TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Six students arrested after sit-in at Taoiseach’s constituency office

The students were protesting over the qualifying income threshold for the student maintenance grant being raised by 3 per cent.

Image: NUI Galway Students' Union via Facebook.com

FIVE STUDENT UNION officers and one first year student from NUIG and GMIT were arrested  this afternoon while staging a sit-in in Enda Kenny’s constituency office in Castlebar, Co. Mayo.

The students were protesting over the qualifying income threshold for the student maintenance grant being raised by 3 per cent. It was announced in last week’s Budget.

As he was being arrested, NUIG’s Student Union President, Paul Curley, told TheJournal.ie that they were told a lie:

They [the government] told us that they wouldn’t make any cuts to the maintenance grant but they’ve increased the threshold level.

It’s basically a slap in the face for students because a lot of people will be affected by this.

We are occupying the Taoiseach’s office to stand up for students.

Curley added, “Four of the students chained themselves to the office” and gardaí told them they were being arrested for “trespassing”.

The Union of Students in Ireland says around 8 per cent of the total estimated 80,000 grant recipients will be affected by raising the threshold, with some students receiving a reduced grant and others not qualifying for a grant at all. It estimates that 6,500 students stand to lose up to €750 in maintenance assistance over the course of the academic year.

Read: Amazing video of Google’s year in review (soundtracked by Irish band Kodaline) >

Read next:

Comments (112 Comments)

• Why were these students arrested? Mattie Mc Grath occupied an office last week, I can’t remember him being arrested.

• Funny how students get arrested for sit-in protests but farmers and TDs who do the same thing don’t!

• How do you trespass in a building that’s open to the public?

• So if I have say a driveway and front garden can I have any TD’s for Labour/FG or FF charged with trespassing for knocking on my door? because if so happy days.

• Too late students. Sitting in a FG office doing feck all is not exactly new. Enda Kenny has been doing it since the 70s!

• Would enda not have to request the students be prosecuted for them to be arrested for trespass. So someone in the office instructed the Garda to arrest them for trespass

• Electricity storage heater eh? Good man Enda, burning up the units likes there’s no tomorrow.

• It’s such a shame that more people don’t take over offices or get out on the streets to protest . Well done guys

• It is a shame but Ireland has become a nation of Sheep unfortunately. Talking will get us no where and surely its time people woke up and realized that we are being stripped bare by Kenny and his useless cronies. The politicians who take home 3 grand a week can Never identify with a poor mother trying to feed her hungry children and buy clothes to send them to school , when her allowance has been slashed, and they certainly can not identify with a carer who works 24/7 , looking after a loved one who has Alzheimers or senile dementia or is in a wheelchair etc. But, when the nursing homes and hospitals are jammed next year with these patients because the carers cannot afford to look after them in their homes then Kenny will have the smirk on the other side of his face,. And , Labour are finished after this anyway so no need to mention them !!

• Well done lads, I hope the Garda gave you tea and bickies and a sympathetic ear back at the station. After the way Enda is treating them I’m sure they did

• Fair play to them.hope there protest gets the recognition it deserves.

• Well done students . It is a pity that the able adults of this country can not take a lead from your actions .

• Surely the office of the Taoiseach belongs to the state , not to the Taoiseach himself ? We pay for it and no doubt paid for every stick of furniture in it . So therefore by default as citizens of this country does the actual office belong to those students too ?

• Congrats to all involved!!! It’s time they realise that students will not be soft targets!

• Well done, been more protests and sit ins now in the last 3 weeks than the last 3 years, people are pisdddd off at this stage, its only the beginning.

• Why were these students arrested? Mattie Mc Grath occupied an office last week, I can’t remember him being arrested.

• More power to them! Takes balls to do what they have done. Be very interested to see will any of them be prosecuted.

• It’s ACTUALLY free over here in Sweden. You do need to buy your books though.

• Fair play to those lads. The student population are a powerful force for change in other countries but too often seem like a branch of young FG in Ireland. Mass civil disobedience including tactics like the sit in will be needed in the near future if this county is not to be broken by the austerity agenda.
    I would encourage the USI to affiliate themselves with the Campaign against Property Tax and Austerity (CAPTA).
    CAPTA (formerly the anti Household tax campaign)have shown that the ordinary people can defeat government policy when they unite and organise.

• well done enda,, how dare they point out they and their families have reached the end of their tether ,,lock them up and why not lock their parents up too,,,and just for good measure lock up their younger siblings in case one day they might stand up for themselves

• Enda lied to me over the phone in 2008 about exactly this same issue, he said it would be resolved the following year, Enda Kenny is a shameless liar and the rest of the country needs to do exactly what these lads have done today.

• Well done lads and fair play to you.
    Just proven that there are a few “fighting Irish ” left among the “pathetic paddies”

• Very well said, ;)
      The ‘fighting Irish’ is not a valid description nor is it warranted by the majority of today’s Irish population..
      Fearful,, cowardly and damn lazy would be more accurate!

• If they get a chance to do it again can count me in lads

• what are you waiting for? all it takes is 3 or 4 boys to sit-in anywhere, why are you waiting for someone else to start it again before you’ll join in?? do you not know 3 or 4 people yourself?

• Well done guys, now all we need is all the people of Ireland to do same!

• Arrest? This can’t be right! Wonder who authorised their arrests?

• Shame the gardai can’t arrest the pushers crawling the streets as quick

• padraig 12/12/12 #

Good lads, we need more of them.

• how can this be trespass if its a public office for the constituents, It is my understanding you cant be arrested if your in a public place just sitting around and if it is a private property why are the Irish tax payer paying for this.

• Well done making a stand we as a people and a country need to stand and protest together as a nation once again. Fine Geal and labour promised a lot of this before the last election and I consider them now all pale face lairs. The most damning in my eyes is the promise of reform,transparency and accountability not one of the above have be done, as I said well done boys

• Well done lads,it’s a pity more wont do it

• I can safely say I’m glad as a GMIT student to have such a dedicated president and vice president! Well done lads your doing a great job! Keep it up!

• The Taoiseach works for the people of Ireland. That is our property, and they were not breaking things or otherwise breaking the law. Who in their right mind thinks this is even legal?!?

• Occupy college grounds guys, pitch your tent and live there. You won’t be annoying anyone, but getting attention and If they send the Gardai in. Get your grandparents, to join you and they won’t mess with them!

• At least these students are standing up to be counted. The rest of Ireland just whine and complain. It’s appalling that students are struggling for the right to further education. College has now become a place for the wealthy. Most families are under pressure trying to put their kids through college.

• Those students need to have those individual cops charged with wrongful arrest quicksmart, that is not on and is unconstitutional.

• when it comes to protest in this country, peaceful or otherwise, the guards always seem to behave in a neo fascist manner. lets not forget fine gael’s roots are in neo fascist ideology…. blue shirts and all that crap. i’m not affiliated to any party, but what I’m witnessing in this country today is the supressing of dissent. Enda Kenny “apreciates” what we are going through, as he eats his prawn salad. I am not comforted by his false platitudes or his faux tough talk.

• Ted Power..wid ye ever git a life.

• Students stage sit-in to “stand up for students.”

• Fair play to them. Although we can’t complain too much about our education costs, it’s one if the lowest in Europe and the USA. Seems we can be thankful of something in this country!

• Was there any cans of “Lilt” in the office???

• Just think the #occupy enda hash tag was fandango!

• What’s your point margaret ?

• Shut up margaret!

• When are they going to chain themselves to the office for the increase in the student contribution? for the students that are paying their wages?

They are more than welcome to chain themselves to the Gort na Coiribe railings!!

• Well done guys u should have wrecked his office de lying stuttery bastard him and de yokes that’s in government not worth a wank.

• Tuition Fees

Ireland €3,000
    UK £9000

Stop bloody complaining.

• The only people impressed by five students staging a peurile sit-in in Enda Kenny’s constituency office in Castlebar are students themselves. Tax-paying adults who struggle to pay their way each week in this recession, the same tax payers who are being asked to fund these students’ elevation to a higher income lifestyle – not necessarily in Ireland – are not in the least impressed. But if it helps you to applaud one another then go ahead. It’ll give you something to do to pass away the idle days until you start to make a contribution to society..

• 80% of a HEI budget is tied up in staff wages. Dr. Michael Murphy in UCC complained about his €232,000 a year salary..the man could pay the SCC with a weeks wages, but his wages are intact while low income FAMILIES are being hit with grant cuts and rises in fees because they want the best for there children

• That is retarded!

What else would the budget be spent on?!?!?!?!? Without the staff (lecturers) how would the education system work???

wow….. Honestly like.

• @ Tom

I’m a student I have gone back to college to retrain cause I lost my job wasn’t that what we were told do I paid my taxes I contributed to the state so I feel that I’m been hit twice in the face first been told retrain no problem gladly do it cause I feel a change of sector is good at this time for me but then to increase fees and cut the threshold for the grant so I’m struggling to stay in college and complete my degree while majority of the country brand all students as lazy caring only to go out well I can assure you that only a small population of students live like this n most don’t make it past first year in times like these the country needs to back one another and speak as one against the government as we all have our grievances so we should be united as one together we are stronger

• I wish students would realise that you cannot be handed education for free. If you want the privilege of being educated to a high level you should pay. Either through a loan or by working part_time.

You can’t expect to get stuff for free.

• I agree to an extent with what you’re saying, but that poses many more problems that you haven’t addressed. Increasing fees and cuts to grants mean that education will become elitist – this has already started to happen, where people from disadvantaged backgrounds can’t get a third level education. And with regards to working part time, that’s a lot easier said than done for a bunch of eighteen or nineteen year olds with no work experience and unfriendly college timetables. I personally think that this kind of protesting is all that we have left to make a stand, and I applaud them for making a stand; they put the rest of the country to shame.

• Education is a fundamental human right not a privilege. It is also a sound investment by the state as graduates earn on average a 70% higher income than non graduates therefore pay a proportionately larger amount of tax, therefore over the period of their working life they pay for the cost of their education many, many times over. Furthermore it is our wealth of graduates that has consistently made Ireland a hub for foreign investment from the likes of Pfizer, Intel, Google, Facebook etc who pump billions into our economy and provide employment for thousands.

• Finland would disagree. All education including 3rd level is paid by the state as they deem education should be a basic human right for everyone, not just the rich.

• Basic education is a human right, but people expect to get handed free 3rd level education, its not viable when the country is in so much debt.

I’m not saying that third level education should be only for the rich, I’m also not saying that fees should be paid up front. There has to be a system where students pay back the fees when they are in a position that they are earning the 70% higher income that they quote so often. The fact that graduates can earn such a higher income is a privilege that people in this country are now turning their noses up at, and that is caused by being handed free college degrees.

If everybody has to payback their college fees once they are employed then it is not discriminating anybody. In fact its the opposite of discriminating…

I’ve just graduated this year, I had no grant, I come from a big family so my parents couldn’t support me through college, I worked hard and had a part time job. I have come out of college and after 6 months I was lucky enough to find work, if I was asked to contribute to the fees that were paid for me during my working life I would accept it, don’t get me wrong I’d gave to make cuts elsewhere in my life to accommodate it.

As for Finland, they are not in recession. If we were in their position maybe we could do the same, but I’m dirty we are not.

If you want free education then you’ll have to bed content with living in a recession stuck country for longer and these 70% higher income jobs that you soak of won’t exist in this country.

Change has to happen in this country, whether you are a big shot in the business world or a student change had to happen to get us out if the hole we have found ourselves in.

If you see any alternative solution I’m all ears

• I’m not engaging further as I made the point in my previous reply, the amount of tax paid by graduates due to their higher incomes pay for the cost of their education many times over and draws in billions of euro of foreign investment.

• Ok Ruaidhri, you can continue to leech of the country that is not in a position to fund the education system. You can keep repeating your rehearsed off replies but at some stage you’ll have to learn how to have a conversation about these topics instead of running away.

• Dónal, I’m not a student. I am in full time employment. Education is a sound investment by the state, which part of that statement do you not understand?

• This has got nothing to do with investing in audio supplies…

• Your hilarity knows no bounds.

• Your solution to a country that has been crippled by bank loans and bad debt is student loans? That doesn’t sound like “change”

• No its the neocons solution. Debt = slavery. 1 trillion plus student debt in the US is a great example.

• M.B Ryan 12/12/12 #

Third Level Education is not a right, it is a complete privilege, a privilege some students in Ireland abuse. As a new graduate working full time in a college I witness this abuse every day. Those in receipt of grants should be expected to maintain an honours average at the end of each semester or risk loosing the next instalment.
      In addition, NUIG are in the middle of their End of Semester Exams, Surely the SU is setting a bad example by wasting their time sitting in an office in Co Mayo achieving nothing except for highlighting their blatant ignorance of the political issues of the day.
      As for the point regarding free education in Sweden and other Scandinavian Countries, it would be impossible to compare them fairly to Ireland. first of all, their tax system is entirely different. Second of all the standard of education and the conduct of Universities is of a higher standard than here. Transport the students of any Irish Universityy to a Swedish University and the vast majority would fail miserably.
      Ireland still has low fees in comparison to the United Kingdom and other European countries. By all means, use your right to protest, but sitting in an office in miserable Castlebar, is that really the way to go? Really?

• It actually is change because then we would be paying for our education when we are in a position to afford it, ie when we have our achieved our degrees and obtained the necessary skills that can enable us to earn the higher income that is a privilege. Rather than taking it for free, and not respecting and appreciating the value of the service that we do get.

We’ve all seen and know people or of people that are in university and are more interested on having the craic and getting the shift until the few days before the end of semester exams. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not painting every student with the same brush, I know that there are people that go to college and work their assess off, but lets not pretend that there is not another side to the coin. How do you feel about people that are not interested in working as hard as they should and just want to go out as much as they can? Is that value for your money? Is that worth the investment? I’m pretty its not.

All I’m saying is that if people know that they have to pay back their fees when they leave college then they will work harder as it’ll be their money that will be paying for it, not the governments, not their parents them. This will make students work harder and benefit the education system that you are all bent on investing in, rather than hinder it.
      I may have used the term “loan” earlier” and in hind sight that was probably not the correct term, but more of an education tax that is paid by people in the years after they graduated would work better.
      It would be technically a loan… As the state would pay for the education (loaning the money to pay the fees), then the student would re-pay it in tax (Re-paying the loan), but it would remain that there would be no fees for the student to pay… Win, Win situation if you ask me… What is the problem with this? It does not favor the “rich” or the “poor”, as after college everybody would end up paying, regardless of the back ground they come from. Actually, I think this would work out better for poorer people, but that’s just me.

A person can really only appreciate the true value of money when it is coming out of their own pocket, it’s very easy to spend it when it belongs to someone else.

• before i state my point, i am not in favour of the cuts students are getting, the lies they were told, etc. i am a student myself. But, i really dont see in how staging a sit in has done any good apart from getting them arrested. All this is has done is get it out there the student unions are angry. I strongly believed that the government are going to stick to the cuts, they are not going to change it now. But if students have any hope of twisting them around it, its no by 5 of them sitting in an office. it needs to be told that ALL students are angry, protests were held, but did every student turn up? no. did the majority of student even turn up? no. they need to get through to the students first before they can get through to the government. When the majority of students protest, that number will be huge, then maybe, the government may listen. But ya, i dont see what 5 of them sitting in an office, knowing they are going to get arrested has done. Fair play for they effort they putting in to it, but i dont see how they are going to gain anything from it. awaiting the criticism!!

• Hope they don’t mind staying in this country and not being able to emigrate to U.S. , Canada or Austrailia with a criminal record….

• People compare Sweden and Finland to Ireland. – sweden has the seconds highest income tax rates in Europe. Finland is 9th highest. Ireland has lower taxes than both. Maybe the Irish government should increase taxes to pay for peoples free education ? How would that go down ?

• Maybe we should get the multinationals to pay a tax rate in excess of 0.14% or get the government to close loopholes that let the rich pay less taxes. Its about time we start taxing the people that have it and not the people that don’t.

• Starbucks paid €35,000 in tax last year to the Irish state. That is less than many individual people. Sort that out and I’m pretty sure you’ll come up with a few extra quids to spend on education.

• The only people impressed by five students staging a peurile sit-in in Enda Kenny’s constituency office in Castlebar are students themselves. Tax-paying adults who struggle to pay their way each week in this recession, the same tax payers who are being asked to fund these students’ elevation to a higher income lifestyle – not necessarily in Ireland – are not in the least impressed. But if it helps you to applaud one another then go ahead. It’ll give you something to do as you pass away the idle days until you start to make a contribution to society..

• A better educated populace raises the overall economic output of any area. Society is not necessarily being taken advantage of by students, nor is the act of education a gift given by the state purely out of charity to young people. We need more education in the country, not less.

• People like yourself need the education Daivd, college is an education, a self investment, not a lifestyle.

• In that case, if €3000 is too much for you to pay, then get a job like they do in other countries. It may be below your dignity to wash dishes or floors, but if that’s what it takes then do it. Don’t ask the tax-payer to do it for you.

Take responsibility for your own lives. If you won’t do it then you don’t deserve an education. It’s time to grow up and face the big bad world!

• I washed cars to get through college, and now I’m out and lucky enough to be employed within 6 months.

But that is because I wanted it more than being in the SU.

• Well done to the guards

Add New Comment