TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Rape tape controversy: report recommends disciplinary proceedings against one garda

The investigation was undertaken after joke remarks about rape and deportation were made and recorded after the arrest of two Shell to Sea protesters. Garda Ombudsman notes that comments were not said directly to the arrested women.

A protest in support of the Corrib demonstrators outside the Dáil last year.
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

FIVE GARDAÍ AT the centre of the Corrib gas project ‘rape tape’ controversy have been cleared of serious wrongdoing but a recommendation that disciplinary proceedings be instituted against one garda has been made.

The Garda Síochána Ombudsman Commission (GSOC) has this afternoon published the final findings of its independent inquiry into the incident involving two arrested female Shell to Sea protesters and five gardaí.

The probe was initiated – in the public interest – last April by the GSOC after a recording was released in which several gardaí joked about threatening to rape and deport one of the two women arrested for public order offences near the controversial Corrib gas project in Mayo.

The incident occurred on 31 March last year when the five gardaí were travelling to Belmullet Garda Station in a separate vehicle to the two arrested protesters. The two women were detained following a ‘Shell to Sea’ demonstration against the pipeline at Erris.

Although clearing all five of criminal offences, the report has found against one garda in relation to the conversation at the centre of the investigation. He will most likely face disciplinary action but that decision will ultimately be made by Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan. A report has been prepared by the Ombudsman and sent to Callinan.

It is understood that he had an “active role” in the conversation but did not use the word ‘rape’ at any time. He has been identified as the man who made remarks about the Garda National Immigration Bureau and referred to the Rossport Solidarity Camp as “crusty”.

After interviewing all the passengers in the jeep, the GSOC concluded that two gardaí had no involvement whatsoever in the conversation. They were “simply present” when it took place, the report found.

A third was exonerated after giving a “plausible” explanation for whether or not he used the word ‘rape’ while in the vehicle. The recording was not entirely clear on this point, said the Ombudsman.

The report noted that “at no stage” were either of the females involved threatened directly with being raped or deported.

They did not hear the conversation at the time as it took place inside a garda jeep where the only persons present were  the  five  gardaí. The two females concerned  became aware of the alleged  conversation after the event, following their release and on reviewing the content of the camcorder that had been returned to them by gardaí.

There wasn’t actually a ‘tape’

The Ombudsman also clarified that “contrary to media reports at the time” there was never actually any tape of the alleged conversation. The recording was accidentally captured digitally on a “non-removable hard-drive housed inside a camcorder”.

According to the report, there was a difficulty in taking possession of the device in the days following the alleged conversation. First, it was held by a solicitor for Ms A and then it was taken back by Maynooth University, which owns the recorder. Forensic attempts were successful in retrieving deleted files from the device when it was eventually obtained by the GSOC on 14 April. However, some overwritten files could not be saved in a viewable format.

The scientist’s report confirmed that a sequence of deletions from the device had taken place shortly prior to GSOC taking possession of the device.

On accessing the camera, the Ombudsman discovered that the files were deleted by academic staff at NUI Maynooth. One member of staff was interviewed as a result but it yielded “no information of significant evidential value”.

It was later claimed by those responsible for the deletion that the files deleted from the camcorder had no bearing on the investigation being conducted, that they related to confidential information obtained during the course of studies and that this was the reason they were deleted.

A sergeant’s right to silence

The Sergeant travelling in the marked jeep on the day was also found to have a disciplinary case to answer but he has since retired and is no longer subject to garda regulations.

Detailing the interviews held with the other gardaí caught on camera, the report said that “all four confirmed that the use of the word “rape” during this conversation was, at every stage, by their Sergeant and that it is his voice that can be heard on the recording talking of raping the females”.

According to the Ombudsman, the Sergeant “exercised his right to silence” and “largely gave a ‘no comment’ interview”. However, he did say that he had heard the word ‘rape’ used at the scene by someone while the arrests were being made. He could not say who said it or whether the person was male or female.

An interim report last October exonerated all five gardaí of any criminal wrongdoing due to insufficient evidence to support a charge of Misconduct in Public Office contrary to Common Law “or any other offences that may be reasonably considered”.

The investigation has been criticised by several academics at the National University of Ireland (NUIM) who claim that one of the two female protesters, Jerrie Anne Sullivan, was portrayed as “the perpetrator, rather than the victim”.

Both women, referred to as Ms A and Ms B in today’s report, were released without charge on the day of the incident.

The Ombudsman Commission concluded its report by offering assurances that its investigations are conducted in an independent manner “in the public interest”.

Read: the full GSOC report and findings into the incident>

In full: Transcript of the Corrib rape ‘tape’

More: Gardaí claim Corrib protesters discussed rape prior to taped remarks>

Read next:

Comments (59 Comments)

• As disgusting a comment as those were, they were said in jest, and, as a society, if we punish these men, then mrs Doyle and the other two middle aged “celebs” that appeared on sat night show a few weeks back should face equal descent for saying on live tv theyd like to put Bessie in a cage and just ride him when they see fit. Equally as demeaning.

• I would hazard a guess that an entertainer and a police officer have slightly different jobs and therefore the definition of what constitutes “professionalism” for them will differ slightly.

• Don’t be ridiculous. It’s completely different. The people that women who have been raped are supposed to turn to for help and protection are not comedians. These men are supposed to represent a moral authority. What kind of message are they sending to the men and children of this country? That rape is a joke? That’s not good enough I’m afraid.

• I appreciate what you’re saying Diarmaid, I have a pretty sick sense of humour myself, but I would expect the Gardaí to have strict standards of professional behaviour, especially when entrusted with the kinds of power that they have, and I think this kind of behaviour betrays something about the attitude of these gards both to protesters and to women. They should be disciplined.

• Rob 24/04/12 #

@Anne – surely then you think the guards should have a considerable pay increase in this case? to fund their ivory tower??

• Don’t get me wrong. I’m sitting squarely on the fence here. An absolute disgrace using that language and more reprehensible because as you say they were guards. I am merely trying to highlight the wider issue of the equality issue being highjacked to actually create inequality. Prob off point too much to be fair.

• I would agree with you about most things, but it does seem that there should be a higher standard for gardai, particularly when they’re on duty. I know hearing this would make me feel more unsure about reporting a rape. So while the jokes are equally in bad taste, there’s a time and a place, you know? At the end of the day, if you’re someone who’s going to be dealing with vulnerable people, you do need to be a bit more sensitive about what you say and garda professional standards should reflect that.

• What the guard said was and must be taking in context here, he said it inside the patrol car in private and amongst people who work closely together daily who had just had to deal with the women involved and no doubt found her claims about not feeling save to get into the patrol car with male Guard as comical for why or in what reality would the officers actually attack or threaten this woman?
      You can clearly hea from the recording the tone of the conversation that they had their hands full with them and they were no doubt a thorn in their sides up to this point so the offending comment was really only playing on the woman’s attitude towards them, and having an joke to her previous remark.
      Rape being the unspeakable subject that it is, it isn’t surprising that such a storm has been made over it to take a dig at guards and make this officer out to be some vile creature, when if the woman hadn’t made those claims and a fuzz about going to the station in a different car he would never have had the material to make such a joke which was in jest. after all

• Why did the women when being arrested make outlandish allegations that they were going to be raped? Surely this underminds true victims of all sexual crimes who have such a hard time coming forward and reporting what has happened them. If these unfounded allegations (which were made in front of several different witnesses including female gardai) were never made would the 5 male gardai have joked about it?

• “Why did the women when being arrested make outlandish allegations that they were going to be raped? Surely this underminds true victims of all sexual crimes who have such a hard time coming forward and reporting what has happened them. If these unfounded allegations (which were made in front of several different witnesses including female gardai) were never made would the 5 male gardai have joked about it?”

This never happened. Both RTE and Independent Newspaper reported that this did happen, but both where forced to retract this and run apologies to the women. RTE did it on air before 6 and 9 o clock news. Todays report from GSOC confirms that this is completely unsubstantiated.

Nice name BTW that exactly the statement that Sgt James Gill made to GSOC. “No Comment”

• They had to apologise in relation to the claims about deletion of files and making them out to be offenders not victims. Believe it or not this doesn’t mean they didn’t make those claims when arrested. They also refused to cooperate with investigation with Ombudsman, why?

• http://vimeo.com/21952231

The start of this video includes the actual arrest, and the repeated assertion that one of the women wouldn’t be safe if she was taken away by the Gardaí.

• Why does the video not show the protest, the climbing on the tractor, the approach of the gardai and the initial conversation? Is it because one of the protesters mentions “rape”?

• @Bingo Bus
      The arrest happened as the two women where walking a;long the side of the road, not on top of a tractor. There was no protest happening at the time. The women where arrested and released without charge. You seem to be referring to a you tube video shown by Jim Cusack as related to this arrest. It wasnt related to this arrest.

@NoComment
      One woman had several interviews and did cooperate. Another was out of the country. Sgt Gill the most senior cop just offered “no comment” throughout the investigation – as is his right of course.
      However I think its fair to say that people have little faith in GSOC when it comes to investigations of policing in Corrib. Only one police officer has ever been subject of a request for sanction by GSOC. That request went to the Garda commissioner. At that time the Garda commissioner refused to bring any sanction to the Garda concerned (Inspector Gannon now based in Pearce Street). I imagine lots of people will be waiting to see if the same thing happens here, ie no actions taken.

@Paul Yes people arrested in Corrib have repeatedly faced violence, beatings and police abuse and no one ever is held to account. Thats why they dont feel safe. Thats probably why they say it.

• @mark for your attention, sound quality isn’t great but I think you can here a female voice say the word rape twice, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GLW_qKZTtc8

• To be honest, I’m not at all familiar with the protests, but from what I’ve gathered from articles and comments, she stated that she was uncomfortable getting in the car alone with a male garda in case in he raped her? To me, my first instinct was, “maybe she’s a rape survivor” because a lot of survivors are very uncomfortable being alone with men.

I don’t know, but the thing is, the garda probably don’t know either. And for a lot of reasons, some of which being that the garda don’t always handle sexual assault cases as sensitively as they could (obviously I’m generalising – I’m sure some are good, a lot are ok, some are horrible). It’s broader than these particular comments and now that these comments have come out, it’s really important that the garda seem to be taking it seriously. There needs to be a sense conveyed to the public that women can come forward with rape complaints and this just really sets public confidence back.

• No one can seriously defend what was said by these men. More is expected from people who have powers conferred on them. However, no one was threatened and no one came to any actual harm. The men concerned did not commit a crime. What is in it for the Garda ombudsman to cover up wrongdoing?

• Can’t even crack a joke nowadays without the PC brigade going crazy at you

• if you were held prisoner in a van and discovered the gang of men who had grabbed you were ‘joking’ about raping you to force you to talk you might also fail to see the funny side. But sure call anything PC these days and its OK to come out with all sorts of reactionary rubbish in response

• I read that the only people who faced prosecution over this thing were one of the women and some lecturers. No gardai. Bizarre. It looks like the Garda Ombudsman investigation was more about PR and about protecting guards than anything else. The women’s details were leaked to journalists within days of the story breaking in April 2011; the Garda Ombudsman “briefed against” the women; and their Interim Report last July was very misleading and it undermined the credibility of the women. Good article about it here:
      ‘Masterclass in spin by Garda Ombudsman’
      http://www.villagemagazine.ie/index.php/2012/03/gardaombudsman/

• David if Fine Gael let you down there’s always a place for you at the Daily Mail

• And I think your statement should have read “Can’t even crack a joke (about rape) nowadays (while forcibly detaining women) without the PC brigade going crazy at you”; it’s a world gone mad eh?

• Ah yes, the PC brigade… /facepalm
      You know what? Dara O’Briain explains what’s wrong with this a hell of a lot better than I could: http://bit.ly/IkJSNx

• So in the past week, we’ve learned that if your a Garda or an ex Garda, you can lie during an investigation. Conspire to rape someone and if your a really UNLUCKY Garda. You can drive uninsured, run a person over and kill them in a non road worthy vehicle, without road tax or full licence! AND GET A FINE!!! Who said Garda investigations, whether done internally or by the “INDEPENDENT” Garda ombudsman weren’t impartial and fair?

• But you said it in public

• There is a full investigation published earlier this month into GSOC behavior into the run up of Interim report for online reading or download found here http://scr.bi/HqTl5m The publication of this report is what triggered the release today, and read together you can clearly see the relationship. Well worth the read to help people understand some of the machinations that tend not to make into the papers.

Unlike the GSOC report it includes substantive statements from those involved.

• I’m not a Garda hater, far from it in fact. I think they are undermanned and under resourced for the job they do, but they seen to think they can do what ever they want up at the Corrib gas project. I have been prevented from photographing Garda actions up there in several occasions. I have produced my NUJ card only to receive geers even from senior officers. This is Ireland not China lads.

• I’m surprised by the comments that people make about this. Whatever their attitude towards protesters, members of the guards should not be joking about rape, whether on duty, in the pub, or even at home! It’s completely inappropriate. Rape is horrible and the fact that it is joked about at all is just not cool. In fact, it shows a huge disrespect towards women in general!

• It would be a greater shock if they were found guilty.

• What would happen if a man walked up to a female Garda and said these comments?

• Good point, but no one actual said the comments to anyone, the women in question weren’t present

• The comments weren’t made to the women. And if you want to see some sexual aggression directed towards female Gardaí then look up the Galway ragweek video on youtube.

• Gerard 24/04/12 #

Men say this to female guards all the time but the female guards have to let it go because as I have heard many judges say “you are expected to receive these kind of remarks because of the nature of your job”. I’ve also heard guards being called racists and having their families lives threatened regularly and again they must accept that it “comes with the job”.

• Id forgotten about that Sean, excellent point, most people would see that as just ‘fun’ not taking into account that Gardaí are actually human beings behind it all

• Yea I was thinking watching that video, if a hundred male gardai surrounded a student and chanted like that, would it be such a laugh?

• The response to the GSOC interim report released by Shell to Sea is well worth reading to put this report into context. Quite a number of things that appeared in the interim report have been quietly dropped from this final version. There is a copy of it at http://www.wsm.ie/c/shell-sea-garda-ombudsman-spin-misinformation

• The transcript doesn’t mention anywhere that rape was used to ‘force them to talk’… Check your facts, it’s you that’s being overreactive

• @Jason
      What Workers’ SOlidarity said – ‘joking’ about raping you to force you to talk — is true. Admittedly it’s a little ambiguous when phrased like that. The Sergeant and colleagues were saying “Give me your name and address or I’ll rape you” in an imaginary conversation with arrested women. (The women were not present for this).

• Cynic 24/04/12 #

The “workers solidarity” would be a lot better off (and maybe even get some support) if they supported the right of workers to get jobs in Mayo with Shell or anyone else instead of backing the usual rent a crowd hippies, who I doubt have contributed one red cent to running of this country.

• The GSOC need to be put out fast and 12 members of the public put in place to find the truth… The GSOC are the same as the old Garda Complains board they are just under a new name!.

• Well well well.,…..isn’t he blessed he conveniently retired before all the shit hit the fan……”The Sergeant travelling in the marked jeep on the day was also found to have a disciplinary case to answer but he has since retired and is no longer subject to garda regulations.”

• my post was deleted.

I’ll admit I’m no Mark Twain, but I’d have thought the satire of the post would have been apparent to anyone.

• “How many of you that have commented on this story have had direct dealings with the Garda Ombudsman Commission” ??? … “If you answer NO DEALINGS With then then You Don’t have a clue what you are talking about….. Unlike Myself I have wasted 4 years of my life on those losers…… But I’m happy now won my case no thanks to the GSOC lol lol lol hehaheha

• Yeah the GSOC are afraid to step the cops toes… The Gardai call the shots not the GSOC after all they are the Law Of The Land!

• “look the Garda Ombudsman Commission Are Only Smoke Screens For The Gardai … An Injustice Any Were Is A Threat To Justice Every Where!

Add New Comment