TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Audio: Hogan hangs up on radio station as he is urged to explain Traveller letter

Phil Hogan has been called on to explain his intervention in the housing of a Traveller family in his constituency. Earlier the Environment Minister hung up on a local radio station.

Phil Hogan
Phil Hogan
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

ENVIRONMENT MINISTER PHIL Hogan is under pressure after it emerged that he wrote to some of his constituents to assure them that a Traveller family would not be moving into their area.

The Irish Daily Mail and Irish Independent reported this morning that Hogan’s office wrote to residents of Bonnettstown in Kilkenny to inform them that the McCarthy family, who are Travellers, would not be allocated a house in the area.

Fianna Fáil has described the revelations as a “very serious issue” that could be illegal under equality legislation and the housing act. It has called for the Minister to make a full statement on the matter today.

A spokesperson for the Department of Environment said that there were no plans for the Minister to make a statement at this point and noted that it was a constituency matter.

It is understood that Hogan intervened in the matter after receiving representations regarding a dispute between two families in the area in the past. He was told that the McCarthy’s should not be housed in a place “where there was a potential for conflict”, the Mail reports.

In an interview on KCLR 96fm radio this morning Hogan defended his actions saying that he passed on these concerns to the local housing authorities “in good faith” and “without any direction from me or heavy-handedness”.

He told The Sue Nunn Show: “I’ve explained my position quite well, I am at the Ploughing Championships now and I have engagements here so thank you for giving me the opportunity to clarify my position.”

He then hung up as the presenter sought to question him further on the matter.

Later, speaking to reporters at the Ploughing Championships he said that he did not agree with the Fianna Fáil assertion that it was an abuse of power and racist. “I got information from my constituency office and I passed that on to the local authority,” he told reporters.

‘Damage’

In a statement, Fianna Fáil’s communities spokesperson, Éamon Ó Cuív: “The Minister needs to come forward immediately and explain why he allowed a letter of this nature to be sent in his name and with his authority.

“Enormous work has been done over the last decade to reach out to the travelling community to improve their living standards and improve relations with settled communities.

“A public representative in a position of national leadership taking the sort of action suggested in this correspondence would do enormous damage to that process.”

Later speaking to RTÉ’s News at One, Ó Cuív said that Hogan needed to explain on what basis he passed the information to the local authority said that the Minister needed to have evidence of the allegations that he passed on.

Earlier in the Dáil, Sinn Féin’s Mary Lou McDonald attempted to raise the matter during the Order of Business but was cut short by Ceann Comhairle Seán Barrett.

She said: “Minister Hogan needs to be informed that discrimination is unlawful including discrimination against members of the Travelling community.

“I want to ask, Ceann Comhairle, the Taoiseach that the Minister will come before the Dáil and make a statement on this matter. It’s a headline, banner news story, in a national newspaper.”

But as he cut her short, the Ceann Comhairle responded: “This is not a matter for the Order of Business.”

Read: Hogan admits water charges law will be behind Troika schedule

Read: TD kicked out of committee meeting after accusing Phil Hogan of ‘lies’

Read next:

Comments (204 Comments)

• running away ..and so soooo unprofessional of him too,

• So much for high standards in public office. Stroke politics at is finest and dirtiest.

• I mentioned before, that Senator Mary Moran and Judge Grainne Malone are sis-in-laws of Joe Costello a Labour Junior Minister. His wife is now an MEP, not democratically elected due to a retirement/resignation of another. Senator and Judge, were nominated and appointed by Enda Kenny last year. That’s four state wages and pensions in one Family, great Country isn’t it?

• We should have known this crowd were as rottan as the last…. When you have to over-promise to win a one horse race of an election then something was always wrong…

• Cowboys are us!

• Hogan has no credibility left, just like Reilly.

• Horrible man

• remember they are representative of the whole government…..the same government who “hung up” on the people the day after the last election.

• Hogan your a bloody disgrace you should be ashamed of yourself

• And a British MP is being asked to resign for calling a policeman a pleb. What does it take to get sacked as a Minister in this country?

• Well the list of non-sackable offences is getting longer.

You can be a traitor to your people.
      You can be a liar.
      You can be a bigot.
      You can be screwing the state for vast amounts.
      You can be a u-turn artist.
      You can be a coward.
      You can be an enabler to others breaking the law or have previously broken it!

anyone sacked from this government? Are you kidding!
      They are all as now bad as each other – why would they want to sack anyone?
      They are all the same! It would be pot calling kettle black!

• Yeah Biggins,
      Remember the Ministers Report Cards…….

• I can’t stand Phil Hogan, the mere sight of him can ruin my day but I can understand what he was doing here if I have read it correctly. He wanted to house a particular traveller family out of his constituency because of existing problems between this family and another traveller family. Having witnessed first hand two major brawls between two rival traveller families where I live, I can see the logic in not housing them together if at all possible. It can take a local authority over a year to rehouse troublesome tenants and it is very unpleasant for the other residents in the meantime.

• I was at Landsdown Road in 1995 when English thugs thrashed the place. Do you think all English people are thugs? This traveller family have no record of criminality or anti-social behaviour. This is just pure bigotry by Phil Hogan. People are always saying travellers need to be housed and integretated into society but how can they when no one gives them a chance.

• Andrea, did he need to write a letter to say he had intervened to his constituents?

• Andrea,

You’ve got this badly wrong. The family hadn’t put a foot wrong, they were not wanted because of who they are. That is a disgrace; it is pure prejudice which has no place in a decent society.

• I just read that both families have serious anti social behaviour offences already so I don’t think it’s as cut and dried as people think. I am not a racist person and we have some very nice traveller families where we live. My son’s best friend in school is a traveller, and my brother has a few close traveller friends (we are a boxing family so know a lot of travellers through that). I am purely speaking from the viewpoint of keeping feuding families apart, for everyone’s safety. You have obviously never lived in the midst of feuding families, if you had you would know exactly what I am saying. Hogan is a fool, I have said it a million times on this forum but I think he is doing the right thing here. I bet when the full story emerges we will see his letters were replies to letters FROM constituents and that they had named the family first. It happens in one of the constituencies in Dublin, the existing residents are informed of potential tenants before they move in. If tenants know of problems with a potential tenant, they raise their concerns and sometimes the tenant isn’t housed there.

• Well said Andrea on both Big Phil and the real reason the letter seems to have been written. I think the article clearly states the issue was about two traveller families being housed in close proximity to each other.

• Well said Andrea…but the people on here don’t do the truth…they just want another chance to ‘give off’

• it is very easy to write about what you have read about this family, I know this family and have worked with them, he has never caused any trouble this was done by mr hogan to get votes plain and simple

• I noticed the racisits above didnt answer….. Oh they have explaination as to why they are not racists alright…. But its easy to figure out if your a racist or not….. follow this rule of thumb….. If you have to explain why your not a racist then you most definitly are.

• Okay Charlie, whatever YOU say! You got me, I’m a racist. Cat’s out of the bag now….yawn!

• Phil Hogan is an ape and should be sacked immiediately.

• And what will happen to Hogan?

Nothing.

Soon to be packed off to Europe and eventually join Bertie And Biffo creaming off the mega pension they didnt really earn.

Only ourselves to blame, Fine Gael riding high in the polls, and the irish with no stomach to protest.

Enjoy Budget 2013, Someone has to pay thier bloated wages.

• yes i cannot for the life of me understand how Fianna Gael are unchanged in the polls. Are these people blindfolded and deaf.

• I’ll say one thing for the deaf and dumb fine gael supporter…. They have a tremendous pain threshold when it comes to take it up the arse to keep their much admired heros in government. I voted for this lot in the last election under the pure lie of change. All I’ve got is excuses and I’m finally all out of second chances. No member of the Fianna Gaelabour Party will ever get a vote in my house as long as I live….. It really is time for change and this crack of “Oh I you couldnt possibly vote Sinn Fein” is just more of the same excuse bullshit…. You cant have change unless you actually do something different. See sawing back and forth like a lunatic between the traditional parties has got us where we are…. We are ACTUALLY going to have to DO something different in the next election to get a different result.

• Liam 26/09/12 #

This entire government is a liability.

• Hogan, you sir, are a buffoon!

• People all on their high horses. how many of ye would be happy about this either? not many ill bet!

• Mick 26/09/12 #

Would you happen to be a white, low – middle class individual by any chance?

If so then you probably don’t understand the negative psychological effects of being stereotyped.

• Where do you want them to live? NIMBY?? I have my own opinions re certain factions of society but no matter what they are surely noone could think this was a fair use of his powers as a Minister and then the pure stupidity of naming the family on his offices headed paper shows the man to be of supremely low intelligence.

• Is Nimby a new buzz word now. I don’t keep up with this sort of thing. Almost daily now Journal commentators are coming out with new buzz words. I can’t keep up. Maybe Journal.ie can make a list of definitions for me.

• @ Chris – I had t Google it.

Not I My Back Yard

• NIMBY has been around at least since the 80s.

• felix knox
      that is not the point . The point is he wrote a letter to his constituents , naming the Mc Carthy family , and discussed that they would not get the house . This is totally in breach of the State Secrets Act ,which he would have signed, it is unprofessional and smacks of ‘stroke politics / parish pump politics.
      The man should be sacked .

• Agreed, Liam.

• Head in the sand as usual…..if I don’t see hear of feel then it does not happen……

• Don’t know what everyone is complaining about,i wouldn’t want a traveller family moving in next to me,i bet if you all heard that a family of travellers were going in next to you,you’d all be on to your local TD’s…i’m not agreeing with him here,the man’s a tool,but you’d be praising him if it your area,!!!

• & before you all red thumb me,a traveller family just got evicted from the end of my road after trashing the house they were living in & having fights on a daily basis!!!

• Paul 26/09/12 #

Perhaps if I was a racist bigot I’d be praising him, but I’m not so I wouldn’t be.

• Paul 26/09/12 #

All 40000 Travellers here? Maybe you need a trip to Specsavers!

• johnny 26/09/12 #

@ good man Paul. Lets solve the whole issue and you give Big Phil your address and we’ll let them move in beside you, problem solved

• Paul 26/09/12 #

I already did in the formal complaint I made, but his office are too busy swilling at the trough down in Wexford today!

• Paul 26/09/12 #

That’s right Tara. Because I think discriminating against a whole group of people because of the actions of a few is wrong I am a filthy liberal! I bet you are a real nice person. I would say quite a lot of people are glad they don’t live beside you.

• oh thats right Paul attack me for having an opinion,but i can guarantee if they moved next to you you’d be on this moaning…& yes i am a nice person,doubt you are though,1 of life’s complainers i bet!!!!

• Tara – the point I think is not that some residents are opposed to this, but that Higan has misused his position and influence.

• No doubt about that Nikolas,same can be said for James reilly the other day,its just that people are quick to judge me for having an opinion that doesn’t agree with theirs,but sure each to their own,if we all agreed with 1 another life would be very boring:)

• Paul 26/09/12 #

I’m not particularly a complainer, I just think its a social responsibility to call out racists for who they are. Sure you are entitled to your opinion but I dont want to live in a society where bigotted opinions are accepted without question. In fact I divide my time in the countryside and overseas. In the countryside I dont have any direct neighbours but there are a few Traveller families in the general area. I know them in passing and I”ve never heard anything about anti-social behaviour on their behalf. Having said that I have heard a lot of anti-social racist remarks about them from the settled community in the area. Overseas I live in an apartment in the centre of a major city. I have neighbours from all walks of life and I must say some are dreadful and some are great. Thats just how it is. Some people are good, some people are bad. It has very little to do with their ethnicity and a lot to do with their respect for the people around them.

• Fair enough but i don’t agree with being called a “bigoted racist” just because i don’t want travellers living next door to me,i know the people that had a whole 6 months of trouble because travellers were housed next to them,they had rubbish & beer bottles thrown in their garden, loud music & fighting going on constantly,the guards were always at the door,i paid enough for my house & i certainly don’t want that shite on my doorstep!!

• Paul 26/09/12 #

And nobody in their right mind would want that on their doorstep. But to blame an entire ethnic group for the actions of a few and to say that you dont want to live next door to someone because of the ethnic group they come from is entirely racist and bigotted. Its that simple.

• In your opinion..!

• Paul 26/09/12 #

Its not just my opinion Tara, its a fact. Negatively stereotyping an entire group of people and discriminating against them is indeed racism, not just an opinion.

• Aww the aul “racism” card again….BORING!!

• Paul 26/09/12 #

Lol Tara, nice try but you can’t squirm out of it that easily. The ‘racist card’ was pulled out the minute you first typed your odious views on who you wish to live next door to. You need to take a long hard look at your opinions and realise that they are indeed racist.

• And what if the residents voiced concerns about another family with a record of anti-social behaviour? Paul seems to be exploiting the racism card, but misses the point that individuals should be able to express their concern if any family (Traveller or not) with a record of anti-social behaviour is going to be housed near them.

• “bet your surname is either Ward or Mc Donagh….lol”.

Well done, you showed great maturity there.

• Paul 26/09/12 #

I dont think Im exploiting the ‘racism card’ as you put it. Clearly Tara’s opinions are racist and I reported her last comment about my surname as it was so blatantly so. The fact that she holds racist opinions about Travellers all being anti-sociable is indisputable from her comments here. Now to the rest of your comment Ryan. Hmm I never said that one can’t and shouldn’t complain about anti-social behaviour. You have obviously made a huge presumption there. In fact I stated that I think it is a social responsibility to call out racist behaviour…which to me is anti-social behaviour. And for what its worth the family in question here do not have a record of anti-social behaviour whatsoever.

• & you a traveller!!!

• Paul 26/09/12 #

Get back under your bridge Tara.

• It was a joke Ann marie & Paul i have also reported your comments!!

• Paul 26/09/12 #

As a matter of interest Tara under what category did you report my comments? I dont think there is an option for ‘someone called me out for expressing my egregious opinions’ :-)

• Ah no, you didn’t Tara….you’ve officially ruined my day with your apparent banter and now you’ve reported me for pointing out that your ‘joke’ just wasn’t funny?

How will I cope?

• eh Annmarie, didn’t report yours as it wasn’t relevent!!

• Ah I see…well, thanks for that. Was just about to run home from work and tell my mammy.

• saved ya a job so…

• Lamb 26/09/12 #

The problem is that you put them in a box everytime you refer to their ethnicity. Why comment at all that they are travellers? Maybe they are the dodgy family on your road, but don’t refer to them as travellers.

• @ Lamb,but the whole point of the journal’s post is about travellers,the simple fact is that the people causing the trouble on my road were travellers…

• Will he be in trouble, for naming the family. Isnt that personal information of the family involved, I had travellers not far from me and they were ok. They called a few times selling stuff, I respected them and so did they in return!
    Why were Councillors not contacted, instead of a Minister. It should be illegal to lobby a politician in private to influence deisions!

• He might be a Minister but he’s also a TD. And unfortunately Irish people generally seem to prefer to contact their TD on local issues rather than their local councillor.

• What’s he saying about Councillors, a waste of space and money! They have no power and time to look at getting rid of Councillors, either elect a direct manager to run a council? If not, then reform the Seanad and have it run all the Councils in Ireland?

• I do remember Luke Ming Flanagan hanging up on the very same show not so long ago.

• Paul 26/09/12 #

I tried to make a formal complaint today to the ‘customer’ service department and the public relations department at the Oireachtas. No one answering phones there and emails bouncing back or responses that they are out of office, I guess they are all at the ploughing?

• What a total tool…people have been sacked for less.

But it won’t happen as Ends has no backbone and a streak of yellow through a mile wide.

• Hogan will of course come out with “the letter was misinterpreted”….and all his palsy walsy government buddies will back him up…..hypocrites

• …And once again the spineless two faced Labour party will too back him and FG.

I remember a day when the Irish Labour party used to stand up for fairness, what was morally right, the workers and the unemployed of Ireland.
      Those were the good old days now long gone under Gilmore.

But back to Hogan, his cronies will support him yet again as he continues to use his office as he sees fit.
      A bigger bunch of thugs and now enablers to possible discriminatory actions, is what they are/will be.
      Welcome to Fine Gael!

• The Hole this clown seems to be getting deeper and deeper, almost as deep as my septic tank that I have no intention of registering. What a Buffoon!

• The bigger the Phil, the bigger the fall.

• I worked as the overnight security guard on a building site next to a halting site. Joyriding, stealing, violence from every last one of them!!! God help any poor soul unlucky enough to have traveller family given a free house next to them!! If big phil was my local representative he’d get my vote definitely!!!

• Not that I have any great love for this man but what if he did not want a trouble family causing issues in this community. Just to play devils advocate suppose this family had been housed in a neighbouring area and had been evicted for anti social or criminal activities. Now they want to be housed in your estate and you find out what would you do.

If you are going to chastise Mr Hogan then you will have to the same with the people who complained. We don’t know the full story with the family involved so let’s not just hang this man just yet.

• johnny 26/09/12 #

No interest in any politics but think your right there. Everyone is great until the troublesome family is housed next door to them then we’ll see where their principles are.

• …And everyone is supposed to be innocent until FOUND guilty.

Or have we thrown that idea out the window just to try justify bigotry these days?

• And I’m sure these principles would be your first priority if you and your family were living beside a family who were making your life hell!

• @ Richie Thornton

So your automatic default position is that there are troublemakers and not allowed a change to try lead a normal existence?

1. That’s bigotry.
      2. You are finding them guilty before they have even moved in – with NO evidence directly related to them.
      3. Someday maybe someone will have the same opinion about someone related to you? Unfair then?

…O’ well if its a non-traveller family, that would be automatically different of course!

• johnny 26/09/12 #

biggins31 the innocent until proven guilty is fine but once the family is in it could take two years to get them out. im not talking about this particular family because i know nothing about the but i have alot of experience in this area and sometimes its better call a spade a spade before its too late

• @ johnny

1. …But This family had NOT EVEN moved in yet.
      2. The neighbours that would have been, had NO opportunity to see if they were trouble or decent!
      3. Saying “Calling a spade is always a spade” is a piss poor excuse and a sly hidden reason for trying to justify bigotry by the back-door!

We are all answerable to the law (if there was later trouble and they had then to be removed) – not just some of us!

• And why did the Big Twit Hogan feel it necessary to write to the other residents naming the family?
      That is the biggest crime – they are at the very least entitled for matters like this to be handled confidentially surely

• Can we have a show of thumbs? An HONEST show of thumbs? Give this a thumbs down if you DON’T want travellers next door, thumbs up if you DO.

• That’s a bigoted thing to say Mick, it depends on the people moving in, not what ethnic group they belong to

• It’s not bigoted, I’m trying to get to the root of the issue by asking a straightforward, honest question. Do you, or do you not want travellers living beside you? It’s a very easy question to answer. Yes or no. How do you know I feel about it? It’s just a question I’m asking.

• It is Bigoted and racist Mark
      It is the same as saying ‘Would you let someone move in next door if they are black?’

If you said – who would want obnoxious anti social arseholes to live next door ( and there are plenty of them regardless of where they came from) then you would be ok.
      You cannot attribute behaviours to a particular ethnic group. That is racism and bigoted

• Right so. Who wants black/white/Asian/Chinese/Irish/Indian/American/English/East European people who may stab/rape/shoot/cook/eat/attack/impale/whip/crucify your dog/cat/wife/husband/sister/brother/niece/nephew/granny next door? Is that good enough?? Am I taking in a broad enough spectrum of people now for you? FFS. Oh, and I didn’t mention “traveller” once. Except in the last sentence.

• Oxford Dictionary definition of rascism there for ye Mark
      noun
      [mass noun]
      the belief that all members of each race possess characteristics, abilities, or qualities specific to that race, especially so as to distinguish it as inferior or superior to another race or races:
      theories of racism
      prejudice, discrimination, or antagonism directed against someone of a different race based on the belief that one’s own race is superior:

And here’s one for Bigot
      Definition of BIGOT

: a person who is obstinately or intolerantly devoted to his or her own opinions and prejudices; especially : one who regards or treats the members of a group (as a racial or ethnic group) with hatred and intolerance

• Who’s this Mark you keep mentioning?

• A bigotted rascist guy is Mark, not unlike yourself Mick

• @biggins first off you should read my comment correctly I used the expression “devils advocate.” Now it would appear to me you have jumped the gun and accused me of being a bigot. So you have made a conclusion and jumped. Seems a me you got on your soap box too quick.

• @Dave Harris. You’re actually a bigger clown than I gave you credit for. Really. A clown. If you go back to my first question, I asked “Who wants to live beside travellers?” And I asked for an honest answer. Let me tell you something, if you can’t figure out the context of a question as it’s asked, then you deserve pity. You said then that it depends on the people moving in. The article isn’t about the people moving in to a house in a random scenario, it’s about travellers.

You took my question and turned it on me to make me out to be both a racist and a bigot. You have no idea what my attitudes are. When I again asked for an honest answer to a straightforward question you once again started the bigot line. But fair play, in case I wasn’t sure you gave me a definition too, thanks for that. You then said that “You cannot attribute behaviors to a particular ethnic group. That is racism and bigoted”. I didn’t bring up that point, YOU did. Who’s the bigot? Why did you ASSUME that I was talking about that when I quite clearly never even mentioned it? Deep down, are you a closet bigot yourself Dave?

You don’t know me, but I can assure you that in my line of work I meet and have very close contact with every race, creed, sex, age, minority and every other aspect of society that you care to mention. I see it on the streets, in their homes, in the most intimate and personal of situations.

So don’t dare think you can get into my head and know what I’m thinking. If you can’t see a question for what it is, a question, then you are the small minded one.

• You ‘re right Mick,,
      I don’t know you, just as you don’t know me
      I only judge on what you say.
      You say who wants to live next to a traveller.
      That means you are judging all people who belong to the ethnic group known as travellers – and that is racism.
      See above definition of racism

• And another thing Mick, why would you pose this question, and I quote ‘

Can we have a show of thumbs? An HONEST show of thumbs? Give this a thumbs down if you DON’T want travellers next door, thumbs up if you DO.’
      If you weren’t looking for red thumbs ?
      Don’t try and pretend that’s not a racist question

• Think about the question. If you don’t want travellers beside you, then I asked for a thumbs down. A negative response.

If you do, then a thumbs up. So by asking about a positive response to having a traveller family beside you, is that not a positive attitude to them??

How am I “judging all people who belong to the ethnic group known as travellers”. Where did I judge them? Point it out.

The question was “who wants to live beside a traveller?” Where’s the judgement? Where did I mention ANY sort of behavior? You imply I did, but I didn’t. So again, you point out to me where exactly I mentioned anything other than the word traveller.

Furthermore, as regards racism……..what else would you like me to call a traveller? Is it not the term that they themselves would like to be called? You should really get down off your soap box and re-read the question.

• If you dont want to be seen as a racist dont ask racist questions
      It was a stupid question

• So I’ll ask you again. Please point out where I gave the impression of being racist? Of labelling them? Of assuming they are all of a certain type of behaviour? You alluded that I did, I’m asking you to prove it.

• Dave, ITS NOT A RACIST QUESTION , its a question that he has not control over with regard to answers. There are alot of comments for and against travellers and he just wants to know what the majority feel about living next door to travellers. He does not mske his own feelings know so you cannot possibly have any justification for calling him a rscist.

• Again
      Its because of the stupid racist question you asked
      If you cant see that i am finished with you

• Good man Vinnie, finally someone sees the point! :) As regards Dave, as the old saying goes, “when you find yourself in a hole……stop digging”. You tell me you are finished with this thread, what I see is that I’ve asked you on several occasions to prove your point but you can’t. If you had the intellect to actually prove yourself right you would have done, now you are throwing your toys out of the pram…..goodnight. Don’t let the bed bugs bite.

• Every time the traveller subject crops so does the “racist” word. It’s not applicable. Travellers are not a “RACE”. They are 100% Irish, the same as the rest of us. Maybe we need a new word, “travelist”?

• Early elections now looks likely. The government as a whole have failed the people.

• So Phil, I heart you’re a racist now!

• I’m sure there would be plenty of moaning if the family had of moved in, conflict arose and an innocent bystander got injured as a result.

• Whatever the minister’s views, or anybody else’s, about travellers in general it is very wrong to make public pronouncements which would seem to vilify a specific named family in particular, which seem to be happening here. Most unprofessional behaviour if in fact he IS naming these people so unconfidentially.

• If this case involved any other ethnic minority the meeja would be playing it up so hard that big phil’s jacksie would never park itself on a dail seat again.

• Sean Beag – the real problem with this incident is not about trying to keep feuding families apart – its that he wrote a letter to the other people living around there NAMING the family.
    This could have and should have been handled in a way where the anti-social problem was dealt with confidentially, if it did indeed need handling.

This was handled by this so called Minister very badly – and as other people mentioned, if he acted in this way in any other organisation it would be a serious offence – a sackable offence.
    He needs to be removed from office immediately. The man is a foolish bigot

• Good for him! Only people who have been forced to live beside some of these ‘travellers’ know the score!

• phil 26/09/12 #

I know many travellers who are ordinary kind decent people especially the older generation. I can see the point where if there are two funding families, keeping them apart is a good idea.
    As for comments about travellers trashing houses and causing trouble you ask any local authority the majority of those who cause trouble are settled people. If this story was changed and it was a black family there would be uproar. There is good and bad in every community. There is no need to discriminate.

• Phil hanging up the phone …… The pressure is on !

• Dont take this the wrong way but there are 2 sides to every story
    I would like to hear the other side

• I’m surprised that the “Irish” Daily Fail is reporting this as something terrible! Given their hatred of anyone who isn’t white, thin and middle class, you’d think they’d be hailing Hogan as a hero of the nimby, middle class, tax payer for not letting Travellers into their area.

• Rob 26/09/12 #

so much wrong with all the commentary on this!!

a family are being allocated a house for nothing – and we’re really now at a point where we are complaining about where this house is?! i certainly hope its southfacing with plenty of light and feng shui!

• Their is a code of ethics, and I am sure not one person on the dail has taken a course in ethics, I had to do one in USA for my job when I was there, and our government at the moment are not ethical in any of their dealings, they are not politicians but school teachers and have no idea how to run a school never mind a country, any person dealing with different religions , cultures should be mandatory to have an ethic certificate and kept up to date every 3 years, would give them something to think about occasionally, as we know they cant think and talk publicly at all, they have the manners and grace of animals and think dictating will get them everywhere

• This is laughable. I’d like to see how the people on this thread would react if this family was moved next door to them…

• So come on, who do you hate more? Phil Hogan or the Travelling Community?

• Seems like the media has had its day with this one. From what I understand Phil Hogan tried to get a family with a history of anti-social behaviour kept away from another family they are feuding with. Perfectly reasonable and sensible.

The fact that they are travellers wasn’t really relevant. I don’t like the man bery much but I think the media are the only ones that have made an equalioty issue out of what is essentially an antisocial behavioural situation.

• i think i would trust any travellers,before i would trust phil hogan,and his sort !!

• Derek 26/09/12 #

This looks like a “knickers in a twist” story. What else happened today they are trying to keep low key and off peoples minds? Nothing better than a rant at Big Phil to distract the masses.

• Well there’s the big load of bullshite that the ESM was going to bail out the Irish banks retrospectively that’s not going to happen.
      Are the govt that together to use Hogan to distract ?
      Me thinks not

• @ Derek: The irony is that if Hogan had written a letter supporting the family’s right to move in, the commentators on here would criticise him just as much for doing that. Most of the comments are just attacking Hogan for the sake of it.

He may be a minister but he is also a TD. If one of the other four TDs in the same constituency sent the letter, there would be no fuss whatsoever – in fact they would be probably praised by the commentators on here. The real issue is Ministers serving as TDs at the same time.

• Dave…who said thats not going to happen….

• Hogan has no respect for anyone regardless of race / creed

He needs a good kick up the arse ( along with the rest of them )
    This ” letter” was abuse of power
    I hope he sleeps well in his “home” tonight

• First they came for the Jews and I did not speak out because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for the Communists and I did not speak out because I was not a Communist.

Then they came for the trade unionists and I did not speak out because I was not a trade unionist.

Then they came for me and there was no one left to speak out for me.

• Poppy
    Do you have any understanding of what racism is?
    It is when you attribute a trait or behaviour to a person or people based on their ethnic origin.

You cannot judge an entire group of people on anything. They are individuals.

• why are these people still in government? why are we still listening to them? why the hell am i still living in this hole of a country?

• Bigotry pure and simple and professional misconduct naming a family in an official letter. Hard to believe he is in office being so ignorant.

• He was right, no one should have to live beside them.

• That is the sort of comment you would sit behind your desk and type,If your a typewriter warrior …Drop down to your local halting site and repeat it in person….No I did’nt think so you fkn coward. Typewriter warrior…wow !!!!!!!!! so scary!!

• If you’re being crippled by taxes and spend most of your day in work to earn a living then you should probably have a say as to who is getting a house for FREE next to you. The bloody welfare state is precisely what’s wrong with this country. Why would anyone want to work when they get the same as you for nothing?!

• Incidentally Alyn, what do you suppose would happen if that comment was expressed at the local hating site? I’m just curious about your stereotype.

• Pro traveller…..that type of stereotype…..It would cause trouble and you know it….Why did you think they would want to have a reasonable discussion with someone who has that attitude?….Sit on the fence all day….that is your stereotype. The faceless critic…kind of like a heckler who does not want to be caught in case they are called upon to follow up their comment with an equally enlightening comment…….Go on …google a reply….unless ???….

• Was he making the name public if he was just replying to letters from people asking him to help in the matter? Surly the people who sent him the letters in the first place knew the family already?

Also was it because the family were travellers or because there had already been anti social behaviour in the past? There’s a few comments above saying if the family were black there’d be outrage, what if it was just your average white Irish family with a history of anti social behaviour, would we have heard about it at all?

That said he is dealing with it very badly.

• I agree that this is turning into a for or against type of thing…But hogan has made his case clear…..He should resign. How stupid was the man to think that this would not surface…cannot see him doing to much canvasing in the halting sites around Ireland..the one full of Irish citizens who have votes….hogan …your a moron.

• Why wouldn’t he canvass halting sites around Ireland? What would happen? Are you suggesting ALL travellers are the same in EVERY halting site? Are you accidentally stereotyping again?

• The dog has a bone …lmfao

• A quasi comical retort and an Americanism to vaguely attempt to disguise that you are inadvertently stereotyping the travelling community. I know if Phil Hogan visited my area, no matter what he did or said, would not be subjected to any unreasonable behaviour. That’s how civilised people behave. You are suggesting that travellers might behave in a different fashion, not me. What have you done in your life to help the travelling community? I presume since you are self professed ‘pro traveller’ you have visited halting sites an spent time with travellers. I have. Do you speak gammon, Shelta or cant? So what is it that makes you ‘pro traveller’? Is it just to be ‘pro’ something? I don’t know Phil Hogan, nor have I any allegiance to his party but I think he might argue that he was representing the interest of his ‘community’.

• You’re right Philip. Being a Traveller is a right. But their rights don’t negate the rights of the settled community. The Travellers should not be discriminated against but then again they shouldn’t be allowed flout the laws and make life a misery for other people.

• Totally irrelavent the dicussions into whether or not you may be fortunate or unfortunate to be niegbours with whomever ,the letter should have been written without preduidice the message sent out with two word’s would far more effective than the two lines in the letter it’self .This man and wife have children for God’sake . shame on you

• The family are now living in the house.

• Has anyone got a link to the letter? I despise Phil Hogan but I’d like to see what was actually said, it sounds like it may have been related to the family’s previous anti social behaviour in the area as opposed to the fact they were travellers.

• Phil hogan is a man serving the people of Ireland, but acts in a manner in which he thinks that he is above the people he serves,he is not a people person what so ever, and if he was he would surly conduct him self with a little more compassion and understanding :(

• Plain and simple discrimination by a government official. If I was this family I would be keeping all the headlines and all the news on this and I wouldn’t be long bringing this big headed fat cat to court nd takin him for everything he,s got!!!

http://www.change.org/petitions/supporting-the-irish-nation-step-down-from-government

• The main issue today is the German Dutch Finnish statement bout not writing down our debt. Much as I can’t stand that conceited knob big Phil, we should focus on the big story.

• I think I’ll post phil a Banana, and put a note in it saying! The tree was too big for the postman, but you have a curtain pole in your office and there’s the Banana!

• This appears to be a bit of a media created storm. If the family had been housed there and IF any trouble occurred we would most likely having a local resident show a copy of their letter predicting the trouble that was sent to the minister. So he can’t win either way. Most likely he did nothing to have the housing application turned down but like all politicians he wanted to claim the credit for it. IF the MCarthys had got the house he would probably have written to them claiming credit for that too.

It is because we have too many public representatives that we get nonsense like this. Time to get back to the real substantive issue of how the country is being run.

• Hogan is a straightshooter. Largely into his own foot politically.

Perhaps we are better off with an ignorant bollix. Travellers deserve their rights, and I am happy for them to pay their taxes, respect our environment and raise their children well the same as anyone else. Being a Traveller is a privilege not a right.

If anyone looking for free housing, they need to present a plan for getting themselves back into society and paying their way.

The amount of nimby’s making an issue of this is ridiculous. The luxury of never having a hope of being elected makes it easy.

• how is being a traveller a privilege and not a right ?? do they not have the right to follow their customs and beliefs like anybody else, and make ur statement ARBITRASURE jus shows the ignorance u right wing west brit blue shirts have on society as a whole

Add New Comment