TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Poll: Should Scotland leave the UK?

The Taoiseach wouldn’t answer the question yesterday so we’re asking you today…

Image: David Cheskin/PA Wire/Press Association Images

ASKED YESTERDAY HOW he would feel about an Independent Scotland, Taoiseach Enda Kenny said he had no intention of getting involved in the situation, adding that he would not “interfere in any way”.

The news conference following yesterday’s British-Irish Council summit was dominated by the question of Scotland’s independence following earlier accusations by First Minister Alex Salmond that Westminster was bullying Scotland.

The parliaments are disputing about when to hold a referendum asking the Scottish people whether they want to stay in the UK or not.

Both the Northern Ireland and Welsh First Ministers highlighted their wishes for Scotland to remain part of the UK.

David Cameron has hinted that Westminster will try and limit any ballot to just one question – to leave or not to leave – despite many Scottish people preferring another choice which would involve greater devolution.

What do you think? Should Scotland leave the UK?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (117 Comments)

• They should allow Scotland to have a vote,and that vote should be respected.

• I’m a Scot living in Ireland and have read your comments with interest! For me there are two issues. Firstly, Scotland is a nation and we did not vote for the current UK government. I believe there is only one Conservative MP in Scotland, so if we continue to be part of the union we continue to be governed by political parties we do not want. The Scottish Parliament goes some way to balancing this out but this raises the so called West Lothian question where Scottish MP’s can vote on English matters in the UK Parliament but English MP’s cannot vote on devolved Scottish issues like healthcare and education. So, from a democratic point of view I’m a nationalist.
    As for the economy, I’m not so convinced and we do receive subsides from the UK but we also contribute and there’s the oil to consider. I’ll probably vote “yes” although I accept it may end up costing me money. I actually find the idea of staying in a political union for purely financial gain or because you’re too scared to go it alone slightly distasteful.

• Scotland has waited a long time for the chance to decide it’s own destiny. It’s really a question of whether they feel part of the UK or simply, plainly Scottish. Money has less to do with it than people think. It could be their time. There’s a Tory government that the Scots didn’t vote for and a nationalist Scottish assembly. If it doesn’t happen in 2014 it may never happen.

• Whatever Scottish people want

• From a prespective of direct democracy, thats clearly up to the people living in that part of the world

• I voted don’t know as quite honestly, I don’t. Its a decision for the Scottish people surely, not the Irish.

• FYI Jonathan. We are subsidised by nobody! Scots are net contributors to the UK economy in the official stats by some £1700 per head. The UK Govt have always used propaganda to play on the fears of Scots. they are masters at it….been doing the Imperial thing for a thousand years. Only now are Scots getting the self confidence to question our status. I just wish we had the guts and the steel the Irish did to reclaim their country. I believe George Osborne’s family were part of the so called Irish aristocracy that upheld colonial rule in Ireland for so long. We will be glad to let you have him. Interestingly to those who say the Union has been good for Scotland. Yeah right! At the Union Scotland had a third of the population of the Brit mainland….now it’s less than a tenth! Some benifit….some Union dividend….that stat shows how our talent and people were sucked down the the black hole of the SE England.

• “Both the Northern Ireland and Welsh First Ministers highlighted their wishes for Scotland to remain part of the UK.”
    I really dont see the Northern Irish Deputy first minister suggesting Scotland should stay part of the UK …. hee hee … Scotland, if freed from London control, would be the 6th richest country per head of population in the world. But as long as they remain part of the UK, they give England and London Oil revenues, which in turn is bolstering the English economy, Obviously England will nt give up Scotland without a fight … And the proof of the pudding, is when you compare that to Northern Ireland,. …. They would give that up in a heartbeat, if they could … as it is a drain on the English economy.

• I think the interesting question is if Scotland did become independent where would that leave the allegiances of the Ulster Scots portion of the population in Northern Ireland? Would it then make a united more palatable or would they push for union with Scotland.

• The polls currently stand at 38% in favour according to BBC’s Q and A. The factors that could push that over the line between now and 2014 are Tory austerity measures and dilution of the no vote with a third response to the referendum question posed. The scare mongering in Westminister is comical with threats of the Euro and trade restrictions. They would have free trade as an EU member and their own currency indexed to Sterling if they wished. They would also have greater representation in the European parliament. The dismantlement of the “United Kingdom” through democratic means is realisation of a dream for me.

• I think it would be in Ireland’s interest if Scotland were to become an independent republic. It would also put pressure on NI to join the Republic. Scotland leaving would end the concept of the United Kingdom. Wales next. PS On BBC radio 4 this week, listeners were asked what they thought that Great Britain should be called if Scotland left. The most common answer was “Little Britain” :)

• I think things are bad enough here without having to take on NI…

• A sizeable proportion of those seeking independence have no interest in a republic but would retain the monarchy just like Australia .
      The people I hear talking about Scotland becoming a republic are most Irish not Scottish

• You made my day. lmao.. too funny!!

• If da nordies joined in with us, we’d need another ten bailouts! Northern Ireland is clearly an insolvent economy on its own, if it needs 600 million a year for the police just to tackle the people trying to undo the peace process.tomorrow-united ireland? When our shanty government cant even afford to equip their current police force, the burden of policing july marches which will go on regardless would bankrupt us over and over again.thats just one aspect.different when east joined west germany.west was flourishing while east was crap.at the moment north is fairly comfortable while republic is a sinking ship.

• Scotland and the SNP have no intention of becoming a Republic. Just a separate indep. State with the Queen as head of State.

Like the Isle of Man and the like.

• If not..what was that film Braveheart all about?

• Leave it? Like a shitting dog they should! Look forward to welcoming Scotland to the freedom team, just try not to bugger it up like we did okay?

• Personally, Yes they should as they almost never vote for conservative, yet that will be who they’ll get. They have their own distinct culture and if they invest some of the oil revenue into renewables they can have a sustainable income. Many of the undecided in Scotland are undecided due to fear of what could happen, if a cohesive plan is proposed it may pass and hopefully it will. But then again as a northern nationalist, i may be looking at it biased. It has to be a decision of the Scottish People and not dictated to by Cameron and Westminster, I do hope however that it will happen. Saor Alba!

• The UK map would look very bizarre to have Scotland out of the union but Northern Ireland still in it!

• Oh Inn 14/01/12 #

If they vote for independence will they get to keep their oil?
    I can’t imagine the english tory government giving up that without a serious fight

• There should be an option of “let the Scots decide their future”

• I totally agree. The answer options are silly . As there will be more than likely a number of options on their referendum. Being independent and having the queen as head of state seems popular as she is technically the queen of Scotland too. Then there will be he option to become a republic . It will be a complicated referendum and the Scots should e allowed to decide.Either way it really will make NO difference to the Irish

• Hi Barry, David

Our polls are just vox-pops – to see what people in Ireland think about certain issues happening around the world. We’re not suggesting that Irish people can decide on the issue or that the result will matter. It’s purely an unscientific poll to get a conversation going!

It was particularly topical as the Scottish leader was in Ireland discussing the matter yesterday.

In terms of the options given, I’ve tweaked the piece to explain that a bit. Westminster has hinted this week that conditions may be linked to the referendum and that one of those will be that the ballot can include one question only, i.e. Should Scotland leave the UK? Yes/No answer.

More here: http://www.thejournal.ie/explained-whats-happening-in-scotland-323450-Jan2012/

Cheers,
      Sinead

• Yeah. It’s an opinion poll. I don’t think it’s a referendum.

• Scotland deserves to leave the UK. It has been part of the UK for long enough and has paid enough through North Sea Oil.

Also the question of people living in England and working in the Scottish Borders wanting a vote is completely absurd!

• Yes and best of luck to the people of Scotland. Does this mean flying the union jack at rangers games will be seen as sectarian just like they try to.say the same.about the Irish flag at celtic games

• If Scotland had its freedom 30 years ago, when the North Sea Oil came online, it would be one of the richest countries in the world. The oil production is only half what it was, but it will still be a massive boon to a small country like Scotland. Go for it Scotland.

• Taoiseach Enda Kenny said he had no intention of getting involved in the situation, adding that he would not “interfere in any way”.

That quote could be taken from any Enda speech – the EU crisis, EU meetings, Merkozy’s diktat to us…etc etc..

• Good Luck to Scotland in whatever they do! Westminster should not decide whether or not Scotland should be part of the UK or not, let the people of Scotland decide. I have one problem, should this poll be “Should Scotland leave Great Britain?”

• you say westminister should not decide, the houses of parliment is not an English only house the MP’S from all states within the union are represented there. Scotland Wales and northern Ireland have there own assemblies, where as the English do not. I truly believe the union should disband. people are commenting on this story from an Irish history perspective, which is totally different from the history of Scotland and England.

• One of the signatories of the Proclamation was a Scot. How disappointing then to see the Irish Taoiseach not having the conviction to stand up and say that our nation should have the same independent status as Ireland and all the other nations of the world enjoys. Cheers, Enda.

• Enda won’t stand up for his own people Stewart I’m sorry to say. So you have very little chance of him standing up for ye. Good luck anyway Stewart.

• Enda made the right choice, for once, about staying out of Scottish affairs. There are people in Scotland that don’t like the Irish, and many would make their decision based on Irish involvement. Best thing to do is let the Scots play this out themselves and accept the outcome of the vote.

• I think it a wise move kenny staying silent. intervention from the Irish premiere in support of Scottish independence could have a negative effect on the SNP proposal. given the shambolic state of our economy, advice from the Irish govt would be seized upon by unionist campaigners in Scotland. The majority of Irish people support Scotland in her decision but prudent to stay outside the debate as we have recently gone begging to Westminster for a 3.5 billion aid package! I sincerely hope Ireland can be the first country to send and ambassador to a newly independent Scotland

• I suppose those are fair points

• It’s for the Scottish people to decide .I would be offended to see a poll in a scottish newspaper asking. Should ireland rejoin the UK. ?? The list of possible answers is ridiculous the Scottish will have options on their referendum . If Scotland leaves the UK it is still unlikely to become a republic . But more like Australia.

• If the Scottish people wanted to be independent they would be by now. A friend always said that they will never let NI go because Wales and Scotland would be next. Something old English national pride would not be able to cope with!

• If Scotland leaves the UK it may have knock on implications for the UK’s membership of international bodies eg UN security council, G8, NATO etc. This is one reason why Cameron will resist it at all costs.

• it may have these consesquences,but I feel not, in terms of population, Scotland had roughly 5.3 million, where as England alone has over fifty million so the loss if Scotland and even Wales ( about 3 million), does not really take anything away from the table in terms of power base and influence, I think the reason Cameron will fight this tooth and nail boils down to natural resources within and around Scotland and the north sea

• if the UK ceases to exist, continued membership of security council, by whatever entity remains, will be called into question

• The sea, oh the sea is the gradh geal mo croide.

• Scottish Independence…..It is a very complicated question, for example how much does the North Sea Oil revenues contribute to the UK economy and the treasury? What are the reserves in the North Sea oil? It is suggested that reserves are due to fall to 1/3 of their peak by 2020.

Could Scotland afford to pay for the bail out of HBOS and RBS? It is a lot easier to spread that bill among 62 million vs 5 million.

Where will the Royal Navy park their Nuclear Subs? Not really at the top of everybody’s agenda.

Will Scotland like Ireland become a non-entity in the democratic deficient EU? By 2050 it is suggested by well-respected economists that the UK will overtake France and Germany to become the biggest economy in Europe.

These are important questions which I believe the Scottish people need to consider carefully before they decide.

• Daniel, I wish people like you would stop buying into the RBS and HBOS argument.

If Scotland was to take the burden of those banks 100% then Scotland should also receive a refund of all taxes paid to the UK government by those ‘Scottish’ banks for the last few hundred years.

It should come to quite a lot.

• Aside from the argument of self-sufficiency and economic stability, there is still a sizeable minority of unionists in Scotland who oppose independence and, if are anything like their Northern Irish cousins, will only answer this call for secession with a firm NO!

• Why don’t we try and mind our own business, and leave it to them?

• The wealth of any nation is built mainly on its natural resources and its people. No denying Scotland’s collosal natural resources. Is there something wrong with the people?

• The Soviet Union was neither short of people, nor short of an abundance of natural resources. Why she produced 80 years of abject poverty and misery was because of the flawed philosophy behind her dreadful politics of collectivism. At the same time Hong Kong, with a much smaller population and minimal natural resources (even having to import fresh water) produced vast wealth and prosperity. Hong Kong, of course, had elements of freedom in her markets. It is ideas that produce wealth, and ideas come only from individuals, and only a free mind can produce worthwhile ideas.

• Would love to see Scotland leave the UK. Have quite a few Scottish friends who don’t particularly like paying taxes to the ‘royals’. Then again, I could have picked a handfull of friends for a minority group? (Doubt it according to the poll though)

• I wonder is there a clear geographic divide in Scotland between unionists and nationalists? Like north/south or east/west? Also wonder if one religion in particular favours independence. Is there any possibility of partition Ireland style if such a divide existed?? The English government could be quick to send in the troops to protect the “rights” of those British citizens who wish to remain within the Union. Interesting times ahead.

• I wonder if northern ireland became independant would there be a chance of annexation with the republic. Probaly not, just wondering.

• ….and run the risk of the price of Special Brew doubling from 38p a can to 76p….I don’t think they will…: )

• Silly poll really! Nothing to do with the Irish! Let the Scots come to there own decision, whatever they decide should be respected!

• “the irish”-hate that type of phrase. As a Belgian you may not know this but the poll is interesting for all, as we are the only country to have successfully (debatable, I know) gained independence from Westminister. 2500 people thought it was worth polling in anyway.

• Ok, Michael. I understand what you’re saying. But I know a good few Flemish people would love to gain independence from the ‘royaume Belge’ and I don’t think anyone else has any say in that apart from the people themselves. A poll about another country’s policies seems a bit silly. Nothing more, nothing less. But hey , keep debating it! My opinion would be that they should become independent. What is that going to change though?

• “…as we are the only country to have successfully (debatable, I know) gained independence from Westminister.”
      Did you mean “Yes Minister”. Think the USA might find your claim contentious…

• And Ireland should leave the EU

• yes they should leave the union, then they they will see how much benefit they got while in the union, they will lose their free education their free prescriptions. Scotland also get more ENGLISH tax money spent on them per head then the ENGLISH do. So I think it would be good for them to have their eyes opened and to survive without others tax pounds being spent on them.

• How would they lose their free education etc. Any facts to back that up? Seeing as Scottish people pay more in taxes of their SCOTTISH money than they get back from the treasury, this is petty scaremongering.

• @fiachra kme, facts are this the UK government spent 10,212 per person in Scotland 2010, that is 1,624 more than they spent per person in England, it costs every family in England 420 pounds a year to subsidize free education and free prescriptions in Scotland. if you research on the internet these figures are easily found and backed up. and as for petty scaremongering you are way off the mark, I am just trying to state fact without emotional bias .

• That is in relation to how much they get but seeing that that is not including Scottish Oil, it relies only on expenditure, Also it does not take into account scottish businesses headquartered in London. English people are not subsidising scots, if they were i would be extremely surprised that English MP’s did not protest about this. I am also, off topic but still, shocked that English people are not pleading for their own independence, as i if unionist are correct in suggesting that the English subsidise everyone else, surely England would be better of Independent?

• Robert Mayberry, those figures are the levels of public spending only and do not tell the full story. For example, they tell us nothing about income from Scotland into the UK coffers (oil, whisky duty, all other taxes etc) and lower than average spending in other sectors, defence spending for example. Also, that’s comparing Scotland v all of England. If you look at the figures regionally you’ll find that London and the SE get more per head than Scotland. So who’s subsidising who, eh? The GERS figures from the last 5 years show that Scotland is in surplus compared to the rest of the UK. 9.4% of UK income from 8.4% of the UK population. We are not subsidised, end of story.

• Oh Inn 14/01/12 #

Scotish oil money flows through aberdeen and straight to london – scotland funds england!

• I`ve used this device for anticellulite massage. My hips look better after two months of using. I advise Markelov`s simulator to all women with similar problems.

• ye … if they wanted to be dirt poor. Ireland tried that ‘we dont need Britain for anything’ thing, ‘protectionism and self sufficiency’ de Valera called it, where did it get us?? Decades of depression and unemployement. If Scotland have any sense, they will hold onto the UK as tight as they can.

• Oh and Ireland wasn’t depressed and unemployed when it was in the UK?

• Oh no it was, it was in a terrible state. But it didnt have the modern services which Scotland has available to them now, Ireland was a subordinate, rebellious state which Britain spent more money on trying to quell a war than provide services such as healthcare and roads to. Scotland has to think economically. They have to take a look at what they get from Britain for being part of them and then see how they can replace those services and funding themselves. It would be silly to leave the UK just to say they are not in the UK. If they can come up with a viable economic strategy which would mean they could support themselves then I say go right ahead. But with no major and stable independent economic market to lean on other than their oil, I say that would be hard to do.

• Yes I’m sure we all remember being though in history how when Ireland was part of the UK our economy was great .. especially around the mid 19th century when a million people didn’t die of starvation and another million emigrated .. Yes the Brits did a good job alright .. why’d we ever leave!

• Ireland was in a completely different situation to Scotland, you cannot compare the two.

• @Leo what makes you think we’d have faired any better ? much of the history of this state since independence would probably have happened back in the 19th C also, gombeen self serving politicians and a malevolent church hierarchy enforcing its own warped perspective

• Scotland has its oil which is the life’s blood of the modern world. It can bring in foreign investment into the country to increase the wealth. It is not impossible for the Scots to do well on their own, but that’s up to them, makes no difference to me what they do.

• btw look at Norway and it’s wealth because of the oil. Norway would be nothing without it and its now a very well stable country.

• Scotland would not become “dirt poor”, at the moment Scotland pays more money to London via revenue than they recieve. Secondly its about political self determination, I am sure Scotland would remain part of the commonwealth and maintain strong economic links to the rest of the UK and Europe.

• @conor I’m not saying we’ve done a good job but hearing crap like we should never have left the UK is a joke.. Many men an women fought and gave their life’s so we the Irish people could choose our faith .. Our country is not even 100 years old yet were still young we’ve allot to learn .. Let’s not go running back to the UK just yet :-/

• wow wow wow, I just want to make it clear that never said that Ireland shouldnt have left the UK, I said that this idea of not needing the UK for anything is silly. We were battered by the UK, and we are a million times better off not with them. But we didnt get from the UK what Scotland have gotten and continue to get. They must know they benefit from being in the UK if they are still connected to them. I just think that they need to look at the economic facts of leaving the UK before jumping into it. We made silly decisions with regard to not accepting we needed the UK for certain things like special agreements with trade. I dont want people thinking that I think Ireland shouldnt have broken from the UK, we were right to do so. But as I said before, Scotland is completely different to Ireland.

• @amy my apologies after re-reading your comment I realise u never actually said we should never have left, just the wording implied such.. I agree with you Ireland should not have taken the stance it did to our closest neighbour in the early years of the state but I don’t think anyone would imagine that Scotland would take such a route, I’m sure they would become like Canada or Australia, queen still as the head of state but with complete power given to the Scottish people.

• Thank you for correcting your reading of my comment. Also, if they can manage to do a better job than us …. which wouldnt be hard to be honest …. then I say well done to them. It would be nice to see them independent and successful, I just personally dont think it will happen.

• Yes, maybe then they can take us back…..

• Aaron 14/01/12 #

No .

• Whats the point of this poll. Its really nobody business but the Scottish people. What the heck does it matter what any other nation thinks.

• It matters because Scotland is our sister nation with a shared culture. They are in the similar position Ireland was in at the start of the last century & deserve our support. So far we have only achieved independence for part of our nation, hopefully Alba can go the whole way.

• Yes and Europe a well, maybe join the Maldives

• That’s for the UK to decide. The English would be much better off without the burden of subsidising the Scottish economy, that’s for sure.

• I think Scotland is a net contributor to the UK.

• johnathan so ur sayin the english provide the scots wit everytn they need and they jus sit on their arses and do nutn ya big fool

• No, Phillip, those are your words. Read my post again and you will see I said no such thing, nor did I make any judgements of any people. I was referring to the subsidies that the Scottish government receives,that are provided, by force, by the English taxpayer. Those subsidies exist and the details are in the public domain.It was you that made judgements ans sunk to the level of insult rather than intelligent comment. Got out of bed the wrong side today, did you? The fact remains that the English tax payer would be much better off if he/she did not subsidise the Scots.

• Silly boy Jonathan you are forgetting to include North Sea Oil which is Scottish. When the Tories are on the take you don’t count plundering only tax versus expenditure. So yo are wrong my friend.

• I think Ireland should join UK, as before! Why not??!

• Has to be a “don’t know” from me. Although independence is a nice thing to have, is this really a good time to break away from a union that has economic benefits for them?
    It is definitely something that needs to be rigorously discussed between all parties involved. Unlike Ireland, Scotland have the ability now to claim their independence when they want it. Getting independence for the sake of being independent is not the right option if it is going to put them in a difficult place.

Add New Comment