Advertisement uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 0 °C Wednesday 21 March, 2018


# train - Sunday 18 March, 2018

Bus and train services affected as snow hits the country

A status orange snow-ice warning is in place for several counties.

# train - Monday 5 March, 2018

Buses, trains and Luas back up and running

Customers have been advised to allow extra time for their journeys.

# train - Saturday 17 February, 2018

Irish Rail customers to get refunds after being delayed by almost five hours

People travelling on the Dublin to Cork and Dublin to Kerry services yesterday evening experienced significant delays.

# train - Sunday 11 February, 2018

Extra staff planned for Irish Rail trains to help deal with seating issues

Names not appearing above pre-booked seats has been an issue for some time.

# train - Monday 5 February, 2018

Train crash killing two in South Carolina 'could have been prevented'

Two Amtrak crew members were killed, and more than 100 people were injured.

# train - Thursday 25 January, 2018

At least 3 killed and 10 seriously injured after train derails near Milan

About 100 other people sustained light injuries in the incident.

# train - Friday 5 January, 2018

Delays of up to 120 minutes on rail services after tragic incident, mechanical fault and trespassers

The series of incidents throughout the day have resulted in significant knock-on delays for Friday evening commuters.

# train - Thursday 4 January, 2018

14 dead and 190 injured after train ploughs into truck in South Africa

A number of carriages have yet to be lifted to see to whether there are any other people still trapped.

# train - Saturday 30 December, 2017

Safety barrier was down before French train hit school bus, killing six children

A new report from France’s rail operator said that the safety measures at the crossing were working.

# train - Friday 22 December, 2017

Eight injured as two trains collide and carriages overturn near Vienna

The accident occurred at 5pm near the station of Kritzendorf.

'The minister is talking about the Man United game instead of the rail strike'

Industrial action by Irish Rail workers affected many commuters in November.

# train - Thursday 21 December, 2017

From The Daily Edge 15 things that are bound to happen on the train 'down home' for Christmas

15 things that are bound to happen on the train 'down home' for Christmas

Train stations at Christmas time: The Lord is testing us.

# train - Tuesday 19 December, 2017

Derailed train was going 80mph in a 30mph zone

Authorities said the death toll may rise from yesterday’s crash.

# train - Monday 18 December, 2017

Multiple fatalities and injuries after Washington train derails onto highway

It’s not yet known what caused the incident.

# train - Thursday 14 December, 2017

Four children dead after school bus and train collide in France

The incident happened this afternoon, close to the city of Perpignan.

# train - Friday 8 December, 2017

Late-night trains and Darts begin from today for the festive season

Some services are running earlier due to line improvements – Irish Rail are advising people to check their train’s schedule ahead of time.

# train - Thursday 16 November, 2017

Man who allegedly carried loaded gun on Dublin-Belfast train to be tried at non-jury Special Criminal Court

23-year-old Ciaran Ryan was charged with three firearms offences following the July incident.

# train - Monday 6 November, 2017

Here's what commuters need to know ahead of tomorrow's rail strike

More than 150,000 customers will be affected by the industrial action.

# train - Sunday 17 September, 2017

India is set to get its first bullet train thanks to Japan

A 500km journey will be cut from eight hours to just over two hours when services start.

# train - Tuesday 12 September, 2017

Train from Sligo to Connolly delayed for up to 35 minutes after bridge hit

Iarnród Éireann is currently in the process of seeking solutions to reduce the number of railway bridges being hit.

# train - Monday 11 September, 2017

Around 30 people injured in Swiss Alps train crash

It’s been reported that the crash happened at the Andermatt station.

# train - Friday 8 September, 2017

Train delays in Dublin after truck hits bridge at Amiens Street

Services between Connolly Station and Tara Street were suspended earlier.

# train - Saturday 2 September, 2017

Limerick to Ennis train line reopens after injured cow is removed

Bus transfers between the two stations were in operation for a period this afternoon.

# train - Thursday 17 August, 2017

Judge lifts ban on identifying woman charged with possession of gun on Dublin-Belfast train

The application had been made by the news media.

# train - Wednesday 16 August, 2017

A third of all injuries on Irish Rail were at the gap between platforms and trains

There’s also been a rise in the number of train derailments in the past three years.

# train - Monday 7 August, 2017

Gardaí called to calm violence on Dublin-Belfast train after GAA match

Gardaí calmed the situation.

# train - Friday 28 July, 2017

At least 48 injured after train slams into platform at station in Barcelona

Regional authorities said at least five were seriously injured, including the driver.

# train - Monday 24 July, 2017

Train services delayed after bin truck damages crossing barrier

Irish Rail said the truck failed to stop at the barriers.

# train - Friday 21 July, 2017

'I just felt really embarrassed': Calls to end Irish Rail 24 hour notice for people with disabilities

Earlier this month, a wheelchair user had to wait 15 minutes for Irish Rail to help her exit a train.

# train - Thursday 20 July, 2017

Four lovely train stations feature on our new stamps

Did your local railway station make the cut?

# train - Tuesday 27 June, 2017

Boy (11) dies after sustaining 'serious electrical burns' at rail depot in England

“Our thoughts are with the family of this young boy during what must be an incredibly difficult time,” British Transport Police said.

# train - Thursday 8 June, 2017

Actor mistaken for terrorist after rehearsing lines on train in France

He was questioned by police after a guard overheard him say ‘weapon’ and ‘gun’.

# train - Friday 2 June, 2017

Surge in number of Japanese men taking out 'groper insurance'

The increase was triggered by a spate of incidents where men suspected of molesting female commuters fled the scene.

# train - Sunday 28 May, 2017

Reclining seats and 'in-rail entertainment': India gets new luxury train

The popular image of rail travel in the country is of hundreds of people crammed into carriages.

# train - Saturday 27 May, 2017

'It's not just about tidiness, it gives you a network and set of friends'

Members of the Wexford Tidy Towns committee travelled to Tidy Towns winner Skerries as part of the Journal Journeys competition.

# train - Wednesday 17 May, 2017

Dublin to Cork train delayed after vehicle hits bridge

The delay is due to a vehicle hitting a bridge between Limerick Junction and Charleville.

# train - Thursday 11 May, 2017

These train stations have been voted the best in Ireland

The winners are chosen by public vote, with almost 15,000 customers rating their stations.

# train - Sunday 7 May, 2017

Rail services on Dublin-Belfast line suspended after person struck by train

Emergency services have arrived at the scene.

# train - Saturday 6 May, 2017

This luxury Japanese train could rival a five-star hotel Shiki-Shima This post contains images

This luxury Japanese train could rival a five-star hotel

A trip on the Shiki-Shima will set you back over €7,000.

# train - Wednesday 19 April, 2017

Woman tells man to 'f**k off back to India' on Limerick train

Irish Rail said it has reported the “shocking and disgraceful incident” to gardaí.

1 2 3 4 5

Trending Tags