TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 3 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Poll: Is Enda Kenny right to refuse to take part in a debate with Vincent Browne?

The Taoiseach has repeatedly said he will not appear on any Vincent Browne programme since the presenter made controversial remarks about the FG leader in 2010. Is Enda right?

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has once again ruled out taking part in a TV debate on the Fiscal Compact  referendum because the programme was due to be presented by Vincent Browne.

Enda Kenny has not appeared on any programme hosted by Browne since the presenter’s controversial remarks in September 2010, when the TV3 presenter said Kenny should go into a dark room with a gun and a bottle of whiskey. Browne later apologised for the remarks.

Vincent Browne has now offered to stand aside for another presenter, saying he hopes it would enable the debate to take place. The Taoiseach has said the offer is ‘under consideration’.

What do you think: Is Enda Kenny right to refuse to take part in debates presented by Vincent Browne?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (177 Comments)

• mart_n 11/05/12 #

So Browne made an off color comment about Kenny once.. big fcuking woop, he should get over it the poor delicate little flower. It’s not as if Kenny has never put his foot in it.. let’s not forget his infamous ‘ni**er’ joke. He’s afraid to appear on Vincent Browne because he knows he’ll be turn asunder, simple as.

• There’s a disconnect between legislators and the electorate in Ireland. After the brouhaha of the General Election last year – when we thought we were voting for parties different to Fianna Fail – and what we got was more of the same discredited and damaging policies. The Taoiseach and his government have to be called to account for this and RTE is not going to voice the concerns of citizens. Vincent Browne would do this – if only the Taoiseach would man-up to the task. If he’s afraid of Vincent Browne, what are his chances against Merkel & Co.?

• Can anybody imagine Michael D. or any other man of decency in our society continuing to snub a person who apoogised to them on national TV for using a metaphor that caused offense?

Me neither. Kenny is a small small man. Back under your pebble till june 1st inda.

• What Vincent Brown said was awful, but he came out immediately and issued an unreserved apology. Has Mr. Kenny apologised for hoodwinking us all into voting for him on his party mandate and then when in power, completing ripping up said mandate, no.

This is the same Taoiseach who has refused, despite numerous requests, to appear on The Last Word with Matt Cooper. What has Matt ever done on Enda? Read his column in The Sunday Times and you’ll know, he’s done nothing but tell the truth.

• Vincent brown apologised, Enda kenny shouldn’t be dragging it on. He’s the taoiseach, and he should not be letting a personal statement interfere with his job. If it was someone more important than vincent brown who made a nasty comment about him such as another head of state, what would he do? Ignore them too because they hurt his feelings?poor Enda:( my heart bleeds… It’s childlike behaviour.

• Paula 11/05/12 #

My family have experienced suicide and I take no offence over what VB said, it was just an old saying with no malice intended. I take more offence over the fact that Endas policies and failure to stand up for his people have directly or indirectly led to many suicides in Ireland.

These bas**rds have to be kicked out before its too late for the next generation, our children will never forgive our stupidity and ignorance.

• Childish and frightened behaviour, I’d say!

• Just in case anyone missed this- Matt Cooper said yesterday that Enda Kenny has so far refused all requests to go on his show also. It reinforces again the fact that this is not about kenny holding a grudge about browne’s comment- it’s a fear of a public debate.

• Vincent brown is a voter just like the rest of us and for kenny to just say he won’t discuss the treaty with him is a disgrace. the office he holds ( on the back of lies ) is to represent the entire country not pick and choose whomever he feels ua in HIS parties interest.

• Paula 11/05/12 #

The George Bush of Europe

• Worse Paula. Had bush allowed americans to be blackmailed so a foreign power could have its dictat inserted into the american constitution, you’d be hearing the words ‘grassy knoll’ in the news a lot.

• he’s terrified of bein shown up as the follower he is!! sure hasn’t Vincent made fools out of most of his party already! Vincent Brown is a LEGEND!

• As someone who has seen suicide up close, I think it is disappointing and quite sickening to see our Taoiseach hiding behind it as a reason to dodge having to debate.

• Ditto, theres a day that’ll always be there for me on walking into a room and having to deal with it in reality.
      He’s a bloody coward.
      He needs to be able to defend his position or move from it.
      D

• Just a thought about Brownes infamous remarks which were indeed offensive and whilst not wishing to defend such remarks, it should be pointed out Vincent Browne has long been an advocate for better standards in Mental health, indeed his expose on the appalling conditions at a number of institutions is perhaps lost on some people, he and Shane Ross (albeit ross is a little constrained now he is in the dail) are also perhaps the only Journalist to give the three amigo’s from the Troika a run for their money at press conferences, other Journalist seem to loose the power of speech at these press conferences.

• Kenny cheerleaders don’t come off very well, feigning outrage at the original comment. Don’t remember the same disgust when Gay Mitchell said he’d jump of bridge during the presidential election. Must have been totally different or something.

Someone let Mark Kennelly (Enda’s handler) know the debate is about the public who elected Kenny, not Vincent Browne. Leader of the country requires leadership. What does it tell us about Fine Gael. A party who cut mental health services while offer tax breaks for chief executives. Hide behind suicide when it suits

The only growth An Taoiseach should be praying for is a pair of the proverbial. In mean time we’ll have to make do with Vincent Browne questioning the Troika

• No he should grow a pair and do the debate. He can’t pick and choose who interviews him he is the leader of our country!!! Such Is life that we have to deal people we don’t like sometimes but we get on with it.

• Paula 11/05/12 #

Why should he? He knows only too well that as a nation we are thick and will let him away with it. If he knows he doesn’t have to talk to Merkel (his best friend of many years in the european peoples party) in the interests of his people, why on earth do you think would he bothered to do a vincent brown or matt cooper interview?

People better start bloody waking up in this country before its too late. I have children, those of you who are ignorant destroy their future also

• Peter 11/05/12 #

Thats the point of the whole thing, just as if you are in management at any level your personnel feelings can’t come into it. you represent a company.A company cant have bad mood days ect, In this case Ireland is the company, kenny God help us is it’s boss

• Just dissapointed with Vincent Browne for offering to give Edna a way out, sadly there is no one else in TV3 that would have an iota on how to moderate a debate. Say what you like about Browne but at least he has the balls to continously hold politicians to account.

• VB could easily have allowed Matt Cooper chair the debate.. Matt is a regular on that show anyway.
      I would love Journal.ie to put out a poll on which of the following folks should chair the debate… I am deliberately leaving RTE presenters off the list for obvious reasons…

1) Vincent Browne
      2) Ursula Hannigan
      3) Matt Cooper

• Hear hear on the poll. But seeing as though Vin B is out of the equation due to indas cowardice, it may be a bit pointless to include him unfortunately.

• Not sure about Hysterical Ursula, she reminds me of an annoying Aunt, Hmmm, Matt Cooper? not sure either, Kinda sad that after all these years TV3 have such a poor selection of heavy weight candidates generally, I gave up watching their Plastic news coverage, from Disinterested Cantwell to the Hillariously robotic Brian O Donavan, its appalling stuff to watch.

• well said Andrew

• VB appologised, it appears to me EK now uses this as a great avoidance measure instead of taking the oppertunity to persuade me why I should vote Yes

• Jenny should ask the wizard if oz for some courage. he’s embarrassing

• Enda the man is letting his own personal ego come before the role and duty of the elected leader of a nation in not going before the viewership of the combined electorate to argue the governments postion. He should but his personal pride aside as it has no place in his office. More damaging would be the event a NO vote win which would represent a second consecutive referendum loss in succession and spell the beginning of the end of the lifetime of this current government. People are not interested in this male chest beating exercise but instead in the welfare of the nation. As a person who is yet undecided on how to vote I can only hold onto the adage that people who know, vote NO!

• man up kenny

• Coward that’s all I have to say!!!

• So let me get this right…in the last few days we have had comments from Enda saying that if we vote No it will be like a Lethal Injection to the Irish economy. Then we have someone saying if we vote Yes it will be like economic suicide…

So what this basically means is we are fu€ked if we do and we are fu€ed if we dont……well as my old English teacher always said…if in doubt leave it out…..so sorry Enda….im leaving it out….its a No from me.

You and previous governments have bent us over for the last time

• Fagan's 11/05/12 #

It was Paul Krugman, the Nobel Prize economist and Nouriel Roubini the lone voice who predicted this, quiet accurately over the last 5 years, that have referred to it as an “economic suicide pact”.

• The refusal by the Taoiseach to appear with Browne could be down to something simpler than we think. And it’s something Enda has not been called to account for, as far as I know.

The familiy of Patrice Lumumba, the assassinated first democratically elected Prime Minister of Congo, have demanded an apology from the Fine Gael leader Enda Kenny, who called the revered African liberation hero a ‘n*****’ in a racist joke almost 10 years ago. At that time members of Lumumba’s family – including one of his six sons and seven of his grandchildren – were living in Tallaght in west Dublin, after fleeing political persecution in the former Zaire.

Over to you Enda. Do you still think that the first ever democratically elected President of the Congo is just “” some “n*****” who died ‘dans la guerre”" ??

• Is this true??? Why did this not come to light during the elections last year?

• Paula 11/05/12 #

I read this story in America last year actually. There was a big write up about Enda Kenny calling some leader a ‘Ni**er” That’s absolutely incredible!!!!!!!!!!!

Why doesn’t the media of Ireland take him to task over that? I wonder would it be different if it was the likes of Gerry Adams….

Oh wait I just remembered, Enda’s friends include Dennis O’Brien (who he travels to NY with on a private jet for dinner) so I guess that explains that.

This guy and the muppets with him have to be kicked out of government before its too late, seriously

• Enda told the joke in front of Irish journalists – they or most of them remained quiet.

http://bit.ly/Racist_Enda

• Paula
      I would like to hear more about this and Kenny’s comments . Also about his trips to New York would be good to hear in light of the Moriarty tribunal.

• Paula
      I would like to hear more about this and Kenny’s comments . Also about his trips to New York would be good to hear in light of the Moriarty tribunal

• Paula 11/05/12 #

I’m surprised someone hasn’t contacted one of the major news networks about this story. I imagine the likes of FOX for example would love this story, they welcome tips for stories etc. Barack might not be so welcoming to the clown next St Patricks Day.

• He is the Leader of the Country!!
    He has all manner of things said about and to him, good and bad… he should be a bigger man and stand up to it, how pathetic to quake and withdraw from a Debate. If he isnt up to the job then he shouldnt be doing it.

If youre his supporter, you should be truly asking yourself why!!
    Its so laughable, he does need to get a spine.
    Pathetic.

• He declined because merkel phoned him up and told him not to go and he said Yes your holiness

• Feb 9, 2011

“Mr Kenny had a lot to lose and little to gain by appearing on a three-way debate where not being made to look inept would be considered a victory.

But Fine Gael and their leader were made to look foolish and weak by the dog-ate-my-homework excuses he and the party made for him not appearing on last night’s TV 3 debate.

He handed a public relations triumph to TV3 and presenter Vincent Browne when he cited Mr Browne’s tasteless remarks about a bottle of whiskey and a revolver as his reason for refusing to appear.

Twisting a political metaphor to wrap himself in the sorrow of victims of suicide was contrived while the original thoughtless remark was spontaneous.”

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/sam-smyth-kenny-debate-saga-has-left-party-a-hostage-to-fortune-2531341.html

A hostage to fortune is right!!! It’s all just a little bit of history repeating!

• Kenny = Chicken

• Who voted yes to this? Id love to hear a logical argument?

Other than Enda is scared of Browne cause he’s probably one of the best journalists in Europe for interviews in my opinion

• He is not working with him, he is answering to the people on a important matter. If he is that childish he shouldn’t be in charge of the country.

• Yet Adams and Sinn fein are expected to (and do) work with the representataives of those who were specifically trying to kill them a decade ago. Likewise for the unionist politicians.
      Secondly, the “bottle of whiskey and revolver” line is no more than an old saying used by VB which I reckon had no malice in it.
      Thirdly, VB later made an public apology to Kenny.

Kenny’s a coward, he has also refused (for 18 months now) to come on Matt Coppers radio show. A show with the largest under 45′s listenership in the country. Says it all really….

• Again Journal this is not my account and not my cxomment . It is a false Twitter account set up using my name . Please Journal block it .

• Enda Kenny is a coward ., He has shown this continuously . His refusal to go on the show with G Adams is pure undiluted cowardice. The man is a joke

• So he will only be interviewed by people he can work with? Maybe he should go to America where you can get a news network dedicated to your party’s views.

• Lets get this straight, Vincent Brown never told Enda Kenny to commit suicide! Never ever!

• Thank you Journal .
      Can you let me know if this problem is finally sorted . Please.

• Niall i feel adams would show up his weakness as a debater hence would put this referendum in the hole ,so he took the only option he could take run.

• Barry
      You can get a news net work dedicated to FG/Lab party views here too. Its called RTE .

• The point is that a moderator should never have a personal connection to one of the speakers (positive or negative). You cant say it will be impartial with that shit between the two no matter how professional they behave. Logic!

Looks like he will do it with another moderator, if thats the case, those who call him a coward should eat their words.

So much conjecture here :(

• I’m fed up with everything to do with this referendum. I was ready to vote no as a statement over bailing out the bankers at the cost of the people but since receiving the no vote leaflet which opened with an attack on eastern European immigrants, they can all frankly fxck off now. I will be withholding my vote in protest.

• paul 11/05/12 #

If he is such a coward with Vincent Brown and and Matt Cooper, is it any wonder that he is terrified to stand up for his people in Europe with Merkel etc,

When will Irish people wake up to the fact that they have possibly the worst leader in the world who could not care less for them?

When will Irish people realize that this man cares only about his life long political friends in the European Peoples Party and his pensions.

When will the country wake up? We are the laughing stock of the world, seriously! Have any of you even seen how the foreign media coverage of us?

• I voted yes!!! You a problem with that Niall?? Browne’s comments were disgraceful prior to election so Kenny is spot on to treat him with contempt.

• Well said Paul. Fact is we need political leaders that aren’t liked in Brussels or Frankfurt. They should be stirring it and kicking furniture around the place at every summit.
      Kenny et al are euro-gimps and if Merkel & Draghi aren’t insulting them in public then they aren’t doing their jobs.

• Just as any good Dictator would do Enda.

• Niall, you should watch his interview with Ian Bailey , it just might change your mind about Brown.

• @ Anne De Croix, I received the same leaflet through my door, it’s from the EFD Euro parliament group which has NO Irish members. There is a picture of Nigel Farage on the front who is a UKIP MEP.
      This leaflet has nothing to do with the Irish anti treaty parties.

• Caroline, Anne De Croix is a member of FFg/Labour … when all else fails, tell porkies about the opposition, hopefully some of the mud will stick, even if its not true… Don’t worry Ann, we hear your type of BS in here all the time.. Enda is still a chicken sh*t.

• OMG ‘Paula’ – are you saying that people would create fake social media profiles just so they can spam boards and things with the same message over and over again? What sort of a person would do such a thing?

• Thanks Cal, these snakes still need to be answered!

• Guess whos afraid of big bad Vincenzo Browne? , in fact Kennys underpants are the same colour as Mad dogs surname

• Vincent Browne said a stupid, offensive and deeply insensitive thing. Suicide in Ireland is a very raw topic and as taoiseach, I think Enda was right to take a stand against it.

He may be controversial, but that doesn’t mean Vincent Browne is any good. Let’s face it: He’s a very poor quality, biased journalist and a terrible presenter.

As long as the taoiseach makes himself available to a broad range of decent, impartial journalists, then I think he has the right to exclude any individual he feels like.

There are dozens of Journalists who don’t get anywhere near the taoiseach simply because their outlet is too small, their reach is too specific, they are biased or unprofessional or irrelevant, I don’t see why it’s any different excluding Vincent Browne.

• Alistair, its a fact that suicide rates have tripled in the last 5 years…and based on the data, its primarily being driven by economic hardship and sense of hopelessness. I know of 2 people that committed suicide, they saw no way out. VBs comments, as everyone with a brain knows, was not meant to be taken literally, it was a Political expression… similar to the Lethal Injection Kenny himself made yesterday. But don’t let the truth get in the way of your excuses and hiding.. Kenny is a chiken Sh*t and has shown the Irish people what a lie this treaty is.

• Anne De Croix..that leaflet was Farage, UK Independence party and nothing to do with the Irish No campaign, i agree it is off putting but hopefully there will be a proper leaflet from the Irish No campaign soon, as far as i know funds are not good. Please dont let that leaflet put you off.

• Why is there even a question as to what Browne meant? It is obvious that he was referring to offering his resignation, unless Kenny actually carrys a sword… Does anyone honestly think that Browne was saying he should kill himself? Its ridiculous. The.majority of us have lost someone to suicide but there is no way I would take offence to a phrase that is around since Roman times. Kenny is being petulant if he is using that as an excuse.

• Donal Mc Carthy
      Yes they do create false twitter accounts (one falsely used my name only today) and they used that account to spam this site with awful comments as if I had typed them . But it is blocked now and good riddance ,too. Only thing is tho If they can do it once they can do it again….. There are some sly foxes out there capable of many underhand tactics to propagate their views .However most people see through the tricks.

• There is no real question Niamh. Its manufactured, like indas original outrage at the comment, to provide cover to the taoiseachs inability to debate or excuse the inexcusable.

The fine gael underlings are under direction to push the narrative on public forums that Browne made a disgusting suicide reference to kenny. He did not. We all know he did not. These people are disgracefully using the subject of suicide to push a fake alternative talking point to cover their party leaders cowardice. Lowlife politics 101. They’re fooling nobody and are having their arses handed to them in full public view.

• Sure you voted for him to your leader

• Too Trueleft – you are a commentor who appears to have created an anonymous social media profile solely for the purposes of making anti-Government comments on The Journal.

You guys really have no sense of irony whatsoever.

• I’m not anti-government Donal by any stretch of the imagination, I’m anti-lies, anti-blackmail, and anti-cowardice. If this goverment were fighting our corner as mandated, instead of obediently following dictats from Germany, I would not be so vocal.

Oh and you’re either completely wrong or purposely misrepresenting me by saying I post ‘solely’ anti-goverment posts, I’ve posted in any number of other pages on this site that has nothing to do with the government.

Anything else?

• Donal, ditto on” Too Trues” comment

Do you want me to post all the links where i praised new bills introduced by Shatter, Reilley etc… I can do it, but i have the feeling that if i do post them, you will still label me as a ‘Shinner’

• Here, Cal, did you notice Donals comment about me just so happened to be posted right after I mentioned fine gael shills carpetbombing social media sites to distract from kennys cowardice?

Quick, look over there….LOL!

• censored 11/05/12 #

I voted no, but can understand why Enda Kenny’s supporters would prefer not to see him make a fool of himself.

• enda kenny has not got the balls to face Vincent Brown , He could not tell the truth if his life depended on it
      and Vincent Brown would waste no time in proving that , kenny and co lied their way through an election and we are now paying the price . A SIMPLE QUESTION : – If we do vote to go in to this thing and every thing goes pear shaped can we opt out at a later date . I do not thing so . if other countries are delaying the vote until they know more about what is going on in Greece and other countries then it only makes sense for us to delay

• I originally defended Enda Kenny in this thread and his right to snub Vincent Brown. I still stand by that.

However, now Enda has said that he won’t take part in a debate chaired by Ursula Hannigan either. I can’t back him on that one. Ursula is a decent, fair journalist with integrity – there is no reasonable justification for saying no. He looks weak.

• After Enda and the boy’s performance, i feel like going in to a room with a bottle of whiskey and a gun…….

• Who cares anyway we have heard all the same crap over and over and over from these people.
    They are all laughing at the rest of us while collecting huge pay packets.
    I will vote no to tell them to F off

• At least the No’s have it. Kenny is a disgrace and an embarrassment. We have the worst leader in Europe.

• So Browne makes a joke about enda and enda get in a tizzy. Cop on enda. You are supposed to the Taoiseach. Stop being so bloody childish and go on the programme.

• OF course he is right. He is exercising the ” I am not talking to you ‘cos you called me names” rule dating back to 1467.

• Enda Kenny, for the people of Ireland you purport to represent. For your increasingly downsized political integrity in the face of adversity.
    Man the f*** up.
    Take Brown out of the equation. Do the debate and if you lose, then at least you’ll go down like a man, not Merkel’s mouthpiece.

• maybe Kenny can’t answer any questions without his spin doctor whispering the answers into his ear.

• hey Enda…how about going in to a room with a bottle of whiskey an ME!!!!!!!??…..

• How is kenny going to beat Adams in a debate when hes afraid of an old man that wears a wig.

• So he won’t have vb or matt cooper. What did matt do to him? Is there anyone he is willing to have? What fine geal lickspittle does he want?

• Enda needs to grow a set and go ahead with the debate. Adams knew it would be an issue for him to appear on the Vincent Browne show.I can’t see the treaty being passed as Greece and France have come to some changes.Now with all eyes on Spain as to who will bail them out, it looks like the Euro is on a rocky road.

• Perhaps enda would be more comfortable if he could have the debate on the childrens show Bosco as he always reminds me of a puppet on a string.

• Kenny would be trashed by VB and make great scripts for the Scrap Saturday / comedy guys what ever you call them
    Kenny is a coward and a snake in the grass , as bad as FF

• Knowing this country’s luck Kenny would miss and shoot the bottle of whiskey

• Enda Kenny = Spineless Coward. Vincent Browne = Legend. That is all.

• Enda is a coward, Vincent always asks the hard questions and Enda has’nt got the answers,He’s only good for saying yes to Miz Merkle. if we vote yes and Francois Hollande gets some relief for France, it wont happen for us if we vote yes the dogs in the street know that.

• We thought we had the worst leader ever when BIFFO was in charge, now we know that was not true, the present fellow is much worse he is spineless, gutless and interested in creating jobs . YES jobs …. for his cronies. the only job he is interested in saving is his own. Roll on next election…

• sarah 11/05/12 #

What’s he got to hide! Apart from sparing us more bullshit, lies and empty promises!

• Fritzel compact lol

• he’s a coward and he’s out of touch with the people who elected him

• Aidan 11/05/12 #

The lad has no redeeming features, a coward on top of everything else.

• He should get over himself and get on with what we’re paying him to do, run this country.

• Enda Kenny – Omega Male!

• You people are gas. Most of you probably voted for fg or labour. Did ye really think things were gona change when ye did so? SF all the way, at least they have balls. They answered the questions asked of them, and they’ll answer them time n time again. Our 1916 Hero’s would be/are turning in their graves at the state of our nation. Once upon a time it was an honour to be Irish, not now with this shower.

• *THIS* is how a leader should react to broadcasters they feel have treated them unfairly:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7DI7u-TytRU

Enda should grow a pair.

• I voted no but I think the question was asked badly. I think Enda is right in not taking part in the debate but not for the reasons he gave but because he is so inept that it would ultimately hurt his position more than refusing to do it and trying to save face with such a lame excuse.

I’ve just realised that he reminds me of Brick from Anchorman ha

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-hJ4rMEYswlk/TaZ_9PPREsI/AAAAAAAAGMs/LUffwIcAzsk/s400/Lamp0.jpg

• Enda Kenny must consider himself the luckiest man in Ireland. The role of Taoiseach has fallen into his lap despite his obvious lack of grey matter. He’s a nice enough man, but completely out of his depth.

If he can’t face a debate in front of his own people on t.v. – what the hell are we sending him to Europe to fight on our behalf for? Who’s going to rub and pat his head now that Sarkozy is gone? The man is a joke….and a

C O W A R D

• How can Enda fight for us in Europe if he’s not willing to take on Vinny B. Surly it would be just good training for him. He should face his fears and surprise us.

• @cal and Caroline- “annedecroix is a member of fine Gael/labour” “these snakes still need to be answered”. I am not a member of any political party which probably makes me one of the sanest people in the country. Telling lies about people online is not only rude but is a criminal offense.

• The above should read as follows Vincent Browns comments may not have been in good taste

• Maybe we should take Brutons advice and call for a general election and elect a proper government , with people who have a backbone and the guts to stand up to Europe

• kenny has not got the balls to face Vincent Brown, He lied his way through an election , and Vincent Brown would make short work of him if he got him on the show , All kenny seems to be good at is playing the blame game he talks the talk but can not walk the walk . Vincent Browns comments may have been in good taste however kenny is just playing up on that remark and again using it as an excuse to hide

• Or that he told him to commit suicide?

• He didn’t keith, but qwe all know that. Vincent Browne used the well known ‘whiskey and revolver’ metaphor.

Is enda really that pathetic that junior members of his party like yourself have to misrepresent the words of a man who has already apologised on national TV for using the metaphor?

• Paula 11/05/12 #

Hes a gobshi*e, he can’t make a statement about anything unless it was wrote by his assistants and writers. It says a lot about us as a nation that this bufoon is the most popular leader ever.

Shame on you Ireland, explain it to your grandchildren when they ask why were we so dumb.

Sheep!

• Kenny couldn’t care less about that comment. What he is afraid of is facing browne in a public debate on national tv which hundreds of thousands will be watching. Kenny is a loser, deep down he knows that, and it’s what he gets up every morning to fight against. god help him. he prob has more demons than we know about *shudder

• Oh let’s not get all “outrageous comment and I’m so offended, it’s an absolute disgrace to be making comments like this.”

Silly comment the likes of which we all would make from time to time. Hands up who has never cracked a racist joke in their life?

• I don’t know if its a racism issue Sean. Cracking a joke like that in a room full of people with members of the press present, I think its more of a competency issue.

• The is absolutely correct to refuse to go near him. Vincent is very entertaining and very clever but he is also a boor and a bully. He loves to shout and sigh at people and show everyone how much more clever he is than the person he is shouting at. He is also about as impartial as the Pope. All in all, no place for the Taoiseach.

• He sighs at the people who refuse to answer a straighforward question that he’s asked them multiple times. Theres a youtube clip doing the rounds of one guest that he asks the same question to ten timmes and won’t give a straight answer to. I’d be sighing as well.

• limofax 11/05/12 #

No place for a coward

• VB is a well known anti Shinner. So what is Kenney scarded of? Is he realy that weak that he won’t deal with anyone who won’t toe the party line, Even if they have a well known antitipitiy to his oponent? No wonder he didn’t have the balls to ask for a write down of debt like he promised.

• Donal : “Vincent is very entertaining and very clever but he is also a boor and a bully”. You contradicted yourself in the one sentence … Either he is entertaining or he is a bore… which is it??

• Donal, just clicked on the link you sent and it says … and i quote:

1. A person with rude, clumsy manners and little refinement.
      2. A peasant.

So Enda should not lower himself to talk to ‘Peasants’… that sums it up really…..
      FFg/Labour are so far up their own backsides, they have now resorted to calling non-party supporters ‘Peasants’… Have you read animal farm perchance … 2 legs good, 4 legs bad????

• Cal, the trick with dictionaries is that, when a list of alternatives is given, as in the text you posted, is that not all the meanings necessarily apply.

Vincent Browne is many things, but a peasant he is clearly not.

• Paula 11/05/12 #

“The refusal by the Taoiseach to appear with Browne could be down to something simpler than we think. And it’s something Enda has not been called to account for, as far as I know.
      The familiy of Patrice Lumumba, the assassinated first democratically elected Prime Minister of Congo, have demanded an apology from the Fine Gael leader Enda Kenny, who called the revered African liberation hero a ‘n*****’ in a racist joke almost 10 years ago. At that time members of Lumumba’s family – including one of his six sons and seven of his grandchildren – were living in Tallaght in west Dublin, after fleeing political persecution in the former Zaire.

Over to you Enda. Do you still think that the first ever democratically elected President of the Congo is just “” some “n*****” who died ‘dans la guerre”” ??” (Andrew Brennan)

I guess Enda knows about insulting people, not just one person but indeed an entire race of people. Whats your answer to that FG SHEEP? Pathetic

• While Browne has apologized, his dislike for Kenny is more obvious than his studio backdrop. Inevitably, this would cloud the debate. In any case Browne has never been impartial on any matter..

• From the point of view of any one effected by suicide, Vincent Brown’s remarks were very hurtful and disgusting, for an intelligent man to flippantly make such a remark is unforgivable. Enda Kenny should not go on to his programme on principle.

• Tom, you are right about the comment but Vincent Browne has offered to step down and allow some one else to host the show. I can’t think of one show Enda has been on to explain why we should vote YES. That’s very concerning.

If you watch Vincent’ show on the debate – http://www.tv3.ie/3player/show/41/48150/1/Tonight-with-Vincent-Browne, it’s scary that both sides didn’t have answers to a lot of important questions, avoid questions, gave answers that didn’t answer the questions. I’m wondering if I can have another choice instead of YES or NO!

• Paula 11/05/12 #

“The refusal by the Taoiseach to appear with Browne could be down to something simpler than we think. And it’s something Enda has not been called to account for, as far as I know.

Over to you Enda. Do you still think that the first ever democratically elected President of the Congo is just “” some “n*****” who died ‘dans la guerre”” ??” (Andrew Brennan)

My family have been affected by suicide also, I do not take offence by anything VB said, it is just an old saying. I take more offence with the fact that FGs policies and refusal to stand up for their suffering people are the indirect (some would say direct) cause of many suicides in Ireland. I guess by the same ‘princi“The refusal by the Taoiseach to appear with Browne could be down to something simpler than we think. And it’s something Enda has not been called to account for, as far as I know.

On ‘principle’ I guess Enda shouldn’t be the a head of state allowed to greet Barack Obama or sit with him on St Patrick’s Day in the white house. I wonder did he share his ‘Nig*er*’ joke with Barack and his wife?

My family have also experienced suicide and I take no offence over what VB said, it was just an old saying with no malice intended. I take more offence over the fact that Endas policies and failure to stand up for his people have directly or indirectly led to many suicides in Ireland.

• Paula 11/05/12 #

sorry about that….pc messed up

• Paula 11/05/12 #

Christine can you delete that long messed up comment of mine above please x

• Tom, I have personally been affected by suicide, but have the common sense to realise that Vincent Browne was using a well known metaphor in relation to the political situation enda kenny was in at the time, nothing more.

For the leader of a country to cower behind such a serious and devastating issue rather than face some tough questions is cretinous and an insult to people who have had their lives blighted by the specter of suicide. He is not fit to run a bath, never mind a nation in crisis.

• Do you disagree with all metaphors then? “I’ll kill you” the well known threat to murder someone after a friend does something to you? Or for people to go “down with the ship” obviously telling people to allow themselves to die. The metaphor Vincent Browne was well known and was never meant as “Enda go commit suicide” Vincent already apologised for this off the cuff remark yet FGers, rather pathetically use this to excuse the cowardice of their leader.

• I voted yes. I think he’s right, Browne doesn’t do ‘debate’ he does ‘grandstand’ and ‘ambush’ and sneer. The taoiseach of the country has better things to be doing than massaging vin b’s ego. I write as a person who has never voted for Fine Gael .

• What about Matt Coopers program? Coopers a year and a half trying to get him on for an interview. He’s a coward.

Has the ‘taoiseach of the country’ and leader of the ‘yes’ campaign better things to do then explain why he’s advocating a ‘yes’ vote to his fellow countrymen and women? He should be front and center hammering this thing through if he really believes its a good thing.

• So you support Enda abdicating his responsibility and not debating the issue with the leader of the No camp!!!!! It will 100% hand victory to the No’s in the upcoming refernda, but at least Enda will have stood by his principles… Those principle included negotitating the reduction in our debt prior to the last election, but since coming to power, our sovereign debt has increased by 64 billion euro… What did Merkel do that Enda couldn’t debate the banking debt with her? Did she make a whiskey gun remark too? Damn, the Irish people are so proud of our Taoiseach standing up for these personal principles, while we rack up billions in private banking debt… Way to go Enda …

• Fearghal

You have much more gumption than Enda for admitting you voted yes, thats for sure!

• I voted yes. Why?
    personally I think it’s impossible for VB to be impartial in such a debate. While I’d like to see him give Enda a roasting. I feel such a debate is that important it shouldn’t be sensationalized by the media.

• The question should be has he the right to refuse to take part in the program, and the answer is yes. We live in a democracy, and freedom of speech is a fundamental of democracy, he has the right to decide when and to whom he will speak, his refusal is foolish and will damage him, but he is within his rights.
    Vincent Brown is mostly interested on promoting himself, and not in leading a free and fair debate

• hold on a minute! have people forgotten the presidental debates with sinn fein releasing their made up fictional dossier about sean gallagher? edna kenny was dead right when he said he’d debate them in dail

• Why would anyone listen to the debate?
    I am not choosing any opinion in this poll:
    The Journal on Feb 2nd.” EXACTLY A YEAR on from Leo Varadkar’s now infamous “not another cent” comments during the general election, Taoiseach Enda Kenny has restated that Ireland will not impose losses on bondholders.

I AM VOTING YES in the referendum. Brussels bureaucrats are much more reliable than our politicians.

• censored 11/05/12 #

Yes, you can count on the politicians in Brussels to look after their interests and the interests of their people very reliably.

No offense to Brussels. They have bigger things to worry about than Ireland. You’re being extremely naive putting your faith in them, just because of the way things work in the real world.

• He’s man standing up for himself, his values and victims of suicide. Bertie said something similar and he was lynched, yet Vincent Brown says this and its just something small. Double standards I think

• Bullcrap. If I ask you ‘is it time to fall on your sword’ am I asking you is it time for you to sacrifice your political career for the greater good of the party, or am i telling you to stab yourself to death?

Its fooling nobody, just like your comment.

• Paula 11/05/12 #

Philips comment saves me another 50 comments ridiculing our ‘leader’ FG supporters were recently ordered to swarm social media sites…Let him on, more please Philip :)

• If somebody told me to go into a dark room with a gun and a bottle of whiskey I’d probably never speak to that person again, let alone appear on his chat show!

Add New Comment