TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Interview: ‘People have had enough, debt write-down is the only solution now’ – Nick Webb

Do our politicians have it in them to say no more, asks writer and journalist, Nick Webb, who gives his ideas on what should be top of the politician’s to-do list.

Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore warned that failure to strike a deal with the ECB on the promissory note would have a “potentially catastrophic effect on Ireland”, while Minister for Transport Leo Varadkar has admitted the negotiations are facing difficulties. The Government wants to push the repayments out for decades, allowing Ireland to issue a long-term government bond to replace the promissory notes given to the former Anglo Irish Bank. Reports that the ECB had rejected Ireland’s proposal for a longer repayment schedule has been disputed by Mr Varakdar. Speaking to TheJournal.ie, author and journalist, Nick Webb, said the only option for Ireland is debt write down. He says:

NOTHING HAS REALLY changed and people are looking for answers – now. The promissory note is the big thing for this year, which is due to be paid up in March. It seems to be obvious at this point, that we would say: “No, that’s enough now. No more.”

But I’m not sure our politicians have it in them. You get these photos coming back from our boys in Europe, with Angela Merkel squeezing Enda’s cheek or Sarkozy tapping Enda on the head, and it actually suggests and makes us look like we are just mad. From the outside looking in, one would think they are just sitting there accepting everything that is being thrown at them, no questions asked, but I think people just have to say enough is enough.

Cronyism

The politicians promised in the last election that they would stamp out cronyism in politics, but I think they have succeeded in actually raising the bar – even more so than the last lot. Within a matter of days of taking office, they plonked people into top jobs on boards, and they haven’t really let up since. They have put people into state boards and re-instated key Fine Gael key players to top jobs, so those last election promises were never going to happen. It’s kind of like boiling a frog, you start to turn up the heat and soon you realise that you’re cooked.

The issue of pensions and salaries should be high on their list for this year. This government has the biggest majority than any other major party in Europe at the moment – if they wanted they could be a dictatorship, they can do whatever they want, they are not going to topple over stuff. There are key issues that are really annoying the ordinary people out there at the moment, like the bankers’ pensions, the public bodies’ executive pay, the fact that some ex-Anglo employees are still getting paid over €200,000 and that some employees in bailed-out state banks are earning huge salaries.

The Government’s answer always seems to be that they are powerless to do anything about it. But, hang on a minute: that is actually their job. Their job is to legislate. They have to pull the finger out and do something about this now. We had a successful referendum on judges’ pay, which was protected in the constitution, and we changed it. Why not put down a bunch of referenda and get it all done in one day?

Lying down

It is constantly being asked – why are the Irish people taking it lying down? We are just taking it and given our history, it’s quite a remarkable thing. I think something will trigger it this year, I think there is a limit to how much hardship we can take as a nation. The last budget, I think, is the one that will get people to start standing up – but this is not going to be our last. I think after this one we have another two at least. The forecast for growth in the economy has downgraded, so it is not going to be enough, they are going to have to keep cutting. There seems to be no end. This year is going it be something else – what left is there to cut? Are we going to close all the hospitals and all the schools next?

You go down the pub and this is all people are talking about. People are getting more and more upset, day by day. Whether its Richie Boucher telling committees to go shove it, or the bankers pensions’ – people just want solutions. This has been going on a long time.

A big, fat debt write-off is the only solution. You can play around with parking the promissory note or negotiating on the interest, but the only thing that will actually work, that won’t knock us back to to the stone age, is a really comprehensive deal on the debt. Parking the promissory note for a while is not going to solve it, it needs to be more comprehensive than that.

Nick Webb is a journalist and author, who co-wrote the books, Wasters and The Untouchables, with Shane Ross, Independent TD (published by Penguin). Last year he also took part in the Four Angry Men debate with Fintan O’Toole, David McWilliams and Shane Ross with Olivia O’Leary, in which they examined the current crisis and discussed where we should go from here.

Column: What would it take for Ireland to escape the Anglo promissory note?>

Interview: ‘Ireland’s EU Presidency will make no difference’ – Shane Ross>

Read next:

Comments (84 Comments)

• I agree with Nick.

WE bailed out European banks by paying off bond holders and are now expected to carry the entire burden.

Rubbish!!

Johnny Gordon

• “we waited for something and something died, we waited for nothing and nothing arrived”.

• FEB 9TH

WE CAN ALL TAKE BACK THE POWER AND PRIDE IN A MATTER OF HOURS ON THIS DAY!! DON’T BE AFRAID AND PLEASE TRY NOT RELY ON EVERYONE ELSE TO SHOW UP.

POWER TO THE PEOPLE \o/

• Exactly Johnny

It is totally disingenuous for the ECB, European Commission or anyone else to claim that Ireland would be receiving some illegal ‘state subsidy’ if the €30 billion promissory notes were written off.

In order to prevent a dangerous collapse (we’re told) of the Euro (& perhaps wider, $, £ etc.) banking system, Ireland – its citizens who bore zero responsibility – have taken on losses from private banks of more €60 billion, as things stand (& maybe more).

When you’re being robbed of €60 billion, how can getting €30 billion back be a ‘subsidy’ ?

It’s not just the promissory notes we should be getting written off, but the rest of it as well.

That is, it would be if there existed any meaningful democracy in Ireland or Europe, which actually represented (majority) citizens’ interests & not just those of the top few percent & their neoliberal dogma that pretends to be ‘economics’..

It’s long past time we all realised the true attitude of the top few percent – political leaders, senior public servants, bankers, corporate executives & their various hangers on & landlords’ agents in media & elsewhere justifying this cr@p.

If we want politicians or other public servants to represent us, then they must not be permitted to attain the kind of wealth most achieve, whether as ‘payoffs’ or via their own ‘business’ dealings, past, present or future.

The root of all corruption, direct or indirect, is the greed for wealth. Unless & until we remove that from the motivation of public interest representatives, surely we should see by now we aren’t going to get real democracy?

• The Irish people would love to get out on the streets and protest. The difference between now and our past is that in our past we had leaders…people who rallied the nation. People like Michael Collns, Padraig Pearse, etc all brought the country out. Now who do we have? SIPTU? The odd disapproving tut from the leadership and that’s it. We need people to ignite the spark to peaceful protest and while this article is a bit populist the sentiment is right. We’ve had enough. The question is…what are we going to do about it?

• Sli nios fearr our new leaders ;in Dublin again 19th march cork21feb limerick12 feb. and announcing dates for Galway Waterford and Sligo.they have a good review of Shane Ross and nick web book on their web site google them

• Sorry Tony,

a nice romantic view of Ireland’s spirit but history is littered with opposing examples.

Unfortunately when the lid is taken off the soup tureen the irishman allways seems to be at the head of the queue and have two big spoons

• Been going to every protest i could and the people i meet there are doing it for their kids and grandkids.Alot of old people and their telling me that the boom has made us soft and it was designed to make us soft, thrive to be bigger and better and forget who you were before all the money was around and everybody wanted to be someone else .I think the image that is being forced down our throats like the American dream and uber sophisticated programmes where everyone is cool calm and collective and never raise their voice or get passionate about anything has had a big effect on peoples view of their own public persona.I was at a rally in Dublin and Ballyhea a few times and people were looking at us like we were nutters because we were out on the street chanting making noise .What are these people doing out in public making a fool of themselves tut tut and then they go back home to an empty fridge.We spent 1000yrs trying to keep Vikings Normans Saxons Cromwell The black and tans out of this country and now we see no problem handing it over to Bureaucrats & Bankers.Time to start looking in the mirror we are a laughing stock and our elderly have to go out in the street because we cant be bothered. Enda & co are watching no wonder we dont get nothing only a glove across the face from Big Banks Corporations Oil Companys E.U and our own tax payer sponsered Schoolgirls in government.

• This country and the whole western world is being taken over by banksters. The banks sucked us in with cheap loans like predatory drug pushers financed with european money. Now we depend on the ECB fraudsters to keep us afloat.
    Enda Kenny says we all went mad which should tell you which side he lines out for. My prediction is our government will achieve nothing on the write down. We as a people will have to something about it ourselves or face slow taxation strangulation. In the rest of the west watch as naked imperialistic wars distract the plebs from their economic woes (eg France in Mali). Watch war come to Iran. Read your history… panic, depression, currency wars, trade wars, world war…
    Panic was in ’08, we’re in a depression, currency wars are heating up (china, Japan, USA), Iran is being isolated in preparation for another us led war…

• Nick. What you are saying is absolutely correct, but you don’t go fare enough. A bank debt write off wont help the people with massive mortgages and negative equity. Until mortgages are redesigned around what a house is actually worth, this country will only sink lower and lower. Before people start jumping all over me for this post, I want to point out that I personally only have a very small mortgage. People need to come together on this and think about our children’s future.

• As far as I can tell a mortgage in negative equity costs the same to service as one in positive equity. Why should personal borrowing taken against an item in a fluctuating market be the responsibility of anyone other that the person/s who took the loan?

• Rodrigo people have to look at the reality of the market and the long term. Most mortgages are over 30-35 years so while they may be in negative equity now they will probably balance out over time. People who bought a home to live in will just have to sit tight and ride out the storm in the same way that may parents had to back in the 70′s. The people who in general want a resigning of negative equity mortgages are people who bought to let or bought a second home as an investment. While I sympathize with their position the harsh reality for these people is that they made an investment and it turned sour but that is the reality of investing and speculation.

There are people who bought homes to live in and who are now in dire straits and certainly I think that banks should look more sympathetically towards them. After all it is in the banks own interest to keep these mortgages performing as a re-possessed house is only going to lose money for the bank. If banks start writing down mortgages somebody has to pay one way or the other so it’s not as simple as saying the house is worth 50% less so knock 50% off the mortgage. If AIB did that for all house mortgage’s in the morning it might bring relief to thousands of distressed mortgage owners but their relief would be passed on to the bank and that would lead to another bailout that would have to be paid by ALL taxpayers.

• @ Padraig,

Anytime mortgage write down is mentioned we all tend to look at our own situation and make pronouncements based on that. In other words if I’m in negative equity I want write downs and if not I don’t. Emotive Simplistic and Dangerous.
      You need to look at the bigger picture . We have a workforce of C. 2.2 million of which 500 thousand are in receipt of unemployment or makey up job benefit of some sort . The export economy employs directly c.150 thousand. This means that the driver for recovery will be the job creation in the domestic economy. This means spending not by multinationals but by ordinary Joe’s and they can’t and won’t if the primary focus is keeping a roof over their head sometimes at the expense of everything else. We all suffer as a result so we need to eat it up write down mortgages, get the domestic economy moving and create jobs. Like we have all suffered we all benefit. For the record Neither I nor any of my kids have mortgages.

• People took on mortgages based on what they could afford to pay. Then the interest rates were pushed up and up and up to stupid monthly repayments that homeowners are now struggling to pay. The interest rates haven’t come down. The lads at the top who created the mess are still getting huge salaries. The landowners, auctioneers, engineers, solicitors and the government all made their money and created the hot air balloon that has now bust and ordinary everyday people are suffering as a result. It wasn’t simply a case of feckless greedy people running out buying second homes to let, most people were buying/building their family home to raise children.

• Teresa this http://www.moneyguideireland.com/history-of-mortgage-rates-in-ireland.html makes for interesting reading. “Mortgage rates for some homeowners in Ireland have never been as low as they are now ”

People were taking out mortgages of 100% and buying houses for crazy money. It’s all fine to blame everybody else like landowners and developers but when all is said and done it is the person who buys the house had to take responsibility for paying out that money. Nobody put a gun to their head, nobody told them that they had to buy/build huge homes with everything in them brand new, nobody told people to buy to let or get a second home. People have to take responsibility for their actions and if they are financially in a hard place right now then they have to accept that they are the one’s who put themselves their at least in part if not whole.

Of course developers, auctioneers, banks and solicitors made money out of the property boom, people were prepared to pay stupid money without a care in the world. If someone came to me and offered me €5000 for my car which is worth about €50 do you think I would turn that down? It was the same with the property bubble in that if people were prepared to pay big money then people were willing to sell for big money. The old caveat of “Let the buyer beware” seems to have been thrown out the window.

• @JtB
      I understand your point, but as Mr Ward explained, a write down of mortgages has to be compensated for by the banks, which in most cases are owned by the state – their losses are our losses.
      The other problem is how do you apply this give-away? What of those people in positive equity, or that have paid off their mortgage or who just don’t have one? Are you going to give these people a lump sum? Or just explain its in the interest of ‘fairness’?

• @ Padraig,

Good point, However if we start to analyse this too much we end up where we are which is doing nothing. Keep it simple. Forget about fairness and emotive concerns. This has to be cold economics. Do it and never look back.
      All buy to let mortgages that are in default close on them, take the properties and give them to Alsop for disposal. All residental mortgages regardless of income, social circimstances are written down to 120% of todays value. Banks, Irish and others, take the hit. Legislation will be required. No whinging from Lawyers, Judges, Economists and others (some of who may have a vested interest) Make it happen. The Irish banks are now undercapitalised. Live with it recapitalise if necessary and tell ( not ask) the ECB what we are doing .
      The foreign banks will carry the hit , They are already doing it. Commercial write downs at this time are up to 80% of original value. But ! we need to do it soon or the economy will have got to a point where it will take 30 years to recover

• @ Padraig O
      Whatdya mean by Giveaway. Do you mean the giveaway where the government promised to gice all our money to international gamblers (bondholders) that give away, or are you so worried about the little guy getting away with something on his home. You’re so busy looking the other way while the real culprits are laughing as they scurry away behind you. Shame, ah well Divide and Rule that’s what they always relied on. Works out really well for them

• Coco I think that you are confusing the 2 issues. The bondholders and the way that they have been dealt with is disgraceful ( and in my view nothing short of treasonous) and that should be dealt with as a matter of urgency by someone who actually knows what they are doing and who’s loyalty is to the Irish State and not to other foreign powers or institutions.

For homeowners the problem still stands. Who pays for their “bailout”? If for instance AIB wrote down €1 billion today where would that money come from, who would pay it? Perhaps you have the answer and would like to share that with us.

• Brian, Y’know what , I don’t have all the answers but if people like you who think you do, really applied all your will and effort going after the people who really brought this country to its knees and who will not suffer any of the consequences for their actions, in fact as Shane Ross pointed out, they are still in position getting big salaries and pensions, playing golf together, If you used all of your energy addressing this instead of worrying about the average Joe who took out a mortgage getting some debt written down. It is the most pathetic begrudgery and people really need to ask what is the root of it. Why does it matter to you if someones negative equity is written down ? but its ok for the masters to stamp on you. Furthermore why do the banks have to be repaid for what is written down. Maybe you need to feel that someone is going to pay but you have the wrong suspect I think.

• @coco so
      Sure if nobody has to pay for the write down, why stop there? Why don’t the banks just let everyone off their mortgages, loans & credit cards too?

• Coco I have already said that the banks and bondholders need to be dealt with but you seem to only see a narrow and misguided point of view without looking at the whole picture. It matters to me if negative equity is written down because I and everyone else in the State will have to pay for it! Taking AIB for example, if they write off billions in debt then they may have to get another bailout. Who will pay for that? The State aka the taxpayer. As AIB is effectively State owned if they write off the debt then they can’t pay a dividend and that means that the State loses out a source of income. How do they make up that shortfall in income? They tax everyone in the State. Again ALL the taxpayers lose out. I certainly don’t have all the answers but I certainly can see the reality of the current situation. Unsecured bondholders shouldn’t be paid that’s a given. The wages and amount of people working for the IBRC are absolutely crazy. Phoenix magazine reports that the average wage there is €100,000 per worker in a bank that doesn’t lend, have deposits or customers yet still it employs 1000 people.

It is far from pathetic begrudgery on my part that I ask people to take responsibility for the financial decisions that they made. As I have already pointed out people went in with their eyes open and signed on the line of their own free will. No-one forced them to enter into these mortgages and if they are now in negative equity they will just have to hold on until the house comes back up to break even value. If they can negotiate a better deal then more power to them and I hope they can . However we con not just give a blanket debt write off because people paid over the odds for housing.

Just remember Fine Gael have been here before http://irishecho.com/?p=52701 in promising to compensate people who lost money on Eircom shares. “An unprecedented 574,082 people bought Eircom shares. Many people borrowed money believing they could not lose. ” Sound familiar? If people borrow to speculate and then lose out then they have to take responsibility for their decisions. The problem with people nowadays and you have expressed it yourself to some extent is that it is everybody else’s fault except my my own.

• brian ward you seem like a nice person and you know and care about what you’re talking about, all the more reason why we need people like you fighting on the side of the ordinary man in the street. People who get paid 35k a year instead of 150 k. I say fight cos it is a fight and so far the bullies are winning, so please don’t fight on their side. They don’t need you, The have their well oiled machine. We need people like you over here. Over and out

• Yes let’s do it for the kids. Let me get the guitar.

• @coco that person earning 150k that you are vilifying is contributing more to paying the country’s bills than your “ordinary man in the street”, maybe you should be thanking rather than fighting them?

• Our politicians are been mauled in Europe by Merkhal and the ECB. We are taking too many punches for Germany.

It is German banks fault they lent to our banks they lost on the gamble but we still have to pay back. Germany may have lost world war 2 but they control Europe via the ECB and economics. Germany has shown there is more than one way to conquer a continent.

As for Ireland we are screwed as long as there is a puppet goverment in charge .

• Your right Jim, it was a bit shabby…..

• ” if they wanted they could be a dictatorship,”……having lied to the electorate (fully admitted by Rabbitte) have they not proven that they are nothing but a dictatorship!!, we can only hope that when real change occurs in Ireland that these people will be treated just like all other dictators!!

• A dictatorship, I think you are going slightly over the top there.

• Actually James, I disagree, it’s akin to a dictatorship. Already today we hear Hogan threatening people with massive fines and withdrawal of grants if they don’t pay up yet another fee. If he is serious about the environment this registration should be free. Bunch of ‘street angels, home devils’ , all nice boys and girls when in Europe, then they come back home and kick the cr@p out of their own.

• James.

What we will be left when Hr. Kenny & his “elite” get rid of the Seanad & reorganise local Government to suit their own party political needs, will be for all intents & purposes a dictatorship. It’s not like our President has the powers to stop him, especially as all Presidential speeches need to be cleared by the Government. The last European to try this was an Austrian.

• The label on the tin might say democracy, but the contents prove otherwise.

• it will be too late for platitudes when the mob come looking for the power back.They’ve been well warned and have made their bed so what will be will be!!!!!!!!!

POWER TO THE PEOPLE \o/

• Very well said, 100% true

• Tony – your spot on. There is howecer a protest march in Dublin City on Jan 9th I think & people if they give a damn need to get out & make their voices heard. This protest is being organised by various unions who it has to be said are self serving, lazy & ineffectual but they don’t matter – people numbers do. Stuff the leaders – lead by example & encourage as many people as possible to show up on the day. Also this govt have no intentions of pushing for debt write down / off as that would greatly reduce their chances of further plummy jobs & gold played pensions as MEP’s after they flee this country with their ill gotten gains.

• The Irish people are taking it lying down because FG made sure that only certain sections of society are being pared to the bone, add to that Labour keeping some of the unions onside and the govt should be grand.

Waiting for the people of this country to get off their arse is the rock that many a cause has perished on

• Anyone else think he looks like a young John Travolta?

• This is a dictatorship supported by and in the interests of the EU and “The tax untouchable” 10 thousand Irish who have an annual income of €200,000.

• People cannot pay any more; we are seeing the start of the government’s problems with the non payments of household charges and Septic tanks. We will be seeing people driving without tax and insurance next, it will spread to other things i.e. payment of hospital bills, it will get out of hand and they cannot prosecute everyone, chaos will set in and the country will become ungovernable.

• Gerard 01/02/13 #

With comments like these it’s no wonder we are in this situation .grammar is more important than content.
    But do not worry we will get our own back on these donkey politicians next election when we elect f.f. In (F F S )

• Thank you Gerard! I was just about to make a similar comment. People are so preoccupied with shooting each other down, they forgot who they really should have a go at! .

• What is there to be gained by putting FF back in the next election. They were the ones who put us in this dreadful mess. Of course they will sell us “THe Moon and the stars” to get re-elected and we will be all back to square one. They are dab hand of selling us the moon. We need a completly new approach and no more of this
      “This Parish pump politics”

• Anita, I wasn’t aware we left square one? FG continued exactly where FF left of and as I personally have no faith in the sheeple, I think we’ll definitely see a FG/FF government coming next election, as much as I hate it.

• Gerard people are being brain washed by the goverment media machine , RTE gives these political parties a platform to spout their propaganda if the people knew the real truth as to how our country was being run they would all be out on the backsides ,FF FG LAB GREENS have all backed bond holders and bankers put it on posters and put them in trees balconys cars crossroads and do some brainwashing of your own.

• Kerron. Do you think a drug addict is going to come out and protest for my negative equity issues. Pm fees. Usc. Water charges. For upwards only rents. No.The occupy movement tarnished legitimate, dignified and sensible protest. They are who I refer to as wasters. I want an organization who represents my views to march under. That the government will fear because they will look at them and see votes. Not eejits in tents affecting local business owners for months.

• Well leaving aside the drug addicts as obviously they have a problem that would likely stop them protesting about very much. Getting into the ins and out of what you think someone addicted to heroin will protest about is quite futile.

What I’m talking about is bringing people on social welfare, people in negative equity, small farmers, students, public and private sector workers, pensioners and anyone in between out in an anti-austerity movement. It’s simple logic. We see all these groups holding small protests outside Leinster House. Clearly they can be more effective in large numbers, both at protests and organisationally in terms of spreading their message through community work and the media if they work together.

I accept your point about Occupy. They alienated many people from a criticism of what they were actually criticising. But many of the caricatures associated with them were fomented by interest groups and corporate media who’s interest it’s in not to have anyone rock the boat.

As for votes; I think we need to move beyond the false idea that votes should be the focus of any such movement. We need to work towards a restructuring of Irish society in the favour of the above-mentioned groups and not in the favour of a financial elite. As the saying goes ‘if voting ever changed anything it’d be outlawed’

• Tosser Quinn, go home, youre a jerk off.
      Jack Daniels and John Deegan, ye are spot on with those comments. This country should be ground to a halt especially for this EU presidency. Our unions are even more useless than the government.
      There is no deal. A promissary note is NoT a deal. Now is the time to shut this subservient country down and broker.

• I have been convinced for a long time that we have no chance of getting a deal on the promissory notes. Some Micky Mouse deal may be cobbled together to “save face” but you will find that we will still end up handing over about 3 billion in March.
    When that happens, if there is any integrity left in this administration, they will resign and let the electorate have its say by day of an election.

• John the Baptist. You make most sense.
    Is there any way you can put them on a more public forum

It is time we sorted this ourselves
    As you said
    Please shout your views out loud please before it gets worse for us all
    Thanks

• @Rodrigo – well spotted ! Would hate to have had thousands of time travellers turn up for a no show on that date!! I think I need more coffee! Cheers.

• Danny you are saying the same
    We need to speak out

• We need a totally new economic model and political one too. There is no point in us trying to fix things to go back to an economic cycle that will bring us right back here in the future again. They are using austerity to create lower costs and extra capacity in the economy which will then lead to an upturn at some stage. They claim that we need to turn to exports to create economic growth, this is flawed because we are then more influenced by outside factors and over reliant on one sector of the economy to create wealth, just like we were over reliant on the construction sector. So what happens if exports collapse one day??exactly what has happened now,another economic crisis. Our politicians are so out of depth and looking at short term solutions to long term problems The notion of infinite growth when resources are finite is insane! We need a debt write down to make Irish citizens lives sustainable and livable and free from the constants of massive debt.

I think our politicians are afraid to stand up for the country and have no back bone and are too caught up in what everyone else in Europe or the world thinks. There seems to be such a taboo about being a little bit nationalistic in this country and being proud to be from this nation, Just because you are a nationalist or proud of your nation doesnt mean that you are eg. a terrorist, gangster or republican etc.

We should rise up together and be proud of the fact that we are Irish and one of the most successful nationalities on this earth. This is the one thing that binds us all together, not money or social classing but being Irish! I agree with what is being said here, all of us need to get out on the streets and protest at the incompetence of those governing us, they are put there by the people to be custodians of the state but are instead bringing it to its demise!

• I’m beginning to feel that all these doom and gloom writers are as bad as the dictators themselves ….I’m sick and tired and fed up and furious and depressed and mad as hell with everyone ….hands up who is not !

• how are they “as bad as the dictators”? at least they are being honest and pointing out the faults of the economic system (to some extent). Would you rather they lied and peddled the “green shoots” nonsense constantly with a view to keeping the public in a day-dream of false hope?

• I think for the most part the writers are correct, its just the situation we’re in is depressing. Its amazing there isnt more protests amd strikes, theyre stealing 100,000,000,000′s off us in unsecured bonds and all of the oil and gas theyre going to take without paying hardly anything and we all just sit back and watch them.

• Jesus jim u have such big problems ,and so clever to spot the typos

• Irish people wont do anything as long as they can complain about it and have the price of a few pints. Saying that there is no organization that reflects the people affected most. Working Homeowners who are slowly being taxed to death. All opposition are crazy left wing socialists and most of the people protesting are students and wasters. I wouldnt march under their banners.

• Workers, students and the unemployed are all part of the working-class that stand in opposition to the Bankers and Political and Business elite.

You’ll get nowhere if you only represent one section of the people who are facing cuts. And of course students and “wasters” (by which I’m assuming you mean people on social welfare – the 450,000 odd of them) are being affected. The cheek of you. Reports are coming in of students dropping out of college and going hungry in large numbers while social welfare/child benefit has been slashed.

As for the opposition. The problem is one of neo-liberal capitalism i.e the extreme right in economic terms And it’s clear to a blind monkey that the system is broken and that it’s irreparable, so naturally the opposition is going to be left-wing

• quinn did your mama drop you on your head when you were a baby,

• You are correct ….what is a “promissory not”?

• Eilish
    Is it because he’s literate that you’re sarcastic?

• grammar nazi

• Maybe because he can only shout at typos and says nothing about the message, in a very unpleasant way.

• Kerron. The truth about this country and how it works is in plain view. And wasters and students dont represent my issues. So I won’t associate with their issues. That is democracy.

• I havent read the article… but I agree with the sentiment. Who is this Webb guy anyway?

• A couple of observations from an Irish person living in Germany..

1. Most Germans have no idea the extent of the rise and fall of Ireland. They know we are one of the pigs but really they don’t actually care from a personal perspective. Plus they never took the Celtic tiger seriously which is why there were no attempts to copy reckless lending and a balloon property market.

2. We need to stop being so insular with out outlook and comparing where our living standards and cost of living are today versus 10 years ago or less. We were living in an artificial environment of wealth. I personally doubled my salary every 2 years from 1996 to 2008. This was in anyone’s book insane. We need to determine what is globally competitive for a nation such as ours to sensibly grow economic wealth, not just personal over a sustained period of time.

3. Property will recover to a reasonable extent within 10 years. Accept and move on. Your money in financial institutions shares is gone forever. Accept and move on.

4. Your government is hopeless at delivering good or bad news and has a resounding disconnect with the public.

5. Your finance minister is your best minister. He recently made a speech in Frankfurt to senior bankers about Ireland’s recovery. It was an impressive talk and has resulted in a renewed confidence of investing in Ireland.

6. Stop blaming Germany. It’s childish. We made the mistakes, don’t expect anyone else pick up the tab.

7. Find a leader…..anyone

Add New Comment