TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Saturday 1 August, 2015

#General Election

# general-election - Today’s News

SPONSORED

# general-election - Sunday 26 July, 2015

Should we limit the number of election posters candidates can have? Going Postal This post contains a poll

Should we limit the number of election posters candidates can have?

One Senator thinks 400 is plenty, but not everyone agrees.

# general-election - Friday 24 July, 2015

Irish politics explained through Game of Thrones

Just like securing thrones in the HBO series, Irish elections are more about fending off contenders than truly winning popular support.

# general-election - Saturday 11 July, 2015

Alan Kelly reveals death threats against his family but says Irish Water was not a mistake

The Minister for the Environment appeared on Saturday Night with Miriam.

# general-election - Monday 15 June, 2015

Why Sinn Féin is more ready than anyone else for an election

The party has only handful of constituencies where it hasn’t selected candidates.

# general-election - Thursday 4 June, 2015

Joan Burton: Labour will be returned to power

The Tánaiste said “things would have been done differently” if the party wasn’t in government with Fine Gael.

# general-election - Monday 25 May, 2015

Averil Power launches scathing attack on Fianna Fáil as she quits party

The Senator described Micheál Martin as “a leader without any followers” and said the party is “simply not fit for government”.

# general-election - Friday 15 May, 2015

Here are the things that could push Ireland over a cliff this year

The housing market, the fallout from the UK election and the situation in the Middle East are all on the government’s radar.

# general-election - Thursday 14 May, 2015

Column: Enda’s charm offensive has begun

The Taoiseach’s rare appearance on Irish television is a firm signal that Fine Gael is gearing up for a general election – but don’t expect him on Vincent Browne any time soon.

# general-election - Saturday 9 May, 2015

Do we really need to mollycoddle so many apathetic people into voting?

Democracy is on the brain following the shock UK general election result and the pending marriage referendum here…

# general-election - Friday 8 May, 2015

From The Daily Edge Here’s the single best result of the UK general election What Katie Did Next

Here’s the single best result of the UK general election

They’re keeping Katie.

# general-election - Sunday 3 May, 2015

Someone turned an Ed Miliband campaign video into 8 Mile and it’s wonderful Bravo This post contains videos

# general-election - Wednesday 29 April, 2015

Can politicians harness the power of the water movement?

They’re giving it a try.

# general-election - Saturday 25 April, 2015

‘People who restrict the freedom of movement of others are fascists’

Micheál Martin has some strong words for protesters.

# general-election - Monday 20 April, 2015

Watch: Screaming, selfie-crazed hen party mobs Ed Miliband

“SELFIE! SELFIE! SELFIE!”

# general-election - Friday 17 April, 2015

From The Daily Edge Some genius made this wonderful alteration to a UKIP poster Welcome

# general-election - Wednesday 15 April, 2015

Enda and Joan look beyond water … to getting your vote

Here’s everything you need to know about what’s happening in Irish politics right now…

# general-election - Tuesday 14 April, 2015

Michael Healy-Rae accuses certain TDs of ‘waking up from a coma’

The outspoken TD thinks backbenchers are speaking up in a bid to get votes.

# general-election - Tuesday 7 April, 2015

Watch: It’s 50 years since the first televised general election

It seems like only yesterday.

# general-election - Monday 6 April, 2015

Government accused of ‘kite-flying’ and ‘buying back votes’

Are government placing ‘good news’ stories in time for an election?

Why it looks increasingly like the general election will take place in February 2016

The dates for party ard fheiseanna and conferences are starting to give the game away.

# general-election - Thursday 2 April, 2015

Sinn Féin will have to write ‘Londonderry’, not ‘Derry’ for election

The Electoral Office has stated that the way electoral forms are completed has always been the same.

# general-election - Monday 30 March, 2015

“Active abstentionists” – Adams rubbishes talk of Sinn Féin sitting in Westminster

The UK’s general election campaign officially began today.

# general-election - Sunday 22 March, 2015

Not sure who to vote for? This app will tell you Elections Made Easy This post contains videos

Not sure who to vote for? This app will tell you

Smartvote to the rescue.

# general-election - Wednesday 18 March, 2015

# general-election - Tuesday 17 March, 2015

An almost-Irish candidate could be set to become the next Prime Minister of Israel

Polls have opened in more than 10,000 stations around the country.

# general-election - Saturday 14 March, 2015

Poll: Will you vote for Renua? Your Say This post contains a poll

Poll: Will you vote for Renua?

Or will you save your vote for an established party?

# general-election - Tuesday 10 March, 2015

Potential MP describes how she survived after her mother went to jail for killing her partner

Naz Shah wrote an open letter this week, detailing her family’s experience with abandonment, abuse and even murder.

# general-election - Tuesday 3 March, 2015

Who will you vote for in the next election? State Of The Nation This post contains a poll

Who will you vote for in the next election?

Here’s everything you need to know about what’s happening in Irish politics right now…

# general-election - Monday 2 March, 2015

‘Enda Kenny’s seat isn’t safe, an independent could take it’

A new group in Mayo is looking for “a real alternative” to established political parties.

# general-election - Wednesday 25 February, 2015

Jack Chambers has defeated David McGuinness in Dublin West selection

A close battle was predicted between the pair.

# general-election - Sunday 22 February, 2015

Out of the frying pan: Which Senators want to become TDs?

‘People criticise using the Seanad as a platform to the Dáil … but it makes sense.’

# general-election - Saturday 24 January, 2015

Fianna Fáil aren’t ‘going to prostitute themselves to anyone’

Willie O’Dea isn’t keen on the idea of coalition with Fine Gael.

# general-election - Sunday 18 January, 2015

Fancy being Taoiseach Gerry? He “hasn’t given it any thought”

The Sinn Féin leader says he’s focused on being a “good republican”.

# general-election - Friday 16 January, 2015

Lucinda Creighton says she will have a candidate in every constituency

The leader of yet-to-be-named party says almost 600 people want to represent it in the next general election.

# general-election - Tuesday 13 January, 2015

Bez we can: Happy Mondays dancer launches election bid

“Shake your maracas if you’re against the frackers.”

# general-election - Monday 12 January, 2015

# general-election - Thursday 8 January, 2015

Fine Gael aren’t sending ANY representatives to Vincent Browne’s constituency debates

Labour is also holding fire on sending representatives to The People’s Debate with Vincent Browne.

1 2 3 4 5