TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Column: Fianna Fáil renewed? No, the optics tell a different story

The party of Cowen and Coughlan may have apologised – but they don’t seem to have got the point, writes Philip O’Connor.

Philip O'Connor

“THERE IS NO other Troy/For me to burn”, sang a young, angry Sinéad O’Connor back in the day.

If she’d been watching the born-again fervour at the RDS last night, where Fianna Fáil were attempting to once again smear a little lipstick on the pig of their failed politics, she would have found one.

Robert Troy blew hard in the trumpet, and then he was there – the man who apparently only arrived in Ireland a year ago, and had nothing to do with its ruination – Micheál Martin.

No doubt Martin believes he spoke bravely as he forked his tongue around an apology that was – in contrast to RTÉ’s reporting – anything other than unequivocal.

In fact, the apology started with equivocation:

It’s not enough to point to the worst world recession in 80 years and the Eurozone crisis.  Nor to point to the fact that other parties were demanding policies which would have made things worse.

It’s worth pointing out that Ireland’s troubles are not a result of the Eurozone crisis- we are in fact the cause of a great deal of it. And for that, the blame lies one thousand percent with Martin and the rest of his Fianna Fáil spivs, who were – lest we forget – in power at the time.

He continues to perpetuate one of Bertie’s many, many lies. Nothing has changed.

But for all his bluster, his attempt to regain the high ground of Republicanism from Sinn Féin was probably the most laughable – here was the party that sold this country down the river, throwing away our hard-won sovreignty, claiming to be Republicans?

If Tony McCoy’s undercarriage is ever damaged beyond repair, he can transplant Martin’s neck as fine replacement.

But if the laughter in a million living rooms wasn’t enough, the optics were the most damning.

‘This crisis is something that just happened to them’

Every time Martin spoke of pride and achievement and of a new kind of politics, the camera panned to the Soldiers of Destiny who were the architects of our national downfall – Cowen, Coughlan and the spineless goons that kept them in power, not to mention Martin himself.

Not only that – the party faithful actually applauded them. It would appear the party faithful are also at least partly mad.

As the recent interview with the despicable Mary Hanafin has proved, nothing in Fianna Fáil has changed – not their policies, not their leadership, not their sense that they did nothing wrong.

This crisis is something that just happened to them. They consider themselves to be desperately unlucky, rather than grossly inept and fantastically corrupt.

What they should have done was to go around to the other side of the RDS, where a careers fair was taking place.

There, they would have met the thousands desperate for a better future – any future – now forced to leave the country because of the catastrophic greed and failure of Fianna Fáil.

There, they could have prostrated themselves before those who are the true victims of this crisis- not themselves, as they would have you believe.

And there, they could have given the greatest apology of all, which would be to close down their corrupt, cancerous party and start anew.

That would have been an apology worth making.

This article first appeared on Philip’s blog, Ourmaninstockholm: Irishman’s reflections from Sweden. Philip’s book about the travails of playing GAA in Sweden, A Parish Far From Home, is published by Gill & Macmillan with a foreword by Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh.

More: Micheál Martin apologises for Fianna Fáil’s mistakes>

Read next:

Comments (140 Comments)

• Taca men , tighten your belts mohair shirts golden circles Galway tents beef tribunals planning corruption Mahon tribunal lawlor on make Burke on the take Bertie won it on a horse and the flynns have too many houses to look after. Cowen Raoch and co ride off into the sunset with golden benchmarked pensions while every other mothers son takes the boat

• Ciaro 04/03/12 #

The bank guarantee transferred bank debt from the private banks to the taxpayer. This is the only decision worth talking about as it amounts to treason.
    I don’t think it was a mistake, instead I believe it was a deliberate act designed to protect Fianna fails cronies; bankers, builders, politicians and senior civil servants.
    Article 39:
    Treason shall consist only in levying war against the State, or assisting any State or person or inciting or conspiring with any person to levy war against the State, or attempting by force of arms or other violent means to overthrow the organs of government established by this Constitution, or taking part or being concerned in or inciting or conspiring with any person to make or to take part or be concerned in any such attempt.

Maybe those TDs who are against the household charge should instead put together a crave of treason against cowen et al, it would be interesting.

• Hear, hear!

• A six-word sentence would have sufficed for the article:
    “A standing ovation for Brian Cowen.”

• It’s their arrogance and effrontery that get me the most, a complete lack of humility. There’s Bertie smiling away and Cowen getting a standing ovation. Had they really changed I don’t think these toxic relics would have been there at all. Instead they were celebrated and cherished.

Fianna Fáil are the greatest bunch of con-men and fraudsters to ever grace god’s green earth, they make The Mafia look like a Sunday school group. Haughey, we’ll never forget your theft from the people of Ireland. Bertie and Cowen, I could be here all night listing your misdeeds and lack of empathy.

• for your information Charles j never took from the taxpayer his lavish lifestyle was funded by the bankers in AIB…. Mr haughey was one of our greatest leaders and did a lot of good for this country…. so a bit of respect please

• @Martin: The Irish taxpayer bailed out AIB for the first time in 1984 as it was about to collapse, the same bank that forgave Haughey a whopping overdraft, so effectively he stole from the Irish taxpayer. I take it your attitude is the typical Fianna Fáil ‘he was a corrupt and morally bankrupt man who lacked empathy with the Irish people but he gave the pensioners the free bus pass so it’s okay then’ attitude’. It is worrying that this is your measure of a great man, that this is your measure of a hero.

I’ve shown Haughey the respect that he deserves – absolutely none whatsoever.

• @Martin HAHAHAHAHA!

Show us that photo of CJ on the yacht again.

Brainwashed much?

• Any good that Haughey did was far outweighed by the bad. He was a crook, pure and simple.

• Yeah Martin… it’s always someone else!…sweet sufferin’ jesus cop on to yourself.

•  haughey is dead and gone and fine fail are the fools to carry it on . . . . . It is time to making heroes out of these traitors….. Fine Fail,Fine Gael,Labour,Greens etc etc etc

• Oops meant to ” stop making heroes of these traitors”

• Reg 05/03/12 #

Martin O Donnell you poor deluded fool. Bertie Ahern was signing blank cheques for Haughey that were drawn on the party leaders fund and used to fund personal expenses. Corruption doesn’t begin to describe it.

• A standing ovation for Brian Cowen? These people are lunatics!

• Great article. Straight to the point. These people are still living in a different realm or else they take the Irish people to be a complete shower of eeijits

• 2 FF delegates sang “Cheerio Cheerio” to the work Expo que after some one shouted that FF should b ashamed of themselves

There is no redeeming facets to that parties members.

• Typical FF attitude, sure aren’t they ‘The Emigration’ party? Did they care in the 30s? Did they care in the 50s? Did they care in the 80s? No; no they did not. Why then would they care now. Didn’t Saint Brian Lenihan say himself that ultimately some people would have to go.

• Wow !
    A story not censored by the journal-police !!

What a wonderful and direct analysis of the destruction caused by the troupe of clowns.

I watched none of it, and am stunned that Ahern had the neck to show up, and simply cannot believe that Clown, oops…Cowen was there.
    …and true to their form he gets a standing ovation reminisent of the welcome charlie use to get from the knuckle-draggers all those years ago

• Take a look at the smug Cowen, surrounded by the faithful. Talk about a pig in clover.

• Reg 04/03/12 #

It seems that these guys don’t do humility.

• OK, for slow learners…. FF/FG/Labour BAD and anyone else…. possibly good… let me re-emphasise the point….. for the last 90 odd years, we have trusted this shower of self-serving (tax free payments into their bank accounts on top of their exorbitant pensions (whether in office or not) exorbitant ministerial salaries, expenenses, back handers, etc ….. I(f you complain about what they are doing to our country, then dont keep voting them back in… dont even give them a preference vote. Its your choice…. If you complain after the horse has bolted… then its your own fault, and go see a doctor!

• Cal……..heloooooooo…Cal?
      There were over six hundred thousand bogus non resident bank accounts in the Republic at the height of that particular issue.
      What do you think that says of the moral fibre within Society in general?
      Do you not think there must be a naughty gene within the Celt that just wants to be dishonest and corrupt and corruptible.
      Please don’t get me started on printing ink as well!

• hrar hear, Cal
      Well said .

• Let them all burn especially Cowan who sat like a fat pig through out the 15 years and then finally buried the country in the joke on us that was the “bank guarantee scheme”!!! When do they go to prison?

• I enjoyed the article, it was passionate and I share it’s sentiment.

• Brilliant analysis of the treachery imposed upon the Irish people by this Fianna Fail party.Still they will not apologise or acknowledge that they are responsible for the heartache and misery that has visited the households of Ireland.Our screams are drowned out by their own rhetoric and self applause.

• 60 miles across the water as an MP this shower would all be in H.M strangeways doing hard time. If you rob a pencil in the UK as a public rep your named and shamed . Over here your lauded and you sue the state in return. Corrupt kip

• True

• Hey twinkle toes, dont go lording it up on a System thats economically raped us over 800 years. They laid the Foundation Stones for their thieves, and that Day will come.

• No, Cupid’s Daughter. It was the post-1916 Sinn Fein movement that raped us. They promised that “England’s difficulty was Ireland’s opportunity”. Instead, they copperfastened partition, they turned the southern Irish state into a bog Catholic state, where canon law took precedence over the law of the state. The economy seized up until about 1960 as we dropped from being one of the wealthiest regions in Western Europe to one of the poorest. The physical force Republicans who took part in the 1916 rising were fraudsters. Today, their descendants turn their hate towards Merkozy and France and Germany. As it becomes convenient, they’ll find another external actor to blame. Anyone but ourselves. Meantime, our politicians milk the system on the basis of “Ah, sure, isn’t being a selfless public representative such a hard job. We need be paid extra for our labours”. We are hemorrhaging our young to emigration as much as any time since the foundation of the state. England’s difficulty has turned out to be …..Canada’s opportunity or Australia’s as they gladly take our skilled young in. Fine Gael and Labour are bad, I grant you. Fianna Fail, the Independents and Sinn Fein are worse. Vote YES for the fiscal compact.

• As a member of the Cabinet Mr. Martin served under Brian Cowen and bears particular personal responsibility for the way that Fianna Fail destroyed the economy while self immolating in the following General Election . He became Leader because there was nobody else. Does Dev Og not understand that or is he intellectually challenged!

• It’s a wonder Seanie Fitz wasn’t a guest speaker

• It’s only the “worst world recession in 80 yrs” because of the policies of deregulation of financial systems in the US, UK, and EU. These same policies are the policies that FF followed.

The most worrying thing about FF is that they just don’t seem to get it.

• Ironic that’s taking place in the same place as the job expo.

• spot on conor can you believe a standing ovation for cowen a man that history will view this mans actions along side cromwell for the scale of utter destruction he caused personally against the people of this country .but in little ol corrupt ireland he gets a standing ovation instead of a jail cell ,

• terry 04/03/12 #

I completely agree with this they don’t seem to get it they must live in a bubble or perhaps the negative effects of the f f induced recession has not knocked on their door. F f was never a republican party like what have they ever done to promote a united Ireland nothing. I will never vote for these clowns again I hope most people feel the same and stick to their pledge we need to see the back of these jokers if they ever get back into power it makes a mockery of the injustice of the last five years.

• Very good Ryan ! This is better than soccer Sunday on Rte ! The sight of that weasel Cowen there lapping up the applause. Was Ivor ‘ the honourable ‘ callelly in attendance ?? The CAB could have done a lot worse than raid that convention yesterday . Classic in the papers today, Ahern driving a ‘modest 08 mondeo’ to the gym in the regency hotel. He got driving lessons. Sure he can well afford it , preaching to third world countries how to fuck up an economy. Great video by the way yesterday Ryan. Ahern at the Ard Fheis. All the old party faithfull shaking the criminals hand and backslapping . The man can’t look anyone in the eye

• Regarding Callely, I honestly don’t know Stephen, he was reported as intending to go, but I haven’t seen any mention of his presence there last night.

I’d imagine Bertie’s ’08 Ford is like Jackie Healy Rae’s battered fifteen year old Corolla-only gets taken out when he knows people will be watching.

• I didn’t notice Mary O ‘Rourke either or see her in any of the footage .
      Does anyone else know was she there ?

• It seems FF and their sheep like, blind members just still don’t get it.
    …And as long as they don’t, they will continue to lose!

GOOD!

• Well said Conor Kirwan.. You hit the nail on the head . in a different time these fraudsters would be hung for treason. .the sight of the ugly sisters hanafin and coughlan made it all the worse. Snakes of the worst kind god forgive me . On their(multiple) big pensions laughing away

• @Philip O ‘ Connor
    Well said and well written.
    eaxactly as how I sa it when I watched it last night .

• Ciaro 04/03/12 #

Martin O’Donnell, haughty used taxpayers money to but charvet shirts, that’s a fact.
    You will fit in well in Fianna fail, denying the truth, share the blame, take the credit.
    How could anyone be a member of an organisation with such a corrupt past.. Charlie haughey, ray Burke, john o’donoghue, Beverly cooper Flynn, to name those who have been proven to be corrupt.

• alan 04/03/12 #

what driving lessons did ahern need?

ahern was well able to drive the country to the brink of extinction without a single lesson (and then reversed away in ‘a modest 08 mondeo’

• Modest for his means I imagine. Bertie, the man of the people couldn’t be seen to have the Jaguar parked outside St. Lukes, I’d say that’s in the garage.

• clearly they have support though. what the hell can the rest of us do bar keep voting against them? can we ever be rid of them? answers on a postcard please. not the back of an envelope, particularly brown ones stuffed with developers cash. on second thoughts, do send those envelopes.

• They are still living in cuckoo land . The next elections will hopefully see their final demise.

• Nice one!

• limofax 04/03/12 #

Last nights televised speech will eventually come to be seen as a public relations disaster.

• It’ll be ten years before we allow them in as junior coalition partners. Hananfin, Martin, every last one of that shower will be in their political graves before that party sees anything like power again.

The bent, drunken Fianna Fáil that smashed this republic into a brick wall is dead: we killed it, and its staying dead.

It’ll never be a +25 seat party again.

• These guys have no shame – they are deluded and yet people will reelect them. I would like to see all parties accountably legally and their actions accounted for. They would all be in jail including FG, Labour and Sinn Fail. Just thieves in suits look at Raoire Quinn, Bertie, Lowrey, Lucy Cretin etc.

• “If we’re guilty of anything, it’s of loving you too much.”

• For me, the piece hit the nail on the head.

“This crisis is something that just happened to them. They consider themselves to be desperately unlucky, rather than grossly inept and fantastically corrupt.”

Same musicians, same tune, same orchestra – different conductor. How unfortunate that the ghosts of christmas past kept rattling their chains out of sync. Mealy-mouthed apologies complete with pointy-stick-shaped excuses belied the choreography.

Give me a faceless bureaucrat in Brussels anyday. You can trust a faceless bureaucrat – and actually, they’re not faceless, or heartless. They probably see us a little differently. Neither the centre of the galaxy nor a race of super-human economic prodigies as some wanted us to believe. A small, peripheral, island country, off the coast of Europe. Green, used to be good at a few things; food, IT & pharma, music and the arts, diplomacy and communications, but went from almost-third-world to way-past-first-world a little too fast, got a little arrogant. Bound to happen if governed by a populist irrelevancy from 80 years ago that still peddles at the parish pump.

We all Partied? Well, No actually, we didn’t – but it’s time to grow up and pay the tab anyway. Pass me the sackcloth and ashes, I’ll be sure to pass them along to Mícheál…

• That statement just demonstrated how out of touch Brian Lenihan was. Yet, by the standards of Fianna Fail, he was one of the better ones. We didn’t all party. 2/3 of Irish employees during the height of the boom were earning less than €20 an hour. You can’t build a swimming poll in the backyard with that sort of money. A hard morning’s work should be enough to secure a visit to the GP though.

• And this is written by a guy who attended the Ard Fheis, weaved in and out of workshops, spoke with attendees, followed the internal elections, sampled the atmosphere, took the pulse of delegates and then did a write up? Or was this article written entirely from Sweden based on some web coverage?

• “…the spineless goons who kept them in power…”

Uuuh, that would be the majority of us then…

• It’s very simple – either the rest of us get involved with policital parties (I’m joining FF; I’m 63, so it’s straight into Ógra, I imagine) or we allow the same old faces and their offspring, with the same sense of entitlement, to repeat the same mistakes.

• I joined the Irish Democratic Party in protest myself: http://www.irishdemocraticparty.ie/

• I joined the Campaign against the Household and Water Tax , I have not yet decided to join a political party ….
      But I am still open to ideas, except the ones that got us here in the first place ie FF , FG , Lab.

• I am out every Saturday with a few more in Roscommon protesting with Posters against the closure of Our A&E DEPT last July and now with the brighter evenings I will be out every evening letting all and sundry know that We have not given up and that James Reilly carried out an unjust act and put all our lives in danger when he closed those doors of the A&E of County Hospital Roscommon, and I have also signed up to the campaign against the House hold / Water /Septic Tank charges.I had surgery 2 weeks ago and I have been unable to physically get out at the moment I have NOT GONE AWAY I WILL BE BACK.

• That would be Sinn Fein so Eileen!!! They will solve everything…. Give me a break.
      For the record I paid my property charge without issue as everyone should. How in Gods name can you blame FG or Labour for where we are now??

• Declan Cotter
      What are you on about ? Sinn Fein?
      Good for you IF you paid the property tax , that you can
      afford it. Do not attempt to sneer at me or any of the 1,600,000+
      people who have not registered or paid it yet. Your arrogance is deplorable ,
      and I hope you never hit hard times.

• I never knew that there were so many keyboard warriors in smoked filled rooms, so much nonsense, so much ignorance of politics and so many posters that really need help! it is without doubt many of you have a lot of internal anger and are getting it out which is a good thing, I doubt that FiannaFail is the real reason for that internal bile and anger so I suggest some professional help ie “Lay on a coach and talk about your childhood.”

Now as regards Fianna Fail yes a lot of things happened that caused the recession and yes it happened under Fianna Fail watch so they should take responsibility and the people in the last election made them take responsibility.
    Now people may not like it but most of what happed throught Europe affected the Irish economy and no matter who was in power these events could not have been prevented.

If you wise people can tell me how they could have been prevented please share your wisdom.

4.5000 people were in the RDS and yes Brian Cowen did get a warm and well deserved welcome as he is a human being and a good honest decent man who Governed in times I hope we never witness again before the normal economic downturns that happen in every generation,, yes I am talking about recessions that do come in cycles.

Most of the posters here are so fond posting tripe and may I suggest that you get out from that smoke filled room and stop eating the burgers and smoking the fags as you are a burden on the health service and may I also suggest you go and learn about economics and politics, if you do this you will realise that sitting at a key board pontificating about a subject you know nothing about is really pathetic but I must say entertaining.

Now before you throw your usual abuse try tell what went wrong and how you would have dealt with the situation, and do try act like rational human beings.

• May I just point out the irony of your request for people to act like rational human beings when your argument is fallacious.
      It’s loaded with circumstantial ad hominems in your assumptions about the people who comment here. It’s as much an attack as anything you criticise – in fact even more so.. It makes you look like a hypocrite.

• its a time for change, and with change comes bridges, i believe in building bridges and getting over it not swimming across like the present government, leaving plenty to drown in their wake, they had their reflection before the election last year and yet persist with the same politics as FF, the best that can come out of the FF camp is that they have done their homework rather than cheat and copy like the present clowns, i look forward to a good future in Ireland, at least here we have our free speech not like the poor souls in Syria where there pressed down, murdered and rounded up, we have a future but in this country, people must move on with the times the world is a small place and all within it are our neighbours, think of what we’ve got and what others don’t, the future is bright for us, but its up to us to get there!

• ”the best that can come out of the FF camp is that they have done their homework rather than cheat and copy like the present clowns” Are you for real ?
      they FF only did their home work to see how they woulds get their ”look” perfected for the tv cameras…..
      ”at least here we have our free speech not like the poor souls in Syria where there pressed down, murdered and rounded up, we have a future but in this country, people must move on with the times ”
      What do you mean by this exactly ? It sounds a bit threatening !

• I read the first few lines of this article and just gave up, a pathetic excuse at journalism. If you want to rant I would suggest that you do it in private and not on a reputable news site. Criticism of government is a fantastic thing and is necessary in a democracy. Should parties be held to account for their mistakes, of course and that was what happened to FF in the GE last year, the people voiced their anger and FF suffered massively because of it. But the most important thing about criticism is that it should be based on facts, not anger. What people forget is that FF received a mandate from the people to be the leaders of the opposition and despite everything the organisation remains strong and they are contributing to the process of government.

• Ardo Ci 05/03/12 #

Brill article. Bullseye!

• Eric 04/03/12 #

The article Is a painfully simplistic and victimhood-laden analysis of our current situation. The author seems to forget that it took three to tango when it came to wrecking the country.

Yes, FF under Ahern and Cowen were incompetent and corrupt beyond belief and allowed clientelism and favouritism to precede merit or ability.

However , let’s not forget just how compliant and ineffective FG and labour were in opposition, they had a responsibility on calling out the govt on the ludicrous planning decisions and non existent financial regulations, but Enda and Eamon proved completely incapable of forming a robust and analytical opposition , resorting to cheap political point scoring as the modus operandi. Lets not fool ourselves here – FG and labour are in power by default, not on merit of their policies or ideas. Ideologically it’s very hard to distinguish FG from
    FF.

Thirdly – an ugly little home truth. it took a compliant, uncritical electorate with a parochial and short termist set of interests and views to allow the behaviour of FF to go unchecked. Compared to countries like Sweden, Germany or Finland, Irish people, by choice, have no real investment or stake in their country’s politics beyond how it serves them or how some unknown politician fiddled expenses . As long as the money kept rolling in and people could bid for houses on their mobile phones using cheap finance, we turned a blind eye to the deep structural flaws in our politics. The author states that FF considered the recession to be something that just happened to them , but the truth is so do most of the electorate, even though we all had a hand in it. All of us.

• here here!!
      time to build bridges
      …………

• People trust in their leaders. And they trust, for the most part, in authority, to play fair with the facts and figures, and uphold sustainable policies and competent (if not brilliant) governance.

We can’t all be held to account. And I agree that the opposition fell down-it would be wrong of me not to. I am reminded though, of the visible shock on the faces of the incoming government when they had a sit down pow wow with the DoF, before they took office. FF, for all their posturing now, hobbled the Dail, and democracy while they were in power, so much so that in ’07, when the edifice was crashing down in the background, Cowen was singing his head off on the back of a trailer in Clara, and being lauded on RTE as a “master of his brief”.

Going back to my first point, what we can do is hold to account the likes of the guy on here who charged the taxpayer over three large for designing a website for Dick Roche, that Martin guy who lodged a few grand from Owen O Callaghan to his wife’s account, for some strange reason, the former Taoiseach who “won it all on the horses.” And so on.

Should we all subject ourselves to “collective cabinet responsibility” now, so they can get away with it again, and pretend they had nothing to do with it?

Martin denied all responsibility up to last night for the way our economy went down, and yet felt obliged to take the credit for the thousand jobs Paypal were reported to be providing, in Dundalk, as late as last week!

• Ciaro 04/03/12 #

You don’t speak for me.

• Eric- I would disagree that it is simplistic, dealing as it does wit the keynote speech at the Ard Fheis.

There are reams of articles that could be written about the opposition, the compliant electorate and the nature of our electorate (I’ve returned to these themes several times over the last two years or so on my blog), but this was neither the time nor the place. This was about FF’s absolute inability to take responsibility – even grudgingly – for its actions in government, and indeed it’s celebration of the likes of Lenihan, Cowne and Martin, who were the principal architects of it.

• All of us?
      I’ve never taken a loan out in my life. I have always paid my credit card, in full, before the due date, every month. I have always paid all of my bills on time and have never lived beyond my means.
      I have never voted FF, or FG.

How exactly am I to blame??

• @Eric – what are you trying to say? We should assume collective responsibility?

Why is it that whenever people ask for accountability in Ireland, somebody always trots out the excuses.

You’re complaining that we’re not fitting into your ugly little home truth about short memories and parocialism.

• Oh! How my little heart sings! How it now rejoices and throbs to a merry beat.
    Thank you Philip. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.
    My soul is renewed and and my numb conciousness awakened.

You don’t know my despair; my complete and utter disillusionment, when I watched what all believed was the stirring of this great lumbering beast, when I felt that the it’s dying moans had gathered strength and a great bellowing roar of defiance had echoed across the land. What awful days I had imagined when this great lumbering, marauding mammoth would once more stalk the land frightening poor peasants in the fields and stripping the land of it’s verdant glow recalling the depths of winter.
    Now it’s Spring again! There’s magic in the air. The flowers can blossom, the buds can open and merry maidens dance and sing and call their merry tunes.

Thank you Philip. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you…

• @ryan murphy, don’t be too hard on us boggers- it was the sophisticates of dublin who handed Bertie Bollix massive majorities time and again;-)

• Disgraceful article!
    Why couldnt we have an actual report at what went on at the Ard Fheis!??

No mention of the new One member one vote organisational reform making FF the most democratic party structure in Ireland.
    No mention whatsover of the progressive motions passed on same sex marrigae and adoption!
    No mention of the education workshop with USI, students and teachers!
    No mention of economic workshop with business and finance consultants who proposed policy from their sectors!

No. We got a load of hot air about a clap for Brian Cowen and Bertie shaking hands in a 1 hour visit to the foyer of the RDS.
    These two incidents were miniscule to the rest of the event and the first most FFers heard about it was in the national media from eejits like Miriam Lord and Lise Hands.

We were there and the event was massively different from what is reported here.
    I saw no backslapping or cronyism whatsover…
    Were you there Philip? Did you get your free media pass for the event!!?
    Did the journal.ie apply to be present at an event they are commenting so freely on ??
    Don’t condemn us all otherwise.
    The current government are here over a year and planned to celebrate it today!!! Where are the 500,000 jobs they promised myself and the others queing for the job expo!!?
    The shoe is well and truly on the other foot now!!

• If your intentions are true, why on earth would you choose a party that has been proven to hold the exact opposite of your beliefs?.

• mike 06/03/12 #

Nothing has changed in Fine Fail. Same people, Same tricks

• The title of the Article is article is wrong, it should have read “The following is a party political broadcast for *insert authors political party here*”.

This piece is simply emotive drivel that completely ignores the facts of the matter. “… nothing in Fianna Fáil has changed – not their policies”. Well as the author and advocate of the motions calling for legalising same-sex marriage and adoption rights, the ban on corporate donations to political parties, the publishing of party accounts in public annually, the all island approach to health care, the protection in law of professional titles, and, committing the party to seek to lower the commercial rates to enhance employment prospects, I’d kindly ask the author to do some research before he goes spouting his biased views trying to indoctrinate his personal views onto the wider public. FF failed many people, myself included, but if the author had a journalistic bone in his body he’d clearly have seen the massive shift in the party’s policy platform and governance this past weekend. For shame to thejournal.ie for allowing this obvious party political drivel onto the site in the guise of journalism.

I’m all for constructive criticism and journalistic investigation/reporting but this doesn’t even approach the usual standards of ethics of this site. I am disappointed.

• Eoin, the only thing that’s shifted this weekend is the parties rethoric – and even then it’s not such a huge departure from the policies of old. The only difference is now we don’t have an overflowing treasury to service their give-away budgets of the past, so instead they’ll offer the promise of progressive policy. Fianna Fail are peddling – but I don’t think anyone’s buying what they’ve got to sell.

• Firstly this is a comment piece and not an editorial. It does not constitute political bias on behalf of this paper. It seems to be a running thread amongst FFrs these days that the media is biased against them in some way. This is nothing but paranoia. Not every news outlet is the Sindo which fawns over you or the RTÉ old guard that does likewise – remember MOC’s fireside chats with Lenihan after the first few austerity budgets while she shusshed Richard Bruton like an errant child. Get used to it!

Secondly, all of the wonderful proposals that you outline above on areas such as gay rights and standards in public office are tainted by the presence of Mssrs. Ahern and Cowen. Giving Cowen a standing ovation hardly demonstrates humility or empathy with how the Irish people feel about him. Your bungled attempts at an act of contrition serve no purpose but to make you appear even more arrogant. The party has not changed, the personnel are largely the same. Yesterday’s farce was nothing but cheap window-dressing.

• Hear hear!

• What a pathetic mindless diatribe. The serious damage that FF policies did to this country are glossed over by personal abuse and subjective invective.

If you really want to ensure that the performance of FF in government is never forgotten or forgiven then set out, clearly and objectively, what it was that they did to get us here.

• Philip O’Connor this is the best post I’ve seen in thejournal.ie since … ever

• Words from the article:
    “… nothing in Fianna Fáil has changed – not their policies, not their leadership, not their sense that they did nothing wrong.”

Words from Micheal’s speech:
    “We made mistakes. We got things wrong. And we are sorry for that. No equivocation. No half-apology. Just the plain, unvarnished truth.”

Get the feeling that no matter what was said at the Ardfheis, he had 80% of this article already written.

• Ciaro 04/03/12 #

Will you ever feck off. FF don’t even understand what they got wrong! Ahern climbing the trees of north Dublin looking for Rambos wrongdoings, haughty spending taxpayers money on shirts.
      Fianna fail are wankers, those who are members of this corrupt organisation are the same.

• God love us…

The only thing he could have said was: “Listen, mistakes were made, wrongs were committed. I was part of both, and as such am stepping aside to allow a new front bench, unsullied by the past, to lead the party forward.”

Now, I wouldn’t accept that-because I can’t see why anyone would join and support a party without any key aim, bar power, in and off itself, and its accompanying benefits-but I guarantee you, plenty of forgetful voters would.

• I like to think that any journalist worthy of the moniker would not tailor a piece just to reflect popular prejudices.

• Judging by Fianna Fail’s attempts to appear modern and progressive in the last few days (coming out in support of same sex marriage and adoption despite being the party that has traditionally held back on these rights for the last decade), one could be given the impression that they would say ANYTHING to get back in the publics good graces. Hardly surprising therefore that people are taking Martin’s apology with a pinch of salt.

• jeez…..why does everyone state facts that are untrue…. Mr haughey did not use taxpayers money to fund his lavish lifestyle…. the bigwigs in AIB allowed him to run up a very large overdraft

• and also im a member of the fianna fail party and im not corrupt…. I just believe in the core values of the party…. mistakes were made by them in government but it’s the corruptness of the Irish and worldwide financial banking system and it’s deregulation that caused this current recession we are in and no one in Any government has the balls to stand up to them…. that’s the sad thing

• I had no intention of writing anything until last night- even then, I waited until today.

The fact is that Martin and the rest of FF have in the past insisted on saying “mistakes were made”. Last night was an imperceptible shift rather than a fulsome apology, and as I pointed out in the article, the equivocation came first.

It was also several years too late – not that anyone in that particular part of the RDS seemed to mind.

• Martin, if you don’t mind.

What are the core values of Fianna Fail?

• Am I the only one thinking that Martin’s comments are more ironic (sarcastic to the cynics) than sincerely held?

• @Paul: Oddly I get the feeling that Fianna Fáil could have said or done anything and you would still be an apologist for them. I wonder about people of your pedigree and why they are so taken in by the party. There is nothing special about Fianna Fáil, it is without ideology. Its Civil War roots are of no relevance today, so tell me, why is Fianna Fáil so attractive to people like you and Martin? Considering the devastation caused to this country that the party now admits it is more than somewhat responsible for, where does the attraction lie? Did Haughey give a shit about you when he was boozing it up in ‘Le Mirabeau’? Do you think that Cowen and Bertie sit at home feeling guilty for the mistakes that they made? I think not.

• Paul confided a good while ago that he only joined FF for the free beer. True story.

• Martin, the banking sector is not to blame for the budget deficit which FF ran up.

• “and also im a member of the fianna fail party and im not corrupt”

Ok, so why are you a member?

• Words from the article: “… nothing in Fianna Fáil has changed – not their policies, not their leadership, not their sense that they did nothing wrong.”

Words form Micheal’s speech:
    “We made mistakes. We got things wrong. And we are sorry for that. No equivocation. No half-apology. Just the plain, unvarnished truth.”

• The author dealt with that early on in the article, by quoting Martin.

• And the old guard turned out in force.

And Cowen got a standing ovation.

And the red faced boggers queued up to meet Bertie.

Colour me cynical, but it is possible that Martin was trying to appeal to the public, and keep the backwoods men and women happy, by speaking out of both sides of his mouth, though.

• He called us “Spineless goons” and mad. I’ll be reporting journal.ie to the communications regulator for allowing such material to be posted. Very offensive.

• The only mad person referenced is singer. Good people need to tog out and get involved in all parties for change to happen and some of the faces in the dail to change. the social proof is ff ran the state for most of it’s existence although it may be hard for some to accept.

• A real kickin in the next election and ff could and should be gone for ever .. Let all make it happen ;)

Add New Comment