TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Nick Leeson: On Mick Wallace and his ‘false economy’

The Wexford TD is symptomatic of the move from delayed gratification to credit consumerism which we are still struggling to shake off, writes Nick Leeson.

Nick Leeson

EURO 2012 HAS provided a useful distraction over the last couple of weeks. As the Irish football fans receive awards for being the best fans in Poland, the largest in number, the most approachable and certainly those most likely to have a laugh, they are all now going to have to confront the elephant in the campsite; life at home.

The Euros have thrown up some strange metaphors. From the beginning of the competition I was struck by the fact that all of the financially beleaguered European nations were present – Portugal, Spain, Italy, Greece and of course Ireland. Rather a strange coincidence considering the mess that each nation finds themselves in, further proof that the world of football exists on a different plane to the majority of us.

The Irish team themselves lacked direction, were pushed around and ultimately were unable to change in the time required to prosper; not dissimilar to the current government. Now the country that has everything, Germany (political clout, finance etc) has played the country Greece, that comparatively has nothing.

So whilst the Wexford TD Mick Wallace may have come home to more questions than most, the enormity of the stark contrast between life in Poland and the reality of life back home in Ireland will start to hit home for pretty much everybody. Not much has changed since they left for the campsites and hotels of Poland. One referendum has been and gone but now politicians are talking of a further one. There is much talk of amendments to the bailout package but it is nothing more than talk. Receivers continue to be appointed to companies that have either given up or can longer continue the fight, goods are being seized and jobs lost.

It strikes me that we all deal with tough times and adversity very differently. More specifically we all deal with our financial indebtedness very differently. I grew up in very different times to those that we have experienced over the last couple of decades. I lived on a council estate in a very working-class suburb of Watford. There was never much money around but at the same time I cannot really remember going without anything.

“The idea that you save and delay the purchase is one that has long passed us by”

Very possibly my expectations were very different – I certainly wasn’t one of the first kids to have the latest trainers or computer game but it usually wasn’t too long after that we managed to catch up. But we certainly weren’t able to click our fingers and get the latest gadget on credit: delayed gratification was the norm. The idea that you save and delay the purchase until such time as you have saved sufficient money is one that has long passed us by.

One of my earliest memories is hiding behind the kitchen door as the ‘telly man’ knocked on the front of the house. We huddled in the corner, had to keep quiet and wait until he had gone. My mum had obviously been looking up and down the street waiting for his arrival. As far as my younger siblings were concerned we were playing an impromptu game of hide-and-seek.

It sounds strange in this day and age but we didn’t own a television, it was rented, operated on a meter and there was a slot in the back to feed fifty pence pieces into. We had a key to open the back of the television, retrieve the coins and either feed them back in or buy food. The same coins would be used two or three times before the week was out. I don’t know how it happened but we always managed to see the week out.

“Some people have become very blasé with how they deal with debt”

So the false economy of the Wexford TD is nothing new. Parking illegally at the airport, swanning off to the Euros to watch a football match does however show an audacity and blatant disregard for your responsibilities that is difficult to rival. There is no association with reality.

The move from delayed gratification to credit consumerism over the last twenty five years has obviously changed the way that we deal with debt and clearly not for the better. Some people have become very blasé about their financial affairs. I hear some very worrying anecdotes of how people are choosing to deal with their obligations.

I’m told that it is still virtually impossible to book certain restaurants at short notice in Dublin. Mortgages are not being paid but restaurants are being booked. The game, as it is called by a career professional in Dublin, is to see how long you can go without paying your mortgage. When you receive a couple of threatening letters from the bank, make a payment or two to get them off your back for a while and then revert back to fine dining. With negative equity more the norm than the exception, a selection of people are accepting that they will likely lose their house but they will see how long they can stay in the family home rent-free and continue with the trappings of their former life, it seems.

Yet there are many people in this country who, like my mother years ago, cannot make the money stretch as far as it is needed. There is a constant struggle and battle each week between buying food, paying the bills and either making a mortgage payment or paying the rent. The sums don’t add up and it means there are few luxuries. It is, however, dealing with reality – a polar opposite to Mick Wallace and his ilk.

Read previous columns by Nick Leeson>

Read next:

Comments (37 Comments)

• Nick is saying nothing new to me that my parents and grand parents haven’t been telling me for years. Nick is exactly right in that we have become a nation of people who buy the latest gadget or car an put it on the never-never. I myself have been guilty of it at times and have paid over the odds in interest for goods whereas if I had waited a couple of weeks I could have bought for cash, the thing was that I had to have it there and then.

I remember reading that Japan has the same problem in that the generation of today are used to getting things NOW whereas their parents had to drag themselves up out of the ashes of WW2 and make do with what they had on hand and could afford . Today’s generation just doesn’t understand that sometimes, you just have to walk away from the 60″ plasma TV or the BMW X5 because you just can’t afford it no matter how much you rationalise it in your head. The days of getting the latest games console for Christmas are gone, there are bills to pay and unfortunately they, unlike some things, are very, very real.

It took the cold, hard punch of unemployment for me to realise that maybe I might have been spending beyond my means, not as bad as some people but still leaving me in debt. I’ve had to reorganize my finances and consolidate everything. I still have to juggle on a day to day basis but I’m getting there. It meant giving up a lot of things that I took for granted but I know that I am in a better position now than I was a year ago. If I can only get a job I could be debt free in about a year but it would still mean me living well within my means for that year.

Have a go at Nick Leeson all you want. The man did the crime and served his time but that doesn’t mean that what he has to say isn’t true. No one forced me to take out loans, no one forced me to take on cheap credit or take out a credit card. Yet people seem to want to blame everyone but themselves for their own personal debt. They blame Bertie, corrupt bankers, the EU, IMF, capitalism, you name it . Sure, they are a part of my total problem but it’s my signature on the credit forms and no one held a gun to my head when I was signing it. It was my signature then and my mess now, I played and now people have to be paid. That’s reality and reality sucks!

• Never mind comment of the week, that should be comment of the year! Fair play Brian, and best of luck with your finances – hope you manage to land the job you deserve soon.

• Brian, you have spoken the truth.

• Very good. People have to take full accountability & responsibility for the financial decisions they made & make. You signed the dotted line & no one put a gun to your head to sign. Reality does suck & there you have it.

• Well said Brian. I agree we should all have to face up to our financial mistakes but that is where the problem lies. It is not an even playing field and those who have made the biggest financial mistakes of all seem to the ones most able to walk away from it.

• Fair play Brian, you speak the truth. I was there 10 years ago myself. It does get better. It took me about 5 years to fully recover Orom the damage but I learnt my lesson and there was no ‘forgiveness’ only punishing penalties and heaped up interest. I got there though, and it hurt, but mercifully it prevented me from borrowing, even when I could have, as I knew what I could withstand.

Hang on in there and it will get better.

• David 25/06/12 #

sorry, was interrupted by bad driving.

The. future is Timotei, so mild, Mick can wash his hair as often as he likes.

• David 25/06/12 #

A field full of daisies, a waterfall, some beautiful sunshine and Mick Wallace leading a white horse through a moment in time.

His golden locks glisten in golden sunshine. The future is Tim

• * unicorn, not horse. Dreams are better with unicorns, heck, everything’s better with unicorns…

• This is a bit of the teapot calling the kettle black the author only put his hands up because he got caught ,like Wallace both are tarnished and pickin Leeson to comment about Wallace is like getting Assad to be critcal of Hitler ie both have a lot in common andtbh if you want to comment at least have clinker clean credentials before you start throwing stones,

• When ur wages are halved yes halved from the time u were encouraged to take loans off the bank,ur family members cannot get work,u have the same bills indeed more bills,yet ur expected to pay money u have not got.not realistic.paying interest only on a mortgage a waste of time and an expensive one. It all gets very frustrating .

• that about sums it up for 90% of people i know..breaking the pocket & soul

• Some of us don’t enjoy the luxury of being able to pick and choose which debts we’d like to pay before swanning off. If you live in the private rented sector you’ll be evicted within 3 months at most. I knew this article would touch a raw nerve. The only person I know, by the way, who lost her house, I ran into 3 times in the canaries in the preceding years. And all her cronies see her as a poor victim.

• Mick is Irelands anti hero answer to Robin Hood. He’s taking from the poor to feed his rich alter ego with a highway mans finger up along the way. When things were on the up he was a hero but now a scoundrel.

• Agree! we all know mick is no angel but what about the real destroyers, we all know who they are we see them in the dail every day, and on the news popping to England for quick bankruptcy , then back next year with a smile and no guilt, we will soon be back borrowing the fifty pence from the telly meter if this keeps up for much longer.

• Declan take it ur not workin not got a mortgage been given ur house .i on the other hand had to borrow for everything .and did so because at the time I could afford to borrow and was aggressively encouraged to borrow by banks who told me my children would never afford a house if I didn’t buy before it was totally out of our reach forever. Then had my wages slashed ,kids can’t get jobs ,and u know the rest

• Ah good ole Nick Leeson, from the school of Fingers and Seanie Fitz pops his head up again to give us social and economic advice. Did I miss the memo where we were told that gangster ex bankers were the new state advisors?

• In fairness to Nick Leeson, he admitted what he did and did time for it.

• Diarmuid, I think that is slightly unfair, Nick Leeson unlike many of the other mentioned in the post has done actual jail time for what he done and also unlike the other mentioned has readily admitted that he has done wrong. At some stage a person is entitled to put what they have doen behind them and move on.

• Absolutely Sean, some people may think that because of his past crimes he is in an ideal position to criticise etc, which I suppose I can see the merit in, however, I do find it more in line with a curious case of the pot and the kettle, can’t help it, sorry!

• Absolute Bollox, just because Nick Leeson did his time, doesn’t mean that he can stand on his soapbox and condemn others. He has earned the right to live quietly by doing his time, not judge others

• censored 25/06/12 #

He admitted what he did, after he got caught. He’s done his time but should not be lecturing the rest of us.

• to mention Nick Leeson in the same sentence as Seanie Fitz is a big insult to Nick, one is a very smart sensible individual who paid for his crime and is giving back to the world with darn good advice the other is ….. well most of ye already know.

• I’m really disgusted with Journal for using a photo of Mick Wallace with him holding up literature regarding boycotting the Household Tax. There were plenty pictures you could have chosen. Mick Wallace, like 52% of households in Ireland, refused to pay this unfair Troika tax. To try to link Mick Wallace’s tax evasion with Household Tax is beneath ye.nnI hope Journal hasn’t been taken over by Sindo overnight. Change the picture fgs.

• Yes, the 2 taxes that Mick Wallace is not paying are in no way connected, and the journal shouldn’t imply it. I would be equally hurt if the individual taxes I choose not to pay were all linked without any nuanced understanding of my reasoning for each one. Shame on the journal. :-)

• censored 25/06/12 #

Do you know the difference between spending money that you are holding in trust (VAT) and paying an unjust tax?

• i was paying back a small loan to the bank of ireland and had not missed 1 payment, then they called me and told me they had made a mistake and my payments needed to increase by 50%, i told them that this was not possible as i am only on disability allowance, they then told me i had 21 days to pay up in full and close my bank account or it would be closed for me and my debt passed onto their legal department , so now i am in the process of waiting to go to court for repayment. the problem is the banks themselves are not willing to listen or help even if your up to date ,they make a’ mistake ‘ and we end up in court ! call that justice?

• Is this article saying anything new or interesting? The economy is still tanked, some people pay their debts and some don’t. Obligatory dig at Mick Wallace. Give the author a Nobel prize.

• written by an English banker who committed the biggest banking fraud/collapse in history, lets listen to this expert, yer choice of column writers keeps getting better, i hear Bertie is available too

• I think you give Nick Leeson far too much credit as a criminal mastermind tbh. I’m not a fan of his as such but he did serve his time and does have an insight into the financial world to some degree. Barings Bank was more a failure of the systems in place than a one man conspiracy as far as I know.
      I’d love to get see a financial column here from Bertie but only if it’s smuggled out of Mountjoy over a long number of years on scraps on toilet paper.

• Yeah. I would love to read a few column inches from Bertie, Seanie, Lowrey et. al. after they’ve done a spell lining up with their potties. But then this is Ireland and if Nick ”Bearings Bank” Leeson had been up to his tricks here he would have probably been slumming it in Poznan at 500 sovs a night with Seanie, PJ Mara and maybe even Hairy Mick! That, of course, is while we postpone yet another mortgage payment to go for a big posh slap feed!
      To paraphrase the popular expression of the prudent and resourceful wartime Britons which may have inspired our friend Nick’s childhood memories ”Oh! What a Lovely Recession”!!

• Nick Leeson was sentenced to six and a half years Changi Prison in Singapore for his crime. What sentences are our corrupt lot serving?

• How could u take full accountability when u were given advice by the experts and sold a ” product” not fit for purpose ..u should b able to return this “product”now as the gov.have blown our possibility of repaying out of the water by securing bond holders.thats immoral ammoral even.of course people would repay their debts if the goal posts hadn’t been not just changed but removed

• Nick, I agree with what you say, but, if you read back over what you wrote again, you will see that you are sermonizing and I think you should have added the odd – “a sin which I myself was guilty of”, as you will want to avoid giving the impression that you are being hypocritical. Otherwise, your points remain valid.

Add New Comment