TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Column: This is a difficult time for the Greens – but we have reasons for optimism

The Green Party has a lot of work to do to regain the trust of voters – but Irish politics needs our voice, writes new Chairperson of the party Roderic O’Gorman.

Roderic O'Gorman

DECEMBER SEES THE 30th anniversary of the founding of the Green Party, and the beginning of my term as Party Chairperson. As such, it’s an appropriate time to reflect on the current state of the Green Party, and our direction over the next couple of years.

Undoubtedly, the impact of the General Election result and the lessons we have learnt from it will be felt across the party for a long time – not only the absence of a Green perspective in the Oireachtas, but also the need to reorganise the party on an almost entirely voluntary basis due to our loss of funding. While this is certainly a difficult time for us, we have seen some optimistic signs.

My own result in the recent Dublin West by-election, where we almost tripled the number of first preferences we received in the same constituency in February, has been a positive boost for the Green Party as a whole. While no-one can say how this increase might translate on the national level, it shows that people are still willing to give their No.1 vote to a Green candidate.

Crucial to a renewed Green Party will be a progressive and reforming policy platform. A range of political decisions taken by the new Government have highlighted the need for thinking outside of the usual norms of Irish politics. Prior to our entry into Government, the Green Party had a strong record in challenging the consensus on issues such as over-development and the ruinous taxation policies that were at the root of the recession in our country. When we failed to challenge the political consensus during our period in Government, we were punished by our voters.

However, challenging the political consensus is only a worthy ideal if it is accompanied by real policy proposals. Over the next year, there are three significant areas the Green Party will focus on.

The proposed Constitutional Convention offers an opportunity to create real change in this country. We want to see a reform of how we elect our TDs, moving away from the parish pump politics that has done so much to damage our country. Changing the electoral system also offers the opportunity to examine how we involve more women in politics.

Following on from our success in passing the Civil Partnership Act while in Government, we will be campaigning for full marriage equality to be enshrined in the Constitution. And we will argue that social rights like a right to healthcare and housing are as worthy as the right to private property to protection within the nation’s Constitution.

The continued Eurozone crisis means that our relationship with the EU, and indeed the relationship of the EU to each of the Member States, will continue to hold centre stage. We need a genuinely pan-European response to the economic crisis, not one determined solely by the whims of Germany and France. The Governments of these countries cannot be permitted block progress towards Eurobonds and reform of the ECB on the basis of purely domestic considerations. We will work with our Green colleagues across Europe to promote realistic solutions to these issues.

Last month, the Government announced a retreat from its commitment to passing climate change legislation. Not only does this represent a rejection of our moral obligation as a developed nation to take a lead in fighting climate change and its devastating consequences for developing countries, it also represents a failure to recognise an economic reality. Across the industrialised world, countries are passing climate legislation to give industry and agriculture the certainty they needs regarding carbon emissions in the future. By ignoring this international trend, Fine Gael and Labour are putting future jobs at risk, and leaving Ireland completely unprepared to avail of post-carbon economic development.

On 11 December, we will launch our new strategic plan outlining how the party will operate over the next five years, along with new party spokespersons. This will be accompanied by a vigorous fundraising strategy, starting with a gig in Vicar St supported by a range of Irish and world musicians. These occasions represent the next steps towards the renewal of our party.

We are fully aware of the difficult road ahead in terms of rebuilding trust with those of our voters who felt they could no longer support us in February. We understand the real challenge of affecting national policy without representation in either house of the Oireachtas. Despite these obstacles, we believe that a vibrant Green Party, advocating progressive, long-term solutions to economic, social and political issues, can and will play a significant role in Ireland’s recovery from the economic crisis.

Read next:

Comments (65 Comments)

• Hang on a second. These are the same guys that held together the disastrous cowen government which drove the final nails into the irish national coffin… The roll over merchants that stood by and allowed the plundering bastardly bankers steal everything from us… The same weak individuals who pulled the plug too late, who shut the stable LONG after the horse had bolted… They should be ashamed to be raising their heads above the parapets..

• There are the same guys like Labour this very day, did more u-turns in policies, election words and promises that even if they looked themselves in a mirror, they wouldn’t recognise themselves – never mind what honesty also looks like!

They are and they were a utter disgrace – but never mind, they got their seat in power for a while and thus gained their leaders, their MASSIVE pay checks, perks and pensions – while seeing that the public was treated like utter crap!

They get what they deserve now. NOTHING LESS!

• Act they went in with a small mandate focusing on protecting education against the majority of the cuts (which they did), changing planning laws (which they did, and bringing in climate change policy which given a few more months they would have. This is how small party democracy works. THeir job is to do what they can for the people who voted them in, if you wanted them to do more VOTE for them and give them a wider mandate, like the one Labour, Fine Gael and Finne Fail have.

• No they did not “hold together the Cowen government”, they brought down the Cowen government.

• A LOT of people voted them in of their green ideologies and words, some of which was listed upon their website for all to see.
      One of these ideologies was to protect the environment – they sure did a hell of a job doing that in Tara Co Meath!
      They continuously propped up a corrupt government. They voted against supporting a childrens hospital that needed money to keep open wards and operations going – but the following week allocated the same much needed money so they could build bike track through a small part of Dublin! They conveniently “forgot” about their opposition to the use of Shannon airoprt by USA military immediately upon election, they made an inquiry into the irregularities surrounding the Corrib gas project & controversy, a precondition of government at their last annual conference but changed their stance during post-election negotiations with Fianna Fáil!
      They had to arrange a special meeting in the RDS to decided if to say in government and support the Lisbon treaty – and that motion only passed due to an even smaller fringe of country folk supporting “Hunting rights”
      They utterly failed to protect the environment in regards to Shell and were equal in giving away oil rights for a pure pittance to the state! ….And on and on and on…

…But never mind, we got more taxes to beat the band, higher heating, car costs and a ban on bulbs!
      Well done Green party (not) – ye are a joke of a party!

• They brought down the government about 2 years too late. Not good enough.

• @unitedpeople Ireland (which by the way is one hell of an assumption for a tagname, when you won’t use your own), I’m not sure you fully understand the electoral process. No political has any ability to fulfill promises unless they get a majority, and even then they don’t operate in a vacuum. Expecting 6 TDs to achieve all they wanted is just naive, particularly when they were in power with people from the opposite end of the spectrum, who has been busy creating a lot of the reasons why our economy has gone belly up. The Greens had (and have) intelligent thought out policies. It’s just a shame the level of political awareness in this country is often so infantile. Local comes first, short term comes first, blaming others comes first.

• As an environmental scientist there is no way i would vote for the green party. Comprised of environmental activists primarily with only a few really understanding what sustainability and environmental management actually is. They became the party of “their way or no way”! Their last leader abused his political office to stop necessary and sustainable infrastructure being developed in this country because it was in his constituency and his voters didnt like it. An absolute disgrace.

• So you think John Gormley should have “sold out” on the incinerator issue?

• The waste thermal treatment plant went through two public oral hearings and was approved by An Bord Pleanala, and then granted a licence by the EPA. John Gormley then attempted to block it in anyway possible and abused his ministerial position in order to do so in my opinion. Whether you call that “selling out” is entirely up to you.

• Its going to be a long, long time before the Green Party gets a chance to sit in government again. You did enormous damage to the country as part of the worst government the state has ever seen. You had your chance and you blew it in the most spectacular style. Because of the actions of your party in government hundreds of thousands of people remain unemployed and thousands of young people are forced to leave the country on a weekly basis.

It’ll be a cold, cold day in hell before I vote for the Green Party. You should be ashamed of yourselves.

• The Greens only learned lessons from the general election result?? The electorate learned lessons from the preceding years, where the Greens propped up the worst government in Irish history. Never again, I say, will we give them a sniff at power.

• Reading this article It is patently clear that these people are unaware or at least blind to the evidence of their abject failure in the last government. This first became apparent to me when Bertie Ahern was giving “stupid” evidence to the tribunal and the Green Party supported his position. As a long time supporter of the party I felt compelled to complain about their stance to Dan Boyle at his constituency office, his response was to roll his eyes and told me they had to support hover many to pursue.their policies. Alas this remained their position throughout their tenure, resulting in the dire state we now find ourselves.
    They were negligent at the very least, they exuded arrogance and selfishness, they wer Ireland’s Nero, fiddling while Ireland burned.
    I will never vote for this party or these people again.

• Ahhh Dan Boyle. That would be the same Dan Boyle who having been rejected by his electorate, was gifted a seat in the Seanad by, funnily enough, Bertie Ahern. I must admit I never like being lectured to by the elected greens never mind the unelected ones like Boyle.

• Ordinarily, I would wish the Green Party well for their future on their 30th anniversary, BUT when they had the chance to effect change against the weakest leader of FF, they buckled every time and did not seem to get the concept of collective cabinet responsibility (senior hurling?). Any minor achievements of that period are wiped out by the failures of that cabinet ie being too slow to act to the economic crisis, the guarantee (not insisting on a proper cabinet meeting), NAMA, failing to put in place any systemic reform of politics (corporate donations ban?), land purchase (Kenny report?) and corporate cronyism. It was telling in the recent Tv programme, that Eamon Ryan’s said his hardest decision was leaving government not the above. Skip singing Happy Birthday on the 11/12/11 and just say sorry…

• Eggfuel 25/11/11 #

Well I was going to post but my ire has been well covered by the previous speakers. Here here…..

• Thank God they are gone….all they did was cost the ordinary working person money…good riddance

• ShaneGK 25/11/11 #

Roderic, surely the recent results in Dublin West By election are very concerning FF candidate finished second..best of luck but an uphill challenge!

• We need a new Green Party, these lads had a chance, they are so bad we should tax them out of existence.

• We don’t need a green party at all. Each party has a green policy now, each party has the cash cow of “carbon emissions” and “shrinking ice caps”. What did the green party do when they were in power to help improve the environment? Nothing. Absolutely nothing. No hopers. A complete irrelevance.

• The greens didn’t wreck the economy. That was done over 10 years of overspending and property bubble inflation by you know who. The greens got elected at the wrong time.

Planning, renewable energy and public transport are still important but do not feature on the priority list of the new government.

• Three words:

Bank Bailout Guarantee.

• Ireland doesn’t need a green party. The USA, China and India need green policies more than we do, with their emissions which dwarf ours.
      Ireland 4.6 million people.
      USA, China, India : 2,850 million people approx.

• made 25/11/11 #

We don’t want this green party, a cowardly bunch of self indulgent useless idiots. They brought in a carbon tax in the worst recession this country has ever had. They should just crawl away and stay away.

• Mary White called to my door. I live in a rural location. I said petrol cost me a fortune and asked if carbon taxes could be reduced. the answer I got was something along the lines of “better pay carbon tax than big fines to the EU for failing to meet our emissions targets”. She went on to suggest I convert to biodiesel. If I could do that I asked her where do I fill up!?? A small example of what it like trying to communicate with people who live in a different dimension of reality.

• You must be livid then that in the last election Fine Gael said they would double the carbon tax. Which they have confirmed is happening next month.
      Very odd that Fine Gael done well in rural constitunecies then, isn’t it?

By the way, if you are so against carbon taxes, who do you vote for? Since all parties in the republic support them. I’d be interested to hear your answer.

• Biodiesel is snake oil. I am a member of the party but I dislike the complete apathy they had for actual scientific solutions to global warming and general environmental problems, they have positions which are completely incompatible with the scientific world view on it.

Bio-diesel and GM crops for two but there are plenty more.

I always thought they needed to be a party of economic as well as environmental policy to get a wider mandate.

However the only real answer to your issue is we have to start living in cities. Doesn’t help you of course but people have generally shown they won’t do anything unless forced to by the government so your paying the price for D4s in landrovers.

• And #’eoin

don’t be so aggressive, I would agree the anger here is misplace but actual conversation is the way forward.

• @Eoin: can you tell me where FG DIDN’T do well in the last election?

• Since when is asking legitimate questions aggressive?

• @Mark FG did well everywhere in the last election. That is my point. If carbon taxes were an issue for certain constituencies surely FG would have done badly there, since they proposed doubling those taxes. The election results of 2011 kinda proves that people either don’t have an issue with the carbon taxes, or were unaware of the FG/Lab policies.

• DubDon 25/11/11 #

Greens thought they could make a change by entering into Government but were soon shown up to be lap dogs to Bertie and the boys. You cannot sit on one side of the Dàil and shout one thing then sit the other and let the main party in the coalition just walk all over us and say nothing. Sorry Rodders but the only green in Ireland is on Paddy’s day thanks to ye and FF it’s all Germanys Black yellow and red along the with frogs red white and blue!!! By the way is the thumbs down button not working on this post cos most people seem to disagree with Rodders and his greens

• These leeches are still hangin round the dail taken money off the taxpayer,go get jobs for yourselves like everyone else.these gombeens tryin to make out we a population of 4 million were the biggest polluters in the world,get real go away nobody wants ye…oh thanks for the carbon taxes thanks to you I’m freezing this morning!

• Glad there gone,and hope they won’t be back with all the stupid taxes they had.

• I guess the truth hurts with Green party fans/members judging by the number of thumbs down people are getting as they give their thoughts were the Greens went wrong.

Like it or not, the Irish Green Party has also ruined any ‘green agenda’ for decades to come by any other organisation – if they dare try raising one now for fear of being tainted with the same crap as the official Green party has done, done u-turns on, etc.

• The country needs the Green party more than ever? Like a bullet in the head it does. This shame of a party coat tailed into power on the back of a snake with just 10% of the vote. They then lied and conspired against the Irish people along with their bedpals FF and were fully CO-RESPONSIBLE for one one the most incompetant governernence in Irish history. Now they have just 1% of the electorate and no longer filling out TV sets with their holier than thou Egos. That 1% is here loud and proud….. and still f*****g useless

• Love the photo of the placard waving egits. I’m hoping the Groan party er ….sorry the Green party (that bunch of incompetent do-gooder buffoons from last calamitous government that they are now judged by) will be wiped out by the next Ice Age which as a fossil fuel using,car driving ,non- recycling, flight taking, planet- destroying ,normal everyday living human being, will be here any day now. Their like weeds. You pull them up, they come back. You spray them but there they are again to annoy everyone’s life. Groan Party is actually more appropriate.

• I know it is common to joke about how we don;t give a sh#t but you do know that if we don’t do anything we are commiting genocide against large chunks of the third world.But ya I know, they’re black so lolface!

Your ignorance is far more destructive than any terrorist or war waged on this planet so far.

• Oops sorry about the spelling, mobile phone, tiny font, no glasses!

• I take it eoin is a green man himself!!eoin I said hangin round the dail not in the dail…what is your point of view so bout the green party?

• It’s always embarrassing when guests don’t realise the party is over and you want to clean up.
    This party is over and the electorate cleaned up but will still be paying the Ministerial pensions of this corrupt cabal for many years to come.

• For GREEN Party read TAX Party, everything this bunch of eco loons did whilst FF bitches led to waste, more expense for the ordinary family and the very fact that they kept Clowen and his circus in power for as long as they did should say all there is to know about these muppets, they are now an irrelevance in Irish politics and lets hope they stay there. They blew their chances in the last debacle of a govt. and nobody is going to forget that for a long time to come. Most of this “Green’ agenda is about raising TAX, hence the fuel tax that makes your petrol and diesel unaffordable, the flight taxes that cost you more when you go away, the insanely expensive and inefficient wind farms that blight the countryside and coastlines and add expense to your energy bills. Ireland doesn’t need a Green party it’s needs a party to concentrate on getting people back into work with real jobs and NOT listen to all the waffle from the ‘green’ lobby with their flights of fantasy and talk of potential for thousands of ‘green’ jobs. It all hot air, if only that could be harnessed and turned into energy then they ‘Greens’ might actually be useful!

• If you think the Green Agenda is about raising tax then you live is some sort of Enda Kenny wonderland where the laws of economics and the risks of climate change don’t apply.

I have been a green party member for a few years, and we have never put forward any tax, except for the carbon tax. Now, the country is paying for carbon, so I think that yummy mummys in their SUVs belching out smoke and using up fuel should be paying for the privilege instead of being subsidised by single mothers who have no car and who take the bus everywhere, so yes, the carbon tax is fair. Other taxes that would be fair would be ones that put a charge on consumption, but not flat rate charges that cost those who are responsible the same as those who are wasters.

Any other taxes and increases in tax that were introduced while the greens were in government would have happened no matter who was in with FF. You can see that by the fact that FG and Lab will not get rid of them, and in some cases will make them worse.

The real problem was the way that previous governments moved taxes away from their big business buddies and put them on the working man. Were the greens trying to stop this: yes: we were trying to get corporate donations banned, and almost did, until big business FG got back in power and shelved the plans.

• howzat 26/11/11 #

Can’t Believe they are still around they remind me if those dreaded sand flies that you want to swat but can’t

• Greens are fekin useless and now luckily the money is running out so all those costly policies designed to make Roderic feel good about himself will hopefully be scrapped.

• Lord god I hope these fools never see a seat to govern again. Absolutely useless bunch. Take for example this carbon tax. I have a 05 diesel car. 572 a year. The doctor next door has an Audi A6 2010,156 per year. So the logic been in this daft country,if your wealthy and can afford a new car you pay less. If ,however, you cannot pay for a new car you pay 5 times as much as the doctor. Now maybe this emissions tax might be good in a country like Australia and america whereby the norm is to drive around in 3 litre cars and it might make some impact on pollution. What are we going to do with 3 million road users,save the world through emissions taxes!! This is the problem with this country, too many fools like the greens making policy that is far removed from the everyday Joe soap. Hence why they’re sitting on the sidelines, and hence so long as I’m able to vote and my future children and family vote, il make sure that the last party that gets a vote is these shower of fools. Anger doesn’t convey how I feel about them.

• In relation to all the climate change being talked about – man’s contribution to climate change is not a myth – it’s truth. We don’t have the same impact on climate change that a lot of people out there want to have us believe, but responsible attitudes to emissions are still a good idea. I don’t agree with Carbon tax in Ireland because on a global scale we contribute a small amount both overall or if considered per head of population.

On the other side of the coin, I don’t have any deep seated hatred of the greens, but I think getting wiped out in the last election should give them a good opportunity to take stock and come back stronger. They’ll need to change from what came before. I really think they deserved what they got in the last election. They had no mandate to go into government with FF, and they propped up the Cowen zombie government for far too long.

• Yes we need a Political party that specializes on environmental policies but we do not need “The Green Party”. They got their chance and sold out, these muppets had their chance and blew it.

• To the Green party I have 6 words for you all
    Just get lost , never come back

• Do politicians Never Listen to the Electorate
    Yea lost the Election….. Now just get Lost Green Party useless good for Nothings

• Untaxable water vapour accounts for almost 100% of all greenhouse gas (makes sense), and of the CO2 produced, a far higher percentage is natural. Man-made climate change is a myth. Anyone promoting the carbon tax is an easily led parasite.

We have all been told about ice-ages and tropical periods in geography in school, the climate is always changing. This is largely due to slight variances in the Earths rotation and internal solar activity.

This is another case of governments quickly jumping on anything which might provide another source of revenue. Of course reducing pollution and cleaning up the environment is good, and may be a byproduct of reducing the carbon footprint, as people move away from fossil fuels and into renewables…. But to expect people to lap up this CO2 bullshit is really taking the piss.

• Terence what are you on about,first the so called scientists said hole in the ozone layer,then global warming now climate change,al gore and his likes have created a multiple billion euro tax on ordinary people for there governments,it’s a sham,of course the world is goin to heat up and cool down,we do revolve around the sun!!!so please stop with this talk and crap talk from green party,it’s tax is all ye are after

• 1) there is a hole in the ozone…. its healing though
      2)global warming was either a first world term or a media term.
      3)Now its climate change because it has different effects on different part of the world. However since places are built for the local conditions all large scale change will be catastrophic and destroy billions of lives.

There is no disagreement, man is causing climate change. However its kind of irrelevant to the article and to the viability of a green party.

• are you on about me? what emails? …confused

• of course they held the government together they implemented the 1% policies and then left to try to save their skins

• Gotta say I’m surprised at all the Green hatin’ in here, but then it is much easier to just sit back and then complain when somebody else makes a mistake rather than put your own head on the block.
    This country needs the Green party now more than ever, no other party has any sort of credible climate policy, just sound bites to win votes. Financially crisis come and go, climate crisis are not so easily solved.
    In ten years time when the economy is back on track we will realise that we have acted much too late to prevent a global catastrophe that we could have stopped.

• Glad to hear the Green Party is coming back strong. The back tracking on climate change legislation, the ending of energy insulation grants, the cancelling of the planning legislation and the Labour u-turn on third level fees all show how badly we need them in the Dail and Government. The inherited an awful mess when they went into Government, but still managed to do some good. I just hope FG/Lab don’t undo ALL of it

Add New Comment