TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Role of energy regulator questioned after Bord Gáis price hike

The CER has been condemned for “disregarding” warnings regarding domestic gas prices and instead granting a higher-than-anticipated price increase.

Image: Yui Mok/PA Archive/Press Association Images

THE ROLE OF the energy regulator has been called into question following a gas price increase of 8.5 per cent for domestic customers.

Fianna Fáil’s spokesperson on Energy Michael Moynihan TD said that the performance of both the Commission for Energy Regulation (CER) and the Department of Communications, Energy and Natural Resources had been called into question by the increase.

Last July, Bord Gáis Energy sought permission from the CER for a 7.54 per cent rise in residential gas tariffs from October due to higher commodity costs and network tariffs.

At the time of the application, the CER vowed it would only allow the agency to pass on costs to customers if such costs were “efficiently-incurred”, and commented that – if granted – any gas price rise would be given “with regret” due to the current difficult economic climate.

However, the CER has instead granted a 8.5 per cent price increase – a full 1 per cent greater than that sought by Bord Gáis Energy in its application.

“That Bord Gáis has been granted a price hike of almost 1 per cent over what they asked for raises serious questions about the performance of the energy regulator,” said Moynihan. “Over the past 12 months, Bord Gáis has been able to increase its gas prices by a whopping 30 per cent”.

He added:

The role of the regulator must be to protect the interest of consumers and act as a break on the price hiking instincts of the utility company. Incredibly in this case, the state regulator has not only acceded to the utility’s request but went above and beyond the price increase sought. This raises serious marks about what interaction there has been between the Department and CER.

Meanwhile, the Society of St Vincent de Paul (SVP) has condemned the decision to raise gas tariffs following the increase of 21.72 per cent granted last year, saying that both of these increases “compound an unfolding crisis in the household energy market”.

The SVP reports seeing a significant increase in expenditure on assisting households with their energy costs: the society spent €3,378,000 in 2007 in helping homes warm and avoid disconnections. That spend rose to an “alarming” €8,848,000 in 2010, it said.

SVP said it had made a “strong submission” to the CER requesting it not to grant any price increases to Bord Gáis, saying that any such increase would “seriously affect many households already struggling to meet living costs and warned that it will increase energy poverty and could leave families without adequate heat in their homes in the winter.”

It noted disappointment that CER disregarded their warning and in fact granted a higher-than-anticipated increase.

“The increase of 8.5 per cent in gas prices to Bord Gais will undoubtedly cause serious difficulties,” said John-Mark McCafferty, Head of Social Justice.

Bord Gais was using a drop in consumption of gas as one of the reasons for the increase sought. This drop is due to the economic recession and people not being able to afford gas supplies – yet a reduction in energy demand is one of the objectives of Government. Increased prices will force a further reduction in consumption. Where does this price increase leave Government’s Affordable Energy Strategy?

“The ‘seasonal aspect’ as described by CER of this price increase on families and individuals, old and young, facing cold homes this winter, needs to be given equal ‘seasonal’ consideration and action by Government to meaningfully tackle fuel poverty,” McCafferty added.

Read: Bord Gáis planning 7.54 per cent price hike>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (41 Comments)

• This is insane. The regulatory body should have the consumers best interest at heart and by giving one percent more than they asked for clearly shows he hasn’t done this. The formula he used and figures should be released because I hope to god this isn’t a figure he picked off the top of his head

• there may be hope on the horizon, in about 2 years anaerobic digestion plants that produce biogas can be upgraded to bio methane and inject this renewable (Irish owned) gas into the gas grid..hopefully this in a large scale can help lower the price of gas. this is happening in the UK now and of course for years in Germany

• @ David.. now your making me laugh. As if any of this will be passed onto the consumer in Ireland. The companies will cream more off the top and the regulator will probably back them up. They’ll have some excuse that the networks need upgrading.

• @ Simon, well of you look at the electrical market.we have 7 electrical suppliers in Ireland at the moment, more competition = better for consumer, so yeah if we get more competition in the gas market it should be better for the consumer surely

• I see no competition in the electric market. They all charge around the same price. when one puts up its price the others all follow

• Sorry David, who are the 7 electrical suppliers in Ireland? I can only see 4 on Bonkers

• @simion, with respect, I think your wrong there. I know of a large electrical user who saved €500,000 per annum by simply switching electrical supplier.., if the consumer is shrewd they can make savings

• The 7 supplies you have listed only 4 of them are for domestic users. The other 3 are for Quote ” very large users” big companies. That’s no good the the average Joe on here. And as for your friend that saved €500 were they also a large user? If you go to bonkers.ie. you’ll not find much difference between the 4 suppliers that majority of users will have access to. And also once they get you onboard, they change standing charges or certain areas that push up the bill , You really have to be on top of their game constantly just to save the odd 50 quid here or there over a year. There no fools you know, As I said there is no real competition in the Irish market for energy

• Yep the company that saved €500,000 per annum were a large user, competition exists within the medium to large levels with the 7 suppliers. Granted the joe soap will have to do with the 4 suppliers for the time being, but competition is fundamental factor for value for the consumer

• €500 probably sounds like a lot of savings. But I wonder how much that actually was as a %. Probably not a lot over the length of a year. But as you say no good for the ordinary person who gets screwed daily, these are the real people who have to go without heating for their family’s, or who’s lives are put at risk during cold winter months. Fuel poverty does not effect large users, who can generally pass some of the extra hikes onto its customers.

• Looks like the financial ‘regulator’ is on a nixer.

• “You say yea to this increase and we’ll give ya your gas for free ;)”

My gas bill was over €400 at its highest last winter. Upward only bills in this country, same as everything else.

• The Regulator is as useful as an ashtray on a motorbike .

• Perhaps if Bord Gáis hadn’t spent €10,000,000 renaming a theatre, they wouldn’t be looking for an increase in their tariffs from their customers!

• Ryan'O 05/09/12 #

Didn’t they purchase spanking new designer office chairs just before summer….there can be savings made but they just don’t want to, choose not to, or are incapable of saving. Least we not for get the ever increasing profit margins. When business is slow profits take a bit of a pinch too not just to the consumers face!! Getting to the stage now where people are bloody struggling on a day to day basis, when will this merry go round stop!

• Great news altogether this country is the Pits increased taxes across the board now this !!! gas consumption is down so let’s increase the tariff sickening altogether!!! What about our elderly who struggle as is or young families already stretched thin. Emigration looks more appealing by the day!! But fear not everyone as good old Enda says the silly season is over I repeat the silly season is over. I’m afraid it’s just the tip of the iceberg !

• This poor little country just sank a bit further today.
    (a bit further into our oil and gas fields)
    This actually makes me feel a bit sick.

• Perhaps better royalties on the oil we have would help the situation.

• Fighting a loosing battle every day. Not only do we have some of the worst insulated and most inefficient houses in northern Europe, now at every corner where we try to reduce energy cost the suppliers hit us with higher bills to keep their multimillion profit companies accustomed to the good life, and to top it all the regulator sides with them giving them higher increases than they asked for. Seems to me the only way to get our energy costs down is to waste and use more of it.

• ah feck it lads i know what they asked for but let’s do something totally off the wall altogether for the craic hi, who cares if everyone’s broke……

• That Regulator is like all regulators. Look after the big boys.

• Does it not occur to Bord Gais that there’s other ways of reducing costs? How about tackling their wage bill for a start. It’s not as if their employees are on the breadline after all. It’s too easy for company’s with little or no competition to get away with this. As for the regulator, he’s just a figurehead that does exactly as he’s told. only in Ireland!

• The problem is that when the price of gas goes up Bord Gais are automatically granted an increase. They are never asked have they examined their own salaries or their own internal costs (which by all accounts are way ahead of comparable businesses). If they were operating in a genuine competitive market as opposed to a cartel/oligopoly they’d need to think twice before passing the cost directly on to the customer. The average pay in Bord Gais is around 70k.

• jrbmc 05/09/12 #

The backhanders and brown envelops and still alive and kicking in the country it would seem

• Hear ye,hear ye…..Brown envelopes….anyone for a brown envelope…

• Awful awful Ireland.
    I was talking to a buddy yesterday who occasions the political/official circle. He likened it to a dirty floor, onto which rejected pages from scripts for the west wing, the thick of it and tallafornia had fallen and become intermingled.
    And that’s the best part of things, mind.
    Official Ireland doesn’t give a shit.

• our overlords wants dear auld direland to sell the crown jewels to pay for the bailout.
    the jewels are the likes of OUR energy companies,water,transport (think they might let us keep c.i.e how very kind) in other words ANYTHING that makes a profit WILL be sold to placate the wallstreet led i.m.f and bundstbank led e.u.
    our gas field in Corrib will make a vast profit but alas NOT for the IRISH people instead it will go to shell or is that still royal DUTCH shell.
    which makes me wonder just WHERE is the profits from the new oil/gas field going to go???????????
    chuck eastwood asked or rather demanded at the start for the figures that the regulator used be released
    well im sorry my friend that just will not happen as the coaster used to write down the details in the cocktail lounge where the regulator made his decision while sipping cocktails with the exc,s of boardgais is in the bin.

• Exactly the value of this company has been increased by 30% in 12 months the govt. are fattening the cow for market to increase its share price
      It’s a Thatcherite policy
      As for us we can eat cake according toFG/LAB
      THEIR ONLY INTEREST IS THEIR PAY PERKS AND PENSIONS
      NOT THE COUNTRY OR IT’S DOWN TRODEN CITIZENS

• The regulator is only wants the Bord Gais financials looking good before the government sell it off. Didn’t think that was part of the remit of CER!

• nor was granting EVERY single price increase bord gais asked for not to mention the extra 1% this time round the regulator,s remit was to PROTECT the consumer from rip-off price increase,s not as he said on rte news he had to protect the companies profit margin.
      well if every PRIVATE companies profit margin has to take a HIT in these times just why,what does he have to protect bord gais,s profit for
      .it seems to me there can be only 1 reason and thats the bigger/jucier its books appear the bigger the price in the sell off of bord gais

• someone questioning the regulatory bodies integrity and honesty,sounds familiar and all to depressingly true,regulators should surely be whiter the white but are corrupt as hell ,sick of these so called “bodies looking after our interests” there a sham

• Bord Gais obviously need the price rise to pay for their expensive sponsorship of The Grand Canal Theatre and their expensive Tesco promotion.

I think it’s time for people to “Make The Big Switch” away from Bord Gais.

• The Grand Canal 4.5 mil name change wont pay for itself.

• I wonder if this regulator studied in the same place as the past/present financial regulator(s)? … What’s the name of it again… University of Big Galway Racing Tents?

• Bord Gais obviously need the price rise to pay for their expensive sponsorship of The Grand Canal Theatre and their expensive Tesco promotion.

I think it’s time for people to “Make The Big Switch” away from Bord Gais.

• Simple, start using (or again) your ineffiecient home boiler and plug in heaters! I wish this would just go to a canadian efficient furnace with vents in the floor / ceiling etc. pumping out the heat! With humidfier to decrease condensation and mold in these brutal insulated houses! Political old school mafia at work here! A bought an old house and I’m going to install and ship in a furnace from Canada and vent the house instead of rads and get rid of the brutal micropiping clooging crap! what a joke .. probally wont meet EU/irish regulations while being the most efficient! I dont know, fecking country!

• Well thats just rip off ireland. I am living in canada for the last two years and they have an abundance of gas, they cant give it away actually the companies here are. Just to break even. Dam you bord gais. Ireland simply needs a simple thing call private companies. There are 10 different gas suppliers here to choose from. Thus we pay peanuts.

Add New Comment