TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Column: How I came to shake the hand of a troll

Leo Traynor tells how online bullying escalated to grim offline intimidation – and an emotional personal encounter.

Leo Traynor

WRITER and crossword compiler Leo Traynor published a blog post, which quickly went viral, on Monday night. The post discussed how he had been the victim of online bullying that had spread offline to shocking levels.

Leo has kindly agreed to allow us reproduce his post here, and has asked us to stress that he has not been paid for this reproduction.

-

I’m back on Twitter.

I can imagine the cries of  ’I knew he wouldn’t last!‘ from the Twitterati. But give me a few minutes of your time and I’ll tell you why I’m back and the real truth about exactly why I left in the first place.

In my blog of 12th August entitled ‘Walking, Not Running’ I talked about my time on Twitter and my basic reasons for leaving. I stand over a lot of what I said. The atmosphere there has changed and there have been negative stories in the media about trolling, etc, for months now. The brand has been damaged and Twitter needs to act fairly swiftly to repair it. At the time of writing that blog, for reasons that will become obvious, I was very sketchy about my own personal experience.

When I left Twitter numerous people thought it was as a result of an overreaction on my behalf. That my departure was a kneejerk reaction to a couple of  ‘trolling’ or ‘flaming’ incidents or that I was attention seeking. The reality of the situation is that my wife and I were targeted for over 3 years.

‘An almost daily cycle of blocking and reporting and intense verbal abuse’

It started in July 2009. I’d been on Twitter for over 2 years at that point having joined in May 2007, and I’d never had a problem. My account was followed by a fairly innocuous looking one which I followed back and within 10 minutes I had received a Direct Message calling me a ‘Dirty f*cking Jewish scumbag‘. I blocked the account and reported it as spam. The following week it happened again in an identical manner. A new follower, I followed back, received a string of abusive DM’s, blocked and reported for spam. Two or three times a week. Sometimes two or three times a day. An almost daily cycle of blocking and reporting and intense verbal abuse. So I made my account private and the problem went away for a short while. There were no problems on Twitter but my Facebook account was hacked, my blog was spammed and my email address was flooded with foulmouthed and disgusting comments & images. Images of corpses and concentration camps and dismembered bodies.

Again, it eased off for a couple of weeks. I relaxed. Thought they’d finally tired of failing to get a reaction from me. Boy, was I wrong.

I didn’t mention it to my wife. Didn’t see the point of worrying her. But then she joined Twitter to see what it was like and grew to enjoy it. It wouldn’t have been immediately obvious to outsiders that we were man and wife. She made the mistake though of changing her profile to state that she was ‘The long suffering wife of @LeoTraynor’. Not a good idea. She received a DM stating ‘Your husband is scum. A rotten b*stard and you’re a wh*re.‘ She laughed it off. Blocked and reported and then the pattern started again. We got to the point of not accepting new followers at all and then one day my wife received a torrent of abuse via DM and on the timeline that was so vile she’s never been on Twitter since – which is a real shame as she has so much to share and is far more interesting than I am.

People kept asking me ‘Why you? Why would these guys want to have a go at you?’ I couldn’t answer them other than it was a couple of random nutters who didn’t appreciate my political views or ethnic origins. Or even someone who couldn’t solve my cryptic crosswords!

The whole thing escalated in June, July and August this year. I received more and more abuse on the timeline and via DMs. A crossword clue account I’d started (@LeosClue) was inundated with abuse too.

‘I don’t scare easily but this was vile’

Then one day something happened that truly frightened me. I don’t scare easily but this was vile.

I received a parcel at my home address. Nothing unusual there – I get a lots of post. I ripped it open and there was a tupperware lunchbox inside full of ashes. There was a note included ‘Say hello to your relatives from Auschwitz‘ I was physically sick.

I was petrified. They had my address.

I reported it to the authorities and hoped for the best.

Two days later I opened my front door and there was a bunch of dead flowers with my wife’s old Twitter username on it. Then that night I recieved a DM. ‘You’ll get home some day & ur b**ches throat will be cut & ur son will be gone.

I got on to the authorities again but, polite and sympathetic as they were, there didn’t seem much that could be done.

Every night for weeks I lost sleep over it. Listening for noises. Opening the door everday with trepidation. Trying to maintain a semblance of normality and not let my wife or son see that I was dying on the inside. Mortified that they might be in danger because of my big mouth or ancestry.

Then the last straw. I received another tweet, on the public timeline this time ‘I hope you die screaming but not until you see me p*ss on ur wife’

I closed my account immediately and swore I’d never go back, in spite of the friends I have there. I made it clear that I would pursue the troll or trolls and that I would take action. What I didn’t say though was that I’d already been pursuing them for weeks and had a very good idea where, if not who, they were.

‘I was deliberately more provocative toward them than ever I’d been before’

In July I was approached by a friend, who’s basically an IT genius, and he offered some help. He said that he could trace the hackers and trolls for me using perfectly legal technology, which would lead to their IP addresses. I said yes. Then I baited them – I was deliberately more provocative toward them than ever I’d been before.

Holidays intervened. My Twitter account was deactivated but before doing so I posted links to my Google+ account, blog and invited people to contact me on Facebook. I’m delighted that a lot of my lovely friends did. I’m also delighted that The Troll did too.

It transpired that the abuse had emanated from three separate IP addresses in different corners of Ireland. Two of them were public wifi locations but the third….

The third location was the interesting one.

The third location was a friends house.

The Troll was his son. His 17yr old son.

I was gobsmacked.

I spoke to my friend at length. He told me how his son was always glued to his laptop, tablet or smartphone. How he couldn’t watch a TV show without tweeting about it simultaneously. About how he’d become engrossed in conspiracy sites. It also became clear that the other two IP addresses had been used by his son.

He was horrified at what his son had done. Horrified, but not surprised. He wanted to call the authorities there and then and turn him in. But I said no.

“Do you still like choc chip cookies?”

A couple of days after that conversation I met my friend, his wife and their son in a quiet and discreet location. The son, The Troll who almost driven me mad, was totally unaware that I’d be joining them.

I sat down and ordered a big pot of tea. “Do you still like choc chip cookies?” I asked The Troll and he nodded eagerly, a shadow of the little boy that was flickering across his face.

We had a chat. I told them about my wife and son. I told them about my recent illnesses and bereavements and about the builders having been in. I asked after their business and asked The Troll how college is going. All bright and breezy and a trip down memory lane. Then The Troll’s Dad tipped me the wink and I opened my bag and took out my manila folder.

I showed The Troll’s mother and father screengrabs and printouts of his handiwork.

I showed them pictures of ashes and dead flowers.

I pointed out that one of the messages my wife received wishing me dead had arrived when I actually was gravely ill.

I told them of how I’d become so paranoid that I genuinely didn’t know who to trust anymore.

I told them of nights when I’d walked the rooms, jumping at shadows and crying over the sleeping forms of my family for fear that they would suffer because of me.

‘I’m not just a little avatar of an eye.’

Then it happened…

The Troll burst into tears. His dad gently restraining him from leaving the table.

I put my hand on his shoulder and asked him “Why?”

The Troll sat there for a moment and said “I don’t know. I don’t know. I’m sorry. It was like a game thing.”

A game thing.

So, that’s what it was…

The Troll’s mother said “If you want to call the Garda we’ll support you in that. I’m ashamed of him.”

I responded: “I’m not criminalizing a 17 year old kid and ruining his future. But I will write about it – and you must all guarantee me that he’ll go and see a counsellor about this or I will go legal on you.”

Then I got up to leave. I looked The Troll in the eye and said “Stand up.”

He stood. I said ” Look at me. I’m a middle aged man with a limp and a wheeze and a son and a wife that I love. I’m not just a little avatar of an eye. You’re better than this. You have a name of your own. Be proud of it. Don’t hide it again and I won’t ruin it if you play ball with your parents. Now shake hands.”

“I’m sorry.” he said, and looked like he meant it. “Thanks for giving me a break dude.”

Then we shook on it.

And that is how I came to shake the hand of a troll.

~

This piece originally appeared on Leo’s blog, Traynor’s Eye. Anyone affected by the issues raised in Leo’s post can access support from the group ReachOut.com.

Read next:

Comments (52 Comments)

• Excellent story. Fair play to him!

• Excellent piece. The twitter sphere is full of bile, at least with a newspaper there is a vetting process before something is printed. The comments section of the journal can be pretty appalling sometimes. There’s a lot of repressed people out there.

• Enlightening article notwithstanding tech discussion on how the perpetrator was identified. The point remains that trolls are detached from the emotional effects of their comments, empowered somewhat by their anonymity and gaining perverse gratification. What to do?

• The problem is that when an unverifiable story like this receives a lot of attention, when the people with the right knowledge start to poke holes in it, the whole thing can unravel. My first reaction after reading it was ‘wow, what an incredible story’ but after reading people’s opinions on the IP tracking and their skepticism, along with re-reading the story several times, incredible become slightly incredulous.

A post I read on boards (not mine, I sadly lack these sleuthing skills) neatly sums up many of the problems that exist in the story for me as well:
      http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=80953645&postcount=115

If someone had a real-life confrontation with a troll that would make for fascinating reading but, at the moment, my gut is telling me this isn’t it.

• censored 27/09/12 #

A lot of the people making comments about the technical side of this don’t actually know what they’re talking about … but they are very confident. I wouldn’t listen to their guff.

• Have you tried an IP tracker website? I haven’t got an accurate location from any of the ones I’ve googled. I got a location about 150 miles from my workplace and about 25 miles from my home. The websites gave my ISP but they are not going to hand over my personal information to a randomer.

• censored 28/09/12 #

Yes, I have. The results can be mixed depending on who your SP is. The public services are only about 50% accurate, and it’s not going to give you somebody’s actual postal address.

However in many cases it narrows down pretty well and can be correlated with other information to be scarily accurate.

Fair play to you for checking it out, but writing this off too quickly is like saying I don’t know anyone who was asked their opinion in that latest poll (whatever). That doesn’t make it untrue.

• I have asked other people to put in their IP addresses and not one of them has come back as remotely accurate either. One friend in Waterford was shown to be living in Galway for example. I supposedly live in the middle of a forest. The problem is that this was the method endorsed by Leo in his blog and it doesn’t seem to work at all. I think there is an awful lot to be verified in this story because I do believe elements of it strain credibility? How was the troll really tracked down? Was the reaction of the guards to anti-semitic abuse and death threats really one of indifference?

• It’s actually sickening how a person can act in such a vile manner and think it’s just a “game”. To make death threats so lightly, and still be able to look the victim in the eye. That kid sounds like a psychopath, to be honest.

• I wish someone would concentrate on the difference between trolling and online bullying. The media jump on a word they don’t understand, and use it to mean something completely different. Trolling is about causing an argument on a page for fun – for instance, posting about darwin or evolution on a creationist page, or posting something with obvious errors, inviting people to respond. Childish? Yes. Upsetting? Not unless your priorities are all messed up. Harmful? No.

Trolling is NOT about sending people death threats – thats a criminal matter. And when it crosses into the ‘real’ world, it’s extremely serious, and if taken too far could lead to physical violence.

These are two completely different, and almost unrelated, types of behaviour.

Threats are bullying. Trolling is a art.

• Ryan'O 26/09/12 #

Karma will hopefully bite that kid in the arse in later life. Great blog post, sorry you had to go through such an ordeal to tell it though. Kudos for your courage and compassion.

• mart_n 26/09/12 #

I’m assuming he made a formal complaint to the Ombudsnam after the Gardai told him that they could do nothing about the death threats against his family were left on his door step? I mean that’s quite serious is it not? I personally can’t and don’t believe that the Gardai would say such a thing given the alleged circumstances. And the question about how he correlated the IP address to a home address is a big one. Does his mate work for an ISP? I’d be very interested to know how he done that because doing it legally would be incredibly difficult.

• You’re dead right about making a complaint — death threats on your doorstep? That HAS to be investigated, surely. That is one of the most disturbing aspects of this — violent threats and harassment, blithely ignored by our police service. What would it take for them to have acted?

Regarding the correlation of an IP to a home address, that rings pretty true for me, and I’ve worked in various aspects of computer security for a while. Bear in mind that the IP address in question was also being used by one of his close friends, so probably appeared in various blog comments, referrer logs, email headers etc. It may not have been possible to be 100% sure, but 99.9% would be achievable by comparing IP address usage over time between the troll’s interactions and his friend’s.

• Damien 26/09/12 #

I can’t believe the Gardai didn’t take any action over the DM’s, it would have been very simple to ask twitter for the IP address of the account seeing as they’re HQ is here.

Kid really needs some professional help.

• wow great article!

• Who’d have thought this behaviour would go on in Rathgar? How do I know this? Well a quick check on foursquare shows me that Leo has put his home address in as a place to check in. Mustn’t have learned your lesson there Leo. People can only blame themselves when they don’t bother with social media security.

• Great story !!! Well done to you at least you got through to him !!!

• I originally read it over on After Hours. There seems to be a bit of scepticism as to how he identified the user via their IP address alone. It would in theory only be plausible to locate the destination of the router that handles all users (including the user in question) for that segment of the ISP.

Unless his “tech friend” actually remotely compromised the system, I’d have some questions about the technical details of identifying the user. I’m not saying it’s impossible, but the IP alone will not locate an individual user. (Unless he has access to ISP records).

In anycase – If the case is true, the troll is an odious little cretin. That’s the problem with the internet – people no longer speak face to face, so bravery levels seem to go up, and sense of empathy and understanding disappears.

• John F 26/09/12 #

I was thinking the same when I was listening to the story on radio, the only way this “tech friend” could get the IP of the “troll” would be to get access to Twitters Server logs , then as you mentioned to locate the exact source of the person sending the messages you would need access to the ISPs logs. Doesn’t sound plausible!

• Same thought as I when I first read the story. Even the anti-piracy groups around the world who harvest IP’s connected to torrents have to go through the ISP to get the person’s name and address.

• @Seán – You’re right about the generality of finding a specific house based on an IP address, but it might be worth clarifying that (it seems) the IP addresses were harvested based from comments to his blog or Google+ account and not just via Twitter messages. My reading of the blog was that this was precisely what Leo was hoping to attract by sharing his other profile details before he left Twitter.

I agree, though, that it would appear difficult on the face of it to identify a single house – especially in an urban area – based on its IP address.

• Every ISP subscriber has a unique IP, usually dynamically assigned. In normal circumstances, when it hasn’t been “spoofed” by the user, there is no difficulty finding the name and address with the cooperation of the ISP. Although, it’s still possible even if it’s been spoofed. Only requests by the police or a court order would be entertained by the ISP for privacy reasons. However, it wouldn’t be inconceivable for the ISP itself to be hacked to reveal this information.

• It’s not the ‘harvasting’ of an IP address that’s the issue, that can be done through a myriad of ways. It’s how he identified the property of the user. Like I said, unless he had direct access to ISP logs, or remotely compromised/enumerated the kid’s system (Both of which would be illegal) – I cannot see how it was achieved.

Moreover, I’m not sure what all the thumbs down are for (And I do really hate moaning about freedom of expression on here – People are entitled to thumbs up/down as they see fit) – It’s a legitimate question to address the technical aspects of this story. I’m not attempting to be pedantic, it’s a question many people have had with this story. I’m not questioning the integrity of the author, just trying to work out the technicalities of it.

• Sean, I was agreeing with you and my point about harvesting IP addresses was that it’s easy to do but even massive anti-piracy groups can’t get the individual’s name and address without assistance from the ISP. I’m sure if Gavan checked the Journal’s logs he’d find the (current) IP for my two phones and my home and work broadband, and figure out they are all Vodafone, but not get any further than that without Vodafone releasing my info to him.

• Easier than that – I think he got ip addresses of all his friends and one of those belong to troll’s father. Then he asked him – “where are you” and he answered that he is at home. It’s more social engineering than IT one.

• Leo may have told the troll he was going to write about this, but I hope he also told his mate at UPC.

• John F 26/09/12 #

Even if you believe the remote possibility for a moment that this “tech genius” was able to get the IP address of the troll and then hack into the ISPs logs to get the address of where the connection is originating, this still doesn’t point to the perpetrator, if the home for example is using an unsecured wireless access point it could be anyone within a 50-100m radius of the home.
      None of it sounds plausible, finally just to mention that this guy’s site is hosted by Google Blogger so the only way of getting the “trolls” IP would be to hack Googles Server logs. It all reads very much like a fable!

• A lot of services such as forums show the IP address of the poster. DSL routers get new ip almost in all cases only when you restart them. So, if troll and his father used the same router – their ip will appear the same. Even weeks apart, we do not restart our routers very often.

• Wouldn’t a lot off ISPs use NATed IPs because of the IP shortage? This might add another layer of difficulty because the internet would only see his public facing IP, which his ISP may have assigned simultaneously to many customers.

• angryzes 26/09/12 #

@Gary easy to find out : check here http://whatismyipaddress.com

Even if there is Nat – you will still get ip addresses more or less unique. It is also can be enough to know that troll and his father used the same gateway, there is chance that all other friends used other gateways, router ip. You can still apply method of exception or deduction to find out the troll.

• Seán you are correct. It is not possible to identify a private household from an IP address without a court order or with the luck to have an insider at a the particular Internet Service Provider (ISP) of the household. Thus I suggest this falsehood within the story calls into question the authenticity of the whole story.

It is reminiscent of the Chris Andrews story where his trolling was traced to a Cybercafe which is possible to trace by ip address. The addition of the private house ip address in this ‘story’ exposes it as bogus.

• censored 27/09/12 #

Traynor linked this explanation on his blog:
      http://evertb.wordpress.com/2012/09/26/tracking-a-troll/

• I put my work and home IP addresses into http://www.iptrackeronline.com/ that was linked in that blog post and neither of locations it came back with were remotely near where I was.

• Censored, his explanation is balderdash. If one types in a private IP Address it will return a routers address not a specific house. Type in our own ip address as Andrew Moore did and see what comes back. Is it anywhere near the street you are on? My ip address shows a street more than 7km from my location rendering street view useless as a tool for finding my computer.

Furthermore geolocation (internet sites calculation of your location) is achieved from information provided by the Internet service provider (ISP). It does not provide internet sites with the exact location of one’s computer but only the general area. It is only the ISP that knows the exact location of the computer and due to privacy laws and policies they will not reveal actual locations without a court order.

Traynor cites the ip addresses below as having commented on his blog. If one investigates these ip addresses then the author’s claims are again proven bogus. The first ip address shows a forest in Italy where the router is located.

The second ip address illustrates my point in my previous post. It is probably a private computer but only the ip address of the service provider is visible. To discover the actual ip address of this computer will take a court order.

80.84.99.166 A forest in Italy possibly a high site owned by an Italian service provider. Note that no individual computer is identifiable.

109.255.142.105 An ip address belonging to UPC (ISP), Mespil Road in Dublin. Again this is the address of the ISPs router and is probably nowhere near where the commenter’s actual computer is located.

149.157.1.171 A campus local area network belonging to NUI, Maynooth but showing in Kildare town. Again the individual computer is not traceable by outsiders.

• Brit Dee 28/09/12 #

Questioning The Trollocaust: Did @LeoTraynor Really Suffer Vile Hate Campaign?

http://www.resistradio.com/news/questioning-the-trollocaust-did-leotraynor-really-suffer-vile-hate-campaign

• I work in the IT industry.I have to be honest here,I doubt if you acquired his address by using ‘normal channels’.It would be possible if you had access to certain equipment and knowledge of its capabilities.I would also like to point out to you a couple of things that do not add up in your story.If my family were threatened by someone,I would call the Garda and inform them of all the details.That is what a person does when confronted by such threats in todays society. You chose not to. I find that peculiar,very peculiar.Methinks this story is a fictionalised account of the sum of your experiences.Your references to certain holocaust victims is also done in a peculiar manner.There is an element of shock tactics to enhance the story by including these references.Hardly doing the memory of the 6 million Jews murdered justice.
    I am sure you know how to use Tipex or a similar product. I would like to see the proof that the ‘young man’ sought out the treatment you suggested.I believe that reading some of the comments on your article,some sort of proof is needed to prove these events you describe actually happened.Right now I would say the jury is out.

• Unless his “tech friend” actually remotely compromised the system, I’d have some questions about the technical details of identifying the user. I’m not saying it’s impossible, but the IP alone will not locate an individual user. (Unless he has access to ISP records). – This surely is a criminal act?

• It’s not so difficult when there are matching known IPs, which was the case here. No need to do a Murdoch job to get to the bottom of it.
      I think Leo was very magnanimous letting the toxic little shit off the hook, I’m not sure I would have been so inclined.

• Comments deleted again…wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!1….journalists of the world stick together………….

• Great story..!

• Read this unbelievable.

• A Cole 26/09/12 #

Don’t believe a word of it. Although he should get into scriptwriting. His blog is hilarious, unintentionally. Check out his postman story. HA!

Add New Comment