TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Poll: Should pensioners be charged for travel?

It’s reported that pensioners, who currently avail of free travel, could be asked to pay €5 for some journeys.

Image: Photocall Ireland

PENSIONERS COULD BE asked to pay a contribution towards some public transport journeys as part of a new budget proposal.

According to a report in today’s Irish Independent a subsidy of €5 could be placed on some longer rail or bus journeys.

The government spends €77 million a year on the free transport programme, which is under review as part of a wider review of all expenditure within the Department of Social Protection.

Earlier this month Minister Joan Burton said that the free travel scheme is much valued and that the review may actually offer opportunities to strengthen it.

Fionnan Sheahan’s report also predicts that cuts to the electricity and TV licence allowance could also be on the way.

What do you think? Should pensioners contribute towards their public transport travel?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (111 Comments)

• I think it’d be a terrible idea. After retirement pensioners should be encouraged to go out, visit and socialise. This would only worsen the stay at home syndrome.

• Point is that the services are running anyway and the cost is fixed regardless of passenger numbers. Pensioners travelling free don’t actually cost anything and would simply not use services if they were forced to pay. Surely it’s one of the only nice things about growing old? I wonder how many pensioners busfares it would take to recoup the ?35bn spent on Anglo?

• I get the bus in dublin regularly and I object to the number of young able bodied people who have free travel. Every Junkie and Alcoholic in the city seem to have free travel for themselves and anyone they meet at the bus stop and can pass off as a spouse. They have managed to ruin the Red line of the luas, you feel you are taking a serious risk traveling on it. Take the free travel off everyone who has not got a physical disability or is an old age pensioner. It would make using public transport safer and would save a fortune.

• Why arent they talking about talking travel passes off junkies instead? what possible reason is there to justify them having one?

• The problem is that when government puts on a “small charge” like €5 for the train, come the next budget it goes up and up until the charge becomes so high they might as well just scrap the scheme altogether.

• It’s looking like Rent Allowance could go this way too. Is the contribution something like €32 in some places now?

Granted that’s small beans for rent, but compared to countries that provide you with proper housing instead of you having to find some dive by yourself…

• Why does it cost €77 million to administer this program?

• It’s a small example of what they have left , from the lack of respect towards elderly people these days and levies on their private pensions after working all their lives, it should remain free for them , it’s a comfort knowing they can go out and enjoy life knowing they can hop on and off a bus even if it’s just to the shops 1 stop away.. We all won’t be young forever!!

• No they shouldn’t. Whenever I’m on the bus and I see an elderly person get on for free after I’ve just paid for it, I don’t feel any animosity toward them. They’ve paid their taxes for the last 40+ years, and this is just a small token. For most elderly people I imagine it’s a great comfort to know they have a free means of travel, and a lot of them probably wouldn’t get around so much if they had to pay for it.

• hitting on the elderly, the disabled and the weakest in society again! what a bunch of spineless cowards we have for a government, cant stand up to the banks, or the troika but trample all over those who dont have the means to fight back. get after the bond holders, cut your own ‘travel allowances’ salaries and pensions, reduce your own numbers in the Dail and Seaned (as you promised), hit the wealthy and the ‘tax dodgers’ and make cuts to all the quango’s and special committees you have set up to do your jobs for you. and while your at it ,tell the E.U. that we wont be taking on the presidency as we cant justify paying billions on that while making cut’s else where, just for once do what you are paid to do, run this country for the benefit of ALL its people, not just the chosen few, put the interest of this country before those of european banks and speculators.

• excellent points Eric, well made, if only they would listen to you

• Was Eric’s point re spending “billions” on the EU presidency an excellent point?

How is giving all the benefits that the elderly and the disabled “hitting on them”? Nothing should be “free”. If they have to make a small contribution then at least they will think about wasting journeys. The other points belong to “what about the” argument. Abolishing the Senate has nothing to do with a minor charge on “free” transport. 66 is no longer elderly btw. Many people of this age have plenty of money. Kids are reared, no more mortgage, little in the line of expenses, multiple incomes and pensions and that’s not to mention plenty still work.

• Good points Eric

governments without a spine such as ours will always hit out at the points of least resistance…..don’t have the cojones to face up to the euro clowns or Angela meerkat and her troops in suits….shame on them

• Hell no…. have they not given enough.

• this is only one aspect of the proposed cuts to pensioners entitlements and is slightly misleading,there are also proposed cuts to electricity and fuel allowances,and given in its full context will affect pensioners greatly …let them have there free passes,i travelled on a local bus lately and out of 16 ppl on the bus i was the only one who paid, didnt bother me in the slighest in fact it was great to see them getting into town to meet friends etc,for some elderly it is probably the only little bit of social interaction they have,and besides it wasnt like they were taking up any seats that could have been used by paying customers as the bus would have been empty without them…let them be

• Depends on how rich they are.

• So people who haven’t worked a day in their lives should be entitled to free travel while those who got off their arses worked hard and saved, should pay ????

• Jonno 15/09/12 #

OR those who can well afford it can pay and those who cant shouldnt. You cant really be saying that pensioners who have a meager pension or savings hasnt worked hard If i spent my life digging ditches by hand Id have worked plenty hard but wouldnt be retiring on much now would I.

• The Green Monkey, if you seriously believe how rich you are is proportionate to how hard you’ve worked then you’re a big part of what’s wrong with this country.

Sociality Mobility in the UK anyway is only around 10% – meaning only 10% of people ever manage to work themselves up the ladder(or fall down) into another socioeconomic group.

• OAP’s should stay on the free travel , but the other passes should be revoked. Totally misued by large number of pass holders. Seems every time you get them on its a diffrrent spouse travelling on their pass of its not their pass at all.
    SW should not get these passes and especially drug addicts .

• So you’re saying the likes of me, with severe disabilities who can’t work and earn a wage, shouldn’t have a pass which makes it possible for me to buy groceries and go to the hundreds of appointments I need? That’s a lovely idea!

• incase you have not noticed but is your travel entitelments come under disability benifit and unemployment benifit which was the point i made . I see first hand the abuse of the travel pass and as one of the TAX payers whom foot this i think it should either be means tested of withdrawn.

• Alan are you serious?? I worked for 23 years before I developed a debilitating neurological disease. I worked very hard, paid my taxes didnt moan about my taxes being used to pay childrens allowance (I dont have kids) or any other social welfare payment. And you come along with your “but the other passes should be revoked. Totally misued by large number of pass holders”. If you live in Dublin you cant lend you pass to anyone because you have to have photo id, unlike our country cousins who dont. I do however believe that junkies should not be given travel passes – they dont deserve them, but you cannot take free travel from those with disabilities. Lets hope you and yours keep the luxury of having a healthy life.

• I don’t like people rallying against “Junkies” like this – you don’t know their situation, what drove them to that and they’re still a vulnerable group of society that need caring for. What do you hope to achieve by marginalising them further?

It reminds me of that episode of Breaking Bad where Jesse’s parents kick him out of his house while telling him to make something of himself… and guess what he ends up doing.

• I think €5 for a train journey from Galway to Dublin or cork to Dublin is fair enough! Anymore is unfair- when pensioners travel they are normally visiting family or having a day out and will spend money in restaurants, shops etc thus helping the economy.
    I think free travel should be taken off certain people claiming disability…the likes of those with addictions or on methodone etc. people on disability payments with physical disability should be allowed free travel.

• ergs1 15/09/12 #

and so should pensioners!!!! everywere!!!!!!!!!!!!

• @ergs1…..a return train ticket Dublin to Sligo is €48….paying 10% of this is not much of an ask? Last time I got train return from cork it was nearly €70…asking a pensioner to give €5 for the same journey???!!

• It’s like asking someone to pay you towards the Christmas present you are giving them. Old Age Pensioners have earned their right to free travel – they raised families in tougher timnes with a very small fraction of the help given to parents nowadays and their taxes were a lot higher. And ABOVE ALL OTHER REASONS, it gets them off the roads making for safer driving for everybody else.

• I’m really sick of people getting upset over taking things away from people(supposedly) but then turn around and find another group to shit on. I’m autistic, not fully independent from my family with no real physical disability(aside from the physical symptoms of autism; sensitivity to light/sound/touch, panic attacks, mannerisms etc.) and if it wasn’t for free travel I wouldn’t be able to travel back to my family, who can’t really afford to travel either, especially since my mother had cancer and they thought it’d be hilarious to stop her benefits even though she’s still not well enough to work.

• siobeli, in general train fares are far too much, and yet they still manage to make a loss. Compare this to the continent where trains are better, cheaper and more efficient. Irish Rail is amazingly badly run. There may be an issue with more people having travel passes than should, but you need to be very careful with who you take them off. Like everything they should be means tested.

I’ve heard the most common type of pass they issue is the welfare, but whenever I get a train back from Dublin I see nothing but reserved seats.

• Why should they? My Dad has a bus pass and it’s give him great freedom. He’s worked and paid tax for 50 years and I think OAPs should be entitled to free travel around a country they helped build

• “High earners would also be hit, with anyone earning more than €200,000 set to be penalised.”…..yep, that’s what it says in the article……so I would take the rest of what it says with a pinch of salt,,,The Indo big boys love to stir it big time..

• The elderly should remain entitled to free travel. They have been hit harder than most with the household charge, shares in banks etc wiped out, the cost of healthcare etc. Free travel gives them independence. Of course some elderly have never worked but those type of people tend to concentrate on the pub and the bookies rather than train journeys. Yes , some are wealthy but the cost of means testing would negate any potential savings. Let’s target the cuts at the top echelon rather than the elderly and the vulnerable.

• Pensioners should’t be charged they are entitled to travel free. Why not take this out of the billions being paid to bondholders and banks? also why not cut ministers income by 20% and their pensions by 30% instead of extorting money out of those who cannot afford it.

• maura 15/09/12 #

Pensioners should pay ONLY when T.D’s pay their own travel expenses, How many of them have paid towards their travel and subsidized restaurant and bar. Reduce pensions to retired politicians and public servants. Only pay pensions when reaching full retirement age regardless of who or what you are.

• As a pensioner and medical card holder myself, I think the free travel should have similar restrictions to the medical card. Means-testing of some sort is surely the fairest way of dealing with it. Also, about four years ago, the FF govt said they were going to issue credit-card-sized travel cards to avoid fraudulent use and that ALL cards would have to bear a photo. Currently, those outside the main cities have no photo.

• John – 4 or 5 years ago the FF led government were making lots of promises and commitments, need I say any more ….. ?

• I agree with you John, And its great to see you avail of the travel pass, You was allways a great player for Ireland and it seems like yesterday since you was banging in the goals. All the football fans in the pub where I work remember you.Some are saying your a Legend. But Im a Man.U fan so I wont go that far.

• Many elderly who need free travel the most I cannot connect to a public transport service as they live too far from a pick up point. Those that can will continue to drive because of this. And when they can no longer drive , they can’t make it to public transport. I would prefer proper means testing coupled with mobility testing and then have a card which might entitle those who cannot access public transport to have a number of taxi rides covered instead.

• A lot of pensioners come in to the pub where I work and they built this country and worked hard all their lives.If the travel pass is abolished there will be protests on the Dail. Ps Busy at the moment a lot of student types in and some high brow conversations going on.

• the government and whoever else is behind these ideas better be dam careful the grey brigade are the major voters in elections and aren’t afraid of protesting and shaming those disgusting traitors who are worthless crap that sit in the dail so be warned!

• Leave pensioners alone, get rid of expense budget for TDS or dont purchase tablet computers for TDS and staffers, or maybe, here’s a novel idea TAX THE WEALTHY !!!!

• Should definitely be free for elderly, the true costs are far less than the government say. Most of the time the buses/trains are less than half full. Its not like removing free travel will give a seat to a paying customer.

• This is a good point. You’re not really losing much of a sale. More a large number of those travelling simply would not be able to afford to, especially in this weather. You’d probably make back, at most, a fifth of what it supposedly costs.

This reminds of the piracy argument.

• the bus & rail services run regardless of use by OAPs so removing allowance saves nothing. blanket charges hurt those who can not afford to pay. Time that government tackled the taxing of the wealthy and leave the pensioners alone.

• I wouldn’t worry about this one, I’m confident the pensioners on this island will stand up and be counted, they will take to the streets in protest and make their views known, just as they have done numerous times in the past. I wouldn’t have the same sort of confidence in other groups in Ireland who have sat on their hands whilst our country is being dismantled and sold off piece by piece, job by job, one emigrant at a time.

• @Muiris – I hope you’re right about pensioners protesting. I’m deeply ashamed and surprised how little protest and action there has been since the Tiger years, as more and more manure has been heaped on the worse off people of this island by men in suits. It’s almost as if the water supply had been doctored with “essence of Thatcher”. One of the reasons I came here to live, many years ago, from England was the attraction of the rebellious element if the Irish psyche. Where the feck is it today??? I’m not all that far off the pension meself, and I’m up for a bloody good protest. Having supported the miners and fought the poll tax it seem the time is overdue.

• they should have free travel.they have paid there way in life and should be allowed.I think we are all asking the wrong questions.why hit the small guy again go after the big boys once and for all

• This is the rock this government will perish on. It will NEVER be implemented as the people on the street will bring this spineless government down with a crash. Lets put a stop to this madness and elect people who will try and then jail the crooks that took this country over the brink. No holding back this time, the government are dead ducks. .

• OU812 15/09/12 #

A standard across the board charge of €3 a month for all passes should be imposed. It’s less than 10c a day & give them unlimited travel at non peak times. Travel at peak times & the pass will entitle them to a 50% discount on the fare.

• Have to say not bad…. might be a happy medium.

• Yeah great idea, this budget 3 euros, next budget 10 euros, the following budget 15. On top of any cuts they will make for heating and TV licence.

• just why do the general public feel the need to hit the older citizens of this country with more cuts to their living standards is beyond me.

are they forgetting some of the very,very generous travel allowances our beloved politico,s get.
      a quick trawel through some of these would open their eye,s (they are available online i,m not going to do all the work for ye).

a 50% cut in these would solve/generate more revenue for the cash guzzling monster that c.i.e is.
      and by cash guzzling i dont mean the frontline workers busdriver,s/traindrivers even the maintainance staff who all manage to keep an ageing fleet on the roads/tracks.

so if all those people who side with the idea that this braindead gov can dream up would ony spend a bit more time checking out how many millions are spend by this gov on their expences they might just leave the older generation alone .
      not to mention the president we had whose daughter used to get a garda escort from the park just to get a bloody piza she thought it was a great whizz
      ps i,am not a pensioner

• For gods sake leave the old folks alone, they have paid their way all their lives. Many are forced off the road due to bad site etc. They rely on public transport and it should be their right.

• The roads are safer while they are on the bus.

• Avy 15/09/12 #

NO!

• Should be means tested, millionaires have had enough from the taxpayer

• I can’t imagine a large percentage of elderly people are millionaires, and those that are probably don’t use the bus.

• @Michael…. No yet wrong generation. Still too soon. As I’m sure you have gatered form my previous comments I’m form a working class background. I would hate to see some of the elderly I know sufferat the hands of taking their freedom away. Sorry I do take your point and not totaly diagreeing with you, just it’s too soon.

• It is a disgrace to suggest the elderly pay for travel. It is a privilege given to those in society who have paid their dues by working hard their whole lives paying tax and raising the children of Ireland. I don’t care how much money they have or have not got it is a very very small reward for their contribution to society. Leave it alone.

• I totally agree and furthermore they should get free petrol, no road tax and subsidised car insurance …… and new tyres every year. Roll on Utopia. It’s a disgrace!

• William, you are an amazingly intellectually dishonest person. It’s perfectly possible to have a free travel scheme and not be bankrupt. You’re using a slippery slope fallacy to drive home a point which is very immature but all too typical of right wing types.

There are better ways to make money back.

• Don’t forget we’ll all be old one day and I think after a lifetime of working and not getting a pension at the end of it we’ll be grateful for the free travel. Have a heart

• No!!!! Never ever. Its a discusting suggestion. Them people have worked and paid tax all their lives. Its the least they deserve. So angry at the mere suggestion

• This is one of those political decisions that just isn’t worth making because the odium will far outweigh any savings. That much is clear from all the comments here, a lot of which aren’t even from pensioners! There have to be other savings that can be made without as much fuss being made or people being offended. Dropping this idea would be smarter politically for the Coalition, whatever about the finances. Who was it who took the shilling off the old-age pension, and how long did people remember that…?

• isnt FG the Blue shirts ????.

• Most pensioners I know couldn’t care less. They’ll just spend more time doing the garden, watching telly and eating in – instead of going into town or on trips to Galway where they might spend some money. Clever economics FG/Lab, real clever. Of course there are some pensioners for whom this will cause real hardship but sure we don’t care about them anyway.

• Mark 15/09/12 #

In theory they should travel free but since things are so bad, maybe a once of payment of 10euros or something. Would raise some cash and it wouldnt bankrupt anyone.

Just as long as the money raised isn’t for banks, bond holders and the likes

• Nobody should have to pay for anything

• You forget these older people have already raised their own families with a lot less help from the State than the families of today are getting, and also taxes were much higher back when these oldies were working. Why should they now have to sacrifice for families of next generation.

• I’ll pay the same as TD’s. Not a cent more!

• DubDon 15/09/12 #

Colm there is a cost associated with the free travel pass. Bus and rail companies re-coup the fare from the dept of social welfare. Dublin bus drivers don’t take account of the pass as it takes to long to enter the info into the ticketing machine. But the scheme in itself is unjustly biased towards those who live in urban areas and benefit most from it. Pensioners in rural Ireland get very little benefit from it as they don’t have the services in their area. Maybe those who live in urban areas should pay a small annual nominal fee but those in rural Ireland should be totally exempt

• The survey omits another obvious choice — should pensioners have to buy a travel card for (say) €50 annually, that would allow them to travel free? That could be tweaked by charging more/less to certain categories, using a standardised means test )whenever that is introduced).

• Yes they should.

• I think local and long distance should be part of the survey. Personally I think local travel (within a range of 30 miles) should be free, and a small fee(1-2 euro) for long distance journeys.

• Most people assume only the elderly have a free travel pass over 60% if not more that travel are trraveling free d ue to illness they get free travel , drug addiction is an ilness they travel free , and majority off people abuse it giving passes to family members or friends to use when there not , its about time a new system is put in to place

• While we’re at it let’s cut benefits for unsecured bondholders.

• I think local and long distance should be part of the survey. Personally I think local travel should be free (within a 30 mile range) and long distance journeys should have a small charge, say 1 – 2 euro.

• Silly to have a “don’t know” option – if you don’t know don’t vote – it just ruins the results of the poll.

• A “Don’t Know” option ensures accurate poll results. Often, I don’t know enough about a subject to make an informed decision in an opinion poll; but I would like to see the result of the poll. The only way to see the results is to vote. If there wasn’t a “Don’t Know” option, I’d just randomly vote “Yes” or “No”, leading to an inaccurate poll.

• Is it not ageism to allow a certain age group free travel while others have to pay full fare………

• With due respect people over 66 years old having this entitlement probably keeps them agile, young at heart and liable to travel to enjoy our Country , rather then staying at home .

Surely the Revenue generated by heavily taxing the Senior Bondholders would generate proper taxes. , rather then Kenny & Noonan looking for the soft touch , as usual – the poorer in our society!

• Agree. There are plenty of pensioners who are on more than the average industrial wage. Don’t forget nobody pays tax on the pension contributions, but have gotten tax credits for it.

• Pensioners have spent their lives working and paying taxes. It’s not really “free” – they spent their lives earning it.

If their free travel his taken away, their pensions will have to be increased so they can afford to travel. If not, they may become isolated and alone. Do we really want to become a society that says, “thanks for creating this nice country and raising up when we were kids, but you’re on your own now”?

• *raising us

• @James, acutally the pension contributions we make don’t go to our pensions but to the pensions of those who are currently retired. By the time we retire there won’t be sufficient funds to pay us a similar pension, less money has to be spread among more people. What we have paid through our working lives in social security is simply lost money. It’s just the way it is. On the other hand I don’t think pensioners should pay for travel, the savings are minimal, and as mentioned already it is one of the few things they can do to get out of their house and visit family/friends, though as already pointed out, maybe a minimal contribution might be acceptable.

• I know that Pete, but it’s similar to paying insurance. Those on the pension now paid for the pensioners when they were working. They have made their contribution and deserve a return.

The free travel scheme was introduced in the 1960s. The current pensioners have spent their lives contributing to it and now that it’s their turn, people are talking about taking it away?

Of course the whole pension system will have to be reformed, including raising the pension age. That’s for us to prepare for and sort out now in preparation for our own retirement.

• That’s a good slogan, “Hit senior bondholders, NOT senior citizens”

And if some senior bondholders are also senior citizens, at least they will still be able to travel in their newly impoverished state of being!

• It’s not ageism, it’s called market segmentation.

• Gooney 15/09/12 #

Get a grip man!

• Astonished at the reaction to this poll. Pensioners in most European countries pay a token amount for journeys of a certain length. Seems logical to me. In Belgium, it’s around €6.25. Hardly likely to break the bank.

But then again, I think the argument “they paid tax and built the country” is bollox. We are all paying tax, far more than most of us can afford because of their political decisions. Our current pensioners kept the maFFia in power for decades, turned a blind eye to corruption, endorsed the Catholic Church abuse by ignoring it or burying the evidence, supported garda brutality and did nothing. Our country is the way it is because of the decisions of pensioners and soon to be pensioners (most of the Dáil and Seanad, bank officials, regulators etc.) .

Our generation will have to answer for our moral cowardice too. Pensioners should not get a free pass merely because of their age.

• Other countries also have much better services and provisions for the more vulnerable members in society. Do you really think that the elderly and disabled in Sweden are going to freeze to death this winter(despite it being much colder)?

I’d be happy to pay this charge if we had actually met the standards of these other countries, some of which are practically socialist compared to austerity-era Ireland.

• They all voted for Fianna Fáil and the Blueshirts all their lies so I say charge them €100 a journey – Traitors the lot of them!

• Usual Rubbish. Lets just make it earnings neutral. By that I mean €77 million divided by the number of journeys, = the amount payable. In other words, if there are 77 million journeys a year under the scheme, each journey should cost €1.00.

• I agree with william grogan , why should they damn ,pensioners want everything. some might say hes bitter, petty or even just plain mean….i couldnt possibly comment

• You can’t means test something that someone has paid into all there working life.
    Local travel bus/rail should be free but anything outside that should be at a discount, when you see (which I have on a regular basis) a group of 10-15 elderly meeting in Busarras debating on where togo for a cup of tea, board a bus to Gorey then return an hour later, this is a total abuse of the system & starts to put the whole system under threat.
    A free tap on tap off system like the leap card could be an option to control the charges bus companies submit.

• I don’t see how it’s total abuse of the system, since there is a huge problem with elderly people not being able to socialise and being trapped at home. Likely they met the others in that group of people through those sorts of meetings.

Do you understand what the word “Welfare” means?

• money

• Perhaps the emphasis should be on removing from the freeloading class the tax concessions and loopholes which enable its members to avoid making a contribution to the common good. Similarly multi-national companies that are on the same gravy train should be brought to book. The underlying purpose of this proposal is to build build a justification for attacking anyone and everyone who is not of the well-off segment of society. There is no shortage of money. There is one trillion euros of Irish domiciled cash around the stockmarket. Similarly there is at least three trillion euros of Irish money floating around the stock and bond markets of the world. That does not include that which is being gambled in hedge funds and other more esoteric instruments. It’s also not clear of any on this oiney has been taxed at source.

• Some are on about “junkies” having free travel passes. How is that come about? I can’t find anything here
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/social_welfare_payments/extra_social_welfare_benefits/free_travel.html
    about being a junkie making anyone eligible????
    Or do they mean “senior (geriatric) junkies?

Add New Comment