Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 11 °C Friday 25 May, 2012

Women protesters speak of shock and horror after ‘rape jokes’ claim

A picture of the incident last Thursday.
Image: Rossport Solidarity Camp

THE TWO FEMALE protesters at the centre of yesterday’s garda controversy have spoken of the “shock and horror” they experienced upon hearing remarks inadvertently recorded on a video camera that had been confiscated by the authorities – during which gardaí allegedly made comments about raping and deporting one of them.

Both the women are in their early 20s and live in Dublin. They travelled to north Mayo last week to protest against the construction of the controversial Corrib gas pipeline.

One woman, a science graduate from UCD, told the Irish Independent: “I was just horrified – in complete shock. I couldn’t believe it”.

The woman explained that a protest had taken place and was broken up by gardaí, after which “we walked away and the gardai walked away”. About half an hour later, she said, they women were stopped by eight or nine gardaí and arrested.

She said that the camera was switched on just before they were arrested, and complained about an “unnecessary” amount of physical force being used.  They were released about an hour later without charge.

When the camera was returned to them, they heard comments such as: “Give me your name and address or I’ll rape you.”

The woman said that the experience had rocked her faith in the gardaí: “These are the men we are supposed to turn to to report a rape to – these people are supposed to protect us,” she told the Irish Daily Mail. “To hear the gardaí say that – there is something seriously wrong and dangerous about that. It is not acceptable.”

The other woman at the centre of the controversy is a 25-year-old studying at NUI Maynooth. Neither of the women wished to be named in order to protect their identities.

The Irish Examiner quotes garda sources as saying that the gardaí involved in the incident intended “no malice” in what they said.

However, Ellen O’Malley-Dunlop of the Dublin Rape Crisis Centre said that making ”suggestive comments about rape and sexual assault is not funny whatever the situation”.

On RTÉ’s Prime Time last night, one of the women said “we were just horrified to hear gardaí talking about raping us.”

Speaking on Morning Ireland today, Minister for Justice Alan Shatter said that anyone who is a victim of a sexual crime should remain confident that they will be treated sensitively by the gardaí – and added that all gardaí needed to respect the people they interact with. When asked if he would rethink the policing of the Corrbi protests he said: “I have an open mind to that”,  and said that he believed the construction of the pipeline is vital for Ireland.

Read Next:

Comments (22 Comments)

• jason bourne 06/04/11 #
    Report this comment

Why do they wish to remain anonymous?

• Steve Q 06/04/11 #
    Report this comment

The Gardai are humans like the rest us civilians. You caught them talking on tape that they were unaware of. You are shocked at what you heard, of course, but I’m sure worse things have been said about all of us, that have not being recorded. So you will never know.

• jason bourne 06/04/11 #
    Report this comment

Good point Steve, I think why this is resonating with people is because generally the population have a high regard for gardai and actually can’t believe they would lower themselves to say something like this…

• Report this comment

Talk about making a mountain out of a molehill! The worst thing they did was get recorded. It’s not as if they actually go around raping people! This political correctness crap is so annoying! Whatever happened to sticks and stones……… ?

• Ferg Breen 06/04/11 #
      Report this comment

Sticks and stone is the worst rhyme to teach kids. Words do hurt and telling them they don’t stunts their emotional intelligence.
      Teaching them how to deal with it is a far better thing to do than telling them to effectively get over it cause ‘words will never hurt you’.

• Scribhneoir Blog 06/04/11 #
      Report this comment

Gearóid you obviously don’t get it – getting recorded was not the worst thing that the Gardai did and it is not political correctness crap – how do think a woman, child or man would now feel if they had to report a sexual assault to these Gardai or others like them who think it is only a bit of banter?

It’s about the attitude displayed by the Gardai, not the intent, that they, and a few others, think that rape is a laughing matter. Thankfully such people are clearly in the minority. Even the comments show that the majority of men are as deeply offended by this incident as women. This is also about thoughtlessness, ignorance and the possible abuse of power.

The Rape Crisis Network of Ireland’s Executive Director Fiona Neary puts it better than I can – “It is critical that someone speaking to the gardai about rape feels confident that they will be treated with dignity and respect and that the crimes against them will be treated in a serious manner. The public, and victims of sexual violence, must be able to trust the gardai.”

• Frankie Brennan 06/04/11 #
      Report this comment

If a Garda treats “rape” as a boisterous banter and a joke I would personally worry that if they were investigating a rape/sexual assault they’d place a lesser emphasis on the gravity of the crime, as we’ve seen it’s all a wee joke. If for instance a teacher was caught on tape slagging off a special needs student would you feel confident in that teachers ability to teach these children. Aside from the disgusting and degrading things these Gardai have said, they’ve brought their work ethics into question and I don’t feel they could appropriately handle all the job offers. Is that the kind of Garda you wish to uphold the laws of the state and protect it’s citizens?

• Vanessa Slater 06/04/11 #
    Report this comment

Hopefully those guys are identified and dealt with in a proper manner. It’s not ok that these guys who are our law enforcers think it’s ok and funny to be so flippant about such a horrible act of violence. There is nothing funny about it. They should be ashamed of themselves as should anyone else who thinks it was all a bit of harmless fun.

• Simon Finglas 06/04/11 #
    Report this comment

It always amazes me what people in this country choose to get up in arms about. Im sure ill get a hundred replys telling my its only my “ignorant male point of view” but I’ll say from the start I don’t condone the comments by these Gardaí but I think this needs to be put in perspective. A Garda was slashed in the face Sunday night arresting a man who attacked a family with a broken bottle, a man and his family were taken hostage so he could take money from the gpo, at the moment there are 420 of your friends and relatives sitting on a&e trolleys in dangerously overcrowded emergency rooms waiting on beds, yet this story has received 3 separate articles in this publication alone?? Come on!? People who deal with traumatic and stressful situations everyday tend to develop a different sense of humor when behind closed doors with their workmates. This may be pushing it a bit, i agree but I’ll ask anyone who reads this, have you ever laughed at an inappropriate joke or comment when it was just you and your closest buddy? Ever laughed at a racist or minority joke when you though no one was listening? They Just got caught and put on the internet for a public flogging. Watching a show the other night frankie boyle received one of his biggest laughs for a joke about pedophilia? He also jokes about rape, is it deemed acceptable as he is a comedian? As Gardaí they are required set an example in society, but they are human. Would we not be better putting forums like this to better use and shouting about people being put out of their homes and jobs? Or is it just easier to flog a few immature Gardaí with verbal diarrhoea?? Just a thought.

• Vanessa Slater 06/04/11 #
      Report this comment

I think the Gaurds do a great job, I have to communicate with them a lot for work reasons and 99% of the time they are brilliant. I know what it’s like to work in a tough environment and you do need to try and find your laughter sometimes from the worst situations but these guys are usually the first point of contact for rape victims and for that reason I’m never going to agree that their so called banter was just that. I also don’t think it’s ever ok to joke about rape. I’m a fairly easy going person and I’m not a member of the politically correct parade but rape is just one of those things that I personally would never laugh about.

• Bob Coggins 06/04/11 #
      Report this comment

Great sense of perspective Simon – this kind of banter does happen in most ordinary working relationships, and it is exacerbated for Guards as they have to appear to be well behaved and mind their language when dealing with the public do to our obsession with being PC and complaining/suing when we find anything slightly offensive – so when it comes to private conversations, im sure they discuss the less appropriate and PC stuff that cant be said when dealing with the public..
      I dont think they intend to go on a sexual assault rampage, or deal with these crimes in a less sensitive way, so this does need a sense of perspective.
      I reckon the taboo and gravity of the term ‘rape’ was diminished with Tommy Tiernans infamous sketch regarding ‘Declan Moffitt’ (YouTube it if you haven’t seen), and at the time of this DVD being released, jokes and references of this nature became common place amongst a certain age of men AND women, due to the ability to absolve responsibility for using the term by referencing that sketch.
      Not saying it’s right, I just think that’s where it stems from..

Report this comment

It’s a very valid point Vanessa. I work quite closely with the Gardaí myself and have always found them to be professional in their approachto sensitive cases. I don’t agree with their comments either, but I also don’t agree with them being vilified to the point they could lose their jobs. Rape is a genderless assault and there are many men who have been victim of it and may have to confide in the Gardaí. I actually have no doubt that should one if these guys be involved in a rape case that they would act in a very professional manner and with the upmost respect for the victim. It’s very hard to make judgement on someone’s character over a stupid flippant remark made in private. As I said earlier, we are all guilty of finding humor in something that others may find offensive. This is always going to be a thorny subject and there will be debated at length I sure but ultimately those men’s fate lies in the hands of the ombudsman. I just think it’s in our nature here to campaign about the wrong issues? This proves it. The government are trying to cut Garda funding to reduce numbers on the streets, which will ultimately mean the general public will suffer more crime. But that doesn’t sell papers or stir people’s emotion. Hand them a few immature cops and the public is baying for blood.

• James Lightyear 06/04/11 #
    Report this comment

These guys must be sacked!!!

End of story! I’m not convinced by any of you trying to stand up for those idiots.

I make some very immature jokes with my mates but I would never joke about raping someone.

Imagine how someone feels about being raped now having heard this.

Report this comment

You gotta love the anonymity of the Internet. Of course anyone who has been or has had a friend or relative been a victim of ANY sort of sexual assault, is going to be incensed by these remarks. Again they have a different perspective on this subject. Simply calling for them to be sacked shows a similar level of immaturity to be honest. Cowan ran this country into the ground and forced tens of thousands on the dole but we let him keep his job? Reprimand of some sort is warranted yes, but dismissal is ridiculous in my opinion. There are far greater offences that have gone unpunished in this country. Were we to punish stupidity in every instance we may just wall up the country and post guards on it.

• Report this comment

Im wondering the camera was taken i guess to view footage on it by the garda ?
    So does this mean they never looked at what was on the camera? if they did im sure had they heard the recording they would have wiped it

I do believe what they joked about was so so wrong
    Rape is not funny

• Peter J 07/04/11 #
    Report this comment

Everybody needs to wake up and look around. Most people under the age of 30 regularly joke about rape, pedophilia, murder and racism. I do quite sincerely mean it when I say “most”. If you are in this age bracket and don’t engage in such jokes, you are in the minority. Yes – you actually are. None of us intend on carrying out these vile actions, obviously. I don’t actually intend to kill somebody when I am angry at them. Should we rule out phrases like “I’ll kill you if you tell anybody…”?

Just put up with it and in a few years you’ll get used to it.

Fair play to these Gardaí. They sound like guys who are up for a laugh and let’s hope that this positive incident encourages more people to consider law enforcement as a career.

These women have women have attracted enough attention to their cause at the expense of the Gardaí. Jail the two women.

• Steve Q 07/04/11 #
    Report this comment

Typical female reply. What if the table was turned and it was a female Gardai who jokingly said she would rape a man.

My point is that personal/private conversations are just that, private. And it’s not for anyone else to know about.

• Steve Q 07/04/11 #
    Report this comment

For those men and women who think that jokes about these kinds of things never happen in society, you must lead a very sheltered life.

Add New Comment