TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Column: How parents can help a child who is being bullied

Parents can feel helpless when their child is the victim of bullying – but there are some practical steps they can take to address the problem constructively, writes Pat Forde.

Pat Forde

The ISPCC’s Anti-Bullying Awareness Week (4 – 10 March) is currently underway to highlight the issue of bullying and discuss solutions to the problem from the point of view of children, parents, teachers and bystanders. Pat Forde, a martial arts instructor and anti-bullying coach, shares some insights on how to tackle this multifaceted issue…

AS SOMEONE WHO deals with bullying in its many different forms all the time, there are many different aspects to my work. Here, I focus on some simple methods to broadly help bully-proof the family rather than focus on dealing with particular bullying examples, including some practical tips for parents which may not have already considered.

Extra-curricular activities

It might take a little bit of research for a parent or teen to find a local club for a particular interest but, in the Age of Google, no matter how diverse your interests the trusted search engine can come up with something. Pursuing interests outside of school is a great way to build confidence and self-esteem. It is also a great diversion from a school bully and the associated everyday stresses of school and a great way to meet new friends with common interests. If a young person’s life revolves around school and home with little interaction outside of this cycle, a bully can have a lot of influence over their lives and make them miserable. This is a great, simple tactic to make that person less of an influence.

“Not being one of the lads or girls” is a problem I commonly hear mentioned by young people. Exclusion is a common factor in bullying cases – but this is something which can be seeded quiet innocently within a group if a  young people who does not mix too easily with others and does not involve themselves with the group. Over time this can contribute to them being picked on by others as they are seen as easy targets.

Conversation skills

If others are asking a peer to join in a schoolyard game or activity and the answer they get all the time is “no” then they may eventually stop asking. It good to teach some tactical answers to keep involvement with the group such as: “No, I can’t today but maybe I’ll be able to tomorrow,”  or suggest an alternative activity or game.

Conversation skills are a valuable tool parents can teach young people and an important factor in friendship-making. It can be a valuable exercise to teach young people how to build a conversation and get the other person talking too – rather than just ending it abruptly. This keeps them involved with others, lets others see they are interested and helps to find people with common interests.

As a parent, if your child has some good friends (who you trust are genuine friends) do what you can to make sure they get some time together. This might involve coordinating time together for younger kids or, for teens, allowing them to extend an invitation to your home, giving them a lift to someone’s house, or perhaps seeing that they can do something together such as a cinema trip or going to a sports club or activity class.

Bullying diary

If your kid or teen has experienced repeated problems with individuals, suggest that they write events down soon after they happen. This creates a credible accurate record of issues, avoids the upset and stress of having to recall events.

For parents, if you notice concerning behaviour keep a diary of it and – of course – talk about it. They might be acting out of character, making excuses not to go to school, have unexplained bruises,  becoming withdrawn after school or perhaps causing trouble uncharacteristically.

Perhaps talk about high points and low points of the day. Keeping track of things in this manner will help you if you do have to visit the school.

Even if you have minor concerns regarding bullying, still tell the school. If you are not satisfied with an outcome you need to communicate this – but keep your composure. Perhaps you should try deal with a different person within the school such as principal, teachers, year heads, school councillors or pastoral care team members. These people will be in regular contact with the group and can monitor any situations which might be of concern to you.

Positive reassurance

To a bully, people who seem to have low self-esteem and confidence are easy targets. Kids thrive on praise and re-assurance. As a martial arts instructor my basic rule when correcting a young student is “Praise, Correct , Praise”.  This can be applied daily by parents in many different ways.

Not every young person who joins a sports club or does an activity is going to be good at it or going to be the next ‘big star’. As parents, we need to be careful how we criticise young people’s performance. It is important to note the subtle signs and expressions we use around kids all the time.

At sports events, some parents are experts at reassuring their kids – they will smile, look happy, and give a reassuring nod or thumbs up. If a parent throws their eyes up to heaven, uses negative body language towards the child, or even criticises them it can seriously damage confidence and self-esteem.

Consider your own behaviour

Much of this piece has focused on preventing young people becoming targets for bullies. But, conversely, there are many different reasons why a child might be wrongly perceived as a bully; parents can have a key role in bullying behaviour.

Bullying can be learned behaviour. For example if a parent is aggressive, laughs or passes comments about others or expresses issues with school authorities in front of kids, then this can influence kids’ behaviour. As part of our national efforts to deal with this issue we all need to take responsibility for our actions in front of our children.

Pat Forde works nationally with bullying targets, their families and also works with many schools to help teach students , parents and staff deal with bullying. If you are concerned about bullying Pat can be contacted on patforde1@gmail.com, at www.stopthebully.ie, and on Facebook: Stopthebully.ie.

Read next:

Comments (31 Comments)

• Andy, I expect you have research to support your conclusion that bullied children have timid parents. Never came across that theory before.It’s encouraging to know that children from “Normal” familes won’t or don’t get bullied, but what exactly is a “Normal” family because I have yet to come across one.

• You’ve worded it better than I tried to Lorraine. Put simply, anyone can be bullied. Karate lessons are a somewhat “black and white” solution too. :/

• They dont work liam.. Well they didnt with my son, after going to the school, i told my son to hit the boy back and defend himself!! he had been in kickboxing 2 yrs, and he wouldnt although he knew he could he didnt want to get in trouble in school, @ andy and my son comes us from a “normal” and believe me not very “timid” parents

• Bullying – It doesn’t get better, You get better

• Also, karate lessons won’t do any harm.

• What’s normal andy

• That may be partly true, but how the hell would you expect a young person to defend themselves against a group of older people.

It’s very difficult and telling someone sometimes doesn’t help. They make you feel bad enough as it is, starting a fight with them has the potential to only make things worse. That’s how I felt anyway.

• tom 04/03/13 #

Andy bullies are often bullied at home so I would say its a learned bad behaviour.
      A child that gets bullied at school is often from a normal home. Its the parents of bullies that make excuses or attempt to push it under the carpet because they themselves have issues they never faced up to.

• Thats one of the most ignorant comments ive ever seen on the journal……you havent got a clue what you’re talking about…my husband and I are far from timid people…..and my son was bullied by a horrible little bxxxxxx…..a child BEING bullied has very little to do with timid parents!

• What a ridiculous assumption.

• That was meant for Andy btw.

• Nicola. 04/03/13 #

Bullied children are NOT a result of “timid” parents. I was bullied for years and it had nothing to do with how my parents behaved when I was growing up. You can’t categorise a subject like this. There are many different reasons why people are bullied, and everyone reacts differently. Some people are the exact opposite of their parents.

• @Nicola: I could not agree more.

• Sandy, that is complete and utter rubbish. Our daughter was badly bullied from 1st to 3rd year and I can assure you we are far from timid.

Unless you have been in the situation yourself you cannot really adequately comment on it – especially in that fashion.

• Excuse me but I really dont think you know what you are talking about. Bullied children can come from any type of family.Unless you have lived through the devastation a bully can cause to your child or you and your family, I really think you shouldn’t make off the cuff comments.Bullies are horrible and can be almost impossible to sort. Parents of children that are bullied sometime are up against horrible odds, they are for the most not timid or afraid but up against a society that is only just about waking up to the problem.I really hope you or any member of your family never ever experiecnces bullying.

• Con 04/03/13 #

I come from what I consider a normal background (Andy’s comment is bull!) and I was bullied briefly, most of it I took little or no notice till one day I sorted it out myself, unfortunately that’s what it comes down to… Dealing with it yourself.

• I was bullied at school. It occurred because I did not fit into the dominant narrative: socially, politically, religiously, or tribally. It stopped only when I aligned myself with a few like-minded outcasts, who, together, were able to present a united front to those who wanted to bend us to the rigid mindset they’d inherited from their parents, so-called teachers, and peers. It was sheer luck that there were three or four other like-minded people in the same year at school, and I owe them all so much. As far as I’m concerned, bullying is an essential component of our culture, which rates competition over collaboration, herd mentality over original thinking, naked self-interest over sharing – and poisons us, bit by bit, with its anti-nature, anti-human ideology.

• Bridget 04/03/13 #

My daughter was bullied at school but it was by the teacher… It was a disaster…
    Moved all my kids to another school but they would not take her in as she was in her last yr… Strange…
    Spoke to teacher, told her i reported to her to authorities which i did but i didn’t even get a reply…

She went to school each day with a 20 cent in her pocket content with the knowledge she could leave class at ANY time and call home.. There was a box outside school..
    To this day she still gets angry when she see her…
    She was later sacked when half school left..

• tom 04/03/13 #

I know of some one who had a similar problem with a nun. Only after getting the department of education and a TD involved did the nun and principal get moved on. Teachers bulling kids is just not on.

• my 9 year son is being bullied by two diff sets in the class / school – one group of 4 from his class regularly pick on him in the yard – yet my son struggling to get away from them was accused of being rough by a teacher ??? and another sneaky little twerp took to punching him or kicking him in the line on the way out of school in the evening – We have been in to the headmaster and i have also spoken to the resource teacher and his own teacher- the stuff in the yard has gotten worse recently because the sneaky one has enlisted the help of his older cousin ( 11) in another class who is pulling in a few of his friends ( this is because the line out is now watched by the teacher and also my mother in law or mother who collect my son from school ) – we are at our wits end on this issue as its being going on for months – we reckon that our only option now is to move our son to another school and hope it doesn’t start again.

• deirdre 04/03/13 #

I agree with emma kelly. Pay a visit to the bullys house. If they are reasonable parents they will try to sort it. If they are not then meet the bully on his/her own and give em a bollicking and make em shit themselves with fear. Leave no stone unturned to help the kids. I got bullied when i was 18/19 and i became anorexic. It almost destroyed me. Bullies will get their karma. But in the meantime it has to be stopped and stopped quickly.

• Approached the parents of our child’s bully and asked if we could sort whatever issues there were,the best approach,or so we thought,WE received a solicitors letter implying that the bully was the victim and WE should keep away!got in touch with the Garda and they gave us great advice and support,some parents just won’t admit to rearing a bully….

• I would do what my dad did for me and pay a visit to the bullys house. He did it for my older sister too. Granted nowadays your dealing with a different kind and god knows what kind of reception you would get at the door. But I can tell you one thing. If anyone ever attempts to bully or lay a finger on my daughter when she grows up il b dealing with them myself .

• I know a guy who’s son was been bullied and got no help from the school, he paid two older kids from a different area to beat the sh1t out of the bully, I know its wrong but he felt better and the bully got the message

• My son was seriously bullied at school @ten years ago, on line, this is nothing new, in fact I’d say he was one of the first in Ireland to be bullied in this way. It was horrific, and to be honest I don’t think he’s ever shook it off despite being successful and in mid twenties now, confidence is not what it should be! Bas.ar.s! PS we took him out of the school before leaving…heard that one of his bullies got the same…Karma or what!

• @ Andy – what can i say. I think you are very wrong. Blaming the victims.

• Barry, I agree with you. Furthermore, a bully is often ‘acting out’ due to disruption at home. This could be anything from a change in marital arrangements, to financial trouble OR familial abuse. Timid parenting has little to do with how a child becomes a victim of bullying, either, but instead can be as a result of overly strict or even domineering parents, or it could just be they way the child is wired. Either way, a bully tends to act out, but a victim is often one who ‘internalises’ their distress.

I have seen cases where bullies will ‘probe’ for the weak members of the ‘herd’ and finds the ones who are least likely to fight back. Then the victim has two choices, avoid situations where this might happen, or be part of the ‘pack’ who picks on the next victim.

• I was bullied at primary school for a good few years and then in other ways through my family but what I discovered over the years is bullying in any form is based on their own insecurities and are projecting their fears onto you to reassure them using aggression as a way of levelling the field when they are not smart enough to use other means to get their way. I got bullied for being a bit different but what that has lead to is a far more interesting and positive place than the school bullys. The thing is they don’t stop at primary school or at secondary school, the work place is littered with them and the sooner you find a way of managing bully’s and dealing with them to your advantage the better. Sure when I was a kid it was tough but it only made me a stronger more determined person proof came in secondary school, I took up sport and was good at it and never got bullied you show strength and value and they will avoid the harder target, don’t make life easy for them. Bully’s will exploit the weaklings, so find strength in something, sport, music and never ever loose faith in yourself. At the end of the day they are the real weaklings.

• To tackle bullying we need to start at Pre-school level. As a Montessori Teacher the ethos focuses on, socialisation, empathy, independence, self esteem, self discipline and respect so that the child goes on to primary and secondary with the compassion not to bully and the strength to fend off any bullying tendencies by his / her peers. If you wish to read my online article ‘anti-bullying techniques for the Early Childhood Sector’ you can access it @www.montessirialliance.ie

• Some points made here are quite interesting, but the blame is not attached to the parents of the bullied child. Bullies feed on insecurities. Unfortunately it’s only on the later teen years and thereafter that we can really express who we are without the common risk of being abused for it. I write on the topic of #Bullying, if people are interested the link will be at the end of this. I try to tackle the issue myself, high lighting some reasons for, some causes and effects, and possible ways to end bullying. It’s not an issue that individuals can beat; only as a collective can we stop bullying; from teacher to parent, victim to friend, and so on.

carrollteacher.wordpress.com

Add New Comment