Advertisement
  TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Tuesday 26 September, 2017

#Train

# train - Yesterday’s News

SPONSORED

# train - Sunday 17 September, 2017

India is set to get its first bullet train thanks to Japan

A 500km journey will be cut from eight hours to just over two hours when services start.

# train - Tuesday 12 September, 2017

Train from Sligo to Connolly delayed for up to 35 minutes after bridge hit

Iarnród Éireann is currently in the process of seeking solutions to reduce the number of railway bridges being hit.

# train - Monday 11 September, 2017

Around 30 people injured in Swiss Alps train crash

It’s been reported that the crash happened at the Andermatt station.

# train - Friday 8 September, 2017

Train delays in Dublin after truck hits bridge at Amiens Street

Services between Connolly Station and Tara Street were suspended earlier.

# train - Saturday 2 September, 2017

Limerick to Ennis train line reopens after injured cow is removed

Bus transfers between the two stations were in operation for a period this afternoon.

# train - Thursday 17 August, 2017

Judge lifts ban on identifying woman charged with possession of gun on Dublin-Belfast train

The application had been made by the news media.

# train - Wednesday 16 August, 2017

A third of all injuries on Irish Rail were at the gap between platforms and trains

There’s also been a rise in the number of train derailments in the past three years.

# train - Monday 7 August, 2017

Gardaí called to calm violence on Dublin-Belfast train after GAA match

Gardaí calmed the situation.

# train - Friday 28 July, 2017

At least 48 injured after train slams into platform at station in Barcelona

Regional authorities said at least five were seriously injured, including the driver.

# train - Monday 24 July, 2017

Train services delayed after bin truck damages crossing barrier

Irish Rail said the truck failed to stop at the barriers.

# train - Friday 21 July, 2017

'I just felt really embarrassed': Calls to end Irish Rail 24 hour notice for people with disabilities

Earlier this month, a wheelchair user had to wait 15 minutes for Irish Rail to help her exit a train.

# train - Thursday 20 July, 2017

Four lovely train stations feature on our new stamps

Did your local railway station make the cut?

# train - Tuesday 27 June, 2017

Boy (11) dies after sustaining 'serious electrical burns' at rail depot in England

“Our thoughts are with the family of this young boy during what must be an incredibly difficult time,” British Transport Police said.

# train - Thursday 8 June, 2017

Actor mistaken for terrorist after rehearsing lines on train in France

He was questioned by police after a guard overheard him say ‘weapon’ and ‘gun’.

# train - Friday 2 June, 2017

Surge in number of Japanese men taking out 'groper insurance'

The increase was triggered by a spate of incidents where men suspected of molesting female commuters fled the scene.

# train - Sunday 28 May, 2017

Reclining seats and 'in-rail entertainment': India gets new luxury train

The popular image of rail travel in the country is of hundreds of people crammed into carriages.

# train - Saturday 27 May, 2017

'It's not just about tidiness, it gives you a network and set of friends'

Members of the Wexford Tidy Towns committee travelled to Tidy Towns winner Skerries as part of the Journal Journeys competition.

# train - Wednesday 17 May, 2017

Dublin to Cork train delayed after vehicle hits bridge

The delay is due to a vehicle hitting a bridge between Limerick Junction and Charleville.

# train - Thursday 11 May, 2017

These train stations have been voted the best in Ireland

The winners are chosen by public vote, with almost 15,000 customers rating their stations.

# train - Sunday 7 May, 2017

Rail services on Dublin-Belfast line suspended after person struck by train

Emergency services have arrived at the scene.

# train - Saturday 6 May, 2017

This luxury Japanese train could rival a five-star hotel Shiki-Shima This post contains images

This luxury Japanese train could rival a five-star hotel

A trip on the Shiki-Shima will set you back over €7,000.

# train - Wednesday 19 April, 2017

Woman tells man to 'f**k off back to India' on Limerick train

Irish Rail said it has reported the “shocking and disgraceful incident” to gardaí.

# train - Tuesday 18 April, 2017

Trains cancelled and delayed due to mechanical fault

A number of Heuston and Connolly services have been affected.

# train - Thursday 13 April, 2017

There are some major changes to train services this Easter weekend

Northside Darts will not be running.

# train - Sunday 2 April, 2017

Michael O'Leary says Shane Ross is 'playing a blinder' in bus dispute

The Ryanair CEO said Ross is right to not get involved.

Fears of more disruption as NBRU may be sued over 'wildcat' strike

The union said it remains focused on helping resolve the Bus Éireann dispute.

# train - Friday 31 March, 2017

Poll: Do you support the secondary picketing in the Bus Éireann strike? Your Say This post contains a poll

Poll: Do you support the secondary picketing in the Bus Éireann strike?

It’s affecting Irish Rail and Dublin Bus services.

# train - Thursday 23 March, 2017

Maynooth line trains delayed for up to an hour after truck crashes into bridge

Crews have removed some rock from the rail line.

# train - Monday 20 March, 2017

A bathroom mix-up caused a Sligo train to be held up for 40 minutes

The train waited for 40 minutes in a lay-by at Enfield – here’s the full story.

# train - Thursday 9 March, 2017

Two-hour delay on Dublin to Galway train line

Irish Rail said staff are on site and working to rectify the issue as soon as possible.

# train - Saturday 18 February, 2017

'Several casualties' after train derails in Belgian city

Reports that one person died has not yet been confirmed.

# train - Tuesday 14 February, 2017

One dead and several hurt after trains collide in Luxembourg

A passenger service and freight train collided.

# train - Saturday 14 January, 2017

Mother loses four children in station, one catches fast-train to Leipzig

The boy, who spoke Spanish and Italian, was taken into care by police before being reunited with his family.

# train - Saturday 10 December, 2016

Five dead and children buried under rubble of house that collapsed after train derailed

Two tank cars derailed, hit electricity lines and exploded.

# train - Friday 9 December, 2016

Two swans delayed trains by 30 minutes during Dublin rush hour

Staff managed to clear the swans quickly but there were knock-on delays.

# train - Friday 2 December, 2016

'Severe delays' for Dublin rail commuters due to fault at Howth Junction

Dublin Bus is accepting rail tickets this morning.

# train - Wednesday 30 November, 2016

Late night Dart and commuter trains back for Christmas and New Year

Late night services will have security personnel on board to ensure customer safety.

# train - Thursday 3 November, 2016

National Transport Authority has announced its plans for fare changes on Ireland's public transport

It covers Luas, Dublin Bus, Iarnród Eireann and Bus Éireann.

# train - Saturday 22 October, 2016

55 people killed, hundreds injured in Cameroon train derailment

The train was crammed with people due to road traffic disruption between two cities.

# train - Monday 26 September, 2016

This €5,000 per trip train is leaving Dublin today

During the journeys, passengers can avail of a full on-board bar.

1 2 3 4 5