TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

READ: Transcript of the Corrib rape ‘tape’

Garda Ombdusman report’s transcription of the words used by gardai in relation to female protestors.

Sinn Féin's Jonathan O'Brien, on 5 April 2011, holds memory stick which was said to contain the audio of gardai joking about rape and deportation in relation to Corrib protestors.
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

THE FOLLOWING IS what the Garda Ombudsman describes as an “approximate transcript” of the audio recording which caused the controversy.

The Garda Ombudsman report, published this lunchtime, has said that the audio should not technically be described as a ‘tape’ as the recording was caught on a “non-removable hard-drive housed inside the camcorder device”. The remarks were not made in front of the two women protestors who were arrested by gardai, the report said.

The recording was accidentally made when the camcorder was taken from one of the women during her arrest. (This is the audio which Dublin Shell to Sea posted on its Vimeo account a year ago – it is not known if this is an uninterrupted recording of all events from the arrest onwards.)

The garda put the camcorder in his pocket and this device had been left in record mode “unknown to the garda concerned who then returned to a Garda vehicle where he joined a number of his colleagues”. The conversation during which the remarks were made happened in the Garda jeep with a sergeant and four gardai present. The report says:

The two females concerned  became aware of the alleged  conversation after the event, following their release and on reviewing the content of the camcorder that had been returned to them by gardaí.

THE TRANSCRIPT:

Sgt. A “Who is them two lassies  – do you know the two of them?”

Garda B “I don’t know the second one, the first one is (refers to  Ms. A) with blonde hair”.

Garda C “She was up on the tractor earlier on”.

Sgt. A “It’d do no harm to get the second one’s name again”.

Garda B “She’s some Yank. I don’t know who the fuck she is”.

Garda C “Is she a Yank?”

Garda B “It sounds like it, it sounds like it, the accent anyway”.

Garda D “Sounds like a Yank or Canadian”.

Garda B “Well whoever, we’ll get Immigration fucking on her”.

Sgt. A “She refused to give her name and address and told she would be arrested”.

Garda B “And deported”.

Sgt. A “And raped”.

Garda B “I wouldn’t go that far yet, she was living down at that crusty camp, fuck’s sake, you never know what you might get”.

Laughter

Sgt. A “Give me your name and address or I’ll rape you”.

Garda C “Hold it there, give me your name and address, there, I’ll Facebook you”.

Laughter

Sgt. A “Or I’ll definitely rape you”.

Garda C “Will you be me friend on Facebook?”

Rape tape controversy: Report recommends disciplinary action against one garda>

Read: The full Garda Ombudsman report on the Corrib rape ‘tape’ accusations>

Read next:

Comments (61 Comments)

• Silly comments. Gang of lads trying to be funny amongst themselves. Does anybody seriously think they had intentions to rape? NO. The comments were amongst themselves and no matter how inappropriate were between themselves. I’ve worked in frontline services and dealt with horrendous situations ( I’m not a guard) I’ve known the most effective and humane individuals make ” black comic ” remarks that were the polar opposite to their professional approach when working. Sometimes it’s just blowing off steam in what are stressful occupations. Personally I think this was brought to the publics attention, not out of an abhorrence of rape but used as a publicity stunt for their cause.

• Why did you not publish the part where one of the two women when being taken off the tractor when arrested started shouting ‘stop rapping me’? There were several witnesses to this including female Gardai. This I can only presume lead to the conversation in the patrol car, that her claims when being arrested were so outlandish that the Gardai joked about it, in private.

This was reported in the Independant a number of months ago, inculding the fact that the recording had been altered 7 times (including the deletion of files) between the time it was handed back to owners and when the PSNI examined it.

It was also reported when it was found to have been and this was brought to the attention of the complaints they denied altering the recording and refused to cooperate with the ombudsmans investigation

• The script for a Savage Eye sketch.

• silly comments by the guards but as pointed out, the tapes were edited.
    its not like this was said to the woman either it was just the guards there.

look at any of the sensationalist videos these guys do, the walk up to the guards and start shoving them and when the guards retaliate they pull the camera out and start shouting that they are being assaulted.

• Anyone else laugh at this or was it just me?

• People always joke about awful things. This whole joke revolves around how awful rape is. The point of the joke is that raping someone for not telling you their name would be an extreme overreaction.

If anyone is taking rape lightly, it’s the protestor who appeared on the front page of the independent talking about her “rape hell.” People who have been raped go through a “rape hell.” People who live in genuine fear of being raped could well be experiencing a “rape hell.” People who are falsely accused of rape could be said to undergo a “rape hell”. People who electronically eavesdrop on conversations and overhear, after the fact, a joke about rape do NOT experience a “rape hell.” There was no way anyone could honestly construe a threat of rape from this.

So why did he say ‘rape’ and not ‘kill’ (which wouldn’t provoke nearly as much fuss)? Because the women themselves brought it up! He was referring to her ridiculous assertions during the arrest. I can’t believe this needs to be explained.

This is taking rape lightly http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GLW_qKZTtc8

• I wonder if Sinn Fein have a memory stick somewhere with the location of the missing IRA murder victims somewhere, would be more in their line

• Moronic comment in fairness.

Any opportunity to crack the ol “I hate sf whip” wha!

• Well if you think it’s moronic to question why families are being put through pain over missing loved ones that’s your prerogative, I believe it to be a relevant question. It’s not about cracking any whip, SF would be better served finalising the cleaning of their own house before sticking their beaks into other matters whilst claiming to be the moral and righteous party of the people, that’s what’s moronic.

• Yeah Richie or Where that 50K REALLY went, I trust Sinn Fein as much as I trust that Palestinian alarm clock from family guy

• I think he means its moronic because its nothing got to do with the story.

• When the picture leading the story is a bunch of Sinn Fein TD’s brandishing a memory stick it’s hard not to make, what I believe is, a relevant comment on it

• My occupation is irrelevant to you just as yours is to me, irregardless of occupation we all have our opinions and are entitled to them. Sinn Fein along with others jumped in the minute this story broke, they are a political party so by extension when political party’s become involved it is a political issue as further highlighted by debate and questions in the Dail over the matter, that’s what makes it a political matter not my comments. Sinn Fein did not wait for an enquiry to be completed and a report furnished to cast judgement, others like them or not, did not comment in light of an enquiry being undertaken and will most likely do so now. They remained silent out of proper procedure, that is the least I would expect

• Richie, to be fair SF made their stance on the Corrib Gas line clear from the very very outset, a full 2 years before this incident occurred, but i am sure that you know this already. But way to go, trying to use the art of distraction to go off topic. I cant believe anyone would try and defend the comments that were recorded by the Gardai in question. I hope no female member of your family ends up being the subject of such comments.

• I am not going off topic nor am I defending, I believe the comments were wrong and an apology was justified and forthcoming as I stated in a previous comment, however I do not belief the intent of those concerned was to cause harm or distress or to belittle the subject of rape. The photograph is part of this article, I have commented on it, that is not going off topic. I am glad to see that you have somewhat calmed down after your last attempted comment, you may attempt to distract from issues if you wish, I have distracted from nothing.

• Richie, for the record, your suggestion that SF TDs know where the disappeared are buried is extremely libelous and may result in some members of that party taking action in response. I think its incredible that Journal.ie has left that comment up for this length of time.

• I never mentioned Sinn Fein TD’S knowing anything, where did I say that?? You referenced Sinn Fein TD’S not me

• Richie read your comments…. You just mention SF in your first comment then you talk about SF TD’s in the photo that prompted you to make your very incriminating comment. Are you confused?

• Eh no not confused at all but thank you for asking

• Dead sound comment; what are you afraid of, Kieran O’Hare?

Bad publicity for the killers?

• I find peoples’ attitude really surprising over this. Obviously there are many people out there with barely a brain cell to bounce between them. For a Guard to make jokes about rape is, in my opinion, completely unacceptable, no matter what the woman had said to provoke him.

I am not anti-gardai. I know some garda quite well and the ones I know are just sound people going about their job as best they can. In fact, they are just the type of people you’d want in a position of responsibility in a community. I think these fellas have really let their colleagues down as people will have less respect for the whole establishment as a result.

• Daniel R 25/04/12 #

Seems to me to be just black humoured banter between guards who were probably bored out if their wits. It’s often the case that people find it funny when someone makes a comment/joke that they find outrageous and in real life matters would abhor. When you watch any comedian say something homophobic or racist the natural instinct is to laugh because it’s a ‘can’t believe they said that’ moment. Therefore it’s a good thing these guards were laughing about it. If there was no laughter I’d be worried.

• Garda or not what a stupid fxxxxxg comment for an adult to make. The fact that they are Garda makes it shocking. They have to deal with rape victims. They also know that the majority of rape goes unreported and no wonder when f##* knuckles like this wear a uniform

• Rednecks vs morons

• I’ll second that. The impression I’m getting is that the majority of people out there are completely ill-educated and moronic with no regard for anyone or anything beyond their own limited self-interests.
      Feminism doesn’t have to mean an end to basic chivalry, respect and simple good manners.
      What has happened to this country that we have become so harsh and insensitive?

• Sums the whole thing up perfectly, Emsy.

• I wonder will nirvana be played at the xmas party???!!!!

• The Garda who repeatedly says rape deserves to lose his job. He has no right being a public servant after those heinous comments.

The same would apply to anyone working in the private sector.

• So, Jason, you casually joke about raping somebody if they mildly piss you off?
    Good man yourself.

• I casually mention that I’ll like to kill someone on occasion, doesnt mean ill do it….rape is a word mate and is only offensive and wrong when said in the wrong context either directly to someone or about someone, in my view this was said in a private capacity in the form of their humour when the door was opened by the girls who mentioned the actual rape word first…

• @Janson bourne

These two women are two human beings and deserve respect. They are also someone’s daughters, no matter what age they are. Whether their conversation was supposedly private or not, it is still awful to hear, terrible carry on. They sound like two backward, illeducated, gombeen mountain men from the stone age. God help us, if that is what the Department of Justice is training to be my gardai.

It is clear to me that you are ignorant of the right and respect of others. If you found out that they were talking like that about your sister, wife, mother, would your attitude be different. It is totally irresponsible and huge lack of judgement.

• Tell you what Sheila the Gardai deserve respect too, Gardai are also someones sons and daughters yet they get abused, assaulted and at times even killed doing their duty. They get accused of being biased, useless, arrogant, etc irregardless of being right or wrong and even when they perform something heroic or above the call of duty they are criticised. The comments were ill judged and should not have been made but they were made in private as comments like that are made by people everywhere on a daily basis and whether you accept that or not it’s the truth.

• Ritchie, you can put your head in the sand and pretend there are not bad apples in the Gardai. I for one, would be totally disgusted and alarmed if i heard an A&E worker (who also risk life and limb every night) make similar remarks about raping a patient (jokingly or otherwise). All the Gardai in this case, at a minimum should have received unpaid suspensions, and barred from dealing with any actual rape victims, until such times as they received the appropriate level of training, as it is blindingly obvious, these idiots have zero empathy with real rape victims, While saying all that, i would not like to see anyone lose their job over a display of immature, testosterone driven behaviors, if those behaviors are punished in such a way as not to encourage repeats in the future. I am disappointed that a supposed impartial ombudsman did not see a similar level of response as appropriate.

• And where did I say there were no bad apples in the Gardai?? What part of my comment suggests that is my opinion?? There are bad apples and they have most often been weeded out and brought before the courts where necessary by Gardai. I stated the comments were incorrect and should not have been made by those concerned, an apology was made and warranted. There is no evidence to suggest that the comments represented the real views of those concerned or represented how they carry out their duty, they were made in private in the belief that they would remain as such. That is not a defence of the comments being made just a fact, there are bad apples in An Garda Siochana like there are in every job but these Gardai are not bad apples they made a mistake and an independent investigation body has now ruled.

• @Richie Quigley

I stand by what I said. To read and also to listen to that recording is just awful. What I found worst of all was that it was a sargent that said most of the insulting remarks. He should know better, I am sure he is older and more experienced than the young garda that was in the car at the time. Whether it was said privately or not it is still a very sensitive subject and sadly it was heard by the public. I worked with the public for many years. Many times I have been called awful, disgusting names money thrown at me, spat at and many other awful things, but I held my voice and opinion and never disrespected them, because that was the job I was in “customer services”! If one of the two ladies said something wrong the day before when been pulled down off a tractor, that was said during a protest/riot. Yes, it was silly of her and wrong. But you, the gardai should show more restraint and maturity when dealing with the public.

I did not disagree with the outcome of the enquiry. What’s done is done. I would hope they have learned a good lesson and it never happens again. I am quite well aware of the dangers the gardai meet every day from horrible violent individuals. I am on your side. So cool it, I am just giving my opinion, which I am entitled to and so are you.

• Muppets they should be punished and these idiots are the guardians of the state god help us

• Vincent Brown on his show after that irish men say and I quote”I would love to rape her” and the rape crises did nothing or the broadcasters or media generally so it must be acceptable.

• I can’t believe just because they are Gardaí the masses are flocking to their defense, grow up people and grow a pair or are you afraid of a speeding ticket…….

• Is this not a scene from The Guard??? Nuts…the quality ( or lack of ) our police force makes my mind boggle.

• That is shocking.

• A private conversation is shocking … U lead a sheltered life… So what if their cops, their human first and foremost

• I agree that it is shocking when read like this but Did I read last year that the two women refused to go in separate guards cars because as they put it, they would be raped, this is why the guards commented on it in such a manner. All this seems to be taken a bit out of context.

• alan 24/04/12 #

you are right. it doesn’t matter whether they are guards or not. surely. the point is that anyone with common humanity or a sense of decency wouldn’t make comments like this?

• mart_n 24/04/12 #

Jason, if you were overheard saying stuff like that in any other professional capacity you’d rightly be reprimanded for it. The fact that it was said in private is moot. It’s no longer ‘private’. Their own ineptitude saw to that.

Seriously, whatever about what they said. How stupid were they to not even check that the camera wasn’t recording at the time? They obviously never even checked the recording for possible evidence afterwards. It doesn’t say much for them. They come across as being thick as shit.

• That’s embarrassing!!!!!

• Shocking not , t.b.h you would probably hear a lot worse in a boys secondary schoolyard, grow up and wake up this is kids stuff !!!!!

• I never joked about raping someone in a private conversation. The facebooking thing is funny, and of no harm – but the one Garda mentions rape repeatedly. I don’t think any of the other Gardaí even wanted to entertain it, that’s why they said nothing regarding rape.

• Dont see Sinn Fein having anything extra to add anymore about Mr ink cartridge Anus O Snotrag anymore these idiots are a joke looking all serious over nothing when one their own is a real culprit,get real

• I thought they actually said these comments to the women themselves no?
    Anyway it doesn’t reflect well on the guards who used that language whether in private or not.

• @ Chuck. I like a lot of George Carlins material, it does not mean I have to agree with him on everything

• All those useless guards should be sacked without pension or other entitlement! Facebook that!

Add New Comment