TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Twelfth bonfires to be lit tonight as parade tension rises

The huge stacks of pallets and tyres will be set alight tonight.

Image: Peter Morrison/AP/Press Association Images

Updated, 10.29am

TENSIONS ARE RISING over the annual Twelfth of July parades in the North, as Protestant areas prepare to light huge bonfires tonight.

A parade through the Ardoyne area – which has sparked serious riots in the past – is again the subject of dispute. A ruling by the Parades Commission that marchers should clear the area by 4pm is being challenged in the courts, the BBC reports.

The Orange Order has said the ruling is “a recipe for disaster”. In previous years, the marchers have returned through the area in the evening.

Loyalist group the North and West Belfast Parades and Cultural Forum has also attacked the decision, the Belfast Telegraph reports. It called a protest march by Ardoyne residents which has been permitted to occur that evening “a violent republican parade”/

Bonfires around the region – many towering stacks of pallets and tyres – will be set alight tonight to commemorate the 1690 Battle of the Boyne, in which the Protestant King William III defeated the Catholic King James II.

The Twelfth of July is a traditional flashpoint for the North, with Orange Order parades often marching through Catholic neighbourhoods.

Twelfth bonfires to be lit tonight as parade tension rises
1 / 9
  • Twelfth of July bonfires

A man stands on top of the New Mossley bonfire (Paul Faith/PA Wire)

Children stand on a bonfire in the Shankill Estate (AP Photo/Peter Morrison)

Children stand on the bonfire in the Shankill Estate (AP Photo/Peter Morrison)

The massive bonfire on the Shankill Estate (AP Photo/Peter Morrison)

Children climb the Shankill bonfire (AP Photo/Peter Morrison)

A man climbs the New Mossley bonfire (Paul Faith/PA Wire)

Men carry tyres to the bonfire at New Mossley (Paul Faith/PA Wire)

A man climbs one of the biggest bonfires at New Mossley on the outskirts of Belfast. ( Paul Faith/PA Wire)

A child plays beside a massive bonfire in the Shankill Estate in West Belfast (AP Photo/Peter Morrison)

Read next:

Comments (86 Comments)

• Here is a solution for the Orange order. Take one day of the year, not a season and have a parade and full celebration down a main st in Belfast, Royal Avenue or something. No need to antagonize anyone. Calling something tradition does not make it right.

• The whole idea of these marches is to raise tensions and antagonise nationalists. There’s no point singing “We are the Billy boys” if there’s no Fenians to hear it!!

• Fagan's 11/07/12 #

The whole point of the Orange Order is to maintains the political supremacy of their faith. If you are a nationalist and you have 5000 men marching down your street with the Lambeg drum roaring and rattling your windows. You look out and u see the Local RUC men, marching with your local Loyalist paramilitaries and Unionist politicians. Well, you know your place then don’t you. You’ll stay quiet and be a good little boy, cause if the Politicians or RUC think you are uppity they just have to mention it to their lodge brother in the UFF and your gone, dead. Welcome to the way the North was run for 70 years.

Well, you know your place then don’t you. The Orange Order’s most played tune is Croppies Lie Down and King Billy’s Boys, who are up to their necks in fenian blood. You can’t stand on someones neck, if you have to march on Royal ave. that would be just a parade then.

• Wonder how chep are taking it … All those blue pallets are technically there property

• Why don’t politicians down south speak out against the burning of the irish flag. Its mad this hill billy stuff is still going on.

• Interesting fact: All those pallets are constructed from old chips on shoulders.

• No culture just hatred for their neighbours and a demand to march through sensitive areas it’s sad to see.but on the other hand great for the southern economy with all the sane people getting the hell out.so welcome to the south and have a lovely holiday we will be happy to welcome you.

• . To Put the Orange Order into context : This is Jude Collins Blog : The founding documents of the Orange Order say, ‘An Orangeman should not merely be somebody who has hostility towards the distinctive doctrines, the superstitions, the priestcraft and spiritual despotism of the Church of Rome.’

2. The ‘Constitution, Laws and Ordinances of the Loyal Orange Institution of Ireland’ (1967) states: “No person who at any time has been a Roman Catholic … shall be admitted into the institution, except after permission given by a vote of 75pc of the members present founded on testimonials of good character.

3. Today, as always, each member of the Orange Order is pledged to: “strenuously oppose the fatal errors and doctrines of the Church of Rome, and scrupulously avoid countenancing (by his presence or otherwise) any act of ceremony of Popish worship; he should by all lawful means, resist the ascendancy of that Church, its encroachments, and the extension of its powers”.

4.. Early in 1992, loyalist gunmen killed five Catholics who were in a betting shop on the Ormeau Road in Belfast. Months later, a parade along the road sparked fury when some of the Orangemen present made “five-nil” hand gestures as they passed the murder scene.The then Northern Ireland Secretary Sir Patrick Mayhew accused those responsible for the taunts of behaving like ‘cannibals’ “.

5. On July 12, 1996, Robert Saulters – who was later elected Grand Master of the Orange Order on December 11 – told the Orange Order, that the British Prime Minister, Tony Blair, ” has already sold his birthright by marrying a Romanist. He would sell his soul to the devil himself. He is not loyal to his religion. He is a turncoat ”

6. A few years ago, George Galloway, then an MP, described the Orange Order as “sectarian, anti-Catholic, Protestant-supremacist”. A defamation suit was pursued against him by the Orange Order in Britain. Judge Lord Kingarth who threw out the case, ruled it was “a fair comment on that organisation”. My comment : They are nothing but a haven for the most extreme,rt wing people imaginable.

• Fagan's 11/07/12 #

The state here gives them funds as part of the peace process, the Orange Order not being able to get funds off the EU or British Govt’s as their legislation on groups that promote hatred, bigotry and active exclusion based on faith or race prevents it.

Oranges don’t do Irony but this is a big one.

• Irish culture –
    Hurling
    Gaelic mythology
    Ancient architecture
    Anglo-Irish literature (4 nobel prize winners)
    Gaelic literature (3 oldest in Europe after Latin & Greek)
    Whiskey
    Hallowe’en
    Irish dancing
    Irish music

Irish Loyalist culture -
    Hating the above

• In most countries, an organisation like the orange order would be banned. Promotes sectarianism and bigotry. Think Alabama had (or have) a similar organisation named the kkk.

• Its disgraceful how they get away with this. Burning a national flag is unacceptable in the north now.

• Explaining irony to these knuckle draggers would be a fair job.

• I spoke to a few guys from the Shankill in Dublin about 10 years ago.
    UVF supporters, they seemed quite normal.
    I’m pretty sure things would have been quite different if I’d sauntered into one of their boozers up in Belfast!
    That’s the thing with loyalists, they’re like the local rowdys who are as tough as nails in a group, but as soft as shite on their own.
    Look at the way they hid behind the Gardai’s aprons at the garden of remembrance when they wanted to march down o’connell street.

• These Bonfire are just sectarian bullying and only 90 miles from Dublin what has An
    Taoiseach Enda Kenny to say about the Burning of Our National Flag (Nothing the spinelss worm).

• We have an Orange order member addressing the Senate, then they go back up North, burning the Irish flag….So much for diplomacy.

It’s a huge Unionist Hooligan day, for the other 364 days of the year we don’t have as much issues…!!!

Ban the whole lot…Simples…!!!

• March up the shankill for the 1916 rising …… Culture and all that

• Eh, hello? Did we not have the same story yesterday?

• Why does the Fire Service in the North allow massive fires like this when they are a hazard. Down here you can’t light a fire for bonfire night they quench it.

• You can be sure if it was a Republican tradition to burn bonfires that the authorities would be dismantling the fires before they got so big. It’s awful to think our people have to endure this sectarian bullying just “90 miles from Dublin”.

• Reada, do ya think our Taoiseach may make a comment in the Dail about the terrorising and bullying of Irish citizens living in the North?
      Do you think Alan Shatter might make a remark about his favorite city in the North, you know, the one he calls Londonderry?

If this was the other way around, ie Southern thugs piling a big bonfire together, burning the Union jack, and making fun of civilians that were murdered during the troubles, there would be a bloody outrage across the Island and across the water…
      But as usual, our Government sits back, says nothing, and then doesn’t understand when the irish in teh Ardoyne end up arming themselves to protect themselves from the Army of Orange Order supporters who will undoubtedly attack the Ardoyne over the next 2-3 days.

Then, we will have the FFG/Labour/FFers on here, complaining and screaming about the Irish using weapons to defend their homes and their families. It was exactly the same (except on a much bigger scale) in the 1960’s and early 70′s.
      Until you have lived in an area like the Ardoyne, and have had your street literally shut off from society by armed Orange Order thugs, you will never be able to understand the real fear that results in people resorting to taking up arms. Last year, the Police stood idly by, while these thugs ran riot around the Irish areas.
      Things need to change. The Unionist leaders need to use language that discourages this behaviour. They need to be seen standing shoulder to shoulder with the Irish at flash points like the Ardoyne etc.
      Until this happens, the lack of leadership leads to vacuums and fuels fires that result in intimidation, terrorism and totally unecessary deaths every year.

• No Cal, I wouldn’t hold out much hope any Fine Gael TD to speak out about any of this. And dead right they’d have plenty words to say if the roles were reversed. Fianna Fail, the so-called Republican Party were no better tbh. This always irritated me growing up in Dublin but as usual it will be the Republican side will make the comprises in the 6 counties and Sinn Féin will continue to take abuse in An Dáil every time they question the government on anything. But we’ll struggle on. Ya can’t keep a good thing down. ;)

• I have a really really awful feeling that there’s going to be carnage this year. They always have bonfires (and yes they usually have a ‘guy’ of Gerry Adams or the Pope as well as tricolours and GAA jerseys on the top). But I’ve never seen monsters like these before.

The fire department either can’t or won’t prevent them from building these massive bonfires for fear of making it worse for them on the night (ambulance crew and firemen are attacked so often on the streets of Belfast that there was a TV ad in NI trying to dissuade young people from assaulting them). The police service cannot do much either apart from try to contain the situation (pardon the NI pun there) on the day. Not to mention that the government is afraid of looking like they are being stronger with one side more than the other. So it goes on and on…

God forbid if someone was to challenge their ‘Right to walk the Queen’s highways’ then the full weight of the Orange Order, complete with angry, poorly educated, barely employed mob, comes down on you hard with the ‘discrimination’ and ‘violation of human rights’ shovel. Trust me people, this could make the London riots look like the teddy bear’s picnic :(

• Must get myself into the pallet game!

• The orange parade should never be allowed while this goes on up the north! Way over the top!

• http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/199151_121204467955477_2715104_n.jpg
    The real bonfires none of this being shown in the papers. Derry this morning.

• If they love their union jack so much they should take a hike over to England and stop annoying us.

• Look at it this way, the Irish tourism economy gets a boost every summer during marching season by exiled Nordys! Just look around you today at the high amount of NI cars down South!

• The authorities in the North should bulldoze these towers down, you would think over health and safety concerns

• Ban religious schools. Every child should go to the same type of school. Bigotry will be gone in a generation!

• Jude 11/07/12 #

I totally agree. The focus of education in NI is the divide of Protestant and Catholic schools. I grew up in NI and I was lucky my family were not living in the core of either nationalism or unionism. I was taught to respect all and that religion is not a definer! There are plenty of areas in NI where unfortunately bigotry is learned from parents still, so until the education system is overhauled, this will remain.

• They are divided by estates anyway so the schools would be divided Religion in NI is the outer manifestation of a political or national division. That’s why they are burning the tricolour and not just images of the Pope.

• @Eoin – you’re right, the kids would still go home to their respective estates. However, kids actually mixing at school would provide an experience where they can actually see something in people from other religious backgrounds.

It’s fairly obvious that this would be of benefit to future generations.

• Agreed Conor. When I was brought up my parents took care to hide any prejudice they had so that i could make up my own mind. When i was in primary school in Belfast I was able to take part in the CRIS project (Community Relations In Schools) so once a month we took lessons with a school from “the other side”.

The first day we took lessons together a lad in my class turned up in near enough a full Glasgow Rangers kit, I called him a tramp and asked him were his uniform was, he didn’t know said his dad told him to wear that. That’s not isolated, I have family in Belfast who won’t socialise outside of east Belfast for fear they could end up in a mixed environment.

What the North needs of more integrated schools, less pandering to sectarianism and a hefty dose of reality.

• Fagan's 11/07/12 #

Religion is part of it, but is not the main part. There were Protestant IRA man, indeed their leader in the 70′s at the height of it all, had an English father and Belfast Protestant mother, which is were he learnt his Republicanism and Irish nationalism from.

Like the very very most of conflicts it is about power and control. What is destroying the Orange Order and Unionist supremacy is that it is not longer possible to use the state to keep down the croppies, it’s a level playing field now. It is why their is such a crisis of faith in Unionist politics and culture, they were defined for hundreds of years by Supremacist thinking, and that is no longer an option.

• Oh Conor…and you’re an O’Neill…..(slaps own face very hard)……you blame all of this on schools? Most of those skangers likely spent little if any time in school.

• Why can’t the people of Northern Ireland stick to symbolically burning Catholics once a year in November like the rest of the UK? Why do they have to be so special?

• Always wanted to see a bonfire like that burn. My son and I got flames 12 ft high from some old fences we burned in a brazier and scorched half my wife’s patio plants, the end result being 3 whacks each with a broom handle and a promise elicited not to do it again. What the blazes (pun intended) are those monsters in the pics going to be like? The street lamps at the very least are going to burn a bit brighter on the 12th. And anything within 200 feet.

• Jasus so it’s the republicans fault now? The balls on them sick twisted bigots.

• Fagan's 11/07/12 #

If the 47% of the population in the North that are Catholic would go back to the good old days prior the 90′s and accept that they are lower than shi7 on the shoe of an Orange man, then there would be no tension. So it is all the Republicans fault for not knowing their place and wanting to be equals.

• Do they have any idea what that’s going to do to the environment?

Have they heard of Climate Change?

• Climate change usually pertains to the future, these clowns prefer to concentrate on the past and their triumphant celebrations of an event that happened in the “south”, the same south they deem to be a foreign state they have no cultural ties to.

• Burning the Irish Tri-colour in a celebration of supposedly beating the Irish…….Ahhh sure in another few hundred years every 7th September they’ll be building pyres and burning the St George flag in celebration of another event in their history they never shut the f**k up about…..beating England in a world cup qualifier.

• Looks like an “Occupy” sky sraper!

• It must be awful to live your whole life on the wrong side of what’s good in the world what they need is pity

• Aarum 11/07/12 #

They just showed footage on the news of last years violence, can someone explain why the police can not have someone with a rifle shoot people throwing petrol bombs?? Why are they allowed throw deadly weapons at people/police

• Fagan's 11/07/12 #

In Drumcree in the mid 90′s an Orange Parade was stopped and there was mass rioting there, the RUC had one officer killed by a blast bomb, the loyalist mass killer Billy wright after marching with the leadership of the UUP up to Garvaghy, went off one night and killed a taxi driver just because he was a Catholic. There were riots and disturbances across the NorthThe RUC shot less than a hundred rubber bullets.

They then went in one morning and battered the residents off the road, there were riots that night, the RUC shot over 3000 rubber bullets the first night alone.

Double standards apply, thankfully not to the same degree as they used to though.

• éirígí spokesperson Pádraic Mac Coitir has said that nationalist communities across the Six counties need to be vigilant as the 12th July approaches and a sinister alliance involving the Orange Order, unionist political parties and unionist paramilitaries is re-emerging in north Belfast.

Mac Coitir said, “It should be abundantly clear to any independent or impartial observer of the Orange Order’s annual coat-trailing exercises that there is no valid or legitimate reason why marches by an overtly sectarian organisation should be permitted to proceed through overwhelmingly nationalist towns such as Newry or Crumlin or to go past areas such as Ardoyne in north Belfast.

http://www.eirigi.org/latest/latest100712_2.html

• Serge 11/07/12 #

In other news, these structures are epic! The effort that went into making them.

• Yawn….more NI crap….

• mcbab 11/07/12 #

United Ireland ? I don’t think so!

• I don’t want a united Ireland either, to be associated with them screw that.
      Its the uk’s mess not ours, cthank god for that!

• what a lovely display of solidarity with your fellow human beings

Does both your charitable natures also extend to the 3rd World I wonder?

• McBab, would i be right in saying that according to your logic, there should be no Irish embassies or Irish ambassadors outside of Ireland. Any Irish who get into trouble anywhere else, can go swing?
      Or do you think the Irish Government and the Irish people should support the Irish people (Irish passport holders) in the North who are suffering at the hands of these bigots?

• Ignore MaCrab. I’m surprised he’s not holding out for a united Ireland with us all back in the commonwealth.

I’d be hoping for a United Ireland. I was up in Newry today and plenty of tricolours around the place – none of them on bonfires. I’m sure most Protestants in the 6C are mortified by these sectarian bigots. It won’t put me off wanting a United Ireland. If our brothers and sisters in the 6C have to put up with it and it’s good enough for them then they’re good enough for the rest of us in the 26!

• Eoin Faz 11/07/12 #

New Mossley tower looks like it will tip over fairly easily!

• Wouldn’t mind owning a big flag shop up there

• I say let them off, they’ll eventually chill out. People’s mindsets have changed a lot in the last 10-20 years. some people on both sides in the north are still fighting an invisible battle. We’ve just chilled out quicker than them. Burn away lads

• People’s mindsets have changed but that offers no understanding to families who will actively be singled out, intimidated by “celebrating culture”.

• When i made my comment i was only commenting on the bonfires and not the intimidation side of things.

• Fagan's 11/07/12 #

Thousands of your Orange Order neighbours, everything from the local police, loyalist Para’s, doctor, plummer etc marching past your house and spitting in your Garden because your the only Catholic on the street, is not the kind of hatred that dies out. Thankfully the Orange Order is ageing and fading away, but the hatred that it espouses and fosters is still very strong and a very powerful call for many people. 300 years of being told that your neighbours are racially inferior to you, servants of the devil and needing to be kept down at all costs will take decades to fix. We’re probably half way through it.

• Why dont we all pray for more rain and spoil the bigots fun. I was telling the customers in the pub where I work I was in a lot of war zones all over the the world with U.S. special undercover forces.And that orange burning is childs play to me.

• Do they need a licence to have a big bonfire like that.The customers in the pub where I work was saying yesterday that is all a bit of fun and it gives them an excuse to clear the house rubbish.Lets hope all goes well.

• All a bit of fun? Then can they explain what the tricolour is doing on top of a bonfire?

• Oh it looks like great fun! Why don’t the NI tourist board use these images in brochures? Im sure tourists would love to be a part of this

• Fagan's 11/07/12 #

They probably got council grants for this, they often do.

The Orange Order has about 100k members and over the last 30 years has often been able to bring our 150k people to shut down the streets and roads of the North, when the taigs were getting troublesome and demanding things like one man, one vote etc etc or what u might call basic human rights.

Giving them a grant and turning a blind eye to their rabid bigotry, is basically a way of making sure that 100k Orange Men keep their hatred to walking past their Catholic neighbours houses and just shouting slurs and death wishes on them and their children rather than actively working to keep them in the gutter by fair or foul means.

That is progress when it comes to the Orange Order.

• The reality is that the working class Loyalists have been left behind since the Good Friday Agreement.This is a chance for them to assert themselves,don’t agree with it but you can’t make a spud out of a carrot.Leave them off !

• They left themselves behind by not moving forward. If they want to be included they need to engage with the system, not start a riot every time some ex-prisoners scheme for loyalists needs funding.

In the first sitting of the NI Assembly 3 MLA’s were chosen to represent Loyalism, David Ervine and Billy Hutchinson of the PUP/UVF and Gary McMichael of the UDP/UDA. With the exception of Ervine who was an exceptionally gifted talker they lost their seats in the next election. The PUP and UDP now longer exist in Stormont due to lack of support or interest. If there are so many loyalists who are unhappy at being left behind why are they voting for mainstream Unionist Parties who cater more towards the middle class Protestant population.

Add New Comment