TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Taoiseach and Tánaiste attend Remembrance Day ceremonies

Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore became the first Irish Government Minister to participate in a Remembrance Sunday event in Belfast.

File
File
Image: Chris Young/PA Archive/Press Association Images

THE TÁNAISTE AND Taoiseach both attended Remembrance Day ceremonies today.

The Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, Mr Eamon Gilmore TD, is currently on a visit to Armagh and Belfast.

He travelled to Belfast today to attend and participate in the Remembrance Sunday events hosted by Belfast City Council, and was the first Irish Government Minister to participate in a Remembrance Day service in Belfast this morning.

His spokesperson said the visit to Belfast “is an opportunity to underline the Irish Government’s support for reconciliation in Northern Ireland”.

Also today, Taoiseach Enda Kenny participated in a service at the cenotaph in Eniskillen, where 25 people were killed by an IRA bomb in 1987. RTÉ reports that he laid a wreath at the cenotaph, which was followed by a two-minute silence.

President Michael D Higgins is to attend a Remembrance Day service at St Patrick’s Cathedral today at 3.30pm.

West Belfast

The Tánaiste will meet with local community groups in West Belfast today whose reconciliation work is supported by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the International Fund for Ireland and the EU.

He will meet the Chairman of the International Fund for Ireland, Dr Adrian Johnston and representatives of the communities forming the Duncairn Gardens Partnership. He will also visit the Duncairn Gardens Peace Wall at Alexandra Park.

Later today, he will attend the All-Island Schools Choir Competition, where he and Deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness will present the prize to the winning choir.

Yesterday, the Tánaiste addressed the SDLP Party Conference at the invitation of the party leader Dr Alasdair McDonnell in Armagh. According to his spokesperson, the visit was:

an opportunity to recognise the extraordinary contribution of the SDLP to peace and reconciliation on this island and to reinvigorate the close relationship between the Irish government and the SDLP as we embark on a new phase in Northern Ireland building on the success of the Good Friday Agreement.

Read: Taoiseach and Tánaiste to attend Remembrance Day ceremonies>

Read next:

Comments (48 Comments)

• Nice gesture from our Government, I fully support it.

• I’d really love to see an Irish version of the poppy, not a shamrock, but something we could wear to remember the fallen Irish in both wars and the fight for independence. Although the poppy represents the fallen Irish, you feel many forget that. I’d gladly wear it with pride.

• bignazza 11/11/12 #

* who fought in the war of independence

• @bignazza – As much as I could be swayed to agree with you, I just can’t!

The poppy is a token of recognition and remembrance to the ‘poppy fields’ that soldiers fought through in France in WW1, and it symbolises the fact that so many men died in action on poppy fields.

I have heard debates all week regarding the change or a favoured emblem for ourselves to wear.
      On such a day like today, I think a lot of Irish people get flustered with the wearing of a poppy and it is very rare on this island to see folks wearing them.

I think people should not forgot that the men we the Irish are remove ring ‘most of all’ are the Irish guys who were forced into regiments of the king and queen of England.

Lets see it (the poppy) as a nice bright coloured remembrance token all the way from France rather than getting uptight about changing the god damn thing!
      It wouldn’t look right if we were wearing a big harp or a shamrock pulled from the roots in Connamarra someplace, because sadly and unfortunately these men died in France for England and not at home in Ireland where our own problems were at a height. But let’s not forget them either.

• If it was still the symbol in its original form I would totally agree Russell, just in rememberence of people who died in wwi or WWII but its not, its proceeds go directly to the British legion, which is all well and good to support if your British and fair play to them. but why would we support a foreign nations armed forces in regards to wars we have no involvement in. and that’s even if we didn’t have such a ‘coloured’ history with the foreign nation/force.

• I’m always one of the first people to come on this and condemn the pair of them, for being cheats, liars and downright incompetent, but acts like this prove that they do have some decency in them. Maybe there’s hope for us yet.

• Rodrigo dont get your hopes up these two are no more that pension seekers , history will judge these two harshly

• I have known both of these people on a political basis for many years and I have always believed myself to be a good judge of people. While not agreeing with many of their views they have always come across as genuine, earnest and honest individuals. I abhor the inaccurate language you use under a cowardly pseudonym to describe these hard working Public Representatives and believe that the appropriate place for your own despicable behavior should be the libel Courts.

• OICHE MHAITH , youll prob need google translate

• Today is also singles day in China

• It is good and bad – good to remember the countless who died in war, and bad because there is a general lack of comment about the fact that most died needlessly and immorally, and continue to do so in places such as Afghanistan – there is no worse atrocity in my view than sending impressionable 18-year-olds to fight and die in wars about resources and oil – utterly shameful. I have successive generations who fought and died in the British army, mostly because they were poor and in service and it was either a way out or they were pressured by their landed gentry employers. The ones that returned got little thanks – in one case their job as a gardener filled by somebody else despite promises and their wife and family turned out of their lodgings. They need to be remembered. However I agree that the people who refused to fight are also real heroes. It is good that they went to Eniskillen, as the Queen went to the Garden of Remembrance. It is a measure of how much we have peace in our hearts that we can overcome our grievances and struggle to see the other side.

As regards the two world wars – on the face of it people think they had to be fought – but the real issue is the war-mongering and them and us mentality of successive leaders – ww2 was inevitable after Germany was so horribly crushed by the allies – and even then, is 60 million plus people dead and countless more physically and mentally maimed really a great result, even though we ‘won’???

We need to eschew nationalism at every turn, reach out for reconciliation and peace and demand that our leaders do too…

• It’s great to see the Irish people finally recognising the sacrifice their real heroes made, instead of worshiping economic and domestic terrorists. God bless.

• The real heroes are those who refused to fight. My grandparents left Germany rather than fight for Hitler while the rest of their family stayed to commit atrocities in the name of nationalism. Far from celebrating, I’m ashamed of that part of my family history.

• those the same heros that mowed down Aidan Mcanespie , countless children, 13 innocent people on bloody sunday and 11 innocent civilians in the ballymurphy massacre , real heroes alright

• Majella ohare whitecross co.Armagh 12 yo shot dead by british army 14 aug 1976 , Brian Stewart turf lodge west belfast 13 yo shot dead by the british army 4 oct 1976, JulieLivingstone, west belfast 14 yo shot dead by the british army 12may 1981,Stephen Mc Conomy 11 yo derry city shot dead by the brit army on 16 april 1982, John Dougal 16 yo west belfast shot dead by the brit army 9 july 1972, Annette mcgavigan 14 yo derry city shot dead by the brit army 6 sept 1971, Desmond Healey 14 yo west belfast shot dead by the brit army 9 aug 1971, Charles Irvine 16 yo west belfast shot dead by the brit army 13 july 1975, Stephen Geddis 10yo west belfast shot dead by the brit army 28 aug 1975, Paul Moan 15 yo west belfast shot dead by brit army 31 march 1980, Michael Neill 16 yo north belfast shot dead by the brit army on 24 oct 1977, Daniel Hegarty 15 yo , creggan derry city shot dead by brit army 31 july 1972, Paul McWilliams 16 yo west belfast shot dead by the brit army 9aug 1977, Daniel Barrett 15 yo north belfast shot dead by brit army on 9 july 1981, Frank Rowntree 11yo west belfast shot dead by brit army on 20 april 1972, Martin McShane 16yo coalisland tyrone shot dead by the brit army 14dec 1971, John Boyle 16yo dunloy antrim shot dead by brit army 11july1978, Doreen McGuinness 16yo west belfast shot dead by brit army jan1980, Anthony McDowell 13yo north belfast shot dead by brit army 19 april1973, Michael hughes 16yo newry co.Down shot dead by the brit army 18oct 1974, David McCafferty 15yo west belfast shot dead by the brit army 9july 1972, Gerard Gibson 16 yo west belfast shot dead by the brit army 11 july 1972, Manus Deery 15yo derry city shot dead by the brit army 20 may 1972, Kevin Heatley 13yo newry co.Down shot dead by the brit army 28feb 1973, Sean O’Riardon 13 yo west belfast shot dead by the brit army 23mar 1972, you can red arrow all you like , these are unfortunately all facts , I ask you now who are the terrorists?

• to those that red arrow the above comment , can i ask what exactly are you red arrowing against ? that you dont like the truth ? or that ive highlighted it ? or that you think killing kids is perfectly acceptable as long as its the brit army that do it , please do share

• I think people believe that the poppy only commemorates the world wars, and are not aware of either its true meaning or where the money goes…

• I’m sure Stephen you googled and went to dome pro ira site or maybe it’s on wiki I don’t know. But without going to Google I’ll say one name off top of my head gene mcconvile. I’m sure I could find more murdered buy your hero’s. Actually omagh how labour the bombing 25 years ago as well. You really are a Muppet. Nice team you support there. Normally see the eirigi crowd in celtic tops. Funny they take the queens shilling as pay ain’t it. Now guys stop feeding the ignorance out there. I could say his a troll but a troll knows fully well it’s shite they spout. He only gets satisfaction when the pretend soldiers blow up omagh and kill unborn babies :) peace

• and btw it wasnt the IRA that did omagh , maybe you should try learn what your talking about before spouting the brown stuff

• i think it removed my comment cos i have called you what you are ” eye see all” namely a narrow minded blood thirsty bigot , you clearly think its ok all them kids got killed cos it was the brit army that did it , and no i dont agree with or enjoy the idea of innocents especially kids being killed by anybody for any reason , something that as ive already stated doesnt seem to bother you as long as its the brit army that did it , and btw i know more than 1 of those kids families personally , theyre not just another stat for me unlike yourself you lovely lady

• We should all be wearing poppies. The guys that fought for our freedom deserve so much more. Our home grown terrorists are still playing with the idea that they are an army. Let them be real men and go to Afghanistan or other war zones like the British and US lads to help save us from more wares. They have no courage just brass necks with masks like holloween. Well done Enda for a change.

• phil 11/11/12 #

Yeah give money to the same army that helped bomb Dublin and Monaghan.

• Well how do ya do young Willie McBride…? Today, lets remember our fallen soldiers who died in WW1 (as part of British regiments) when our greatest war of all was at home, when British forces were pounding our country with terror and strife.

I know I’ll be told to not divulge in the past and move on from our national history, although some unwanted, we still have to face the facts that we were terrorised and plundered by kings & queens for so long.
      I thought that Remembrance Day may have ‘trended’ on twitter but instead it’s all about the horrendous and insufferable X factor, one direction and some gee bag named Rylan!?

Anyways, Lets remember our soldiers (at least until the X factor results show tonight – Shame!)

• tom 11/11/12 #

frank you are so misguided and ill informed.

• frank your clueless

• M Bowe 12/11/12 #

Is that like the real men who murdered 14 in Derry and the 11 in ballymurphy. How can any Irish man honour that. The poppy honours All British dead. Tho some died for honourable cusses in the great wars etc. lots have not been honourabl in other conflicts and can’t be honored.

• I wonder is there a flower for innocent civilians all over the world killed for nothing. labour have just lost my vote.

• They should sing God Save The Queen as well.

• The Patriots of 1916 must be turning in their graves………The Republic shall never belong to freestaters…. now we
    know why…… Yeats got it right

• free staters cant face the fact that they left their fellow irish men women and children to be ethnically cleansed, so they like to pretend the whole thing never happened, while trying to criminalise those that chose to stand up rather than be massacred

• AMEN

• The so called free staters stood up and fought for their freedom,their so called nothern counter-parts had the lie down “croppy ” mind set.Their was no fight in ulster catholics,4 out of the six counties are catholic majority and the still want to remain in the u.k.

• well they managed to wage a war for 30 years, not bad for people that apparently have no fight in them eh, and dont worry Republicans will finish the job that freestaters couldnt

• Steven your ignorance knows no bounds. My great granddad found in the first world war and came home. Also fought for free state in civil war. The first world war was a sick waste of human life for no reason. No media like today to debate itm just foughtf or what was believed to be right. They were brave men who were wasted and we can’t forget this lesson for humanity. Irishmen also fought in world war two against an evil system and they should be thanked by us. Without them and more like them we would be speaking German. As for your sic k comments on republicans finishing things you repulsive puke. I bet you love the fact that unborn babies, innocent men women and children cut down in omagh

• as ive already stated it wasnt the IRA that did omagh , and as ive already stated i take no joy in innocent people being killed of any race or creed , and even more so kids , something that judging by ur previous comment to the fact the brit army killed all them kids that i named, doesnt seem to bother you as long as its the brit army that do it. And I believe in the peace process it will deliver our United Ireland , so in ur effort to paint me a blood thirsty braindead bigot like yourself , FAIL FAIL

• Republicans will be a long time getting a united Ireland as long as they are content to administer British rule under a Union Jack in Belfast. At the end of the day Sinn Fein showed themselves to be politicians the same as the rest. I wonder what Bobby Sands would make of it all?

• aye mrdarby a freestater , u got no clue , in ur mind ye beat the brits , go bk to sleep son

• “Steven” Should’nt that be Stephen,now go away and lie down croppy boy,and be a good tim..

• going on about how i spell my name and calling me a taig and a tim ( derogatory terms used by brits to describe Irish ) lol , NUFF SAID

• Now,now don’t cry,maybe think before you come on an irish website mouthing off about Freestater this nad Freestater that..Slan agus beannacht…

• and “eye see all ” save us the horse manure about your grandfather fighting for the free state , i showed you a list of names between the ages of 10 and 16 murdered by the brit army and you passed it off like it was nothing, and then went on to personally attack me and strangely enough the football club i support, and u started on about eirigi , a group not every woman in the south would be familiar with to say the least , id say your no more from the south of ireland than im from outer mongolia

• Respect

• You make you’re points in great detail Steven, but why does your profile pic show a Player in a British football teams jersey?

• well mate celtic are an irish club that was set up to help the suffering irish in scotland this is why they fly the tricolour over celtic park if you dont have any on point sensible questions run along

• Barry 11/11/12 #

Steven, but it’s still not an irish team… Unless you are in Scotland one has to ask why you support a non Ireland team?

Also money spend towards the team also goes towards the UK,

Shame you can’t support a local irish team and keep money within Ireland,

• I support my local club I also support celtic as theyre fans know what it is to be Irish and proud and any money i give to celtic helps keep the club i love 1 step ahead of the devil incarnate aka rangers the brit army in a football strip

• M Bowe 12/11/12 #

Very good enda and eamonn. Wear a poppy and honour the Black and Tans True Irish men indeed.

Add New Comment