TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

SIPTU serves industrial action notice on Aer Lingus

Aer Lingus has said that there is “no justification for this course of action”.

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

SIPTU HAS SERVED notice of industrial action on Aer Lingus today.

It comes two days after it served notice of industrial action on the Dublin Aviation Authority (DAA) over a dispute about pensions.

Aer Lingus said in response:

We regret that SIPTU has seen fit to serve notice of industrial action today. There is no justification for this course of action. We refute strongly SIPTUs claim that a breach of collective agreements has occurred.

The airline said it is calling on the Labour Relations Commission to ensure that all parties remain fully engaged in the on-going discussions.

Aer Lingus remains fully committed to working with all the relevant parties to find an appropriate solution to the IASS funding shortfall.  We believe it is strongly in the interests of all parties that these matters be resolved.

Aer Lingus will be assessing the situation over the coming days and said it will be communicating proactively with its customers regarding alternative travel arrangements in the event of disruption to scheduled services.‬‬

On Tuesday, SIPTU served notice of industrial action on the DAA, saying any action will not happen until after 1 October.

SIPTU has said it wants the DAA to provide more “meaningful figures” at upcoming discussions about the €700 million deficit in the Irish Aviation Pension Scheme (IASS).

Read: SIPTU serves notice of industrial action on DAA>

Read next:

Comments (33 Comments)

• Well holy croke.

• Mick 13/09/12 #

Siptu, a message for ye. stop messing with other peoples lives… If ye think yer demands are justified, bring them to the table, negotiate with the other side.. Don’t get us involved…I do not support ye and want nothing to do with yer repeated cries of wolf

• SIPTU were quite nice with their goodbye waves to all the ex Aer Lingus employees fecked out on their ear when SR Technics was shut down.

Mind you I started work in Aer Lingus in 1978 and after one month I was out on strike for 2 months. At Least some things never change.

• Union mentality. They would rather the whole ship sinks than for one or two to be thrown overboard to keep it afloat.

• While in the process planning their new tower HQ in the city center to sit their fat arses in..

• While SIPTU is absolutely nuts. A Ryanair take-over for Aer Lingus is not something that should be welcomed. Ryanair will cut over 80% of Aer Lingus routes (main airports). That includes selling all London-Heathrow slots and abandoning long-haul routes. They have made this very clear and are using it to persuade the EU to let them buy Aer Lingus. They claim other airlines will serve the routes, they have all stated not interested. Ryanair owning the national airline of Ireland doesn’t sound so good. They won’t exactly impress visitors and we won’t have a full-service Irish airline anymore. I find it insane that O’Leary was against T2. He wanted to build a low-cost facility; in other words a piece of crap. Dublin Airport is the first thing visitors see; the airport already looks like it’s from a third-world country as it is. Other European airports with half the passenger numbers of Dublin have 2 minimum terminals at least. Aer Lingus won’t exist if Ryanair buys it, even if it has the name Aer Lingus is on the plane; it’ll be just another Ryanair. I would not like Dublin Airport/Aer Lingus to be made to look even more inferior to airlines like British Airways, Virgin, Lufthansa, Air France-KLM, and their airports.

• Well said. Anyone who believes Michael O’Leary will be some kind of saviour for Aer Lingus are in for a nasty surprise if the take over ever happens, he has already declared his intention to close major Aer Lingus routes to “help aid competition” and this includes the Heathrow slots which connect Ireland with Asia, Australia and South America.

No other airline could or would want to replicate the level of connectivity Aer Lingus provides to major hubs such as Heathrow, Paris, Amsterdam and Frankfurt. Michael O’Leary has stated he is in discussions with a number of other airlines to start these routes but very few would have suitable cost base to make Irish routes work at the level of frequency Aer Lingus has done.

Ryanair and Michael O’Leary as a businessman has no experience in operating two brands with very different business models, I’d give Aer Lingus a year or two before Michael O’Leary claims “Oh well, Aer Lingus can’t be saved, I tired” and he’d take what he wants while closing the rest, leaving Ireland’s air services very limited. It’s not business with him, it’s personal and a number of his shareholders have been making a little bit of noise about this third attempt.

• “only option”

• I agree, Caoimhin. He has some vendetta/unhealthy obsession with taking over Aer Lingus. A lot of people aren’t looking at the bigger picture. Ireland is too small for allowing such a take-over by such a ruthless cost-cutter. It would negatively affect cargo and tourism; no one seems to look into these things. Disagreeing with the take-over doesn’t mean one isn’t acknowledging Ryanair as one of the most successful/profitable airlines in the world; that can’t be denied.

• @Kevin there are 2 terminals in Dublin Airport. Get your facts right before your refer to it as “third world”.

• Jonny, get your eyes straight when reading the comments. I never said there weren’t two terminals. “I find it insane that O’Leary was against T2.” Terminal 2 took an awful long time to be proposed was my point. When I referred to Dublin Airport like a third-world country airport that is in no way to insult Ireland; I am half-Irish myself. I would like overall Aer Lingus and Dublin Airport improved; since infrastructure plans in Ireland have been a complete disaster. Though I don’t blame the current government as there is no money to fund them to begin with. We are the only European Capital to not have a metro connected to the airport; other than that we need an underground metro system badly in Dublin. Ireland deserves a lot of things that it hasn’t received yet.

• Aoife, why was my post removed? Is it okay to publish a tirade of abuse towards unions whilst being censored from speaking negatively of Ryanair.

• UNIONS: Utterly Nonsensical Idiots Nattering Shite

• sharbar 13/09/12 #

Guys before you shoot off your comments, bear in mind that if you had contributed to a company pension scheme without choice as it’s part of your contract, and paid the equivalent of two days pay per month and your employer (being profitable with tens of millions in the bank) told you it was being wiped out? Would you take it lying down or would you retaliate?

• SIPTU just trying to convince its members in the public service they haven’t gone soft whilst letting those they represent in the private sector go to the wall. SIPTU are in serious financial difficulties but will still somehow get their new HQ built whilst the new children’s hospital (badly needed) gets turned down. This strike notice is just sabre rattling. They can’t sustain a prolonged strike. They have feck all money.

• Dave 13/09/12 #

Oh jaysus, here comes the “we love O’Leary” bandwagon, can’t stand SIPTU but despise him even more! Goodnight all.

• I’d love to see Ryanair get Aer Lingus purely to see how Mick O’Leary would take on the unions.

• Come on O’Leary. Buy Aer Lingus and give SIPTU a solid kick in the proverbials!!

• Workers in both DAA and Aer Lingus were given no choice but to join pension scheme it was a condition of employment and now having paid massive amounts into the scheme over the years they face the possibility of the collapse of the scheme due to underfunding by both companies and the former SRT which got off scot free and dumped its workforce the unions have exhausted all other avenues to resolve issue and have no other choice and have made this decision on a democratic vote of all members .

• The feckers better not interfere with my trip to Oktoberfest or there’ll be hell to pay !

• A few of he customers in the pub where I work are going to The USA for Christmass,Lets hope the strike is over by then.Ps They dont fly with that arrogant O Leary.

• Another ‘fact’ by Frank, based on what he heard in the pub

• Elrat 13/09/12 #

The only thing Maggie Thatcher did right – took on the unions and WON !

• When is strike due to happen?

Add New Comment