TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Poll: Should hare coursing be banned?

Anti-hunting activists have hit out at the Government for exempting hare coursing from animal cruelty laws. So what do you think?

Hare coursing at Clonmel Racecourse last month
Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire/Press Association Images

THE GOVERNMENT’S DRAFT Animal Welfare Bill will make hare coursing exempt from new laws forbidding cruelty to animals.

The Campaign for the Abolition of Cruel Sports (CACS) has called on ministers to amend the legislation, saying it would permit “appalling cruelty” to be inflicted on the hares used in the sport.

However, the Government has said that there is no evidence that coursing, which is banned in the UK, “has a significant effect on hare populations”.

Hare coursing is a sport in which a hare is released in an enclosure and chased down by greyhounds, before being let go into the wild. The dogs are muzzled, but CACS say they can still hit and injure the “terrified” hare.

So what do you think? Should hare coursing be banned?

Poll Results:

More: Opposition TDs propose laws to ban hare coursing>

Read next:

Comments (268 Comments)

• Who in their right mind finds a “sport” that involves scaring the crap out of small animals entertaining?

• As bad as bull fighting. It should be banned,what fun is there seeing an animal being terrifed and being chased by 2 dogs 10 times its size. Fun are you for real?

• Of course. We shoukd have moved on from that a long time ago. Animals have feelings and emotions too.

• I think there is probably something mentally wrong with people who enjoy watching animals being frightened, oh yes, and theyre called ‘psychopaths.’

• in the interests of fairness, the first question that will be asked by the press council shall be why was the ICC not contacted by the author in regards to this article? Why was it only a statement from cacs? John you are upset because your free reign of saying what you like in the media has been dealt a huge blow due to greyhound nuts. The coursing world is far from reeling!! The only time the coursing world was reeling was when anti campaigners deliberately strangled a hare whilst filming it! we were reeling in disgust at what so called animal rights campaigners are willing to do.

• Correction: Two Swedish students filmed a hare that coursing fans had used to blood greyhounds…

• if that was the case –
      a) why didnt the students alert the gardai?
      b) why didnt they film this happening?
      c) how did the hare get back into the enclosure?
      d) bernie wright has said this hare hit a post in the escape, why do both of you have different stories as to what happened this hare?

• @robertkelly Are u for real? Did it ever occur to you why some of us are so concerned for animal rights? It’s because people like you and the government don’t care. Animals don’t get a vote. Hunting is not a sport, in a sport both sides should know they are in the game. Your comment about animals being our property is sadistic. Animals were never our property just like black people were not made for white people, or women were not made for men!

• Sorry, animals don’t get a vote comical

• Fiona, if what you say is true, then we should ban the bible, Islam and all other religions that allow the treatment of women as property. I like where we’re going with this :) Animals don’t have a vote because they can’t read or use a pencil. Maybe they should and then human Hunting might be allowed, gives a whole new meaning to “tourist season”.

• Yes absolutely!!
    Cruelty in any form is still “cruelty”!

• Reminds me of Cromwell, he dident have much time for our native language. What’s the difference between a Rabbit and a Hare, a Turkey or a Fish..

• “The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated.”

• A nation should be judged on how it treats it’s people, not it’s animals, that is a ridiculous quote. Ireland treats it’s people like second class citizens compared to it’s animals. Horse racing ireland gets more funding than most suicide prevention charities.

• @Diarmuid O’Connor
      That “ridiculous quote” is from Mahatma Gandhi whose wisdom is admired by most rational people. He was also a great liberator in case you didn’t know. Your supposition that humans are of more consequence than animals is feeble, particularly since humans are animals!

• Michael Burke, Ghandi came from a country that treats it’s citizens like dirt, and some of it’s animals like Deitys, so I don’t think we should use his quotes as moral compasses.

• Soooo, Diarmud. Did Ghandi advocate those things himself, or is it possible that the reason we are even aware of his existence is because he was challenging the status quo? Moral compass, eh?

• @ Michael Cuthbert, apparently Ghandi, did not advocate everything bad about the great nation of india, and it’s unethical treatment of people based on which caste they were born into, but he did believe in and advocate the caste system. You will find that most of his beliefs and struggles were based on achieving independance, and were about politics, and not equality within his own nation.

• p.s. Ghandi the “great Politician” is believed to support the Caste system and it’s religious abuse of entire sections of the population because he was afraid to lose the “huge Hindu vote” I think more charlie Haughey than Mother Theresa.

• John they did not hand over the footage to the gardai as they are being sought by the gardai for breaking and entering!

your points B C and D are ridiculous and read like a chapter in a conspiracy theory novel, how can so many coincidences occur at the same time as this film was taken, people can see through this mesh of lies john.

finally for point E the irish coursing club are still offering €25k for information leading to the arrest of the perpatrator of the hare strangling, the reason they have offered this is because they know it was due to a break in and was staged by the anti campaign with their vicious web of lies to protect their charity cash cows!

p.s john, elvis is dead

• John,
    Can you explain why the hare population in the UK decreased by 50% when hare coursing was banned?

This fact alone blows a massive hole in any argument you put forward, it is a fact that Coursing is of great benefit to the hare population, they are very well adapted as a prey animal and if you attended a coursing meeting you could marvel at their speed and agilty while they make foolos of the dogs, thats a big IF obviously as you seem intent to describe Hare Coursing in a manner that is alien to those who go to coursing meetings.

The name of this years Derby Winner was Go Home Hare, it is a phrase you will hear time and time again at any coursing meeting you could possibly attend, if you attend i am sure any man, woman or child you speak to will tell you what the phrase means.

• It is not just the coursing there is also the blooding of the dogs to take into account. Coursing clubs will pay over one hundred euro to a poacher for a live hare to blood their dogs with. This is barbaric and illegal as Hares are a protected species. Should coursing be banned ….. absolutely but maybe the authorities should be checking these poachers out too!

• John 15/03/12 #

Do you want to back up your claim and name the clubs there Brian? You should contact the authorities if you’re aware of such practices as the practice is illegal.

• It’s a no brainer….barbaric

• Some facts for those interested;

Coursing operates under license (22 conditions) from the Minister for Arts, Heritage & Gaeltacht; it is supervised by the Wildlife Department and monitored by the Department of Agriculture, Food & Marine. Surely it is better to regulate an activity, set standards and procedures, rather than implement a ban and suffer the consequences of a significant layer of protection and resources currently provided by coursing clubs being removed.

The evidence of what happens when coursing is banned is freely available throughout the UK Department of Agriculture (DEFRA). They state that since coursing was banned, the most prolific wildlife crime in the UK is hare poaching (36%), conducted by non-coursing people and they report a significant decline in the hare population. That is because coursing clubs prevent and report illegal hunting on a twelve month basis, they work with local farmers in managing the habitat of the hare and assist wildlife rangers when required.

Individual coursing clubs contribute significantly to hare conservation and this is reported by Queens University following independent research whereby they found that where coursing clubs exist, there is 18 times greater hare density than in the wider countryside. The last hare population survey was in 2007 and hare numbers in southern Ireland were 565,000. Coursing clubs play an active role in the conservation of all hares.
    The illegal, prolonged and relentless hunting down of hares in the wild by unmuzzled dogs should be of greater interest to him than government-regulated pairs of muzzled greyhounds chasing a carefully selected hare for 20 seconds.

The hares are returned to their habitats under Wildlife Department supervision, and while they are being held in hare parks, they are examined and treated for a range of diseases to which they are exposed in the wild. They are in fact returned to the wild in better condition than when they were captured, Coursing clubs return an overwhelming percentage of hare to the wild (98.90%)

• When presented with the evidence of deliberate, organised cruelty to animals that hare coursing entails, every other parliament acted in defence of the hare and banned this cowardly and perverted so-called sport. No matter how long it takes, The Irish Republic will also some day outlaw hare coursing.

All the pathetic excuses and ludicrous claims made by the coursing clubs (such as “we love the hares” etc) are blown away by the evidence, as in this film:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D58qbzC-GI4&feature=player_embedded

• @ john fitzgerald. So you cant argue with the facts.

And, on the suject of facts, lets stick to them.

The youtube you posted, contains footage of a dead hare, killed by members of an ‘animal rights’ group to be used a hoax video. That was the day your campaign died.

In fact the Irish Coursing club offered a €20,000 reward for information leading to the arrest and conviction of the person(s) responsible for the injury and suffering of the hare released on video by Association of Hunt Saboteurs, alleging to be at Powerstown Park, Clonmel, Co. Tipperary on February 2010. (Garda investigation ongoing).

First and foremost for all members of coursing clubs is conservation. Same cannot be said for the ‘animal activists’ who have strewn broken glass on coursing fields, with no regard for animal welfare. Or what about the 1000s of mink they released destroying natural eco-systems.

• I agree that we shouldn’t humanise animals but to have a respect for wild creatures is important. The argument that hares are born to be preyed upon and hounds born to hunt, does not add up in the context of coursing for a number of reasons, the first and foremost being that the whole thing is rigged by man as a ‘sport’. Very few hares get chased by dogs in the wild under natural circumstances without the dogs being unleashed by man.

In terms of farmers and their land etc., as much damage and gates left open are caused by coursing clubs collecting hares as anything else. Farmers I know have banned clubs from their lands because they are straying onto neighbouring lands where they don’t have permission to be.

• Of course hares are chased in the wild, what do you think foxes hunt??

And as regards farmers land, coursing clubs ask for permission before catching hares on any land.

• Farmers are responsible for the deaths of more Hares and Foxes than all the hunts and coursing in this country.

• Stephen, I was referring to hares being chased by dogs in reply to an earlier comment. If you think about it though when a Fox chases a hare or when a falcon catches a bird etc, this all takes place in the wild. It is not the same when man becomes involved. Yes, hares get chased but it is not natural for a wild animal to be captured, bagged and then released in front of hounds, regardless of them being killed, released afterwards or otherwise.

If you re read my comment, you’ll see I said that some clubs stray onto lands where they don’t have permission to go. I know that clubs seek permission first but in some cases (not all), they do trespass. Again this was in reply to an earlier comment regarding opening the countryside to all.

• Diarmuid, I’m neither pro nor anti farmers but thats an awfully big claim to make regarding them being responsible for more deaths of hares and foxes etc. I think many would disagree with you. I’m not jumping on any bandwagon, I’m an informed individual expressing an opinion just like you, that’s what debate is about.

• I was once on business at a venue that hosts hare coursing. One of the guys in the know was telling me that the hares are fed on an American corn, receive the best of veterinary care, rarely get caught by the hound and are released into the wild after a number of events. He couldn’t understand what the fuss was about and it was all good country fun.

I was left wondering how a hare raised in captivity, fed top notch food and has the animal equivalent of a free medical care could survive in the wild afterwards!

• John 15/03/12 #

They are not raised in captivity, they are given this care from the time they are caught (under license) and right up to when they are released back to the areas in which they were caught. But the rest of what you’ve said is correct (except maybe the American corn bit, the food varies from club to club and the number of events is 1 i.e. not plural).

• Well if England has banned it, what does THAT tell you?? Of course it should be banned. I was a member of The Irish Council Against Blood Sports over thirty years ago. I was out of Ireland for 20 years so am a bit out of the loop. How can this “Sport” still be tolerated?

• The hare is a prey animal and is well adapted for the chase, it would want to be as it happens every day in the wild with foxes being a constant threat and a far tougher adversary than a couple of muzzled dogs, there is no escape for the hare to run to from the the fox.
    You know the hare population decreased by 50% when coursing was banned in the UK, it is not the hare you worry about, or the horse, or any animal for that matter, it is a sickness that you need to get on top of and I wish you well in that task.

• John

The more we dig, the more we expose your campaign for what it is, a propoganda spin to generate funds for your questionable ‘charities’.

You seem to have gone off debating the facts, prefering to latch onto the this perception that some field sports supporters have copped onto your own tactic of voting and manipulating these trumped up polls. Putin would have nothing on you, but your techniques are old hat at this stage.

As for our image, well if any one is interested, come to the next coursing meeting and see for yourself, the most decent, law biding, hard working and generous people you will ever have the pleasure of meeting. That will be the true image, and not the one that you care to paint through your campaign of villification.

But as I said, its a war with you, and ‘Truth is the first casualty’, particularly when your donations are at risk. I see you took the opportunity to again market your diatribe book earlier in the thread, never miss a chance do you.
    Well I shall leave you to earn a crust. Little is the time I have for voting on these polls or warbling over the keyboard with you, I have to dig my way out of a recession.
    HiHo, HiHo, its of to work we go!!!!!!

• We tell the TRUTH about hare coursing, and we don’t rig polls. Describing this horrific “sport” for what its cannot be dismissed as villification. We present the FACTS, and have film footage, backed by the reports of NPWS rangers, to support our case. We point to the results of INDEPENDENT polls that show a majority favouring a ban. Re attending a coursing meeting…I have attended many. My objection is not to the people involved, but to hare coursing itself. Take the innocent hare out of it, replace the animal with a mechanical one, and you’ll hear no further objections from me. Until that happens, I and other campaigners will continue to press for the protection of the hare from organised cruelty.

• John
    Nobody is reeling here but you.’hoist by your own petard’ as the old bard once recounted. The remarks relating to the ICC member who has had a crisis of conscience is laughable, true comedy you must admit when the dust settles following this debate. Not one of your finer moments in your quest, but its excusable when your back is to the wall, I suppose.

The simple fact remains is that anybody can attend a coursing meeting when the season opens again next Autumn and see first hand the sport, that most likely was enjoyed by their forefathers. You will see there is no cruelty involved, and the more they learn about animals and nature, the less concerned they will be as to the welfare of the animals, instead they may in fact come to realise the important role field sports organisations play in sustaining biodiversity in Ireland and the void that will result if less informed and misguided people influence our statute makers, (who lets face it have shown that they certainly have no monopoly on wisdom, and tend to follow rather than lead, when votes are at stake).

My message to the true independent on here, is to get informed. Don’t listen to either side, but go and see for yourself. You will be pleasantly surprised I suspect.

• It was great to hear a radio stating announce today the results of the poll stating that the majority of people were in favor of coursing, the presenter went on to state that the hare population in the UK decreased by 50% after the ban came in over there and that the Conservative Party were in the process of reviewing the ban.
    He gave a detailed account of all the good work the coursing clubs do around the Country with regards hare conservation.

• @ Robert Kelly …. Animals are not “Property”, they are our “Responsibility”! Our Family! You may not abuse your pets, but your attitude towards ‘allowing’ (by not interfearing) (hyperthetically) your neighbor to abuse his pet/dog/cat/horse/rabbit is absolutely rediculous! It IS your MORAL RESPONSIBILTY to REPORT ANY animal cruelty you see or hear to the RSPCA or similar animal anti-cruelty facility! I hope to god that your neighbors are responsible animal owners/lovers because there are way too many a/holes in this world who get away with way too much already!!

• Put the proponents of hare coursing in a field and have them chased down by some muzzled ferocious wild animal that’s ten times their size and see how they like it! This is the told blue-shirt horse and hound faction having their way.

• John 15/03/12 #

As a human I equally would not like to be put outside at night time, live in a kennel and have to eat dog food. People nowadays cannot separate human’s from animals.
      Animals are raised en mass in battery farms and then brought to the slaughter for human consumption. In human terms this would be unthinkable.
      Animals are animals, respect them, appreciate them but please don’t try to humanise them.

• In your summing-up you forgot to say “and don’t be cruel to them”.

• @ John
      Humans ARE animals!
      Just because humans have great potential does not detract from that fact that we are still animals

• John 15/03/12 #

@Michael, so when PETA took a ‘human’ rights case on behalf of captive Orca whales recently in the States, why did the judge throw the case out of court as ridiculous. Humans are animals but we are not treated in the same way either socially or legally and therefore cannot be considered in the same manner. For people to do so is disrespectful to humans imo (and show some degree of sociopathic tendencies too!).

• then again, laws are made BY humans FOR humans, so no surprise there!
      Society and laws exist FOR humans and are made BY humans!

• @ all human beings that have respect for every living thing!

I feel Robert is just trying to have a laugh. Looking at his face on his profile just looks too human to have the ideas/beliefs that he is pretending to have on this thread. I’m just trying to find the bit of good in this person, I hope he doesn’t believe in what he saying. If he feels this way about animals/pet what’s his thoughts on his girlfriend, family members, the person on the street.

To be they are very violent beliefs and they seem very unhealthy.

• mcbab 15/03/12 #

No brainier. Of course it should be banned.

• David 15/03/12 #

Most people who support coursing place emphasis on the point that the animals are rarely physically hurt. They conveniently ignore the stress, fear, and anxiety caused to the animal by the human ‘sportsmen’.

• John, it is you clutching at straws. All of your and your fellow anti’s comments are either not true, or based on your opinions (which we can see is the opinion of the minority) The coursing people have shown how they stick together, how they are willing to spend time and money in protecting the hare. They have also supplied factual evidence to 1. Back up there arguments here at home with percentages and studies etc, and 2. Shown how things are not so rosey abroad where you suggested the ban has been beneficial. In summary, hares are MORE prevelant in Ireland thanks to the coursing community and less prevelant in the uk since the ban. The antis have been on greyhound nuts for some time now trying to fish for information so no need to pretend otherwise. 
    We have been exposed as a people working very hard for the betterment of the hare. So thank you for the poll to shed light on this. 
    You are like a boy who has lost his pacifier, you failed with your poll so you now run to the journal to pull the poll. 

• How “coursing people stick together”…yes indeed, by working flat out to falsify and rig an opinion poll to give the impression they have more support than they actually have. The true level of support for coursing has been revealed in a succession of properly conducted PROFESSIONAL opinion polls which showed that a clear and overwhelming majority of the Irish people want this excuse for a “sport” banned.

“Backing up the case for coursing with percentages and studies”…the numbers game again. The impact of hare coursing on the overall hare population is not the man issue here, any more than the percentages of the dog or badger populations used in dog fighting and badger baiting respectively have anything to do with objections to those fieldsports. Again, it is the extreme and horrific cruelty to hares in coursing that condemns it in the eyes of all fair minded people, and that has been the reason for its abolition in so many countries. The case for coursing was put forward in those other jurisdictions too, and rejected for the sham it has always been.

Failed in the poll? Hardly…given that coursing fans have been caught in the act of rigging the poll…big time. The comments on that site are in a sense hilarious. You couldn’t make them up, like when one of them says, as madly presses buttons on his computer to vote dozens of time,,,,”come on lads help me ou here”. Comedy gold! And we didn’t get hold of those pages from the site by drooling over the site itself. The information has been provided by a coursing club member who says he felt bad about the vote-rigging episode.

In the polls that count, the case against hare coursing always wins, because it a humane, reasonable case which simply aims to replace the timid innocent hare that is so cruelly abused for fun in coursing with a non live lure.

And WHY do we wish to replace the beautiful Irish Hare with a mechanical one in coursing? Very simple… to save this animal the horrors of a “sport” that some misguided human beings think is acceptable in spite all the evidence to the contrary.

…To save the hares of Ireland from what you see in this film of the “Irish Cup” coursing event held on Limerick racecourse last month:

http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL741E0B6DA3CBB057

• John,
    You seem somewhat confused with your own views of the sport. You stood outside Clonmel with members of Aran who have called for a ban on Track Racing which uses a false lure as its is said that this is cruel for a greyhound to chase a lure. Then on the other hand you are calling for a BAN on live coursing in favour of useing the false lure instead. So in your view it is ok to send greyhounds after a false lure in a coursing field but not on a greyhound track. Very Strange Views !
    Do you think ARAN are undermining this alternative solution to coursing IE drag racing by calling for a ban on track racing ?

• this extract was taken from the association of hunt saboteurs in regards to the video, it proves john is lying in regards the students (probably fictional) handing it in. people must think, who would do this to a hare, a club with regulation and with wildlife officers in attendance or an association that call themselves hunt saboteurs……….
    here is the quotation……The AOHS requested a full Gardai Investigation when the video was handed in to Gardai Headquarters by us on 6thApril 2010. Preceding that date two Garda stations, Finglas and Clonmel  said that no investigation was in progress.

• You are distorting the facts and again engaging in personalised insults. The entire episode of the hare on coursing club property in a distressful condition would never have come to light without the arrival at the scene of the two Swedish students who filmed it. Coursing people lodged a complaint about th incident because they had no choice. It was a necessary PR move as they saw it. Several animal protection groups lodged complaints with the Gardai requesting an investigation into the incident. Re. who was responsible…while the individual who subjected the hare to its ordeal has not been located, the fact is that it occurred during the National Coursing Meeting in Clonmel and on the property of a coursing club. The students who filmed the hare made a very detailed statement about what they saw. They had nothing to hide. They had filmed the aftermath of an act of cruelty. Nor have the animal protection groups that commented on the film footage anything to hide. The real giveaway in the entire affair was the restraining device…this is an absolute hallmark of blooding, as you will see in an actual film of a blooding incident that occurred in another part of County Tipperary:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q33yiORJfXs

• I live in West Waterford and I have no affiliation to any coursing club, but since the club in my local area set up wild hares have thrived, mainly thanks to good predator control. It has put a stop to illegal meetings where animals were torn apart, this can only be good. It seems that many of the opinions being expressed here are put forward by people who wish to see an outright ban on any hunting, whatever the consequences to people livelyhoods. Those same so called do-gooders who think it is so cruel should stop and think about what the meat on their plate for dinner this evening went through.

• John, You strike me as a kind man that does not like the world you are living in with animals being consumed by humans.
    I saw on your facebook page that you want to save a vast array of animals ,(all animals probably :), its commendable and aispirational but at the same time very child like.
    We consume animals, we have them as pets, we have them for sport!
    For animals to remain on this earth they have to be of use to humans, you can see from the Queens University report that hares are far more prevelent in hare coursing santuaries than in the general countryside.
    You may choose to discount the findings of Queens for your own reasons but you can surely understand that animals are a resource vital to humans, a few vegans make no difference to the world in reality.
    The white lies have become tedious after a while even if it is from a well meaning child.
    The coursing you describe might be from your own experiences but I can assure the vast majority of coursing people do not recognise your ramblings as anything but the fairy stories of a child.

• Eric… Behind your calm patronising tone, I can detect a seething resentment. Coursing fans have been caught REDHANDED in an effort to bolster their bloodied reputation.

The report from Queens you refer to oncerns the conservation aspect…the objection to hare coursing, as to cock fighting, dog fighting and badger baiting, is on animal welfare grounds.

All that guff about the relationship of man with animals etc is more diversionary nonsense: Your aguments in favour of hare coursing failed to stand up when advanced in other jurisdictions.

Hare coursing is opposed by the overwhelming majority of the Irish people, north and south. Our neighbours up north have banned it, and I want to see that commendable protection of our treasured Irish Hare extended to include all the hares of this island.

You refer to “white lies”. The exposure of that poll rigging attempt is obviously getting to you. The hare coursing I describe is exactly what happens on the coursing fields, however much you and others may try to conceal or fudge that reality, or no matter how many low silly tricks are employed to give the impression that hare coursing commands more support than it has, as in this present quite breathtaking instance of poll rigging.

• Are these “animals rights campaigners” the same people that released the mink years ago and now responsible for thousands of animals being killed for no reason (a mink doesn’t just hunt for food) and now the government has to offer money as reward for every mink caught in order to prevent what they’re doing.

Are these the same “animal rights campaigners” that sedated a hare last year and strangled it to produce a video to serve their own agenda?

Coursing protects the hare – fact. The dogs are muzzled. The hare is taken in during the harsh winter months when there chances of survival are reduced, they are inoculated, and fed and housed. They come out stronger, is it any reason hares are 27 times MORE plentiful in coursing areas? Fact.

If you get rid of coursing (much like the release of mink) the hare population would drastically an dangerously fall. And illegal hunting would be rampant.

Just to comment on this “terrified” hare comment. The hare, after being coursed, eats grass and food immediately afterwards.
    One would think after being hunted and being “terrified” that you could not eat as the blood rushes away from digestive organs during flight/fright and goes to the peripheral areas to stimulate muscles an therefore leaving food the last thing on your mind. Fact. Yet, a hare eats! Because it is natural for them to be hunted. This is fact. Don’t talk in feeling, it doesn’t help your agenda. Talk in facts! Hare coursing is good for the welfare of the hare and is not a cruel sport, FACT.

• Hares being hunted by natural predators is part and parcel of life and nobody objects to it.
      Hares being chased by dogs for the enjoyment of spectators is objectionable on so many levels, not least because it de-humanises those involved.
      Should we recommence throwing people to the lions, or perhaps reintroduce slavery so that we can beat a few slaves to a pulp?
      Civilisation evolves and brings with it a new understading so that those dark activities of the past are viewed as shameful. So it is with harecoursing, fox-hunting, shooting and other blood ‘sports’. Future generations will look with shame on these barbaric activities.

• Thats 18 times more plentiful. Not 27 times – typo with phone keys. Still huge.

• Humans are animals too. So until it becomes legal to hunt humans for sport, the hunting of animals for sport should be banned. End of!

• Coursing is Conservation. Biodiversity ensured through a major , primarily voluntary organisation that covers every county in Ireland.

All the arguments against coursing are moral arguments, generally informed from misinformation and propoganda, or deliberately espoused to generate funds for very questionable ‘charities’.

Even this poll is set up to generate interest and funds for ‘Crusties’, that contribute very little to society, yet require the State and the gullible to keep them in their bohemian lifestyles.

If you go and watch coursing, and still don’t like it, or don’t recognise the overall good the befalls the hare population, through parasite control, habitat conservation, protection from vermin and poachers, including mink released by the very misguided and misinformed animal rights ‘Charities’, or don’t see the economic benefits, then fair enough, but please come up with a sustainable alternative , before you try to ram down your moral beliefs on the rest of the population, fascist style.

• Calling anyone who disapproves of animal cruelty a “crusty” is just childish and shows that the coursing side has no argument. Re “overall good” that coursing clubs do for hares…we see this “overall good” in film footage of their organised cruelty to this creature. Re habitat conservation…cock fighters always ensured they had a sufficient supply of roosters for their fieldsport. Does that entitle them to a clap on the back? There is nothing unreasonable, fascistic, or draconian about protecting animals, including the iconic hare, from cruelty. An alternative? Certainly. Drag coursing has replaced live coursing in the countries that have ended the live version. There is no need or justification for using live hares in coursing…apart from providing fans with a cheap thrill and a laugh…should any animal have to endure the horrors of a blood sport just for that?

• Its actually an established fact, based on an independent survey conducted by Queens University in Belfast that the Hare population in the wild is up to 18 times more numerous in areas where Coursing is carried out.
    This is because all the hares netted for coursing meetings are released back into the wild in the exact area they are caught in following the meeting. This is supervised by Wildlife Rangers.
    Hares are only coursed once each day of a meeting by dogs that are muzzled, this is supervised by Wildlife Rangers
    All hares must pass Veterinary Inspection before coursing, also to the satisfaction of the State appointed Wildlife ranger!
    Coursing is probably the most regulated sport in the country and I as a coursing club member have absolutely no problem with that.
    The other reason hare numbers are so numerous in areas where coursing takes place is that Coursing clubs monitor their areas and police against illegal poaching which can be widespread.
    A well run coursing meeting does not involve cruelty in any shape or form, hares are well fed and trained and dosed and inoculated against disease much of which they pick up due to proximity in the wild to farm animals.
    People should educate themselves a little about coursing before jumping on the bandwagon to preach about animal right and cruelty!

• when the meeting is over the hares a released back into the wild and while at the meeting these animals are dosed and fed daily and its around for hundreds of years so why ban it ?

• Would there be this much hassle over child abuse???

• Anybody who considers this a sport is clearly an idiot, as are the other idiots who go Beagling.

• What are you complaining about fitzy?
    Rigging polls is nothing new to the animal rights crusties, you have some great film makers in your group.

• We don’t rig polls Nathan. The polls- I mean the scientific professional ones, have always shown that a huge majority of the Irish people favour a ban on hare coursing. Calling anyone who opposes animal cruelty a “crusty” and engaging in other silly name calliing only serves to showcase the true nature of those who terrorize animals for “sport”. Re Film makers, Many videos have been posted on UTube by coursing fans showing hares beingmauled and injured…We didn’t make those films Nathan.

• Such activities are barbaric – even pretending to tear an animal apart for sport is animal cruelty. What right have we to use animals for sport or profit? If you think it’s a God-given right, then that’s a different God than I know. It is a human decision that gives us the right to terrorize and destroy other creatures, as humans we can instead be humane, fulfilling our better nature.

• It’s a known fact that areas where hare coursing is widely practiced the are greater numbers of hares than in areas that it is not done. Due to conservation and habitat protection Done by the people who love there sport and the countryside

• reply to John Fitzgerald

I agree with you on one thing and that is the hare is a great animal, a veritible force of nature. He has evolved into a magnificent animal.
    However, I will share one fascinating fact with you to consider regarding th hare. A male hare, known as a buck, will kill any leveret, ( a young suckling hare) he comes across, even his own offspring. Not very Noble or gentle. However, hares don’t share our moral positions or hang ups, and thankfully so.
    Naturalists believe this instinct has evolved to ensure a dominant hares genes are carried forward, but it has the obvious other benefit that the young leverets are well hidden by the does after birthing, assisting in avoiding predetation by other foes. She will distribute the young leverets to distinct and seperate forms to minimise the risk of detection.
    Nature is red in tooth and claw in all levels, and we are part of nature too, wether you think it or not.

• I urge all to watch Nathans video, to get a view of what these ‘activists’ are really like.

• A bit off the subject but saw a pheasant being run over this morning the driver could have avoided him but didnt even try. Totally senseless.

• My sister lives in Texas. She wrote last week that she thought she was living a life of isolation.
    “How’s that?” I asked.
    “Well this morning I found myself shooting jackrabbits with my 30/30 from the front porch dressed only in a bra and panties.”
    She doesn’t see her neighbors much.

• Are you having a bad hair day fitzy?

• John Fitzgerald haspractically dedicated his life to this cause, and thats his own perogative, but it is fair to say that he is also benefitting financially from his self initiating campaign, and when this occurs perhaps independence of his position is somewhat tarnished. When one requires the argument to sustain you it does not suit to deal in facts, or come up with workable alternatives that provide the same protection to wildlife conservation that Gun Clubs,Angling Associations and Coursing clubs etc provide. Truelly independent minded persons that are viewing this thread need to consider this before making up their mind on coursing.

Many who promote this campaign and others related depend on the controversy, and they have a policy to divide the issues to attack each one seperately, but their ultimate goal would be to give the ‘other Sentient ‘ beings parity with humans. Lets put it this way, they will never be travelling to Cheltenham, unless it was with a placard to protest.

The best thing for anyone to do before they decide to cast a vote on this topic is to inform themselves. Do this by getting to your local coursing meeting, which will not be on until the seasons opens again next autumn. In the meantime you can join the club and assist in the conservation measures while the hare stocks breed during the Spring and Summer.

• Your comments betray a nastiness that is indicative of sheer ignorance.
      My own morality is based on an age-old concept of “do no violence” – it is a concept that extends to all living things.
      I take exception to your inference that those of us striving to promote animal welfare are living off the state. How dare you?
      How apt that you should mention ‘economic benefits’, yet another charlatan “who knows the cost of everything and the value of nothing”.

• I would go so far as to suggest that ‘other sentient beings’ are superior to some humans!

• Michael E

Sorry if I touched a nerve, the truth often does.

• On the contrary, you’ve simply reinforced my opinion of your class of people.
      It’s bad enough that people tolerate coursing, but to actually delight in it as a ‘sport’ indicates something rather sinister.
      Regardless of your assertions, the vast majority of people realise how terribly wrong and base your actions, and those of your ilk, are.
      As Thomas A. Edison put it: “Non-violence leads to the highest ethics, which is the goal of all evolution. Until we stop harming all other living beings, we are still savages.”

• Thomas A Edison electrocuted elephants to demonstrate the superiority of AC current when used in the electric chair. But then, there’s a degree of hypocrisy in everyone, I suppose.

• @ Seamus
      That doesn’t detract from the sentiment. I’ll try another if it helps:
      “Animals have done us no harm and they have no power of resistance.…There is something so very dreadful…in tormenting those who have never harmed us, who cannot defend themselves, who are utterly in our power.”
      John Henry Newman

• Also, some of the comments I’m reading aren’t far removed from similar statements made when slavery was legal…

• Animals hunt animals all the time, should we ban that ? Fine a fox for killing a bird, or ban a trout from killing a fly.

• @ Diarmuid O’Connor
      Animals follow their ‘natural instincts’ because they are not capable of rational thought.
      Humans are capable of rational thought and, therefore, are capable of knowing right from wrong.
      My point is that we, as humans, are held to far higher standards because of our humanity. Animals, on the other hand, merely follow their ‘instincts’

• if you agree that animals can be bought and sold, then you implicitly agree that they are property.Property is simply defined as any entity that is owned by a person or persons and that person or persons has the right to consume, sell, rent , transfer, exchange, modify and even destroy that entity without the consent of any outside person or persons.
      if you dont agree that animals can be property, then by definition you can’t own them, you cannot make decisions on their behalf ie. put them down, get them wormed, bring them to the vet,… etc. You cannot communicate with an animal in any meaningful way, so if you say you are making a decision on behalf of an animal how can you truly say that you are doing it in the best interests of the animal?

• @ Michael Burke ,Why don’t people concentrate on looking after people, before jumping on the bandwagon of banning sports and pastimes that may harm a few animals. Even though we are capable of Rational thought, does not mean that the majority of our thoughts are rational. This argument for the banning of hare coursing is, in my opinion, the irrational ideals of a few people who have fuck all else to and should be using their time and energies doing something meaningful.

• @jollyjupe
      I’ve replied to your post above.
      @Diarmuid
      Hare coursing is barbaric. It is appeals to those who ‘lust after blood’ and derive pleasure from death.
      As regards looking after people – I try to do my bit. Suicide, as it happens, is an issue very close to heart.
      The cruely people inflict on animals doesn’t blind me to the cruelty people inflict on each other, whether physical, mental, economic or otherwise.

• We can’t want both, Diarmuid, no?

• Plain silly comparing human actions and motivations with those of animals. Question is, why do some people feel the need to mistreat animals for sport? Hunting for food, by animals or humans is a different matter. ..

• @Michael ” It is appeals to those who ‘lust after blood’ and derive pleasure from death.”

You are obviously commenting on something you know nothing about

• Sophisticated view there Diarmuid. So if a nurse objects to hunting for sport?

• Unless you know Michael, “You are obviously commenting on something you know nothing about”…

• John 15/03/12 #

@Michael E Burke ‘It is appeals to those who ‘lust after blood’ and derive pleasure from death’ – you’re clearly deluded and obviously know nothing about coursing by making a statement like that and clearly have pre-determined illusions as to what happens at coursing meetings. You are obviously believing all the propaganda that you’ve read and are now propagating yourself.
      ‘Suicide, as it happens, is an issue very close to heart.’ I hope you meant suicide prevention!

• WTF are “pre-determined illusions”?

• On suicide prevention, John. For some it’s too late. How ever exercised you feel about hunting, show a bit of sensitivity on that subject…

• John 15/03/12 #

@cuthbert I lost someone very close to me to suicide and am acutely aware of the pain and suffering of all parties and in all matters related to suicide – I was pissed off at the other michael bringing that into this debate and was simply correcting his statement. I am not and ever will be afraid to talk about the subject just because it’s ‘sensitive’ – let’s speak honestly and respectfully and help bring it out in the open.
      It seems to me that people are more emotive and caring about this topic (coursing) than other topics which are far more important imo.

By pre-determined I mean speaking on a topic on which your mind is made up by the opinions of others first rather than taking the subject at face value, looking into the facts and making up your own mind.

• @ Michael. One minor belief should not be pursued to the detriment of a more important one, so to answer your stupid point, of course a nurse can be against cruelty to animals. On the other hand why should our Elected officials and paid Civil Servants, waste time money and resources debating something so trivial as Hare coursing, when our nation is in the middle of a financial, Health and humanitarian crisis, all i’m suggesting is that we as a people need to ger our priorities in order, Forget about the fucking hares, worry more about the people.

• @ Diarmuid O’Connor
      I make no apology for my convictions. I consider animal welfare to be of equal value to the needs of humanity. The irony is that most of animals’ problems are caused by man and a considerable number of man’s own problems are made by his fellow man. By the way, I really don’t think you are in a position to denigrate Gandhi, unless, that is, you have liberated an entire people, in which case I stand humbled!
      @ Stephen Jones & John
      I stand by my original comment. Those who derive pleasure from a ‘sport’ that allows hares be chased by dogs (regardless of whether the hare is physically injured) are pandering to their primal instincts. You imply it is a harmless past-time, however civilised people see it for what it is! Regarding suicide, the fact you would perceive anything from my comment other than prevention is indicative of flawed reasoning. One either attempts to prevent suicide or promote it, so go figure!

• For people only interested in the hare, ye sure do spend a lot of time on the coursing people’s website?
    Do you get on this site using false information? A bit like the false information you post on here?
    Working on any new videos bernie?

• If hares were stored in small boxes and never let out, should that be legal?
    If instead of for sport it was for profit….
    If instead of hares it was chickens…..
    I wonder how many people could agree with the chicken farms operate, there are many types of intensive farming that far more cruel and unnatural then killing animals for sport. I’d rather be a wild animal hunted then a farmed animal that never lived.

• A Ryan 15/03/12 #

The problem with polls like this is that they are presented to an audience of people who know little or nothing about hare coursing. They are not making an informed decision.

Hares have been chased by other animals, be it foxes or dogs since time began. They are not distressed by beging chased, it’s in their nature to expect to be chased, and there heart rate returns to normal within seconds of a chase finishing.

Hares used in coursing are probably amongst the best looked after animals in the country and hare coursing clubs do more for the preservation of hare stocks in this country than other group.

• Don’t ban it.
    Replace dogs with Tigers & Wolves
    Replace hare with coursing dog owners and throw in some bankers and government officials!

• B7584 15/03/12 #

We really are getting fond of just banning everything, arent we?

• Check Roberts fridge I fear he is the next jeffery damher !

• I’m against the proposal to ban coarsing…… it’s a part of nature for some animals to be predators and some are prey. Why do people have such issue with hunting and coursing, but no problem with other sports such as fishing? Fishing is completely acceptable to society, nobody ever seems to complain about that, however I can’t see how fishing is any less “cruel” than hunting/coarsing etc. I think most of the people commenting here about how cruel coarsing/hunting are should go and witness them first, instead of forming opinions based on media propaganda!

• Looking at the amount of No votes is depressing. No wonder our society is in such a mess.

• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rF3L7BplMwg&list=UUZYWK6FXIe8MIIdXbP1V2-g&index=7&feature=plcp

Did you ever get around to having the swedish film makers that made this film excluded from your animal rights organisation?
    It was appaling to see this sort of thing manufactured to further the agenda of the animal rights terrorists, were the names given to the Gardai that investigated it?
    I seem to remember that they were secreted from the Country very quickly after the STRING AROUND THE HARES NECK was found.

• Actually John, there are strong indications and support for a return in the UK. Very much so with the conservatives. Also, I think you should be an animal psychic if you can understand feelings of the hare being “terrorized” because as I said earlier, a hare can eat directly after a course or hunt which is something a human cannot so we cannot possibly claim to think they are terrorised or terrified. The physiology is completely different in that regard.
    I think the lads above are just trying to show the type of people involved in certain movements like the Cac so they can understand the type of people whose arguments they are reading.

• a hare will eat a rabbit a turkey will eat a fish….. and we’ll eat the lot of them….

• My whippet lurcher and I go on an adventurous walk daily meeting, bunnies,hares, foxes, rats and even the odd deer. We both arrive back with huge smiles on our faces having caused huge excitement with some of the latter. Very seldom do we actually kill anything but it does happen. Is this cruel? Certainly not it’s NATURE. Urban ignorant people should get a life or stay out of ours!

• @ David,

Never assume or presume anything. I am from a farming family. I was and still am against coursing. It is not a sport. Whether people in this discussion are urbanites or from the country they are still entitled to give their opinion. What makes you think that your opinion is only warranted and we should all agree with you. Obviously, some here are coursing followers and fox hunting horsey people. I don’t see the harm in ‘rag hunting’ but fox hunting is also discusting, also not a sport! My opinion.

• Robert, do yourself a favor and educate yourself and come back when you have an even close to an idea about what you are spewing, your intelligence is underwhelming :-(

• Big development: Advice has appeared on the Irish “Greyhound Nuts” pro-coursing website advising coursing fans to vote more than once in the opinion poll and HOW TO CHEAT Have a read: (you need to scroll down a bit, there’s a lot of this….) Following is directly from the pro-hare coursing Greyhound Nuts site:

Re: Should Coursing be Banned Poll

« Reply #20 on: March 16, 2012, 00:03:43 AM »

——————————————————————————–

Lads,
    If you go to your start menu and hit control panel, then hit internet options and hit delete cookies, You will then be able to vote again.

Kindly posted by Gill on Track Section.

Report to moderator Logged

Unbelieveable that the UK’s top dog trainers are such an honourable group, far more honourable than the Queens horse trainers………….

GUIDING HAND (Paddy Donnelly) Mayo.

Global Moderator
    Exceptional Nutter

The Head of A Snake, The Neck Of A Drake,

« Reply #21 on: March 16, 2012, 07:46:52 AM »

Quote from: Tom Brett on March 16, 2012, 00:03:43 AM

Lads,
    If you go to your start menu and hit control panel, then hit internet options and hit delete cookies, You will then be able to vote again.

Also if you using Google Chrome, just go to the top of the page (Right hand side), you will see a spanner, click on it, click Tools, and click on clear Browsing History.

The Feet of a Cat, The Tail of a Rat.

Global Moderator
    Exceptional Nutter

« Reply #22 on: March 16, 2012, 08:33:29 AM »

1407 to 1146

Global Moderator
    Exceptional Nutter

« Reply #23 on: March 16, 2012, 08:35:37 AM »

Quote from: GUIDING HAND (Paddy Donnelly) Mayo. on March 16, 2012, 08:33:29 AM

1407 to 1146

1408 to 1148

Global Moderator
    Exceptional Nutter

« Reply #24 on: March 16, 2012, 08:40:05 AM »

Quote from: GUIDING HAND (Paddy Donnelly) Mayo. on March 16, 2012, 08:35:37 AM

1407 to 1146

1408 to 1148

1409 to 1153

Global Moderator
    Exceptional Nutter

« Reply #25 on: March 16, 2012, 08:52:37 AM »

Quote from: GUIDING HAND (Paddy Donnelly) Mayo. on March 16, 2012, 08:40:05 AM

1407 to 1146

1408 to 1148

1409 to 1153

1417 to 1162 come on give me a hand.

TomK

Anti Hit Squad
    Exceptional Nutter

« Reply #26 on: March 16, 2012, 09:18:37 AM »

done on as many pc’s as I can lay my hands on

TomK

Anti Hit Squad
    Exceptional Nutter

« Reply #27 on: March 16, 2012, 09:20:35 AM »

No: 1173. Yes: 1424

bear

bear
    Total Nutter

« Reply #28 on: March 16, 2012, 11:54:20 AM »

NO: 1240 YES: 1462 voted about 10 times by deleting the cookies oly took about 5 mins

bear

bear
    Total Nutter

• reply to Michael E.

John Henry Newman was correct. We have to respect animals. He was also a great hunter all his life. Hunting and Animal welfare go hand in hand, they are not as you think mutually exclusive. Animal Rights however and any Hunting, Farming, Working or Testing with animals is mutually exclusive.

This is about animal rights and the generation of publicity and donations for animal rights.

• It goes against reason and logic to say hunting and animal welfare go hand in hand.
      Your whole reasoning is flawed because you base it solely on human suppositions. Just because we, as humans, can do something does NOT MAKE IT MORALLY RIGHT to do it. Morals and ethics are the foundations of societal norms, however they are constantly evolving and in some of us, they have evolved to the stage where we consider the use of animals for the purposes of hunting, ‘sport’, and vivisection or, for that matter, food to be immoral.
      Oh and just because I hold those views does not give you the right to imply I’m a crusty, bohemian or scrounger, especially since I pay my taxes the same as the next man! Nor for that matter am I part of any animal charity soliciting donations or publicity.

• and throw in Róisín Flannery and see how she feels after

• It would be interesting if people could say whether or not they have attended a coursing meeting and they if actually understand the goal. Most of the information people see is released by the anti-brigade and their “information” is made up or outdated. There is an animal welfare officer and vet at all meetings. Reports have shown that there is no effect on hare population. Watch The Last Waterloo Cup Documentary, and see what happened when hare coursing was banned in the UK.

• Hare coursing a “sport”? Have a look a this footage of the “Irish Cup” hare coursing event, held at Limerick racecourse in late February…http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL741E0B6DA3CBB057

• I think that events like Dressage, dog shows like crufts etc. are more cruel to animals than coursing or hunting. If they ban coursing, what next ? fishing, all hunting, feeding live crickets etc. to pets. We need to get a grip, focus on the real issues and leave the minority to their enjoyment.

• there is double the amount of hares in ireland now than there was 50 years ago and that is down to coursing as all the hares are fed exceptional and looked after well which includes them gettin vacinated, so to be fair, coursing is the reason more hares excist nowadays so whoever is wasting their time voting yes, why dont ye go off and complain about something else in yer miserable lives!!

• Is it “miserable” to oppose a despicable and perverted blood sport such as hare coursing…? Surely it’s the gangs that capture the hares and the “sportsmen” who then use them as live bait who lead miserable and pathetic lives. The claim that coursing clubs boost the hare population is utter nonsense. They round up hares or capture them, not to “conserve” them, but to feed the sadistic habit of coursing fans who need to see these timid harmless creatures terrororized and injured. They don’t course for the good of the hare. They do it for gambling and a laugh, and because, frankly, they get their jollies from causing suffering to animals…If it was only about seeing the greyhounds compete, they could switch to drag coursing tomorrow. A hare that gets mauled or tossed into the air by the dogs isn’t going to benefit from “vaccination” or the alleged ” lovely carrots” that their captors give them prior to the baiting event.

• @ John, What are you talking about man, “timid harmless creatures” you obviously have not seen monty pythons quest for the holy Grail. If you havn’t you can see it on youtube

• Ah all the city slickers on here. ROFL.
    Rural Ireland Says Enough. Now feck off to your semi skimmed latte’s produced by some poor kid in Africa and your iPods produced by exploited Chinese.
    And don’t forget your love of Pennys either gotta keep those little children knitting two euro garments.

• Our Country is on its knees – unemployment, emigration – it is quite scary what has happened to this country. I am in total dismay that 2 elected TD’s from inner Dublin have nothing better to do but to be puting their energies into banning a sport that they have in no doubth not attended – I have been attending coursing meetings all my life, it is an integral part of rural Ireland. It is a researched fact through a university study that the hare population is in fact greater in areas that hold coursing meetings – It is a healthy and cultural day out for any family and I can guarantee you that every coursing enthusiast has the Hare’s well being as priority.

• The recession or emigration doesn’t make cruelty to animals any less vile or disgusting Alan. I too have attended hare coursing meetings and can attest that this so-called “sport” is indeed the sickeningly cruel perversion that all the parliaments of the countries that have already banned it proclaimed it to be…Or were they all out of step except Ireland’s coursing clubs? Again this nonsense about coursing folk “loving the hare”. There’s a word for that kind of perverted “love”. LIve hare coursing belongs to the era of industrial schools and concentration camps for unmarried women, “traditions” once also deemed an integral part of our lovely culture.

• John 15/03/12 #

No way! It’s a great day out for the family. It’s part of our great culture, with its roots going back centuries.

• It is not part of the collective Irish culture it’s a minority “sport” and just because people have been doing stupid shit for a long time doesn’t mean you have to continue doing it!

• hare coursing was brought ..introduced by the british army …certainly not part of my heritage and culture …a horrible cruel activity left here by the oppressors

• Re Film makers, Many videos have been posted on UTube by coursing fans showing hares beingmauled and injured…We didn’t make those films Nathan.

Is that an admission that your lot did make the hare strangling video?
    It looks very much linke it Mr Fitzgerald.

• The video of the hare was made by two Swedish students and this appalling evidence of coursing cruelty was handed over to Gardai. You need to face up to the truth about coursing Nathan. It was “your lot” who organised that coursing event in Clonmel at which the incident occurred.

• Hare populations actually rise as a result of hare coarsing. Hares are given medication and food by the hare catchers. I have never seen a greyhound catch a hare, they are fast feckers. City people telling the country people what to do once again !!

• This country versus city people thing is ridiculous, it comes down to people who care about animals and people who don’t – I am a “country” person and believe coursing is cruel, barbaric and belongs in the dark ages, Ban it now and any other sport that involves the abuse and exploitation of animals.

• The most natural function of a greyhound is for him to hunt .He is a predator . It seems to me that the best “sporting ” function is for him to hunt for his food/prey in open countryside .Like most predators his killing is not a cruel exhibition — but a quick ,clean immediate result .That is how the planet works at a natural level .We may not like it but it entails far less cruelty than keeping a predator in captivity and feeding him canned food that is also animal sourced — often with barbaric cruelty for the animals being processed into the cans .It seems that coursing is the result of trying to make a spectacle out of the greyhound’s natural behaviour — whilst “sparing “the prey . It does not work for either the predator or the prey . It only provides a dubious exhibition of one aspect of a greyhound’s skill . It seems to be a convenient “arrangement ” that benefits showground organisers . To my mind ban coursing exhibitions and open up private countryside for working people to hunt for food !!

• God bless Ireland and pass me the ammunition! Perhaps we could solve the unemployment problem by opening up private countryside for working people to hunt the so-called dole ‘scroungers’? A ready-made home grown industry which works on two levels…..entertainment and a population cull!

• @Rene opening up private countryside is of no benefit to those who own it, farmers can not afford to have strangers on their land, bear in mind that a farmer is liable if someone hurts themselves on their land.

• A greyhound is a human creation, not a natural one.

• Go moan about the dog and cats that are abandonned every day because nobody wants them. Coursing is a sport practiced and watched almost exclusivly by animal lovers where no harm comes to any animal.

• In reply to Brian Kennedy…The Utube video does not contain any reference to or evidence of any hare killed or injured or otherwise ill treated by non hare coursing personnel. There was, however, an incident in which a hare was filmed by Swedish students who visited a coursing event in 2010. The hare, on coursing club property, appeared to be in a state of distress or possibly dying when filmed and seemingly had a wire attached to it around its neck. The coursing clubs denied all knowledge of this and the ICC (Irish Coursing Club) offered a 20,000 euro reward for information leading to the conviction of those responsible for this act of cruelty. However the reward was offered only AFTER the brief film of the hare’s plight was posted on UTube by the people who had exposed it. Nobody has been charged with the offence. Meanwhile, many more hares have been ill treated, mauled, pinned down, and subjected to horrific injuries at coursing events. Because nobody has been formally identified as the culprit in the “dying hare” incident, the coursing clubs have been desperately trying to imply that non-coursing people were involved. In fact, there was nothing unique about the incident. The use of wire restraints is common in a practice called “blooding” wherein a trainer teases a greyhound with a live hare or rabbit to improve the dog’s running performance. That is the most likely explanation for what had happened to the hare in that incident referred to. “Blooding” is quite common in coursing and even greyhound racing. Ace journalist Donal McIntyre caught some prominent greyhound industry bigwigs red-handed doing it a few years ago on a track in County Tipperary. Here is an excerpt from his acclaimed film expose: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q33yiORJfXs

• “No proof that hare coursing has a significant effect on hare population”! What a stupid and ignorant thing to say. It’s cruel, it’s very wrong. If there is a problem with the population of an animal, hares, badgers, pigeons, rats, magpies etc. they should be culled properly and let it be as painless as possible. But to call this a sport, is discusting.

This is going to sound like I’m picking on the catholic church, but I actually know a priest that goes to hare coursing. Personally speaking, I think that’s very wrong.

• Confused, wondering why I have 8 ‘thumbs down’? Was it my opinion on culling or the priest?

• @ John,

The first sentence is a quote from someone that’s involved in coursing in UK. No matter how much you feel that it’s ok to watch dogs pull a hare apart in two, I have seen it, it’s still wrong. Discusting and should be banned! My opinion and I’m entitled to it.

• John 15/03/12 #

@sheila Entitled to your opinion and I respect that. Would love to know what coursing meeting you went to where you saw a dog pull a hare apart in two – those dogs must have had opposable thumbs or something because coursing dogs must wear muzzles. Btw. ‘disgusting’ is spelled with a g not a c (twice – I could ignore it first time).

• @ John,

I am very proud of my English, speaking it and writing it. I am well educated and I don’t need you to tell me I have spelled a word wrong.

I have struggled all my life with dyslexia. I am running my own business and doing well with it. This will be my last comment to you, as I try my best to keep negativity and negative people like you well away from me.

What’s it like to be perfect John? NOT!

• Since the ban on coursing in the UK , hare poaching has become the number one rural crime. There is no ‘hue and cry’ about this from any of the animal rights organisations. Simply , there is no money to be derived from this. A study br Queens University Belfast – no , not the Irish Coursing Club , found that hares are 18% more plentiful in areas where coursing clubs exist . The answer is simple – there is no poaching , farming is done in tandem with the coursing clubs . I have a list of vehicles I watch out for in my area – I have disturbed poachers – reporting late on a Saturday night with the gardaí are pre-occupied with night club revellers is the usual . I’ve never seen any ‘do-gooders’ out to help. The list of registerations is with the local garda station. I’d love to see John Fitzgerald or Mr Burke take on a van load of poachers in a dark valley on a windy night ! Now that would be a scene from Deliverence!!

• I love animals, but at the same time I feel nature has designed the hare to be chased! And man has designed the grey hound to chase, so I don’t think it should be banned!

• I’m sorry but were you not happy when you previously did this vote and it came out as more in favour to ban coursing? are you going to keep asking until you get your desired answer?

• The JOURNAL ‘S Michael has been informed that GREYHOUND NUTS MEMBERS HAVE BEEN INFORMED HOW TO CAST MULTIPLE VOTES AND WIN THIS POLL>
    WE HAVE FORWARDED HIM THE PROOF OF THIS AND ARE ASKING HIM TO DECLARE THIS POLL ‘TAMPERED’ BY PRO COURSING SUPPORTERS AND THEREFORE NOT ACCURATE OR RELIABLE>
    B WRIGHT.
    GREYHOUND ACTION IRELAND.

• Sure it’s only what happens in the wild when a fox chases them. Least this way no one gets hurt :-)

Rabbit stew anyone??

• Yes Nature can be cruel but we don’t have to be..It says a lot about us as humans that we still think it is fun to create fearful situations for other creatures and indeed that we consider other species property to do with as we will…Time for us to grow up me thinks…what suited our necessities centuries ago does not have to follow us today.

• never been coursing then…

• “Do gooders” one pro-coursing guy calls us, while another tries to throws mud at individual campaigners having failed to make any logical argument as to why the bloodsport should be allowed to continue. Protection of animals from extreme and deliberate acts of cruelty is backed by a huge majority of the Irish people. That stuff about coursing clubs “caring” for hares has been trotted out for years. They were claiming at one point that hares ENJOYED being coursed and that their cries of pain were really shrieks of pleasure. I’ve heard their pathetic excuses and sham expressions of concern for the animals they abuse for their sick fun

Its amazing how some human predators claim to love, or care for for, their victims. But that isn’t caring. It’s a sick addiction to something most human beings abhor and reject.

This debate has played itself out in many lands…and hare coursing in the end always got the thumbs down. The backwoodsmen (they remind me of that film Deliverence) here in this country who cling to this sadistic practise can easily switch to drag coursing if they really just wish to see dogs compete. If they are saying that live animals MUST be terrorized to complete the “sport”…then we know exactly what that means. If they really just want to see one dog outwit another, then leave the hare out of it. Eventually hare coursing most definitely be banned in Ireland, but why not do it NOW. Why should the minority who derive pleasure from inflicting cruelty be granted another stay of execution? What sad people…who need the fear and terror of a timid creature to enjoy life.

• To Messrs. Brett and Kennedy, you are tackling the ball instead of the man as they say in hurling…throwing mud at people doesbn’t make hare coursing any less cruel…showing up some individual activists in other countries doesn’t in any way strengthen the case for terrorizing hares and using them as live bait. If we opponents of hare coursing were to adopt that tactic we would be focusing on the type of person who gets into the activity these days instead of the actual cruelty itself…and believe me many people would would be quite shocked to know…including possibly the top coursing officials…but that would be a diversion. Hare coursing should stand or fall on its own merits…We know it fell to progress and compassion in other lands. Here too, in time, it will be consigned to its rightful place in the statute books…alongside dogfighting and cockfighting. Look at the the history of hare coursing elsewhere. I don’t see any of the countries that banned it even contemplating its return.

• I think you will find that the original of the video Nathan posted, was first put on YouTube by a member of your organisation, ICABS, Bernie Wright.

In showing this, I am trying to expose the agenda you represent and the sick and cruel depts you will stoop to.

I firstly represented all of the facts of the sport of coursing in Ireland, we have nothing to hide, and are as far removed from cruelty as you could imagine.

For cruel acts see ICABS, ARAN, Hunt Sabatuers, etc.. For examples, the spreading of shards of glass on edenderry and sevenhouses coursing fields with the intent of injuring dogs. The release of thousand of mink from farms, destroying ecosytems. The murdering of a hare in Clonmel, exibit A, Nathans video.

Also, dont bother trying to say the named organisations are not connected, for years all have been soliciting donations to the same PO Box.

• reply to John Fitzgerald.

Why is Conservation and Animal Welfare seperate issues?

• Reply to Tom O’ Connor…conservation and animal welfare are seperate issues. Talk about conservation of hares or the number of hares etc has nothing to do with the cruelty factor, any more than the actual number of dogs affected by dogfighting motivats opposition to that fieldsport. Of course people should inform themselves. There are numerous videos of hare coursing events, all filmed secretly due to the “All Unauthorised Photography Strictly Prohibited warning on events cards. These videos clearly show hares being mauled, tossed into the air, or otherwise injured at these “sporting” fixtures. Remember…the debate here is nothing new: It’s all been thrashed out before in many jurisdictions, and the result has always been the same: Abolition of hare coursing. Today in Australia for example the fact that hare coursing was EVER legal there is now deemed an embarrassment to the country’s greyhound industry, and none of the drag coursing clubs that operate there are calling for the return of live hare coursing. Hare coursing has a grizzly and shameful past. It has no future. The timid beautiful creatures that those gangs of netmen and animal baiters enjoy tormenting and terrorizing will some day receive the protection they deserve under our laws. In the meantime, the coursers will be pursued and challenged, even as they act as predators on a gentle creature that has never threatened them.

• Of course this should be banned. It is barbaric and cruel to have a frightened animal chased by other animals whose desire is to rip it to pieces and all this for sick human entertainment. Animals are their own being and not ours to be owned, exploited or used for for our own ends. When did so many people lose their compassion?

• Pat Egan 19/03/12 #

Michelle, I regard myself as a very compassionate person, I work in a voluntary capacity in my local community in a variety of different ways. I believe passionately in human rights, equality and democratic principles and the idea that because I am involved in coursing means somehow I am not a compassionate person I have to say I find insulting in the extreme.
      You display a complete lack of understanding in my opinion.

There is a lot worse in the world than coursing, it is in no way barbaric and indeed the most in tune with nature and wildlife people I have ever met I have met them through my involvement with coursing.
      I would encourage you to attend a meeting and see if you can then formulate an educated opinion.

As regards alleged manipulation of the online poll Mr Fitzgerald the very nature of these things mean they can be manipulated very easily and in my opinion are far from an accurate reflection of peoples opinions on any subject.
      Perhaps a much more accurate reflection of public opinion on coursing would be the 15,000 or so that attened the National Coursing meeting final day in Powerstown Park in Clonmel paying €20 entrance fee for the privilege of so doing in comparison to the dozen who protested outside for free on the footpath!

• Correction: You are confusing different issues. The objection to abuses in greyhound racing was a seperate issue, arising from ill-treatment of the dogs thermselves, and the practise of killing or abandoning unwanted greyhounds or ones that didn’t perform well etc.. The Welfare of Greyhounds Act was a response to those concerns. The objection to hare coursing arises from the well proven cruelty to the hares. Drag coursing eliminates the suffering of the hare, but leaves intact all the action, gambling etc. You still have the test of speed and stamina of the copmpeting dogs. You can still drink in the pubs and hotels afterwards. All you are missing is the “turning of the hare”, a small sacrifice you are being asked to make to rid Ireland of an appalling blood sport.

• GREYHOUND NUTS FORUM BLOG
    Global Moderator
    Exceptional Nutter

« Reply #21 on: March 16, 2012, 07:46:52 AM » Quote

Lads,

Also if you using Google Chrome, just go to the top of the page (Right hand side), you will see a spanner, click on it, click Tools, and click on clear Browsing History.

• If view of this organised attempt at “rigging” the poll I call upon Journal.ie to declare it null and void immediately!

• The hare coursing fraternity has been comprehensively exposed. This important development will be brought to the attention of all politicians. The inane comments from the pro-blood sports side make their position even weaker. Re comment from Mr. Roberts…it was a member of the Irish Coursing Club who supplied the pages from Greyhound Nuts.

• When Irish Soccer player Ronnie O’Brien was named Time Magazine person of the millenium from their online poll did you report the Irish soccer loving public to FIFA?

When the Wolf Tones, 1972 “A Nation Once Again”, was voted the greatest song of all time on a BBC World Service poll, did you report the under hand internet polling tactics of the Irish People to the UN perhaps.

John, it is an online poll, not a referendum.

• John
      The only thing being exposed is that, funnily enough, your foes have learned well from you, and the propoganda being dished out so effectively in the past and the arranged mustering of your cohorts to support these trumped up polls can equally be fought by the provision of facts to rubbish the propoganda by a strong portion of Irish field sports supporters and their ability to demonstrate there numbers.

As to your coments that you will run to politicians with your findings. I can only advise is don’t expect the red carpet to be flung before you in the reception of Dail Eireann.
      You,and your ever disparate band of supporters will need to face the facts sooner or later, that your war on field sports will not be won with the old tactic of hell raising propoganda or through an imagined apathy or lack of organisation among field sports supporters. You will need to provide facts that field sports are unsustainable with regard to conservation, social integration, employment and the health of the nation etc, and be well able to argue these points against a well informed and intelligent people who form the backbone of Ireland.
      However, I suspect that you are more interested in the fight than the cause, as the fight gives you donations and ego, all necessary to sustain you.

• Bloodsport lovers remind me so much of those hilly-billy rednecks………….I can almost imagine them at the race-track, tongues out in the hope of tasting the blood in the air………..

• Very balanced comment, backed up with facts.

Well done.

• There are more things in heaven and earth, Brian, than can be ‘backed up with facts’!

To quote the great philosopher Plutarch:
      “The obligations of law and equity reach only to mankind; but kindness and beneficence should be extended to the creatures of every species, and these will flow from the breast of a true man, as streams that issue from the living fountain.”

Your ‘facts’ are subjective in this instance since they are based on a priori suppositions.

• Tom. when you’re in a mighty big hole, stop digging. It’s YOUR SIDE that’s been caught redhanded in an attempt to rig the outcome of the poll. Our tactic? simply to campaign for an end to the well proven cruelty of hare coursing (we have all the evidence, stacks of it)

The “backbone” of the coursing fratetnity? A handful it seems…sitting at computers madly pressing buttons and each of them voting dozens of times to falsify the result of a poll they feared would further undermine their already battered image. All has changed…this time you’ve really shown Ireland who and what you are.

• Correction: None of the groups opposed to hare coursing spread glass on coursing fields. These acts were the result of infighting between rival coursing clubs, as I make clear in my book Bad Hare Days where I address this issue in considerable detail…http://banbloodsports.files.wordpress.com/2011/11/bad-hare-days2.pdf…NO member of any animal protection group in Ireland has ever been convicted of such actions, but a member of a Co. Cork based coursing club DID plead guilty to burning haybarns taht belonged to coursing fans…this was again the result of infighting among coursing clubs. Again, I emphasise that throwing mud at anti coursing people does not make hare coursing any less cruel. It’s just silly name calling.

Re. the laughable accusation that anti coursing people “murdered a hare”…the hare in question was filmed on coursing club property and the resulting film was given by the film makers to Gardai to facilitate an investigation. This was because, while it is legal to organise cruel hare coursing in Ireland, actual blooding of dogs with live hares is illegal and the hare filmed was most likely used for that purpose. How concerned coursing folk are about that hare…the same people who have caused thousands of the same animals to be terrorized and injured for a laugh every year! Brian, when you’re in a hole, stop digging. You can switch to drag coursing and still enjoy teh chase…no need to engage in a game of chance wherein an animal is tortured. Great to see a former judge come out against hare coursing by the way.

Re Connor Flynn’s comment…There is no prospect of hare coursing comeing back in the UK. A very strong anti blood sports lobby now exists within the Tory party itself. Even those Tory MPs who wanted fox hunting back have largely disowned hare coursing and regard it as an embarrrassment. Re the hare recovering post-coursing. In fact many hares die after coursing due to Stress Myopathy and injuries sustained on the coursing field. Reports from wildlife rangers prove that muzzling has NOT eliminated cruelty from coursing. Only the removal of live hares from coursing will do that…

• Correction: I have to correct you again Tom because, quite simply, your allegation is complete and utter rubish. A film was made of a hare suffering on the grounds of a coursing club, a familiar enough sight at such a venue. The film makers are NOT the culprits, and they were not members of any group here in Ireland, but, as I have explained, two visiting Swedish students.

The person/persons who used the hare for blooding are the ones you should be directing your anger at. You are attacking the messenger, which is never fair or reasonable. Not that they(the coursing personnel responsible for ill-treating the hare) were much worse than the other coursing folk who have similarly ill-treated and tortured thousands of hares nationwide for decades.

Yes, Mr. Gormley was shocked by th eincident…but shocked at the cruelty caught on film which was clearly the work of coursing personnel. He has never criticised the two students who filmed the incident and who then, as civic minded people, made the footage available to Gardai. Their actions were all times commendable in the matter.

The manner in which the coursing clubs tried to blame others for that incident is typical of the kind of trickery they resort to in their effort to bolster their appalling image…the massive exercise in poll rigging on Journal.ie is just the most recent example of this deceitful strategy.

Sinister people? We seek merely to have the Irish Hare protected from cruelty. It is the coursing clubs that engage in the type of activity that you refer to in the case of the “strangled hare” and animal rights/welfare people who seek to prevent such cruelty. You can blow as much smoke over the horrific record of coursing clubs as you wish, but people now increasingly see through all the bogus claims and trickery that has for so long kept hare coursing alive in this country.

The exposure of the poll rigging scandal is the beginning of the end of hare coursing on this island. The times are a-changing. Thank God for that.

• In answer to your queries, Eoin:

A) The two Swedish students did hand over the footage to the Gardai to investigate the incident in which the unfortunate hare had been subjected to injury on coursing club property. They handed over ALL the footage and were absolutely upfront about what they filmed at the National Coursing event in Clonmel on the day.

B) They did not, obviously, film the actual injuring or ill-treatment of the hare that led to the animal’s distressful condition. This had occurred prior to their arrival at the “scene of the crime”.

C) The hare was obviously taken to the enclosure by the person or persons involved in using it for blooding purposes.

D) There are not two different versions. When a hare hits a post on a coursing field, or is otherwise injured, it is no longer of any use to the coursing people…except as blooding fodder. Coursing folk don’t as a rule use healthy hares for this purpose, but mainly ones deemed of no further value to them as runners.

E) The failure to locate the culprit or culprits responsible for the incident enabled certain coursing fans to allege that “the antis must have done it to make us look bad!”. This ludicrous accusation has no basis in fact and, significantly, the originators of this farcical “conspiracy theory” just happen to be…wait for it…the same personnel who sought to rig the opinion poll on Journal.ie!!! That speaks volumes for the credibility status of this “theory”…

• John

The more you try, the worse it gets.

This video of the strangled hare, which was seen by the Minister of the Environment at the time, John Gormley, who would have been the political wing of your your movement, was left speechless by the lenghts that your group went to film this. It betrayed everything you purportedly stood for, and revealed that the true purpose was propoganda, and simply to raise funds for the questionable charities that operated out of the one PO box.

Anybody who wants to know more about this should phone the gardai to get the true picture as to what happened.
      The people who carried out this gratuitious act are a menace to society yet they continue to function, never ceasing to keep the gravy train on track spouting out propoganda, the latest being your botched analysis of the crime written above. You survived for long enough by tricking the gullible, but people are smarter now and wise to such sinister groups as the animal rights activists that you lign yourself with.

Would you care to post the video again, and explain how your film crew surreptiously placed to view this occurrence so convieniently arranged to show a dying hare, drugged possibly, but most definately strangled to exhaustion by the noose wire placed around his neck, for it to be posted on Bernie Wrights webpage a few days later,a webpage with the donate button primed for action. This will be interesting if you are foolish enough to try.

By the way, your allegations that hares are used for ‘Blooding Fodder’ are casting aspertions on the national parks and wildlife officers who regulate the release and capture of the hares. Would you care to continue in this vain.

In reality, the only fodder involved was the poor hare that your cronies used to make their snuff movie. Defending them as you are doing discredits you beyond repair.

• Your highly personalised insults to me Eric serve only to diminish your own credibility. I have not subjected you to such treatment. The Swedish film makers DID make the footage available to Gardai. FACT. They had no problem doing so because they had nothing to hide, unlike the coursing fans who were behind the incident.Oh yes, the offering of a huge reward for the appprehension of those who ill-treated that particular hare was a nifty PR move by the coursing clubs. But the reward was offerred only AFTER animal protection groups highlighted the incident. I have never heard of a coursing club prior to that incident offering a reward for information on hare killers. There would a lot of rewards to be handed out if they did, and a lot of coursing fans in the dock. Incidentally, I am not not the one lying on this forum Eric, or misleading anyone, despite your childish and vindictive remarks. YOUR SIDE HAS BEEN CAUGHT ATTEMPTING TO RIG THE POLL. Accept your shame like a man. It wasn’t animal protection people who masterminded that episode. The evidence is there for all to see: Cheating on a massive scale to exaggerate the level of support in Ireland for organised animal cruelty. I suggest that you and your pals reach for a big bar of carbolic soap and wash your mouths out Eric. And I suggest you do it before the water charges come in, because I suspect you’ll be needing a lot of it!

• You are not comparing like with like and are obviously clutching at straws. The coursing world is reeling under the impact of this scandal.

This is an online poll to determine the level of support of otherwise for a ban on hare coursing.

Pro hare coursing people have been caught attempting to rig the poll by cheating. What this means is that the outcome is meaningless and has no value, unlike the result of professional opinion polls…and ALL those show that a huge majority of the Irish people favour the abolition of hare coursing in Ireland.

Further pages from “Greyhound Nuts” site have since been made available by the Irish Coursing Club member who has had a crisis of conscience. These reveal further powerful evidence of vote rigging.

The Clonmel-based ICC should now make a statement on the matter and tell us all if it condones the vote rigging scandal.

This episode reflects not just on the credibility of coursing fans or “the Greyhound Nuts” site…but on that of Journal.ie. If this matter is not resolved fairly, it will be forwarded to Press Council for consideration.

• Animals are property, people should be allowed to abuse them as they wish. I think it’s wrong to abuse animals but I also admit that I have no say over other people’s property and no authority to impose my will on them.

• So if your next door neighbour was beating his dog everyday you wouldn’t report them for animal abuse because the dog is his dog “property”. I’ve no problem with humans ‘owning’ animals or using them for work, but that does not give anyone a right to abuse them.

• @Richard
      I wouldn’t report my neighbour no. In my ideal world where its not illegal I will ask him to stop and ask the neighbours to put pressure on him to stop, but never make it illegal. I do admit there is some debate on whether animals can be owned as property, one which I think the answer is that they can. Which then follows that they can do whatever they want to their property. I don’t accept the principle of the collective having a higher say on people’s property than themselves.

• Since when are wild animals our property? I must have misunderstood that one.

• Reg 15/03/12 #

Robert, you need to have sit down and have a good think about yourself. I read an article once that many serial killers started out abusing animals.

• also hares are wild animals, they cannot be owned

• Since we could buy and sell them Chris.

• You could listen to a dog screaming in pain and fear every night and not report your neighbour???
      People do NOT have the right to abuse the animals they own ‘as they wish’. Animals in your care are awarded the 5 freedoms, which is as close as Ireland has gotten to animal rights.
      1. Freedom from Hunger and Thirst – by ready access to fresh water and a diet to maintain full health and vigour.
      2. Freedom from Discomfort – by providing an appropriate environment including shelter and a comfortable resting area.
      3. Freedom from Pain, Injury or Disease – by prevention or rapid diagnosis and treatment.
      4. Freedom to Express Normal Behaviour – by providing sufficient space, proper facilities and company of the animal’s own kind.
      5. Freedom from Fear and Distress – by ensuring conditions and treatment which avoid mental suffering.

I believe the last one is appropriate here.

• @Reg
      I don’t know what you’re trying to get at there. I think abusing animals is wrong, its just I don’t think its any of my business. I would never abuse an animal myself, but I also know telling people what to do with their property (in all cases) is none of my business as long as they hurt anyone else. There’s no need to hint at me being sick… try to keep it clean please, I’m just following my principles no matter how unpopular with the masses.

• @Louise
      Report the abuse to who? Maybe an animal centre, but I don’t think it should have any legal power. I would donate to animal shelters but again the fundamental principle here is that you or the people have a higher say over other people’s property than the owner does. Now on the subject of animal rights which you mentioned, I don’t know where they come from. I personally don’t think they have any rights. Also why is it that only animals in my care get these rights? Why don’t all animals get these rights you’ve mentioned?

• Reg 15/03/12 #

Robert let me remind you what you said – “people should be allowed to abuse them as they wish”. This is a stupid and iresponsible comment. People should not be allowed to abuse animals as they wish. With any property ownership comes responsilbility, be it animals or land. Look at the farmer in Kerry who got heavily fined for destroying a ring fort recently and there are plenty of others who have been banned from keeping animals. And rightly so.

• @Reg
      I don’t consider it stupid, I think its what happens when you follow the logical argument of property rights. There are no responsibilities for owning your land and property. As long as you only damage your land its fine, go crazy for all I care. You don’t seem to get that. Again just to clarify, I would never abuse an animal or indeed murder a human being. Harming animals is like burning your own wood or car, I think its stupid to do so but I also think its wrong to stop people. Property rights are a controversial thing, I only speak my mind.

• Reg 15/03/12 #

So to follow your argumnet, people should be allowed to do what they like with their land. Your neighbour should be allowed to build a football stadium right next door or dig a big hole and invite all your neighbours to dump all their rubbish. You would have no problem with that. As I said peviously, you need to have a good sit down with yourself.

• @Reg
      I think you need to look into what property rights actually detail. For instance you have no right to pollute your neighbours air or sound pollution either. The theory of homesteading says that whoever was there first is allowed to complain. For instance, you build a house beside a dump. You then have no right to complain about the smell, only if you were there first is he in the wrong.

• animals are sentient beings and, as such, ought have the same rights as other sentient beings, namely humans! This ridiculous notion that animals are somehow inferior is nonsense. The only thing that sets humans apart from other animals (note we still remain animals) is our ability to rationalise. From a philosophical point of view, man is a rational animal. Being rational animals does not make us superior to other animals and does not give us the right to claim ‘ownership’ of them. As a rational animal, I can see how terribly wrong it is to abuse, injure or kill any other living creature (including slaughtering them for ‘food’). Basic empathy towards living things SHOULD bring about revulsion at the notion of killing them.

Perhaps Mahatma Gandhi put it better than I ever can when he said: “To my mind the life of a lamb is no less precious than that of a human being. I should be unwilling to take the life of a lamb for the sake of the human body. I hold that, the more helpless a creature, the more entitled it is to the protection by man from the cruelty of man”

• @robert, the 5 freedoms are part of the EU animal rights policy, they are taught to all vets/nurses/inspectors etc. It’s what the ISPCA bases their inspections on, farmers have to adhere to it, as does anyone who keeps animals. It applies to all animals.
      Why shouldn’t animals have rights? Some of the cases we get in our clinic would break your heart. It makes me wonder how any human being capable of empathy could inflict such abuses on an animal.

• @ Robert I am really trying to understand where you are coming from but I am finding it extremely difficult. You said “I would never abuse an animal or indeed murder a human being. Harming animals is like burning your own wood or car, I think its stupid to do so but I also think its wrong to stop people.” If you see animals as property why would you not personally abuse an animal? If by your ideals they are just property and can be mistreated by anyone who owns them, then what exactly stops you from hurting them yourself? Also I would like to know how you think burning a piece of wood and an animal are the same. Wood cannot feel pain, does not scream, have a memory or hold any emotions. How is this comparable with an animal? That is just not logical. I would also like to know if you have any pets yourself and if you are making these statements as someone who knows a lot about animals or just someone who has a notion of what an animal might be like? You don’t sound like a person who is just looking for attention so I really want to know where you are coming from, if you have thought your comments through properly and have life experience or research to back up the ” animals are the same as wood” theory?? Please enlighten me.

• @Michael
      Calling animals sentient is really debatable and unproven. Sure they seem to be aware of pain and have some concept of loyalty among other things but I doubt they have a concept of a “self”. Really its down to you to prove they are but that’s beside the point. Anyways, to say they have rights means they can’t be kept as pets, have any worming or anything health related procedures done to them because they can’t consent. I think that animals are better off if they were property as their owners could look after them better.
      How much rights do you think animals have? Won’t enforcing the animal rights cause all the meat eating animals to die due to no fault of their own?

• @Rachel
      First off thank you for not implying that I’m a serial killer. But more to the point, yes I plead guilty to making a poor analogy with wood but plants and other animals are living things. Most people don’t think twice about eating a burger but seem to care an awful lot when it’s a pet (just pointing it out). Perhaps the killing of animals for food is a better analogy then wood. I do have a pet, a cat more specifically so I’m not just coming from theory. As for not hurting animals I own, I don’t hurt them myself because I think it’s wrong. It’s weird that you’d ask me that, for instance you have the choice to stick a knife into yourself or sell your beloved possessions but make a conscious choice not to. I would never stop you from doing those things, but I also don’t expect you to do so when given the choice. Hope I make sense. I have thought an awful lot about private property rights (as I’m a libertarian) and have strict principle I follow as a result. If you’re interested in libertarianism and it’s principles: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-4kPsaxuM5Y

• @ Robert
      To be sentient simply means that a being is capable of experiencing pleasure or feeling pain. Animals are and, as such, I need say nothing further on the matter. Consciousness (sentience) and perception are two entirely different things.

To have a pet, to me at least, implies that I care for the animal. Therefore, as with a child, I undertake to have the animal treated by vets etc so as to provide said animal with a better quality of life.

Carnivores will always continue to hunt and kill other animals for food, but that is part of the ‘natural instinct’ that animals have.
      My problem is that we, as human beings, should be held to higher standards by ourselves. We, as human beings, should refrain from the harming of other animals.

• if you agree that animals can be bought and sold, then you implicitly agree that they are property.Property is simply defined as any entity that is owned by a person or persons and that person or persons has the right to consume, sell, rent , transfer, exchange, modify and even destroy that entity without the consent of any outside person or persons.

if you dont agree that animals can be property, then by definition you can’t own them, you cannot make decisions on their behalf ie. put them down, get them wormed, bring them to the vet,… etc. You cannot communicate with an animal in any meaningful way, so if you say you are making a decision on behalf of an animal how can you truly say that you are doing it in the best interests of the animal?

• @Michael
      Hold on now. You say that humans are simply animals, then you say we should be held to higher standards. Then you say that other animals can’t be held responsible for their natural instincts. But what if it’s human’s natural instinct to own animals? Should we stop humans from simply going about their natural instinct? Plants are theorized to feel pain, should you think twice about cutting down a tree that’s fallen on someone?

You’re quite inconsistent with your comments. On the subject of keeping a pet, don’t you think that’s a bit barbaric? Maybe the dog just wants to be free?…

• @ jollyjupe
      Parents do it all the time where infants and children are concerned. The same principle applies.
      @ Robert
      We are animals, BUT we are “self aware” and that’s what makes us different from other animals. Like other animals we are sentient, but we are also aware of our own existance – something that other animals are not (as far as we know).
      The point I am making is that humankind is capable of great empathy and great cruelty.
      Empathy and cruelty, however, do not begin and end solely with humanity. As rational beings, we have a choice to steward creation or to dominate it. For most of history we have done the latter so perhaps we ought to look towards embracing the forming.

• @Emma
      Well that’s rather disturbing. I would report it if it was you, or if it was an animal (but only if there was no legal power for the animal to be taken away). You seem to be getting at that I don’t care about animals, I do. I just don’t support the principle of having a greater say over their property than them. You can’t seem to get your head around that…

• @Michael
      Yeah we are self aware. We can make these choices between cruelty and kindness. I personally have chosen kindness towards animals, but I don’t think it should be law to tell someone to not be cruel to animals. That’s the point I’m getting at. Your morality is not so far superior as to make it law.

If you want to stop cruelty then go out and make your arguments against those who commit it, but don’t try and force yourself on other people by making it law (which is enforced with a gun and violates property rights).

Besides that we’re pretty much in agreement on cruelty and our opinion on it.

• @Michael E Burke

so you are implying that animals and children are comparable in their rights. So they all have exactly the same rights. Any right the child has , the animal has as well and vice versa. so if a child has a right to education, right to shelter, right to freedom of thought, conscience and religion, right to assemble peacefully etc, then the animal must have it too. So animals have the right to education , right to shelter etc. Or are you going to say that you the human have the authority over which rights the animal can have and cannot have. So we have the best interests of the animal at heart and we are only going to put down animal if we think that they need to be put down, we never get their opinion and we are acting on their behalf. So you said the principle is the same with children, if you believe it’s ok to put down animals then implicitly you agree that its ok to put down children. thats your logic. Now remember i said IF , i have no idea if you support the putting down of animals, the principle is the same though.

• @Robert I do think about advocating animal rights & eating meat so I decided to stop; however I don’t compare abusing animals to eating meat! I’m aware you aren’t promoting the abuse of animals rather discussing property rights of individuals but animals are living, breathing things and cannot be categorized as simply “property”. That is only your opinion and I disagree with you on that one. There is a fine line between saying you want freedom of people’s rights to their “property” and turning a blind eye to cruelty. It is well known that kids who abuse animals often end up becoming violent in later life. So it is not as simple as doing what you want to what’s yours, it’s actually an indicator of a disturbed mind. You mentioned to someone to “to stop cruelty then go out and make your arguments against those who commit it”. Are you so naïve that you think a person who is capable of burning, beating, mutilating an animal while they cry out in pain is going to care about opinions on animal cruelty? Do you think they will say that you have a point and invite you in for tea? No. That is why the law is needed. Would it be disgraceful if your next door neighbor beat your cat to death as it wasn’t their property but if you part-owned the cat with a partner and they did the same that would be okay as they owned the cat?!

• There are very few unfettered, inalienable rights in this world Robert. Most of them would attach to your person, not to your ‘properties’ as you call them.

Even ownership of the sacred ‘land’ asset in Ireland is not unfettered, as the ignorant malevolent farmer John O’Mahony in Co Kerry found out to his cost when purposely destroying a national monument http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0302/omahonyj.html.

• @Rachel
      I think you’re confusing legality and endorsement. For instance, I think drugs should be legal even though I’ve never taken drugs in my life nor am I planning to. It’s not all of a sudden wrong when he kills my cat, it’s always wrong in my head. But it’s not any of my business if someone does, just like drugs (as it’s not my body/property, as you own yourself). So I think I have to make a distinction here of allowing activities and endorsing them. I don’t think it’s within my power to say what’s legal and what’s not, I simply say that if it doesn’t harm any other human or their property it should be legal. I don’t always like the conclusions that principle leads me to, but I know I wouldn’t like to endorse any other principle around.
      Now I view animals as property, so applying my principle to that idea says that cruelty should be legal simple as. I think it’s horrible to abuse your animals, but I wouldn’t throw someone in jail for it. Also just because it’s legal doesn’t mean that people will just do it because they can (like drugs). I’m all for government campaigns or charity campaigns against certain activities like cruelty (just like their campaign against drink). The same principles apply with alcohol, I think drinking alcohol should be legal, doesn’t mean I support killing yourself slowly with drink. Anyways hope that explains my position further.

• @Rachel
      Sorry a few corrections:
      It’s not my business if someone does it to their property/pets.
      Say what’s legal and not legal on my own internal standards.

• @RevoltingPeasent
      Nothing to add except for a threat? Thanks

• That’s a disgusting comment! Sort yourself out! Sick! No say… Yeah right if anyone seen cruelty to any animal then I’m sure something would be said or done. Not many people would stand by and let it happen!

• no threat, just truth

• @jollyjupe

rights are subjective insofar as what is deemed ‘a right’ is conjectured by human beings. My example was metaphorical, not literal. Obviously common sense dictates when it’s necessary to have an animal treated by a veterinary surgeon. That being said, I do not condone the euthanizing of a healthy animal.

What I do not accept is this notion that humans are somehow superior to other animals. We are animals; mammals to be precise, descendants of the ape. Some don’t like to contemplate the idea that we are nothing more, nothing less but it doesn’t alter reality. Whilst we strive to rise above other animals, we continue to fail miserably since the only thing that could cause us to rise above our animalistic instincts is intellect. Intellect, however, is not compatible with mindless slaughter.

• Robert. You seem to be using this thread to discuss your libertarian ideal world. If your neighbour decided that they could own a human would you take the same approach?

I see you use the word collective. Unusual for a libertarian to mention the collective. Not sure what you mean by that, but in collectivist anarchic arrangements is it possible for there to be individual property ownership? As Proudhon said “all property is theft”.

• You are a miserable sod – a LIVING BEING is NOT property – we have the “right” to what we want to animals becaue WE gave ourselves the “right”. To slightly paraphrase Albert Einstein – evil will prevail not because of the people that do evil but because of those that stand by and do nothing to stop it. – But that might be too much for your small mind and heart to understand – humanity advances only as it becomes more human; you don’t have one heart for humans and another for animals – you either have one or you don’t.

• Robert your either one of those muppets who like causing arguments or you have serious issues.
      I would hate to be your kid seen as your kid belongs to you and in your eyes is your property so you can do what you to them. For many people animals can be a part of their families. Animals do have feelings aswell as humans
      and can feel pain. Just because animals have been enslaved by mankind doesn’t mean that its ok for them to be our “property”,It doesn’t really matter if animals are classed as property or not any living creature that can feel pain should not be hurt purposefully.All animals deserve to have rights and protection and anybody who could sit by and listen to an animal being hurt is just as bad as the person doing it.

• Being a libertarian doesn’t absolve you from a conscience. Libertarians do not condone infringing on the rights of others, and while animals don’t have the same rights as humans they certainly have a right to not be tortured. You imply that they don’t

• but hares are wild animals and belong to the people of ireland if thats the case …and not everyone wants to see them killed

• Robert – what’s your source for your ‘fact’ that animals are property?

Farm animals may be (and that’s debatable) but I’d like to know from where you got your information that wild animals are, as you say, ‘property’.

Homo sapiens is an animal too – who owns you?

• The hare in question was most likely used in a blooding incident..as thousands of other hares have been. The wire around its neck was the givaway. That’s a calling card of the trainer or owner who uses a live hare cat or rabbit to bllod a dog. Again the name calling. That’s what you do when you’ve lost credibility and your case is blown away. The pathetic attempt to frame animal rights people for what coursing fans did is on the same level as the widespread organised cheating by coursing fans and senior coursing officials in a botched effort to win the Journal.ie poll. If was only a few coursing fans in a pub or something…but on that scale! And involving the leading site promoting the greyhound industry. I wonder what the ICC boys will think of this? I’m sure they’ll be proud of G Nuts and all those computer wizards!

• Tom, I have no criminal record of any sort and have never in my life been convicted of any offence. In the book Bad Hare Days I recount an episode from the 1980s in which opponents of hare coursing, including myself, were wrongly accused of engaging in militant actions against coursing clubs. This matter was cleared up when a member of a County Cork based coursing club freely confessed that it was in fact he who had committed the offences, which included burning a number of haybarns in Counties Cork and Limerick. Your allegation re the DPP dropping a charge on a technicality is also false and is defamatory. I will not enter into a discussion about this with you as it clearly is not relevant to the question being debated here which is: should hare coursing be banned? If I were to descend to your level I would be drawing attention to certain other issues that I imagine you might not wish to be aired on a forum such as this. You are flirting with libel. I have never in my life engaged in what you describe as “unsavoury” activities against anyone. By contrast, Tom, you have advised people on the “Greyhound Nuts” site to engage in what any fair minded person would agree is indeed unsavoury.

Need reminding? Tom Brett

Administrator
    Exceptional Nutter

• Would also like to know why the journal deleted my original comment?? obviously not in your favour either then?!

• AlMar 15/03/12 #

I find the discussion here quite fascinating. It’s really interesting to find commnentators here who are appalled at hare coursing but who get very wound up at the suggestion that there should be any restrictions whatsoever on abortion.

As they say in the US, go figure…

• Unsavoury or what?

« Reply #20 on: March 16, 2012, 00:03:43 AM »

Lads,

Unbelieveable that the UK’s top dog trainers are such an honourable group, far more honourable than the Queens horse trainers………….

Global Moderator
    Exceptional Nutter

« Reply #21 on: March 16, 2012, 07:46:52 AM »

Lads,

Global Moderator
    Exceptional Nutter

« Reply #22 on: March 16, 2012, 08:33:29 AM »

1407 to 1146

Global Moderator
    Exceptional Nutter

« Reply #23 on: March 16, 2012, 08:35:37 AM »

1407 to 1146

1408 to 1148

Global Moderator
    Exceptional Nutter

« Reply #24 on: March 16, 2012, 08:40:05 AM »

1407 to 1146

1408 to 1148

1409 to 1153

Global Moderator
    Exceptional Nutter

« Reply #25 on: March 16, 2012, 08:52:37 AM »

Quote from: GUIDING HAND (Paddy Donnelly) Mayo. on March 16, 2012, 08:40:05 AM

1407 to 1146

1408 to 1148

1409 to 1153

1417 to 1162 come on give me a hand.

TomK

Anti Hit Squad
    Exceptional Nutter

« Reply #26 on: March 16, 2012, 09:18:37 AM »

done on as many pc’s as I can lay my hands on

TomK

Anti Hit Squad
    Exceptional Nutter

« Reply #27 on: March 16, 2012, 09:20:35 AM »

No: 1173. Yes: 1424

bear

bear
    Total Nutter

« Reply #28 on: March 16, 2012, 11:54:20 AM »

NO: 1240 YES: 1462 voted about 10 times by deleting the cookies oly took about 5 mins

bear

bear
    Total Nutter

« Reply #29 on: March 16, 2012, 12:15:27 PM »

1463 Yes 1252 No

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 Go Up

Reply | New Topic | Notify | Mark unread | Send this topic | Print

« previous next »