TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Trinity society withdraws invite to BNP leader Nick Griffin

The Phil had invited the controversial MEP to participate in a debate next week, but withdrew the invite after student protests.

Image: Anthony Devlin/PA Archive

Updated, 16.39

A STUDENT SOCIETY in Trinity College has withdrawn its invitation to the British National Party leader Nick Griffin to speak at a debate next week.

Griffin, an MEP for north-west England, was to address the Philosophical Society’s debate on immigration next Thursday evening, but the college this lunchtime confirmed that it and the society had decided to withdraw the invite.

A statement from the society and the university said the decision had been taken after careful consideration and after both parties had taken “all safety considerations into account”.

They said that the safety of staff and students could not be guaranteed, and that neither Griffin nor any members of the BNP would be given access to the college grounds as a result.

The statement added that the college “encourages balanced debate and freedom of speech at all times” and respected the autonomy afforded to student societies.

The decision to withdraw the invitation came after around 30 protesters disrupted the society’s weekly debate last night, as part of a campaign against Griffin’s invitation.

College newspaper the University Times carried a separate statement from the Phil, however, which said the decision had been made before last night’s disturbances – though the events had crystallised the decision to cancel the debate.

“As a liberal society in a liberal institution, we feel that Mr Griffin’s right to speak on immigration should be protected,” the statement said.

“Despite this, The Phil have been put in a position whereby to proceed with the debate would be to risk the safety of our members.

After the submission of serious security concerns by college authorities, the Gardai and other members of the student body – we feel we have no other responsible choice in this matter than to cancel the debate.

We deeply regret the society’s incapacitation to act as an open forum for discourse in this matter.

‘Bunch of leftists’

BNP spokesperson Simon Darby told TheJournal.ie that the decision to withdraw the invite was “not entirely surprising”.

“It’s disappointing – you’d think Ireland would have at least a rudimentary understanding about free speech,” Darby said, adding that Griffin regularly attracted votes from second- and third-generation Irish families.

“It’s up to students to decide if Nick is right or wrong. I wouldn’t like to be told who I can and cannot listen to, by a bunch of leftists,” he added.

Darby added that the only recent occasion on which Griffin had been permitted to speak at a university debate was at Oxford University in 2007. That appearance had resulted in major protests at the university, with a heavy police presence required to avert rioting.

“It means anyone opposing immigration – and actually meaning it – isn’t given a chance to speak,” he said.

The withdrawal of Griffin’s invitation is not the first time that a high-profile overseas politician has been stopped from speaking at an Irish college.

In 2008, UCD’s Law Society was forced to withdraw an invitation to French far-right leader Jean Marie Le Pen when university authorities refused to sanction the event.

Far-right BNP leader Nick Griffin to speak at Trinity debate >

Anti-racism campaigner hits out at Trinity College over gig ban >

Read next:

Comments (61 Comments)

• CYS – We had asked for a copy of the statement, and your comment is the first time we’ve seen it. It’ll be rolled in to the main story shortly.

• I find Nick Griffin’s views to be out of step with reality, and morally inept. But I value freedom of speech, and Trinity should be ashamed for caving to the pressure of these protesters. What exactly did they have to lose by allowing him to speak? That he might indoctrinate the entire campus? Come on. Nobody buys into his rhetoric.

Terrible blow for freedom of speech.

• Totally agree, Sean. A blow for freedom of speech, freedom of expression & freedom of opinion. I don’t agree with him. However, we live in a free society & he should have been allowed to speak & people should have been afforded the opportunity to listen to him & question him on his beliefs. A very sad day for freedom of speech indeed. A very sad day for our free society.

• The below comment states that it was for security reasons. It wasn’t stated in the above article however – so hopefully thejournal.ie can clarify. I still think that they should go forward with the talk – as to not do so, would be to cave into pressure from people who do not understand freedom of speech.

Awaiting clarification..

• Looks like the original article has now been amended to add Trinity’s statement.

• Totally agree Seán. Free speech is either sacrosanct or not.

• Agreed. What exactly are these safety concerns?

• its ironic that some think its now a right to speak about denying someone else’s rights. This was never going to be about free speech, his speech was anything but free, they get paid a fee for speaking and I hope that neither this plonker nor his hateful organisation get any fees for this.
      This was an attempt by the Phil soc to promote themselves and earn a name, these debates happen every couple of years and get great media attention, a holocaust denier was prevented from speaking in UCC a few years ago the same way. Its the old ‘lets have a controversy’ type of media strategy, the type used by so-called journalists like myers or harris.

• Looks like the fascists on the left have hampered free speech once again.

• Dress it up anyway you want to. The reality is – you chickened out.

• John 14/10/11 #

Are debates not meant to have opposing opinions? Could have been a great event.

• I wouldn’t spit on Nick Griffen if he was on fire but freedom of speech does not just extend to people you agree with. Anyway, the best way to deal with people like him is let him talk so his hateful rhetoric is exposed and he will dig his own political grave.

• Surely security concerns should be checked out BEFORE you extend invitations, no? Would you send out 5,000 wedding invitations before checking the capacity of the church?

Pretty poor organisation skills shown. These students will go far…

• I find the whole “No Free Speech for Fascists” thing incredibly ironic.

• Olc 14/10/11 #

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1989/en/act/pub/0019/sec0001.html#sec1

There is, in fact, no free speech for Fascists…..

• @Olc – eh? That can be gotten around very easily, for the simple reason that “immigrants” are not being “hated” based upon their “race, colour, nationality, religion, ethnic or national origins, membership of the travelling community or sexual orientation”. The BNP “fascists” are quite adept at citing economic reasons for their “racism”, and often use the excuse that they’re preventing a “brain drain” from occurring in other countries (all the qualified professionals moving to the west).

Whatever their real motivations, they can style their arguments to suit laws on hate speech.

• OLC – a hypothetical situation to see where your limits on free speech lie & who, according to u, is entitled to free speech in your view. So – indulge with me a mo, pls. If, for argument sake, a radical Muslim cleric was to speak in Trinity College & he is well known for denouncing the USA, is well known to be biased, prejudiced & intolerant towards the USA & the West in general, would u say that he is fascist & not entitled to speak ? Would u use the “Incitement To Hatred Act” against him for being biased, prejudiced, intolerant &/or a little racist towards Americans & the West ? As u have argued against allowing the BNP to speak here. I look forward to your reply if u care to reply. It seems to me that most,not all, of those who are against allowing the BNP are a bit hypocritical. In reply to my hypothetical situation, I would aloow such hypothetical cleric speak eventhough I would radically disagree with him.

• I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it.
    Voltaire.

• Well played trinity. Now nick griffins next speech will be how he was denied his freedom of speech. Now he’ll have a reason to give out bout the Irish.

• so what? he’s irrelevant, giving him a platform in a university in Ireland tells our morons that there is some validity to what he’s saying. the idea that we have freedom of speech in this country is an illusion anyway. there is nothing meaningful said in the mainstream media and its dominated by the discourse of one particular class. look at the shambles that is the coverage of the presidential campaign. the idea seems to be ‘lets throw as much shit at the candidates as we can and whoever is cleanest by the end we’ll vote for him/her.
      I’m glad someone who, if anyone cares to research it, has nothing positive to say on the issue has been prevented from spouting his hateful rhetoric.

• I would let him speak.
    Banning fools begets more fools.

• It is bad for democracy when society has to suppress free speech for any reason. While the BNP is a vile, petty and ignorant organisation, it is free speech that is the victim. The BNP will cry censorship and win more sympathy. On a bigger note the mob that is society by censoring things we dont like stiffles progress.

• Ron 14/10/11 #

Why should security concerns be allowed to trump freedom of speech? Do we not have a Police service and army to defend our rights? It’s not just Griffins right to free speech but the people right to hear his speech. Bloody BS.

• If there weren’t people protesting then there wouldn’t be security concerns! I don’t agree with Nick Griffin or his views but I detest not being able to make my own decision on whether I would or would not attend to see him speak, or indeed be told what my view should be.

Why are these people afraid to have an opposite view articulated. Indeed the BNP’s view are so extreme that they would probably do more harm than good to their cause here. Just because the protesters are on the ‘right’ side of the moral divide doesn’t mean its not repression and censorship.

• That wasn’t highlighted in the original article – So if it is true, I retract my original statement if it is solely based on security concerns.

• I was at the debate last night when the ‘protestors’ stormed the building. They weren’t students or of any principle that I could discern. Instead they looked like members of the EDL or other skinhead group and were shouting things like ‘fascist c*nts*. They used intimidation and aggression to make their point – in short, they were the true fascists. By stopping next week’s Griffin appearance, all the college is doing is turning thugs like these, and they are nothing but thugs, into victors. Police and security should have been provided, the debate should have gone ahead so that members the Phil could be shown in person how horrifically bigoted and ignorant Griffin is.

• “Police and security should have been provided”.

Do you have any idea of how much logistical effort, let alone money, would be required to provide that level of security?

I’ve heard (and bear in mind that this is an anecdote, so it could well be wrong) that there were not only plans by the SWP to protest on the day, but that a fascist group was planning a counter demonstration. Nick Griffin is wanted dead by many people, who’s family members his organisation are accused of beating up and killing. He needs ’round the clock security at the best of times, but then throw into the fact that this event would be a rallying ground for militant fascist and socialist organisations country-wide. You have the recipe for chaos…

Yes, the Phil did chicken out, but I can understand why they did reach that decision.

• I appreciate the logistics and costs involved, but this you cannot put a price on freedom of speech and the freedom for students to have a forum on the issues of our times. Not to mention the fact that the Phil are one of the most financially well-endowed societies on campus. Plenty of people would have been willing to forego the free booze to free up a bit of cash. If they managed it in Oxford, they should have managed it here. Massive pity, but what can you do…

• @Mark where anyone makes hate speech it is up to the law of the land to make a verdict on whether or not anyones speech breaches incitement to hate law. It is never the role of vigilante mobs. The far right doesnt have a monopoly on political despotism.

• * If we believe in the freedom of expression – you do or you don’t – then you have to allow things to be said you might not personally agree with.

* If you hear things you do not agree with, you can sit back and do nothing or you can do what you think is right and inform where the other is wrong, possible exposing to the public, any falsehoods or misconceptions.

* If we start stopping people from freedom of expression, some day it might be you or I that is being stopped as such halting methods are abused and turn around to bite us all in the backside!

• Could the organisers of the protest not be given access to the debate to rebut the BNP. Why protest outside when it would be more beneficial to participate in debate and not derail it. Its not as if we don’t have our own home grown opposition to immigration anyway. Did the guards just tell them they didn’t have a budget to police the event?

• @Mark you mentioned that people are not upset by the blasphemy law. Many are including me. It is one of the main reasons why I am so outspoken about religion. That law needs to be challenged by any right minded civilised person. The only speech that should be denied is that which causes threat of physical harm. An example being it is quite acceptable to criticise religion but not acceptable to deny them their human right to live in safety and have the right to free expression. On the other hand they do not have the right to automatic respect for their beliefs.

• That law is a disgrace and the government should have used the opportunity of these other referenda (vote no to both!) to hold one to remove this victimless crime from the constitution. There is no moral duty to respect people’s beliefs, religious or otherwise. We ought to respect their right to believe what they wish, but we do not have to respect the beliefs themselves. There is no right not to have your beliefs ridiculed.

• A sad day for freedom of expression.

• Major Fail for Trinners they obviously caved in the left crowd…

• Is it true that Trinity did not allow Catholics study there prior to 1972 ?

• “Following careful review of operational and safety issues, the Philosophical Society and the College are now not satisfied that the general safety and well being of staff and students can be guaranteed.”

Translation: The spoiled and pampered leftie loons whom it’s our ideological mission to “gift” to society have been threatening to wreck the gaff, so instead of growing a set for ourselves we caved in, as everyone with a titter of wit knew we would.

Instead of simply stating this baldly and in language the common serf can understand we got a member of the English faculty to carefully craft the aforementioned euphemistic guff. We hope it makes us look all responsible and gown up, as opposed to the tax swag, bubble inhabiting imbeciles we most surely are. After all, exactly how dense do you have to be to imagine, even for a second, that you can invite the likes of Nick Griffin to make an address at Trinners and not ruffle the feathers of our dear little Aoifes and Caoimhes and Bradans? Answer: very dense! Anyway sorry we couldn’t give it to you in plain English but remember they don’t pay us the big bucks for being able to communicate with commoners.

• U got that right, JSLeFanu. Probably wearing their Che Chevera Tshirts when drafting it. Very radical !!!!

• Seen a program on late last night on the BEEB about Griffin and questions about party funds. Griffin was quick to run from doing an interview after only giving a statement to the Journo. Former BNP members gave eye opening accounts of how funds were raised and used.

I think Mr. Griffin has more questions to answer then a Trinity debate and I think that the BNP is on it’s last legs.

• Completely. He has a world of questions that they could ask him, if they had brought up the BNP finances their would have been enough material to finish him. He would have been squashed, but asking about BNP party funds does not get you the ride, after the protest. It might damage Griffin and the BNP but that is not much good is it on a cold night alone in bed.

• You see the Left think that we’re all sheep and that we’re all easily brainwashed by xenophobic right-wing movements.

They can’t trust us to make up our minds, so they think they can make them up for us!

• Attributed to Voltaire.

• @ Mark Malone I am with you but sadly it seems we are a minority!

• Oh please do you all think that if Nick Griffin got into power he would allow free speech on any level?! He has no respect for the Irish.
    It is with a sigh of relief the invite has been withdrawn as this would have allowed this racist party to gain more popularity in tough times. Well done Trinity.

• The left wing bullies have won again

• There are quoted statements from both the BNP & Phil on why they believe fascists should be invited to Trinity to promote their views.

There is no quote from anyone on the opposing side, such as the group set up to oppose Griffins visit.

Nice balance Gavin.

Congrats to the anti-fascists for yet another victory.

• It is abundantly clear that the only Fascist Organizations growing wings in this country are the organizations of which you approve (therefore making them alright). And of course being “approved” it’s perfectly reasonable for them to set limits on what the rest of us get to hear and get to say, isn’t it? If we didn’t have those types of organizations of which you approve who knows what the ordinary Joe on the street might end up believing. Most likely stuff of which you don’t approve, and that certainly can’t be allowed.

And as for the blasphemy law not bothering anyone I think you need to pay a bit more attention, it bothered, and bothers, many people but you were probably too busy starching your uniform to notice.

• @Cyril “The only speech that should be denied is that which causes threat of physical harm”.

Im with you 100% in that. Fascist groups like the BNP do cause and threaten to cause physical harm.

• 4. We therefore holds that the right to organise does not extend to fascist organisers. Attempts by such organisers to exercise this ‘right’ will be opposed by us – physically if necessary.

6……
      In such instances, force should be met with force; with maximum democracy used in deciding how particular organisations/individuals should be dealt with.

Sounds like a threat of physical harm to me! :-)

• Brian O’Reilly from Anti-fascist Action has released the following statement. (These are his words, not mine).

Statement
    by Brian O’Reilly – Anti-Fascist Action Fri Oct 14, 2011 15:33

Anti-Fascist Action welcomed the decision today of Trinity’s Philosophical Society to withdraw the invitation to Nick Griffin, leader of the far-right British National Party (BNP), who was due to speak at a debate entitled ‘This House Believes That Immigration Has Gone Too Far’ next Thursday 20th October.

Far-right organisers like Griffin do not come to speak at universities or elsewhere to engage in polite debate. They use these occasions as a platform to help spread their racist, homophobic, anti-immigrant and anti-Trade Union views. As such, militant anti-fascists will always deny fascists a platform.

A spokeswoman for Trinity said the invite had been withdrawn after staff and students objected to the visit of Griffin, a holocaust denier who has been involved in far-right politics in England since the late 1970s. Last night, 13th October, thirty AFA members and supporters called into the weekly PhilSoc debate, as part of a campaign against Griffin’s invitation. We feel that this proved to be the tipping point for PhilSoc and the college authorities to withdraw the invitation.

This direct action was the culmination of a number of weeks work by AFA which included a mass email campaign, the production of several hundred stickers and the setting up of a Facebook page, entitled ‘No Platform For Nazi Nick Griffin in Dublin’, which attracted over 580 people.

AFA, who have been active in confronting fascism for nearly twenty years, have always adopted the dual strategy of both physical and political opposition when confronting fascism whether Irish or International, group or individual.

Lastly, we would also like to commend the broad based Trinity Against Fascism group who also did important organising against the planned visit, particularly on campus.