TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Vincent Browne offers to step aside to allow Kenny/Adams debate

Ursula Halligan could step in as moderator after the Taoiseach earlier ruled out appearing on any show hosted by Browne.

Enda Kenny with Gerry Adams in 2009 (File photo)
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

VINCENT BROWNE HAS offered to stand aside for a proposed TV debate on the Fiscal Treaty referendum, saying he hopes it will enable the event to take place.

Browne made his comments this evening after Taoiseach Enda Kenny earlier ruled out a TV3 head-to-head with Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams,  saying he will not appear on a programme moderated by Vincent Browne. “I do not do the Vincent Browne programme,” he said.

Under TV3′s latest proposal, political editor Ursula Halligan would step in to moderate the debate.

Browne said he was “disappointed” that Kenny had rejected the debate, but added: ” I do not wish to inhibit this important public debate from proceeding. The public’s right to information far outweighs any other issues.”

TV3 yesterday proposed a one-on-one debate over the Fiscal Compact referendum on 29 May, two days before polling yesterday with Adams indicating that he would be prepared to take part.

However, Kenny has previously turned down a chance to appear on debates moderated by Browne citing comments the veteran broadcaster made about him in relation to suicide, comments Browne later apologised for.

Having already declined to appear on last week’s TV3 debate, Kenny has now turned down this opportunity, saying there are plenty of other opportunities to debate the Louth TD in the Dáil.

Speaking on Newstalk earlier today, Kenny said: “I have debates with Deputy Adams on Tuesdays and on Wednesdays.

“I am very happy to debate with Deputy Adams but I do not do the Vincent Browne programme.”

Meanwhile, Micheál Martin has this evening criticised Gerry Adams for declining a separate invitation for a debate between the Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin leaders.

Martin said: “If Mr Adams is really willing to defend his position on this Treaty, he would welcome an opportunity for a head to head debate with the opposing side.”

- Additional reporting by Michael Freeman

Read: Adams ‘ready and willing’ to debate Enda Kenny over referendum

Read next:

Comments (231 Comments)

• Bring in Matt cooper. What will kennys excuse be then

• Is this the lad who around 14 months ago was going on about making government more accountable and telling the people of Ireland the truth?

• How can Enda say this referendum is “more important than a general election” then refuse to a televised debate? For a general election, we could expect at least one TV debate with party leaders.

• Nice one Vincent so you dress up in Ursula wig n clothes to lure Enda and Gerry on the show that’ll never work…no wait a minute….

• He shouldn’t rule out TV 3. That is sending a wrong message to the public. It suggests RTE is briefed to support the government but TV 3 isn’t. He should include all viewers in his communications.

• I think it’d be a huge mistake for Kenny to refrain from partaking in the debate now!! He has said all along that the obstacle was Vincent Browne as moderator, now that that obstacle is removed he should partake. We need to see our leaders are strong and capable, now more than ever.

• The only reason why he won’t go on Vinny B’s program is because he knows Browne won’t allow him to waffle his usual shitehawkery without pressing him on it. Enda likes a nice comfortable environment.

• bren 10/05/12 #

In fairness, VB once said something about Enda needing to be sent into a room with a bottle of whiskey and a gun. I don’t know whether he ever apologised for it, but I wouldn’t blame Enda for not entertaining him as a moderator – for one thing, he clearly wouldn’t be completely impartial (although it could be that he just hates both sides).

I agree with earlier commenter – ask Matt Cooper to do it.

• Even if he never made that statement, Enda still wouldn’t engage in a debate on his program. He is afraid of him and you know it.

• In fairness tho Vincent Brown has apologised several times for what was obviously a joke. Enda, on the other hand was happy to make Michael Noonan Minister for Finance, a man who while Minister for Health was willing to drag Bridget McCole through the Supreme courts while she was dying from his department’s ineptitude.

Enda is spineless. We all know that he would never have been able for a debate with Gerry Adams, even though we all know Adams would not have got a fair hearing from Vincent Browne, at least he was willing to go.

Pity we can’t send someone with the negotiation skills of Adams over to EU to get a fair deal for Ireland. #NotOurDebt

• Different story when you don’t have your class full of children and a Ceann Comhairle at your back I suppose. Hopefully an alternative moderator can be put in place because for one thing I don’t think I could stomach another state of the Nation address by our glorious leader.

• wow enda some coward go on rte and debate it then problem solved. if he won’t fight for it I’m not voting for it. fine gael and labour some joke.

• And there was I thinking it was a quite news day and suddenely the perfect story to get everyone out…………..

• Pathetic on the part of Enda, we all get it, Vincent insulted him personally, an incident Vincent already apologised for as far as I am aware. Enda, you are the leader of a nation before a treaty vote which will drastically change our sovereign status, please stop acting like a petulant child and at least act with a shred of professionalism. More Irish gombeen politics at play here.

• I guess Enda has been watching the performance (or lack of) of some of his government minnions on #vinb:
    Lucinda,
    English,
    Coveney,
    Hayes
    &LOTS more! :-)

Honestly though, I hope he will seek better “debate” than the mudslinging he is referring to, that occurs in the Dail during leader’s Questions on Tuesdays and Wednesdays! This is a VERY important issue, and requires all the FACTS being laid out!

• David, I’m definitely NOT a Lucinda Creighton fan but I thought she handled herself fairly well on the VB show last night. She can take the verbal trashing that VB deals out I think because, just like Beverley “Class act” Flynn, she has a neck like a jockey’s proverbials.

• I cannot stand the woman, she is so irritating, she was speaking over others. So annoying and i didn’t agree with anything she said. She is a puppet for the government.

• Anyone want to feel sorry for me today – Calamity Creighton is my TD and I cringe everytime she opens her mouth. She sputters and splutters and is very good at making stupid faces. She is not paid to do well on the VB show (your opinion not mine) and isnt it a pity she doesnt do well representing the people she is supposed to.

• She does pull some mad faces, she is like a Bull dog with a wasp in its mouth.

• Good man Enda whats the excuse if a different moderator chairs the debate?Although hard to debate if you have no script,handlers or belief in your position.

• Bock Bock Bock Bock.

So neither the taoiseach nor the tanaiste, the leaders of the ‘yes’ campaign, have the grapes to face the real questions. Nothing could illustrate better the fact that there just isn’t a valid argument that they can make for voting ‘yes’, except maybe the blackmail clause that fine gael allowed to be held over our heads to coerce the result they want.

So far the ‘yes’ campaign has revolved around the consequences (that they helped manufacture for their own ends) of voting no, not the advantages of voting ‘yes’ because the dogs in the street know there are none. And that just not a good enough reason to write austerity and suffering into our constitution. it is blackmail plain and simple.

Democracy fine gael style. Some bloody leadership, eh?

Back under your rock till June 1st inda, one of your juniors will face the tough questions for you…..

• Nice to see the leader of the country isn’t willing to let the remark slide given that whatever the result of the referendum is will have big consequences for Ireland one way or another. That certainly instills something in me but it’s not confidence.

All this signals to me is that he’s willing to put himself and his own personal feelings before the future of the country. If he truly believed in his campaign he’d be pulling out all the stops, not hiding behind technicalities and this facade of “he hurt my feelings so I won’t talk to him ever again”.

• Sorry but as someone who has watched the Vincent Browne show it’s flupping painful. Personally I have no desire to see him on the show.

• Gary Clowry et al FG supporters
      Haha ! Seriously Enda Kenny is the biggest joke this country has ever seen . He is weak , heis disloyal and now finally we see his ultimate shame COWARDICE.

• Susie believe whatever shíte you want but I personally find the VB show painful to watch most of the time. I think there should be a debate, just not on VB show and with whomever the government and opposition agree on.

• Tut tut Gary
      Vincent Brown is (only) a TV presenter but Enda Kenny is our An Taoiseach… No comparison except Enda has proved himself to be a COWARD. He has bottled it and run away . I am ashamed (yet again) of him. There is no excuse .

• Gary I agree that were Enda to be on the proper Vincent Browne show it wouldn’t be worthwhile in terms of this campaign as it would (as has happened before) be like leading a lamb to slaughter. However, given that this would be a debate between the Taoiseach and a strong opposition leader which would merely be moderated by Browne I think it is a missed opportunity.

I thought Browne did well at the last debate, and while he asked a few questions the panel did over 95% of the talking. Enda may not be the leader of the Yes campaign but I think he does have some responsibility to take the reins given what’s at stake. I can see you’re a strong Yes advocate, but you can’t deny that his defense in this regard is a little weak! As others have suggested perhaps he would agree to debate Adams with a different moderator?

• Browne isn’t an impartial moderator as anybody who saw him on the Presidential debate would attest. Once he has an agenda he make it clear to the detriment of his guests. And given that he has clearly shown an agenda on this debate he isn’t the right person for it.

The only issue would be whether he could forget his distaste of Adams for long enough to agree with him.

• Niall there should be debates, no doubt about that. But we should be looking for the best people to appear in them. We should be looking for the facts. Christ there is some outrageous nonsense being said about this treaty on a daily basis.

• Gary
      So now you are saying that kenny is not the best ….I agree wholeheartedly . He is utterly useless !

• Deservedly so!

• No Enda is afraid of Gerry !!

• It’s interesting to see Martin endeavour to keep Fianna Fail relevant in the debate

• What no David highins today to go into bat for Fr Enda ?
    If he thinks SF economics are banana economics let him debate it in public not have his 100 plus Val Falvey types waving their order papers in the Dail
    SPINELESS

• B7584 10/05/12 #

Enda you complete chicken.

• I can only imagine how much of a Coward Enda is when meeting other European leaders if he Can’t even be bothered to take part in a Debate on TV3.

• Coward…. Doesn’t want to be seen for the fool he is!

• It’s too late Robert! Everyone has him well figured out at this stage! The mans a complete fool! He’s also a barefaced liar! What happened to that famous five point plan? What happened to the hundred thousand jobs? What happened to not paying bond holders? The man should be in prison for treason! In most other countries he would have been removed from office and hauled off to jail a long time ago!

• To be fair to Kenny. How can he defend the indefensible?

• Would you want to stand in the same room with someone who suggested you should go into a dark room with a gun and a bottle of whiskey ?

• If he was using it as a metaphor, which he clearly was, then yes. Just like if he advised me to ‘fall on my sword’, ‘take one for the team’, ‘walk the plank’ etc. then I don’t see any reason to not take the remark at face value.

Then again I’m not enough of a lowlife to twist the remark and hide behind the spectre of suicide rather than answer some tough questions.

• Ireland needs a leader with a bit more about him if he/she is going to drag Ireland through this crisis.
      Patently, Kenny does not have the mettle to fight Irelands corner if he’s still crying in his milk over Browne’s insensitive remark.

• Sean De Burca

Yes I would just to piss them off.

• Great, VB stepping aside, can’t wait to hear Enda’s answer now!

• Every day that passes, it appears Enda is afraid to face Vincent Brown of TV3 Ireland. Yet again he has refused to appear and be questioned.

Looks like Enda will only face the RTE government lapdogs called RTE. He only appears there when he’s possibly relaxed enough that they won’t be hard in him or bring him to task over a lot of matters including many, many u-turns.

Cowardice in the highest office in government!

• Aw, is poor Enda afraid of Vincent.

• I have a theory.

Is Enda actually alive?

Could it be that he was umm, knocked off years ago and this is a muppet, sorry I meant to write Puppet… that is brought out when necessary? I dont wish to get personal but I have noticed that when he speaks, his mouth doesnt move too much, he has a look of ..best described as ‘nothingness’ and is always surrounded by a little crowd of string fellows, followers, pullers..#Can you imagine the mayhem if there was no one to pull the strings? Hmm…

• Kenny knows he would be slaughtered on he show. Its going to be a NO vote for sure. People have had enough and can take no more. The budget this year is going to be a killer and the 2013 budget even worse.

• Whatever you think about Browne ( and I admit sometimes he can be a bit rude )..he sure as hell doesn’t let anyone off the hook ( unlike the crowd in RTE )… and dont you agree its kinda funny that the big guns in the FG/Lab crowd were more than willing to be on his prog when they were in opposition…but we hardly see them at all now that they’ve turned into yellow , lilly livered pieces of Euro trash eh?

• If I were Vincent Brown I would offer to stand aside for the debate and have someone else moderate and see what excuse The Coward Kenny comes up with then?

• Come on, Enda. Get your ass in there.

• I don’t do austerity…..

• This is why they want to bring in an independent regulator to muzzle RTE even more.

Can you imagine how they’d handle an interview with Jeremy Paxman?

Hmmmm, maybe Paxman would be considered independent enough….

• Kevin 10/05/12 #

What a coward. Clearly he’s afraid of losing.

• Kevin 10/05/12 #

Sorry just after reading the rest of the article, maybe not!

• So Sinn Fein can do buisness with Ian Paisley and Peter Robinson, but Edna doesnt have it in his heart to forgive VB for a remark he made over a year ago!! Not to mention that Edna lied to 4 million people to get his hands on a big fat pay cheque and yet another pension to add to his list, and thats supposed to be alright with us. He can take a principled stance over this but cant do it for the people whose blood sweat and tears pay his his wages – lol the man is not only a fool but an unforgiving coward. If there was anyone in the Dail this week that felt aroused about anything its Edna remembering he has a card up his sleeve when it comes to VB to get him out of this debate with Gerry Adams.

How easy it is to stand and debate in the Dail when you have your party sitting around you to heckle your opponent. Me thinks that it is Edna who does not believe in his own campaign and knows he’s fighting a losing battle with the voting public.

• Enda doesn’t even believe in his own campaign. Especially when the rest of Europe are calling for growth instead of austerity. The tough love of austerity is a failed policy.

• You know this nonsense is starting to get to me. We are having austerity because we spend way more money than we take in. Growth would be great but how do you pay for this growth when you spend way more money than you take in already.

• Fagan's 10/05/12 #

The Germans are postponing the vote in their parliament as they cannot get enough votes to back it. The Italian (unelected) PM was told by his main backers that they are against it.. The French and the Dutch are against it. Apart from Sarkozy and Merkel, who actually thinks that this treaty is a good idea.

• Fagan’s, whether what you say if true or not it is mostly irrelevant. The targets set out in the Fiscal Compact already exist in other EU treaties, of course the enforcement is being changed so countries will actually stick to them. We are already spending far more than we take in now. So our overall position doesn’t change whether the treaty is scrapped or not. What will change is countries will be forced to be more financially prudent. Fiscal prudence, imagine… how could anyone want that.

• Gary
      We know all about austerity , it is inevitable,..until 2015.We know this.The thing is article 3 and not having it enshrined into our constitution forever and a day,if you vote yes. Vote NO Gary it is the only way out of this incredibly difficult mess ,Be BRAVE !

• Fagan's 10/05/12 #

The treaty is unclear about how structural deficits are defined. Hard to take it seriously. No one is against fiscal discipline, but no one believes that this treaty will lead to that either. It needs to be scrapped and a coherent and well defined agreement put in place. It is also just a way for the EU to avoid the mess that is now the Eurozone. Even if this treaty is implemented, even if it is successful, it will be a decade before the results come to fruition.

I can’t see this treaty being implemented, whether it is voted for or against.

• Fagan’s why do I suspect that if there was another treaty you’d campaign for a no vote to that too.

• Gary, why do i suspect that if Enda told you Black was white, you would believe it?

• Fagan's 10/05/12 #

I’m guessing it is because you are the type of person that draws faces on their knee.

• Cal. Can you guys ever stick to the point without going after the person? I say (yet) again.. I am not, nor have I ever been, a member or long-term supporter of any political party or organisation.

Fagan’s. I’m the type of person who draws faces on someone else’s knee.

• @ Fagan

Well to answer that question – Gary, Declan Cotter, David Higgins, Nucky and Paul Carr.

• Susie. maybe you should explain to us about this article 3 and how it gets “enshrined into our constitution forever”?

• Gary
      The purpose of a referendum is to make legal changes to our constitution. There fore it follows any changes made to our constitution will be enshrined …. Simple really ! So I suggest that you read Article 3/1/e….AND Article 3/2 where the words ”binding force and permanent character ”…….. Have a read Gary !

• What exactly is added to the constitution? And why can’t we just take it out again if we don’t like it?

• Gazza,
      you obviously werent watchin lucinda cretin the other nite.
      her contention was that decisions once made are irreversible…
      It is actually the best argument for not voting Yes

• Joseph here’s what is inserted into the constitution…
      “Article 29.4:
      10° The State may ratify the Treaty on Stability, Coordination and Governance in the Economic and Monetary Union done at Brussels on the 2nd day of March 2012. No provision of this Constitution invalidates laws enacted, acts done or measures adopted by the State that are necessitated by the obligations of the State under that Treaty or prevents laws enacted, acts done or measures adopted by bodies competent under that Treaty from having the force of law in the State. ”

Not very exciting at all. Now back to you scaremongering.

• Brilliant, Gary, I don’t speak ‘Political Bullshit’ very well, so can you explain it in English for us not so educated people… Because what i understood was that whether or not we vote Yes or No, we still control our own budgets, which is a total lie, because Lucinda Creighton said the other night that we would be fined for not complying to the treaty requirements.

• this government and the last are just all members of a big boys club that are incapable of fair independent thought everything that comes out of their mouths is well practiced lies, live debate involves intelligence integrity and honesty never going to happen.

• Enda and Cardinal Brady have both got a major item missing , where humility and honesty is concerned – Nil aon liathroidi acu !

Enda – Afraid to debate in front of Vincent and Gerry – but where is Enda’s little puppy Gilmore ? Is he still on his holiday’s in Frankfurt .

Only three weeks to go to “NO” Day!

• Its no wonder he didnt ask for a reduction in the bankers debt, he is afraid that angela would give out to him.

A spineless muinteoir who is qualified to teach primary school children.

Men have no problem debating and arguing their beliefs with anyone. But our poor taoiseach is afraid to debate with gerry adams and uses VB as an excuse.

This place is SICK.

• @James… Critical is a bad thing now!? No wonder this country is in the state it is in. He also gave his opinion on SF plans so overall I say he is as neutral as you get

• Did Vincent take your lollipop puddin pie?

There there, put your head on that pillow there, it will be alright. You don’t have to talk with the bad man if you don’t want to sweetie. Just keep you’re little thoughts to yourself my angel and keep your fingers crossed.

• cowardly, convenient,clever, Hmmmm ran out of C words? but predictable of our teflon taoiseach. pity though, I could have done with a good laugh watching vinny rip him to shreds.

• Ursula Halligan has already nailed herself to the ‘yes’ mast. How about somebody who can be viewed as impartial?

• kenny shud bring the rest of his cabinet into that dark room wit a bottle of whiskey and a stick of semtex and fuck the loss

• Just remind me he is the leader of a First World Country isn’t he? it must be our Third World Debt that is making him into a Wimp

• Ursula Halligan steps in, totally meek, won’t ask hard questions, openly admitted she’ll vote yes. Sham.

• Quite worrying that the Taoiseach, & both Fine Gael & Labour, are sorta sitting the FCT campaign out.
    They’re not doing any of the heavy-lifting whatsoever to get a YES vote

• Enda Kenny and the rest of Government need to get out of the way. They are hampering businesses in Ireland and not helping them.

• @Philip , Vincent browne was a member of the blue shirts ,early in his metamorphosis, luckily he seen the light, i have great respect for him

• Enda, you don’t like mad bad Vincent B, will ye go on Podge & Rodge?

• Sly how Adams picked the battleground….. Was there not some nasty bang out of order comment from VB a few years back?…….. Then again get over it you ginger or do buy that bottle….

• Ha ha , Ann .
    It’s not just Gary , it’s O’Reilly too . I can not reply to his / her comments , but I can others . Like yours ….

Ann did you see that some rotten scoundrel has high jacked my name via twitter and note the photo attached !!! I feel I need a shower every time i look at it . Thing is I have reported it to the journal several times I even e mailed a complaint . Oh and it is not just on this thread …….
    Come on Journal ….. Block the scoundrel . It is unfair and very confusing for Gary and O ‘Reilly, Nucky, Declan Cotter . They will think I have become a turn coat and traitor to my beliefs and the truth…. Who will they pick on now ?

• Coward

• In politics, it is generally considered good practice not to debate your opponent if you are leading in the polls–the logic being, I suppose, that you can do more harm than good in such a situation. I don’t think this serves the public, but it has, historically, been helpful to the winning side.

• I don;t think this will help Enda this time :D The Irish people wanted this debate, to help the undecideds… They are the key to either side winning… But i am hearing a few people at work saying that they are not going to vote Yes, if their Taoiseach wont even fight the yes corner… Its definitely going to backfire, a little like Noonans threats last week… It backfired too. Irish people dont like to be threatened and they dont like cowards. We have the whole shibang with this Government.

• Cal’s world………everything FG does is bad, boo boo boo……… Everything Sinn Fein does is good, yea yea yea…….. the simplicity of it :)

• I think it’s reasonable to characterise the leader of the ‘yes’ campaign and the country refusing to debate his position on television and radio as ‘bad’. Do you not? Think it’s convincing people to vote yes?

• All we need to do is make him ‘leader of the yes campaign’ even if he isn’t.

• Who then, Gary, is the leader of the ‘yes’ campaign if its not Enda??

• I didn’t realise there was a ‘leader’ of either campaign or was one required.

• LOL! Cheers for that gary. so inda, the head of the country, will have his photo taken surrounded by ‘yes’ posters, stand up in the dail most weekdays advocating the ‘yes’ vote, and accuse gerry adams of not being sincere in his campaigning. But is not the head of the ‘yes’ campaign.

no wonder he lets people rub him on the head in public. you probably cheerlead him letting that happen as well….

• When is Adams going one to one with Micheál Martin?

• This is not my comment or picture . It is not funny and is grossly offensive . I have reported it

• Vincent is on the record (last week on newstalk) of saying what he thought of Sinn Fein alternative policies…….. nonsense

• I’ve been having the same issue all day Susie – Journal please fix. We have extremely important things to say to Gary if we want to get him to vote NO – lol

• Journal @
    Why is it I can not reply to certain comments ? Are they ”protected ”from the truth ?

• Not at all MJ Fox….
    My comment really does not make any sense out of context there…
    Some sly fox ( no pun intended:) )was playing games with me, with vulgar comments and using my good name in a false twitter account. But its sorted now Thanks to the journal.
    I do not suffer paranoia, nor am I ”jumpy” :) I will be voting NO and I will be encouraging all to do the same :)
    M J Fox you go now and have a nice day and do not concern yourself about me

• Eh get a different moderator?! How about am oh eeh ah…sounds like one of those gas element things…am oh…nitrogen…eh oh yes halligan!!

• Halligan would be as neutral as Ian Paisley chairing a debate on a United Ireland. She has already made clear she is voting YES to the Austerity treaty. Matt Cooper could easily and professionally do it.

• Notice that Adams “happy to debate” when he knows there’s no chance of him, you know, actually having to debate!
    He certainly wasn’t too keen when Micheal Martin challenged him last week…

• Fagan's 10/05/12 #

Enda is the Taoiseach and the leader of the Yes camapign. Adams is the leader of the largest No party. Micheal Martin is the leader of the 3rd party in the Yes Camp, he is not in Govt. What has Micheal Martin got to do with any of this. He is just not relevant to this campaign.

Besides. I can’t see Simon Coveney agreeing to let him have much more of a say. He’ll be asked and reminded at every turn about o’Cuiv not being on board, and this will drive a lot of FF core voters in to the No camp.

He’ll continue to keep Micheal Martin off air and working in the back ground.

• Journal@
    What is the story here ? This is NOT my comment nor do I use twitter with Susie Chester to comment on the journal. Please block or remove this fraud above via twitter and prevent them for using my Face book name . Thank you .

• @declan noonan, what you propose is the way ff ran the country disregard the public and pick and choose who you leak stories too , kenny can’t handle Vincent b and Adams is not much better , browne is the best interviewer on the telly and he’s also a closet blue shirt

• I just watched 3 clips of vincent brown on YouTube. Not impressed with him. He is relentless in “haranguing” but is still a lousy interviewer/ moderator or whatever he is supposed to be.

• Gerry Adams is a hairy honking eejit with a voice I can’t abide. I’d rather stick my head into a fog horn at full blast than listen to him.

There now….. A little personalised insulting in the opposite direction. Woohoo.

• I’m no Kenny fan but I don’t blame him. When Browne suggested he should go into a dark room with a bottle of whiskey and a loaded gun he crossed a line. Nobody should ever say those words, not least with the suicide rate we have in this country. Browne is a sick smug individual.

• Lee, the ‘whiskey and revolver’ metaphor is a famous one used many times by commentators. The fact kenny spun this into something it was not and hid behind a subject as serious as suicide rather than face Browne was the lowest of the low.

Don’t be taken in by kennys cute hoorism. If browne had commented ‘is it not time for Enda to fall on his sword’ we would have had to listen to kenny bullcrap on about standing in the homes of stab victims instead of victims of suicide.

Anyways, Browne apologised on national television. Is our taoiseach really not magnanamous enough to accept it and move on, or is he just hiding behind an issue as devastating as suicide rather than have his arse handed to him? Think about it. Regular as clockwork we see Vincent Browne embarras and expose the governemtn by comprehensively taking one government TD apart after another. Why is inda REALLY not appearing?

• I agree with you….. However Kenny suggested Adams was giving Ireland the lethal injection…..
      VB did apologise.. So get over it… Or take the advice given

• Eh? Enda Kenny is directly reponsible for suicides? What a thing to say about anyone. I would flip my lid if anyone accused me of that.

Surely that is pure slander?

Do you even know the meaning of the word “Directly”?

• The “dark room” comment is being taken out of context to suit Dame Enda. It was said in the middle of the leadership battle for FG and of course was not to be taken literally….
      Enda had no problem forgiving those within FG who stuck the knife in his back at that time….yet, he can’t forgive Vinny, even after Vinny publicly apologised for those comments
      Enda is a bottler, be it in TV3 studios or Europe….

• Let’s read the full quote Ed, personally I agree with him.

“Politics is about people and their lives and their careers and their opportunities and that’s what I deal in.

“I have no intention of delivering a lethal injection to the Irish economy by trying to bridge that extent of the deficit in one year,” the Taoiseach said yesterday.

• Incorrect Lee, the “go into a dark room with a bottle of whiskey and a loaded gun” phrase is a well-known political metaphor for resignation which dates from the aftermath of the American Civil War. Enda Kenny is lying through his teeth when he claims that Vincent Browne was somehow mocking the victims of suicide.

• Lee

NO EXCUSE!!!! He is supposed to be the leader of OUR country. By doing this he has made it very clear that he does not have the balls to stand up to Merkel or Dhragi who stated last week that WE MUST

….”“accept the delegation of fiscal sovereignty to a central authority”.

VB made a public apology for his remarks. Big yourself up Edna and grow a pair.

• Ann I’m amused that you seem to think that leaders don’t delegate in all sorts of situations. It’s very odd for leaders not to delegate, in government, in business or wherever.

• Eh Gary. “Kenny is the one going around saying this referendum is more important then a general election. Given he attaches that much importance you would think he would attend a leaders debate on the referendum? As he is refusing to attend I can only conclude his advisers think he is not capable of debating the fiscal treaty’s merits. Given that I would urge anyone who has any doubts about this treaty to vote no as how could you trust Kenny’s judgement if he cannot debate the treaty live?

• So you think that we must “….”“accept the delegation of fiscal sovereignty to a central authority” and do what super Mario tells us. You may choose the word delegate and not see this as handing over our sovereignty, but most of us see this for what it is. Enda doing as he is told.

Once again I will ask you do you think it is right that we give total control of our economy over to people and an instituion that are above and beyond the law? And please Gary unless you can provide me with a link to any article that backs up your theory that those who work in the UN and other institutions that are completey immune from the law dont tell me that this is situtation is immoral and unethical.

• that sould read “isn’t immoral and unethical”

• Oh let’s not get all uppity. We have all used a bit of dark humour once in a while. He apologised and that should be the end of it. Kenny’s duty is to the nation and he should lick his wounds and get over it. If there was any insult it was to families that have been victims of suicide, it certainly wasn’t Kenny.
      He won’t do the program because he won’t come out of it well.

• Okay lads let have some honesty here, many of you are clamouring for Kenny to appear *because* you think he’ll do badly and/or Vincent Browne will have a go at him. Not because he’s taoiseach or leader of Fine Gael or ‘leader of the yes campaign’.
      All I personally would like is the person who is representing the treaty to actually know what they are talking about. Same way I’d like the person proposing a No vote to know what they are talking about. This is what we should what. Facts.

Oh and Ann on …”Once again I will ask you do you think it is right that we give total control of our economy”. This is utter utter rubbish. I wouldn’t agree to this, then again that’s not what’s happening so I can ignore it. Christ the scaremongering is getting worse.

• It is truly hilarious that the YES side is constantly accused of scaremongering when its blindingly obvious that the vast majority of the scaremongering and insults come from the NO side. “Lifetimes of Austerity, blah, blah, blah. Loss of sovereignty, blah, blah, blah. Nasty Germans, blah, blah, blah” Its endless. Not one positive argument or a plan as to how we can survive and cope if we reject the treaty and ESM. As Mr Gooding Jnr said in Jerry Maguire, “Show me the money!”.

By the way who elected TV3 as the arbiters of what debates can take place on television? They have every right to issue invitations and those people have every right to refuse those invitations. If TV3 were serious about a debate they would have discussed this in private with the leaders and come to an agreement as eventually happened in the General Election. Instead they issue a declaration and demand attendance. Well you know TV3 don’t have that right and about time somebody pointed that out to them.

• Gary

as Jack Nicholson once said – “You cant handle the truth”. What I am saying is FACT, I dont deal in fiction. I can only conclude that you have no argument to put forward when I ask you this. So once again I will post the FACTS about the ESM treaty.

ARTICLE 35
      Immunities of persons

1. In the interest of the ESM, the Chairperson of the Board of Governors, Governors, alternate Governors, Directors, alternate Directors, as well as the Managing Director and other staff members shall be immune from legal proceedings with respect to acts performed by them in their official capacity and shall enjoy inviolability in respect of their official papers and documents.

Now please send me a link to an article which verifies that this is the norm in any other international institution. Can you provide me with one? No you cant.

• @Ann

Thanks for the truthful post. Anyone in their right mind would vote no on these issues. And it seems like Edna who won’t answer to VB, Gary too can’t answer your question directly, without a side step. I’v seen you ask him for an answer multiple times but none surfaces! GL with that my pixilated friend!

• The light has dawned. It’s actually the No side which is scaremongering.

Enda “Lethal Injection” Kenny is totally innocent of any scaremongering tactics and has proven that he can be trusted to represent us, the Irish people.

Look Gary and James, you can’t win a debate by hijacking the issues and pretending the opposite of the truth. That’s a shabby tactic.

• Ann you posted Article 35 which doesn’t show anything about ”Once again I will ask you do you think it is right that we give total control of our economy”. There’s absolutely nothing in this treaty that does that.

• Gary have you read the articles on the ESM you know which follows on from this referendum?

• @too trueleft : can u give me examples of public speakers using that exact terminology ? whiskey and weapons

• You guys really need to ignore Gary lol

• Fair play to him VB is a rodent.

• It’s more likely Vincent was pushed aside. TV3 aren’t going to miss an opportunity like this for the sake of his ego. Kind of makes him redundant as a commentator…

• angie 10/05/12 #

While the Taoiseach should debate these issues he’s dead right to refuse to deal with Browne. This semi-articulate tosser has long ago lost any nuisance value he once had. This clown can’t even construct a single sensible sentence and his show is nothing more than a refuge for dinosaurs like Joe “the ordinary working man” Higgins and Gurdiev with his mad doom and gloom economic predictions to spout their jaded cliched crap night after night.

Let’s hope Browne does step aside and we can have a proper moderator and a proper debate which will hopefully show Grizzly’s appalling grasp of basic economics. And lets also hope that Enda shows some balls and turns up to put forward his position so that people can make some sort of informed decisions.

• Kenny is totally right,
    Browne said that Enda should go into a dark room with a gun and a bottle of whiskey.
    Apologies aside it was a disgusting thing to say and merits a total boycott from Kenny of everything VB.

• Browne used a well known metaphor for the situation Enda was in at the time. He apologised on national tv for the remark. Kenny is a coward.

• A politician should be leading by example and setting example to boot.
      Forgive and forget, move on for the good and sake of the country
      (You know, like the once paramilitaries up North!).

…But then we have Enda (and Gilmore) so that idea is now mute!

• Whatever about the context VB used that phrase in, he has apologised, and Kenny’s indignation is wearing a bit thin to say the least. I’m sure Kenny has had debates and conversations with far more odious people than VB as have most politicians. He’s behaving like a child on this and the more he does the more people are being convinced that the emperor has no clothes.

• Enda accepted Miceal Martins apology pretty quickly… we see FFg/FF standing shoulder to shoulder all the time… but then again, FF only screwed this country over so badly, 70,000 people per year are being forced to leave it (life-style choices according to FFg).

• No need for a rant on Enda – nuff said

• No issue at all with this. kenny is 100% correct to blank Vincent Browne…The comments were unacceptable and no ‘smirked’ apology will undo them…
    As for all the rubbish on here about Adams destroying Kenny in a debate….please give me a break…Adams makes a fool of himself every day he speaks in the dail… A complete joke….
    One more thing…. Paddy Power has a comfortable win for the ‘Yes’ side , so comment on here all you like but their is a definate swing even more to the yes in the last week or so…. The irish times articate yesterday laid it all out in an unbiased fashion and anyone who read it will be in no doubt on what way to vote…

• Declan, can you post a link to the ‘smirked’ apology please. The only one I remember was the one Vincent Browne did on national television and I don’t remember him smirking.

Was there a second, less sincere, apology as well?

• Yes, I don’t think you need to be a Sinn Fein hater to see that Adams has no head for detail. Remember 2007 when Micheál McDowell repeatedly humiliated him? I’d say the only reason he agreed to this was the expectation of an easy ride from Vincent B.

• Scary that people are willing to vote for something that is not going to pass in France and then will be amended…. They might add on ‘prima nocta’ for our superior leaders in Brussels or is it Straßbourg….. Not a bad idea since the irish lack the balls to say no…..

• Fagan's 10/05/12 #

Adams was unprepared that day and he did poorly. He performed well in the last debate’s though that he has been in, last years elections.

Strangely enough, given that he lost the debate, it turned out that McDowell was spinning the economic lunatic approach, and the economy dead on the floor is his legacy, that and Bertie Ahern in power for years.

Kenny doesn’t come across well in debates, he gets flustered, self conscious. He knows if Vinny B is being his usual bull dog, that he’ll fall off the cart.

I can understand why he would avoid that.

• Redbird got it right, the Irish don’t have the balls to say no.

• Alan

Come June 1st the Irish people will have stood up to be counted and we will be sending a resounding NO to Edna and his European puppet masters.

• Brilliant, Gary, I don’t speak ‘Political Bullshit’ very well, so can you explain it in English for us not so educated people… Because what i understood was that whether or not we vote Yes or No, we still control our own budgets, which is a total lie, because Lucinda Creighton said the other night that we would be fined for not complying to the treaty requirements.

• He is the Taoiseach. He doesn’t have to do this with brown and Adams. It can be debated in the Dail.
    Like it or not he is the leader and he can call the shots.
    Oh and a journalist/interviewer/debater should be neutral!

• Actually declan, he is also the leader of the ‘yes’ campaign, and despite constantly telling us we should vote ‘yes’, he is purposely avoiding every opportunity to debate why.

Says it all.

• He’s leader of the country, where does it say he’s leader of the Yes campaign?

• His party is supporting the yes vote and he is the leader of his party, therefore he is the leader of the yes side. Simple logic.

• Em no that isn’t logic, with that logic he must be directly responsible for every last thing that happens in government. He’s Taoiseach so like any leader of anything he can and will delegate to the person best suited to the situation. All this ranting about it is total nonsense.

• Dont throw too much truth at Gary, he can’t handle the truth… And Enda can’t handle himself in public. What a sleazy, self-serving manipulative piece of garbage Enda has shown himself to be. When the No’s are counted and the final tally is done, Enda Kenny must resign as Taoiseach immediately. No Taoiseach should carry on in his role, if he was offered a chance to push the undecideds in the country, but instead sends out a clear message that the vote is not so important as to warrant the Toiseach of the country to face off against the leader of the No side.

• Gary
      He is Leader of the yes Campaign..
      I will vote NO <NO < NO

• Lads it’s pointless talking to you. You’ve just elected Kenny as leader of the Yes campaign and are then insisting he debates it, and on a specific show as well. We should want the best person so we find out the most factual information. Of course that wouldn’t suit many of you with your exaggeration and scaremongering.

• kinda funny hearing ya gary defending the glorious leader,
      whilst at the same time talking outta the other side of ur mouth
      with “Im not a member of a political party……really”

the lady doth protest wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy too much :-)

• I’m defending against hyperbole and exaggeration which just happens to have Enda Kenny in the middle of it. It’s absolutely unbelievable to get thumbed down for suggesting the *best* people debate so we get the *best* information. Ignorance is indeed bliss.

• * :-) *

• Seriously do not like this palsy walsy picture of enda with jerry back in 2009. Last time i saw this type of thing was lenihan with joan burton. I’m starting to wonder about sinn féin in a while now, Ó Snodaigh’s ink cartridge expenses scandal has made me wonder.

• English grammar fail

Add New Comment