TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Struggling students given food boxes as 5,500 still wait for grant

The Union of Students in Ireland says students are going to college hungry – while one college has set up a soup kitchen for students who can’t afford food.

Students from UCD and the Dún Laoghaire IADT protest outside Eamon Gilmore's office in November
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

THOUSANDS OF THIRD level students around the country are being given boxes of food by students’ unions as they continue to wait for their grants to be paid.

The Union of Students in Ireland said students are going to college hungry, while one college has set up a soup kitchen to provide meals for students who can’t afford food.

New figures show that 5,575 students are still waiting to receive their first grant payment, more than four months after the college year began.

USI President John Logue said that many of the students were “desperate” for financial assistance.

“While some Students’ Unions can provide basic assistance as regards food and modest welfare loans, they cannot pay rent or fees for students who rely on grants to cover these costs,” he said. “The chronic delay with grant payments is stretching the patience of landlords to breaking point”.

The USI has called on the Minister for Education to put pressure on SUSI, the new grant system, to ensure all payments are received by the end of the month.

Ruairí Quinn acknowledged in November that some students would not receive their grants until January.

John Logue said that a “significant” number of Students’ Unions around the country are giving food boxes to students who come to college hungry.

The Athlone Institute of Technology has set up a soup kitchen in response to the demand from students who need food.

The new centralised system introduced last summer to replace the old system of local authorities administering grants has been heavily criticised over the long delay before students are told whether they will receive a grant or not, as well as an additional wait before the grant is paid.

The USI said SUSI has “singularly failed to make the grant processing system more efficient and, as a result, many students are in serious financial difficulty”.

Of the 65,000 applications to SUSI, more than 50,000 students were still waiting for a decision on their grant by the end of October, at which time SUSI had made a decision on just 12,000 applications. The backlog had dropped to 21,000 applications by the end of November

SUSI was forced to take on extra temporary staff in December to deal with the backlog.

Read: SUSI backlog means some student grants delayed until 2013 – Quinn >

Read: Calls for independent student grant appeals system >

Read: Student sleep out cancelled after Gardaí refuse permission >

Read next:

Comments (63 Comments)

• Pay no mind to the youth because its not like the future depends on them.So called adults coming on bashing students when there clearly been kisked down the road like the rest of us is shortsited and foolish to say the least .I would say to any student out there start talking politics and get yereselves mobilized and dont fall for empty promises next election because the same gang will be looking for a vote agan .If ye can wait that long.

• An important omission from this article is the fact that the results of exams sat before and after Christmas will be withheld from students who have still not paid their fees as they are awaiting receipt of their grant monies. This is the case in WIT and I’m sure, in other colleges.

• Julie 07/01/13 #

Same in the institute of technology in tralee so I’m sure it is the same in all institutes of technology

• Thats a bit much…and the academic staff are collaborating in this shit?

You kids want to start educating yourselves, extra-curricular.
      Its your country, start claiming it back. There are better ways to run a shop. These gombeens are so crooked they couldn’t run a market stall.

• That shouldn’t be happening. The HEA wrote to all the HEI’s in November/ Dec to request that students who were suffering under the SUSI fees debacle be permitted to register and be afforded the same rights as those who had had their fees cleared in time. You should query your college on that.

• Is this true? I mean….if we read this in a book we wouldn’t believe it and call it imaginary rubbish, yet here we are…21st C. Ireland, broke, under a European and home grown Dictate, hungry, mass immigration, the state a blatant instrument in the rise of the rich. A state elected by the people to protect the people but who decided instead in slowly disembowelling society and the social contract.
    Many people have said things can’t be that bad, you might be right but it didn’t take 250k people to revolt in 1916/22 it took only 3% of the population and a hand full of men and women to change the course of Irish history. Do we really need to go back to those days? Sometimes I really wonder and wait for the last push…..

• Wonder could Quinn and co.survive 4 mints with no pay and no expenses. D?il expenses should be given to the students until grants paid.

• It’s horrific what’s happening. I’m in Galway, and the amount of students struggling is ridiculous. I know several who can’t afford meat or fresh veg, and instead it’s toast or noodles all day every day. It’s heartbreaking to watch happen, and seeing friends too afraid to turn on heating in case the electricity bill is too high is just horrible.

• May end up along the US model where if your family arent rich you cant afford to go to college which will create an even worse class divide.Education of all things should be fully supported by the government.How many English can afford 9k GBP a year for college its madness.

• Irish governments will always support education as emigration has been our ‘go to’ safety valve and the saviour of political careers, these gombeens know that without good educational qualifications that valve may shut and our youth might decide to make a new contract with serious people who could run this place.

The people who run the new system of grants payments are among our most valued (salary& pension) our most protected (job security) and our most stressed (working hours & flexi time). Give them a break, they are doing their best.

• but of course people will come on here like they bitch about welfare people and struggling with mortgages and bitch that “oh they have the life and all that”, wake up people ireland is in serious trouble only the elite at the top and very minor few on welfare are having “the life” the rest of us are just about surviving, I am a mature student and I see these kids doing jobs too help pay for college even though some have grants but are told by lectures not get have part time jobs in case it affects there study. you can say students drink and some have mam and dad banking them but the majority are just about surviving or are on the verge of dropping out and believe me the colleges don’t care cos students from outside the eu are being brought in there droves cos they pay between 9-15000 euro to go college here so its benefiting the colleges and the government to keeping screwing over students more and more

• You’ve got it. Thomas.

The message is phukk off and emigrate, we won’t have jobs for you lot in 3 years time so why would we spend our bondholding masters’ loot on ye when we can get in rich kids for the education industry.

Once you industrialise ‘hospitality’ and health you have the newspeak digested into economic newthink.

Phukk the colleges, educate yourselves to what is going on.

• ISSA 07/01/13 #

I totally agree with you. I think they are only targeting students from non Eu countries as we do pay 3 or 4 times more than the EU students.

• The governments are not refusing to give money, they simply have their processing in a mess.

Lets stick to the point here

• They never seem to mess up the processing when it comes to bailing out fat-cat party supporters or their own payments and expenses…selective efficiencies?

They won’t mess up the banqueting menu for their 6 months of austerity as €u hosts.

• Katie 07/01/13 #

So thankful I had the opportunity to finish college. Had I been born 4 years later I couldn’t have afforded it.

• I mean you can expect teething problems from any new system, but this is just a blatant failure. And its nothing to do with elites or anything its just the fact that the civil service in this country runs at a rate that is embarrassing compared to any other european country. Simple fact is, they need to work harder.

• It has everything to do with elites and how they run this island and other captive ‘democracies’ globally.

Want to educate yourselves kids?

‘The Globalisation of Poverty, Impacts of the IMF and World Bank Reforms’, by Michel Chossudovsky(Professor of Economics, University of Ottawa).
      For those with less time, get a copy of Naomi Klein’s ‘Shock Doctrine’ for a summary.
      Its not all in your textbooks.

• I wouldn’t be so quick to bash these students this is just the pits really is they surely are learning the true value of money, plus they could be your boss some day …

• EU presidency, 70 million for Ireland and 35 million for Denmark? While the students go hungry, the Students should camp out on the grounds of their Colleges in protest!

• A disgrace that the grant has taken this long. It’s needy students that are entitled to it. There really is a backwardness in this country where education is being made available to the rich while the poor are encouraged to emigrate.

• Breaking News

Cabinet Salaries Six Months Overdue, Expenses Unpaid.
    Also Today, Bondholders Queue for Relief Measures in Freezing Conditions.

• ISSA 07/01/13 #

This shouldn’t happens to the students as its their right to access education. I once shared apartment with fellow Irish students and couldn’t believe on how they were surviving on noodles. They couldn’t turn on the heating for fear of electric bills. It’s so hurting to see people surf urging from their own country.
    I think they are only concentrating with Students from non Eu countries as we do pay more than the Eu students of which it shouldn’t be allowed to happen

• The wages of Ruairi Quinn should be withheld until every student has received their grant.

• Well done Labour you’re as bad as the Yellow Tories (LIBDEMS) in the UK, you’ve been sussed you big fat liars, goodbye Gilmore and you’re cronies you bunch of elitists. Christ the moment you lot are in office you fail big time.

• Couldn’t agree more Thomas Newell

• Any of the students who are driven and have genuine ambition to succeed at their chosen field have part time jobs. Great admiration for those guys.

• I was one of these students that held down a part time job as well as being in full time education but unfortunately lost my job last year as the shop couldn’t cover the upwards only rent. It is nearly impossible to find another one. A lot of students are looking for work and just can’t find it.

• Actually Ted, a lot of the students who have ‘genuine ambition’ to do well recognise the possibility of a part time job doing harm to their degree, and have to get one anyway at the expense of their academic work. They shouldn’t be held on a pedestal in comparison to students who do not or cannot source part time work. Unless you live in a city like Dublin or Galway they’re not exactly plentiful.

• @Ted, I worked my way through college,part time with all the hours under the sun. Took a year off and worked three jobs to fund my Master’s. I still relied on my grant and struggled when it didn’t come through. It was always late and I would not be exaggerating if I spoke of a week or two when I only had bread, ketchup and onions to live on or similar stuff that was left over. As it is part time jobs that you can work while in college are not easy to come by and those that exists are held on to tightly. I had the same job all through college. I still only have the part time one now because full time employment is still in the works. Getting part time work when you can only work weekends and maybe an evening or two a week isn’t easy when employers want flexibility and they have many people, unemployed and not in college who will give it to them.

• Hmmm Have a look in the student pubs in Carlow, no food boxes needed there

• It’s seems to me like a lot of these students are incapable of paying for anything themselves!

• it might be a struggle but our education system is quite good and very cheap compared to most countries, look at the grants colleges get from Europe to help us get more graduates in areas we need them. You can do a masters in ireland for a little over 2500 in top universities. vec or city grants are a great help to people but a lot of people know how to manipulate the system. look at how expensive it is to get a third level degree in the US! it is a struggle for people but it can be a worse struggle for people who don’t get grants, I think a huge over haul is needed on how grants are awarded. For people who are complaining about students drinking and having money to do that, there are very cheap ways to get drunk, students will always find a way and with the pressure a lot of them are under i certainly wouldn’t blame them

• A master’s for 2500? Mine cost 7000! Plus 5000 rent and other expenses.Nowhere near cheap. And that was a cheap one! Using the US, UK etc as an example is null and void as these countries have LOAN SYSTEMS and in the US in particular large sections of society in which third level education will never even be a pipe dream

• My masters was over €8,000 four tears ago I worked full time reduced my hours and covered my mortgage and bills its not easy or cheap to get a masters degree in this country as its a way for university’s to make money.

• what field? and what university? I’m doing a masters in computer science for 2700 in UCC, UL was same for any computer science related field, as I said earlier europe pays grants to colleges so we get graduates in areas where we need them at the moment. A comparasion is a what it is really, if you want to deam that void off with you haha maybe you should have went to mainland Europe same grants, and some really good universities and cheaper living. you obivoulsy dont avail of a grant to cover your fees here since your giving out about them

• I have never given out about my fees I went to NUIG cheaper by a long shot then UL at the time and I got better choices and opportunities following on from it than the UL cohorts at the time. Fair play to you for getting yours for that price I know the standard rate in UL for nursing/midwifery is above the national average supply and demand.

• sorry was referring to Jen. In fact I admire your dedication

• Thanks Chris and fair play to you its not easy.

• You don’t get fees for Master’s anymore, they stopped that. I availed of the grant and the european student assistant fund throughout college and still just scraped by. Field was InternationalRelations / Political Science in Dublin. They may have similar/lesser fees etc in European country but you don’t get a grant to study overseas and depending on the country/language barrier/living costs/standard of teaching the option really isn’t that viable.

• In the UK Students recieve GRANTS that are means tested which they DO NOT pay back exactly like here, if their parents earn over a certain amount they Qualify for LOANS which they only pay back IF they get a job and then only IF their income reaches +£15,000. LOOK IT UP. These students are getting what their conterparts in the uk are getting. Bear in mind that if these students were sitting at home the dole would be paying them £100 per week.

• registration fee jen. pretty sure you can get grants through Europe for study on mainland europe if your a citzen.

• In Sweden any EU citizen can do an undergrad degree for free. Most of their Masters degrees are free and they even have a range of free Ph.D’s. And they have cheap state loans and grants to cover living expenses.

Just saying.

• And what is not publicised is that approx half of the students CAN’T be paid because they haven’t submitted simple paperwork like bank details

Its good to have all the information before commenting ….

• If prositution was legalised then students would be able to pay their way

• @Jenn. Just to clarify there are still grants for Masters [and PhD’s} but less money than in past. Used to be up to ?6250 plus maintenance if you were lucky. Now its mostly ?2000 & no maintenance. Families on v low income receive up to the ?6250 but no additional maintenance. This is all under the nre SUSI scheme.

Add New Comment