TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

They’re back: Fianna Fáil bounce into second place in new opinion poll

It is the first time in two years that Fianna Fáil has overtaken Sinn Féin and Labour in an Ipsos MRBI opinion poll.

"I've been waiting for this moment..."
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

A NEW OPINION poll shows Fianna Fáil has overtaken both Labour and Sinn Féin to become the second most popular party in the country.

It is the first time the party has been in that position in more than two years in an Ipsos MRBI poll.

The results of the opinion poll conducted for the Irish Times released tonight show that when people were asked who they would vote for in a general election, Fianna Fáil received 21 per cent (up four percentage points), with Sinn Féin on 20 per cent (down four points) and Labour on 12 per cent (up two).

Fine Gael is down one point at 31 per cent. The Green Party remains at 2 per cent while Independents/Others are at 14 per cent (down one point). All of the figures excluded undecided voters who made up a significant minority of respondents – a total of 33 per cent said they were undecided as to who they would vote for.

Satisfaction with all of the party leaders has dropped. Gerry Adams saw the biggest drop with an 8 percentage point decrease in satisfaction with his leadership. However with a 29 per cent satisfaction rating overall he remains the second most popular party leader behind Enda Kenny at 33 per cent.

The poll was taken on Monday and Tuesday of this week using face-to-face interviews with 1,000 voters around the country. The margin of error is plus or minus 3 per cent.

Read: Is Fine Gael taking disciplinary action against TDs over critical article? >

Read: Labour TDs criticise Fine Gael ‘rants’ about Croke Park deal >

Read next:

Comments (339 Comments)

• Biggest shock to me is that the Green Party even feature!

• To be honest I’d rather them at 21% than FF, bit players as they were in the last government.

• omfg… this stuff again.

Greens as a six person minority party got as much in their program for government as Labour did with five times that amount. The policys of the banking bolocks were not opposed by anyone but sinn fein and the far left groups.

They got fec all done in the end but specifically hating them for doing exactly what minority parties are meant to (get a few points done and nothing else) in government is silly.

Anyhoo, look at my comment further up for what I think would fix this and many irish political issues.

• mick 17/10/12 #

Bye bye Labour.

• The really big news from that particular poll is the huge % that are undecided. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one before where 1 in 3 of those surveyed hadn’t a clue who to vote for!

To me that just indicates that there’s a huge level of dissatisfaction and disconnect with the whole political system.

It also indicates that people are not sticking to their old party lines and are likely to be extremely pragmatic when an election comes up.

• Damn you Mayans. you predicted this didn’t you!!!

• People have short memories… *sigh*

• people have limited choice within the current system…..

it’s either choose someone else if unhappy with the current people or come up with some other system.

• Tommy,

There IS choice: Sinn Fein, Independents, People before Profit, Socialists, etc.

If people are so dumb to think it’s either FF or FG, it would explain their short memories.

• One thing is that most of their vote is concentrated in the 65+ demographic. They have little support in the under 45′s. Time will do for them, Thank God and it won’t be soon enough.

• Does anyone else think that the problem is people don’t like our current political system.

Labour get in as a minority to a majority right wing government and everyone hates them because its an economically unimaginative centerist government. Well mix Labour red and Fine Gael green and all you end up with is sh#tty brown any day of the week.

My own prescription and what I think the hidden problem is is the whip system. Vincent Browne keeps lambasting people for voting for things they obviously personally dislike but ignores that this is the political system they were elected into and have to abide by. Get rid of that then the opposition members become useful and valuable, debate means something again and members of government (even in a minority) can still have a conscience.

• We need an alternative on the right to sort out the economy. I fear these leftists will drive us further into oblivion. They mean well but I’m not so sure they know what they are doing. Shouting populist ideas is fine if there is no expectation of ever getting into power but they now need to grow up.

• @stefanovich No need to stick with the left comment, they all spout populist tripe.

• @Joe, I had to check back there to be sure but I never said there was no choice. There is always choice. Personally, I don’t see the parties you listed as a credible choice as they have never (IMO) offered change in a credible way.

And to be fair Joe, when you don’t see those parties you listed as being credible then you look at the ones you appear to believe are only for the dumb.

I’m more of the opinion that while FF have a lot of responsibility with respect to where we are – how long can people continue to point at the party and say that those currently active in FF have no business in government? Time passes, the individuals change and the party once again becomes credible. The same would be true for any party. Labour are making a complete mess of it right now too and I can’t imagine they are regarded by many as very credible either currently – but again, this can be expected to change in time. That’s exactly why we don’t end up with the same party in government every election.

@Conor: “Does anyone else think that the problem is people don’t like our current political system.”
      Yes – absolutely. I can see no party that deserves a vote IMO. It’s more a case of choosing the best of the worst these days.

• @ Tomy

I have resisted allowing FF right-wing supporters to tell me how to think and feel. However, I have to admit that today’s people confuse me. It almost seems that they focus on the issue of favoritism over all the other “SOCIAL” issues. Micheal Martin promises to double the amount on unemployment and say he will steal seniors social security money to pay them! To me a strong economy is what is really going to help people. This opens up more choices and opportunities. Sinn Fein have launched their stimulus plan for the economy and I support it. Fianna Fail on the other hand have just played the ‘poor us’ game in order to get the sympathy vote. Personally, I will do everything I can to tell everyone I know not to vote for Fianna Fail again.

Fianna Fail MUST be kept out of government. No sane-minded person would forgive them for the carnage they inflicted upon every Irish man, woman and child.

• I knew while I was writing that post that assumptions would be made. I have no allegiance to any party.

I find your post very very confusing though because it seems to see-saw all over the place. For example:
      This…
      “I have resisted allowing FF right-wing supporters to tell me how to think and feel”
      does not fit with this…
      “Fianna Fail MUST be kept out of government”
      You don’t want to be told how to think yet appear to be telling people how to vote?

and this….
      “Sinn Fein have launched their stimulus plan for the economy and I support it”
      doesn’t fit with this….
      “No sane-minded person would forgive them for the carnage they inflicted upon every Irish man, woman and child”

At what point did Sinn Fein get forgiven for their part of the carnage inflicted on this island and in Britain?

I actually don’t really have a problem with SF being a part of government. I would respect any person’s democratic right to vote for whomever they please. It’s only my opinion that what they offer is not credible and if they did get into government and I was proved wrong then I’d be happy to be wrong.

At some point, people let the past be the past and tie the past to the individuals rather than the party. That’s what I mean by FF gaining in this poll. A combination of that and the fact that FG/Lab are quite simply doing a simply brutal job.

• james 17/10/12 #

Just read this on RTE. This country is a complete & utter joke.

• James,jokes are funny. this is so not funny.

• I was speaking with a woman who is quite centrist and she recoiled at fianna fail’s monologue about women. She left the room saying Micheal Martin came off as a total creep. And this was someone who hated fine gael’s christian right ideology.

Micheal Martin is an empty suit. He’s like a plastic human that can be shaped to fit any situation and opinion. He is a creep.

• Elrat 17/10/12 #

Doomed – we are doomed !

• Wouldnt be hard to overtake labour or the shinners , terrible parties.

• People want an alternative to the gov but there isn’t one.

• Seriously. Bells. That 21% should be made wear bells so that members of the general population are pre-warned that a person of incalculable stupidity is approaching. They should also have corks put on all the forks in their cutlery draw lest they hurt themselves. And if 21% are saying they would vote for the architects of Ireland’s economic humiliation and surrender of sovereignty you can bet in reality they’re most likely at 25% when you count the cowards who are too ashamed to admit to voting for them.

• Sam 17/10/12 #

Unbelievable this is so Irish. Fianna Fail drove our country to the dumps and because of that thousands of people have lost their jobs, emigrated and in some cases committed suicide. How in anyone’s right mind would vote for them. We need a new political party in Irish politics. I’ve heard of the Irish Democratic Party but I’m unsure if it has ever made progress in setting up. Either way we need a left right divide in politics and move on from civil war politics.

• Sam , to be fair fianna fail didnt make people overstretch themselves on mortgages and they cant control the banks entierly.

But I agree we need a new party , one to cut taxes and stand up to the unions and the dole scroungers, a party to close our borders to unskilled immigrants, lower taxes and make business easier for companies, to give people more powers to defend themselves and stand up to criminals

• Twenty one per cent of Irish people suffer from Stockholm syndrome. No other plausible explanation.

• Sam 17/10/12 #

Stephen I agree with a lot of what you say and your right Fianna Fail didn’t make people overstretch themselves on mortgages but there is something called regulation where was the regulation Stephen, surely that’s Fianna Fails fault.

• I like the bells idea. Or maybe we could get all the brain dead FF supporters to emigrate, instead of always losing our best and brightest to their corruption and greed. Traitors all.

• There is an alternative: Sinn Fein.

The problem is people stuck in their old fashioned family voting ways. This is why Ireland never learns and keeps making the same boom-bust decisions.

Tax breaks like pension breaks for rich sections of society under Fianna Fail. Even the imf called for this to be rolled back. The economics aren’t in favor of tax breaks because they lead to distortions in the economy. A tax break costs the state and those who have ability to pay more should do so.

• Stephen, FF by their policies developed an environment where people were actively encouraged to borrow beyond their means. They deliberately had a “regulation light” relationship with the banks so they are definitely at fault. Also Mr Martin sat at the cabinet table for the duration so is just as culpable as the others. They stole my children’s future and I, for one, won’t ever forget that regardless of how many times he says: we are where we are!

• stephen is either a fainna failer or an idiot.

• 21% of the electorate would rob from their own mothers. What kind of dirty traitor votes FF.

• #JoeMcGarry I think most of us are looking for an alternative whose economic policy isn’t predicated on tipping into the local Northern Bank in the middle of the night, whose Justice policy doesn’t include shooting dead Gardai and whose infrastructure policy isn’t based on asking council workers to make extra tar to go with the feathers accumulated for warning off rival drug gangs. No?

• I understand – FG & Lab are not doing it, the shinners & ULA policys don’t stand up. BUT I would rather be dragged naked across a field of broken glass by my tounge than vote for FF. I owe it to my children !!

• Says the Fianna Failure proudly. Lest We forget this party’s terrible Governance has Us were We are today & for years to come too.

• Paul 17/10/12 #

I like the bells idea too. I’d also like to suggest a box on ballot papers where voters explain their reasons for voting, one mention of the civil war, their grandfather, the candidate’s father or a favour and their vote should be binned and their name deleted from the register

• Me own personal opinion is to execute them for treason. Set a precedent, won’t happen again for a while. Guillotine worked well in France.

• Your Facebook url is: http://www.facebook.com/MaddieMccann

Maddie McCann – Do you think that is funny.

It is the crud of the country like this fool that are in FF and backing them.

• If FF are responsible for the recession how did they stretch their powers all the way to Greece the USA etc

• Emmm..it was a world wide recession did ff cause this?surely we can’t blame them for everything…at least they would have gotten us a better deal so we can pay our banks

• We can blame them for the most expensive bailout in the history of the world, and for selling our country down the river. Do you get it now?

• Sinn Fein will have us living on the 50′s isloated on the edge of Europe with no FDI. they’ll tax the rich with no incentive to create employment who’ll pay the welfare then.

• Aye Stephen!!!

• It may have been a “global recession\2 but you MUST remember that FF made this worse by over-spending to buy votes. Fianna Fail created a deficit of 32% of GDP by their profligate spending and bank debt socialization.

Think of that before you consider voting Fianna Fail.

• People should be grateful for what FF did. If it wasn’t for them wed have no money in the ATMs and we wouldnt have a stable funtioning banking system like we do today. At least 21% of people are sensible. And it will be 31% before long let me tell you! The comeback is on!!

• @FF4Sean: You clearly came down with the last shower – either that or you’ve developed amnesia with regard to ALL fiscal policy decisions taken by this State prior to the announcement of the Bank Guarantee Scheme. Or maybe you’re just a troll.

Just to be on the safe side though, can I nominate you to pilot this warning bell suggestion? Or would that interfere with you just going back to sleep?

• johnny 18/10/12 #

@killian shaw, “tipping in to the Northern Bank” love it

• We’ve been reading for months about the fact that fianna fail pays women in their administration, far less than they pay men for equal jobs. We’ve been hearing negative reports from fianna fail women, who complained that the men not only earned higher salaries, but had better access to the “jobs”.

• These guys ran the country into the ground and have screwed it up for generations and people would still vote for them… unreal..

I really have lost all faith in people. Stupid mindless lemmings, no other words for it.

• Well, we voted for FG and Labour and they seem to be even worse than what went before. Who do you suggest we turn to next as we seem to be rapidly running out of options?

• # Maria- would you listen to yourself? Worse than went before??? FF presided over the collapse of the Irish economy, the surrender of our sovereignty, corruption on a biblical scale and a truly gluttonous wasting of our collective wealth. Yeah. That €100 household charge is soooooooo much worse, isn’t it? So tired of professional Government bashers? Is it that hard to draw a line between the legacy of that catastrophic Fianna Fáil Government and unpopular policies now? It’s not rocket science. You just have to think beyond newspaper headlines and Ray D’Arcy.

• # Maria- would you listen to yourself? Worse than went before??? FF presided over the collapse of the Irish economy, the surrender of our sovereignty, corruption on a biblical scale and a truly gluttonous wasting of our collective wealth. Yeah. That €100 household charge is soooooooo much worse, isn’t it? So tired of professional Government bashers. Is it that hard to draw a line between the legacy of that catastrophic Fianna Fáil Government and unpopular policies now? It’s not rocket science. You just have to think beyond newspaper headlines and Ray D’Arcy.

• “Who do you suggest we turn to next as we seem to be rapidly running out of options?”

Well, I would make a change to the alternatives like Sinn Fein, People before Profit, Independents, Socialist Party, etc. Don’t vote based on family voting habits – vote based on principles – not money.

• Killan
      You also seem to have forgotten that Fine Gael couldnt get voted in until they were handed it on a plate – and even then they couldnt win a majority. Why do you think they were in opposition for so long? It is because they are Tory thatcherites/republican-alike who would have imposed austerity on the ordinary people and tax breaks for the rich even in good times – they just have the excuse to do it now.
      SF and all those independents promise the earth, but they will not be a majority government even if everything goes right in the next election so these promises are empty

• I didn’t say who I’d vote for, just that we’re running out of options. I should have said that I’M running out of options. A lot of the policies of some of the left wing parties would appeal to me, but, as I do vote on principal, not on family voting habits, I’d have to part company with when it comes to some key areas. I’m not sure who’ll I’ll vote for the next time, but, as Independents don’t usually have a lot of power and the whip system ruins party politics, it’s a bit of a catch 22..

• The gombeen men never went away… memory is a fickle thing.

• Sad truth, for all the talk of the friendly, decent, proud Irish there are a lot that couldn’t care less what happens to the country, couldn’t care less that their children have to emigrate and their parents die in MRSA run hospitals. There are a lot of bad eggs in this country, it is a sad result to see.

• The Fianna Fail years have been the hardest on women. More women in poverty, more women on food stamps and more women that are unemployed.

Women would choose prosperity over poverty.

FF has done the women of Ireland no favors.

• Oh good god I really despair for the country , are people really that stupid

• Thats it I have made my mind up, I’m leaven this country!!!

• In fairness, they’ve been performing well recently – I wonder if it would stick at the polls though; it’s too soon to forget.

• What this poll could also be telling up is that FF are seem as the 2nd least awful party. That says more about the opposition than it does about FF.

• People voted for Lowery knowing his record. They also voted for Beverly Flynn knowing her history. Not to mention the Healy Reas and Adems and co.
    We get what we deserve – a bankrupt country with a gang of greedy, lying, cheating gutless lot.

• Presuming it’s not a rogue poll (& it could be), would suggest that people are responding to Micheal Martin’s programme of Constructive Opposition & are tired of the likes of SF making the same sort of populist, silly promises that Labaour & Fine Gael made before the last election.

• All major polling agencies now have FF in 2nd. Polls however are only a snap shot in time. Increase in support above the margin of error is a positive though. More policy ideas, holding government to account and supporting policies that are genuinely good for the country should consolidate and build on the increasing fortunes.

• SMcB 17/10/12 #

I’d have no issue with this were it not for the fact that FF brought us to where we are today,

• FF4Sean 18/10/12 #

Here here!

• Una Dev 18/10/12 #

But FF don’t do any of that, Eoin. The recession started when Fianna Fail cut taxes for the rich and now they must pay more to restore economic equality. FF are like a bunch of strumpets hanging around outside a church whining how they are being persecuted while their heads bob up and down. FF’s reign of error, bankrupting Irish Banks, and tying the country’s fate to doomed banks.

• Opposing the household tax (… that ye signed us up for and the Government now have to implement) is responsible opposition is it Eoin?

• Conor the campaign is called “wrong tax, wrong time”. In the MOU with the Troika there was mentioned a property based tax, not specifically one based on the value of the property (inequitable, unenforceable and unfairly biased against large cities). It also didn’t necessarily saw family homes would be included. However, I and a lot more in the party believe something more approaching a “Council Tax” based on services provided, collected locally and staying locally would be a better version of this particular tax. Hence, “Wrong Tax”.

The MOU also states that if the then growth projection held, then a property tax would be envisaged to take effect towards the end of 2014. The growth targets have been missed by a mile but instead of being delayed, this government has in fact brought the date forward for implementation. “Wrong Time”.

Fianna Fáil would be in favour of bringing in a local tax for local services, a Council Tax, based on properties but domestic and commercial down the line however now is not the right time and the centrally collected unaccountable, property value based tax is a poor decision form government.

No double standards, equitable alternative solution proposed and government held to account. This is exactly what Fianna Fáil are doing in opposition and it is catching on with people. Any of the above points with regard to the tax in question wrong Conor? I’ll stand corrected if it can be shown to be.

• censored 18/10/12 #

Eoin, we don’t believe FF lies anymore. We know well what you would really do.

• censored, a person with Enda Kenny and Eamon Gilmore as his profile photo, lecturing others on lies. Please!!!! Give it a rest. If you don’t have a substantive response to the above, just don’t bother wasting everyone’s time with banal, politically self-motivated comments.

If you can counter any of the above points with reference, please feel free.

• Nothing will ever change on this country. :-(

• When will the Irish see the bigger picture, they need to get rid of their subservient mindset, its very frustrating when i see polls like this, maybe a harsh budget is the only way that the Irish will wake up and take responsibility for their past and future actions.

• oh dear lord..i really hope that is a joke??..i wonder did they poll any younger voter?because for as long as i live i will never ever vote for the party that has sent half my mates abroad and left me and my generation a legacy of debts and hardship for years to come!!Sheep i tell you!

• No wonder FF are regaining popularity. The arrogance of Gilmore, the pure spinelessness of Kenny and the carry on of the likes of James Reilly are more than enough to convince the people that this government has to go. Labour let a good woman be sacrificed when they stabbed Roisin Shortall in the back and it’s fairly obvious that holding on to power is more important than any of the concerns of us mere mortals. Children, carers, people with disabilities, the low paid, the struggling middle classes, the unemployed, lone parents….no one is safe from the FG/ Labour axe. They only have themselves to blame- they lead sheltered lives, ensconcing themselves in the luxury of places like Carton House while they discuss the fortunes of those who couldn’t even afford a coffee in the comfort of the luxurious surrounds.

• Don’t get carried away FF. One swallow doesn’t make a summer and anyway its October and all the swallows are gone..

• Conal 17/10/12 #

Sweet Jesus, NO!

• this country has never seen as big a bunch of criminals outside of bankers god help us if people are thick enough to vote for the FFailures

• People don’t have any real alternatives but don’t like the government.

• The Irish nation needs to grow up. Our electorate is like the audience at a pantomime. Booing every time the “villain” comes out from behind a curtain. Or in this case, protesting against the Government when they make decisions the masses don’t like. We have collectively paid a terrible, terrible price for rewarding Governments for telling us what we want to hear and pursuing populist policies rather than doing the right thing by the country. We’re in the midst of a national emergency. We’re at war. This Government was always going to have to come in and make the most horrendous cuts. Save the righteous indignation for those who brought this plague down upon us. And accept that we as an electorate encouraged them.

• Stephen – there are alternatives: Sinn Fein, People before Profit, Independents, and so on. I think the real problem is people vote based on their family habits. Very sad form of Stockholm’s Syndrome.

• @killian, excellently put. I think most people know this, and knew what was ahead of FG and LAB. FG were trying for an overall majority and LAB were fighting back, both with ridiculous promises, that once again, people fed off. With FF on the rise its ‘Look out behind you!’ time.

• No Killian, many of us are complaining because our current government is taking too many of the soft options and passing the buck. What “hard” decisions have they made? This guarantees we’ll be a walking dead economy for years to come.

• Una Dev 18/10/12 #

censored,

Actually the current gov’t took extreme right-wing decisions that constitute class warfare e.g. extending the tax breaks on the rich and paying the bondholders.

• Una, extreme right? That’s exactly what the extreme right would *not* do.

• Una- I think it’s time that people here realised that when it comes to the bond holders, neither FG nor Labour are running the show. When FF bankrupted us they left us, like petulant children who had racked up a huge debt, having to promise to do as we’re told by the parents who are bailing us out. Paying bond holders is the price we pay for keeping schools, hospitals and Garda Barracks open at a time when, essentially we’re broke. Blame FF. blame Berlin. But it’s a hard one to pin on FG.

• censored 18/10/12 #

Correct, Una Dev. Like I said, not making the hard decisions.

• I’d rather vote Dustin than SF.

• Constructive opposition is the way to go !!! Let us march on and bring this government to task!!!

• The nation would rather you disbanded

• Evidently not Killian.

Already you have seen how FF are the best opposition party. Constructive opposition. Not saying no for the sake of it and providing real alternative policies.

I for one will not abandon FF and leave the sole opposition to government being controlled by the ULA and SF.
      The nation is beginning to see this as well.

• So 21% are deluded, desperate or want to get on a FF get-rich-quick gombeen scheme. That leaves 79% who haven’t forgotten what you did. I see this more as a blip. People are beginning FG/Labor for what they are: continuity FF*ckers.

• #David, 79% would seem to agree with me. For the record, I have no issue with FF being in opposition. As long as ye stay there. FF was founded using stolen money from the state by a ferocious traitor. It’s corrupt to its very DNA, bringing to power Haugheys and Aherns and P Flynns and Ivor Callely’s. It has done incredible damage to this nation and has no place. The so called Republican Party, the very one that scoffed at the West Brits in Fine Gael was the party that handed our independence over to Berlin. I can accept that everyone has a right to an opinion and very often it will differ from mine- but FF’s heritage is different. It is a cancer on the body politic of Ireland, the host of cute hoor syndrome. And by God, aren’t we all paying for it now.

• Fianna Fail are NOT a constructive opposition – they come across as desperate enough to buy votes by their crony style arguments. This appeals to some people but despite incredible dishonesty, Fianna Fail are NOT the alternative.

The real alternatives are Sinn Fein, People before Profit, Independents, Socialists, etc.

• Una Dev 18/10/12 #

David Ryan is deluded. FF provide no alternatives other than smoke and mirrors. This is the trick that FF politicians successfully pulled off in the 1980’s to buy votes.

• Propaganda, pure and simple coercion of the media and statistics

• I wouldn’t worry about it in the slightest. Remember ff were quite confident before they got a f@@# o@@ kicking at the polls.
    Well our spinless leader and his band of bullies are heading for the same.
    I can see kenny throwing labour to the dogs to save his own “yes brigade”.
    Now is the time for the performing and new blooded folk from all the parties to get together and set up a new party based on honesty and the people they represent.

• Proof that the best and brightest have emigrated from this country

• I was right , you are a troll , very funny . Very good , u had me there for awhile ! Lol . Ur a comedian

• The soldiers of destiny on the march!

• Its only a poll….big difference between being polled on the phone or street and putting a tick on the ballot paper particularly when a picture is beside it…

Wouldnt b going mad on the champagne tonite if i was a fianna failer…the scars of the electorate are still raw.

• I think you are messing ff4 Sean . Is this Sean Gallagher , the brown envelope Sean Gallagher . I am not a fg supporter , but there will be a civil war , if failers get anywhere near to running my country again .

• FF4Sean 18/10/12 #

How dare you bismerch an honest entrepenure. Sean Gallagher fundraised for FF getting money from other businessmen. FG and all other parties do this too, theres nothing wrong with it at all.
      FF and FG are the two right-wing parties and therefore the ones with the most sensible policies for running the country.

• Una Dev 18/10/12 #

FF4Sean,

I would vote anyone to keep Sean Gallagher OUT.

Right wingnuttters are bonkers. Last month when they showed FF, they were despicable, manipulated, improperly sampled sources of witchcraft and conspiracies.

Now FF has 21%?

What a bunch of malarkey!!!!

• WOW. I’m stunned, but at the same time, I’m not at all surprised.
    Our government sucks ass and the system at which they suck ass also sucks ass.

There is no real alternatives out there and even if there was, they’d have to work within a seriously broken system.

• Sure it’s only a poll but in saying that the last poll showed SF ahead of FF and there was great excitement from the SF/Not IRA Adams party, there was so many comments from the Freedom fighters pontificating about the death of the FF party so I have to assume that SF have great faith in polls or maybe not this one just the last one.

• What a night…Fianna Fail & Trap back…have had enough…I’m going to bed…

• How quick we forget.

• Yup It’s time to emigrate.

• Finally. Seems most are seeing what I’m seeing. This fine gael/labour government is unable to handle this country.

• #Edel- you’re so insightful. I mean you’re right. FF did such a good job when they were in power. I mean I got a bit distracted what with FG negotiating a lower interest rate on the debt Bertie, Brian & Micheal left behind and that whole breaking of the linkage between sovereign & bank debt and our imminent return to the open market and the departure of the Troika that I forgot the contribution FF could make to this country. I mean we could have more benchmarking! Some more tribunals! There could be electronic voting machines in every pub!!!!!! Come back Soldiers of Destiny- all is forgiven!!!!!

• Edel,

That isn’t an excuse to vote Fianna Fail. I’m not trying to have a go but please vote for the alternatives on the left instead of Fianna Fail. Otherwise, we will endure another boom-bust bubble of another kind if FF are re-elected.

• Killian- You yourself seem to be a yoda type. Please oh wise one, enlighten us on your views of how we will succeed as a country with an unstable party at the helm?

• censored 18/10/12 #

We know you prefer the dark side edel.

• #Edel- I define stability by using the last FF Government as a benchmark. You know. The one that lurched from crisis to crisis. The one where the Taoiseach could not organise his own cabinet reshuffle! The one propped up by the greens. The one that needed the remnants of the PD’s to vote with them to survive. The one which let Michael Lowry and Jackie Heali Rae order off the menu for their own constituency- just to keep them in power. By their standards, FG and Labour are solid as a Rock.

• Goldfish thats what we are…and as for the Labour Party being up 2 points….Oh my good God!!

• words cannot describe my disbelief…

• Relax lads, it’s only an opinion poll.

• This can’t be true , can it ? Fianna Fáil let us all down . Sold our sovereignty and then walked away with their full pensions , laughing at the ordinary Irish people.Please please , I am begging all ,don’t let these conmen back into power

• FF4Sean 17/10/12 #

How many times?? It was a GLOBAL resession! FF did a great job of running this country for years and will do again in 2 or 3 years time please god.

• It wasn’t a “global recession in 2010 when the deficit increased to 32% of GDP due to Fianna Fail’s bank guarantee. Instead of letting the Banks fail like in Iceland…

• FF4Sean 18/10/12 #

Shur Iceland is a kip. Burn d bondholders is it? You wanted to see no money in the ATMs did ya? Shur that wud have been a great idea.
      Brian Lenihan and Brian Cowen saved this country, some ppl dont understand that yet.

• That didn’t take long!

• Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael, Fianna Gael, Fine Fáil – whats the difference?

• We never learn.

• As someone else mentioned earlier, like FF or not, they are the only credible opposition to the current coalition.
    Although as a member, I wouldn’t be getting carried away.

• If Fianna Fáil get back in government in the next 20 years, we deserve everything we get, and have gotten !!!

• Gombeen politics alive and well i see!

• I ‘m AMAZED at this!
    are the Irish people really this stupid?
    FF are a Mafia organization,
    I’m speechless is it time to just give up??

• Oh look the anti Fianna Fáil hysteria breaks out. How about the shinnerbots, the keyboard socialists and backroom blueshirts start engage in constructive debate. We would all be in a far better position.

Fianna Fáil have increased their support. This is simple. They are being a proper opposition party. Irish people like solutions not problems. People mightnt like every one of our policies but at least we have policies that can be implemented and make sense.

• Oh! I see. They are being a proper opposition party! Great! Irish people like solutions that can’t be implemented. Pity FF did not implement policies that make sense when they were in power!

• Donnach you expect far too much from these people,you have to understand that they are in their smoke filled bedrooms sitting in front of a computer wearing their Liverpool/ManUtd boxer shorts.
      The legends that leave nasty uninformative comments have little knowledge of politics and only know how to tell everyone what is wrong and never have a solution or are many of them capable of giving a solution.
      The SF bots only know what they should have in their pockets without having to earn it and they believe their masters when they are told they are entitled to everything.
      These little people should expect nothing and get up from their computer and go earn what they are expecting.
      It is very funny really most rational people realise that polls are only and indication of the feeling on the day of the poll and things can change within days or hours but the SF supporters get very excited with polls and this poll has proven this fact that they have no cop to shut up and just get on watching the porn on their computers.

In saying that it is a great boost to see people returning to Fianna Fail even if it is for a day.

• Donnacha 7 Ciaran. Both of you have worked for FF, one in Leinste hse and one in the EU Parl.

Course both of you are black FF. It is about money in the pocket, but for most other people they are interested in politics because they want something good for the country, a better future for their children. That is something that doesn’t even register on the scale for you or people like you.

What about you Grandkids in that photo Ciaran. Aren’t you worried that they or the brothers or sisters might have to emigrate in time. Does it even matter?

• Fianna fail created the problems, are you lot still in denial?

• Donnacha,

I voted for Fianna Fail in 2007, BUT NEVER AGAIN. I can’t stand the lying two-faced doofus. If you truly want an economic recovery, man or woman, Adams is the man.

What is Martin’s vision for the next four years other than getting elected somehow?

Adams/Higgins 2016

I’d rather be a socialist than a corrupt Fianna Fail supporter. Its the economy stupid. Its not about stupid right-wing accusations. We had to check the unbridled power of Fianna Fail and their syncophants in the Seanad that inflicted Anglo Irish Bank on our economy.

• Frightening

• Reading that headline reminds me why I left the country…

• Don’t hurry back, so.

• And there we have it … soon only the halfwits will remain in the country.

• Karl,

I encourage you to return during the elections and please use your vote against Fianna Fail. Vote for anyone but FF and FG.

• If they ever get voted in again I will never come back either. Should introduce voting for those who live abroad like they do in other countries.

@ Killian, enjoy paying for the Quinn’s, bankers, nice TD salaries + pensions – be a good little puppy.

I just got sick and tired of it all and left – has done my mental health alot of good over the last 12 months :-)

• Karl,

FFG/FF/Labour will never allow voting on Saturdays for a General Election, because they know the young vote would decimate their parties. Its only the older generation who give these traitors votes, because the Church tells them who to vote for. (Think FF and the Church agreeing that the people of Ireland should have to pay for all the clerical sex abuse scandals).

FFG had no problem scheduling the childrens referendum on a saturday, because they know its going to pass. However, anything that will threaten their grubby control of power, like enabling the youth vote, either by allowing Saturday votes on General Elections, or allowing the very people forced to emmigrate because of their corruption/ineptitude is definitely a no-no. They promised sun moon and stars before the last election on getting some sort of fairness for those forced from the Island, but unfortunately, like everything else FF/FFG/Labour do, it has been put out to pasture.

• @ Cal1 Mooney,

Totally spot on I am afraid. As far as I am concerned this Government is not following the promises which helped it win the election.

It is almost like “haha, you stupid fool voted me in and I will gladly do “x” instead of “y” and do my upmost to enseure that either I or my pals will feel a thing”.

whilst I agree that things need to change as far as spending goes in Ireland, I keep asking myself why every introduced measure seems to target the middle class – they are now broke also! I would have no problem paying my part if the burden was shared fairly and where possible those responsible were taken into account.

There is no accountability in Ireland and money is still being spent wastefully. All of this has a wider knock on effect on the economy – no money left.

In my case it was “you are doing a great job, but we had to scrap that training course and we will not be giving you an increase any time in the forseeable future! If you don’t like it, leave”.

People like Killian can call me a traitor if they want, I am looking after my own professional development and hope to return some day and be in a better position. Had I have stayed I could now be very well on the dole, would that make me any less a traitor.

I miss my family, friends and my country, but must admit that I am doing much better than I could have in Ireland. Sad, but true. Every day I read the news from back home and it angers me what these self serving idiots are doing the country I love.

As far as I am concerned, FF should be bannned and anyone who even thinks of voting them in again needs to get their heads examined!

• Karl, what you’re doing is actually having the opposite effect. You are bolstering FF’s vote by not casting your vote. This plays into FF’s hands. Honestly man, cast your vote no matter what because it will keep FF’s majority down. It’s vital you do so.

• @ Joe,

Hehe, well if they let an unregistered person vote, sure why not (actually wouldn’t be surprised to be honest!).

Rest assure, no one in my close circle that remains in Ireland ever voted for these muppets.

It is the “I vote FF because my dad does” types that you need to be wary of…

• #Karl…Seriously, man. Dry your eyes. Others are managing ok here. If you can’t cut it, fair enough. But don’t presume to comment on a nation you walked away. Live with your decision and leave the running of the Republic to those us who stayed in the fight.

• @ Killian,

My eyes are dry mate, now how’s about you spend less time at the keyboard and get back to work. Those TD’s and Bankers are going to need your money now.

I suppose you view the other’s who left Ireland as deserters also, well good thing there are nice little puppies like you to pay and put up with the crap that is going on.

I got by fine in Ireland for the record, but knew that I could do better and am now proving that.

Enjoy your masochism and get back to work – fool!

• These are the people who’s lanes were tarred and got street lights and planning etc as they were loyal to the party who are missing the special attention they had for years sure that’s the FF way fcuk the rest of you as long as I’m ok! No surprise this sadly

• If the Irish people let this party near government again they deserve every inch of what they get as a result of it. I agree that we need a proper opposition and viable second force in Irish politics but this miasmic corpse of a party isn’t it. I’d be happier to read Timurlane had jumped out of his tomb and was heading our way with an army of undead in time for Halloween. Anything other than reanimating the FF zombie.

• I’d like to know where they do these polls. People are looking for an alternative and its Sinn Féin but the Media is doing its very best to keep them out of the limelight. No representation on lots of talk shows, little or no coverage on radios or news print. Who owns most of that now?? Hmmmm
    Keep your eye out for SFs pre-budget proposal which gets costed by the dept of finance so no-one can say it doesn’t add up. Well they can and will but their allegations don’t stand up.
    Keep voting establishment and the state gets better looked after not the people.

• Not surprised, always the same, unsophisticated electorate

• I would encourage the Fianna Fáilers here not to get too carried away with this poll. The results of the next few polls will be more interesting as they’ll either confirm or reject these results.

Unfortunately the question being asked of the electorate is a very depressing one. The question that is effectively being asked is “which party do you think can best deliver further austerity?” Austerity is the only game in town. In a sense it matters little as to what political parties comprise the next government. The terms of loan agreements with the EU and the IMF mean we are obliged to engage in further pro-cyclical policies. This means further tax increases and spending cuts irrespective of who is in government.

If we are in a liquidity trap – and the evidence seems to suggest that we are – then further austerity is bad news. The problem is, there is little or nothing that any Irish government can do to turn this around. The reality is that the composition of the German government in Berlin and the policies pursued by the ECB in Frankfurt is of much more relevance to Ireland than the composition of our own government in Dublin.

• What are people thinking? They destroyed the country, left us with a massive mess and a country riddled with corruption. FF haven’t changed, and if they were in tomorrow would do everything the exact same.

• Thats all we need. Still not voting for them.

• Who participates in these polls! I will never again vote finna fail, crooked b******ds living their big mansions and doing fk all for it! Let bertie, cowen, harney and martin give up their pensions give up their big wages get down on their knee’s and apologies for all the wrongs they’ve done and then try undo all the s**t that they caused! only then will i vote for em!!!

• Great to see some external manifestation of the transformation process FF have been through the general election. A lot of hard slog, a lot of unglamorous work and a lot of internal change. But now it’s starting to pay off. The important thing isn’t the polls though, it’s finding the right policies and people to articulate them. Get that right and the polls will take care of themselves.

• But James, Fianna Fail merely reshuffled like before. They still field the same members who were exposed as corrupt. Fianna Fail have NOT changed… Despite their smoke and mirror manipulations, Fianna Fail aren’t a credible opposition. They belong on the sidelines with their false promises. They cannot spend money they don’t have.

• Transformation!? It’s been 2 years, not 10! The old guard (that DESTROYED this country) are still there, in leadership positions, in that party. One of the most corrupt parties in Europe (or was there another reason ye had to exile your former leader there recently) and 21% of the electorate want them back… We are a bunch of thickos at times

• Ah Conor – it’s a poll, done on a tiny sample of the population. It’s not 21% of the electorate it’s 21% of people who were asked.

• Looks like I’ll be taking the old permanent residency option here in Canada. Thank God I escaped before the Irish rediscovered their inability to engage their brains when voting.

• welcome back lads.

• I’ve said it before & ill say it again. Democracy doesn’t work

40% of Ireland are too stupid to be allowed to vote & ladies & gentlemen, these eegits hold the balance of power

• Brilliant observation, because dictators and dictatorships have such an accomplished record. Well done genius

• This was a very common argument in 19th century Britain. I think we’ve moved on a bit from this, most of us anyway!

• Well said Petr. When Victorian writers compared the Irish to apes and uncivilized, it was the nadir of Anglo-Irish relations. People should be free to choose their politicians and have opinions, no matter whether anyone else agrees or disagrees that is the essence of democracy

• Sorry lads, I’ve met many an ape in the west of Ireland. Mostly blind FF supporters to boot but that’s surely just a coincidence, right?

Democracy was the great equaliser in the world or so we thought. Remember politicians no longer have to fool all the people, just a high enough proportion to gain power. Do you honestly think every single person who voted is properly informed on who/what they are voting for?

• Agreed

• So you’d rather tell people what to think rather than let them be uninformed? That is the worst kind of leftist bull! How can you honestly believe that democracy doesn’t work? This has nothing to do with FF FG SF or Lab- are you seriously saying that the people of Ireland don’t deserve a right to self determination and a right to have a say in the running of their country?

• Gerry stop & read 1st

I never said anything about making people think my way or getting Adolf Hitler in to run the country

I merely said too much of the electorate are not educated enough to vote. They vote on the look of a candidate,the Soundbite they hear on the radio/TV etc

They are too easily hoodwinked & modern democratic politics is all about hood winking the ignorant masses.

If you don’t believe me, that’s your problem & maybe you’re part of the 40%. If you are, we’ll I’m afraid i’ve learned cant win an argument with an idiot, so goodnight, I’m off to the leaba

• censored 17/10/12 #

I don’t like it either, but it looks like Kevin is right.

• Two wolves and a lamb deciding what to have for supper. Ireland is living proof that democracy is broken.

• Genuine members of the public participate in ‘these polls’ Diarmuid.

• Let’s have another poll. Why does FF still exist?

• Interesting summary of the History of Fianna Fáil on their website:

http://www.fiannafail.ie/content/pages/5104/

They seem to have left out a paragraph:

2008 FF Destroys Ireland with bank guarantee.

• Irish people are stupid. Why would anyone want these clowns back in office after what they have done.

• FF and FG are the two right-wing parties and therefore the ones with the most sensible policies for running the country. like that ever happened a sensible policy, name one?

• JakkiB 17/10/12 #

They must have doubled the dose of flouride in our water, There is no explaination for such stupidity

• We really are brainless fools, same style politics, again same problems, usual b.s,

• My heart sank when I read this article.

• This story is just depressing. Over the last three years I could at least console myself that the electorate had finally woken up. Admittedly I was still worried that 17% of the population still threw their lot in with this shower at the last election. I’ve always wondered what depth Fianna Fail would have to sink to in order to lose that final 17%of support since ruining the country for a generation wasn’t enough.

• As predicted, Irish people have very short memories.

• were on the way back……the country needs us….we always have to tidy up the mess that FG/LAB leave behind….

• We’re back and back for a reason. FF offers the only, viable alternative to this joke of a coalition. Yes we got some things horribly wrong when last in power but we’ve lerndd from our mistakes and dealt with the bad apples like Bertie. Gilmore and Labour are Greens and Gormless Mark II and don’t even get me started on the Shinners. The Provos would have us a banana republic within five minutes of taking power. That’ll not happen with FF roaring back!!

• Sadly, though for all your roaring back Enda Kenny is Taoiseach, Fine Gael are running the show and 79% of the country would just as soon see Fianna Fáil disbanded and consigned to its own inauspicious history than get next nor near power again. The bit you should look forward to most is when Taoiseach Kenny takes the salute outside the GPO on the 100th Anniversary of 1916- having repeated history by restoring Irish Sovereignty by thanking the Trioka and sending them on their way.

• No FF are still the same party of fools, thieves and traitors that it has been for forty years. The only FF’er that doesn’t lie is one that has stopped breathing.

They’ll rob and destroy this country like they always have.

• Murder plunder faugh a balla clear the way
      cheating stealing diddle idle de
      ducking diving faugh a bala clear the way
      diddlily i dle de di diddly idle do

[ The Failures Song ]

• Kevin Rooney – FF are NOT a “viable alternative” – you are corrupt, buying votes under the illusion we can magically grow our economy out of this debt tower. FF still signed the 2008 Bank Guarantee despite two independent experts advising against this – this pushed our deficit from 14% in 2009 to 32% in 2010.

• Mjhint 17/10/12 #

I knew this would happen. You have to give them credit they played a clever game. I voted for them all my life but I feel they have not suffered enough. If we put them back in power we have not learned much as a nation. If David McW,is correct & we are in the last phase of our crisis resulting in the rest of the workforce being destroyed by taxes & cuts then I wont be shocked if ff make the next government. Drowning people will cling to anything.

• This is the same David McWilliams who recommended the bank bail out & who makes a fortune doing the 21st century version of the man on the street corner with the sandwich board reading ” The End Is Nigh!” This country will prevail and prosper but alas David McWilliams will always be a ginger.

• Mjhint 17/10/12 #

Killian the same. Also the one that predicted the present problems in 1999. His bailout plan was not fully implemented. He told the minister to use the Swedish model which never happened. I see your a fan but he has a lot of experience in issues like this & maybe just maybe he is right.

• Irish logic :/

• Proof that the Irish electorate are morons? Or that the alternatives are that bad!?

• Thank God. This means that the recession will be over and the construction industry will get back on its feet again at the next generation. Just proves that the is only one party that can run this country, FF!

• Great country!! We deserve everything we get. Can’t wait for FFail to take over again. Fantastic!! But hey, who gives a crap anyway.

• Great to see this wonderful party back. Form is temporary, but class is permanent. The glory days will once again return to Ireland.

• Journal! Put up a poll of your own!

• Hmmm i wonder if you do a poll on who the people will vote for? But only let the people who have emigrated just to get a job, how much support would finna fail get???

My guess none!!

• That is why FF have always been happy to see people emigrate it removes the people that will not vote for them. As the thief Brian Lenihan Snr. said “It is a small country, we all can’t live here”. Sickening given that we are one of the least populated countries in the Western world.

• Jesus wept, i’m away now, will the Last One to leave turn off the lights.

• more clarity next week with the Red C Sunday Poll.

M Martin was very opportunist and waffled a load of populist nonsense this weekend about the north which he just remembered existed. Perfect timing for him as people will probably be polled today and tomorrow.

opportunist or not -if FF dont get a bounce from this, and SF dont take a hit as was the plan, then all of last weeks celebrations would have been truly immature and worrying for them.

• Looking at the bigger picture this poll shows the swing against this government is continuing to grow, there’s now a 12% swing against them:

Compared to 2011 General Election:

Government: -12%
    FG -5%
    LAB -7%

Opposition: +12%
    FF +4%
    SF +10%
    Others -2%

On the FF figure the important thing is the 20% barrier has been broken in a poll carried out by a reputable polling company for the first time under the current leader, this slow but steady progress needs to be maintained, which party is 2nd, 3rd or 4th is irrelevant in the greater scheme of things between elections, its the numbers that matter and the trend over time.

• When people look back on the past, they are angry. Mistakes were made. They are right to be angry.
    But sometimes that anger masks the significant progress which was made while FF where in government.
    FF is a peaceful Republican Party that knows how to drive progress and has an unmatched record when it comes to creating employment.
    It will take people time to trust us again, we are willing to work hard to regain that trust.
    FG and Lab will keep breaking their election promises on education, health and the public sector. They have let us down.

FF are the only party holding them to account with real alternatives.

We will work hard to regain the trust of the Irish people.

• Oh dear god…..

• FF4Sean 18/10/12 #

Here here! FF are the ones with the ideas to get the country out of this mess. Shur imagine if some of those lefty headbangers got into goverment. Shur theyd reck the economy FFS.

• Go back under your rock, it was FF and their ideas which has brought this country to it’s knees, their cronyism, their corruption, their greed, their gombeenism, their brown envelopes…………

FF are making the right soundbites now they’ve found themselves out of office, playing the populist card, saying the things the seriously deluded electorate want to hear, it’s how we ended up with the current shower of FF clones, and if this baffling, head scratching rise in popularity continues to rise and god forbid – you shower of clowns get back into office then this country deserves every thing it’s subjected to.

A return to cronyism, corruption, greed, gombeenism, brown envelopes? – no thanks.
      You lot ruined this country for generations to come, you can try and deny it but the fact remains and history will condemn you as the party that did so.

• David – How much “progress” has Fianna Fail made during their term – none.

How much “truth” – if any – have you heard from Fianna Fail on the COST of their tax cuts and bonuses?

If you prefer to side with Micheal Martin that is your choice – but don’t expect many people who care about real issues to join you.