TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Ministers’ Yes statements removed from treaty website

Meanwhile, Enda Kenny has launched a scathing attack on Gerry Adams and Sinn Féin for how they are conducting the No campaign.

Kenny at the Oireachtas sub-committee meeting this morning.
Image: HeaNET.ie Screengrab

BEFORE LAUNCHING AN attack on Sinn Féin for its misleading No campaign on the Fiscal Compact treaty, Enda Kenny confirmed today that certain statements quoted on the Government’s information website will be removed on Monday.

In fact, the statements which were accused of being biased toward a Yes vote have already been removed from stabilitytreaty.ie.

The Taoiseach has taken to referring to Sinn Féin party president Gerry Adams not by name but as “the leader of the No campaign”.

He did the same again today at a Sub-Committee on the Stability, Coordination and Governance Treaty as he criticised the party for its “deliberate subversion of the truth”.

Referring to leaflets distributed to advocate a No vote, Kenny said that by taking only selected quotations from economists, Sinn Féin was not respecting the intelligence of the Irish people.

Sinn Féin chose to be selective and it was an “utter distortion of the facts”, according to the Taoiseach. He also accused the campaign of misrepresenting the treaty and disseminating myths about it.

Addressing Sinn Féin’s threat of a legal challenge over the State’s information campaign, Kenny said that the Government was not in the “business of scaremongering”. Answering questions from MEP Paul Murphy, he said such a court case would amount to censorship.

However, he added that the Stability Treaty website currently includes ministerial statements but when the campaign is launched proper on Monday, “all that will emerge will be facts”.

The campaign will be strictly explanatory and factual, he told Murphy in response to questions about the website’s adherence to the McKenna judgement.

In his earlier address, Kenny outlined what he called “compelling reasons” for ratifying the Stability Treaty on 31 May.

He said he was not proposing  a United States of Europe but recognised the need for new economic tools.

Commenting on the need for access to emergency funding through the ESM, Kenny said that it will be easier for Ireland to exit the programme once a backstop is in place.

“Having access to the ESM makes it less likely that we will need it,” he told the sub-committee.

Meanwhile, Finance Minister Michael Noonan has published the general scheme of the Fiscal Responsibility Bill 2012 which sets out legislations required to implement the key provisions of the Fiscal Compact treaty if it is ratified by the electorate.

More: SF denies misrepresenting economists on No vote leaflets>

Video: Gerry Adams challenged on economists’ quotes in SF leaflet>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (68 Comments)

• Why are they calling it a ‘stability’ treaty when the Spanish are ignoring it, there is no guarantee the Greeks will implement it, the French may or may not renegotiate it and it has brought down the Dutch government?

• This campaign by Ministers mocking and referring to opposition TDs in a disrespectful manner is an insult to the voters of this country. It is childish and behavior unbecoming of a Representative of Dáil Eireann.

• “the Stability Treaty website currently includes ministerial statements but when the campaign is launched proper on Monday, “all that will emerge will be facts”.

So we will have facts and not Ministerial fiction. Good to know and about time too.

• Have to laugh at inda accusing people of dishonesty. He Lied his way into power with his 5 point turn, addressed the nation to say that the position we’re in is not our fault while giving interviews in europe saying it was, then does his best to avoid giving us a referendum and is complicit in having a blackmail clause inserted in case democracy broke out and we got a vote.

Lets make no mistake about it guys, fine gael gave the ECB a gun to point at our heads with this blackmail clause and refuse to have it removed in case the irish publc don’t vote the way fine gael want us to. Showing their fascist roots once more, surprise surprise.

Fine Gael 2012 – the blueshirts have become the brownshirts.

A small small man. And I believe he’ll be hiding once again for the vincent browne debate next week. He should send merkel in his place. It would be the first honest thing he’s done as taoiseach.

• So putting my interpretation on your statement Enda – you and your Government are going to start telling us the truth – but only from next Monday – when the lies told to us up to now have been removed ! Is that it now Enda ?

Unfortunately you have already blown it where I am concerned, Enda – you and your Government have about equal credibility as the last government , at this stage! – ZERO !

• there is not one FG/LAB minister with a backbone, they should have told merkel to shag off and demanded a writedown or demanded a renegotiation of terms at the very least, the best thing to do to a bully is stand up to them, shame on FG/LAB, VOTE NO!

• It was proved last night on Vincent Browne that Leo Vradkar is either the most stupid cabinet minister there is and should not be allowed hold office because of his low intelligence (or) thinks the Irish public are the most stupid society on the planet for which he should not be allowed hold office simply because of his arrogance and lack of respect for the people he is supposed to represent.

He actually tried to argue that even if there was Yes propaganda on a publicly funded website that it wasn’t breaking the rules because a “link” or “video clip” wouldn’t have cost anything to make. I mean seriously! I wouldn’t even explain how stupid a remark that is to anyone for fear I would insult anyones intelligence, never mind utter such BS while being well paid to run a bankrupt country. Leo Vradkar epitomises everything that is wrong with the arrogance of politics and the fantasy land these guys live in, when he comes out with such crap!

• Enda, don’t spend too much money on the campaign as the answer will be “NO”

• This is just going to be like the Nice treaty all over again. It’ll keep going back to a vote until the gov get the yes vote they want.

Don’t forget Enda has already signed the treaty! Democracy me a**e!

• God, hopefully not. The treaty is already half dead thanks to Spain and the possible next president of France, and its main purpose, to appease german voters ahead of their may elections, will be gone soon.

• Fagan's 26/04/12 #

You forget to add that the leading party in Holland is also dead set against the austerity treaty. Wait till they try to implement it and the growth in Europe goes negative.

• have to vote no, dont trust enda, he is not honest about dealing, and know we will be hit and hit with more poverty,, and believe any of our allies will give us loans to help us out, they may have sold ireland to germany but they cant sell the soul , and for once we do need to get together and say no, all they want is money, all we want is our homes, to have money for food, jobs, and try to keep our cars on the road, they will keep taxing to keep germany happy, but dont give to shites about the people, hundred jobs coming in to the country today, 30 lost in tralee in one day for one business, and nothing coming here, we had a chance for a huge pharmacutical plant, but our government did not stand , and the northern government got involved and offer could not be beaten, where was enda for that ,,, that was a few hundred jobs, where were labour,,, they really dont give to shites, please vote no and have dignity for ireland

• Good man Ends, caught directly lying to the people again. It would be a good thing to pay attention to Philip O’Rourke’s civilized comments above, no matter what you, or any of the rest of us, think of the person you are addressing. Good manners cost nothing which you as a teacher should know.

• Enda just wants a lovely pension to live off for himself. These guys do not give a monkeys about the Irish people. They get paid premiership footballer wages & give nothing to the people but depression & taxes. All of them just looking after themselves and friends then a nice pension and a garda minder and driver looking after them after they get thrown out of office. They have no idea what its like for us. VOTE NO and get these arrogant fools out of office.

• jimbo 26/04/12 #

Ah be quite enda the answer is no.

• The best way to protest is to go against everything these arseholes want to implement! No to the fiscal compact and no water charges or household tax!

• That’s also the best way to bankrupt your country.

• The country is already bankrupt. It just hasn’t been acknowledged yet.

• Comments like this really get to me. Everyone is entitled to their opinion with regards to the current government and their policies. Everyone is entitled to protest against legislation the government implements, or tries to implement. Everyone is entitled to make up their own mind with regards to the water charges, the household tax and the fiscal treaty. That’s the backbone of a democracy.

HOWEVER, merely going against everything that the Government want to implement is not the answer. Nor is it an effective form of protest in the long run. Some of these measures are being implemented because the country is in a terrible state, sure some of them may not be the most effective measures that could be pursued, and we’re all entitled to voice an opinion, and vote no at the ballot box. However to do so just as a form of protest without carefully weighing up the pros and cons, both for the country as a whole and for ourselves as individuals is irresponsible, and could potentially cause more harm.

I’m not in any way putting down foggy_lad’s opinion, he’s entitled to it, and I understand the anger thats felt by the citizens of this country, I feel angry myself, but we can’t let this anger prevent us from making informed decisions, and weighing up the pros and cons put forward by each political party as the debate continues.

• B7584 26/04/12 #

We all know why youre smiling in your profile picture Keith. WE KNOW.

• Enda, sounds reasonable

• How many of these FG arseholes with pictures of themselves fingering Enda off camera do we have to endure on this site? Makes me vomit a little in my throat.

• I agree Enda, but in this case the result would be the same.

• i agree enda.
      i am making an informed decision and that is why i will be
      voting NO

• Haha, Martin. I was just about to say we have another David Higgins. Looks like they’re multiplying.

• “Sinn Féin was not respecting the intelligence of the Irish people.”
    Ehhh…. that kettle is seriously black!

• So enda confirms removal of biased statements from website after SF put the frighteners up them by questioning the legality of their taxpayer funded info drop, then does his best to deflect from the fact that they are actually conceding SF were right by attacking Gerry Adams and co for employing similar tactics to them, ie, being loose with the truth! Another parlour trick then enda! I hope someone in the Dail highlights your hypocrisy today!

• Yes, thanks to sinn féin and vincent browne, it still happened and the government should still be reprimanded.

• Fagan's 26/04/12 #

Referencing Adams as the leader of the No campaign, is not about refusing to name him. It is pointing out that he is the leader of the opposition, look at when Kenny speaks to Micky Martin. He is short, bruff, doesn’t bother with him. He deals a lot more with Adams, might be more adversarial as wel, but that is because he engages, sees them as the opposition, and wants the electorate to know that as well.

FG want SF to be about 20 % in the polls, they want FF to be sticking at their current and they want Labour to hold as is. It will leave FG as the biggest party come next election. FG after 80 years of bolloxing around will finally be a realistic and natural party of Govt.

There is also a realization in Govt. circles that the country cannot survive a FF administration again, presuming that we can get out of the damage the last one did.

2 main parties after 2016 will be SF and FG. FF will be a party of mostly old TD’s with personal votes. The big threat, the eejiting that FG did for last 80 years will ensure that they mess up once more and/or a new party will be formed, taking votes off them, most of FF’s remaining. This also suits them, as it would be a natural coalition party.

Thus spoke Fagans. Amen

• ‘’’Referring to leaflets distributed to advocate a No vote, Kenny said that by taking only selected quotations from economists, Sinn Féin was not respecting the intelligence of the Irish people.’’’

And what part of the Irish peoples inelegance is MR kenny respecting ??
    Here we are seeing bit by bit this country been put solely into the hands of the europeen empire by the likes of these people sticking it down everyone’s necks that we have to say yes and must agree to be told what to do for the best
    Well mr kenny the best thing would be to get rid of you and a lot more like you from the responsiblty of driving this country into the ground (NO more fear of been a yes man to Brussels ) get a real Irish people involved in the running of this country for the benefits of the country and Irish people not for the empire that our so called representatives in Dáil Éireann are so much in love with supporting
    Anyone in support of a new political party to get this country back together ???

• Sometimes I wish there was a third option on the ballot paper that says “Beats the f**k out of me”!

• jimbo 26/04/12 #

@Declancotter where did I state I’m answering for the country your some clown

• It is truly a neoliberal treaty. In essence it will reduce public spending to such an extent it will allow the private sector to run rampant. What we will see is the privatization of utilities, hospitals, education etc.. That is the real reason for this FCT.

• If we vote no, and manage to get rid of FG/Lab. Who do we vote in. Not FF nor SF. Who is left? We need people who know what they are doing? Professionals in their field. No more teachers. No more muppets/puppets. So who??

• that is the biggest problem isn’t it?? politics in Ireland seems to be dishonest to the core, how do you rebuild form that? At what level does it stop? Honest decent people need to step up, but you’re walking into a lions den if you do that, and the public are fickle. That’s the biggest problem Ireland faces IMO.

• I would be inclined to take everything he has said to heart but in total reverse where he refers to SF it’s FG, when it’s Gerry A it’s Enda K.

Liars.

• Ah be. Quite enda, you know it is a no vote, let’s face it 75/ per cent is no, & 44 per cent yes, & 10 per cent undecided, so I guess you are defeated, and your rich guys as well, so get a life from me to you, bye rita

• Mc coy get a life, your defeated in a no vote,

• I agree Dermot Purcell and the big question is WHY is he turning a blind eye … just a thought to why of the non action by The government

• Mr Kenny is 100% right to tackle SF for the mis-use of quotes. Disgraceful stuff.

Add New Comment