TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Students arrested after occupying Fine Gael TD’s constituency office

Students climbed onto the roof and entered the constituency office of Brian Walsh TD in Galway earlier today.

The students have climbed on to the roof of the constituency office.

Updated 1.54pm

NINE STUDENTS HAVE been arrested after they occupied the constituency office of a Fine Gael TD in Galway city this afternoon, protesting against the reintroduction of third-level fees.

Two students climbed on to the roof of Brian Walsh’s office and unfurled a banner while a number of students entered the office and chained themselves to desks. The protest was disbanded around lunchtime after gardaí arrived on the scene and made the arrests.

The NUI Galway students were protesting on behalf of the Free Education for Everyone (FEE) campaign which advocates free education at all levels for all citizens.

Gardaí were called to the scene and arrested one of the students before the protest was disbanded and another eight students were arrested. All nine of the students were taken to Mill Street Garda station, gardaí confirmed.

A FEE branch organiser in Galway, William O’Brien told TheJournal.ie that the organisation was targeting Fine Gael TDs as the Union of Students in Ireland’s (USI) focus on Labour TDs over their pre-election promises was not “not going far enough”.

A statement from FEE said:

We are engaging in non-violent direct action in a bid to make our voices heard. Marches are not enough, the different movements resisting austerity need to unite and engage in tactics that are not ignored.

A staff member in the constituency office declined to comment when contacted this afternoon.

DSC_0030[1]

Gardaí were on the scene as the protest came to an end this afternoon (Photo: Peter Boyle)

Walsh told TheJournal.ie this afternoon that he had been notified of the protest just after midday and said he had no prior notification it was going to happen.

Speaking from the Dáil, he claimed the students were being abusive to staff members and constituents and said that there was “a lot of chaos”. O’Brien said he “absolutely refuted” that claim and said the protest was ”constructive but our methodology a bit more extreme than has been used before”.

Walsh, a former Galway-Mayo IT student union president, said he was willing to meet with the protesters to discuss their concerns but said it was “disappointing” they were taking such action as it was premature.

“The protest is premature because no decision has been made in relation to student funding yet and at the moment it’s purely speculation,” he said.

O’Brien, who is also an equality officer at NUIG students union, called on all students unions to stand in support of FEE’s campaign. He declined to comment on whether there will be any further occupations of TDs’ offices.

Read next:

Comments (74 Comments)

• This is probably the first time anyone in Ireland has heard of Brian Walsh.

• Nice to see, doesnt seem like a great day to be up on the roof. Though given the figures released today about unemployment and rising inequality these folks definitely have a good point to make.

• Fair play to them. Don’t know what the weather is like in Galway but in Donegal it is atrocious.

• Dear Journal,

Can you please stop claiming that every student protest is about “protesting against the possibility of third-level fees being introduced”.

Third level fees already exist. At €2,000, they’re second highest in Europe.

• Correct, it is the 2nd highest upfront fee on face value, however that completely ignores that quite a number of countries have a graduate tax (Denmark’s being quite high for a 100% free 3rd level education) as also does not take respective wealth of each country into consideration (by comparing it to GDP for instance). When this is done we drop rather rapidly from 2nd on that list.

This said, I believe the government should continue its current level of investment in education (aside: as well as health) as it is a vital sector for future growth prospects in the country. A lot of waste and high-salaries for staff are key issues that should be addressed. Students seem easier to tackle than trade unions it seems.

All qualified, I was happy to contribute a portion of my own fees with the government picking up the rest. It meant that both parties had an interest in my academics and in me arriving at a degree and placed collective responsibility. Fees should only be free for those who genuinely cannot afford them. Everyone else should asked to make a manageable contribution on a means tested basis.

• What? Can you provide a link about this ‘graduate tax’ in Denmark?

Most EU countries either charge no, or minimal, student fees.

• Apologies, that’s a typo. It should have read “graduated tax system” and yes, Denmark is the highest taxed country in the world (with a ceiling of 59%) followed by Sweden. The effect of a graduated tax system means that the higher earning potential you gain from a degree is recouped from the higher band of tax you pay. In essence, you end up paying for your free fees via a higher tax rate when you start earning.

• Link: http://www.prospects.ac.uk/denmark_job_market.htm

Scroll down to the “Tax Rate” section.

• I need my grant, simple as that.
    I can’t afford an increase in fees.
    The credit union can’t lend me any more money than they already have.
    I work 16 hours a week, I have college 27 hours a week, not including assignments which can keep me in college for 12 hour days.
    It’s not easy to get a grant, I only get fees plus 25% maintanence, about €810 after fees. My dad drives a van and my mam is a part time waitress, it’s hard to get my grant.
    So please don’t suggest I can afford to get less of a grant or can afford to pay more fees. I simply cant. I camer home on the bus with 90c in my pocket.
    I pay for a lot of my materials because my college can only afford so much, and I might not even get a decent job at the end of it. I havent drank in the last few weeks because I simply hadn’t the time or the money.
    I will pay for my 4 years of college when I pay my taxes in the future, not a moment before.
    The next person to suggest that student are lazy drunkards should step back and stop tarring us all with the one brush. That is only some students, not all.

• Fair play to them, at least they are standing up for themselves and the future graduates of the country. But for most of us it’s easier to post a comment on a website…..

• It’s not them who should be arrested.

• Not much of a climb ,was it?

• Thanks for the support. This was about more than students, this was standing up for everyone in society being unfairly targeted to fix a problem they did not cause.

No more to the privatisation of profit and the socialisation of debt. It is wrong and it is unjust and students and ordinary working class people will NOT pay for it.

Much love to everyone who is supportive of us in what we did today, we stand with you also.

Forward the revolution!

• I do not like to see students being arrested as I would harbor the fear of it sticking with them for life …. Having said that I admire and respect their efforts for drawing attention to this issue on my behalf next year I hope my son will go to college….. It is true that Education is being priced beyond our reach !!!

• Education is a right entitled to everyone, not a luxury to be afforded only to those whose parents are able to pay for it.

Forward the revolution!
      FEE Abú!

• Cynic 30/11/11 #

The heights some people will go to to get attention

• Dducation might be right for everyone but that does not mean it is free, food is a right also but you have to pay for it. Why should people that don’t avail of it have to pay for others education. our system has become a junket for for overpaid educators. what working class people do you represent?

• It is not only ‘working class’ people who benefit from ‘Free’ education. It also benefits people on the dole !!!

• i’m sure it benifits everyone to varying degrees, the problem is it’s not free

• @ Martin, your economic insight astounds me, I had never considered that it may be the case the education still has to be funded in some way. Thanks for the enlightenment. There are plenty of alternative options for funding that are both fairer and more beneficial to the country. I advise you to look at education funding policies in Europe such as Denmark and the Netherlands. There are plenty of alternatives to choose from. You would be aware if you bothered to research what you are on about.

Your claim that we don’t benefit from the education of others is absurd. Remember saying this the next time you take your kids to school or have to go to the doctors. Education benefits ALL of society, the ancient greeks knew this thousands of years ago and it is just as true today.

And finally, I represent the students of NUI Galway who elected me to their Students’ Union and members of FEE Ireland.

• @William i am very aware that there are better ways of funding education, up to now we were on the FREE trip, which I never heard of students protesting about as being unfair. now when they are being asked to up their share it gives aspiring politicos the chance to cut their teeth.
      Where did i claim that we dont benifit from the education of others, i just think that “the Others” benifit more and as such should pay more.

the ancient greeks also had slaves, which went some way towards paying for the education of the ones that got education, i trust you dont believe that everybody got educated back then?
      I dont have any wish to pay for the vastly overpaid and under worked lecturing industry

I’m sure you represent some students very admirably, however I asked which working class people you represent. I’m sure you have a bright future in politics, once you get the youthful condescension under control

• Hmmm 8 students out of all NUIG…not good.

• Well done all! Politicians need to fear the people and just getting in line at the polling booths hasn’t done it.

• “Young and idealistic”, said like it’s a bad thing.
    Ideals are central to the development of society, and it is a positive thing to see people stick to these, otherwise society would regress.
    To those who say students should pay for their own fees, you basically say the poor and sick should die because they can’t afford private healthcare.

Students don’t reinvest in the economy, because I don’t know if you noticed there is over 400,000 people on the dole here, and no opportunities.
    You’d be complaining if they stayed and were stuck on the dole.

The fact is everyone has come to view society in a conditional way, “I don’t like it but I guess I need to pay for…” or “Free education or healthcare isn’t feasible so we can’t have it.”
    Under the current system it isn’t, and I don’t mean due to economic cutbacks.
    Once economics stops being about the monopoly of wealth and more about those paying the taxes, then we find something like free education or healthcare, not just idealistic, but a genuine possibility.
    Try think outside the box people, there is more than one way to work the balance sheets…

• And a related note, of course they know what the budget is regarding student finances.
      The whole of Europe got to see it, and it’s a week before the budget itself is due.

Idiots lying to us when it’s all so obvious.

• Never mentioned anything about the poor and sick dying because they can’t afford private healthcare. It’s far fetched & hysterical statements like these from yourself and your colleagues along with childish occupying antics which has slightly more mature, taxpayers coming to a reasonable conclusion that the students need to grow up and act like adults if you want to be treated like adults. Everyone is taking cuts in this recession. Ive taken pay cuts and pay extra taxes. As a taxpayer I believe I’ve a right to connect on where the tax is spent. Asking students to make a reasonable contribution towards their education is fair IMO. Rather that than see essential services cut back further.

• were the they all full time students?

• Bless them.. They are young and idealistic. I can only imagine the war-stories in the students union bar tonight.

• yeah, and they’re all doing it so they can earn more money to pay more tax.

• Actually we do it so that the next generation of students will be able to earn more money and pay more tax.
      I am a final year student (second degree) And fees make no difference to me. If they bring in full fees this week it will not affect me personally in any way.
      Its the people who are younger than me that are having opportunities taken away from them in order to repay the private debts of banks and investors that we are standing up for here.
      It’d be nice to see people standing up for their own sons and daughters, brothers and sisters when it comes to issues like this. Perhaps you’ll feel different after the budget.

• Good job everyone fair play to you all too for pointing out that it’s more than about fees. Go FEE. Interesting point raised above though by Martin McCormack about whether education should be allowed to be packaged in terms of marketability or as a product. Sometimes we end up using the language of the beast to oppose the beast… the right to learn and the opportunities have far more relevance to positive mental health and fulfilment whatever sphere you chose that education in. You could of course put that in economic terms too but lets not!!!

• 100% free fees for thoes who can’t afford them, make the rest pay. For thoes who get free fees they should pay 1% extra income tax for life, as we are always told college educating will get you a better job

I dropped out of college after 2 years, I received a maitainance grant, and got a hardship fund of the college, must of set the country back 60k and for what, no benefit to me or country.

Why does the issue on fees have to be have them or not, why not look at other possibilities, foreign students would love to come here and study but some colleges will not let them, one IoT had only 2 non eu students last year?

PS
    At least someone is actively protesting against the government and their childish economic policy

• Sorry, where does “free” come from? Education isn’t free. Someone has to pay for it. I’ll give these students their first lesson in public expenditures and personal finance. Free in their minds is having the fairies pay for it.

• Lazy feckers… The way the economy is they are niave to expect that there won’t be any cuts… Go study for your exams, its what I’m doing….

• Students should pay fees. Why should I pay for them? What will students give me?

• They’ll stop u paying more tax on social welfare in the future.

• we’ll attract multinationals with a well educated workforce….
      we’ll pay for your children’ and your grand kids to go to college….
      we’ll pay taxes, which will more than cover our college costs…
      anything else?

• how about better conditions in your old age and contributing to your pension.
      or there protesting for your kids when they reach that level.
      or because they have the balls to get out and be heard.

take your pick you nummty

• @Derek. Doesn’t mean they shouldn’t pay fees. How many students emigrate after gaining a degree? What do they give back? NOTHING.

@Sean. Plenty of educated people before you can’t attract multinationals. What makes you so special?Everyone pays taxes. Do you mean you’ll pay ADDITIONAL taxes to cover the cost of your education? You might as well pay the fees now.
      I’ll pay for my own kids, or my kids will pay their own fees.
      If you haven’t the money to pay fees, borrow it.

@Alan. FYI, 25k PA for my son to do his degree @UCC. He already has BCL from UCD. Useless in this economy.
      You should pay your own way too….you bludging freeloader.

• Open educated heads to share your country with?? Cop on. We all pay anyway.

• @chicken ball ann, @Derek, what do you (and other commenters on this site) have against the letters ‘y’ and ‘o’ in the context of ‘you’ or ‘your’?

If such poor command of the written word is what we get when we fail to invest adequately in education, you’re (note the apostrophe in this context) doing a fine job of making the students’ argument for them.

• I forgot to say, my son is leaving Ireland as soon as he qualifies. There’s better money on offer elsewhere.

• By having a better degree, I’d make more money and pay more taxes.
      I can’t get any more loans, the credit union won’t loan me any more.
      I already work 16 hours a week in addition to 27 hours of college a week. So tell me, where will I earn this money for more fees? Sell a kidney?
      In the USA they have a private college system and new graduates are crippled with debt and stress before they even walk out the door of the place.
      I hope you can afford to pay your childrens way, because if not, they’ll be crippled with debt and an extreme workload in college.

• you sound like an amazing dad Conor. Id be so happy to have a dad that packed me off to another country cheering cos the wages are better whilst he came on to internet forums to give out to the students who are fighting to improve stuff in this country. A fucking inspiration you must be alright…

• Tom Molly r u lonely ? Need a hug ?

• Students generally pay their own fees! Post-grads will pay much more in taxes. How is this not obvious?

• Ah lads come on now….can’t take ur protests seriously, up ur game please.

• Hardy Bucks.

• That’s what I call an S U- its got a military wing… “Equality officer”

Add New Comment