nicer car, bigger house more expensive clothes etc! if they are not earning they can’t spend! buying the basics like we do is not the same! my point is most of the money they earn goes back into the system one way or another. so is the actual loss of 9million accurate!

• @ toorkeel question your own intelligence. I myself am actually highly educated but I am not stupid enough to believe what I read or what the state tells me. it’s not rocket science. yes they lose 9million but most of that money ends up filtering it’s from the black economy into the normal economy and it you believe otherwise your an idiot

• toorkeel 24/10/12 #

I wasn’t questioning your education….just your intellegence. I just cannot fathom how you think that criminals who care about no one but themselves have anything to contribute to the economy…I mean, just because a criminal says to his “moll”. “Honey, Here is E100k that I have made from laundering fuel after defrauding the State, polluting the countryside and ruining countless unsuspecting motorists engines. Now buy yourself some diamond earrings and a new frock, so we can give some of our ill gotten gains back to the exchequer by way of VAT.” You are either clueless, plain stupid or both.

• Fair play to ya Michael stand up to the tw-ts

Add New Comment